(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Catz,
Aiya, I show have checked the labels when I buy baby clothes. Now it looks like I have to line dry all of them...sigh... Thanks for sharing the tips from your doula. Must remember not to add fabric softener because I'm so programmed to add fabric softener during laundry. Oh, have a good trip back to Singapore!

Evelyn,
You are such a hilarious mommy!! You actually place him in the toilet bowl! Wah, next time when your boy grows up he will ask you why you do that. I wonder what you will tell him.

I had a very tiring week this week as my mil is sick and has to be brought to the doctor, etc. Coupled to the fact that I am not sleeping well lately due to waking up to pee upto three times a nite. This has really disrupted my sleep.
Also, my biological clock only allows me to sleep till say 10am latest.) So I am very tired this week.

Have been reading about you gals buying nursing bras. I bought two Triumph ones but have to get the bra extension as I find them a little tight. They are good quality and costs about $30+ per pc, which I think is reasonable.

Also, I went to the Robinsons Baby Fair in Centrepoint to look see the Aprica and Gracco stroller and car seat. I end up buying a Aprica. I love the lightness of their strollers. More ever, for those with AMEX card, an extra 15% discount is given for Aprica. (I think this is till 7th only, forget to ask is it for Gracco as well?). It is worth for you gals who has not got the stroller to go see. Don't just look at those at the Atrium. Go into the Robinson store proper to see the Aprica and Gracco on display too. There are some models that are not available at Atrium but available upstairs.
Can someone tell me again which baby sling is good to buy? Is it the mums-in-mind or something like that? Any model reference for me? I want to complete my shopping this month as my gynae did say that she may let baby come out early due to my heart condition.

Yvonne,
Thanks for sharing your photos. Yes, if pp see you putting baby in toilet bowl, they sure will say u gila.
Can you tell me what are the charges of your maid agency as I am also looking for one to look after bb.

Wah poor Piggy, you sound so shacked out.. better take care, esp 'cos you hv heart condition. My doctor also told me not to strain when I fly as strain and stress can bring on early labour.

This is my last posting before I make my loooooong miserable journey... haiyah, pack and pack until so stressed and tired.

Looking forward to seeing all of you soon... will report when I next log in in S'pore!

hello girls,

opss gonna miss catz liow...have a good flight back!!

jaykay,
oh i know that tanjong pagar place. let me know the name of the shop once you find out okie.. thanks for that!!

ocean,
can you help me to find out from your sis which retail shop at kkh? is it $100 for 4 pcs? if so that is reasonable leh...thanks too!

evelyn,
yalor u so notti and cheeky leh.... "abuse" your son...ahahaha

piggy,
u have to take care ya..guess the toilet visit cn be real disruptive to our sleep... perhaps u can spent your weekend catching up with your beauty sleep liow...

hmmm triumph nursing bra is also reasonable leh..

oh girls i think metro having 20% off storewide from today till sun..maybe can drop by to take a look!

also aussino having 50% off for bathing and kids stuff but only from 11/11...do keep a look out!

have a good weekend all...

logging off now coz today not working...

Good morning ladies, this is my first posting on S'pore soil
Wah, the weather is darn hot man... cannot tahan!

Piggy, how are you feeling? You'd better try to rest and take it easy yah? Best not to strain yourself in the last trimester. Must treat yourself like a queen!

I think I might go down to Robinson's later to have a look at the cots available. Not sure if I should wait for Christmas sale to purchase.. hmm... any thoughts?

Catz,
Welcome back. You shed lots of tears at the airport? Hope not. How was you trip back? Was it very uncomfortable to fly now?
I am feeling tired still but after the weekend rest, feeling better. Looking forward to the coming two public holidays.
I think you should not wait for X mas sale then buy. Reason is in case Tim arrive earlier than expected how? (Although I hope that this will not happen as your hubby will be back only in December. ) So better shop around and make decsion by this month end.

Hi Catz,
Glad to hear that you made it through the long flight! Get a good rest before running around shopping cos you're probably still going to be jet lagged for a few days. I'm sure you're more well equipped than most of us with all your shopping from California!

Hey, my belly button has finally popped out. When I wear T-shirts, it shows as a little button like bump, a bit embarrassing leh. Hubby just laughs at me but I was told most preggies belly button will pop. How many of you are the same, or am I really the first one?

