(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi angel, it's very good actually to clear ur doubts. They are the experts so if we dun ask them, how we gg to know right? hehe.. sometimes when I feel any discomfort, will make it a point to write down too. What did ur gynae say about ur placenta being low? Mine says not v. sure now but it seems not too bad and moving up. Will go into detail when I reach 3rd tri.

hi miso
tell u something. I tot I am the most kiasu airline passenger. I purposely wake up at 8.40am today to do internet check in at 8.50am for my flight (I can only check in 48 hours prior to flight). But the system screw up and couldn't locate my booking so I had to call in to do a phone check in.

When the operator picked up my call, I requested for emergency exit aisle seat and you know what. It's been taken. 3 minutes after 8.50am and both seats been taken!!!

Aiyo.. so it proves that i am not the most kiasu one. My friends all laugh at me and say 'are you sure got ppl like you, so kiasu'

Today, I will msn everyone of them and tell them this story. :eek:)

miso

Dr Koh said my placenta a bit low when I was in the 17wks (3 wks ago) but will monitor if it will move up as I advance in my pregnancy.

From my scan by Dr Koh (on Tuesday) and Dr Chew yesterday, both advised that my placenta is normal. My report yesterday said my placenta has moved up to the upper segment anterior. Don't know what it means though.

I think my bb weight taken by Dr Chew is 388g.. quite big hor, I am not even 21wks yet.

hi angel, really ah?? aiyooo.. hahaha, but hor, y need to sit near the emergency exit aisle??? u know sth? I only sat once in an aeroplane during my honeymoon!!! So v. blur as to what is what.. haha..

In an airplane, there are 2 emergency exit on each side of the plane in case of fire lah or any other emergency situations which require quick unloading of passenger.

The leg space for emergency exit row are usually longer then the normal rows of seats so it is usually very desired by most passengers. These seats are the first seats to be booked in a flight.

The other seats which provides more legroom is the bassinett row (the first row after each section, more legroom cos bassinett can be put in front of a seat for passengers with babies) but you risk sitting next to a crying kid so it is not advisable unless the flight got no kids or babies.

I managed to get the bassinett row window seat after confirming again n again that i will not be seated next to a kid or baby.. hehe

angel, tt's so cool! thanks for explaining! Great u got the bassinett seat! must remember to get up and walk often in order not to risk getting the deep vein thrombosis k?

hi angel, good to hear tt u r so positive
finally can meet up with yr hb to fill him in abt bb liao! tt's great! will he be coming back with you? enjoy yr long break, can do some shopping oso..
during my detail scan, was told i had low placenta oso..but the last appt with gynae when i asked her if it has moved up, she said too early to tell leh..haiz, but nvr mind, i'll oso be positive n pray tt it will move up grad

Hi hi.. can I chk sth? I remember there's a chat here on infantcare.. and someone registered liao.. at a new infantcare centre at sengkang? Can't really remember who.. if u r the one I am referring to.. pls. can i hv the contact of the infantcare? many tks!

Hi Angel & Snoopy, dun worry your bb will be fine.. the babies in this thread are all strong princes & princesses..

Angel
kao_byebye.gif
yeah, u r going to China liao..., do take care when u r on plane.. remember to stretch yr legs once in a while.. u taking direct flight or transit?

Yes snoopy, send me a pm..

hi ladies, sorry..spent the whole afternoon in town today. I went to c my gynae for detailed scan and it was quite disappointing. I was looking forward to seeing him for the whole month and the scan took less than 15mins! Maybe he was hungry because it was almost one....

how long did ur detailed scan last?

hi gals, for those who are interested in getting a breast pump, i saw the advent manual pump priced at an offer of $60. it comes with 2 4oz bottles, and some other accessories. Avent brand. worthwhile buying?

morning gals!
It has been such a busy week!!! arghh

angel, so u went to see dr chew? his machine very advanced...my hubby and i felt like we were in a theatre cos he off the lights and draw the curtains up. Was yrs a detailed scan or normal scan?
like yrs, my placenta is also low but Dr Chew jus assure me that it will move up eventually.

