(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi angel,
please take care and stay positive. As for work, since its reduce to part-time, perhaps you can see it as a chance to spend more time resting and be with the baby. Financial wise,you might want to work out with your hubby for this time being, after birth, you can start look for a full-time job which pays better. Right now, some companies might not be ready to take in pregnant lady like us. No matter what, baby brings joy and happiness, we just have to bear with the hardship or uncomfortable time for now

angel, dun think so much. take care of ur health. it may be a rough period now, but do take care. be strong for ur bb!...

tulip, i'm also interested. but is it very hard to prepare?... i'm really poor in cooking, so it must be easy to prepare and in english... is it?.. hehe..

erowen, do they have long jeans?... i can't wear 3/4 coz dun look nice in it...

vivien, where is jalan pemimpin?...

Good morning ladies,

It's now almost 6am here in sunny South Africa. Been awake since 5am. Can't sleep late anymore.

erowen
South Africa is 6 hours behind you and I mostly get to log on after 7pm my time when it is cheaper. That's why it looks like I am posting at 2am.

tingting
Thx for the info, makes sense now. My hubby didn't tell me about those things tho and he is Chinese. But then again he dun follow this as he has become very Westernised.

angel
Sorry to hear about the bad news. Sit down with ur hb and work out a budget and plan how you are gonna deal with this. You might need to cut down on a few of life's little luxuries but it's worth it for the bb. Best of luck ok. Keep smiling!

Hi angel,
i am really sorry to hear abt your grandmother... please take care of yourself... Don't worry abt your finances - i am sure you and your hb can work things out. Will keep you in my prayers...

erowen - okie. aiyo! me too leh wearing skirt to work n every morning heachahe ah cos dont know what to wear (i've more pants then skirt) almost every week wear the same pattern n going to be lau gu dong liao. btw, spring is located at which floor. Oso is it advisable to wear tight fitting clothes or loose one?

Gals

i'm going to buy the Plamer butter coco (stretch mark cream) n let u gals know gd or not. Its my sis friend who recommend to her (her sis is a nurse n say that the cream is gd)

confused - i think wearing loose fitting things are better, but not those auntie looking clothes, you get nice stylish loose fitting clothes. Don't want to put too much pressure on your abdomen.

we don't get Palmer butter coco here, so I am gonna buy me the Clarins tonic oil. It's specific for stretch marks during pregnancy. kinda ex here tho but bo pien (am I spelling this right?)

wow ladies, this thread is really moving fast... didn't log on oni for 5 days, takes me hours mins to read all thread... hehe..

welcome newbies to our this warm little family, seems like the list is really getting longer.

to update you guys, our dear pm has reverted however, thrs nothing much the mom can do oso. anyway i have given them this as a feedback, so ladies out there, if u r oso facing the same prob as i do, you want to write to me, as i be doing a statistic for our mom.

angel - ya! u got to be strong n we'll pray for u. I'm sure your grandma wont blame u for not attending ther cremation.(she knows that you're pregnant n not convenient) So dont be sad. ok?

hoshi5 - jalan Pemimpin is around Thomson Rd. Nearest MRT is Bishan but got to walk 15 mins. I'm staying near to Tat Ann Bldg. Aiyo! they close so early leh if not can go there n have a look.

the worst part of my day is brushing my teeth! as soon as the toothbrush just touches my tongue I wanna throw up! any of you have this? I normally scrape my tongue but now I can't. hate it.

Hi newmumsa

Oh thanks. No wonder i feel uncomfortable when i wear tight fitting clothing. o! its 6am in your country. Wow! u wake up so early. u migrate to south Africa ah?

reenie, you are very discipline! I took soft drinks every alternate days, cos i need the gas and the sweetness of it!

Timie, yes, the jeans are those stretchable type.It's abit like hipster, hanging low type. Can wear after give birth. That's what the salesgal told me

Hoshi, yup they have long jeans and also other types of pants.

newmusa, wow! You are in South Africa? how's the weather there? Which part of SA you in?

