(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

wendyg i like your attitude towards walking. kudos to that!

ryan can't walk yet either... i guess you are right. babies who are very adept at crawling are less inclined to start walking earlier. at first i was alittle concerned at his slowness in starting to walk. Then I realised that he's just not ready to start. So now adopt a zen attitude.
enjoy his crawling when i still can. at least now I can hear him coming... And hubby definitely likes the way Ryan excitedly crawls to him when he comes home from work.

eileenp, aidanee, coffeedrinker, cakey,

our ON order has been cancelled by ON. prob due to the perennial credit card issue. am liaising with them to get the order through, since my last purchase was successful using the same card. will update you gals on this.

ting,
huh? am i jinx or wat? dun tell me this ON is unsuccessful again! maybe it's a sign that i should stop buying things!

wendy,
i told my mil privately before that every bb is different and while cayden could say some words, he may not be ready to walk as well as others. so please stop making remarks. i also told her that as he started crawling late, he would need some time before walking. she said she understood and took it well. but hor, everytime she meets someone, she will say otherwise lor.....and in front of Cayden somemore. all i ask for is more positive remarks and encouragement lor.....

anyway, i also have no money to send him to gym liao. will have to save for renovation end of year.

BTW, my hubby will not be attending the party cos will be away. So seabreeze, pls note.

hi aidanee, dun worry, we pray for the best for ON.

if u're there when ur mil says such things, can react by picking cayden up and hug him n say loudly "i prefer cayden just the way he is." that way, can let cayden know that mummy will always protect n love him no matter what. that's what i do when my parents sometimes tell zephan he's "stupid" for not knowing how to walk yet. of course, they say in non-serious tones, but to play safe i always retort against that. i think older folks dont believe in harping praise on kids, thinking they'll spoil him or thinking the opposite will come true. If u see how chinese used to refer to their kids "quan zi", literally meaning "son who is a dog", it's quite embedded in our culture.

i find that my parents like to "show off" zephan in front of relatives, asking him to display his acquired skills. we're ok with it lah, so long as they dont force him to learn new tricks just for that.

one thing that i dont like zephan to learn is the "flying kiss" action. i have a personal dislike for it, but every relative who sees him asks him to do it. in the end my mum was quite tempted to teach him but i objected. recently though, zephan seems to be doing that action. asked my mum but she denied teaching him this. hmm....

just receive a call and off we go to taipei next week, and without Cayden. sob sob, gonna miss him! Hope my mom can handle him while i am away.

anyone wants to buy anything from there? let me know ya....

tingting,
hope ON goes thru. will try your method next time i hear undesirable remarks! hahaha....

Re: payment for party

seabreeze i had tt via internet banking to your a/c pls check and revert u had received.

hi aidanee, u saying abt renovation end of the year, are shifting hse?

heh....not sure whether did i get the right person since been very long i had not come in here.

aidanee, are u the one staying at marine terrace those point flat

It's ok Tingting, you keep us updated of the outcome lor. If cannot make it then nevermind. Can buy another time.

Any mummies here let your babies try Enfagrow oleadi? It's 1-3 years one. I wonder how different issit from Enfapro. Cause now Kai is on Enfapro, thinking if should change him to Enfagrow, cause cheaper. Hehehe... cheapo mummy!

I agree with what wendyg said. Ultimately our kids will learn how to do all the things so there is no pt in pressuring them or getting anxious over their progress.

Some old folks actually believe that the later the child learns to walk, the better it is as it means he has 'fu(4) gui(4) ming(4)' - gd life. Clarence walks on the day of his birthday. It's like a miracle. I mean, the day before, he still couldn't walk and ta-la... suddenly he was walking!

That day I witnessed an incident which I find very funny. My mum bought Clarence one of those animal balloons which I remember seeing Megan (Angel's bb) playing in one of the pics. Anyway, what happened was, he was taking the 'rooster' all over the house then he spotted his jeep and climbed onto it. Of cos the rooster stayed on the floor. He pointed at the rooster and said 'Up! Up!'. The rooster didn't bulge. He got off his jeep and kicked the rooster! The rooster floated and he started laughing! I thought that was funny.