I'm not sure what to do abt nursing bras. Some ppl say we should buy b4 bb comes around 1 month before delivery; some ppl say we should buy after we deliver because our bust size will change dramatically when engorged with milk and you won't be able to predict what size you'll need now. I was advised that if I want to buy b4 delivery, I should give +1 cup size allowance for nursing pads and engorgement with milk, otherwise to buy only after delivery. But during confinement how to buy nursing bra? Then the other thing is that when we are near term, bb has grown so much he's pushed up & out our ribs and after delivery, ribs will shrink back to pre-preg size in 2 weeks. What are you girls going to do?

Hey Piggy and BabyD, thanks for the welcome
Yeah, I shed a LOT of tears at the airport.. really feel so sad to be leaving my life in the US and worst still, leaving my husband to deal with all the wrapping up. Life is so different over here lor. Thank God the flight was good but it was quite miserable travelling back alone.

Just went to Robinson's.. saw the cribs available. I find the $299 one but I find that the 28x52 cribs are very very big. I really fell in love with the European crib - the white one made in Spain but it's $599 without mattress... wah lau... heart melt but pocket dry dry leh. Dunno how :p Heard from the Robinsons sales staff that the 15% off storewide will start 10 days before Christmas. Worse come to worse, we still have the Graco playpen/bassinet to 'dong'..hehe..

babyD, I am currently 36C but I bought some nursing bras in 38C and 38D just in case of engorgement. Actually, Mimi Mat/Pea in the Pod sell some nursing bras which can span a few sizes, you might want to take a look lor. My belly button is still hanging onto its innie status.... hehe.

Catz,
The 28x52 size is a standard size. If you go to Aussino to get sheets, it will fit this. But due to space constraint, I got the smaller one but pin up sheet at the bottom to make it fit. $599 without mattress quite ex. But if think u want to have more than one bb, than can cinsider. But if not, don't buy cos they outgrow very fast and will end up sleep with you and hubby.

Baby D,
My belly button still not popped out. Just flat now.

As for nursing bra, I think you must have go try and then get one that is slightly loose to wear now. It is very difficult to say buy one size bigger or one cup bigger cos it depends on the cutting on the bra. Like triumph, I usually wear 75B but the nursing bra, I bought 80C for one design and 80B for another due to cutting difference. Don't forget to buy the bra extension at the same time just in case the chest area gets too tight.

Hi Catz,
Welcome back to Singapore!! The weather must be a torture for you now. But you'll get used to the humidity soon enough. Moreover, we are experiencing monsoon rain these few days, so weather should be quite cooling.

Catz, since you are looking out for cots, I would suggest that you wait for John Little's Warehouse sale at the Singapore Expo. I was told by a John Little salesgirl that they are going for another round this weekend. I believe the $299 cot you saw is by Kids' Paradise. They would slash the price further if it's at the warehouse sale. I got mine at $194. Don't pay $599 for a cot. It's way too ex!!

Hi BabyD,
My belly button is still an innie, although is now a slit instead of a hole, if you know what I mean. I guess yours is the first to pop out.

Wah, I notice all of your bra sizes are quite big. I hope my cup size doesn't change after birth. Heehee....

<font color="119911">catz</font>,
220682.gif
back to Singapore!!
So ur hubby din flooded the airport as well???

Yap, i think i met more nice gentleman in MRT than nice lady.
Today, also a gentleman offer his seat to me! So pai sei
but i really need it and thanks him!
Surprisingly, those ladies who wear nice nice one wld never offer their seats!!

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, the shop in KKH is called <font size="+2">OIO</font>. This shop is the one nearer to the Children Tower and is near to the 7-Eleven!
Think there is a promotion so my sis got 4 pcs at around that price. Saw that the pricing before discount was abt $30-$40 per piece!
Take a look at the shop on your next visit!
talker.gif

<font size="+2"><font color="ff6000">Evelyn</font></font>, how could u put ur boy boy in the <font size="+2">Toilet Bowl</font>???
220683.gif
Don't u find it dirty? Sure or not????
Very noti gal!
nono.gif
Cannot do such thing to ur new born hor!! Must be guai guai, ok??

