(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

angieooi ...

my baby is 317.04g ... a 20.7 week .... think if your gynae has no comment on your blood count should be okie ...

mine is a boy and had bad outbreak a few weeks back oso ... think it is the homornal change lar ... =)

No lar, no nid to realli count how many xx yr bb kicks, juz agar agar.. sometimes i oso missed her kicks during the daytime.. So i oni based on her nite kicks..

Now this thread is getting less crowded liao.. haiz.. and quiet this week.

Wish u gals a happy long weekend! Enjoyz

vone, hb and I were hoping to confirm if bb is boy or girl, but looks like will have to wait another mth until next gyne apptmt. Luckily my hb isn't seeing this, he'll probably say that bb is not shy but more like stubborn like the mother....die die also don't want to show d sex...
Yup, am glad that all is fine, was quite kan cheong when dr started the scan, as through the scan, we will know if bb is fine. After my scan, my EDD is now on Sep17th.

angie and SeaBreeze, my bb is 289g at 19+ weeks, is that a bit light? My gyne was just commenting yday that I should have put on at least 2kg. But bcos I had diarrhea in my 1st trimester and lost 4 kg. Up till now, I have just put back the 4 kgs and have not gained any weight. He was asking me questions about whether I work very hard.....I thought about it and said no....I mean I keep myself active, but don't think I work very hard!

angie, if dr doesn't comment abt the blood count, it shld be fine. After my blood test, dr mentioned that my iron level is low, so need to continue taking iron tablets. I was on the iron tablet earlier on as I had complained to him abt getting black-outs when I stood up after sitting for a while.

hi snoopy, i think ur weight gain shld go back to normal as time passes. e.g. for me, i did not put or lose any weight during 1st tri, but by 20 weeks i put on 5 kg, so ur rate of increase seems alright, it's just that you're putting on what u lost first... u'll be amazed at the speed the needle moves up the scale! 289g may be a bit light.. my detailed scan at 20 weeks showed 350g. At 24 weeks, my bb is at 770g, which according to gynae is normal. but bbs grow at different rates until 8th month when they shld be abt the same.. so long as you're eating healthily n well things shld be fine

lib, my gynae said i'm v lucky to have a bb that doesn't kick me in the middle of the night... in fact, she looked incredulous when i asked if a more active-kicking bb shows he/she is more healthy... :p so me n vone are the lucky ones...haha...

Hi all MTB,

If you wanna feel the baby kicking, just do it:

Lay flat on your tummy. He/She will sure kick! Hahaha ...

My hubby says it's cos the baby is suffocating!

hi seabreeze,

i am in e same session as you n my timing is from 4.30pm - 6.30pm.

I went for chkup yest heard fm dr he said shld be a girl.

went for my detailed scan today, radiographer took about 45mins, cos bb too active n refuse to cooperate most of the time. e radiographer was smiling n shaking her head, saying that bb refuse to stop for her to take pictures.

finally get to know i'm expecting a boy boy. he's weighing at 393g, gynae commented he's big but no worries at tis point.

hi seabreeze and nicnic and all gals

I also signed up for TMC antenatal class starting 11 June, the 4.30pm session. See you there!!! I am happy that my hubby will be back in SG to accompany to the classes. :eek:)

My bb gal at 20wks was 380g (according to Warsof) or 402g (according to Shepard) or 409g (according to Osaka) or 428g (according to Tokyo). I think my gal is really big. Don't know where she gets this genes from as my parents, grand parents, my parents in law, grand parents in law, me and my hubby are all not big. Only my hubby side is slightly taller, hubby standing at 1.76m but skinny. *strange*

As for bb kicking, mine kicks all the time... in the morning when I am sleeping but slightly awake, bb already started kicking as if to say 'mummy wake up' and until 3-4am on days when I sleep late. I rather she kicks me all the time to give me the assurance that all is ok compared to not feeling her kicks. When I first came to Beijing, she did not kick v much for 2 days and I was so worried, keeps banging on my tummy to wake her up so that I can feel her kick.

Hi Anissa
I also have the same thought as you. If this one I am expecting is a boy, I'll stop at one child but since I'm expecting a gal now, I'll try for another boy until the 3rd child.. heehee.. die die also must have a boy. If I strike a big time lottery and have enough help for my kids, I'll try as many as possible until I have a boy. heehee

Hello Reenie and Lib
I am still not used to Beijing food. :eek:( Yesterday went to try Authentic Beijing Food (Lao Beijing) food.. oh no, it taste horrible. Out of the 7 dishes that my hubby's local friends ordered for us to try, I only stick to 2 dishes. One of the dish even look, smell and taste like my doggy mashed doggy wet food. Beijingers like to eat a lot of inards, beef and mutton which I don't touch at all.

seem like a few of us will be in the same class ... bring a red rose when we attend the first session k heehee ...