christina, don't worry abt the duration ya, as long as the gynae sees that the baby is fine, it's okie one.
hey i also wanna join u gals leh, i can bring along another cheesecake, kekek, i lurve cheesecake. =)))

vone, yr detailed scan very long....really
'money-worth'. =))

btw recently i experience some pain, like gastric-pain feeling...is it normal? it will usually begin in the evening..do u gals experience that?

hi miso... think u r refering to me.... unfortunately, i do not have the information with me now. can i pass it to you either tomorrow or next monday. btw, the infant care is at fernvale road, sengkang...

hi erowen,
have not seen u around much, take care and don't over work
Recently i have bloated stomach and vomitted 2 times yesterday! couldn't eat much for my dinner. I don't know why i am feeling so lousy at this stage.

hi angel,
its so nice to see the baby in 3D but i doubt i will be doing that. Don't worry too much, everything will be ok!
i guess all mommies worry about our little ones if doc/gynae mentioned something not so positive, just like mine case during the detailed scan, i was told my girl has a mild dilatation at renal pervis.Stay positive, our babies will be fine.

its friday! hope everyone will have a great weekends!

reenie and erowen ...

think we in the same boat ... thought I was the other one who is still vomitting and having bloated stomach .... me feel very lousy at times too .... cos was thinking that these will go away soon ...

the stupid saliva problem is still here for me ... so guess me in a 'worse' situtation =(

hi seabreeze,
i will wish i can feel better too. Do take care ok? i understand how u feel. Huggies. What is the saliva problem u having?? are u able to control? i have this burping going on too....even when i am not eating.

To make myself feel better, i am really careful with what i eat now, trying to avoid those deep fried stuff, diary products if possible and also spicy food.

i've been having minor panic attacks recently. Pregnancy is overwhelming, and i keep worrying that i won't be a good mummy, that i will do something to hurt the baby like drop it, or even worse, leave the baby somewhere!

I've never carried a baby before that is less than 1 year old, cause all the babies i've seen are so tiny and soft, and the neck is so fragile, that i don't dare to carry my friends' or relatives' babies..

I keep thinking what if i can't handle having a baby? oh no!!! but the people around me are reassuring me that once you have your own baby, your maternal instincts will kick in, and you will naturally know what to do..i hope so man..i keep thinking if those mummies younger than me can handle it, i should be able to right?

are any of you feeling like that too? i'm freaking out here..

morning ladies

i agree tt tho' we're s'posed to be in the 'honeymoon' period now, sometimes still dun feel so good leh.. i oso get indigestion (bloated feelin)/stomach crampy feeling on certain days. sometimes quite worried, but still feel bb kickin & doing sommersaults, so shd be okie i guess
kao_confused.gif
sometimes it's the upper part of tummy tt feels weird, other times, it's the lower part (near pelvic area)..haiz.. told my doc the last time & she gave me some med. she says if i feel frequent pains in an hr, must take it. like wat reenie says, i try to remain positive & talk to bb
talker.gif

christina, my detail scan was abt 20mins cos my bb cooperative tho' he was veri active. i waited for 1+hr for the scan..but it's okie lah, as long as everything with bb ok, me happy liao. i was excited & enjoying myself to see wat bb was doing. i'm sure u did too?

tingting, thot i saw the avent manual pump priced @ $59 at quite a few places..but not sure whether it's the same package tt u see (with bottles etc)..u not waiting for GSS?

erowen, quite some time nvr 'see' u leh, new boss give u lotsa work huh?

seabreeze, mebe can suck on some mints lor & avoid food tt trigger tis feelin, sometimes oso feel got no taste when i eat things..but tink of the little one inside then feel better..cheer up ya?

Hi erowen, think u suffering from heartburn. Do avoid too spicy food and also avoid fried stuffs. And during nite while sleeping, you can prop a few pillows to sleep higher. HTH!

