(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

miso, i think i've had epi before or some painkiller close to epidural. A couple of years ago, I had surgery for piles using stapler method, admitted 1 day and discharged the next day.

All ok for the next 14 days then when it's time to go back to work, I ran a high fever and got swollen lymph nodes near my vagina (didn't know got lymph nodes there until doc told me) plus discharge from my wound. Went back to Raffles A&E on Sunday evening and was told got infection but was told to come back next day morning.

Visited my surgeon on Monday and he said yes got abysess (infection) and need to operate to drain them out if not will cause more infection. No choice gotta do it. Schedule surgery on the same day and was put to sleep again. Came out of surgery, stay in hospital for 2 days but had pain all the time, need painkiller jabs.

On 3rd day, doctor said still got infection and need to perform a 3rd operation to drain out the abysess. This time, doctor arranged for anathesticist to give me painkiller through my spine. I had to curl up like a ball the she inserted needle into my spine. After a while, I was drowsy (but did not fall asleep) and couldn't feel from my tummy downwards. She poke my legs everywhere to make sure that I don't feel them.

Actually, after 3rd op still not ok, doc proposed to do 4th op but I received warning from company not to take anymore time off work and I had to take high dosage of antibiotics to fight off the infection.

I guess it's not the doctor's fault but my own as I am allergic to different types of antibiotics which are good for fighting my infection so doc can only prescribe antibiotics which doesn't work as well on me thus taking a longer time for me to heal.

erowen, you need to ask the doc what the name and type of bloodtest. How many weeks will u be in your next visit?

If you doc is a certified sonographer for NT scan, then you can do it in the clinic, if not, need to do it in a hospital. Although I did it in Raffles Hospital, but the doctors were from KK Fetal medicine Department

miso, i'm also maybe going to try without epi. Dunno if i can tahan or not. Hope i'm strong enough to make it...

ilmare, u will be the one wearing the clothes, not ur hubby!!... so if u feel tat ur clothes are tight, can buy new ones to standby until old one really cannot wear. My hubby is the other way round. Keep telling me to wear the maternity pants. But I put off wearing it coz look very auntie, and baggy.... haha..

angel, do u hv more details abt the triple test? I will also be doing it for my next checkup. I learnt from my colleagues that some people do triple test is sufficient enough thru'out the pregnancy. so guess, if nothing seriously wrong, no need so many tests...

Hi maltbibi,

Ya, I transferring to TPS this coming visit cos I'll be 16 weeks and can sign on the package. BTW, when can u get to know your maternal serum testing results?

Hi erowen,

The last time I puke was at 13 weeks. So no more vomitting for the last 2 weeks. Although I feel more energetic, I still feel tired easily and have to sleep by 10pm daily, else the next day will be hell for me. Now I only got those gassy feeling and sometimes feel like something stuck on throat.

Hi tingting,

I started applying stretchmark cream from 12 weeks onwards, but still feel the pull leh. Do u know how many time should we apply the cream per day. I only apply once in the morning.

Talking about epidural, I'm one who will definitely go for it. Firstly, my threshold of pain is very low. 2ndly, epidural don't come free, so not worth suffering the pain first and ask for it later when can't take it, might as well take it as early as possible. I also heard that epidural will help us to relax during labour and in a way the cervix will dilate faster.

hoshi
So sorry, I have no other info on triple test liao. I only know triple test detect 60-75% cases of down syndrome and done in 2nd trimester.

do u all suddenly feel a pull in the womb? i din experience so in my first. i notice that yesterday night, while i was playing with my gal and also this morning in the car.

wow angel, what an ordeal u hv gone thru! yea.. epidural u had cos u described the way u gotta curl up like a ball. Hope everything is fine for u now! *hugs*

Re. epidural, it's individual's preference, if u think u cannot go w/o it, then by all means do tell ur gynae ur pref. Like mine, wont ask me till I ask for it.. tt time, I almost wanted to ask for it.. but too late la, so went w/o it but am glad in a way cos I pulled thru it w/o epi. Gynae was impressed with me. My hb too.. he tot I cannot tahan the pain. Am surprised too! haha.. I heard next door the nurses saying "1....2....3...push!!!!!!" so many time.. even b4 i start and after i delivered, they still saying tt to the patient.