I lost 3kg during my 1st tri due to vomiting and have put on 4kg since .... but my gynae say that my weight gain is too fast ... *strange* ... anyway will be cutting down on the dessert then ... dun wan gain too much weight too ...

Hi angel, great to know everything's gg on well in beijing.. except of cos for the food.. do stick to ur own pref. btw, u look great!!

Hi becky, think ur gynae will prescribe antibiotics for u for the UTI? Just do and take what ur gynae says.. everything will be fine!

Hi Angel,

My baby is only around 280g at 20 wk. Any special reasons why you die die wanna have a son? As for me, I just feel that gal will be more homely and when I am old, at least I won't feel so lonely. Guys once they are married, they rarely even go back to their parents' place anymore.

These days I am feeling lots of discomfort. Back aching very badly. To think that I am only 5 mths pregnant! Can't imagine how much more I have to suffer when I am 8 to 9 mths pregnant.

Every day I keep telling my boy boy 'you better be good. Mummy goes thru so much to give birth to you' ... Lets hope he understands!

hiya, good to know on sunday that u don't have to work on monday!

today i just realised that i'm already into the 3rd trimester, at 25 weeks! till today i keep having the impression that i'm still just starting 6th month. later found out that i've been regarding 5 weeks per month..hehe... really getting blur...

long time never log in... i went for my appt on 27/4, and gynae was quite pleased with my blood glucose, been testing myself twice per week at home. but still got a "scolding" from her for drinking commerical orange juice and the occassional soft drink.

she did a scan to check BB, and i was so thrilled to see BB's well developed heart pumping away. and since 1 month back, BB has been kicking especially evening-night, so now i know that BB loves to move hands and bit of legs. and from the scan, it seems that BB might be a boy, but will have to confirm on 11/5 during detailed scan.

anissa, i also having back pain, plus feet kinda of swollen in morning and sensitive by evening. also told HB, still got 4 more months to go....

tingting, you are on the last leg of your pregnancy...

Hi all, just wanna tell u all tt Metro is having a 20% storewide sale! Went to Compass Point today and bot a Pigeon Steriliser at only $69.60!! Got free bottle detergent and 2 pigeon milk bottles too! It was $87 b4 the 20% off. Went to chk on the price at Kiddy Palace.. was also selling at offer price of S$87 but even with member's card, no more further disc cos it was on offer. wow! lucky I chk it b4 buying... I even bot the disposable pads! Felt so satisfied with my shopping today.. haha.. For those who are getting, get it quick. I dunno how long the sale is gg to be though, so sorry, should hv chked!

Hi miso,

Thanks for sharing. Will check out Metro today though my SIL is passing over her steriliser to me. See got other good stuff to buy bo. Think today is the last day for 20%.

I went Seiyu sales yest and got quite a lot of stuff too. They are giving 20% off regular priced item and 15% off discounted items. Got mittens, booties, musical toy, breast pump, breast pads, wet wipes and bottle cleaner etc.

Hi tingting,

If 25 weeks onwards is 3rd trimester, then me also in my 3rd trimester liao! I always tot 3rd trimester is 27 weeks onwards.

Hi Chemistry,

Which breast pump did u buy fr Seiyu?? How much is it?? I'm thinking of getting one too.

Hi Miso,

U r right! The pigeon steriliser was a steal at $87 & a further 20% discount but too bad I already bought it at Carrefour previously at $87! If not, could hv save another $17!

hi chemistry, bcos each tri is for 3 months, actually bb can be safely delivered by 36 weeks. bet 36 - 40 weeks, they're just gaining fats while still inside. all their organs are already fully developed. quite exciting!

can anyone explain how do bottle sterilisers work? i was thinking of using old boiling method, bcos i thot sterilisers use tablets n not heat, which doesn't seem v safe cos it's afterall adding chemical. not keen on microwave steriliser too.. i intend to buy avent breast pump, but thinking of using bottles from other brands. what brand of steriliser can suit both avent breast pump n other types of bottles?

i haven't bought anything yet! hope to start "acquisition" by end of the month..

Hi Tingting,

The bottle sterilizer uses steam to sterilize your bottles and teats.

If u want to get one, u can buy the pigeon rapid steam sterilizer cos it can fit in all types of milk bottles & also ur breast pump & the price is very reasonable.