Confusedgal, Spring is located at the 3rd floor, it's situated at a stretch of shops for mummies and babies.
I also been wearing the same few skirts and top to work!what to do...

Lib! So glad to see you. How have you been? Resting at home? Don't think too much ya...

hey, i visited bellysim website yesterday! So qiao, i did a search on maternity wear and it website appeared. I like the maxim top, but thomson is pretty unconvenient for me leh, as jalan pemimpin is all the way inside.. But if you gals are going, i will certainly like to tag along!

hey newmumsa, i also will use the brush to scrape my tongue, ya now cannot...cos very risky, i always 'er' if i do that...

hi mommies-to-be,
paiseh, long time never log in. i went back to my mom's home cuz lao gong overseas again. he has been away for 1 week now and i will only get to see him this sunday. quite tough cuz as a mtb i have become slightly more clingy...wish he could help me out with spring cleaning.. =(

angel,
i'm sorry to hear about ur loss. know how u feel because i lost a relative when i was staying in the states last year. by the time i flew back, the funeral would be over. so i was told to stay back. then 2 weeks before my wedding last dec, i lost another relative to cancer. my parents forbade me to attend. i felt very bad, the family probably thinks that i'm some kind of heartless gal now. stay strong for the baby. i hope everything will work out for you. ur grandma will bless u from heaven. *hugs* baby will make up for everything when he/she's born.

reenie,
u're very cute. reminds me of may phua. i heard that when she was preggie, she finished a big bottle of coke (probably the 1.25l kind) all by herself in one go! Now u're making me crave for it... i was just munching on bah kwa....i think its very sinful, but super addictive leh. im just thinking how much nicer it would taste if i can have it with coke! heheh

u can try to mouthrinse with mouthwash more often, use floss n brush without toothpaste? dunno whether the children's toothpaste will taste nicer... last time i got a college fren who has this idea of scrapping with brushing totally and rely on mouthwash instead... haha....

erowen and confused - I am South African, Angmoh as you would say. I live in Durban, on the east coast. Weather much like Australia with 4 seasons. We having summer now, very hot.

tingting - wah you so clever one! thanks for all your advice.

Ok ladies, gotta love and leave you, 7am here gonna get ready for work. Message you again tonight.

Have a fab day!
ciao

erowen and christina,
i am not that well discipline at all!!! finally, today....i break my promise! just now, i went to get a COKE light :p BUT, i didn't finish the entire can, left half....but its so shiok!!!!!!!!! And yes, a little don't hurt, i am just worried about the caffine i take in everyday, cos' i crave for tea as well.

hi Lib,
Great to see u again!!! and thanks for the update on the PM thing. So you enjoying life now?

Hehe, yes reenie i am enoying life now, no worries each day.. watching drama serial + playing my newly bought game..

but sometimes it can be quite boring oso, at home imagine all friends are working.. sigh..

i will be less active now in the forum, cos my home doesn't not have broadband so it is quite slow to open forum using dialup.. dun worri i will come as often as possible.. and keep u gals updated on my growth as well...

ladies, wondering if some of u are experiencing skin breakout?? recently i tend to have more pimple on my face.. oh no.. is going to CNY liao, lata not pretty...

newmumsa, you yrself have a good day ahead also ya! So nice to see a friend from South Africa to join us here!

reenie, yes, i can understand the shiokness. keke, everytime i drink soft drinks, i will feel very happy.

