(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

cakey!! yup! we are having the same EDD! initially it was 29Aug, but after detailed scan, change to 23Aug!..
Going to start revision from tomorrow onwards, quite stressful leh... how's ur revision?
U also considering Mt A?... same here.. it's either MtA or GlenE, but my hubby prefers GlenE..

Have not sign up for any prenatal classes.. still deciding whether to go or not... maybe after exams then see still got places or not..

erowen,
actually my ideal is bf for 6mth, if not for 3mth, else reallly no supply 1-2mth also good for baby, sometimes cannot help.

don't know why, recently burp alot...especially after a meal, even a light one.

cakey,
congrats! another princess!

reenie, i aso hv d same prob as u. hb always looks at me wif a funny look on his face. then i always replied tat it's his bb tat's burping, i m oni d carrier.

vone, enjoy yr detailed scan later this afternoon ya! what time is yr scan? So today you can have an earlier weekend start. =P
i always feel very relaxed if i'm on afternoon off on friday.

reenie, for me my idea is also 6 mths cos BM is really good for our babies. But i tell myself not to force the issue also, cos my colleagues they all said it can get pretty pressurising, so let us take it easy ya. =))

Miso, last time you BF for how long for your first-born? can share?

vone,
u so cute! Actually i read up an article abt burping. Its the gases inside our stomach that causes it. It could be due to the intake of food we makan, the portion too.

Try to eat slowly, or take smaller meals in between, also try not to talk too much while eating. I'm not sure how well it works, but this are a few remedies to burping.

vone, really ah? is that our bb burping? taht's so cute...for me, it comes on and off, when i drink juice or milk, i burp a lot...

besides the claim we can make at $450 when we submit the reciepts at the counter before check-in for delivery, how about the hospitalisation? can we use medisave? or is there a subsidise as well?

i am clueless about the expense in terms of cash we need to fork out.

erowen, tks.
actually me kinda of on wkend mood oledi. dun really feel like working. somemore these few days, i hv been feeling veri tired. so can't wait til d wkend 2 sleep. hehe... no lah, tink it's mostly due 2 us. if d bb burp, u can feel it in ur tummy 1.

reenie, i tink it's prob me tat's burping, but i dun wanna let hb noe. hehe... so notti of me.
i understand fr my gynae's nurse tat we need 2 pay a cash deposit when we r admitted. after tat, d hospital wld claim fr our medisave up 2 a certain limit. then we hv 2 pay cash 4 d bal amt. as 4 how much d actual amt is going 2 b, i m not so sure.

hi vone and wishes,
thanks for the information!
have to see how much to set aside, alot of $$ spending going on right now for me...with my new house renovation and etc....headache.

reenie, i can understand ur situation. i tink if we set aside abt 1k 4 d hospital shld b enough. mayb miso or tulip can advise how much they spend during their last delivery & we can gauge fr thr?? so when's ur new hse coming??

vone,
Huggies..
we are starting the renovation in early May, hopefully by mid-June we can shift in
Because my current house is sold and we have to move by then.

reenie, oic. remember not 2 b around when they r shifting hor. in addition, u can oni go into d hse 3 hrs after they hv shifted everything in.

hi reenie, do take care okie when u do the packing & unpacking for your shifting, which is quite back-straining.. wow, peifu you leh, when u move, tummy quite big liao... i rem last time our reno + moving veri tedious. but yr bb will hv a nice & new place when she arrives

vone,
thanks! i will take note of that, really look forward to shift in cos' baby will get to have her own room, bigger space for her to play around too next time

I haven't been to Singaporebrides for a while and didn't realize that there are so much changes.

I am a MTB too. My EDD is 9th Sep. During my last scan, was unable to determine if bb was a prince or princess. My detailed scan will be done on 28th April. So hopefully I will know by then.

