(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi miso,

Where can we get the Sebastian spray from? So just spray, rub and towel dry?

Is the Warming Shampoo you are talking about from Little Dreamers? I was looking at that too!

Hi mummytobe,

Yes.. tt's the Warming Shampoo. Cos I dun wanna use herbs to bathe this time round... so will be getting both the shampoo and bath. hehe..

hm.. think I saw the Sebastian spray at hair salons.. u go to those which carries Sebastian brands should hv. Yes.. i love the smell of it, just spray ur hair thruout and tower dry..

erowen,
i think not drama at all, my hubby actually suggest the mini fridge as well!! hahahaa..but i won't do that lah =P will see how it goes.
maybe the cooler bag is good enough.

hi girls,
talking about washing hair, can we use back our normal shampoo?? or really need to get those like Warming Shampoo?

i think cooler bag is good enuf but u have to make sure the cooler bag can fit the bottles cos different brand of bottles got different dimensions

my dd ran out of pants to school (recently raining, her pants dun dry so fast).. went to hush hush.. aiyooo so expensive $49 for pants (so little material some more). hope staceyheidi get more stock this week, grab some cheap and nice looking pants for her..

mummytobe, me aso suffer fr migranes. since i got pregnant, they got worse. but tink of d gd side, i read somewhr tat our migranes might get better after we giv birth coz our bodies will undergo a lot of changes. we keep our fingers crossed okie.

same concern as the rest of you ... not sure if got enough milk for the baby and whether the discipline to bf for at least 6 months anot ... thats why not sure if should invest in a good pump ...

You all think its too late if buy after baby is born?

Not sure if you ladies are experiencing this ... am now having excessive saliva and can't seem to keep them down ... have to keep spitting them out every minute or so ... gynae said that cos the preg homon affected the saliva gland ... he has seen such cases before ... me quite sianz with this ...

vone, yr migraine still ard? did you check with yr gynae? cos i remembered you mentioned before...me on and off will still have lor, then i got to sleep early....

reenie, really arh? kekeke, actually when i first came my office, i was abit shocked to see a few colleagues having their own mini fridge. Cos out pantry one is damn packed and alot of expired food. Like this female colleague of mine, she put her yakult and chocolate in her fridge, kekek, i also 'dong pang' her fridge.
But for me, i haven't thot abt where to put my BM yet, but i don't think i will dong pang her fridge for BM, cos very paisay and very sensitive....so will see how it goes when i return to work.

mummytobe, me too! now i have shoulder length hair, i feel very warm liao. I have to wash my hair everyday, esp since i have oily hair if i don't wash it. Can't imagine confinement. =(

thanx tulip. hmm..may consider loan fr TMC then, try out first, see if necessary to buy a better pump..so you'll still be using yr avent manual one for coming bb?

mummytobe/miso, the spray sounds good. but if getting the warming shampoo then no need spray rite? can we purchase from the showroom or must be online? my mom keep telling me not to wash hair or bath also, dun listen will regret later..haiz.

erowen/reenie, ar you talking abt tis type mini cooler/fridge? http://www.gadgetbargains.com/mifrandco.html
quite gd idea leh. the other day saw it at courts, cost abt $100+..was thinking of stocking up some cold drinks/titbits rather then BM..heee
coz 3rd tri will feel v warm, now oredi crave to take cold drinks.trying to control..

hey, juz read fr avent website tt with frozen cool packs, BM can stay cool in the bag for up to 6hrs..dunno whether same for all other types of cooler bag..

seabreeze, no worries, i'll aso consider whether i wan 2 buy d pump or not after i give birth.
hmm... i dun hv tat prob leh. u chk wif ur gynae 2 c whether he got any remedy.

erowen, ya, me migranes r still around, but luckily d attacks r not so bad these days. *crossed fingers* these days, i try 2 hv lots of rest & keep myself cool so tat i wldn't trigger an attack. hehe... imagine dong panging ur colleague's fridge 2 put ur bm. mayb u can consider bringing ur own mini fridge thr.

Hi timie, if u getting the spray, then no need the warming shampoo. The thing is.. if u follow strictly the confinement rules.. which is no shampooing of hair, then u get the spray. If u ok to wash ur hair during confinement, then get the Warming Shampoo cos it contains ginger and other extracts so can get rid of wind etc yet still can keep ur hair clean. hm.. get it?

hey, the mini fridge looks so cool!

hi miso, oic, ok, i tink i'll secretly wash my hair alt days.. the last time u used herbs to wash hair/bath, so far ok rite?
ya, my colleague got a red mini one, veri nice leh!