But hmmm, speaking of caffeine intake, i'm rather guilty, cos i cannot resist drinking coffee, i limit myself to 3 cups per week and for soft drinks i try to alternate, but hor, as i type, i think my intake is too much liao.

lib, take the chance to rest and relax....do you plan to look for part time jobs?

yes i will ero.. but tink for the being see how it goes, if thr p/t jobs available will go for it, staying home all day oso boring

oh no..reenie,
i'm very tempted to grab myself some fizzy cola right now! i'm oso taking tea every now and then. gynae gave me go-ahead for peppermint and chamomile tea cuz caffeine-free. my friends got me some decaf english tea from marks and spencer too, they have some nice selection of decaf tea bags.

lib, my face oso dotted with pimples now. supposed to meet a friend at 2pm in town, i havent left my house at sembawang yet. dunno what to wear and face doesnt look too pretty. no wonder one of my friend who just gave birth kept complaining that she has low self esteem during her 9 preggie mths...i'm getting it too. esp when im in between sizes. neither here nor there. maternity clothes all too big. face getting more oily oso...*sobs*

hi lib,
its perfectly normal to have breakout, i have alot!!!!!! small red pimples around my T-zone, around my mouth area too. Hmmm....i do look not pretty as compare to last time, but what to do??
cover with powder! I am just worried those red marks will not go away.....What kind of game are u playing?? X-box? hahaahahah... Broad band is around $60 a month, actually its quite worth it if you do surf net daily and for long hours. Maybe you can try go library borrow books? can read and listen to music.

hi erowen,
i think your intake is quite alright. I take tea too, with milk or without, use to like coffee so much, but after pregnant, not so much craving for coffeee. BUT coke or other soft drinks, becomes my fave! I also like Season's barley drink, do u think its too cooling? I called my coke => HAPPY drink

hi christina,
go grab yourself one! hahaahahah....baby feel so happy now after i drink :p IS there decaf teabags from Marks and Spencer??? i am looking around too!!!! Good to hear that. i am drinking mostly Lipton teabag or those from coffeeshop. I don't tink i like chamomile or peppermint, i like just plain tea with sugar or milk.

As for oily face, i try to wash it off with my cleanser if i am at home. I find it quite alright during daytime as my powder is quite oil control, i guess the moisturiser plays a part too. Use tissue to blot it off in office. To be frank, i try not to go out so often now, if not, i will need to put on some powder. I have not meet up with any friends lately.

hi erowen, i also like the tops at bellysima. Will probably go this saturday cos they will be closed next week already for cny! i am also craving for my coffee... still drinking everyday but try to take only half a cup!

hi reenie,

marks and specs have become a heaven for me now....i got a lot of munchies from there. i'm a potato chips addict..esp salt and vinegar flavour...my husband thinnks its damaging my kidneys cuz so salty. heheh. yah, coming back to decaf tea, they haf decaf and the usual english tea. it will be printed on the box, make sure u grab the right one k. next time u bump into a preggie when shopping there, it might be me *wink*

reenie, sorry leh, i'm not very sure abt barley, maybe the gals can advise u on this?
kekeke, you call yr coke Happy Drink. That's cute. These days, i feel so perky whenever i take the coffee, i feel my day'll be better with that sip of coffee.

vivien, you drink coffee everyday? wah, u also a coffee lover like me! Btw you take those instant one or those from coffeeshop one?

me too...got skin breakouts..little dots all over my face.. but lucky not acne or pimples.. few pimples on the chin area. But wat to do?? blame the hormones!

me too...will drink a coke or two in a week! and had tea with milk almost every morning.. I dun seems to drink plain water much..makes me pukey..

btw, tulip! Can I have a copy of the recipe as well?! Thanks!

angel, i m so sorri 2 hear of ur loss. but dun worry, i m sure tat ur grandma understands y u can't attend her funeral. as 4 ur job, dun worry so much & take things as it comes along. who noes, tis cld b a chance 4 u 2 rest more at hm so tat u can hv more time 4 ur bb. cheer up okie.

erowen, i m taking d bottled 1s coz we dun noe how 2 boil bird nest.

hi lib, so nice 2 c u online.
so how r u these days other than watching tv & playing games??