<font color="0077aa">JayKay</font>, u sounds like the weather girl
220684.gif
reporting Singapore weather to <font color="119911">Catz</font>!

Yap yap, all their bra size big leh!
Wow... must be very very sexy...

<font color="aa00aa">BabdyD</font>, my belly button is only half pop out. Find that it is more or less level liao!
220685.gif
But if i lay flat on my back, the belly button will still sink in!

Aiyah, really headache rgd the crib leh... the $599 is really sooooooooo nice. Arggghhh.. I find that the standard 28x52 just takes up too much floor space, not to mention that I don't really need something that converts to a junior bed. Will think and think about it lah.. esp if I have enough Citibank pts to redeem for Robinson's vouchers. Hehe..

Wah, weather really terok. I'm taking 2-3 showers a day and I still feel sweaty.

JayKay, thanks for the tip.. I guess I will definitely hv a look at JL warehouse sale.

Piggy, I don't believe in co-sleeping - it makes for bad sleep for both parents and my sleep is veeeeery precious

My appt with Yvonne Chan is tomorrow morning... not sure if she will do an ultrasound for me!

Catz,
She definately will do ultrasound one. That is the fastest and best way to check on baby. Ya, me also don't believe in co sleeping. This is very disruptive to the parents. So I shall let baby sleep with maid.
Let me know what YC says after your appt,ok? Hope she will not go for any holiday. But I guess we can't do anything if she insists.

huh, really ah? Nobody else belly button popped out except mine?? Aiyoh.... I hope this isn't an indication that my bb is too big. Got no way of telling cos this stupid so called democratic country doesn't believe in doing any routine bedside u/s scans! Their health care is not the envy of other countries and is quite pathetic in my opinion, contrary to what their newly elected president believes and claims during the presidential debates! Going to see gynae again tomorrow and feeling so sian cos cannot see bb on u/s and gynae will just ask a few qns &amp; feel here and there only. Starting to feel so anxious cos I just have no means of comparison for bb's size / predicted birth weight, or whether I have severe excess of amniotic fluid to indicate my bb got some problem or what. Soooooo STRESSSSSEEDDDD.....

Wah, all your bra size quite big leh. I'm having problem buying bras here because as far as I can see, nursing bras don't have A cup at all, everything starts at B or higher! So you mean you girls are buying nursing bras that fit you at the moment?? Or are you giving some allowance for engorgement? I'm not really understanding how you're deciding on the size of nursing bra when none of us are engorged with milk right now??

hello girls,

gonna do lots of catching up with the post!

welcome home catz! let us know more after your checkup ya.

babyd,
actually i do envy those mtb with pop out belly button leh...think they look so unique coz it only happens during pregnancy. but too bad mine also still an innie..my mum was telling me that she dunn think mine will pop out lah from the way it looks..so sad...

oceans,
thanks for letting me know the name of the shop. ya i know which one and shall go and take a look on sat!

oh i went to get the kid paradise - johnson cot from robinson last weekend and finally collected some hand-me-down from my frds last nite. she passed me the rocker, stroller and the electric "yao lan" and some bb clothings. phew can save a big sum of $$....

babyD,
Don't be so sian about not getting u/s scan, ok? As long as you are feeling fine, baby is kicking, it should be alrite. I agree that the stupid president got alot to do at home before thinking of solving other countries' problem. Just that since you are there, no choice but to follow their system. A popped out belly button does not mean that there is problem or amniotic fluid too much. It is just that some pp do experience that and some don't. Just like some got break out on their faces during pregnancy and some don't. Don't worry excessively, ok? Keep up a good mood for baby, ok?

I am not sure about other brands, but triumph brand nursing bra here also got no A cup as far as I remember. I just give some allowance when buying the bras cos now the bra is loose at the breast area to accomodate engorgement later. Loose to the extend that I can put say one to two bra pads on each side to "fill" up the space. I hope this give you a little idea?

Dolphina,
Which is the kids paradise johnson cot uh? What price is it?

Catz,

welcome back! anytime feel bored can ask me out lah! I met up with Evelyn yesterday to look at the Aussino bedsheets.... hee.

