(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi vone, yea.. i think the key word here to bird's nest or anything we consumed is Moderation! For good skin in bb, I take soya bean milk and Gingko Nuts with Barley.

Towards the end of our last tri, do take coconut juice excl. the flesh to cool our body down, bb will born with flawless skin. My ds was v. clean when born, no white spots, no cradle cap.

hi miso, 4 soya bean milk, must take in moderation as it can cause phlegm in bb. ya, i aso heard abt d coconut juice thing, they say 2 take abt 1 wk b4 we give birth rite??

hi vone, do you wear specs or use PC a lot? cos whenever i have a heavy day at work, got to really sit down constantly type reports, i go home will have migraine...take care ya..

miso, my family not very close to them lor and their medicine hall is in Bukit batok i stay in hougang so not convenient for me to go and buy from them. But when i preggie they told me to avoid those white coloured ones too.

ya agree with you gals said, moderation is the key word to go. =))

btw yesterday my SIL told me not to eat ginger during 1st 2 week confinement cos she said ginger will cause jaundice in newborn babies??? That's what her gynae said when she gave birth last year and she practiced that strictly....hmmm...but i thot ginger is impt during confinement?

Hi Lib,
To correct my last post, it's flu vacinnation.

Hi vone,
Thanks for yor tips. Pray hard that my dizziness dun comes back again.

Another cheap way to substitue bird's nest is "Xue Gar" (pardon my mandarin). It can also help to smoothen the bb complexion but take in moderation.

thankx for the advice. what brands of stretchmarks cream are recommended? now using the one from mustela but find its kinda sticky after use. me prefer those non-sticky type. thinking of using the clarins body treatment oil. anyone uses this before?

Hi vone, I started take abt a mth b4 I due.. abt one or two per week. Then 2 weeks later wanted to increase.. but I was called to induce at wk 38 5 days.. haahaa.. So actually lucky i started to drink earlier.. else no chance liao.

erowen, ya i do wear specs & use d pc a lot. but no choice leh as it's part of my job. let me monitor it & c how it goes.

cat_tail, jus take things easy & it wld b okie.

becky_cat, i m using normal moisturizer now, mayb d rest who's using it can advise.

miso, okie, tks 4 d tips.

Hi Erowen,

haven't check with my gynae yet. My next appointment is on the 8 of April... will check with her then...

Hi Lib,

true that girls you will tend to spend more... but at least you can doll her up.... boys limited lah.... and somemore... girls are so CUTE!!!!.... and always have their parents at heart

Hi erowen, ginger can be taken during confinement. But do eat b4 u breastfeed, that way, the ginger wont go to the breastmilk so fast and bb wont be so easily jaundiced. Also must drink lotsa water b4 breastfeeding. That goes to drinking or taking DOM during and after confinement.

hi ladies, went for my first antenatal class last sat..veri interesting.it was mentioned tt dun take danggui coz affect breastmilk supply, but dongcongcao & birdnest ok in moderation (like once a wk). of course xue yan is best, but too ex lah
fr her experience, she says tt mtb who take birdnest gave birth to bb with gd complexion.

cat_tail, me oso hv same problem with giddiness, and almost blackout once or twice. most times it comes suddenly, like when i stand too long or in crowded places with poor ventilation. my gynae advised me to avoid standing for too long, if i've to, then try to move my feet to ensure blood circulation.

erowen, i'm using the cocoa butter stick too. it's a bit sticky, but not oily, so i dun really feel anything with my t-shirt over it, finished half a stick liao.

tingting, my gynae told me to watch my wt coz i put on abt 3kg so far. but everyone ard me say my tummy small & like nvr put on much leh..sigh..when we went for antenatal class, everyone else oso quite big leh, my hb says i shdn't be too bothered abt it..me keep feeling hungry after a while so will snack a bit also, everytime wan to eat, will rem wat she say..haiz..