hi lib, me also.. for the past month started to breakout at the forehead area... when i went for facial recently beautician commented that i accumulated 1 year's worth of pimples! (bcos i 1 year never go already..haha) now got to be more diligent in keeping face clean... when u first spot a zit, dab it with witch hazel toner using cotton wool. then apply pimple cream. i used to do it until pregnancy got me too lazy n tired...

newmumsa, no lah, just thinking off the cuff...
have a good day at work! i'm glad ours is 1/2 way over for the day! sleepy after lunch man...

me a coffee/tea addict oso, everytime i wanna drink, my colleagues or frens will give me the incredulous look & say 'hey, u shdn't drink coffee leh! no good for bb!' make me so guilty
like me doing something bad to my bb..sigh..my hb only let me drink a few mouthful when i go breakfast with him. so pathetic right? sometimes i hide in my office & drink..hehee..
seems like all of u ok with gassy drinks? won't get lots of gas & burp a lot after drinking meh??

hi tingting,
im looking for a pimple cream oso, need ur advise. can we use those otcs? no special ingredient to avoid for preggies right?

miso, ya, plain water taste abit like posion to me now. But will still force myself to drink...actually would drinking less plain water affect us?

vone, which brand of bird nest you taking? Cos i thinking of buying the New Moon one.

timie! U very cute1 Hide in office and drink, ya, like yrs, my hubby also only allow me to drink a few sip at home.And in the past he frown upon me drinking soft drinks!but after my gynae give me the green light to go ahead and drink in moderation, he dare not say no to me!

i will burp a lot after drinking, that's why it's shiok! It gives me the feeling that the bloated air is coming out from my tummy. keke

Hi erowen, yup i am definitely a coffee addict. Don't know why the taste of milo makes me want to puke. Actually i luv those kopitiam ones. but so far i only take the instant ones cos i read on the web that 1 cup of instant coffee has about 57mg (or gm) of caffeine compared to brewed ones (i think around 200) Since i take coffee, i try to avoid my chocolates cos chocs has caffeine too.

hi Timie,
its alright to drink a little, won't harm the baby. But not like 4 to 5 cups a day. My gynae says it ok to take 1 cup per day, it make us feel better sometimes. He even recommend red wine, a little per day helps to circulate blood. Although i am not a wine lover. I don't burp after soft drink, i feel so much alive! :p

hi tingting, normal pimple cream shd be quite safe to use right??
seems like my face less breakout & smoother now(compared to last time during menses, will hv more), but quite oily. notice tt if i put enuf moisturiser, tend to hv less oil secretion for the day..dunno why different fr all of u?? do u ladies get hot flushes on the face? the other day my colleague commented tt my face veri veri red, thot i was sick. when i touch my face, oso feel v hot..but i dun feel unwell. is it normal??

hi vivien,
u make a very good point to take note, chocolate! i am so tempted to buy a Timeout bar just now, lucky i didn't. I love chocolate and couldn't resist it, as it gives a heavenly smell and sweetness. Somemore CNY coming, got Rochers...and others...

Hi miso and erowen,
the only time of the day i take plain water is perhaps with the folic acid :eek: Plain water really taste like medicine to me! sometimes i even take soyabean or ribena with folic acid, i couldn't force myself to drink plain water. Will take cause any problem?

Hi reenie,
i love rocher too! sometimes i just give in to my temptation too... just don't take so much loh.. if you are already taking fizzy drinks and coffee/tea. btw, i read on this website that we should try to take 6 to 8 glasses of fluids a day but juices, milk, soy and smoothies can also make up this amt so if plain water is not appealing to you, drink up more of such stuff.

timie, i can't take gassy drinks rite now, makes me feel veri uncomfortable.

christina, i m using l'oreal's pimple cream, d 1 in d lite blue color tube. i find tat it's veri effective.

erowen, i m taking dragon's brand. hb got a fren who's veri knowledgement abt birds' nest. he recommends tis as he says tat it's d best in d mkt. so hb took his recommendations & bought a few packs 4 me.

vivien, i can't do w/o milo these days. so funny hor since we all got dif cravings.