I have bought most of the stuff for baby already, so now slowly have to start buying things for my confinement. When do you all think is a good time to pack the hospital bag and wash those cot linens and baby clothes???

And Christmas is coming... feel so happy... love the christmas season... in fact i put up our christmas tree liao! :p

Hi JayKay,

Need to bother u again. I m bogged down with constipation and lately have been worse, its like 4 days yet still cant visit the toilet, urgh.. how? Can we take laxatives?

Any gals out there who constipate for so many days?

Twinkle,
For me, I only DID NOT Poo for one day, then the next day, I go poo, see so much blood. Got a shock out of my life.
Why you don't try Flybogel? Gynae also prescribe this, you know. Unless JayKay can suggest something better?

Hey everyone,

Just came back fr my visit.. got a bit of bad news.. my dear son is in a sit and reach position lying across so the doctor told me to get mentally prepared for C-section in the last wk of Dec, 2 weeks before EDD. Arrgggghhh... hope my laidback American fella will go head-down before the next visit *sigh* Apart from that, he's slightly larger than average and he's got long arms and legs
YC thinks perhaps he's more comfortable being transverse since he's so lanky... the funny thing is that he's got a double chin.. quite chubby face..haha..
My husband is not happy though 'cos it is more or less routine episiotomy for vaginal delivery and he feels that S'pore doctors are too eager to push for epidural and c-section. I told him not to stress me out 'cos which gynae will take me now?! Aiyah, headache...

sun_moon, will definitely jiou you guys out once I get all my stuff settled

babyD, actually I prefer not having so many u/s as the long term effects are not yet known. Anyway, in our parents' time, they didn't even use u/s - my Mom said they used this cone shaped thingie to listen to the baby's heartbeat, that's it!
So don't stress yah?

dolphina, how much did you pay for the cot? I'm still thinking hard about the cot... aiyah, tau tia...

twinkle, aiyoh, constipation is such a horrible thing. Drink lots lots lots of water and try to let your body flush naturally. I don't think you should take laxatives as I think they can trigger premature labour or something like that. Have you tried prune juice or papaya? My worst constipation is max 2 days. I find papaya works the best for me!

Catz,
So I guess we go screaming together is very high, you know. I also told to let baby out in December leh. Did YC mention anything about her holiday?

Hi Piggy and catz,

I did try fybogel but I only dare take max twice per week and not everyday cos dun knw bb will be affected or not. I also tried Prunes(think I m immune to it liao after frequent taking) and papaya. But not very effective still. Me headache... Doc can only advise to take more vege and fruits which I did leh... but still constipate. Could be I am alwas having this prob even before preggie days lah, hence now even more terok...

Hi Twinkle,
Actually, Fybogel helps with constipation because it adds bulk to your stool, hence, encouraging bowel movement. It's not a laxative so you can take it daily. To tell you the truth, I only go to the loo for big business every 4 days!!! I don't want to force myself because the last time I did, my piles bleed (like Piggy, got the shock of my life!!) and the whole toilet bowl was blood!!! Thought something wrong with my uterus. Take it easy and like what the rest says, more water, vege and fruits.

Catz,
Aiyo, the most feared c-section. Actually, I don't agree with your hubby's view that Singapore gynae like to push for c-section. If little Tim is not going to cooperate and engage, there is really no point pushing for a natural birth. In fact, it will tire you out more if he refuses to come out after 24 hours of pushing and you have to be wheeled in for c-section in the end (touch wood!). Medical fees and hospitalisation costs will also go up this way. Hence, I feel you should trust your gynae's on this. Just talk to little Tim and ask him to cooperate and be a good boy.

sun moon,
did you buy any baby cot bedding set? think they will be launching new series on 11/11. but the price is a bit steep leh @ $89.90.

piggy/catz,
the johnson cot cost $299 and with amex 15% off = $254.15. was told by the sale person that it can be converted to a junior bed for use up to 5 yrs old. alamak buy liow then came to know about john little warehouse sale. dunno will the price be slashed further or not...

twinkle,
ya i think fybogel does help. perhaps u can try first since most gynae do prescribe it.

piggy,
me hor everyday poo also bleed leh..jialat dunno why??? cannot imagine with episiotomy what will happen then...

catz,
i think there is still time for your boy to turn ... so not to worry!

