(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

timie!! congrats!! It's a boy!wow, yr detailed scan sounds good! Your boy boy very active leh..that's good. =)) btw how long was the duration of yr detailed scan?

yes for me i myself really hope it's a gal gal....=)) tks for your concern, my cough slightly better today but there's still phlegm...sigh

i heard the low placenta thing before...think try not to walk too fast and carry heavy things...don't worry abt yr weight gain, cos it's yr baby that's gaining weight...btw did your gynae said how heavy yr baby is? mine is 180g only when i visited my gynae on tuesday.

and you know what, later while grocery shopping, i asked my hubby how heavy is 180g and we were at the counter buying ham..my 5 pieces of ham weigh 184 gram and my hubby said "oh our baby is like 5 pieces of ham lor"...i feel like knocking his head!!!

hi erowen, i totally gave up my my mil and am just pretending that she doesnt exist now, though its very difficult...she's a very bitter divorcee, very difficult to get along, her two other kids dun want to get too close to her and she now sticks to my husband like superglue. last week was his grandma's birthday and when we're about to group together to take family photo, my mil nudged me aside and grabbed my husband's arms. i was standing all alone during the photo taking. felt like a 3rd party in the relationship, so angry! i'll probably need 100 nights to tell u about all the other nasty things she did... most days she just thinks that i'm the other woman taking her only man away.... cuz my fil had an affair last time mah.... ohhhh just to add on, during our wedding last year, she insisted on staying in the bridal suite with us....cannot tahan.....3 people in one bed....i was sooooooo pissed during the wedding! but eventually hubby was forced to book another room for her to stay last minute

but u're right, i shall not waste my energy on people who are out to make me feel lousy lor...

my hair is about neck length now, bearly toughing shoulders. neither here nor there, very irritating hahah

erowen - thanks. i oso will sacked my PIL if their behaviour still the same.

bye gals chat again next week. i'm going off liao. Have a nice weekend

timie, i'm so happy for you!! baby sounds very active and healthy! boy is equally cute, ur inlaws will be thrilled. my gynae did mention about sex and low placenta, cannot have vigorous sex cuz may cause spotting.

erowen, ur hubby is darn funny! i've never thought of equating baby's weight with ham.that's my best joke for today

hahaha.... erowan... just that my hair is very difficult to handle if i don't do rebonding... it's very messy and quite curly for the first half of my hair (because i did rebonding more than a year back and the second half is still "rebonded"). actually i wanted to do it last dec but realise that i was pregnant. *sigh* i have to put it on hold until now because i was advised not to do anything during the 1st trimester.

just feel that my hair look so ugly and i feel that i look so ugly also.. hahaha... furthermore, i have tiny tiny pimples on my neck and around chest and shoulder. so irritating!!! and some part of my skin drys up like my tummy area and elbows... no choice have to apply stretch mark oil...

so i tot just to make myself happier, make my hair look good first because that's the most obvious part where EVERYBODY CAN SEE IT SO CLEARLY!

I also want to keep my hair long even during confinement. At least i will be able to tie it up or pin it up, i won't be feeling so warm also... my hairstylist also advise me not to cut my hair short but good enough to be able to tie up my hair so that during confinement period, i would still be able to tie up my hair.

christina - oh no! we are on the same boat

dont worry by then your hair already long n u can tie liao. ya! too short cant tie hair n when weather very hot, cant tahan.

erowen, yr hb so FUNNY!! fancy comparing bb to ham!!
i guess dat's one way of getting a good idea how heavy bb is!!

the scan lasted abt 20mins, but waited for 1 hr coz quite crowded.it's such a relief to see everything ok, esp his body structures,etc in greater detail-blood flow,the heart's valves,nose,lips...my hb asked me how does it feel to hv a life inside me, it's so amazing. now i can feel movements inside, esp after meal, makes this preg so real. btw, bb is abt 390g @20+wk, i think norm shd be abt 350g at 20wk..i realise my tummy growing quite fast suddenly as wat my fren who gave birth recently warned me. can really feel the stretch at abdomen area. me also hv some rashes there coz itchy lah..gynae gave some cream to apply & told me dun scratch! aiya, how to tahan?!

worshippertemple, how about buying a curling/ straightening iron? with that you can do a lot of changes to ur hair. its a bit of hard work, but u know for sure that u dun have to use chemicals for the same look *-*

oh wow christina, ur mil so.. *speechless* oh gosh, must be really hard on u. yea.. dun let her spoil ur mood! Stay Happy and enjoy ur Pregnancy!