Hi Chemistry,

Result will be released within 2 weeks time.

I got a feeling tat I may not b able to give birth naturally. So I kind of prepared for casearian.

Hi maltbibi, how do u know whether u can give birth naturally or not?... think most gals will only know it during delivery...

Like Chemistry, I think I will definitely go for epidural. Scare cannot tahan the pain and may be put off for subsequent babies. Ya, also heard epidural will help you relax and hence dilate faster.

Hi Hoshi,

I read from somewhere that if your ht is under 1.5m and pelvic not big to accodomate the BB, chances of gg to c-section is there. Dunno whether issit true anot.

Yes maltbibi. My gf who had no choice but to c-sect to deliver the bb cos placenta too low and sth abt the passageway too.. anyway, she is v. short. under 1.5 m.

really?... tat makes sense. My 2 colleagues, 1 shorter had to go for C-Section while the taller one can deliver naturally....
hmm, but still must depends on the bb's position during delivery right?...

Malt maybe bb says daddy naughty, pongtan class so don't show him.. hehhe..

Ero, yalor basically i'm now a really huang-nian po.. especially the week b4 CNY, was doing all the housework except for those require climbing up & down... i even washed the toilets!!! My hb was shocked when he came home saw the 2 toilets so clean.. keke.. now i oso hardly go online, cos im stuck with my new racing game.. hehe.. tink this is my tai-jiao for baby.. last week, play mahjong, this week play racing game.. The calcium is juz a supplement, i seldom drink milk so no worries lar..

Miso: U noe har, during CNY many people ask why am i still eating this & that.. i will tell them it is better for me to eat more then to dun eat.. haha..

heard too many stories from friends liao, basically they are confined into the old-wives tales world, their mil forbid them to do this & that.. making them so miserable..

Hi hoshi, yes i'm fine thanks.. like wat many people said i will enjoy pregnancy soon.. and yes basically i have been sleeping & eating well each day..

Hi Lib, just remember MODERATION is the key word ok.. whatever we wanna eat, just eat moderately will do. Nothing is too harmful unless we consume in excess. And hor, dun sleep too late ok! I use to sleep early in my first pregnancy and my ds now sleeps early too. My colleague used to watch korean movies on tv till wee hrs.. now her ds.. will only sleep after mn! So..

yes lor, though i eat/drink gassy drinks i do it moderately...

now i'm trying to adjust back to my normal sleeping hours liao.. last week horrible, my bb oni get to sleep after 3am everyday.. hehe..

Nowadays I also sleep after watching the 9pm show on SCV ch. 55.. the qipao tailor story.. sooo nice. So by 10pm, will go into room with ds.. then gradually sleep lor.. very tired le..

now i oso sleep past 11am liao, initially will wake up early in the morning for breakfast, now no liao, will wake up for lunch.. now at least can endure hunger more..

wah! u so shiok leh!! I literally gotta drag myself out of bed to bathe and prepare for work every morning! haiz..

ok la.. gg to pack up and go liao.. u take care ok!

bye gals!

I also find myself more tolerant of hunger...can go without breakfast except for a glass of milk....so unlike 1st trimester when I die die MUST eat....

That's all for today. Bye gals. Time to go home.

morning gals

yesterday i went to see gynae liao. Still cant hear/see bb hearbeat. Now very worried
yesterday whole nite cant sleep. is it normal and ok cos i only see the yolk

miso - next thurs. he say maybe still early (slightly delay) he scan my abdominal n oso from bottom n in the end he told me cant see clearly. only see the yolk. dont know will there be any problem boh
sad sad sad

hi confused
maybe you wanna ask your doctor to do a vagina scan instead of tummy scan as can see better.

