(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

need some advice from u all. did you all eat hot dogs and luncheon meant? i jus ate hot dog bread yesterday and today. then i read somewhere that we should aviod hot dog altogether as it contains bacteria that will harm the foetus.

Lib, yes! Zheng Cong Ming!! How about u?

Garlic, dun scare me leh.. been eating it since my last craving!!! I baked my hotdogs with mozarella cheese and eat it with Hot Dog Relish! So yummy!

i also hv been eating hotdogs, luncheon meat n ham leh, isit really that bad??? i'm enjoy eating them so much especially luncheon meat.

miso, how much u paying for e pillow??

miso: i try to go to their website but couldn't see much info on the pillow page.. how much they are selling?? hehe.. i got the webpage juz from my friend.. so i not clever.. now no choice leh.. so difficult to custom make..

galic, i oso have been taking hotdogs, luncheon meat & ham.. but not craving kind.. juz take as meal.. u sure?

ok now, ladies, i got the details liao.. is S$12.90 for the small ones & S$15.90 for the bigger ones.. oni take 3-4 days in advance for booking...

if delivery there will be additional charges of S$6, if not can self collect from admiralty office.

due to their technical problem, might have problems viewing their webpage..

garlic i never heard of it before leh...i think if eat in moderation should be fine. where did you read from?

hey lib, so you gg to order lah? so soon?

hi garlic,

i think it's bcos hotdog n luncheon meat etc have got quite a lot of preservatives? and it's high in salt content. We should normally avoid such foods as well, but i just opened one can of luncheon meat the other day n have been eating it with bread almost every other day..hehe... guess moderation is still the word... i find that eating such foods worsen my constipation problems...

Lib/Miso,
I know about the pillow. My mum was asking me to start preparing by getting the vendor at market to give me the husks. Good to know that they now sell it commercially so no need to go thru the hassle of making one. Whew! Thanks gals.

Hi Everybody,

Can I join in too. But I am a guy - a first time father, I hope you ladies dun chase me away. My wife is abt 10 wks prenant, EDD is 16 Sept 05. Me very blur about prenancy stuffs so scanning the internet for more info. I happen to come to this thread, wow I must say it is very active. Pardon me if I asked stupid questions down the road cos I am actually managed to read only up to 24 Jan 05' archives. Me job is to read up as much info as I can now and then tell my wife what can do and what cannot but so far all the info on the internet very ang mo pai so found this thread very useful and informative. At least I know now whether wife can eat pineapple tarts but also already gave her eat abit leow.

Hi ixwong, yea.. we can save the hazzle of doing one on our own.. by then, we can remind each other to buy online!

Hi dooby, you are most welcome here! Dun worry, we have guys in other threads as well. In fact, I am so touched that you are so concerned about your wifey's pregnancy and you take the efforts to read up and all!

Do feel free to ask any questions you may hv! btw, how old are you and ur wifey?

Hi dooby,

I am so touched as well! How I wish my hubby can be so caring & gan cheong as you. Must make him see this thread liao!

HI garlic,

I think hor, what they meant is .. dun eat luncheon meats and hotdogs straight from the can. So if we cook it, bake it or fry it..should be ok. Nevertheless, I will ask my gynae later.

**Do not eat hot dogs or luncheon meats (including deli meats such as ham, turkey, salami, bologna) unless they are reheated until steaming hot. **

hi gals...

hoshi, my HB very strict about my clothes now... no tight fitting ones and i am reduced to wearing skirts now... was thinking of getting some maternity dresses, see how lor... tot of going to kiddy palace with him and show hime some stuff later.

confused, think you should get a 2nd opinion. in the meantime, don't worry too much.

lib, i am getting my godma to make to pillow for me she did for my cousin (my cousin is about 10yrs old now). i not too sure about the benefits but tot that it will be less likely to have dust mites, as compared to conventional foam pillows.

err... gals, my sis-in-law recommended me Palmer's Coco butter cream to combat stretch marks but i can't find it. anyone knows where i can buy it? my church fren was using bodyshop's coco butter cream when she was pregnant, if i can't get palmer's will get bodyshop. what are you gals using??