Hi confused, yea.. when I buy liao then let u know the brand etc.. I cannot remember off hand la.. hehe..

Hi timie, congrats to u! me also.. low placenta. Gynae says unless it's previa placenta, otherwise no cause to worry cos it will gradually moves up in 3rd trimester. Try not to walk too much and hv lotsa rest.

Hi erowen, ur hb very cute and humourous leh! hahaha.. I cant help lauging when I read ur post!

christina, don't dwell on it so much...sometimes MILs are very protective of their son...maybe more so for your hubby, due to the FIL's case...for my MIL, whenever we return to her house, she would talk and talk to my hubby..in teochew which i don't understand at all...at dinnertime also, my MIL does speak chinese but she would discuss alot of matters in front of me with my hubby..i just tell myself force of habit lor...so whenever i go back, i will be a mute lor...

i think yr hair will grow quite fast one, once it touch shoulder, can tie up liao.

confusedgal, gd luck to you ya..you take care and have a good weekend too. =))

worshippertemple, maybe you ask your gynae whether it's safe or not to do things to your hair now...i know what you mean, sometimes i look at my fat tummy, i also feel that way...sigh
i'm very lazy, my bellybutton area is pretty dry as it's stretching, but i haven't go and buy stretchmark cream yet.

hahhaha miso, u've just given me the exact support i need. thank you. if we do have a gathering one day i've more funny stories to tell about her. i'm actually finding her very amusing now.

erowen, thanks for sayanging me. we're all in the same boat. nothing beats our own family. my tummy inflates and deflates everyday, its quite funny. i think its gas. by nighttime i'm 1kg heavier, look like balloon. then when i wake up in the morning, its totally flat. i bought stretchmark oil from clarins but too lazy to apply. feel squeamish putting stuff on tummy leh

timie, wow...the detailed scan sounds really amazing...i heard you can see a lot of things clearly...i'm definitely looking fwd to mine...
must be very exciting for you and yr hubby right...=))
You went to TMC for the scan or at yr gynae's clinic?
ya even now for me, i have some small red spots around my left and right abdomen area...hmmm..
but really, try not to scratch, the more you scratch the more red and itchy it will become.

christina, ya that's the rigth spirit. be amused at your mil, you will definitely feel better...

christina,my PILs not much rxn leh abt bb gender. so me no stress la. but hb happy lah,now already plan to go fishing with ah boy next time! dun think too much abt yr MIL,i've heard some MILs can become jealous of their DILs coz all these years they hv their sons listening to them, then suddenly they get married & no longer become so close, they feel quite empty inside. when i think of dat, feel quite sad for them,esp those with only son (& yr MIL divorcee).mebe u can try include her in some of yr activities, so she may not feel so 'left out'? then she grad understd u not 'snatching' her son away..but meanwhile take it easy ok..

thanx miso, am prayin hard it will grad move up..

erowen,rem to get the cream,tummy area will really become quite dry as it stretches quite fast..ya,fat tummy with no waist..haiz..wear my tighter t-shirts look like tree trunk. and rounder butts..

erowen, will try not to scratch,but when i sleep at nite, quite sub-conscious leh..ya, did it @ TMC, gynae's machine is the normal type, prob can't zoom it so large.when u go for yrs, hv a good look at the zoomed in lips..so fat and cute!

christina, i know what you mean!! I think reenie also mentioned the same thing, daytime wake up tummy will be smaller, night will balloon...i think cos while we were sleeping at night, bb help us digest all our food, so morning wake up tummy not so big. =))

i totally agree, nothing beats our own family. That's why after i move out, i really learn to treasure my mum more. =))

timie, you are lucky, my pils are particular abt gender...although they are happy for me but they do wish for a grandson lor. My BIL also have a baby gal last year...
rem don't walk too fast and carry heavy things, your placenta will slowly move up...
okie, i will definitely look out for the lips being zoom in!! =)))

hi christina, thanks for the advice. i ever tot of buying it also but currently i have problems lifting up both my hands (for long period) because during my first trimester, i developed arthritis and joint pain on my neck and hands. the gynae said that it's due to lack of calcium and the gel in between my disc (at the spinal area) might have slip out. And because of the pregnancy, the problem surface. i will have problem using the straightening iron (my hands are too weak to even carry a normal plate for about 3 mins, let alone the straightening iron!!!) i should just check with my gynae about it.... thanks anyway!!!!