becky i just started using cocobutter stick from body shop yesterday...abit sticky after use..but i heard it's gd lor..so try try...

okie, vone take care, try to look far away after 15 mins staring at the PC and drink more water..it does help..

miso, tks for the tip...so ginger will cause some jaundice then? hmmm, this is really something new to me.

hi hi timie
i thot u signed up for the 30th april class? at TMC right?
actually i will be in my 23rd week on that week...is it abit late? but TMC gave me that date only....mrs wong class...

take gd care...ya avoid standing too long or standing up suddenly...

hi, i using the stretchmark cream from bellysima.. initally i quite like the smell but got abit tire of it if smell the same fragrance for too long hehe.. It's not really oily but rather is sticky. After applying can feel abit of 'heat' at the area which quite comfortable
But not sure how effective it is on stretchmark yet lar..

hello ladies

Wow! tis thread moving so fast today. Aiyo! today will be very busying working cos boss coming back liao. (last week eating too many snake n now got to work hard liao)

Lit - So happy for u that everything goes smoothly

christina - Aiya! dont mention my weekend ah, sat i went back they are already sleep liao.
sun morning i went out for breakfast n i saw my MIL washing clothes, i went to call her n she is like no hue(ignore) me ah
Then evening time i came back, she was having her dinner n she didnt bother to look at me so i didnt call her lor. (i'm juz like a crown if i call her n she dont ans me - so must well dont call her)

Hi guys

i had terrible flu.. still coughing and my sore throat over night still painful despite medication.. xian.

i also took coconuts during last trimester. my hubby said when dd came out.. really clean.. no blood one.. now i drink birdnest twice a week

am using the palmers cocoa butter cream.. which is really nice..

erowen - i think can eat ginger lah! (as miso say, eat b4 breastfeed) i was told every mother given birth liao must eat ginger. I did mini confine ment n already ate at 3-4kg of ginger (within a week) clipart{biggrin} food cook with ginger n sesame oil.

miso - i was told not to take dang gui after giving birth cos it will tied down (stop) own menses. My uncle MIL told my mum a incident that her neighbour make dang gui for her DIL to drink after giving birth n after that her menses stop n her hormone change, she feel very uncomfortable n having headache very seriously n in the end she knocked herself against the wall n she die liao.
(My mum heard liao dare not make for me to drink -wait till i finish my menses then i start drinking)was told dang gui very strong.
btw, is DOM oso called far3 guo3 liang2 jiu? Oh no! yesterday i drank too much cold water n walk too much, my abdominal not feeling well liao. During your confinement didi u drink cold water?

Hi confused, I was stunned when I read abt tt incident! oh gosh!
kao_scared.gif

Yes.. Dom is fa guo lang jiu. No.. not allowed to touch cold drinks during the confinement! arrgh! Only allowed to drink the red dates cooked with ginger, blue dates, black dates,honey dates and dried longan. stress ah..

hi confused.. ur story quite scary leh... the headache so bad that she got to bang herself against the wall? my parents v funny one... at the beginning say shld follow westerners who go around as per normal soon after delivery, then over the weeks they start to say cannot do this n that... more n more rules added along the way.... :p

timie n vone, the last time i went to see gynae i only put on 1 kg... going to see her next week again.... hopefully things are still well on track

going for detailed scan this sat... shld be able to see gender by then... at first am not keen to know, but now i think it's nicer to be able to say "he" or "she" when talking to others abt bb... cannot be "it" rite? :p

oh my gosh!! Confusedgal, that's a very terrible story...gosh.....=(((..what abt the newborn baby?

btw confused, if you had done your part as a DIL to make the first move and call her, then the next move is up to yr MIL. Don't let it affect you ya...

ya i also heard abt the can only drink red dates cooked with ginger and other herbs...my mum says cannot touch tap water for 2 weeks....the water use to wash hands must be slightly warm and boiled before...wah very leh chey hor

Hi erowen, ur mama doing confinement for u? Then I say good luck to you first hor.. cos seems like she's the traditional type who will want you to follow strict confinement rules. But will be good for u if you can endure and persevere!