hi dooby, you are so sweet! *sigh* also wish my HB as "on" as you.... your wife EDD is close to mine, my EDD is 11 sept but hoping to have BB on same birthday as me!

hi miso... i went to guardian at compasspt, and was told sold out.... so *sian*. HB very gan cheong about this cream and ordered me to ask you gals.

aiyo...ur hb v. cute hor.. restrict ur wearing and all... does he restrict on ur food intake??

gosh... tell him to let u enjoy ur pregnancy.. else all the restrictions will make u feel stressful! hahaha..

ilmare - u can get it at Gardian Pharmarcy. I saw it b4 and its under baby section. My sis friend oso recommend me tis brand. really ah, u gals think i should get 2nd opinion or should wait till thurs? i oso very confused n worried

Hi dooby

welcome. yalor! u so caring. How nice if my hubby is juz like u. Envy your wife

Yar Ixwong, actually i was still worrying how to get the pillow lucky now can purchase liao.. but just not customised oni.. wat to do.. no fish, prawns oso can lar.. mai hiam liao..

Hi dooby, don't worry you are most welcome here.. feel free to ask us questions. really envy your wife.. Ladies, how we wish our HB can oso do the same thing...

ALrite, an update of wat I have done today..
Went to the gynae juz now, as of now, i'm oredi mid of Week 15.. so far my weight has gone up to 5kg, according to gynae is normal. Now my appetite has gone back to normal, less craving liao.. But will be back to extreme when reaching the 3rd tri..

My bb fortunately is now ard 9.59cm, growing healthy meansurement is abit not accurate as bb is crouching inside, not much movement, probably still sleeping.. hehe. I have also done the triple test, wow they took about 10cc of my blood for the test. Next month I will have to go for FA Scan.. Hmm.. as for the gender, still remain unknown, sigh.. this morning told the bb to show me liao, too bad, the leg was cross so can't see..

Hi Lib, I also went to see my gynae ytd.. here's an update of mine.

I am in wk 14 4 days and bb's gestation showed wk 14 2 days.. so ok, kinda tally. Bb is now 7.9 cm.. measuring when it's in crouching position (mine so much smaller than urs!) and wt is arnd 1 kg. Will be doing triple test on my next visit 3 weeks later. Mine also cannot see gender yet.

And also asked gynae abt the hot dog and luncheon meat issue.. he says.. even if not becos of preggie, also try not to consume too much cos it's cancer causing leh.. *oh gosh*

I hv to shelve the plan to go for cruise cos gynae says my placenta is low. So btr to rest more and dun carry too heavy stuffs - including my son then. Also no intercourse allowed. haha.. poor hb.

confused gal, i managed to buy the cream... went to guardian with HB and he spotted it... me must be going blind!!

i feel very tired these few days, go home only want to sleep. anyone also experience this? tot this tiredness will go off soon...

ilmare, u still in v. early stages of pregnancy right?? it's perfectly normal to feel lethargic! It will go off for some when reach 2nd tri.. do hang on!

miso, guess so... was feeling ok a week ago. spent almost the whole weekend sleeping... seems like BB don't like garlic, spicy food, always make me M/S after taking them. *sigh* HB still tell me to enjoy the moment...

haha miso, seems like our bb are wanting to keep their gender a mystery..

dun worri on the size of bb, since your gynae says ok shouldn't have any prob.. isit bcos of yr low placenta tat u have to go 3 weeks lata? by rite at this stage your gynae appt is abt 4 weeks interval??

Ilmare, don't worry u will soon pass off this stage and starts to enjoy yr pregnancy...

Hi lib, I guess so.. yea, otherwise should be 4 weeks liao.. and anyway, i havent done the triple test.. so prob he wants to do it next appt.

Hi ilmare, no prob la.. if tired, just rest more. Leave all chores to hb to do. Hey, u saw the webbie i posted? They sell the Mist for MS! Maybe you can try??

Didn't log in for some time...

Went to see my gynae on saturday and did the nuchal scan cum blood test. Now at 12 wks & 8 days. The baby has indeed grown really fast. It's now measuring at 6.39cm. Gynae says the neck thickness at 1.4 looks normal but got to match with the mother's blood for more accuracy. It's really expensive indeed, the blood test, lab test and scan.. came up to almost $400.

