(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

by the way have anyone started wearing maternity bras? I'm still wearing my normal ones, getting tight so i went to ck Tangs yesterday to get new bras. apparently the Triumph auntie, who was very very professional and experienced, said that preggies are supposed to change bra sizes every month or so and they are not advised to wear underwired types. Thats why maternity bras look so ugly...cuz paddings and wires are not good

i cannot tahan bras without paddings cuz i think its quite obscene, so went on to purchase the new sloggi bra at a bigger size...very comfy but it cost me $80!!! Boh bian, cuz tomoro got wedding dinner to attend and i'm in desperate need for a good supporting strapless bra. hehehhe

hi timie, thanks for the info. will go check out the website now. ooooo i do LOVE red bean soup, that's an idea! hehehe

miso, my email addy is [email protected]. Do send me your blog addy, i would love to have more recipes. somehow very intrigued in recipes, i collect recipe books, love reading them and attempting a new dish when in a good mood. Thanks for sharing!

talking about underwear, i was just thinking...by the time we change new bras every month till birth, our pockets got big hole already!!! highly suspect its a marketing strategy but then again it does make sense because we are def getting bigger every month *scratch head*

Hi christina, the auntie is well... unfortunately right in a sense about wearing underwired bras..heard it will cause blocked ducts. Padded ones are I think alright. But I also din wear those maternity bras.. find it v. 'auntie'.. hehe..

Hi timie and christina, will send u invites soonest! can even see how me, my ds and dh looks like.. hahaha..

christina, i luv red bean soup too, but not too much cos sweet & can cause gas lah..

maternity bra & nursing bra different rite? nvr get maternity ones cos my extension is serving me quite well leh..no padding, err..quite weird.. oso strapless ones can't hv w/o underwire rite??

Hi timie, hv sent u my blog but hor, got a reply from Yahoo saying u dun hv a yahoo add. can u pls chk ur email addy again?

Hi christina, sent u.. recv? think u need to sign up first. Cool! pls send me urs!!!

hi timie, some maternity bra also doubles up as a nursing bra, so we can use through pregnancy and confinement. i'm still using underwired and padded bras...feel more comfy in them. the strapless bras i bought yesterday has underwires also...guess i'm breaking all the rules heheheh

hi miso, wait hor. new to this site, i'm trying to upload my piccie now. took me a while to find one that has me and hubby, but that has a friend standing in the middle. i just realise that we hardly take piccies together hahaha

Hi Christina,

Me also low iron. Gynae said i have low red haemoglobin count, so prescribe me iron pills and ask me to eat more beef and liver. Normally i'm ok with beef and liver, but i prefer them half cooked. Now, pregnant, need to eat well-done fully cooked beef and pork/chickenliver, yucks! beef well-done is so hard and tasteless, like cardboard bleah
and for fully cooked liver, i can only stand fois gras haha

Me also been buying new bras. Ya, underwire not good, intefere with milk ducts or something... i bought one maternity bra, so obscene without padding
so i only wear it at night when i sleep, cause if i go braless, very uncomfortable... for daily wear, me bought those extension hooks (a short piece with three or four extra bra hooks) which i sew onto my existing or new bras which have padding (but not underwire). Like that, each bra can last longer..

hi miso, you look great too!! ds is so cute, looks a lot like you. that picture was taken last year...i look quite different now heheheh. acne and short hair...those were the better times! i had to make a good 1st impression hahahah

i've not taken preggie piccie yet. mabbe tomoro at the wedding, i'll bring digital camera and ask hubby to take me, then put it up on the site. you'll be able to see the huge difference in my appearance now.

hi miso, yr ds got yr eyes! hee so cute, i like the one he was burping..so adorable. hey, u still look veri slim leh
the changes fr bb to now veri fast, handsome boi liao

christina, nvr see yr photo leh..how come huh??

oh ya, talk abt takin photos, muz go & take a few shots of my "fat" look now..so tt can motivate me to "jian fei" next time!!

Hi angel, hv sent u oredi. Check it out! Can add in timie and christina as ur contacts too after u sign in.

Hi timie and christina, yea.. I also think and most ppl says ds looks like me.. hahaa.. timie, tt was last year leh!

timie, u hv to click christina's profile.. then at the top, u can see Home, Photo. Just click.. the Photo will do.