btw, the stretchmark oil from clarins is really good. i'm also using that now...

worshippertemple, oh dear...i'm very sorry to hear that, you better not exert urself. please take very good care of urself during the next few months. i hope it doesnt get anymore serious and that you'll feel better soon. must get hubby to be ur helping hands k

hi ladies, i'm back.. seems like u m2b are very active in this thread 2day..

to share, after detailed scan (S$99.75) last about 20mins, we finali get to see the gender of my bb... is a PRINCESS!!! my princess is so shy & funny 2day when the radiographer & me wanted to scan certain of her organs, she will shun away from us keep turning away.. when my hb comes in she does open her mouth and wave to us a few times... , funny part she keeps covering her eyes using her right hand during the scan (PLS DO NOT DISTURB). All her organs are well visualised and appear within normal ranges, no fetal abnormality is found! Means perfect growth!

Went back to my gynae, the triple test result is ratio at 1:17,635, my gynae says bb has a low chance of being down.. (too many mathematical terms, even gynae oso doesn't understand, hehe) my hep B is non-reactive, haemoglobin result is good... Today we paid S$79 being consultation, (folic acid + calcium + iron supplement) & DHA tablet..

haiz, my hunch is wrong, my hubby is so delighted to know is a gal that wat he hoping for! Well, most imptly, my bb is well developed & healthy!!

confused, u really so bu3 haha.. but remember hor, always take in moderation... and do rest well!!! It will be good if u can be truthful, sometimes it is better to ask yr hb to open hiz mouth.. no worries.. it better to tell them the truth then to lie to them and they realise it themselves!

haha ero, yr hb does really have a good sense of humour.. tats good at least he not oni trying to bring joy to u, he is oso bring joy to us.. keke..

hi worship, as far as i know even hair stylist do advised tat we should avoid chemical stuff during preg. my stylist once told me, though there still preggis go for hair col during later stage, they can't assure tat it is safe.. tink u better avoid.. maybe is oso a good time for u to tie up yr hair?? my hair is oso not in a mess, but wat to do juz bear wif it for the next few mths, i will do a major hair makeover after my birth!!! agreeable by my boss liao.. hehe..

** ladies, wonder if i have share with u abt dark faeces tat i have recently, don't fret out if u have and r taking iron tablet!! this is the normal reaction.. try it on yr hb if u want, it proves rite! haha (from my gynae). To add on, my bb is now weigh 311g.. with head circumference @ 167mm.

Timie, if tats the case, have u tried applying moisturiser b4 u go to sleep? it does help leh.. cos u feel itchy not oni yr tummy expands, oso when it tries..

agree with miso, no matter dun let the environment control u during this period.. stay cool & await to mit our little ones in August!

Hi Christina,

thanks.... currently i'm on the road to recovery. still got some pains at time but still bearable. I'm hoping and praying that it won't be get worse towards the end of the pregnancy.

Hi Lib,

so nice of you going to have a princess... wow...

you are right! I'm going to have a major hairdo after the birth also..... hahahahaha..... and be a pretty mama!

Gd morn ladies,

Did u encounter dizziness recently? I have this on & off feeling for the past few days & got the feeling of fainting but haven't faint yet.

hi worship, haha.. princess means nid more $$ to doll up.. oredi started to buy clothings liao.. hehe..

hi cat_tail, try to avoid getting up from bed, or when squat too quickly to avoid getting more dizzy. everytine juz get relaxed,.. drink lots of water

me had a bad week... had a bad scare on tues nite, i experienced lower abd. cramps non-stop from 9+pm till 12+am, but no spotting/bleeding. still i went to NUH A&E, the O&G Dr was very nice, scanned BB and told me to just rest. since no bleeding, she tot better for me to see gynae the following day and gave me MC. i was so worried sick but totally relieved when scan showed BB blissfully sleeping, refusing to wake even being shaken. gynae told me it is probably ligaments pull (due to womb expanding) and not to worry as long as there was no bleeding or massive discharge. err... 3-4hrs non-stop cramps is really no joke!

lib, so envy that you can now start to buy clothes for BB... i will probably know the gender in may, in the meantime, just pray that God will watch over BB.

cat-tail, you must be careful. i had the feeling last month, just had to steady myself with something solid till feeling passed.