Hi confused, I think if you mil is such a person, you just do your part and dun let her affect you. Just call her when u see her etc.. in time to come, she will know u respect her. Even though she din respond, but at least she can hear ma.. so just do ur part.

Hi tingting, you wishing for boy boy or gal gal??

ya miso.. my mum doing confinement for me. I also want her to do, cos she did for a few of my cousins. =) She herself warn me her style liao..here are she her 'rules'...
- no touching of tap water for 2 weeks
- shower hair after 10 days
- bath everyday with herbs only..
- wear bedroom slippers at home
- can only drink the red dates water but for how long i forgot
- luckily she say can open window for ventilation
so far i'm okie with her 'groundrules', cos for my interest mah...kekek, i very close to my mum, so i don't mind. =)

Hi erowen, actually those rules tt your mama set are ok. I hv the permission to slp with air con on during nite.. haaha... heng ah. cos no fan allowed wor.. red dates water to be consumed till end of confinement.. some restrict drinking plain water altogether! and for me, every soup must add in loads of DOM to expel the extra wind out of my body.. gist is to let me perspire like mad. hahaa..

I will be happy if my mama knows how to do confinement too! Own mama feel closer ma right?!

tulip - oh no! u got c doctor boh? Drink more water and take care.

miso - how long u didnt take cold drink. i suspect i drink too cold liao, now feeling uncomfortable
oic. cos my mum ask my dad to buy for me to drink n i thought wat's that. Bwt, is it too heaty ah cos now whenever i go toilet i bleed. ya! when my mum heard that she oso surprise cos that day she made dang gui soup for me to drink at nite n luckily she met her brother MIL. So in the end my sis get to drink all the dang gui soup. (only day Day 12 then she make for me to drink) yahor! but i cant lor, cos i respect her n she didnt respect me leh. so angry. maybe i'll try calling her a few times n if she still the same, i no hue her liao
n somethimes i feel like confronting her (ask her did i offend u)

tingting - yeah! when i heard it i oso feel scary n pitiful for the woman.
its like that one. But its better to be a bit more careful then regret later. Oh! so happy for u, can see whether its baby princess or baby prince on sat. Must updates us hor!

erowen - Actually there's promblem with the baby but she insist to keep it. (the rest dont know liao cos after that my uncle moved to a new place)Maybe she cant tahan the pain lor. (i was told if menses stuck, cant be very uncomfortable) very pitiful hor! ya! Can be very upset n hurting especially getting tis type of treatment. I'll try to call MIL for a few time and if she ignore me again i'm not going to call her liao. Juz like christina saying "SACKED HER" Hee!
Aiyo! so lay chey cant leh use tap water.

Hi confused, u mean drink cold water during confinement? I was not allowed to touch even a sip for the whole of the confinement! Until the day of my ds' full mth celebration, I secretly drank it. haha.. was told the actually confinement period is not 28 days ok.. it's 40 days!

I'm back from my trip in BKK!! I had a good trip (eat a lot of good food) but did not manage to get any bb stuff - didn't find much that are value-for-money. However, did got myself some cotton maternity tops at $10 and capri pants at $20...
No lingerie to buy as sizes for preggie are all very limited....

Wow, some mtb already gone for the detailed scan. Mine is scheduled on the 11 Apr, by then would be 21 weeks liao. Would it be too late by then? SHd I schedule it earlier?

