(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

<font color="aa00aa">san:
how many hrs do they have in HK? actually its best not to set foot there cuz if you do and didn't indicate that you had gone (declaration form only states country of travel/ destination), and should anything happen (touch wood) its not nice to be blamed.

when we returned from hk, hk wasn't on the list but we did self quarantine. have been staying in for a few days now.

when all is well, of course... but if anything happens, people will point fingers.

just be careful if going... i was cleaning and wiping table tops, handle bars and all..

if you ask me, it doesnt really matter cuz at the airport, pp from all nationalities are there. we dont need to physically set foot in that country.

but be careful.

psi,
actually, they flying back by CX fr Seoul so have to transit in HK. Now they plan to cancel the HK sector trip and transit on same day back to Sin to avoid quarantine 7 days fr school next week as their plan trip is return on this Sat fr HK only. So if they go ahead stay in HK, the entire next week my nieces can't go to school. So that is why now they checking if transit HK consider or not. If consider, they say also no point cancel the HK trip, might continue wz their sector in HK.

<font color="0000ff">jojoba</font>
Yar.. I stay within 1km from TaoNan but not intending to try that school coz I think with soooooooooo many pple join'g the hokkien huey guan.. can forget it man. Katong Convent is out (eventho I was a Convent girl but not Katong) coz I have a boi and I don't want to send them to different schools, not to mention double work for us ;p

So I think best will be Ngee Ann Pri Sch (I dun even know if I got the name right! hahaha).

Anyway, will think abt it next yr lah.

so many of u thinking of pri school...
i think for my case... jurong...

top school is rulang... followed by jurong pri..

will thinking my hubby don know whether want to try rulang anot... if not i will try jurong pri as that was my pri.... hopefully... it will be easier...

<font color="0077aa">Yo mummies,

Time really flies. We have reached the state that we have start thinking about primary schools. Next year, our kids can enrol K1 already!

hello mummies...ask you all hor..gave Caleb fm first time last night but he only drank half bottle and vomitted out everything including his dinner just 5 mins after..what shall I do hah? any advice? wonder if is lactose/cow milk intolernace or what haiii....what shall I do hah? any advice?

thought wanted to stop pumping soon..looks like cannot so soon leh..xianz...

<font color="aa00aa">crystalmum:
is he unwell? did he cough?

my girl has a tendency to vomit because she coughs after her feed. </font>

krazy - he was happily playing after vomiting..today also ok..maid say he no cough leh..haiz...gek sim lah..need to pump 10 years leh...LOL

<font color="aa00aa">crystal mum:
i see. then could be swallowed air while drinking and then burped and milk came out.

this vomiting thing is not exclusive to babies. my god daughter, she was what.. 5, 6 and she was still vomiting especially after eating too fast and furiously.

hahahah.. well, we cant say enough for breast milk so if have, give lah.. hahahahah</font>

krazy - he din vomit when i mix fm and bm subsequently..means is not allergy to cows milk hor? but he drink only half...haiz..dont know to change milk or wait till he get use to it..but when he get use to it i need to change to above 1 yr old milk again..

crystalmum, infant FM and follow on FM shld be abt the same taste bah? think now he cannot get used to FM taste.. slowly up the % of FM lor.

Think abt pri sch application, i very sianz.. hai..

Wah.... So many of you discussing about Primary school liao. I thought I'm the only kiasu one.

I am trying to get my way for Joeson to go into Nan Hua Primary school. Had just changed my address to my mum's condo. Which is less than 1km away from the school. Now, am applying to do Volunteer. Hopefully can get him in. My thought is I am only doing it once.... as long as Joeson gets in, Anson is safe liao.

Last Saturday was Anson's birthday. Celebrated for him at Macdonalds. Baked a personal cake for him too.... Heeee....

2653458.jpg

And here goes the smiling birthday boy, on his way to the birthday venue.....

2653459.jpg

H Buddy,

Do you have your own HDB flat? I now kinda half staying with my mom and half at my Punggol flat.. I went to enquire at the police post once and they say as long as i bring a phonebill etc in my name at my mom's address can change.

So i was also wondering if it would help if I just put my name in my mom's address. Do you know if you can put a different address from the HDB flat you are paying for thru cpf monthly? As in illegal or not? Or got rule say you must stay in the flat you own?

Aloha Buddy,

I don't think it's illegal right? Cos many people don't actually own a flat of their own, instead, they are staying with their parents.

However, I know it doesn't help much if you simply just change the address if the school is a super popular one. You gotta go through alot of channel. And the most popular channel is actually Parent Volunteer.