HB is starting to plan "things-to-buy" list, relatives are gonna give us some stuff. i hope that they will give me a stroller....

oh yeah, i think i have not gain any weight since being preggie... now try to weight myself everyday at work... so envy you gals who gain weight!

any one still have morning sickness aroung 16 weeks?

Still experiencing,,,,

cant eat chocolate related stuff puke immediately affter eating....

anyone shares the same?

Hi Ilmare, pls do take special care of yrself... it is normal for some preg whom doesn't put on much weight during 1st to 2nd tri.. so not to worry.. r u belonging to the skinny type? like 1 of my cousins told me, nobody knew she was preg till she turns 8th mth.. cos she small in size, skinny..

In fact i have oredi started buying even i don't knw the bb's gender.. i bough those more generic colours oni for some clothings.. cos got to think of my 2bros mah.. so tat in future i can i pass down to my niece/nephew oso.. hehe
as for the stroller, i'm not too sure if u r particular on colours & design.. cos i very super particular, lucky my bro whom bought us the pram gave me the option to choose wat i like.. hehe..

I am in my 16 weeks already and still feel lethargic most of the time. Anyone feels the same?

becky_cat: it's normal to have nausea even now, some people I know have it till they deliver.

Hi christina, I hv booked the cl. So sorry, cannot recommend you liao. I think and think.. told hb, btr to get one cos afraid will tire MIL out. Luckily MIL understands and say she will come up as and when to help instead. By getting a cl, I am able to rest more too.. since cl will be taking care of nb during middle of the nite as well.

Hi ilmare, do not worry about weight gain or loss now.. just sit back and enjoy ur pregnancy. If ur wt is not ideal, u wont be preggie in the first place.

Hi sylerion, is this your first pregnancy? Maybe can drink some tonic soup to bu your body so you wont feel so lethargic. But anyway, we will still feel tired easily cos our body is working every minute for our baby.. 24 hr factory! hahaa...

Hi rebecca, maybe u like to get the morning glory mist from www.littledreamers.com.sg to ease ur MS. Pray u dun hv to endure MS throughout ur pregnancy.. there are some of this kind of cases..

hi miso, no problem. its okay, i'm glad you're getting extra help. most important thing is taking really good care of yourself and resting well during confinement. you'll be in good hands, especially with mil helping out!

ilmare, remember we've the same edd? i was quite stressed up with my weight just a few days back. like you, i've not gained any weight since pregnant, in fact i lost 1 kg cuz i had been very very ill. most of the mtbs told me that its normal so i felt better liao..

lib, congrats! your triple test result is excellent. i had a good time reading about ur detailed scan. hope mine will be as optimal as yours! i'm so happy for you! Now can more or less relax for the next couple of months?

hi confused, how did you weekend go? hope your talk with mil went well.

erowen, cough better already?

Hi Lib & ilmare,

I am feeling better now after seeing a Dr. She prescribed me some medicine & it helped me a lot. I hope this dizziness will go away.

Great Cat_tail.. glad to hear tat u feeling better.. remember don't rush yrself in watever things u do, like getting up from bed & squat, etc.. Even if to walk try to slow down yr movements..

Ladies, after my flu whole of last week, sigh i'm down with cough this week.. Hope u gals are taking good care of yrself!! flu virus is now everywhere..

Today is the start of the week, wish u gals a happy, and enjoyable week ahead!

morning gals

for those who worry abt not gaining weight.. dun fret... after maintaining same weight for 16 weeks, i've already gained nearly 3 kg over the past 3 weeks... really had a shock, cos i was almost eating as per normal, no drastic increase... and to think bb only weighs 500g at this point, so the rest of the weight is on me! but hb comforts by saying the waterbag also quite heavy lah, so not really fats piled on to me..haha...

think i better cut back on fatty foods already... was happily munching shortbread before this.... :p

Hi Lib,

Thanks, I think what u say is rite. I always do things in fast pace, so now I try to control myself & do it in slow motion.