K, it's back to work again

anissa
yeah dat's funny. nxt time standby the videocam, haha

tingting
isaac is being called "fei zai" (fatso) and "zhu zai" (piglet) by his daddy. How?

anissa, wow that is so cute of clarence....

re: crying
dominic is also waking up crying at 3am plus last nite... think he is dreaming about his fall in the day. just gave him water and he slowly calmed down and slept immediately... *heng* i tot he will want to play...

re: turning during sleep
dominic is very active turning around in his sleep. when we patted him to sleep, his head on pillow, 2 hours later, he has turned 90degrees! we are forever finding him in very odd positions in the morning.

re:walking
dominic is taking few steps walking, bit unsteady, and he will crawl when he wants to get there fast! my mum keeps saying he will probably walk by oct/nov, although i doubt so. he is already getting into so much troubles now, can't imagine when he starts to walk... we will all need to have eyes on the back of our heads!!

wendyg, i fully understand what you meant... i also find it tiring chasing after him...can't get anything done.

tingting, thanks for the advice on the jacket. i managed to get a jacket from auction... just arrived today, got dominic to wear and he look so cute. when i show the jacket to HB, he was like "SG so hot and you want him to wear that!!!". apparently, HB has not heard of air-con lei... ...

Clarences_mum,
Wow, Clarence is smart, cute and funny. Yr msg cheered me up a little. Was feeling down as bb had vomitted for the past two days, as well as diarrhoea starting this evening. HB in San Francisco. So far..:-(

Seabreeze,
Will transfer $ early next week.

boise, daryll is slowly accepting fm..

so afraid that he might not take it as i need to be away for 2 days without him.

clarence so smart..

hi sarah's mom,
Hope yr gal recover soon... really taxing and worrying when bb get sick...

tingting,
Hope it's not too troublesome abt the ON spree.. thanks for yr help and updates.

Thnks for the compliments.

Just came back from a 3 days retreat organised by my company. Sure miss Clarence like hell
Didn't know I still have so much milk. Spent my nights hand-expressing. Heheheh...

Btw, any mummies here joining slimming center? I am thinking of joining now. My weight has hit 60kg!!! Arrrgh... can't find any nice clothes anymore. Sob ... Sob...

Have heard of a few bbs vomitting in the last few days. Yesterday my neighbours kids too. Just wonder if there is some kind of virus spreading... My mum told me not to let Clarence play with other kids in the meantime...

It's really heartbreaking when our kids fall sick. I remember when I was teaching, there was a year, 8 students in my class were down with high fever during the end-year exam. I was so worried I actually cried!

sarah's mom, did u bring sarah to see her PD? meantime, let her take more fluid. i heard that rice water helps to stop diarrhoea.

Beside how to tarin, what brand straw cup is good. ?

I bought the Pigeon Mag Mag cupt (new verson) but she keep biting the straw.. not suck the straw .

Cakey/Phoebe,
Thanks for the concern. Sarah is alright now. Tried porridge water, but Sarah refused...

According to PD, this is what u could do when yr child has diarrhoea.

1) Feed lactose-free milk. She prescribed Dumex one as she said bb might not get use to the Isomil(Soya) taste within short period of time.

2) Feed her food (with zero oil) meaning not even pork used for preparing stock. Give her rice/porridge with fish and root veg (incl carrot/potatoes/sweet potatoes).

3) She can drink Yakult/Vitagen, baby bites, plain bread, biscuits.

4) Fruit - Only apple and bananas

Sarah is suppose to adhere to abv diet for 1-2 weeks though her diarrhoea had stopped since that night.

Hope this info. is useful for the mummies.

coffeedrinker, I bought the aprica straw cup which I find is good.

I taught nicole to drink from straw using this method.
1. I fill the cup with liquid that she likes (juice/gripe water/honey water which baby likes).
2. I put the straw of the straw cup into the liquid and hold one end of it.
3. Put the end with liquid into baby's mouth and release the straw, so that the baby will be able to drink the liquid. Do that 2-3 times, so that baby knows that the straw contains liquid that he/she likes.
4. Then put the end of the straw with liquid into baby's mouth again, but this time do not release the other end of the straw. As baby knows there is liquid in the straw that he/she likes, he/she will suck at the straw to get the liquid out. Do this a few times to let them get the sucking idea.
5. Then put the straw and cap back on the cup and let baby drink normally. Chance are they will know how to suck from the straw to get the liquid up.
If the next time, you offer baby the straw normally and he/she doesnt suck it immediately, do the above steps 1-5 again. Success is when you offer baby the cup and straw normally and they straight away suck from it. Try it!