Alterntively, get a 2nd opinion.

confused, dun worry. maybe ur cycle is longer, thus, ur bb might be less than 8 weeks, thus cannot detect the heatbeat... maybe u can schedule the next appt say, abt 2 weeks later?..
I know waiting is tough, but try to relax ok?

yes, or maybe u can seek 2nd opinion, coz other gynae may have more high-tech tool for scanning..

confused, since ur next appt is next thursday, just relax and wait till then, if still no see anything, then i would also suggest seeking a 2nd opinion.

confused, dun worry so much okie. mayb as wat hoshi said, ur cycle cld b longer, thus ur bb is less than 8 wks. if tat's d case, of coz cannot c bb yet. as ur nxt appt is nxt thu, jus hang on. mayb u can c d bb oledi?? take care & dun tink so much okie.

gals - ok. Thnkas. ya gynae did say abt my cycle(slightly longer)i didnt really pay attention to wat he say cos too sad lor. Now got to wait n see.
he did a vagina scan (something like pear smear) paiseh ! dont know spell correctly or not. But still cant see clearly leh. Dont know is it bcos i juz had my dinner n after that went for scanning n it affected

confusedgal, don't worry so much ya, today is friday and next thursday will come very fast.
Did you ask yr gynae why cannto see?

I did V scan before also, ya abit uncomfortable.

angel, tks for the info, i will be in my 15th week for my next visit. Hmmm, if it's just a normal blood test, would it be too late for triple test?

Lib, wah, you very on for online games ya. kekeke, most importantly you are happy can liao. Cos yr baby will be happy too. =)Good that you are sleeping and eating well.

yup Vone! It's friday today! Yippeee.....

btw gals, can i check are you feeling warm nowadays? co smy other half been saying that my body feels very warm and at times, esp after meals, i feel very very warm....

erowen, i think angel mentioned b4 tat the triple test can be done from week15-20. I will be week 16 for my next appt and will do the triple test.

yes, i also feel very warm... last time used to bathe with really hot water, now cannot liao... must have some cold water to warm me down.... hehe.. i used the same excuse to ask my hubby for 'permission' to drink icy-cold 7-up... hehe..

jus an update, jus fin my gynae visit, baby at 10.5wks,measures 4 cm now, bb waving at us during the scan, so exciting n heartwarming.
doc prescribe fish oil n calcium, but ask me to start when i feel better fr e nasea. can i ask approximately when u ladies start taking these supplements???

hi confusegal, dun worri u will be fine... stay cool!!!

all gals, weather now is a killer, drink more water.. stay indoor as much as possible.. ytd was out to compasspoint oni, near got heat stroke.. need to drink a couple of cold drink + cold shower in order to cool off..

hi hoshi, tks.
ya, i'm really feeling warm, at home and once i step out of office. Ya, drinking cold drinks really shiok leh! I have craving for cherryade, the red colour soft drink!

cookies, i just started to take scott's emulsion recently, but my gynae didn't prescibe anything on calcium pills......oh but he did gave me constipation medicine, white milky ones. But i yet to drink yet.

hi gals, just a thought on fish oil supplements. we're not supposed to take too much of a form of vit A rite? think some fish oils do contain them. u may want to do a quick check with gynae to make sure e type u r eating is ok...

take care during hot weather... esp since we'll be carrying our own hot water bottles around soon!

erowen, cherryade also nice leh!!... hehe.. my hubby forbid me to drink anything cold.. but no choice coz weather too hot mah....

ting2, my gynae so far only prescribe folic acid for me... no extra supplements.... I think so long as we eat in moderation shld be fine...

haven't been posting for a while...

I just did the blood test for the triple test on Wed. I'm in my 15th weeks now.

maltibibi is right. gender can be seen now... depends on how co-operative the baby is.
In fact my hubby who's doing the reading of the book, What to expect when you are expecting, told me the book said from week 13, gender can be known.

Hi Tulips, can you pm me the massage lady's contact number? Thanks!

tingting, tks for yr advise, currently i only taking one tablespoon on alternative day, though suppose to take 3 tablespoon per day! keke.

hoshi, ya i lourve cherryade!!! yr hubby sama sama with mine. always nag at me when i drink cold drinks, esp gassy drinks. But i feel very shiok after drinking!

it suppose to be "ya-jin", when is place on the bb's tummy, bb sleep more soundly

i tink i cn't custom made one for mine got to purchase liao.. cos staying in new hdb not enough sunlight