(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

<font color="aa00aa">Angel,</font>
Happy Birthday to Anson! Thanks for remembering Hazel's bday. =)
You're v creative to bake that cake for Anson!

<font color="ff6000">Twinklets,</font>
May join u in moving to the east... for pri sch lor...

chinling,

S is attending mandeville at united square. I have no experience with other schools so I cant compare but so far still good. He just proceeded to individual class in addition to group violin class.

I think for baby suzuki violin group under Ms Yap, there may still be vacancy as they recently contacted me abt my daughter's placement ...

<font color="0000ff">H1N1</font>
Nigel is down with high fever since yest. It has gone up &amp; down like (as always) but since it's still such this evening, I brot him to see my BIL. There, we were told that he is seeing a spike in such (possible) cases of H1N1 so told us to avoid going to crowded places as far as possible.

Nigel has no flu symptoms but we did bring the whole family to attend an ex-collic daugther's 1YO bday at SICC. So regardless, we still have to monitor his fever spike.

<font color="119911">4YO</font>
Yes, they are very inquisitve, very talkative, temperament changes faster than a speeding bullet. I've also heard that on radio, it's probably very true. But my principle is enjoy, but don't indulge. Discipline, manners and respect cannot be compromised.

I punish &amp; reward equally. Now that my new job is less demanding, I enjoy more time with the kids, which I'm extremely grateful. But seeing Valerie throw tantrums and be unreasonable, I'll still talk to her (I don't shout at her) and try to get her to see why she is wrong. Sometimes she seemed to u/stand. Many times she don't. I guess I just have to be patient.

Valmom,
Yes have to be careful cos they no longer list H1N1 cases here.. Tactic change and it is more like a firefighting strategy now than a containment thing. When it just broke out, Thyler had a high fever of 40deg too, with other flu symptoms.. Thereafter the whole familylike 10 of us were down. But that was during the Mexico outbreak, before anything was in Singapore.. . So when we brought him and my brother to the GP, they were saying it is unlikely to be anything serious.. BOth were ok after a week plus of antibiotics.

But, if Nigel has no fu symptoms, and being still a young baby, very possibly viral fever which actually builds his immunity.

Whatever the cause, mummies surely need to take care when babies get afflicted with fever.. Take care!

Job
After long discussions with Boss, seems that there is no way to decrease my workload.. the way I see it, drop 1 hat pick up 2-3 others.. not worth..So I will be SAHM-ing a few months and see how..

<font color="ff0000">Enfa FM</font>
Mummies, I went to buy FM yesterday and realised the packing change to triple protection and the price from $54 to $56 per 1.8kg tin... ;'(

<font color="0077aa">Hi Wen,

What is the difference between the enfa old packing and the triple protection? Iden taking Enfagrow too.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Hey,

The thread is so quiet. Post some recent photos of Iden and Xavier.

2716535.jpg

Iden in Xavier's swimsuit

2716536.jpg

Xavier in swimsuit last time

2716537.jpg

Gorgor and Didi playing with the moving train. One the few decent photos with both of them in 1 frame.

hi dewdrops,

Xavier &amp; Iden look exactly alike only 1 bigger, 1 smaller. Their eyes, features...even hairstyle also the same hehehe

Dewdrops,
i second what elaine says. Initial i thought they look diff when Iden on swimsuit. But when they pose together, they look exact the same. Jus slight diff on the cheeks part

<font color="0077aa">Thanks to all. Iden is only barely on the normal scale though he looked chubby with his chubby cheeks. Gor gor is super undersized (both weight and height) but as long as he is healthy and well, we don't complain that much nowadays.'

Iden nowadays like to crawl under table (although he can walk already) and bark like a dog and imitiate his little doggie soft toy.</font>

Dewdrops,
do they weigh almost the same when they were of same age? My gal very chubby wor...not sure how tall she is but she's heavy...close to 19kg on scale

meow,
Ashley also v heavy nowadays. When she sits on my lap, I can feel the heaviness lor.. then i realize her face lenght macham gog to be same as mine liao ler.. my gal is really growing up big gal liao.. so sad feeling.. sob sob..