*scratch* click liao, but no photo there leh, says christina not in my network..

ya, so chubbie, veri cute..dat photo how many mths?

timie, think u hv to go into my contact, then u will see christina.. then click her icon. At the right panel, click Add as Contact.

tt burping one?? I think only abt 2 mths + cos I haven return to work yet.. hehe..

hi angel and timie, i think i might have to add your contacts in before u can see my photos. i will try it over the weekend, after the wedding tomorrow. do u have any photos to share over the blog too?

Hi Vone,

My apology for the late reply as I've been tied down with work. I've finally broke the news to my boss and he seems to receive it well
So it's a load off my mind!

I actually went for the detailed scan one day before you and it's a boy. As a matter of fact, my gynae was able to confirm that when I was only 3 mths pregnant. According to him, boy shows very clearly in the scan and my boy is definitely not a shy baby cos every time I visit my gynae, his legs are wide open for all to see! A little disappointed to be frank with you cos I want a gal. Many pple seem to be pregnant with boys these days. I wonder if it's cos of the diet. I heard if the mum eats lots of meat and the husband eats lots of veg, it's usually boy and vice versa. I am a meat eater and my hubby can do without veggies ...

Well, catch up with you again! Ciao!

Hi Angel, has received yr invitation to Multiply but didn't see anyting leh.. hehe i'm abit nerd to this kind of webby want, tink miso will noe..

Hi Christina, sorry was out to JB earlier got the msg, but tot to reply oni when i come back, nearly forgotten abt it.hehe.. (invitation please is not oni open to us, ladies who are interested in meeting, are most welcome..)

Miso, wat is blog huh? hehe.. sorrie
kao_confused.gif

hi Lib

me too!!! I don't know how to use multiply.. seems a bit difficult to use.

Blog is online diary :eek:)

Hi Anissa
We exchange babies? hehe.. I want a boy n u want a girl.. just kidding

I didn't log on cos was bus wif work. Btw, I think some of the MTB hv joined the antenatal classes. Is it useful?? I hv not join any yet...is it too late to join??

For those MTB with experience, how many milk bottles must we buy?? 4 oz?? What brand is highly recommended??

hi everafter, i spoke to my gynae last week about antenatal classes. he recommended that 6th month onwards is a good time to join, not to worry...my friends joined classes on their 7th month, because they didnt want to forget the contents too early.

Hi Angel, yarlor, i got a hard time trying to figure out how to use, as they will 1st ask u to register, then to log in, to accept invitation. but once u have done all, u r back to yr home page whr u can't view aniting, tat is given by yr friend.. haiz..

hi everafter, do u intend to bf or to ff yr bb? currently i have bought 7 bottles, 4 wide-neck bottles from pigeon (meant for milk feeding for my hubby use) & 3 avent bottles for water feeding if is needed... all 7 are the small bottles.

Hi lib,

Yes, I intend to bf my baby...so will need to buy more bottles for storing of milk in e fridge.

Currently, i hv 2 wide-neck bottles & 1 narrow one fr pigeon. Do u think we shld hv 2 diff brands of bottles for ur baby??

Hi everafter,if u intend to get bottles to store ebm in fridge, you can actually request for those used glass bottles from hospital and they will give it to you. Tt's what my friends did! I personally will get those milk bags to store ebm so will buy those. As for milk bottles, I bot 5 4oz bottles. No need to buy diff brands of bottles for u bb. Just ur own pref. For ds, I used Avent and very happy with the bottles. It prevents colic problem.

hi to those who are mummy

if you deliver naturally , will u experience blood discharge after giving birth? If so is it like having menses?? so need to use pads?

Hi all, am very happy today!!!

Just called the principal of windsor playskool and very happy with what I heard from the principal so far. Hv fixed an apptmt to view the place next Thursday, which is also my hb's bday! hahaha.. will post on the reviews after the meeting to let u all know!

Hi becky, yes.. after tt, they will put a pad on for u. Hospital will provide a pack too but it's those hook type.. I dunno how to use those.. so I got Whisper Nite pads instead.. hehe.. yes, it's like heavy menses lidat..

Hi everafter, i bought that pigeon wide-neck as survey from friends, that the nipple is soft and ideal for bb who are drinking breastmilk. I intend to bf my bb but ideally wif the help of 1 feed from my hb daily. in order for him to bond wif the bb as well.