As for me, I am changing my address to my mummy's place. My hubby to maintain, to enable entrance into Rulang.

By the way, is Radin Mas Primary School a good school? Cos my own home is within 1km from there. Anyone can advise?

H Buddy,

From my experience when my brother was in Primary 1.. WE tried to enrol him to Maris stella.. And they need mroe than the mother's IC for the enrolment.. So if you need the address, both you and hubby need to be same address..

Last time my dad not in singapore.. And my brother's applicaiton on hold til he retuned with his IC..

H Buddy..

I very chang qi.. Answer your post in so many installments..

Those people who got no houses ok la.. But those who own houses can put elsewhere meh?

Buddy,

Serious! Must have both parents IC ah. Jialat liao lor. Then I choose my mum's address better. Cos I much much prefer Nan Hua. It's situated at my primary school's land. Of course, my primary school close down liao. Hmmmm... able to apply base on I used to study on that plot of land before? Heeeeee

My ex boyfriend used to study in that school. Many times my hubby always 'suan' me, telling me that I so concern about which school our son will go, I should have married my ex instead. Hmmmm......

As for me, I don't know lei.... cos my own home had been rented out with approval from HDB. This I gotta find out more.

Buddy,
Hmmm..... cos my MIL got a letter from SGH, which doctor insist that we are to stay with her, due to health reason. We submitted the letter to HDB and eventually got the approval. However hor... one set-back is that our 5 yrs countdown before we can sell the flat will be delayed for these 2 yrs. No loss to us though. As we hope that some private developers will come to fall in love with our place and offer to build a condo there instead. As it's right behind Mount Faber.
..... Hopefully I can get lucky.

wow, the stress about pri sch is catching up...

btw mummies, need advice here... Symone is rejecting milk from bottles. She rants and cries and refuse to drink no matter how hungry she is. Only wants to latch on or spoon feed. Rejects water too. I had easy times previously with Justyn.. Need to start her on FM too.. But it is going to be hard if she rejects bottle totally.. any idea how I can go thru it with her acceptance?

And, Symone is more attached to me! She cries when strangers carry her...stress being SAHM

how do I do a bold and red text at the same time?

<font color="0077aa">Angel,</font>
Happy 2nd Birthday to Anson! He looks so cute in the sunnies.

<font color="ff6000">tsp,</font>
Is this the first time you introduce bottle to Symone? Maybe can try asking someone else to do the bottle feeding instead of you. She can smell you if you bottle feed her so she will cry for your breasts instead of accepting the bottle. If you're the only one at home, then it will be tougher.

Keane had the same problem when he was a bb. Refused to be bottle fed and only wanted to latch. I was alone at home during that time so no choice, can only make him drink from bottle while he slept. And that lasted from the time he was ~2months to 10months old. Then he slowly accepts the bottle while awake.

Angel,
Hapi Birthday to Anson. Yr cakes so nice.

The thread seem quiet nowadays. Been not be looking thru more than a week (busy at work and also busy catching up my Boys over Flowers every nite when home. Haha) and yet only extra few posts.

btw, regarding the change address thing, I am not sure if it is legal. I remember my bro's fren, who used to do that and that guy change his address to 1 of the fren's pace or something like that to try secure seat for his child to get in to Tao Nan. End up, he was caught and being fine and went to court for this case. It was featured in the newspaper that time as well.

H Buddy,

Hmmm.. With my siao neighbor like that, I then dun wanna drag this.. I wanna sell my house asap. And my place only 2 years plus. still long wait and house almost empty.

And yes! Happy Birthday to Anson. His borthday that day I remembered.. Cos it is US independance day.. correct right>

Tsp,
Start when Symone is sleepy.. Then she's less likely to reject. Thavis also like that..

San,

That is what i scared.. If cannot change address, then tehy have to let us not be able to change it,.. Stupid thing is they allow to change then later kenna court case,,

Think i will just use my mom's address and Me and hubby both working,

<font color="ff6000">Thanks all for well wishing to Anson.

<font color="aa00aa">Happy Birthday to Little Hazel, Anson's FPGTB (Future Possible Girlfriend To Be)</font>

San,
Wow... I didn't know that will happen and it's illegal. Hmm... Then I shall officially shift to stay with my mummy then. Good idea.

Buddy,
When will you be on MSN?! Wanna know what went on with your siao neighbour.
Yeap... Anson was born on Independence day.
Easy to remember right?!!!!