Dewdrop,
I dun really know what is the difference leh.. Very blur.. Your boys really 1 look know they're brothers liao.. heehheh.

Meow,
THyler feels very heavy also. over 18kg.. I carry him i literally feel breathless. Thing is, he is really skinny...

Thavis on the other hand is tiny.. 2 year plus liao only 13, 14kg like that.. and under 90cm tall i think.. But soo chubby!! so next time will be shortie.. ekekek wahahaha

Twinklets,
dun worry, you have your son to play at moment. Eventually they will grow up lah. At most be then try for a third one lah

Wen,
my son 2yrs also weight 12kg plus height wise below 90cm also. Think they're about the same lah

wen,
wa, Thavis 13-14kg for 2yrs old, he bigger then Thyler when he was 2yrs old? I remember Thyler is veri tall like both of u...
Dun worry, since both of u are tall, Thavis will shot up soon.

Meow,
Darryl also quite big for 2yrs old...I tink he can wear the Thomas train T-shirt &amp; shorts liao hehehe

I think my bb Josh seemed real big comparatively.. he is 10kg at 7-8month old. Nowadays I buy 18-24m clothing for him liao hehee... scared he outgrows

Elaine,
think thyler much bigger than thavis. thyler was 98cm at 2 years birthday.. thavis no 2++ liao still under 90cm..

Now Thyler is about 110cm

Poohy,
yea thyler 6 mths checkup was at 9.8kg..

<font color="aa00aa">twinklets:
really??? really moving to tampines?

wenthena:
its not usual for kids as young to start wearing glasses. my nephew wore his when he was 2 yr old. </font>

wen,
wat you mean he inborn astig? What's that?

Elaine,
i think that's still too big for him. I see if i can dress him and show you

wen,
you and HB wear specs? I do but my HB dun. My sis and BIL does but so far her kids havent wear them...touch wood

poohy! i finally go to the dentist u intro yesterday..ya..after so so long i asked you! haha..she is really nice and gentle lo..but hor..my teeth is hopeless lah..haha..thanks again! need to go back a few times to fix mine lo..

any mummies got teeth pain better go see dentist hor..dont be like me!

wen - crystal oso got 200 degree for astig..should be inborn too..haven chk my boi yet though..haiz...but the lady say no need to wear glasses yet...i oso very xian

<font color="0000ff">Poohy,</font>
Wow, Josh is a big baby.

<font color="aa00aa">Crystalmum,</font>
Finally u went to the dentist. Hmm..I must make appointment to visit my dentist soon. Have not been there for many months already. SCARED too!

crystal,

good to hear... so you need to extract your teeth or? I also feel very scared. I have a spot on my gum that I always have nagging pain and 1.5 year back when I visit the dentist, she said its gum disease caused by my wisdom tooth. So if it recur back after she rectify, I need to extract wisdom tooth... I dun dare to go back for that cos its been recurring

But I think its inevitable I prob need to go back to her soon... I had gotten a Braun electric toothbrush to brush plus those oxyjet oral irrigator, hopefully it slow down the deterioration of my teeth. I dun floss as I am scared and dunno how, so I am thinking of getting those waterpik irrigator leh...

I started my kids off electric toothbrush.. to alter with the use of manual. S is still ok but J dun let me brush her teeth thorougly ... hope the electric toothbrush can do a better job.

tigger,

ya dunno why he is so big. Biggest among the three.

CT/Wen,
how you gal check? Via the check from polyclinic or wat? Sheryl only last 2-3 sentence cant see if not wrong. But nurse didn't say need to wear spec wor

Poohy,

Extract wisdom teeth not scary de.. I was terrified after hearing all the horror stories before i did mine 4 in 1 go. All 4 under gums so it is considered surgery and not extraction which means stitches.

Last time breastfeed Thavis so I even did not touch the pain killers cos scared it pass into milk. Only very er xin cos of all the blood but pain is very manageable. get it fixed the faster the better and no need to look back le..