Hi worship, thanks a million!

Hi mummytobe, those ppl who offer u the advice are right! Dun worry, you will 'automatically' know how to care for ur little one.. maternal instincts!

Hi timie, thanks for the link.. so which one u looking at?

hi hi timie, ya lor...work is really piling up. sigh, but at this point in time, still okie...but cannto come into forum as often liao.
You very gd, u still talk your bb, i so busy until i forgot that i'm preggie at times!! Really, go home and sleep. Last time still got talk to the bb before i sleep but now too much work, just zzz...very bad hor...

seabreeze, don't worry abt the saliva problem. Don't let it get to you ya. Stay happy for your little burden of joy. =))

reenie, yes! It's TGIF, i'm so looking fwd to the weekend...can relax abit and play with my bb inside me. kekeke.
For bloated tummy, i also experience it on off, i think it's bcos i eat alot of junk food, fries, chocolates and chips. Once i busy with work, i just switch off and have to snack!!

hi reenie
what is mild dilatation at renal pervis? Hope it is not a serious problem.

Yeah.. dun worry. I am sure our babies will be healthy and perfectly normal. :eek:)

hi mummytobe,
i am thinking abt it too, like day 1 carrying the baby, can i do it??? but i tell myself, i should be able!
i guess it will be a natural thing when baby comes.

timie,
staying positive is impt
i enjoy her kicks and movement so much, i tell myself everything is fine and ok, as long as baby is healthy.

erowen,
u should take a good rest this weekends, work is never ending, spend some good time with baby alright? i love to lie down and feel her move inside me.....even no talking, baby will feel the touch of our hands..bonding.

miso, i'll be lookin for those ard bt batok/bt panjang/cck area as i stay ard there. noticed some need us to pick bb up by 7pm..quite rush leh.. i tink the fee shd be b4 subsidy rite?? quite ex hor. my hb says dunno shd go for bb-sitter or not (1-to-1 attn) vs infantcare (few bb to one caregiver)? wat u tink?

erowen, sometimes bz oso gd lah, pass time faster. hopefully yr new boss is understding & dun give u too much work/stress..
still feel furnee talkin to bb lah, but juz say casual things lor, otherwise he'll tink mummy talk so much to other ppl but nvr talk to him!!

hi christina
my detailed scan with my own gynae is abt 30 minutes each time. He did it for me during my first visit since my 17wk and 2nd time on this Tuesday lor. After taking the measurements, he will plot onto a chart to see how the baby is growing. I am lucky that Dr Koh did not charge me for this service.

Dr Chew detailed scan also last 30 minutes.

Hi erowen
Yep.. I did detailed scanning at Dr Chew. When I arrived, there are only 2 patient but each patient went into his room for so long. By the time i came out, his clinic is filled with people. Don't even have space to sit.

Mine is a detailed scan. He took abt 30 mins cos I think lots of patients waiting in his clinic. Can share yr bb 3D photo? I thought the disc he gave me include the whole scanning process.... it only consist of a few pictures. If I dun have amniotic band, I won't go and see Dr Chew. What my gynae been doing for me is exactly the same as what DR chew did during the detailed scan.. except that his machine is so cool!!!!

I don't think I will be showing my gynae Dr chew's report. Scared I offend my gynae by running to another gynae when problem arise.

Hi timie, a friend highly recommends the infantcare tt her son is in now.. think it's called Just Kids.. at Bukit Batok I think. Do chk it out if it's convenient for u. Yes, the fees are b4 subsidy. Well, from what I understands, u pay for the additional things tt they will do with ur bb eg. speech and motor developments and they also hv a standby nurse arnd. Although it's not a 1-1 attention like a babysitter but I think more pros than cons lor. At least they are a group of professionals looking after ur bb?

Initially, I am considering getting a babysitter too but after seeing what worship has mentioned about the fees after subsidy, I discussed with hb and we tot, why not? about the same price and we will be working with peace of mind.