Angel,
I tried pacifier, does not work. At times, she will suck and grind her thumb but she rants even louder after a while.

tigger,
Not the first time. She had been on both bottle and latching.. Until we went Dubai for 2 weeks (back to Oman for 1 week) when I feed direct most of the time... Thereafter, she simply rejects anything but ME!

Hubby tried to feed with bottle refused. At a stage, she rejected me too, except during sleeping time. we managed to spoon feed and she was eager to drink. When we got bk to Oman, she reject bottle when I got the part time helper to feed her.

apart from diminishing milk supply and being mentally tired, I do not think I can sustain bfg for long. Trying to tahan till 6 months. I hope she can accept the bottle soon.

Wen,
when Symone is not hungry, she refused bottle totally! So trying when she is sleepy or asleep has not been successful till now. Wanted to reduce night feed by giving her last feed before I sleep, she keeps her mouth shut or will just push bottle out.. Clever right?

San,
It is true that one will end up in deep soup with the authorities if they found that you are using the address to register kid for school and yet not staying there. That was the 'trick' that many people did by purchasing a property near their choice of school and rent it out instead of staying there.

However, if your child is being taken care by your parents or in laws or even your siblings, you can then use their address to register for school.

<font color="0000ff">Tsp</font>
wow seem stressed! Maybe just these few weeks of readaption, afterthat she'll be back to norm again. Mine also not easy to feed eversince he turns 1 MO. Sometimes really so frustrating to bottle feed him, &amp; so stress that he only takes in 60ML like that. Have to have some break then he'll continue the rest. Sometimes he falls asleep during the break &amp; it is not easy to make him drink again when he falls asleep. However sometimes he can drink when he's asleep. All kinda patterns.. Other than the stressful feedings, he is basically an easy baby so far. Dun really cry alot, smile alot actually
&amp; he can go to sleep by himself at times. Guess being #2 seem to be more adaptable.. see no1 chup him (cos we busy lecturing the sister etc.. haha) then he will cry awhile then auto sleep liao. I'll miss his cheeky happy smiles once I go bk to work soon. Haiz..

wow.. cant imagine our thread is talking abt Primary school nowadays. This day has FINALLY come! haha! *stress stress stress* :p

I'm more at ease liao, have found a house at east, compare to current plc, my new plc is near to my mum's &amp; my old school. Got direct bus to her plc &amp; the school too. So happy! Now 1 headache is off my mind liao..

Thread is very quiet, let me post something here. Happen to see "Essential Parenting Tips" book on my table few days back, so will share here on what I've read .. sound so true for Ashley now. hohoho..

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">The Frustrating 4s</font></font>

Characteristics

Inquisitive
This stage is the age of many questions. Even when answers are given, the 4 YO continues to ask "WHY?"

Talkative
Because of their increasing capacityy for language, children now tend to talk incessantly. This can often frustrate &amp; wear out the adutlts!

Emotionally unpredictable <font color="119911">(THIS IS THE MOST FAN 1 &amp; SO TRUE MAN!)</font>
Children at Four can often burst into laughter &amp; tears at the same time! They are also sudden bouts of angers but the squalls are over quickly.

Lively &amp; Sociable
Full of energy &amp; life. How they enjoy being with other people now!

High Motor Drive
The swings, the monkey-bars, the jungle gym, cycling.. their need for muscular drives the 4 YOs to frequent activities.

Tips for handling 4 YOs

- Encourage the child to ask questions. If you don't have an answer, find out the answers together with the child - look up an encyclopedia, visit the local library, etc.

- Encourage lots of large motor skills activities. Allow them to climb, swing, ride a bicycle, jump, etc. Be sure to take safety precaustions so that the child can play heartily.

- Talk to your child, read to your child. Build on his vocabulary skills. Allow him to participate in your conversation.

- Provide opportunites for your child to have social activities. Let them invite friends home for a party, or have a popcorn nite etc.

Hi twinklets,

You found a place at east ? I am also actively looking for east houses but so expensive especially the new launches. Can reveal which part of east u got ?

tsp: my girl also rejected bottles just after 3months.. and that was the time when I was going to send her to infant care. Nothing we tried worked. In the end, we had no choice, just let the infantcare caregiver try. First day, she didn't drink much (very stubborn) from 9pm to 3pm, only drank abt 10ml.. Cried and cried.. Second day morning was horrible. The caregiver called to tell me that she was really angry and refused to drink. She cried and kicked whenever the teats touched her mouth. She rather sleep than drink. But in the afternoon, she relented. Took 30ml.. Then 3rd day she started drinking.. 30ml at a time. But both the caregiver and me were so relieved!

