(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

wah...this thread super fast..by the time i finished reading..refresh only a few more threads ahead liao..

Hi tingting, wah..u so tall and slim!

hey everyone!

i think i'm at my 4 week to 5th liao.. today super nauses leh.... and stomach feels very stressed out and sore feeling... bloated too.. so uncomfortable...

Is it normal??

Cheers.

hi fun,
its very normal, i felt nausea, stomach bloated at times too, but more of tireness and nausea. Make sure you are comfortable, eat someting u like, get more rest. Be easy on your stomach, some food might causes you to feel even more lousy. I try to avoid fry and oily food.

Take care

Try taking bananas if you feel constipated but must be careful to choose small bananas (not Del Monte type), must also be ripe not raw. It works for me.

Sneaky
Welcome to this thread, a very busy thread indeed.

tingting
I use the tiger balm on my temples and forehead for migraine. Gives some relief but does not take it away. Any remedies for migraine during pregnancy?

A lot of you ask about sharp pains. I had very sharp pains in my lower abdomen and sometimes on my sides and I went to see my gynae. He said it is coz of the womb that is getting bigger and the ligaments that need to "loosen" to accomodate it. No need to be alarmed. But if you get very sharp pain in the lower abdomen something like period pain but much worse and it is accompanied with spotting, you have reason for concern. Hope this helps. When in doubt, phone your gynae.

A silly question but something that I have noticed. Mosquitoes seem to bite me more now than before. They never really used to bite me, i thought I was quite immune to them but now that I am pregnant, I get like 4 - 5 bites at night. anybody experience this too? Right now, as I am typing away, I have just been bitten 4 times already! Very irritating!

ixwong
Something that is excellent for constipation is stewed prunes or even dried prunes. You can also buy prune juice. Increase your roughage intake, such as more raw fruit and veg and whole grains. Eat whole wheat bread also.

Fun
I know exactly how u feel, when I was just 5 weeks I was so bloated and sometimes now still, that I literally looked about 5 or 6 months pregant already. It was very uncomfortable and even painful at times. I have now found if I eat more raw fruit and veg and less processed foods like pasta and white bread, it's less.

Mmm, I got the munchies, I would really love to tuck into some roti prata right now, or some Hong Kong noodles or even wonton noodles....haven't had it for almost 3 years...sure miss it! Gonna see what's in the fridge to nibble on...

Take care everyone

newmumsa,
i have no relief for headaches/migraine, but since they are usually caused by tension, impt thing is to try and relax. it helps to stay in a cool dark (ie not bright) room, and lie down in bed with some soothing music. also avoid spicy stuff. i will usually try this before applying oilment or take medicine cos i dowan to be "addicted" to them.

miso & vone, dun envious me... cos my "thinness" is not spread evenly.. i also have big hips n heavy bottom.. pear-shaped figure... :p

hi reenie, i've got no provision shop here...i'm in a new town.. but will try to get my way around it...thanks for the tips!

newmumsa, d reason y mosquitoes like u more these days is coz of our higher body temperatures. they r attracted 2 d warm blood, tat's y u tend 2 get bitten more these days. it's d same case 4 me, wat i do is tat i apply tis anti mosquito lotion fr johnson baby, it helps 2 prevent me fr getting bitten.

tingting, sometimes u get get loose carrots & potatoes in supermkts. jus keep a lookout 4 them.

yes vivien, next week we will be officially 12 weeks already. going to see my gynae next friday.

gals, yesterday i juz broke the news to my boss. her first reaction was "August?... tat's Chinese 7th month leh... stay in hospital very scary one".. I dunno wat to say to her...

anyway, soon after, a lot of colleagues told me my stomach quite obvious liao...

vone, really? our temperature tends to be higher? no wonder I always feel so warm, tot I'm having a fever... hehe..

hi gals morning.

reenie, i also like MOS burger, i always order the Teriyaki Chicken burger.