Astig

hubby and me both have astig and myopia.. I think if over 150 deg astig is considered high liao.. need to wear 24/7. I got 125 deg astig i need to wear my specs all the time liao.. and my boy astig 550 a lot of places do not make that high deg.. Most places i ask they only make 450deg max for astig.. so bo bian i make at tan tock seng clinic which also guarantee the lenses degree.

Crystal mum,
Better faster act and bring to specialist for 2nd opinion. Cos if she cannot see clearly, then her visionin terms of the optic nerve to the brain will not be stimulated properly. Meaning later even if you give her the strongest power for her eyes, she will not be able to 'see' clearly as her brain never had that input before and cannot process the sharper image sent from the eyes.. Now Thyler may have that problem already cos now he already 4+.. SO the best we can do now is let him see with his full power and hopefully the sharp image can be processed in the brain.

Meow,
Last time after lasik I can see 3rd line, the doctor say my deg is about 50deg.. So should be still ok..

<font color="119911">Crystalmum</font>
Just few months ago, I went to extract 4 wisdom teeth at one go. Reason being one is decayed, due to I can't reach it while brushing. I also went only when I totally cannot eat due to the decay. Whenever I tried to bite something, this sharp pain just shot through my whole body. It was horrible. I initially wanted to extract one only. But end up have to take out 4 after taking X-ray, cos doc told me, one other teeth is starting to decay internally. Another teeth is growing in a sleeping beauty position and waiting to get decayed, as a layer of skin is covering it. Food gets stuck in that layer of skin easily. But overall, the experience is ok, as next day I can eat buffet already.
So much so for those who claimed that extracting wisdom teeth can slim down. Haiz.....

<font color="119911">Poohy</font>
Josh is a big big boy. You fed him well. Wow, you started your kids with electric toothbrush already! I got problem with the brushing my 2 boys are trained. They always brush during shower. However, the night brushing occurs when they take shower at 9pm. After that, they will take lots of junk... and go straight to bed. Haiz..... How not to get decay teeth like Joeson has now? I'm so vexed over this issue.

<font color="119911">Buddy</font>
I suspect Joeson to have Astig too. As his daddy has too. How to accurately tell that he has Astig. As sometimes, at night, he'll tell me he can't see wordings that clearly. I am still wondering is it due to lighting or inheridity?

<font color="119911">Dewdrops</font>
Your kiddos really looks like twins! One bigger and one smaller sized twins. Hehehe.....

<font color="119911">SC</font>
So seldom see you posting recently? You busy ah?

<font color="ff6000">Just got a little Shih Tzu doggy. Adopted it from a friend. Now my 2 boys are happily playing with it. Heeeee</font>

angel,
me here, me here... yes quite busy wif work... but i still read the forum on n off... how abt u?? busy flying here n there isit?

wen,
ler ler looks so stylo wif his specs leh... i think ler ler will be those cool hunk next time... hehehehe...

re: wisdom tooth
i think i'm the oni one here wif no wisdom tooth... no wonder i got no wisdom... sigh...

<font color="0077aa">Poohy,

Josh is big. Iden only 9kg now at 14 months.

Meow,

Iden is heavier than Xavier at the same age but his birth weight is also heavier. Xavier was like only 6-7kg by 1 year old. Iden is like 8.5 kg but still 1 kg short to triple his birth weight.

Wen/Crystalmum,

How did you find out that your kids need glasses? How to test what is the degree of astig with kids? Theyknow how to tell the pictures clear or not?</font>

poohy - me ah..need to do many things leh..i tink i will go few times loh..i jz did 2 fillings need to do another 3 next week..then need to clean..then she also mention i may need surgery for my wisdom tooth but will recommend another dentist who could do the surgery for me and not pain wor..

electric toothbrush good ah?

wen - crystal went to the kk specialist liao..she went when 2 yrs old..then at 3 yr old again..they say her astig is 'stable' as in no increase and her eyesight ok so discharged her le and no need wear specs..ask me to wait for the school check at 5 yrs old and see how...haiz..