Agree wif miso, not necessary to buy different brands, but somehow is trial & error. Miso's ds is very happy with avent bottles but some bb prefers others. For me reason y i buy avent is i really like their design despite hearing friends saying tat their bb prefer to drink from pigeon bottles.. And no point to buy many bottles for storing yr bm, 1. is oso takes up alot of space in yr fridge 2. economically is not worth it to buy so many bottles.. U may juz buy the milk bags. As mentioned to miso b4, remember hor, dept stores & kiddy palace are selling avent milk bags at S$15+-, abt S$2 more than u see from MIM.

Wow......so much to catch up on after 2 days break. Christina and Lib - have sent you an email about our meeting, Erowen - have sent you a pm.

miso - yep, I do like to bake.....but I goes through cycles where I will try baking different types of stuff - sometimes it will be muffins, cakes, bread etc. I like cooking too. For your blog, my email is [email protected].

Here is the brownie recipe with melted dark chocolate.
Nut Brownies

200g (6 1/2oz) dark chocolate, chopped
250g (8 oz) butter
1 3/4 cups brown sugar
4 eggs
1 cup plain (all purpose) flour }
1/4 tsp baking powder } can sift together
1/3 cup cocoa powder }
100g (3 1/2oz) macadamia nuts, roughly chopped
100g (3 1/2oz) toasted hazelnuts, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 180C (350F)
Place the chocolate and butter in a saucepan over low heat and stir until smooth
Place the sugar, eggs, flour, baking powder, cocoa and the chocolate mixture into a bowl and mix to combine
Stir through the macadamia nuts and hazelnuts
Pour the mixture into a 23cm (9inch) square cake tin, base-lined with non-stick baking paper
Bake for 30-35 mins or until set
Cool in the tin and serve in small squares
Makes 24 pieces

Angel - hope you had a good flight to Beijing. We will continue to pray and trust in God that our bbs are fine.

mummytobe - don't worry about carry bb ok? I have never carried a bb that is less than 6 mths old too as I am afraid of dropping the bb! But I guess when it's our own bb, we will learn how to carry bb properly and become more adept at it as time passes.

Wow....I feel like I am a lagging behind MTB.....I haven't even thought of diapers, feeding bottles and breast pump yet. Am only at the pram, car seat, baby cot, baby clothes stage.

really envy u gals who bake so much... i also like to bake, but didn't have a chance to start partly cos have to buy a lot of things to start, so investment cost is high, and hb doesn't like to eat cakes, so no one to share what i cook...sigh... maybe we shld come together for a baking session?

Hi miso & lib,

Tks 4 ur advice! I hv decided to buy Pigeon bottles since my hubby & I think that Avent bottles are too big for us to handle. hee hee

Will ask TMC for the glass bottles when I deliver so tt I can store my bm. My colleague may also be passing some bottles to me if she's not breastfeeding by then...her baby boy will b ard 1 yr old in Sept.

reenie ....

I was vomiting very very badly for my first tri ... and somehow now I just can't seem to swallow my saliva down ... affected life very badly ... been happening for more than 1 month I think ... very sian ... have to carry either a paper cup or plastic bag everywhere I go ...

just a short article that I found that explained the condition that I am 'suffering' from ....

It's not uncommon to notice that you're salivating more than usual once you're pregnant, especially if you're nauseated. (This phenomenon is even more common among women with a severe form of morning sickness called hyperemesis gravidarum.) A few women may find they're salivating like crazy and are compelled to spit constantly into a tissue or cup to deal with the excessive amounts of drool they're producing. This extreme version of the problem is called ptyalism or sialorrhea.

Experts don't know exactly what causes excess saliva in early pregnancy, but hormonal changes may be a culprit. It's also possible that some women who are nauseated try to avoid swallowing, so more saliva tends to build up in the mouth. Under normal circumstances, your salivary glands produce about one quart of saliva each day, but since you continually swallow unconsciously you don't generally notice it. If you suddenly feel like you've got a lot more saliva in your mouth, it may be due to an actual increase in your saliva production, a decrease in swallowing, or a combination of the two.

Increased salivation can also be related to heartburn, which is common during pregnancy. It works like this: When the contents of your stomach (which are acidic) back up on you, they irritate your esophagus and cause the burning sensation so familiar to heartburn sufferers. Your esophagus has acid sensors that then trigger your salivary glands to produce more saliva. When this happens, the concentration of bicarbonate (which is alkaline) in your saliva increases, and each time you swallow, your saliva bathes the walls of your esophagus and helps to neutralize the gastric acid. (This may also explain why women who are vomiting tend to salivate more.)