Sounds like you have a terrible flu. Ever consider of taking a flu jab? It does help me a lot cos I used to get it very often & now the most is just a mild runny nose for 2 days.

ilmare, I also experience stomach cramp begining of last week starting from previous Sat. It's more like aching (very 'suan1'). Sometime intense (abit pain), sometime not so bad.. it's continuing on and off every few mints for a few days.. and later part even my back (kidney there) also on off aching.. Then I tried to wear more loose/elastic pants and underwear then the aching disappear later half of the week... So i guess if the cramp/aching is better after resting then probably should be quite harmless

Morning ladies
hope yr weekend was good.

Hi Lib! Congrats! You are having a princess too. =)) Tks for sharing your detailed scan ya..i really look forward to mine. =))

worshippertemple...take gd care of yourself...must rem to take the calcium pills cos it's very impt for you and your baby. Have you check with yr gynae abt the hair issue?

Christina, tks for your concern..today cough is better but still on off lor....i heard some people said that birdnest is gd for such cough ( my phlegm is colourless now) but some of my relatives said it's not gd as it will trigger more...i feel so confused.
what abt you? You feeling better today?

btw gals, yesterday i bought the cocoa butter stick from body shop and used...hmmm, i only used once so cannot comment much...but it feel rather sticky leh..anyone using also?

hi cat_tail, my flu got better liao, now is my cough.. actually last week when i asked my gynae on my flue he says he will not prescribed any medication unless i'm having a fever.. sigh..

hi cakey & ilmare, maybe is due to yr bb's growth and why u experience more cramp is oso can be bcos of yr bb's position...

hvn't post 4 quite a while oledi. been hving veri bad migranes last wk, so much so tat i was on mc 4 3 days. tink my co is not 2 happy wif me oledi. sigh... went 4 d triple test on sat when i went 2 c my gynae. wld oni noe d results on wed. update u gals then.

cat_tail, try not 2 get up fr ur bed or seat 2 fast. if u still feel dizzy, then sit down & put ur head betw ur knees 2 get ur blood circulation going. take care ya...

lib, congrats on ur little gal!! she sounds so cute when u r doing d detailed scan.
u take care on ur flu okie. take more vit c.

tingting, as long as bb is growing, dun worry abt d weight gain. but ur hb is rite, d water bag is quite heavy.

cakey, d cramping cld b due 2 our uterus expanding. i aso experience tat sometimes.

erowen, i tried d cocoa butter stick when i was at bodyshop, but i didn't like d smell. seems kinda of funny. so now i using moisturizer on my tummy, but it's d richer kind.

Hi ladies, just a note. I remember seeing a posting on taking dang gui. Checked with cl ytd and she says no need to take any special herbs during our preggie days.. except if we are feeling too lethargic, can take cordyceps which is great for boosting our energy.

She also advised against taking too much bird's nest cos it will cause jaundice in bb. And buy those good grades one, like those in yellow colour instead of pure white coloured ones as those are bleached.

hi lib
you also having cough...take gd care leh. try not to eat eggs and chicken, it will trigger more. That's what some of my relatives said lor..
ya at this point in time...the gynae also said to let it go slowly lor....sigh

oh ya i forgot you tried the ring thing...nevermind lah. it was just for fun. Most importantly our baby are healthy

vone, take care leh....companies are like that lor...but what to do..if really sick it's very difficult to go to work. Did you check with yr gynae abt the cause of the migraine?

miso i heard abt the white coloured birdnest cos my relatives selling birdnest, so they always advise me to go for Xue Yan, but very x leh..what to do.

hi vone! thx.. i will take care..

Thx miso.. anyway i tink for bird nest is depending lar.. everyone has different say on it..

miso, i heard fr d lady boss at d medicine hall tat it's gd 2 take bird nest as d bb's skin wld b veri smooth. mayb if taken in excessive quantities, then it wld cause jaundice. then i better take it in moderation.

erowen, my gynae said tat it's most prob due 2 d pregnancy hormones creating havoc. he said some mtbs' migranes wld get better while some, like me, wld get worse.
he recommended tat i c a neurologist, but i m still considering.

Hi erowen, since they are your relatives, maybe u can get special price for it?? wow.. so good right?? No need xue yan la.. just take the yellow ones will do. Good enaf liao.

sorry miso to add on mean the no. of intakes not on the colours.. anyway juz take whatever food in moderation lor..

hi ero, haha.. nvr mind i oso tried to proof tat wat pple say is wrong oni.. hehe.. i do agree tat so long as bb is healthy i don't expect much of any other things