Hi Jaykay/Dolphina,

Tks for the info. Ok will try to take Fybogel more regularly. Didnt knw we are toilet kakis, 4 - 5 days then poo one... ha ha ha... U are right not to force yourself, me too never dare to really push... jus go when i feel like going. Just that soemthimes as u know, four days of food inside u but u cant release, the feeling yucks rite, so bloated. Anyway tks.

Dolphina,
I bought i set some time back at discounted price...a bt $69 only. The new range is more expensive and i may or maynot buy. Cos the Johnson cot came with a free set, plus the set i got.. i have two... shd be enough to go around for the time being.

Catz, think it's still quite early and there's still time for baby to get engage. Keep talking to Tim and tell him to cooperate. I will be seeing mine gynae this sat... hopefully she will tell me my boy doing okay. I do feel that baby is gaining weight now, cos i have more difficulty sleeping and walking around.

As for constipation... I avoid that by drinking milk and eating more fruits. I prefer grapes. I am also abit lactose intolerance... so everytime after a glass of milk... i will somehow automatically need to go toilet...

Dolphina,
I can't remember the name of the cot I got from Robinson's although it's also from Kid's Paradise. Mine can only convert into a toddler's bed. It's cheaper than the Johnson Cot. Like Sun Moon, I got my beddings at $69 at Aussino (the new design too expensive) and Kid's Paradise threw in a set free. I think 2 sets should be enough. I think you got a good deal for the Johnson cot anyway. When is it going to be delivered?

Sun Moon,
So envious you are going to see gynae this Sat. My appt postpone to next Wed because of my hubby. He wants to follow. You must tell us how your baby is doing okay? I am also having difficulty sleeping because he is so active at night and a lot of my colleagues commented that my tummy seemed to have grown very big suddenly. Now I really feel like a ball...sigh...

Twinkle,
I know what you mean when you say that you feel yucky when you don't clear your bowels for 4 days. But since that 'bloody' experience, I really don't dare to force myself. Actually, taking a hot drink in the morning also encourages bowel movement. Try it.

Piggy,
Guess actually you would like check with me (not Yvonne), regarding the charges of my maid agency right?
The initial payment we paid to the agency was S$108 which including agency fees, S$5K Banker Guarantee, S$10K personal ins, 1st time check up and the course for the maid.
When the maid comes maybe we need to prepare S$1600-S$1900 to the agency. (Maid loan) So, the first 6mths we pay to the maid only S$20-S$30 as salary + FWL S$250. After 6mths her salary is S$230 + FWL S$250. This agency allow us have 2 times maid replacement in 12mths.

Ocean,
Youre not the first to say that its so dirty! How can you put your son in the toilet bowl??? Please lah! My hse toilet bowl leh, very clean you know! You thought public toilet bowl ah? Hee hee.just joking lah!
By the way how are you? Last time you told us bleeding during your pregnancy is very common. Any improvement? One of my girl friend due in mid Dec 04, but she got bleeding without any reason in her week 30. Her gynae asked her must rest and better stay in the bed. She has MC for 4weeks already, now still MC leh (Bleeding in 3rd trimester, no joke man!) You better be caution hor!

Welcome back Catz!

After shopping with Sun Moon and my sis at Suntec yesterday, I went to my gynae check up at KK AMK. So happy to hear that my BB now is 2.6kg (34wk). My gynae said BB is growing very fast in 3 weeks time. (Last visit 31wk, 1.6kg) Next visit will be in 2 weeks later.

jaykay,

if i rem correctly i think yours is the daniel cot right...i saw that at robinson selling @ $239. was hesitating to buy which one...heheheh finally after a wk of consideration decided on johnson cot..(coz 1st time there did not bring my amex card so went back the following week!) it will be delivered on 11th dec (sat) coz my antenatal class will only end a wk earlier...else have to take leave.

hmmm i also think 2 set will be sufficient..guess i will go and get a set from aussino too. i went last wk to get the baby bibs but did not see any pooh bear bedding set leh. actually dun really fancy the new series. beside aussino where else can we get huh?

jaykay, is your EDD somewhere in mid jan too? yvoyvo too long never come in to update so forgotten the list liow.

evelyn,
wow your boy has put on 1kg within 3 wks! do u intend to take the coconut water? not sure if i have asked u before, did you engage any massage lady after u delivered your 1st boy? anyone intend to get one and any good recommendation?