hehe... seems like for all us, we are coffee addicts..

my hb also dun allow me to drink... he say bad for the bb... made me feel so guilty whenever i drink. so till i control my coffee intake... dun feel so much like a 'zombie' without coffee liao..

wow! posting very fast see until my eyes rolling liao.

gals - my face oso very oily but after using the teatree oil mask, it really helps. Or u can apply the aloe vera mask, i bought it at body shop. After apply my face stop popping pimples liao. aiyo! so nice leh, u all have craving for coke. My hubby dont allow me to drink to cooling cos afraid my stomach cant take it. Now i have craving for Hagan Daz ice cream leh ,hee! tonite must it

vivien, really ah? gosh, i think i have been eating one rocher everyday! I love chocolates and here am i thinking that it's safe to eat chocolates! goodness...

ya reenie, like you, i have the same question, will drinking less water affect us...from the answer by the vivien, think still have to drink 8 glasses?
but you very cool leh, u drink ribena with folic acid.

oh btw, besides folic acid, i'm also taking this pink colour pill, very sweet. I like. I think it's prenavit. anyone taking also?

vone, tks for sharing, dragon's brand is it the Long Biao brand?

hmmm, from our postings, it seems that our hubby all very protective of us and the baby hor...this cannot eat that cannot drink.

That's why sometimes i ask my hubby whether he pregnant or i pregnant

erowen, ya it is. oh, sometimes they hv promotions at supermkts such as ntuc, keep a lookout 4 them as it can b quite worth it when u buy then.

hi ladies, some info on fluid intake:
Fluids: During pregnancy, you need extra fluids to expand your blood volume. This ensures that your baby gets lots of oxygen and nutrients. Extra fluids also work with fiber to help alleviate constipation. Try to drink 8-12 glasses of water, milk, or fruit juice each day.

since most of us take coffee/tea which is diuretic, we will need more water lor..

ya reenie, i try to limit to one cup per day..tahan for the sake of bb. i think shd be ok to drink soya bean/ribena with folic.. my gynae only say dun take milk with iron tablets..

erowen, i guess that's def one way of getting the gas out by drinking gassy drinks!!

vone, roughly how much for the birdnest? does it come in the 6-bottle pack type?

haha..erowen, actually my hb quite blur abt other foods tt pple always say dun eat, he even bought fried oyster omelett 4 me to eat the other nite, i happily stuff them down w/o the oyster lah..oni thing he stops me is salmon sashimi..which is my fav..sigh..

haha i'm oso a kopi addict, must have at least 1cup a day in the morning to perk me up for the test of the day.. so no i still drink 1 kopi a day..

haha seems like u all start to miz me when didn't see me online.. apart from this 2 watch disc & play my ps2.. noting much to do oso.. btw, i oso dun log in much at home, so tink no point to get a broad band.. see how with me now not working for the next 1yr, can consider tat to acc me during the day.

lucky i'm not the oni one suffering from breakouts,yar tink we preggies muz really be confident in ourselves, so wat if we are holding a tummy?? and can't wear as sexy as b4, who cares, let me "bi-guan" for 1yr, after releasing this ball, i will do a major makeover.. hehe.. so my baby will be proud to have a pretty mummy.. hehe..

tink by then rite, i oso wont care abt image liao.. haha.

erowen,
not cool lah, i am being naughty. I even took it with warm milk or soya bean milk! don't care, just swallow, as long as it get down my stomach..hahaha..i remembered once i puke out my folic acid as i took it with plain water!
Is there a pink tablet?? no idea, what's the purpose?

vivien,
forget to tell you, besides coke is my HAPPY drink, chocolate is my HAPPY food. Although i was telling my colleague, fruits can also be HAPPY food for me, as long as they are sweet! I am tempting for chocolate like rochers and also royce chocolate, those tiny slice of pure chocolate from hokkiado...hehehehee

I like Nutella on my bread nowadays! another form addiction.