And all along i like cheese, that's why i love Mcd double cheeseburger. Yummy!

hoshi, you staying with yr MIL? so she does the cooking for you? quite gd leh. i miss my mum's cooking too. Although she stays 4 bus stops away from me, i just wanna sleep when i step home, don't wanna go out again. So will usually have home cooked food on weekends only.

timie, the strawberry drink sounds delicious, i love strawberries, and cherries too. Just forced myself to eat an apple just now.

ya i heard preggie women's temperature will be higher...and we will feel pretty warm. That's why nowadays a lot of maternity wear are pretty sexy.

btw gals, i read somewhere that it's not advisable for us to eat mayonnise...is it true? Cos usually i will have mayo with potato

wow erowen, all those food u mentioned makes me hungry again, now munching again..heee. i luv mos burgers and their fat fries too!
i also force myself to eat fruits, no choice. why cannot eat mayo? salad cream can?

erowen, u r making me veri hungry & craving 4 mos buger now.
tink i'll ask hb 2 drive me thr after wk 2 eat it. as 4 d eating mayo part, is it true?? dun tink tat i heard of tis b4 leh...

hmm, i still feel pretty cold most of the time... still need comforter at night even without aircon... maybe air is still quite cool...

feel like eating rotiboy now...but it's far to walk in the hot sun...

hi hoshi,
i think with your jacket on your tummy not obvious leh
Now I got problem looking for tops cos I need one for small frame yet bigger tummy! sounds like only maternity top is like that leh... Maybe for now I'll also wear jacket to hide my protruding tummy when wearing normal clothes...

wah mos burger... I also like tat fat fries... always piping hot one!.... yum yum!...

tingting, although I feel my temperature quite high, I also very scared of cold one. hehe.. at night sleep will also snuggle into my comforter.. so nice to sleep!...

erowen, i also never heard cannot eat mayo... is mayo 'cooling' stuff?....

hi vone and timmie, cos the article mentioned abt raw eggs as one of the ingredients...hmmm....but i still eating mayo lor, cos i like potato salad. kekeke.

tingting, i also feel pretty cold at times, esp in office, my next door colleague very poor thing, she knows i very cold, so she often off the air con for us, but i still feel cold. but at night, i feel very warm.

speaking of rotiboy bread, i have yet to try it before? Is it really that nice?

Hi erowen

I was told not to eat too cooling stuff (eg certain banana, orange, pineapple ...) didnt know abt mayonise.

Hi hoshi5

Wow! Really envy u leh cos got MIL to cook for u. My MIL never cook for me

hoshi, mayo cooling or not, i don't know also.

confusedgal, why is orange cooling? hmmm...i still drink orange juice....

erowen, oic, but i tink tat it shld b okie in moderation lah...
oh, hv tried rotiboy b4 when my colleagues bought some 4 me. it's really veri nice wif a coffee fragance.

hi erowen, think i understand abt mayo..cos we're not supposed to eat eggs that are not thoroughly cooked. but i wld think mayo is already processed, so any bacteria wld have been killed...

rotiboy is a bit over priced lah... at $1 per bun. the crust is baked till quite crispy, n when u bite u can taste the sinful butter oozing out...
i've eaten it 3 times so far, n still quite like it... din dare to eat more cos it's so fattening, but now no need care for weight so want to eat again..haha...

confused, my mil also seldom cooks, but her cooking a bit "unconventional" one.. not used to it... still prefer my daddy's cooking..hehe..

confused, me staying with my MIL lor... tat's why when she has time, will cook for us... ter's pros and cons in staying with in-laws lor...

Orange is cooling?... i tot it's rich in vit C, very good for health?.... I know mango cannot take so much.

I dun really like rotiboy coz not used to eating sweet bread... too sweet for me... heehee..

that's gd to know abt mayo! Kekeke, cos i will gg down to sizzler for lunch later. So can eat the salad bar.

hmmm, okie, got chance i will try the rotiboy.

btw tell you gals something, i slipped and fell down yesterday at a carpark.i think the cement floor was very slippery with the oil. But it was a gentle fall. My colleagues were very worried and kept asking if i'm okie, i was abit too shocked to say anything. But i find myself difficult to get up even though my colleagues helped me up.

So be careful while walking ya. Now we are really different now.

Hi Hoshi, yup next wk we will be into our 12th week! Sounds fast! I am only seeing my gynae on 19 Feb. Will be doing the first trimester testing then. Will you be doing this?

By the way, ladies do you know where can we get nice maternity pants?