My hubby thinks bb will be a prince as I have been burping quite a fair bit and burping very loudly too -> so his conclusion that bb must be a boy bcos I am so rude and unladylike.

timie, then it's a chance 4 reenie not 2 do any packing or unpacking lor... everything ask her hb 2 do it. hehe...

reenie, wah... ur bb is so lucky. got her own rm when she comes into tis world.

hi snoopy. update us again after ur detailed scan okie, then we can c whether ur hb's conclusion is correct or not.

hallo ladies,

i didnt get to watch first mums though i mentioned it in my post yesterday. by the time hubby come home already 7...then we went for dinner and popped by MIL's place. =(

quite irritated also because she's always brewing soups for her own son and making us go all the way to drink her soup...and the soups are not meant for me...like my husband is the pregnant one...

reenie, congrats on your new place! its a perfect opportunity to do up the nursery!!! so happy for you. i was just cracking my head on how to convert one of the rooms for the bb. when she shifted in last year we didnt think that i would get pregnant so soon so everything is designed to be very bb unfriendly. a lot of hazards in my house. heheh

just hide and relax somewhere with a magazine and dun let the chaos get into you okay? please dun lift anything..

timie,
thanks for your concern
i still need to help in clearing my stuffs, maybe hubby moves, i use mouth..hehehe..cos' alot of old stuffs to throw. As for moving at 3rd trimester, i wish i can avoid but no choice. Hopefully it won't be tiring. But frankly speaking, we have been walking alot for kitchen stuffs and others like lightings and etc...Quite tedious, also meeting with renovators. But i hope baby will love the new place

hi Chris,
i am thinking of doing up a nursery, like getting the correct color for baby's room, want to get some wallpapers too
its really good to let baby have her own room, wanted to train her on independence

Do you have an extra room at home now? i will be occupying one, my parents one, so left one more for my baby.
ok, i make sure i grab a magazine and sit in a cafe to read....while the men do the job!

hi vone,
you can also spare a room for baby if there's an extra room. Its my dream to have a baby room
Though i am keeping things simple and minimum, to let my baby moves around easily, when she starts to crawl, walk and play......told my hubby that we probably do away with baby cot or bed, a mattress would be practical, can keep it when not use, baby will have plenty of space to play!
We just bought a playpen, should be able to let baby sleep till 6mths, then shift baby to mattress.

hi reenie, i've 3 rooms. the master bedroom for ourselves, one room i converted into a walk-in wardrobe and the third one is our entertainment room....we might have to convert the 3rd room into the nursery. but i'll probably start revamping the room after bb is born...i agreed with your idea on how bbs should have their own room...then wun be so sticky on parents.

hi chris,
my cousin has the same concept as your house! she converted the 3rd room into an entertainment room for movie session too.

actually if you ask me, i would love to see my baby sleep, wake up and immediately response to her, but i also worry that she will be very "sticky" to me, or cannot sleep without me. Another issue is, my hubby is a light sleeper, so if baby wakes up at nite, his sleep will be affected. Haven't decide whether to put her in the room during the initial months.

Converting one room to baby room, is more for future purpose especially when baby reaches 1 year old and beyond. Can train them to sleep alone and only attend to them when needed.

reenie, i'll prob have my bb sleep with me for a few months since she's my first born and i want to be more careful. then will move her into another room when she's bigger. it'll be weird then if she catches me and my husband being intimate in the same room. heheh..i'll get a baby monitor to check on her..

oooo my husband is an exact opposite from yours. he's a very heavy sleeper. there were a couple of times when i woke him up to tell him that i'm in discomfort, backache...fever...etc, he would just turn over, back face me and snore... ! looks like he wun be the one waking up the change diapers

hi chris,
will there be someone to look after you and baby? u getting a confinement lady?
i guess it's good to have baby to sleep with you for a few months.
Yup, as she grows older, it would be weird to let her see what we do =P
Hmm...i not sure my hubby will wake up and change diapers or not, but i think he needs to get good rest to work tommorow
Nowadays when i wake up at nite to pee or grab something to eat, he will be awake as well.
Hey, when baby comes along, your hubby might turn to light sleeper! u never know. When u make milk for baby, he can cuddle or play with baby first.