Children's Day Party
Date: 30 Sep 11am - 3pm
Venue: Bishan Loft
Cost: $5 per adult/ Children FOC

Payment Rec
1. JT and family ([email protected])
2. Cakey & family ([email protected])
3. ixwong & family ([email protected])
4. vone & hb ([email protected])
5. smallbell & family ([email protected]
6. applejuz & family ([email protected])
7. aidanee & family ([email protected])
8. eileenp & family ([email protected])
9. Samantha & Family ([email protected])
10. jh & family ([email protected])
11. T_Teo & bb ([email protected])
12. cat_tail & bb ([email protected]
13. Seabreeze & Family
14. Angel & BB

Pending Payment
1. Tingting & Hb ([email protected])
2. cookies & family ([email protected])
3. snoopy & family ([email protected])
4. Sarah's mom & hb ([email protected])
5. Hosanna & family ([email protected])
6. dressaholic & family ([email protected])7. Eileen (littledar) & bb
8. Lynette & Family ([email protected])
9. I'm a Mummy & Family ([email protected])

Here are the food that we have, will cfm the number of pax nearer the date ... keep all the yummy food coming!!

1. Durian Puff - Cat Tail
2. Fried Chicken Wing - Aidanee
3. Otah - T_Teo
4. Chocolates - Cookies
5. Samosa - Eileenp
6. Bee Hoon & Curry - Angel

Angel has kindly agreed to be our Bee Hoon and Curry supplier. Will be paying her $45 for the 2 items.

I want to order a 1.5kg cake from pine garden. The triple layer chocolate is really yummy, any volunteer to go collect?

For those mummies with 2 kids, can let me know. Wan prepare a 'older' version of the goodies bag for your 'older' one or they will be so jealous of their di di or mei mei *wink*

hey all,
Keyon saves daddy & mummy's lives!

Hubby was boiling Keyon's milk bottles, then we forgot abt it..
Keyon & I went to sleep & hubby playing his '3 kingdom' computer game in our bedroom. 2 hrs later, Keyon made noise (i was in deep sleep), hubby came over to look & smell something. Aiyo, he tot our TV socket burnt... then saw thru' our bedroom door glass panel that Kitchen light was still on & realise that the bottles are still boiling....

When he lift up the lid, smoke (with rubber smell) gush out & filled our whole kitchen & living room.

Apparently, Keyon's 4 bottles all melted and not even a single piece left. Luckily the correlle pot used was still intact. It could have exploded & cause more disaster. & Luckily neighbours din complain abt the rubber smell or call any fire engine. (it was 1+am!)

Ladies, any gd idea how to remove the smell?
Windows oredi open & fans blowing, also tried refreshner / putting tea leaves & charcoal / lotsa mama lemon to clean the kitchen, even purposely go fry some dried shrimp & chillies... but the rubber smell still there...

wow applejuz, that was close! good thing keyon was able to alert your hb. sorry, no tips on removing the smell. but maybe u want to blow the fan in 1 direction? else the air will just keep circulating within the house.

hi T_Teo, if you're getting the cake from there, will have to ask u to tompang some goodies from pine garden liao.. hehe..

for mummies looking for chinese books, there's someone organising a BP: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449156/514297.html

the books look pretty good for toddlers: few words, large prints, etc.

T_Teo,

Hey thanks for offering ... I went down to order and paid last night liao ... can u collect on the actual day then? I can call them and tell them that u collecting on my behalf.

Applejuz ...

Aiyo ... thank goodness that Keyon woke u all up man ... so scary ... hmmm think it will take some time before the smell will go off ... just have to keep your window open and finger cross *wink*

sharon ...

yap u are welcome to join us. can i have your email address?

re: Birthday Party

Finally rec YC party photo liao ... here is the link ... got many many photos ar heehee

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/appletree5896/my_photos

ting ting ...

yar ... i am v lucky that my colleague who loves taking photo agreed to be my photographer for the party =)

btw have rec your payment already

Hi Applejuz,

The last time when hb cooked until the soup dried up and the pot turned black, the smell stayed for the next 5days.. even changed the bedsheet and told my maid to wash all the clothes, they still smell terrible..