Vivien, wat is this 1st trimester testing?...
if 19 feb, u shld be going to week 13 liao... so it's 2nd trimester.
Me going to see the gynae next friday 11 feb... 2nd visit. Hope everything is fine.

U can get nice working pants from Plaza Singapura. But the price quite ex... range from $79.90 onwards...

hi hoshi, mandarin oranges are fine, cos they are "heaty"... dun eat too much of the usual naval oranges.

can't wait for lunch...somehow today no mood to work...jia lat...

Hi erowen

Aiyo! so u ok mah? Walk slowly n carefully yeah! Try to wear those non-slip shoe. (now i start wearing liao cos 1st three mth very important leh)sometime i oso very clumsy.

hoshi5 n erowen - Yeah! i heard from some friends that orange a bit cooling (in hokkien they oso say hong1) maybe eat a little shouldnt be a problem.

tingting, thx 4 the info. Now I like to eat mandarin orange... hehe..

erowen, must be more careful ya?....
hehe.. gals, I'm still wearing my working high-heels shoes... hehe... only change them after work.

cakey, u there?... so nice to meet up with u yesterday. ur tummy very small leh... and u very petite, made me feel so 'giant'... hehe..

hi erowen, i nvr heard of the mayo thingy leh..y cannot eat?? I loved to eat baked potato gratin..always do this when at home alone with ds and dunno what to eat..haha..also hotdogs with Hot Dog Relish..yum yum!!

aiyo..hoshi, ur boss so superstitious ah! No scared la..our conscience is clear..and furthermore, hospital will hv lotsa nurses on duty and chk on u every other hour. *wink*

ya, i'll be more careful in future, tks...i'm ok.
I feel very clumsy....today i walk very slowly and wear flats to work.

confusedgal, what type of non-slip shoe are you wearing?

vone, luckily no pain after i stood up. But i do feel worried. *touch wood touch wood*

vivien, i got 2 maternity pants from Perfect Mum @ Kovan, one is demin 3/4 (very comfy) and the other is black pants. I think they have a few outlets...

hoshi, really admire u leh. can still wear high heels. i switched 2 wearing shoes wif lower heels oledi coz i m quite clumsy.

erowen, if u dun feel pain in ur tummy, then it shld b okie. tink our bb is veri 'cocooned' in our tummy. i got an ex-colleague who once fell down when she was in her 8 mths due 2 a slippery flr. other than d scare she gave us, she was okie.

ya miso, i also very surprised when i read the article online, i will try to find it and post the link here. But i think if we eat in moderation is okie lor.

confusedgal....u staying with MIL....from the expression...a bit tense is it? Now you pregnant, don't think too much ya

hoshi, Thanks for the book
ya i'm an xs size, so usually my clothes are fitting ones.. so now the tummy part are bulging underneadth the fitting top lor.. somemore so tied up with assignment on weekends that no time/energy to go shopping.. lucky i don't have to visit many places this CNY

Also no time to shop for CNY goodies.. only take some here and there from in-law and parents house hehe... Haven't even change $$ for ang bao! first time giving ang bao quite excited hehe.. Then next yr can collect back haha..

Vivien, what is first trimester testing ah?

Erowen, must be careful now tt we are preggie..must walk more daintily! haha... anyway, me also still wearing heels.. only changed to slippers in the office.

ey..what I heard of orange is tt it will cause phelgms.. so if u consumed a lot..bb when born will be very phelgmy lor..so not advisable. Cos bb will be whatever we eat lor.

ya, i also heard fr my mom abt orange causing phlegm.. take in moderation i guess.. but orange juice taste so good after a filling meal!

cakey, i aso hv not done any cny shopping yet. we hvn't even started on spring cleaning yet as hb is so busy these days. worse come 2 worse, tink we wld skip all these.

erowen, tat's y we must b more careful when we r in our later stages. coz we cannot even c d grd which we walked on coz it's blocked by our tummies. hehe...

walk daintily!! kekeke, my goodness, i'm a very Chor Lor gal leh, but ya, i'll be really careful now...

hmm, i think will drink my orange juice in moderation...

vone, i think it's very funny, that our tummies will block our vision of the grounds we walk..kekek, i cannot imagine.

erowen, tat's wat my ex-colleague told me. hehe... i aso find it funny when she told me tat. now tat i m preggy, can understand y she said tat.