Timie, the last time, I wasn't allowed to bathe and wash my hair for the first 12 days at least. tt's y i use the powder for hair till buay tahan, then my sil get for me the Sebastian spray. Then I gotta use rice wine mix with water to wipe my body. Very stressful considering tt time I gave birth in June.. super hot weather.

After the 12 days, only allowed to bathe with herbs on alternate days. But I find the herbs in water, very messy! the herbs will be on my hair, body etc after i finished! Sometimes, I just secretly wash it away with the shower.. hehe..

Hi timie

i will still be using the manual one. but gotta check if the parts are still working.. scarly plastic melted liao.

Hi Seabreeze

personally i think it is okay to buy after delivery cos dun forget we got 3 mths to stay at home to nurse the bb directly. but if want to be more prepared, then get a manual one first. my colleague successfully bf despite objections from confinement lady. she said to me.. pump is not the concern.. she said she will tell me more when she is back.. i think she will only be back in jun

ekkeke, timie, i stock up a lot of tidbits at home recently. My recent craving is bungles and nachos! Yumm
ya, the fridge looks very cute hor, my colleague put hers underneath the desk...

vone, really hope yr migraine will go away soon, but luckily it's not as bad as the last time. Btw, you wear specs or contacts? One of the reason for migraine could also be increase in degree...
kekeke, ya lor, imagine my BM side by side with her bars of chocolate, i think she will faint, anyway, my colleague not very pro-kid one, so i also don't wanna put her on a spot. Most probably will just get the bag cooler cos my another colleague says that it's pretty gd.

Hi miso

din know u really go thro such strict confinement practice. my mom allowed me to bath and wash hair in the herbal water. the herbs are all in a cloth pack so there are no stray herbs floating in the water. the herb bath is not bad.. u can actually feel that after the bath, water seems to come out of the body.. like extracting toxins like that

yr sil so nice to get u the spray, otherwise u wd be "suffering" the discomfort! huh, i thot the herbs bath is in packet form like teabags?

i hear tt most ppl bathe nowadays, either with or w/o herbs. i tink will do tt too, for hygiene purpose since wan to BF.. anyway, we do bathe in hospital oso rite? my colleague said she did tt the next day after delivery..after all the labour pains & perspiration, how can no bathe?

HI Timie,

Ya hehe i think i will secretly wash also kekeke.. i think i will try to tahan at least a few days without washing hair, then after that maybe wash alternate day with the no-rinse shampoo or spray..cause i heard the herbs very sticky and messy and got strong smell..

Hi Vone,
ya i get migraines, but i find that since becoming pregnant, my migraine occurs much much less. But of course, each time i do get it, it lasts longer, cause i can't take my muscle relaxant and pain killers, scared affect baby. My gynae say can only take Panadol or Panaco, but these two not strong enough for my migraine leh.. normally, with muscle relaxant and painkillers, my migraine will last only about 2 hours with nausea, splitting pain and sensitive to light and numbness, plus about 3-4 hours after effects (heavy head, dull throb etc). Now cannot take these medication, i have to lie in bed almost the whole day ah..sianz

Hey! I have the little mini fridge! Got it free when i signed up for something last time..can't remb..credit card or something. Haven't used it before, been lying somewhere in the house for more than a year..dunno throw where already, and if it still works. Hehe time to take out and use! But it really is very small leh, i think can only put 2 or 3 milk bottles?

tulip/miso, can ask u does the gynae measure the wt of bb everytime we go for checkup? tt's one way of telling if bb is within normal wt rite? coz tomorro going for my gynae appt, veri excited to see bb again
but at the same time scare me/bb put on too much wt..do u know how they measure the wt?

erowen, i jus changed my glasses last jul, so i dun tink tat it's d prob. tink my trigger is d heat. if i m 2 hot, then i get migranes. so now i hv 2 stay in aircon plcs, jus like polar bears.
hehe... i can imagine ur bm wif ur colleague's chocolates. so funny. 2 save costs, mayb u can get d cooler bag. chk around d supermkts, sometimes they give away foc bags wif purchase of frozen food items.