So conclusion is.. when there's really no choice, the baby will adapt. Heartache really, but no choice for us too.

Jia you, ok?

twinklets,
Indeed it is stressful when Symone is not cooperating while I am trying to wean her off. Also, I can't leave her alone. will look for me. Lucky you that Julien can sleep on his own.

Tampines very far leh....

I like your Frustrating 4s, so true about Justyn. He is still a very good boy but wants someone to play with him.. So often me and hubby are busy, we had to loose our temper on him..

blurmom,
Symone is sticky to me leh... Previously, got MIL, maid and auntie to play with babies so they are ok with anyone.. Now, it is just me, myself and I...

Twinklets,

your frustrating 4s seems to describe thavis more.. hmm.. He is the one talking non-stop now and asking non-stop... emotionally unpredictable too.. 1 moment cry 1 moment tell me joke and laugh.

" Mummy why is 6 scared of 7? ahahahah... cos 7 ate (8) 9!!" then ahahaha non-stop! So lame.. thing he heard from TV...

Thyler have taken a backseat to talking.. sadly.. He still talks but not as much as he used to...

wow.... it had been really tough to decide on primary school... hubby thinking to move nearer to Rulang.... haha.... maybe will try there see how...

hi twinklets..
i think i saw the frustrating 4 too... and gerald is totally what it have been said... and it is driving me nuts... plus my super active mei mei... haiz.... don know why both kids is super glue to me.... so both know how to try to get me attention when 1 was talking to me... the other will try too... .btw mei mei already start to walk at 15month... 3 month ahead of kor kor... but she still no confident... my mil say she afraid to fall... so alot of time she still prefer u hold her hand to walk.... but if she see kor kor playing something interest... she can walk her own toward the kor kor... anyway the best person she like is kor kor, then me.... but kor kor still don know how to play with her...

oh 1 thing i need help... my gal refuse FM... all brand.... i planning to stop bfg.... how ??? HELP...

<font color="ff6000">H Buddy</font>
The joke is lame... but I can't stop laughing now. Ahahahahaha...... I am lame I think. Ahahahaha..... Thavis is so cute! He's still so young.... and how come Thyler took the back seat liao? What happened to make him speak lesser?

I do agree with your conclusion to SP's problem. She is too delicious for her gal to give up! Ahahahaha.....

<font color="119911">Re: Frustrating 4</font>
I used to constantly feel frustrated by Joeson in regards to his attitude too. But I took a step back, sat down and think alot.....

Joeson came to me, and rudely said:
"Mummy, I told you that I want more milk right?! Why did you give me so little?!"

Then... for my side, the pride of being a mummy sets in, wanna teach him manners... I started scolded him. He showed no remorse, and I became frustrated, and started to punish him....

Then, recently I listened to the radio. They talk about 亲子关系.. It goes like this.
<font color="0077aa">Lazing around in bed, stretching my body. Suddenly felt something sleeping near to me as I bumped into it. Feeling the soft skin, to realise that the it, is actually my lovely son. He had once again crawled into our bed, in the middle of the night, to cuddle us to sleep.

Do you know? Kids, by 8 yrs old, will start to want their own personal space, their own privacy. You do not have much time to enjoy such priority in their little mind. Why not enjoy now???

This sets me thinking. Yes, as parents, we work hard to be able to provide for our little ones. And that causes us to constantly feel tired after work, when we reached home. Even if the little ones had excitedly jumped up and down upon seeing your returning..... shouting... "Mummy Daddy!!!".... Once you step inside, and settled down, the kids simply just bounced onto your lap and cuddle up to you. It's such a sweet and endearing feeling. But how many of us really sit back, relax, and indulge into that moment?

Thus... after many thoughts, and setting much more determinations. I constantly remind myself. 8 yrs old is 4 yrs or less from now. I am left with not much time with Joeson. The time where he'll cuddle up to me, and kiss me whenever I ask for it. Not much time for him to turn to me for every single emotion he is going through. Not much time for many things. Frustrating as it is, most of the time. I have not much time with him. Thus.... my life philosophy....

<font color="0000ff">I want to enjoy him as much as possible.</font>

Thanks Twinklets to give me the tips. Now I have more to learn to manage my time with Joeson. I also follows Anson to classes these days. To learn the songs, and the moves he enjoys in class. So that I can enjoy my time with them.....