hi reenie, we'll get a confinement nanny though i dunno where to settle her, no place for her to sleep...a lot of readjustments to be made to made before the bb comes. recently my FIL kept insisting that we put up grilles for the windows. i dont really like grilles, our flat on the 18th floor, unblocked view...can see a little patch of sea...and grilles will make the house look like prison...bb not even born nor started crawling yet....but FIL is putting a lot of pressure on whats good and whats not good for bb everytime he comes visit...so me and hubby came up with this crappy excuse of "no drilling during pregnancy" heheheh...we'll try to buy time and probably wait till bb is 6 mths old before babyproofing the house.

chris!
actually we are facing the same problem here, about the window grills. But hubby don't like the idea, because ours is full-length window for living room, master bedrm too. So, we decided to wait till baby is bigger, see if she good girl or not, then we put up the grills =P
I am staying at 10th flr, even 2nd storey, i'm sure this will be a concern as well. U never know what a kid can do.

If you are getting a confinement lady, probably you might have to look into your 3rd room already. Get a sofa bed maybe? then baby cot put in that room first. Don't worry about the revamp or redesign if you can manage to shift things around. But again, don't do it yourself
Get someone else to help you out.

reenie, guess what? we've full length window for the living room too hahahah!! thats why if i put grills the whole house will look like prison. but safety will have to come before beauty eventually.

thanks ladies, so far we've 12princess and 7 prince! btw. just went to the baby studio closing down sales at OUB centre 4th floor.. quite good discount from 20 to 50%.

hoshi, all the best for your exam preparation
I also starting oni tomorrow.. nowadays memory very bad and can't concentrate.. so need to lower down my expectation liao... btw. do you need to bring lotsa material for the open book exam? I wonder how to carry those books/notes cos now i feel body ache easily carrry slightly heavy stuff... maybe bring a trolley bag haha...

hi cakey and hoshi, just outta curiousity, what exams are u both taking? anyway all the best. jia you jia you!! our babies will bring us luck, i think thats y i've been winning at mahjong games. heheh

hi cakey and hoshi,
all the best to your exam!!!
cheers!

chris,
u have been winning? huh...i must try my luck at 4D liao

Hi cakey,
good luck to u too!.. ur exams ending earlier than mine. My last paper on 3rd May.. so far, quite ok except tat i've got backache at the lower spine area.. sometimes very difficult to walk. But normally quite ok. I will stuff all my books and notes into my sling bag and carry it lor.

christina, thanks for ur wishes! hope our baby will help us carry thru this exam!.. we are taking modules from NUS/ISS, final semester..

hi hoshi, i see...if there's enough space in your bag, u might want to bring a little mogu pillow to support your back during the papers. and dun forget a bottle of water. good luck!

reenie, if u win big, must gimme a treat hor

Congrats cakey, another princess in this thread.. haha..

Seriously, if u want to consider bf your bb, the best period will be 1st 6 months. Maybe for ladies who are working, either consider expressing during yr work time or supplement wif formula..

To share wif you ladies, juz came back from my gynae check. Currently now in week 24, total weight gain as till now is 7kg. My gynae has said the bb is growing well despite of my tummy size (still relatively small). Bb moves a little during the scan. Dr oso did mention that now i shld be able to feel the bb kick, if realise that bb doesn't move a single time for a day, got to call him the next day for check liao.

hi, thanks for the well wishes..

my last paper on 29April so looking forward to life after that hehe..
christina, wow pillow in exam hall?!? haha.. sounds good...
Going off soon.. have a fruitful weekend!

Hi Lib,

Wah, at least your weight gain 7kg only. Me in my 21 weeks i already gain 6kg..i think when i reach 24 weeks, would have gained 8 kg already heh.. i feel so bloated and fat. But like you, but tummy also not very big, but gynae says baby is healthy and normal sized..

but me a bit worried. gynae says my placenta low-lying. She said it should move up within the next few weeks but i worried leh..cause i heard low lying placenta very dangerous towards 8-9 months..