Wah, this morning already so many posting.

erowen, you need to be more careful now. I have switched to low heels since preggie and also walk more consciously.

Yesterday cannot tahan the pain at the tail-bone so went to apply some deep-heat to the area. feel much better today. Wondering if there is any negative impact on bb due to application of such analgesic cream?

erowen - i bought my slip-on shoes at pretty fit n i stick a nonslip at the bottom. I oso wear sandles (bottom is made of rubbery type) cos i walk very fast n sometimes i do run in the office so i change to slipper when i m in the office
yalor, i feeling unhappy at home but no choice lor, bcos of bb i got to relax now.

ixwong - i oso stick medicated plaster on my back whenever i had backache if not cant tahan the pain.

cakey, u juz got married?... hehe... me got married in Jan last yr, juz b4 CNY, so tis yr will be my 2nd yr giving ang-pow liao. Me and hb were busy slotting $$ in the ang-pow last week.. hehe... I feel very auntie giving ang-pow to the kids.... haha... :-D

confused, gotta give and take lor. Initially i really cannot get used to staying with her. Now I close both eyes liao.... have to give and take, complain to hb also no use, coz will make things more difficult and strain both sides' relationship..

hoishi5 - thanks for the advise. i know, sometimes i do give n take its them. (they are petty) whenever they quarrel(son n family) the family member especially MIL will show me face n say something bad abt me. (not fair to me right) actually i m very upset abt all these n sometimes feel that i shouldnt marry. Now bcos of bb i got to ren lor. Anyway my PIL does not know that i m pregnant liao. u gals MIL know that you pregnant liao mah?

vone, we already gave up spring cleaning..just that MIL kept reminding us to clean the windows (I think she saw how dirty it was once and remembered...) Maybe will ask hubby to clean this weekend.. my poor hubby also haven't buy any CNY clothes yet leh... cos. i no mood to go shopping with him then he also no mood to buy on his own hehe...

hoshi, yap, just got married last Oct which was just 4mth ago.. and I'm now 2mth preggie
.. so surprise when tested positive.. thot our partime course so stress won't be so easy to conceive.. then my colleague joke and say we must be very fertile hehe..

cakey... haha.. dunno if it's hardworking studying or making bb... haha... i also no mood to go shop 4 my hubby clothes... but felt very bad coz he brought me shopping and buy so many clothes for me. So last week, went shop shop and he bought 3 shirts at one go.... hehee..

confused, perhaps u let them know that u r preggie and they won't go so hard on u?... maybe next time they quarrel, u try to sound ur hb out. Then next time ur PIL will know tat u r trying to help out in the relationship.
ya, my PIL were in taiwan when we called them and broke the news to them. my FIL very 'happy' and bought a lot of chicken essence for me to take. Ask me to take one bottle every alternate days coz he know studying very stress lor.... hehe.. last week he bought 2 more packs....

confused, sometimes we as dil got 2 1 ear in & 1 ear out, esp now since u r preggy. u noe when my mil noes tat i'm preggy, d 1st thing she told hb is tat she wldn't do my confinement. i was pretty hurt when i heard tat. i hv no intention of asking her 2 help at all in d 1st plc so y is she saying tat?? then my fil told my hb 2 tell me 2 b more careful as d chances of me hving a m/c is veri high as my menses r irregular?? helo... as if my menses hv anything 2 do wif my pregnancy, but hb told me 2 jus ignore them & concentrate on hving a healthy bb. so even when i c them during cny, i wld pretend tat i didn't noe anything abt wat they say. kinda of like makes life easier 4 me when i face them.

oh, my pil oledi knew tat i m preggy coz my hb got a veri big mouth. he told them when it's cfmed.

cakey, ya, me aso in d same situation.

hoshi5, wah ur pil r so sweet.

confused, yes..told our respective parents the moment we knew we conceived. maybe u should let ur pils know..they will be v. elated!! and somemore cny coming...double happiness lidat..

hoshi, on the chicken essence,.. can we take it now..few times, I feel like taking but not sure can take anot.