Forget about the frustrating 4.... Enjoy the babies.

talk about jokes, I think my kids enjoy lame jokes.. I used to have like a handful at the back of my head when i was younger but now i seemed to have forgotten all..

How about let's share some 2-4 year old jokes so we can use?

H Buddy,
yes, i try my best to forget the frustrating 4s.. My this job too stressful... work OT then come home late, so tired... just wanna go to bed.

Now i tell myself, when i at home, the time totally for the kids.. Be it reading to them, or role playing or being with thyler as he plays his game or pei them swimming.. True they grow fast but since last year, since at my this job, the months just flew by too quickly..

FM
Thyler doesn;t drink FM anymore.. how ah... he just takes his cereal with fresh milk every morning.. I'm tempted to use FM with his cereal instead.. what do you guys think?

wen,
its ok to give them fresh milk if they reject FM. The only diff is jus FM got more additional stuffs inside like AA, DHA etc

Meow,

That is what i scared he will lose out on if he take fresh milk only.. hmmm..

Milk intake for 2 year old..
Thavis is 2 plus liao.. and he still drinks a huge amt of milk.. He go thru like a enfa 1.8kg in a week..

He drinks 2 bottles of 200ml to go to sleep at 9pm..
then 200ml at 12 midnight,
then 200ml at 4am
then 200 ml at 7am.
Then nap time in school he drinks 2 bottles of 200ml before his nap in school.. Tried to feed him water at night but he will wake up and cry.

Is it normal? He eats his lunch in school and tcr say his food intake is normal.. and he eats a proper rice dinner at home.

I am feeling the expenses of his milk very strongly.. cos 1 tin a week.. $54.80 per tin!!! and he doesn;t want any other milk..

wen,

my 2 older kids also still very much into FM now... and they drink before, during and after school and just before sleep. Both still on enfapro. They dun want to go to enfagrow.. dun like the taste I think.

if thyler dun want to take FM, maybe you can give him supplement like fish oil/cod liver oil? choline from lecithin? There should be food source of what is provided in the FM.... anyway at this age, the amount required and provided in the FM not that much too.. I supplement even though they are on FM still. I give them multivit and colostrum powder and either children's dha or ultimate omega 3. For probiotic I give them culturelle or acidophiluz from animal parade.

wen,
wow that's a lot wor. I'm thinking Darryl, 2yrs too, drinks a 900g tin for 10days is fast already leh. For him i give him 210ml before his sleep at 930pm
then if he still cant fall asleep and request for milk, we give him 120mls more.
Then 6pm another 210mls before going to my mom's place.
9-10am another 150-180mls before lunch.
Naptime wake up another 180-210mls and thats all liao

Poohy,

Thyler has been taking Neuromax for kids..it is children's fish oil for omega and dha.. He is ok with it.. But FM is a lot more than that right? Like AA, choline etc..

Enfapro is the pinkish one?? Even more ex? Mine is the gold colour tin one.. Thavis just changed over only.. Initially he dun want the stage 3.. he prefers stage 2..

Meow,
I going broke liao.. You see me go grocery shopping... 2 weeks 1 time buy 2 tins of 1.8kg enfa for thavis and thyler drink fresh milk very fast too... then yoghurt and cheese... I spending so much on milk pdts... :'(

Somemore I just tendered... To be a SAHM... If got job lobang let me know

wen,

extracted this from internet:

Taurine is mostly found in meat and fish, and the adult body can manufacture it.

Vitamin B6 is essential for our body to synthesize taurine.

I think taurine does not have to be obtained from diet as our body synthesize it from other nutrients obtained from our intake of meat and fish. (I think)It may only be deficient in vegetarian.

yah... the 2 older ones are still on Stage 2. And now, Josh is soon moving to Stage 2... so I was telling my hb next time go out, we only need to bring one type of milk powder and all three can share

Poohy,

Yea bring 1 type of milk powder is so convenient!

Last time when thavis was drinking stage 2 milk, when he over the recommended age, everyone keep telling me it is not nutritious enough.. Is it true?

I was always under the impression that the younger the baby the FM is intended for, the more nutritious..

wen,

I dunno leh I also thought more nutritious.... tried reading the labels but hmm so many ingredients, its a little beyond me. I just note that those added AA, DHA is higher in lower stage milk. Then being kiasu, I supplement with mutltivit, fish oil, colostrum too. just in case.

I am even supplementing Josh with fish oil now that he is on semi-solid.

Hi Poohy,

My girl is 4 yrs old. She keep asking me to let her learn Violin. May i know which music school S attending. Is it good?