Also have not felt my bb move although now already going into week 19....a bit worried.

yes miso, my mum was telling me abt perspiring part, supposedly to be good for us....ya..even though she's strict on confinement rules..she's still my mother so i will follow. =))

confusedgal...i think the bleeding could be caused by being too heaty..take care ya...esp recently weather very hot also...
actually you are a very nice DIL leh..., you will still make the effort to call her a few times...it's better also lor...respect these elders but if ultimately they still hang up there and be arrogant, there's nothing we can do. That's how i treat my "Shen Shen'...my father's brother's wife...she's such an irritating person!! I 'sacked' her from my relative clan.. kkeke, she did a lot of terrible things and now i totally ignored her. My mum has spoken to me abt me being rude but i told my mum, i have given her all due respect as a junior towards a senior, but respect has to be earned too!!

Hi ixwong, dun worry, me too has not felt any movements yet though they say no. 2 will be felt earlier. But sometimes will suddenly feel my tummy getting hard... and when i touch it.. it's hard on one side. haha.. think it's the head or buttock. I think detailed scan usually conducted arnd week 20.. so urs at week 21 is ok.

hi ixwong, glad you had a good trip to bangkok! So nice to go overseas...
my detailed scan is scheduled on 8th of april, 2 days after my 20th week...so don't worry i guess 21st week should be fine...
as for movement, i'm not very sure, maybe the rest or yr gynae can advise? I'm into my 18th week and so far i have yet to feel any movement also...

erowen,no leh, my class started last sat..ya mrs wong's class.
she oso mentioned tt ginger does not cause jaundice.bb after born may hv jaundice coz breakdown of alot of rbc since now bb uses lungs to breathe instead of relying on rbc to carry O2.as the liver is still a bit immature to take the load,bb will become jaundice lor. it'll usually start abt 4th day after bb born & may peak till 10th day..something like dat..i tink she did mentioned dun tk too much ginger, can't rem why..information overload dat day..oh, if prepare confinemt food with wine, make sure double boil it for at least 4hr, in case consume too much wine will get alcohol intoxication!

ixwong,me oni start feelin movement few days b4 i went detail scan, ripple-like feeling, abit jerky & sudden. i was oso wonderin if everything's ok (coz inside can't see mah), then i talked to bb & that nite, started to feel some movements
bb actually can hear, then told him must be good bb & cooperate during scan, he really 'ting1 hua4' & cooperated! but i tink some ppl dun feel movement till later part of 2nd tri, so not to worry..

erowen - can understand the feeling. Cant understand y they behave tis way. want people to respect them n they dont show respect to people.
i want my hubby to see it for himself that his mum behavaviour. (every time almost quarrel bcos of his mum)

miso - oic. i mean y tahan for 28 days without cold water ah? Hee! i oso secretly have a sip of cold water leh.

bye! gals i going off liao. (going airport to pick liao) chat again tomoro yeah! ;)

wow u ladies, too so "on" so active in talks today..

Hi ix, welcome back.. glad to know that u r enjoying yr trip.. hehe.. did u go chatuchak/ babong to shop till u drop?? or hanging ard juz mbk & siam square.. how i wish now i can go overseas.. hehe..

Think i will fang4 xin4 my mum to do confinement for me lar, juz hopefully she doesn't cook so much veggie.. hehe..

i find myself doesn't like to eat too much veg, oni for those leafy ones.. sigh..

wow, timie, you sound like a professional leh! tks for sharing abt the ginger thing..So do you like Mrs Wong? How many pax or couples in yr class?
yr BB very Ting Hua...so far i have yet to feel anything although my hubby said my tummy very hard...

confusedgal, ya agree with you! sigh...but try not to let yr MIL comes betw you and yr hubby...
you have a good evening ahead.

lib, i also hope to go overseas! I feel like going australia or bangkok!!!

hi ixwong,

i felt bb movements abt a week ago.. at least i hope that's what i'm feeling! it's abit like a light "thud" kind of feeling at the lower abdomen.. initially it's v infrequent n only at night, but these 2 days can feel it during day time also... 2nd-time mummies, are these baby movements?

my detailed scan this sat will be at my 20.5 weeks, which is quite ok. if still cannot see bb gender then, must be tt bb is bent on giving us a surprise...hehe...