Hi Christina,
What's a mogu pillow?

hi mummytobe,
dun worry too much about low-lying placenta k, your gynae is right, it'll move up. meantime u'll have to take precautions like not lifting heavy stuff.

a mogu pillow is one of those little cushions that come in silk-like cover with little styrofoamy beads inside. very cushy and nice to hug...comes in all shapes nowadays.

reenie, actually now i headache. 1 of our rm is used as d mtb, 1 as walk in closet cum storerm & d other 1 is used 4 hb's study rm. thus we got no extra rms 4 bb. so we either hv 2 redo our rms or get a new flat. if we r getting 1, we hv 2 wait til sep b4 we can sell off tis 1. really headache. we now taking things 1 step at a time. c how things goes after i give bith.

chris, no worries abt ur hse's bb unfriendliness. u got abt 1/2 yr after u give birth 2 childproof ur hse. u can read up abt how 2 convert it in d meantime.

cakey & hoshi, gd luck 4 ur exams.

okie, now updates abt my detailed scan yesterday.
mine is a boi boi. hehe... he was veri notti yesterday, kept moving abt. i spent abt 1 1/2 hrs inside doing my scan. omg, by d time i finished, my back is so painful. even d technician commented tat he's veri notti & active.

so d updated list is as follows:-

1. timie ~ prince (1st August) TMC
2. cmy ~ prince (1st August) Mt.A
3. lib ~ princess (7th August) TMC
4. chemistry ~ princess (9th August) KKH
5. tingting ~ prince (9th August)
6. everafter ~ prince (12 August) TMC
7. miso ~ princess (16th August) TMC
8. mummytobe ~ princess (19th August) TMC
9. tulip ~ prince (19 Aug) TMC
10. ixwong ~ prince (20th August) TMC
11. hoshi5 ~ princess (23rd August) Gleneagles/MtA
12. cakey ~ princess (23 Aug) TMC/Mt A
13. erowen ~ princess (26/27th August)
14. wishes ~ princess (28th August)
15. vone ~ prince (28th August) TMC
16. reenie ~ princess (29th August)
17. cat_tail ~ princess (30th August)
18. angel ~ princess (Sept 4) Raffles
19. christina ~ princess (Sept 11) Mt E
20. seabreeze ~ prince (Sept 12) Gleneagles/Mt A

Hi Everafter,

20% discount? hmm, maybe will go down later to take a look..but i still don't know what brand of stuff to buy leh?

Any advise? what brand is good for the following?

1) Sterilizer
2) Baby Wipes
3) pacifier
4) breast pump
5) diapers
etc etc etc

Also, is it too early to buy now? from now till august still got 3 months plus..can buy and keep? dunno whether the things will spoil or not leh..sigh

Like mummytobe, also dunno whether it's too early to start buying bb stuff. So everytime go shopping only see see but never buy.

Anyway, probably will wait till the GSS which is starting in end May. Hope to get some good deal then.....

e metro bb sales has limited items,but still can take a look. i bought e playpen at $55, free changing tray n net n delivery too. but stock coming in only in may.

those planning to hv yr bb sleep in playpen can consider tis deal.

Hi mummytobe,

So far I only bought the Pigeon sterilizer which can fit all types of milk bottles. My colleague recommended to me...bought at Carrfour during their promotion abt $87. Normal retail price is $112

For the rest, I'm still considering which brands to buy...anyway we still hv time so probably wait for GSS.

Hi mummytobe, wat to do, i oso can't differentiate much is the weight gain is on my or my bb.. hehe..

Ix, it is good to start buying bb stuff. If u see some of the items that are on good offers, juz grab home, why not. It will be much better then when u r in yr 3rd tri, imagine carrying not only yr bb but oso items purchase.. i more ks in this, has oredi started buying things like pram, steriliser, pump, etc.

Mymmy2b, steriliser i bought the one from pigeon oso at S$87 giving away 2 free bottles. Baby wipes so far feedback on pigeon wipes is the best. Breast pump depend if u want to electric pump in single or dual pump, manual pump or battery operated..

Went shopping just now. Saw that a Philips babycare 3-in-1 steriliser/bottle warmer/steamer, selling at $159. Thot it's quite a gd deal with all that functions. Anyone has feedback on this product?

Lib, I'm starting to slowly buy some stuff. So far, got my stroller. no need to buy bb cot cos given one by fren. The rest, slowly item by item. Nowsadays, only shop at bb store/departments