Children's Day Party
Date: 30 Sep 11am - 3pm
Venue: Bishan Loft
Cost: $5 per adult/ Children FOC

Payment Rec
1. JT and family ([email protected])
2. Cakey & family ([email protected])
3. ixwong & family ([email protected])
4. vone & hb ([email protected])
5. smallbell & family ([email protected]
6. applejuz & family ([email protected])
7. aidanee & family ([email protected])
8. eileenp & family ([email protected])
9. Samantha & Family ([email protected])
10. jh & family ([email protected])
11. T_Teo & bb ([email protected])
12. cat_tail & bb ([email protected]
13. Seabreeze & Family
14. Angel & BB
15. Tingting & Hb ([email protected])

Pending Payment - Pls pay by the end of this week, if not I will take it that you are not coming. I need to go and buy the goodies pack for the kids already

1. cookies & family ([email protected])
2. I'm a Mummy & Family ([email protected])
3. snoopy & family ([email protected])
4. Sarah's mom & hb ([email protected])
5. Hosanna & family ([email protected])
6. dressaholic & family ([email protected])
7. Eileen (littledar) & bb
8. Lynette & Family ([email protected])
9. Sharon & Family ([email protected])

Here are the food that we have, will cfm the number of pax by the end of the week. Those who have not 'chop' a food, pls do so now!! Can buy food for the babies oso ...

1. Durian Puff - Cat Tail
2. Fried Chicken Wing - Aidanee
3. Otah - T_Teo
4. Chocolates - Cookies
5. Samosa - Eileenp
6. Bee Hoon & Curry - Angel
7. Drinks + cups - cakey
8. Fishball - Dressaholic
9. Roti Prata - I'm a Mummy

Have discussed with Angel and decided that $45 is not enough to have bee hoon and curry for 40 adults, have increased the budget to $60 for these 2 items.

I have oredered a 1.5kg cake from pine garden which cost $52.50.

tingting,
hee, the fan has been working OT...
Btw, did u order the chinese books? u think worth buying the D-series?

Nicky'mom,
alamak, soup dried up, smell stayed 5 days, my bottles melted I've to wait at least 1 wk... Ya, i changed the bedsheet & re-wash the clothes & still smell though... This morning, hb burn those aroma incense. hopefully better.

seabreeze,
hey, looking forward to the party!

Seabreeze,
Can collect on actual day, no prob. Maybe just give me the invoice number or who you liaise with? Li Keow knows me so you can talk to her abt it.

Tingting,
Sure! Can tong pang, just let me know what you want. I think they have cakes in slices and in whole and they also have kuehs.

Applejuz,
Maybe can try one of those air purifier that uses water and aroma oils, I used it the last time when my maid burnt my curry chicken when she was warming it up!!

T_Teo,
hee... i oredi borrowed that from my sis. Trying it out too. So can imagine my house lotsa different aroma/smell...Wah, ur maid so careless arh....:p

T_Teo, aiyah, i lost your emails on the cakes. But if you see some of their cupcakes there (with liquid chocolate types), can buy 4 for me? thanks!

applejuz,

i'm quite keen to get the D and Xi series. Though he wont be able to read the Xi series yet, i wanna get it first cos their titles seem quite hard to get. u know, after browsing through the books, i was even inspired to teach "san zi jing" to zephan! haha.. too ambitious i think.

applejuz,
haha... can imagine the "fragrance" of your house. That maid quite blur one but luckily I have changed a new one already, else I can't imagine what else she'll burnt.

seabreeze,
just checked my email, haven't got ur PM yet but I don't think should have any prob. Which outlet do I collect from? They have 2 at the same block, rite?

tingting,
I think the cupcakes are specially ordered ones, don't think can get off the shelves. Will send you the email again. :)

tingting, i've got a "san zi jing" cd in the car that i have no idea what it's singing about and it has been sleeping in there for the last 4years.. can burn for u if u are interested..

hi nicky's mom,

that would be great! I haven't gotten around on how to implement this, but a CD is a good start. thanks! I've already gotten the text and explanations. I'll PM you my address.

I read that some chinese clans are conducting classes on "san zi jing". will find out more when the time comes.

T_Teo, in that case i'll find out more from the shop and let you know if i need your help in getting anything from there. thanks.

hee.. talk abt san zi jing,
my fren's son, barely 2 yrs old, oredi can recite. Once he even continue the sentence which my fren can't remember... haha so cute. nowadays kids so smart... *so stressful*

applejuz, i'm a bit more kan cheong about the chinese, cos my hb n his side of the family all kantang type one, so i think it's more important for him to get more exposure to chinese stuff at a young age else he may not like the subject when he starts school. i think it's much easier to pick up english in his pre-school n normal curriculum etc.