Dolphina,
Oh yes, you are right, it's the Daniel cot. This Cheapo mommy decided to save money because I don't think my boy will want to sleep in this bed when he is older, so decided to get the Daniel cot. Heehee.... How come the delivery is so late? My EDD is now 14th Jan but I still want him to come out in late Dec, if not 1st week Jan leh.

Piggy, YC said she didn't want to confirm her holiday dates 'cos she didn't want all the pregnant women to freak out. Plus she said that news travels very fast
Aiyah, hope she will be around lor. If it's a scheduled C-section, my date will prob be 28th Dec. You?

My boy is currently 1.79kg at 31wks. Gynae says that he's above average, esp in terms of length. Plus he's got chubby cheeks and a double chin!

JayKay, my husband was already biased against my gynae cos of our last visit with her in Jan when she told us that because of my PCOS and his sperm analysis result, we had almost zilch chance of conceiving naturally.. he felt that she was not encouraging at all. Dunno lah, I told him that I feel so stressed if he insists that she's no good... *sigh* I think he's still angry that his manhood got insulted, plus he's very pro-natural birth i.e. no epidural, no episiotomy. I would like to avoid a c-section at all costs too.. *fingers crossed* YC thinks that 'cos he's so lanky, he finds it more comfortable in the transverse position... aiyah, must really start talking to him more and tell him to be a good good boy and not let Mummy get cut open unnecessarily. :p

Can I check with those who bought the Aussino bedding set - is the bumper in 2 pieces or in 3? 'Cos some bumpers come with a special headboard bumper and then 2 slim bumper pieces.. I prefer that.

Congratulations on your upcoming births.

FourTrimesters are holding a free antenatal class at Oasis Holistic on Selegie Road on November 28. After the class you will have an opportunity to take a prenatal yoga class for only $2.

Learn tips on coping with labour pain, how to avoid a cesarean, the best position for giving birth and lots more.

Visit http://www.fourtrimesters.com or contact [email protected] for more information.

Catz,
I'm trying not to be anxious, but then hearing abt your gynae visit makes me feel that the gynaes here not v good at all. Without u/s how to see if my baby is breeched or not? I asked him today what position my baby is in and you know what he said? "Now is not the time to ask because you're only about 30-31 weeks and most babies are breeched at this time. Only about 3% of babies are breeched at 36 weeks so that would be the time to ask what position your baby is in." And that was it. He didn't even bother to feel what position bb is in. In huge contrast, your gynae is telling you to get ready for C-Section when you aren't even at 36 weeks yet, because she can see from u/s that Tim is v large so he may need to come out early. It's this kind of thing that makes me really frustrated with the stupid doctors here. Wouldn't be worried if my tummy wasn't so big. According to their scales here, I already put on 12kg but my arms are still skinny so if my bb isn't big, then where is the weight coming from? Sometimes wish I was back in the safer hands of my S'pore gynae. Will appreciate S'pore health care system &amp; doctors much more when we come back. On the other hand, maybe your gynae making you panic over nothing and baby Tim will turn over by 36 weeks, just as my gynae says... he may not be in that 3% right? Always got 2 sides of a coin.

Hey babyD, I also see your point of view. For me, after that big big (false) alarm, I would rather not want to worry about everything anymore, know what I mean? I find American doctors are less panicky on the whole. As for the breech thingie, well, it's true that it's only time to start getting anxious in Wk 35 onwards. Like I said, I think it's best to limit ultrasound exposure for the baby and don't worry, they can feel for baby's position by palpating. I guess your doctor didn't want to panic you so early 'cos there's still quite a lot of time for baby to move around. Anyway, since you're fully insured, don't worry, if anything happens, all specialists will be at hand. American doctors are more kiasu than Singapore doctors 'cos of all the lawsuits!