I think the cons part is when ur bb is sick, they will advise you to look after bb urself at home to lower down the risk of infection and also to avoid spreading to other bbs.

hi angel...actually i think it's okie, cos i also shown my gynae the report from Dr Chew, and my gynae commented that a lot of first-mummies like to visit him for detailed scan and some problems. I think yr gynae will underst, and he can also keep a copy of the report for his reference.

I waited very long for the scan leh! ya his clinic is so crowded! When i went there, there were a few angmohs and indonesian ladies, my hubby and i felt kinda out of place with our bermudas and saddles. But overall i find Dr Chew pretty friendly, and not rushed at all, he kept asking me to ask questions and he shared a lot.
kekek, i haven't opened the disc yet! so busy...

timie, so far my new boss still okie, on off she will come and chit chat, but hor, i still wary of her, cos we still new to each other. She's pretty detailed so there are lots more paperwork to do.

reenie, same! i also love the feeling of my bb gal moving before i sleep. it's amazing. i think i will cry when i see my gal gal deliver from my body....

miso, tks for the advise ya! Jia lak, so early i heartburn liao, i thot it's usually in the 3rd tri. i 22week now.

Hi ero, long time no see.. dun get too stress out hor

Mummy2b, dun worri, u wil naturally have maternal instinct, same goes to yr hb.. very naturally u will noe how to handle the bb.

hi angel,
i also not sure what is the implication of the dilatation. Someting to do with passing out of water, gynae drew me a picture showing something like a kidney and the dilatation, it shouldn't get too bloated. Have to montior the growth of the baby now, hopefully my girl will have a good development in 6weeks time!

hi miso, thanx for the info, yup, justkids is one of those we're intending to check out, mebe tis sat.. i called them & the ratio is abt 1-to-3 infants..sounds quite ok cos caregivers are nurses & i believe they are given strict guidelines for their setup..will need to find out wat they provide in terms of devt.. i heard some ctrs give detailed daily reports of wat they do.i'm reluctant to get bb-sitter cos they tend to use their 'traditional' methods on bb/child, some of which i may not agree on..my hb concerned abt the easy spread of diseases in such ctrs cos of the recent HFMD & some his frens say bb dun get enuf attn..
as for takin care of bb myself when he's sick, i'm ok with it cos i'll be worried & prefer to ensure he's ok durin tt period rather than rely on someone else..

Erowen!
me too, i think will cry when i see my baby girl!!! hahahahaaa....i hope its not the pain that makes me cry =P After the 9 months of anticipation, definitely we will feel excited, touch and very emotional when we see our baby....

I think the only person(s) that will be rather numb about the whole process is the mid-wife or gynae since they see too much babies already...hahaahaha...

reenie

dun worry. i read that as bb mature, it will get better or the condition will go away completely. I was searching the web about it just now. Sorry I KPO.. just wanna learn more abt it

If you dun mind.. here's a normal kidney and ureter picture

your_image.gif

Here's a picture of kidney with pelvis dilatation

your_image.gif

Hi timie, no prob! We are here to share share ma.. I hv yet to find the most suitable one! Saw one in punggol, but I think kinda far.. it's called Windsor Playskool. I am thinking of putting ds and nb in there so that I can fetch both home after work. haha.. shall see how.

angel,
thank u so much!!!! u really an angel
i am so touched.

i couldn't see the image on the website. can you upload it again? thanks!!!!

to tell the truth, although i am telling myself "its ok" but still worry....

sorry ah... the file i saved is in a different format then singaporebrides allow, so I gotta change the format..

here are the pictures again

here's a normal kidney and ureter picture

277876.gif

Here's a picture of kidney with pelvis dilatation

277877.gif

reenie

here's what they say in the article

Fetal Renal Pelvis Dilatation

The ureter is a narrow tube which drains urine from the kidneys to the bladder (refer diagram to the right). Where the ureter meets the kidney is called the renal pelvis. This normally measures less than 4mm at the 18-20 week scan.
In 1-2% of pregnancies the renal pelvis of the baby is dilated to around 4-10mm. In most cases this is a normal variation which resolves in later pregnancy or shortly after delivery.