Hi timie

usu fr the computer printout i can see the EDD (which changes all the time), the length of bb (normally dr will tell us how long he is) and there is the weight printed too. so i never ask dr how heavy. only during last stage of 3rd trimester, my dr warned me that my dd is growing very fast and very big. she was 3.63 when i gave birth.. apparently, that is quite big for a gal.

hi mummytobe
my mum got from herbal shop. it is green packaging with chinese words printed. i check my extra pack tonight and maybe if i am not feeling too lethargic i take a pic for u?

mummytobe, i hv d same symptoms as u. but mine r less serious than urs, but more frequent.
i remember my worst attack cause me 2 b sleepless d whole nite. nxt morning, when i went 2 c d doc, he was shocked at how pale i look. so he prescribed some mild aspirin 4 me. but he did warned me tat i can't take d medicine in my 3rd tri as it can cause harm 2 d bb. after taking it, wah... i felt so relieved. mayb u can let ur gynae noes abt d seriousness of ur migranes & ask him 2 prescribe something 4 u. if u suffer, it's no gd 4 d bb aso u noe.

vone/mummytobe, did read somewhere tt migraines/headaches may get worse during preg coz of hormones. must try to lie down & rest it. take care okie

tulip, didnt notice the wt in the earlier printouts, oni saw the length & EDD..will lookout for it tomorro. so normally gal shd be lighter ya? my mom was saying bbs wt will be quite similar to our wt when we were borned last time..is yr ds wt abt the same as u when u were borned?

wah, so many postings today

for those who're considering herbs for bathing, my aunt said there's a ready-pack type which is like a huge teabag n u just boil it for a while. in this way, the herbs doesn't actually boil in the water n will not stick to your skin.. cousin IL also said the smell is quite pleasant...

can we have mini fridges in the office? would not want to bring down the electrical system in the office! bcos their power consumption is pretty high, and dun think our normal office cable is meant to support this type of appliances?

Hi tulip, yes.. kinda strict cos tt time, my mil did confinement for me! No choice gotta heed lor. Then my hb also say must follow tt type. haiz.. and first time confinement ma, so gong gong follow lor.

Hi timie, ya.. i think the pack somehow gave way or sth when boiled so it's v. messy. Maybe get a muslin bag if u getting this kinda herb for bathing.

Hi mummytobe, u can get the bathing herbs from any medicinal hall. Just tell them u getting it to bathe during confinement. Think it is called Da Fong Sa or sth... tulip, correct me if i am wrong.. hehe.

Hi timie, yes, gynae will chk bb's wt on every visit. Not the length though cos bb's length wont be accurate at this stage liao.. it will be crouching position so diff to measure plus bb's length surpass my gynae's scanning screen. haha..

Hi miso

i think that is the correct chinese name! good work! haha. now i only look forward to the vinegar egg.. can hallucinate on the aroma

timie, ya i read abt tat 2. was hopping tat i fall in2 d category tat states tat pregnant mummies' migranes wld b lesser during pregnancy. but no suck luck.

tingting, tink mine definitely cannot. but we got a fridge in d pantry which i can used. now is finding a plc 2 express my bm.

tulip, u r making me drool ab d vinegar eggs.

Hi miso,

I think it's called Da Feng Ai (read somewhere from the forum). According to other forumers, can be bought at Fu Hua medical hall which has many branches all over. I'm getting my mum to check it out for me.

hi lib, ya lor, cos i saw alot of preggies in CP...think abt 8!

vone, in that case, hopefully the migraine situation will get better. Last time when i had a migraine, i didn't even feel like eating, just wanna sleep and sleep.
you take gd care ya, btw tomo is coming soon! You will be going for your detailed scan then. =)
btw vone, for expressing the milk, my colleagues all does it in the pantry, they lock the door. That's the only place in my office available, only director sits in a room...

tingting, for the fridge, so far there are 2 person in my office who have that, it's rather open lor. But the management didn't say anything abt the power consumption.

ya, can't wait for vinegar pork trotter yum yum

but is it suitable for breast feeding mums? i read somewhere breast feeding mums shouldn't take too much ginger or something?

hallo ladies, many posts today. mummytobe, my neighbour who just gave birth advised against eating too much ginger during bf, her bb gal kenna jaundice and had to stay in the hospital for 2 days...

for those who havent knock off and are reading this post, can watch First Mums at Ch5, 8pm this evening...new drama by kym ng about 4 mtbs and their woes. heheh

hmm, dunno abt the link bet ginger and jaundice leh... seems superstitious?

my office has a nursing room.. not to bring bb there lah, but for mums to express bm n store.. quite a good initiative, but haven't seen the room yet...

btw, how many months do you gals intend to feed bb on bm? how long is sufficient?

saw first mums tonight... its abt different types of situations which women get pregnant/want to get pregnant... n also has strong focus on relationship problems.... can't quite decide whether i like the show... :p

Hi Ero, yar not oni at CP, is everywhere u will find preggies.. hehe..

