(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

i finally acquired a phone after the previous one went bust last year, causing me to lose all the phone numbers that i've collected for the past 5 yrs.

Could u pls SMS me with your name so that i can re-create my database... thanks!

hi, for mummies who place their kids in full day childcare..

do your kids bring a serving of FM to school each day? or how do they get their afternoon milk each day?

morning drink milk before sch.
evening drink milk before sleep.
in sch if they serve milk, it's additional intake. I don't pack milk for Isaac to bring to sch.

tingting,

Ethan since 19 mths old skip aftternoon milk intake coz the cc doesnt allow to pack milk for him. So only morning and evening drink milk. But I give him 3 times on weekend. Morning, afternoon and evening.

hmm, tks for the feedback.. cos zephan doesn't take milk at night anymore.. will having milk at night hinder toilet training for the night? cos he has his dinner at 6pm, fruit 7pm, sleep at 9pm. so not sure how to slot in his night milk feed..

isaac takes only abt 150ml for bedtime milk. some nights abt 11pm thereabouts he'd kick around and whine in bed, so we'd ask him to get up to pee. and he'll go back to sleep very fast. most overnight diapers are dry, maybe exception of once a week/ fortnight?

tingting ...

YC school allow us to either pack a portion of FM for them to make him a glass of milk or we can order the smoo packet milk for him ... $31 for 2 month supply.

YC chose the packet milk so they drink the milk together with the tea break (aft nap)

seabreeze,

i'm packing the FM for zephan now also.. but me feeling a bit lazy to pack everyday.. :p how are you now? popping soon right?

btw, not sure if ur cherie hearts outlet has sent you a slew of enrichment programmes that the kids can sign up for? The other day i just received this list of programmes, like "theatrical kids (eng/ch), BASF Kids' Lab, The Children's Repertoire..." the fees are making my head spin!

wendy,

zephan now can sit properly on the normal toilet seat already.. think at this age they're tall enough to use normal seats?

tingting,

i got d same reaction as u... i nearly fainted on d spot. wah, at d rate tt they r 'encouraging' us 2 sign up 4 d enrichment classes, i'll go broke v soon...

tingting
ahhh, without kiddy seat, isaac may fall in. He needs someone to be there just in case. I read somewhere that they will use kiddy seat until.... K2 ? which is 6yo. or did i read wrongly..

wendy,

at most get stuck ba.. got once or twice zephan nearly sat "into" the toilet bowl, then he wised up and learnt to hold the sides of the toilet seat when he sits. So we just gotta be more diligent in cleaning the toilet bowl, and get him to clean his hands more thoroughly.

maybe use of kiddy seat is relative to the height of the child ba.. like my godson is shorter than zephan even though he's 2 years older, wld think he's more likely to require the seat than zephan..

vone,

yah.. i don't think i'll sign him up for more classes for now, if sign up then there's basically no time left for the normal curriculum? then we're paying the basic school fees just for nanny services arh? at most i may consider swopping the Acts of Life with the Chinese drama class to give him more mandarin exposure...

ting ting & vone ...

never sign him up for any of the courses cos the fee at his branch are v high ... $130 for 1 month and $230 if take up both english + chinese for 1 month ... enRICHment is making me POOR lor heehee

my EDD is 27 March ... 17 more days to go ... next week will be my last working week ... cant wait to pop cos #2 is much bigger than YC ... YC full term is 2.79kg and #2 at 36 weeks was already estimated to be 2.9kg and now i am HUGE lor!! v tired

seabreeze,

think the 2009 enrichment fees are standard across all centres.. cos the letter was sent out by the HQ.

wow, for me #2 was only 1.6kg at 31 weeks.. good for me cos still have a fair bit of shopping to do..
planning to work till edd

wendyg ...

WOW 4.5kg!!! amazing ...

yap usually is +/- 10% ... for yc it was - 10% cos his estimated was suppose to be 3kg

ting ting ...

oh maybe they standardise the enrichment vendor ... but too much for me to pay every month so no enrichment for him heehee

good weight for 31 weeks ... me working till end of next week ... as good as EDD liao ... resting just 4 days before the EDD

3.6kg with 10% +/- also wrong lor...
exceed by 25% ley. pui pui. whatever la. thank God it was by c-sect o'wise natural maybe kena stuck & gotto c-sect anyway.
Coz the doc thought 3.6kg, can try natural. But if she knew 4.5kg, i think she'd advise straightaway c-sect. Less traumatic for everybody, maybe?

wendyg ...

i think anything abv 4kg will go for c-section straight away lor

but then again the gynae will always say that scan is just an estimate only mar

seabreeze
my sister both boys 4kg natural with epi. in canada, they everything pro natural one lor... no induce, no episiotomy..

yah, i was just commenting that the western countries are quite pro natural birthing. Singapore docs tend to be more KS?

wendy,

think the other time u were asking for cheap letter tracing books right? found a website that you can download and print for free: http://www.handwritingforkids.com/handwrite/manuscript/alphabets/index.htm

seabreeze,

yah, i think they're just letting us know whatever they have on their plate.. read more closely and realised some programmes are not offered at all centres anyway..

wendyg ...

but hor ... ang mo body and us different ler ...