In some babies however, the dilatation may be due to reflux of urine or rarely obstruction of the ureter. Both of these conditions are treatable.

Where there is reflux, the urine flushes back up the ureters towards the kidneys each time the baby passes urine. In the majority of cases this resolves with time as the baby gets older and the valve mechanism between the bladder and ureters mature. With some babies however a short course of antibiotics is needed and only rarely is surgery performed to correct this problem.

With obstruction, the ureter may be partially blocked anywhere along its length from the kidney to the bladder. In the vast majority of babies the obstruction is mild and surgery is not required.

Therefore, it is important to follow up all babies with renal pelvis dilatation, in order to identify those who will require treatment for related problems in the future. In the majority of babies with renal pelvis dilatation however such treatment will not be required, and no long term kidney damage results.

reenie
hope it reassures you a little!! The condition is certainly treatable and in majority of the cases, it will go away when bb gets bigger so dun worry okay.

Angel!!!

Yes, thanks...i feel so much better after reading this
you did a better job than my gynae!!!! Oh my, i wish i got better skill in searching website for details =P I am going to print it out and show it to my hubby tonite!!! Thanks a zillion. Huggies.

hi reenie

Glad my research makes you feel more assured!!! I am happy now!! It took me only 5-10 minutes to get the results, read through a couple of hyperlinks and found one related to your bb condition.

I realise doctors will not tell their patients a lot of things and only when things gets more serious then they'll discuss in more detail. But I like to be able to ask questions so as to confirm the condition and it's percussions that's why I like to do my own research. But doing my own research can end up scaring myself instead of reassuring.. so it's pros and cons lor

hi angel,
yup, i totally agree
even though my gynae is those friendly and patience type but he will not go into much details (or perhaps i don't catch it). I scare the more i ask , he will find me a nag.

I feel so much lighter now u know.....like a mystery solved.

hi ladies thanks for assuring me about the detailed scanning. i hope everything irons out smooth for us through the next preggie months.

my blood tests didnt turn out too good. doc said that i'm anaemic. i had to draw another vial of blood to test for the possibilty of thalassemia. meantime i have to include more iron in my diet. not good to be anaemic because patients may lose a lot more blood and enter into shock during birth. prob is i absolutely HATE red meat!!!!

hi christina,

alternatives to red meat will be supplements and dark green leafy vegetables... i'm sure there're other sources of iron

timie, I saw it at kiddy palace... metro and john little are both selling at $80 plus. thot it might be a good bargain, but since it's quite a common offer i'll prob not jump into it. so far i think Avent pump seems better than other brands... can use accessories from other brands, e.g bottles, storage bags, etc. Avent products are so much more expensive than other brands! more than double without discounts i think.

Angel, u did a great job here! Now I also understand what renal pelvis dilatation is.. hehe.. thanks!

Hi christina, did ur gynae prescribe you with Iron pills then?

hi miso, i've been taking iron supplements but not absorbing it, so the next month when i return, doc will put me on higher dose.

i guess i had been too picky on food...i dun touch red meat and hardly touch leafy veg....on the contrary i eat a lot of white meat and fruits...

tingting, heard quite a lot of good reviews on avent, but i tink their products like steriliser can only sterilise avent bottles (i tink miso/tulip mentioned earlier?) so not too sure if accessories fr other brands are compatible with the pump, etc..

tulip, u using avent pump rite?

christina, if thalassemia is ruled out, i believe the doc will prescribe more iron for u to take. i rem my doc said tt as preg progresses, our iron level tends to drop..can tk other forms of iron..how abt a bit of red bean soup

Hi snoopy, christina and timie, I got a lot of recipes in my blog, if u all are interested, do gimme ur email, I will send invites to u all! Cheers!