Hey Christina after watching the First Mums find them abit like us.. haha.. cos we share everything online.. but b4 the end of show they mit up wif bear as significant, so should we do the same oso?.. hmm.. can mit up wif all mums 2b

Tingting, yes i have read abt eating too much ginger will cos jaundice. As u know im currently not working, so will be staying home to take care of my little ones hopefully till she is abt the age to go pre-school. And as for BF, I have decided to BF my girl for a year.. but depends lor..

Good morn ladies,
Wow, the thread is getting so active yesterday & it's going so far to BM!

Btw, I am joining the heat of "gals power"! Seems like the boys are having a lot of "advantage" ..

1. timie ~ prince (1st August) TMC
2. cmy ~ prince (1st August) Mt.A
3. lib ~ princess (7th August) TMC
4. chemistry ~ princess (9th August) KKH
5. tingting ~ prince (9th August)
6. everafter ~ prince (12 August) TMC
7. miso ~ princess (16th August) TMC
8. mummytobe ~ princess (19th August) TMC
9. ixwong ~ prince (20th August) TMC
10. hoshi5 ~ princess (23rd August) Gleneagles/MtA
11. erowen ~ princess (26/27th August)
12. wishes ~ princess (28th August)
13. reenie ~ princess (29th August)
14. cat_tail ~ princess (30th August)
15. tulip ~ prince
16. angel ~ princess (Sept 4) Raffles
17. christina ~ princess (Sept 11) Mt E
18. seabreeze ~ prince (Sept 12) Gleneagles /Mt A

Morning gals.

updated my EDD

15. tulip ~ prince (19 Aug) TMC

i think now we got time better read up on bf. books are available from nlb

morning ladies!

christina and mummytobe, i heard abt this before from my SIL. She didn't eat ginger during 1st 2 weeks of her confinement. I was like
, and she said it was advised by her gynae. But i think some of the gals mentioned here that it's okie to take...

tingting, ya i also saw first mums, i'm a supporter of kym ng, so must watch! kekek, i find the show not too bad...but i'm personally not a big fan of suzanne walker though. =P

yes! tomo is saturday!! TGIF

morning ladies

hi tingting,
i intend to breastfeed my baby up till 6mth...but depend on situation.

hi lib,
so nice that you can stay at home and watch your girl grow....and to breastfeed
i have my mother to take care of the baby so no excuse to stay home..hahahaha...sometimes there's pros and cons being a full-time mummy, but no doubt, its still best to be able to watch them grow for the 1st year.

Must we all go buy a teddy bear to meet up?

hi erowen,
yes, its friday!!!!! happy right? i am so excited. Especially after my meeting this morning...now abit sleepy.

hi miso,

so u've tried the sebastian spray? will it leave a filmy feeling on ur hair? would u happen to know how much the spray costs? my mom is very insistent that i dun wash my hair nor shower! i really can't imagine how i'll go thru that month!!

oh i'm not a teacher by profession, i teach kids (aged 2+ to 7) in the children's fellowship in church... they're real fun but they can be real terrorists too! after 'bad' sessions, me and my fellow teachers will kid that they are a shoo-in for recruitment into terrorist networks!

hey erowen,

cp = compass point? i live in sengkang too! at anchorvale link... u?

so did u get a chance to check out ur baby's movie?

i read from a confinement food catering website that says if u're bf, shld take ginger food just before u bf, so that by the time the next feed is due, the ginger "essence" or something would have been processed by your body. better check with gynae closer to the date though.

surrogate mother services is not legal in singapore right?

hi ladies...
just went for detailed scan on Wed and confirm we're having a princess too

15. tulip ~ prince (19 Aug) TMC
19. cakey ~ princess (23 Aug) TMC / Mt A

oh seems like my EDD is same as hoshi!
hi hoshi, how's your exam preparation?

erowen, ya, me now keeping my fingers crossed tat my migranes wld lessen once i hv given birth. hehe... kinda of excited abt my detailed scan later. keep telling bb 2 b co-operative.
as 4 expressing bm, my ofc pantry's door is glass leh, so dun tink i can do it inside.

hi cakey, congrats and welcome to the princess club. =)

musicgal, sorry, i was out for dinner til quite late last night, will view it tonight and let you know again ya. =)
ya, CP = compasspoint, u staying in anchorvale link! I always go CP one leh. Maybe we brush each other's shoulder before, i'm staying in hougang.

reenie, currently in my mind i intend to BF for 3 mths as i scared i don't have the determination and also most imptly, the milkflow. So keeping my fingers cross at the moment. =)