i want boi n gal for different reasons... boi so that future siblings can have big kor kor to protect them, gal cos supposedly easier to take care of as a 1st bb mah...

on matter of confinement... guess i'll only follow what i can tahan... like taking confinement food n drinking red date longan tea... but think will still drink plain water... else imagine the calories we're piling up if we only drink that! also, i dun like too much sweet drinks... will also bathe if cannot tahan.. just make sure i use warm water n dry myself properly..

i will be getting catered confinement food during weekdays, and ask parents to do the weekends..hehe... not getting cl already, instead, will ask the hospital nurse to come by for a few days in the first week to tide us through the teething period. Most hospitals provide this service at about $50+ per visit. Think this arrangement will suit me n hb...thanks to all who provided cl contacts though!

no lah, erowen, juz regurgitating wat mrs wong says..basically her teachings are more westernised/scientific coz she was educated in uk, so she explained y olden times ppl can't bathe & wash hair, it's up to us to decide whether to follow or not..her classes are quite interesting & informative,but coz she has so much to share,it was quite rush.the exercises are good tho. class quite packed, abt 20 over couples. ya, tummy quite hard now oso..my hb quite curious, everyday must touch it..

ya, tingting, can't imagine not drinking plain water..can drink those boiled water rite?

tulip, u take care k, take more vit c.

confused, dun bother so much abt ur mil, jus do wat u can. if u c her, jus call her even though she doesn't ans u. at least if she 'complains' 2 ur hb tat u r not 'respectful' of her, ur hb can defend u.

hi ixwong, welcome back.
wah, seems like ur trip was quite enjoyable.

timie, ur bb is so cute!! mine is veri notti!! when we went 4 my gynae's appt last sat, i told bb b4 d appt 2 b co-opeartive & open d legs wide wide so tat we can c d sex. u noe wat my bb did?? he/she did open d legs wide wide, but d backside was facing us, so we cannot c d sex. hb said tat our bb is so notti!! makes me laugh whenever i tink of it.

hi timie...kekek, yr hubby very cute, everyday must touch it..very loving. =))
my hubby will just talk to my tummy before we sleep...
Hmm...the class sounds interesting! i know her class very popular....

wishes, is it? hmmm...this is the first time i heard abt tu nan relating to tummy...=)

okie dokie gals, knocking off for the day liao. Take care and have a good evening ahead.

haha, vone, yr bb wanna keep u in suspense lah

erowen,mrs wong mentioned tt bb can hear us when we talk. when play music, dun need to put ear phone on tummy coz bb will feel like it's noise pollution inside!

wishes, i even hear my colleague say tt durin confinemt, when drink water, must sit down & drink, cannot stand! but she dunno y..

down with fever n flu, went to GP n given 2 days mc n medicine. doc assure its save to eat, so i started taking them, at least e fever went down now.
i'm quite angry with myself n my job for making me sick. my job requires me to go outdoor, n i was drench on sat after a sunny morning. i guess that's e cause. but cannot quit cos $$$ is impt.haizzz..

Hi Cookies, hope u feeling better now.. Do drink lots of water and has lot of rest.

Don't blame yourself, since require to stay outdoor very frequently, always prepare yourself with an UV umbrella, at least when is too sunny or rainy, u still have a shelter.

hi lib,

thanks. i work with chn. even w e umbrella, i still hv to shelter them 1st, that cause me to be wet myself.
am feeling slightly better than yesterday after e medication n sleep.

hi cookies, mebe take some supplements to boost yr immunity then can recover faster. have lotsa rest..do cheer up for bb's sake okie

hi vone..=)) but based on yr gut feeling, the bb is gal or boy?

timie...very funny leh, must sit down and drink water..

cookie take good care of yrself...work is like that lor...i also facing some problems at work..but i try not to think abt it too much...no wonder governmt is trying to protect pregnant lady from employer's bad treatment...but it's so not easy..