I also bought one and will probably get an Avent breast pump and my baby will be using pigeon bottles.

Hi chemistry, I also wish to go Seiyu take a look but feel so sian and hot with this kinda weather! and ytd alone, I spent near to $200 getting ds' and nb's stuffs.. haha.. me thinking of getting some things for myself, eg. sneakers, shorts etc..

Hi everafter, yes! It's a steal!!!!
Me too, using Pigeon Steriliser, Avent breast pump and Pigeon bottles for nb!

Hi tingting, I think only Pigeon steriliser can fit all brands of bottles and breast pumps. If u buy Avent, can only sterilise Avent breast pumps, bottles etc.. U can use the traditional method of boiling water bottles etc if u want, I did tt for ds' bottles thru out and as I din breast feed for long, so din use breast pump, so I never tried using the traditional method to boil it. I tried the steriliser today, just need to add the stipulated amt of water in it and place ur bottles in it and ON it. TT's all. No need to put in any tablets. And it's fast, within 6 mins it's done and it will OFF automatically.. no need to monitor it! Unlike the boiling method where u hv to jagar the water boiling.. got once, my mil/maid forgot abt it and the water dries up! and the bottles all melted!!! lucky no fire.. else..

Y I buy a steriliser this time is becos:

1. Heard many good feedbacks about using Pigeon Steriliser.

2. Cos nb is No. 2, I afraid I will forget about the water boiling while taking care of ds and nb, with the steriliser, there's nothing to worry about water being dries up while over-boiling.

3. It's a steal at that price!

Btr to try to get a list and buy some stuffs now while we still hv the energy!.. 2nd tri / early 3rd tri supposed to be more 'energetic' and tummy still quite ok.. so mobility also ok. Once reach 3rd tri, will be very tiring. Just my 2 cents.

Hi everafter,

I got the pigeon manual pump. It's on sales at $37+ and after 15% discount is $31+. It comes with 12 pcs of breast pads foc too.

Hi miso,

ya, after I got preggy, I only zoom to the baby section whenever I got shopping. My mum say nothing can please me now other than buying stuff for my bb.
BTW, check with u, is it necc to buy nipple shield and cream for breastfeeding?

Hi Anissa,
Congrats. Still remembered me? U wrote to me some years back encouraging me on some affairs of the heart. I grew stronger from there on and moved on with my life. Many thanks to your encouragements. I am sure you will have a very healthy baby boy! God Bless !

hmm, ok, pigeon steriliser it is then... won't have to worry my hubby burning the kitchen down during my confinement..haha! it's also cheaper than avent steriliser. thanks a lot gals!

miso, i've sort of compiled a list, basically from what was posted earlier on... but haven't decided where to get them... esp for the big items...

was thinking maybe dun get the stroller first, cos bb won't need it for at least 2 months after birth. at this point, can't make up my mind which one to get...

Hi Angeline,

To be frank with you, I can't really recall who you are. You must be using a different nick then
Anyway, thnks for your best wishes.

Being pregnant really brings abt lots of discomfort. I just hope there is something which can help speed up the pregnancy. My tummy feels like it's bursting any min. And I feel hungry all the time. Really dunno if I shld eat or not to eat. At night the back aches so much that I find it hard to get to sleep.

I keep 'telling' the baby not to kick me so much. He actually listens! For 2 days, he never kicks and my hubby nags and nags non-stop ... keeps asking me if everything is ok with the baby. He seems more concern of the baby then me.

Ok, so much complaint, guess I better get back to work.

Hi tingting, dun worry about stroller now. Maybe U will get one for ur bb's full mth celebration? Tt time, I got 2 leh! lucky din buy.. hehe.. items like stroller, bb playmats, carseats.. i dun buy lor cos usually ppl will give as presents.

Hi anissa, do bear with it! when bb is out to this world, u will feel all is worthwhile!

been real busy today!! hope all mummies are doing great and have enjoyed the long weekends

hi angel,
u look fabulous!!!!!!!!!
when will u be back in SG? sorry to hear about the food in Beijing, i hope u can find yummy and good one soon. U really look good....

hi Becky_cat,
don't worry, i have that as well and i am not talking about one time, i have that several times before! Doc usually put me on antibiotics, then a soluble drink in powder form, cannot remember the name....it has a orange in the label, u can get it from pharmacy. If i feel something strange, i will normally go and buy this powder and drink it, it will cure minor UTI.

I had a serious one before, i need an injection which relieves fast but painful on arm.

UTI will also happen during pregnancy so i am extra careful.

1) don't hold your urine, go when u need. i notice i had it if i hold it.