they are suppose to be more 'elastic' there so no episiotomy needed

anyway just to update ... bb has hit 3.3kg at 38 weeks ... even my gynae is crossing his finger that i will pop soon =p

ting ting ...

yar good that they have options for us ... but their option all v exp heehee

anyway he is going for some play next week ... they went to snow city last week and yc didnt like it cos he say that the slide was v high and scary but got some ice-cream tour and he enjoyed the strawberry ice cream though

wendyg ...

thats what i mean lor ... when chinese give birth there they cant use their ang mo practice on us ... cos physically we are different

seabreeze
oic... but my sister was subjected to their ang mo methods and emerged ok ley.

sgp docs always want to induce, want to interfere with the natural process. In ang mo countries, MTBs dun even go to hospital to give birth! they just pop at home or at birthing centre, with midwives to help. Only go hosp see doc when there are complications.

i think the birthing choices is a matter of how much risk u want to take.. if die die want natural, complications may occur. For most singaporeans, we prob just want to have our babies safely delivered, never mind the method.

seabreeze,

haha.. yup, #2 better come out soon, else u gotta start washing the 3-6 mths clothes earlier than expected

wendy,

zephan is a natural lefthander, but we're getting him to write with his right hand. he's eating his food with his left, and as for drawing/colouring, half-half.

ting ting ...

me more worried abt the delivery process =p

i already told my hubby that i am def going for epidural liao cos bb is so much bigger than yc

wendyg ...

think my gynae already v pro-natural liao ... cos someone in the march 09 thread ... her bb is abt the same size as mine the gynae ask her to go c-section the next day lor .. mine still say just cross finger hahahahaha

seabreeze
that's good! My 2nd doc (Joycelyn Wong) also very pro natural. Even tho Isaac was born via c-sect, she was supportive since the beginning when i told her i wanted to try VBAC. She allowed me to wait until 41wks for natural birth!

wendyg ...

yar mine super pro natural but with epidural hahahaha cos he say if got something to relief the pain then why not?!?

that time YC not engaged even like 1 week before the EDD ... i oso ask him how ar ... he say i can do alot of thing for you but i wan u to wait

seabreeze,

my gynae also similar, natural with epi
hope i won't have to wait beyond EDD.. i've already psychoed myself to be off work from then onwards.. will be v disappointed if i still have to drag myself to work!

haha, with Tobey, i was prepared to pop since mid Dec (Edd 4Jan).. but everyday i'd appear in the offc & my colleagues would ask "still a-round?!" Many guess'd he'd be Christmas baby... or New Year's Day baby... no ley, all wrong! Gosh he was so fat, such a tight squeeze in my belly, but he didn't seem to want to come out on his own!!!

This picture taken in the hosp. ohhhh he was huuuuge. Came out looking like a 3 month old baby. My boss said that my belly was so BIG, and Tobey surely didn't disappoint! He was the largest in the nursery, easy to pick him out.
2245636.jpg

haha.. good also lah, at least not too fragile to handle.. now he has evened out to be regular size.. i hope my #2 doesnt come out too huge though.. puts all the pretty infant clothes to waste, and i dont wanna c-section! :p

yah, at wk 31(or was it 32?) she's at 1.6kg.. but then my gynae is giving me a lower weight limit before considering c-section bcos she said last time my body frame is narrow.. (strange, i thought my hips expanded loads)

wendyg ...

yar he is q huge at birth heehee and luckily you c-section lor if not *faint*

ting ting ...

cross my finger for you too ... me actually hope that i can pop by this weekend cos starting my ML next monday heehee max my ML mar

update: Seabreeze popped liao! Boy weighs at 3.72kg.. so she really got her wish of maximising her ML.. only lugi a few days..

thanks for the well wishes ... bb is back at the hospital for light therapy ... so me starting my pumping career now ... prefer latching him on though =p

hi gals....

long no login here....how's everybody??! btw, anyone staying in payah lebar? do u know is there a pap kindergarten and nursery there?

Hi mummies, haven log in for a year and today suddenly feel like coming in. So glad this thread hasnt die. Congrats to everyone having their #2. Seabreeze, yr #2 is HUGE! So happy for you. Any #3 coming along?
My 2nd gal juz turn 1 in late Apr. This whole year is like a roller coaster. My youngest was born with a medical condition, and thus ive been in and out the hospital. It has really become my 2nd home. So I was really glad when she pass the one year mark.
Now my next project is to look for a school for my eldest who is turning 4 this Aug. Another headache

Hi Hi... me also long time din come in liao...

& my no.3 is turning 4mth soon! That also mean, me finishing my 16wk maternity leave a week time. How time flies.

Seabreeze, keep on going ya! It another round of 'milking' & 'no-sleep', but its worth the effort!!

hi there... how's everyone? My 2nd gal was born on 11 Apr.. a little fella with a loud voice! haha..

Kathy, hope your gal will outgrow her condition soon? School.. u mean pri school? yah, abt time if u want to shift house/volunteer to get into the school of ur choice.. haha...

Applejuz, congrats!

Hmm, anyone keen to meet up one day? Will be great to catch up, and for the little terror 4 yos to play together!

Crayola Spree

I'm thinking of getting some stuff from Crayola website. Anyone wants to chip in for free domestic shipping?
http://www.crayolastore.com/index.asp