Do you guys know if we still need to do the triple test after we have done this?

Hello n gd morning gals

ilmare - me too leh, feel tired all the time. Hee! i oso couldnt find it at time, then my sis ask the sales girl.

miso - Aiyo! hotdogs n luncheon oso my favourite leh.

Wah, Vivien, you doctor really quite ex hoh. When I last visited my gynae, he also did a nuchal scan (no blood test), but I only paid $140 for the visit, including the 1 bottle of neurogain (fish oil) and my prenatal vitamin..... Not sure how much the triple test will cost though.

Miso/Lib,
Your babies are naughty - keeping their mothers in suspense of its gender. I hope that I would be able to see my bb's gender on my next appt on 7 Mar. By then, I would be 16 weeks plus 2 days *can't wait*....My visit is now at 4-weeks interval. As I have booked tickets to go shopping in Bangkok mid March, really hope can see gender so can buy the right colour clothes for bb.

Hi Vivien, I believe u did the Oscar test. Cos the amount wld cost abt $400 including GST and all. After this, u dun hv to do the triple test liao.. what i understand is.. it's either or.

confused.. i really sian now.. no more luncheon meat! *sob sob*

ixwong, so shiok! I gotta cancel my cruse trip.. so sad.

hi all, those who hv progress to the 2nd trimester, do u still feel e stretch of the pelvic/ adominal and hv e uncomfortable feeling??

Hi cookies,

My skin around the adominal itches sometimes, not sure if that's due to expansion or the recent warm weather. Otherwise not that uncomfortable....

miso - dont be sian yeah! after giving birth then can eat liao, now must ren3. ya sometimes very angry, this can't eat, that can't eat.
Really feel happy for u gals cos bb is growing well. I'm still very worried leh. (my mind cant stop thinking) very fan2 ah.

Hi ixwong,
ya.. i think its really ex... i thought maybe mt e that's why the charges are ard this range. Lucky my co is paying.

Hi miso,
Thanks, so i guess this is it...

hi vivien,

your company is really good to pay for the charges hor.. mine is only a miserable $10 per visit... sigh....

confused, at different stages we'll have different worries... only when we come out of gynae's clinic after each month will we heave a sigh of relief for sometime before becoming kan cheong again till the next visit... dun worry too much...

cookies, i still feel the pull n tension ard lower abdomen / pelvic area... going on to 16 weeks now...

hi cookies,sometimes do feel slight discomfort, which i think shd be due to stretching. sometimes oso feel tummyache,mebe due to poor digestion.shd be normal, my fren in her end 3rd tri feels v uncomfortable at her pelvic area, can't stand too long,and she oni put on 9kg..

hi miso, me like hotdogs & luncheon meat oso. eat a bit once in a while is ok lah.

Tingting,
You are in govt service huh? I am and also get only $10 per visit. But luckily, hubby's company can claim $40 per visit so submit the claim under his instead.

tingting - yo! very true, I agree with u leh. yalor! no point worrying now. Wow! so nice leh, can claim from company. Better then nothing hor.

Hello everyone and a special welcome to all the newbies.
I haven't been online in a while so had lots of catch up reading to do.
Well, today it's official, 12 weeks for me. I am seeing my gynae on Friday morning for a scan and all those tests to check for foetus abnormalities etc. Apparently I will be having a few blood tests too. He told me to bring either a video tape or rewriteable cd to record the scan. This is so exciting and nerve wrecking at the same time. Hubby will be going with for the first time. He even took the day off for it, can you believe it!! Lately, when he kisses me goodnight in bed, he rolls over and kisses my tummy too and says "goodnight baby"..so sweet huh?
Anyway, I can't stay long, gotta get ready for work. You all have a fab day and take care of those little ones inside you.
Bye for now.

hi ixwong, yah... how come govt is less generous than pte sector? but my hb's company doesn't cover spouse...also quite stingy, though he doesn't have to pay for his own medical bills...

Hi Tingting,
yah.. i am really thankful that my co is paying cos the antenatal alone will cost quite a fair bit already!

Tingting,
Govt believe in co-payment mah but I also dunno why the limit is set so low at $10. A bit unrealistic vis-a-vis current market price.