2) drink plenty of water to flush it down (bateria) once u got it.

3) make sure when u go toliet and pee, wipe from front to back.

Although if u read on website, its recommended u take canberries drink, or yogurt for prevention, its up to you. I believe in going to toliet if you are urgent.

I remembered when i am away on holiday trip, the tour bus cannot stop when i need a loo, the problem will comes! So i don't drink much during long journey...

Hope this information helps

take care!

Hi Miso,

I know what you mean. Just that some nights the aching gets so unbearable I just feel like giving up. Do you have to get up several times a night to pee? I hardly drink any water before I go to bed but still I keep having to wake up to pee.

For those mothers who have more than 1 kid, I really kudo to them =)

Oh yes, can someone provide me with a list of things I shld buy for baby before delivery? Thanks!

hi all, I've not posted for a month on this thread, but have been following it religiously... wish all mommies here good health and take care.. Always think on the positive side no matter what

I've just did my first detailed scan at 21 weeks today, all's well except my sugar is super high (+++) [whatever that means] so no more sweet stuff for me... Baby was co-operative and revealed his gender ... keke... its a boy ...

hi ameliaa, hope that your sugar level will stabilise soon...

hi miso, yah, maybe can get it as a present from in-laws..hehe... but i'd rather be able to choose the one i can handle... sometimes pple may get something not so user friendly n in the end it ends up as a white elephant.

hi anissa,

mayb it can help if u get some pillows & prop up ur side when u r sleeping?? i do get aches sometimes, so wat i did was 2 hug my bolster so tat it's not so painful. alternatively, get hb 2 give u a massage b4 u sleep.

i got d list somewhr, let me find it & i'll email it 2 u.

hi ameliaa,

tks 4 ur wishes. same 2 u aso.

no worries abt ur sugar level. jus cut down on sugary stuff such as sweets, soft drinks, fruits such as grapes okie. i m sure tat ur sugar level wld come down eventually.

Just wondering if any of you have completed your antenatal course yet? Am going to start mine soon, wondering what is it all about? Also, the nurse said wear comfortable clothing..what did you all wear? you mean must wear track pants etc?

Heh, me also feel paranoid when i don't feel baby kicking/moving. Keep rubbing my tummy to 'wake' her up

but i find that she usually moves/kicks after every meal i take
maybe she is protesting "mummy you are eating too much!" heheh

mummytobe ...

where you going for your antenatal course? mine is at TMC and I was told that we will be doing some exercise for the first 3 classes ... guess thats why we need to be in comfy clothes =)

Btw, can i just check what vitamins/supplements are you all still taking? I'm taking a multivite, folic acid and iron pill everyday as prescribed by my gynae. But some of my friends who are also pregnant now, stopped taking the folic acid after their first trimester. My gynae didn't tell me to stop taking lah, but i'm just wondering if she forgot to tell me haha
are you all still taking folic acid?

My gynae just take give me the pink tablets as he said that already contain folic acid, iron and calcium and din give me any other tablets leh... but my other friends taking that also take other vit tablets hence i'm confused too...

hoshi,
You finish all your papers liao? congrats
Finished my last exam on friday and after that so busy shopping for the past few days until leg aching and got cramps! must really tone down hehe..

hi mummytobe,
i am taking the multivit only, which is abit reddish in color? the box is pink in col. No more folic after my 1st trimester.

cheers!

hi mummytobe,

i m taking a multi vit & folic acid. my gynae didn't tell me 2 stop taking d latter leh.

Hi mummytobe, me taking calcium, obimin and fish oil now.

Hi ameliaa, super high sugar content may means gestational diabetes. Did ur gynae do a GTT for u? Or maybe he can advise you on a low sugar diet meal? High sugar content ususally gynae will monitor cos bb might be too big for normal delivery. Do find out more from ur gynae.

Hi ladies, i'm back from KL.. really shiok to have gone there for a 3 days shopping spree. but too bad, didn't manage to get any thing much for myself.

Angel, u look so pretty from the pix.. when will u be coming back from BJ? Maybe u can opt for the Dumplings since u r in BJ? (Jiao-zhi) is oso one of the their main course from the north.. Tat time when i was in the North area like BJ, Taiyuan, Harbin, i will go for the dumplings instead of the veg & meat.

Cakey, is the pink tablets call Obimin? I'm currently oso taking this together with DHA tablet (fish oil).

Ero, my calcium pantothenate intake is 7.5mg while calcium lactate is 250mg.

Christina, Ero & Snoopy: Really glad to have meet up wif u gals ytd, it is really a good shared experience during our meetings.