dewdrop/meow - for me i went to tat pediaoptics or something..they do those check for younger kids one..so when they chk she got high astig..ask me go specialist to do a more accurate check so i went polyclinic get letter to go kk...every chk at kk was 'terrible' that gal cried badly when they put the eyedrop (to open the pupil)..3 times at 5 mins interval kind..i see liao so heartpain lo..

they check eyesight by showing some pictures to them..to be sure that they know wat is it..then after that walk away and show again at a distance..so if they can see the picture and say out..they know they can see clearly..tink if too young cannot do leh..cant 'say' rite..

angelneo - u 'xing' ah! my sis took 2 weeks to really 'eat' lor..she oso took out 4 at one shot..

CT,
what make you suspect crystal got this problem or because both of you wear spec hence bring them to KK see specialist? So scarry leh...D loves to sit nearer to TV as compare to S wor

<font color="0000ff">Eyesight</font>
I still havent bring Ash to the 4 YO check.. abit scare to let her check her eye vision.. -__-" I also got astig leh.. like abt 150 tat kind.. but doubt mine is heritary cos both my parents perfect eyesight.. only got lua hua yan.. but end up all 4 of us gals need to wear specs 1... sighs..

<font color="119911">Wisdom tooth</font>
I left only 1, but need to extract out soon liao i guess.. mine all just normal extraction.. so just took 1 day mc will do.. i went to 1 clinic, she said mine had to be surgery, then I went to another 1, he said normal extraction will do.. Heng ah, only cost less than $100... My teeth also pain pain now.. need to find to go &amp; check liao.. haiz..

meow - i tink last time got mummy jio me go for bb eye check cos got promo..1st chk was ok..then went for another chk 1 yr later then found out lo..but lucky i found out lah..if not too late then no do anything oso no good hor..

CT,
oh dear...i think i've heard this before but dunno its a check up wor....okie will see how lor. Hope he no problem

<font color="ff0000">Buddy,</font>

Me too... The day of the surgery itself i eating liao.. And not eat a bit but eat a lot.. hiaz.. also never lose weight.. gain maybe cos of the MC sit at home do nothing but eat..

<font color="119911">Meow</font>
Thyler is 550 deg astig each eye..

<font color="0077aa">Astig</font>
Thyler also at night he see things start to like cannot see clearly and squint at TV. daytime he is totally fine.. And everything he sits very near.. Move him further away he inch and inch closer.. these are quite telling signs i guess.. Our parents time where got astig.. Thot only recently they discovered such things.. My hubby in vietnam last time he got astig and they test until siao dunno what is wrong.. Cos they only test for myopia.. Only later they realised he got astig.

<font color="aa00aa">Eye check for under 7 year old:</font>
Have to dilate eyes. So the nurse will drop very stinging eyedrops into their eyes every 5 mins apart.. I also drop before when i went for lasik.. Pain siah.. Like put medicated drops in eyes and have uncontrollable urge to rub eyes.. So before the thing i pre-empt Thyler so he will know. So luckily when they drops his eyes he knows it will hurt and still allows the nurse to do it..

They will do a machine reading and also the one where you have to look and see with those dorky optician's glasses..

crystalmum
Yea they say the good thing about astig vs myopia is that astig is very stable..

SC,
I really hope he dun go school kenna laughed at and low self esteem...

Wen,
huh??!! That's pretty high leh. My astig not as bad as my myopia. My niece likes to sit near to TV. Maybe i should warn my sis and ask her bring her see doc liao.

wen,
550 per eye is very high leh... must take care... ler ler so stylo, no one will laff at him... tell him auntie sc say he very stylo... my 'ou xiang'... hehehe...

sigh... kaeden loves tv... think i better bring him for a check one of these days...

wen,

I brought Sam for a eye checkup at 3+year but they said no need to put eye drop if he can already read and respond. so his eye checkup was like that of an adult... just read off the wall... and then they did shot to check the symmetry and something else of the eye... I also thought they need eye drop at first...