BabyD,
Catz is right. Not to worry too much about not having u/s. Your gynae in the US is also right that most babies are breeched at 30-31 week and they would usually turn by 35th week onwards. They are trained to palpate your tummy so there really isn't any need to scan since there wasn't any abnormalities detected earlier on. The gynae in Singapore tends to scan more frequently than other countries, when in actual fact, is really not necessary after the first few times. This expose the foetus to unnecessary exposure to ultrasound waves, which is not yet proven whether will have any adverse effects on the development of the baby.

Catz is also right that American doctors are more kiasu because they are more afraid of lawsuits compared to the Singaporean gynaes. So don't worry too much.

Catz,
Did you consider changing gynae since your hubby is not in favour of YC? The general view is that female gynaes are really not as good as a male gynaes. Surgically, they are also not as good with their hands. That was the reason why I switched from a female to a male gynae in the end. Of course, there are other factors like experience, which you have to take into consideration. But having said that, most gynaes may not want to accept patients that are already so late in their pregnancy. Just pray that everything goes smoothly with Tim cooperating.

Hi Catz,
I agree it's good not to worry too much because a lot of things are uncertain until you really get there. My friend had to go for emergency C section because her baby couldn't come out after inducing even though it was head down and engaged for quite a few weeks. As long as baby's head is not engaged, even if he's head down now, he can still turn around and vice versa. It's just that I don't really trust the doctors here - palpating is not 100% accurate because it depends on experience and it's possible to mistake the head for the bum. As far as they are concerned, they will check again at the time of labour and triage you so if baby is still breeched, they'll just send you for C-section. Over here, you don't get to choose who delivers you... could be any of the ObGyn within the group practice, depends on who is on duty. I really don't like their system here but no choice lor. It's just unfortunate bcos it's our first bb so we're naturally more anxious. They don't believe in routine scanning because they did a study that showed that it made no difference to the outcome of the pregnancy, which is probably true if you think about it. In most of the cases, intervention only occurs at birth / in the case of C-section, during birth. They probably didn't look at factors like mental preparation and positive psychology that scans may have on parents. Nothing I can do about it and it's not some serious problem. Just feel really fed up and don't enjoy seeing the ObGyn because of this (I don't gain anything I don't already know by the visits). It's like a waste of time except maybe towards the end after 36 weeks.

jaykay,

well thats is the only sat we will be available since all other sat in nov and early dec we will have to attend the antenatal class. i still think its too early leh..kekekek yours will be delivered this fri right.

hmmm our EDD is only a day difference. my hb also hope that bb will "pop" on last wk of dec coz he is worried that his son will have difficulty enrolling in pri sch as we reckon a baby boom next yr due to the bb bonus. almost fainted upon hearing this..so KS right..but quite true also lah since 1st bb, we may not be able to get in our preferred sch..ahahahah

aiyo now headache when to start my mat leave coz hope to work till end dec else i will be in extreme stress at work on 1st wk of jan (it happens every yr so can be predicted!!) but if bb decided to pop on time or even later then i will waste at least 2 wks of mat leave... arghhhh

<font color="ff6000">Evelyn</font>, no matter how clean ur toilet
221322.gif
bowl is, the impression that it is used for pee pee and poo poo
still left the image of dirty in my mind!!
Yeeeee........yucks...
221323.gif
Sorry lah, i just cant help
it!

Hmmm.... i still got abit of <font color="ff0000">spotting</font> once in a while, but think it is better
than when i was in my 1st and 2nd trimester!

Recently feeling very big and think i already put on 11-13kg!
221324.gif
Jiat luck leh... still got another 11wks to go..
221325.gif
Hopefully i dun put on so much!
221326.gif
Otherwise, i would have a hard time to slim down later!!
221327.gif

<font color="0000ff">JayKay</font>, why u wanna BB to arrived in Dec'04 huh?
I thot it is better to have BB born in starting of the year rather than later part of the year as BB will have more time to grow before schooling?

Oceans,
I would prefer BB to arrive at the end of the year because I'm also a year end BB. I understand that there is a belief that Jan babies are smarter than year-end babies, but I really don't subscribe to it. In fact, I like being one of the youngest in the class!! Better still if he wants to come out on Christmas day. Heeheehee..... BB will be our Christmas present!!

I'm the same as JayKay, I actually prefer baby to be born before Jan. I don't think that at age 6, it makes a HUGE diff for development so I'm not too worried. Plus as both my Dad and husband pointed out (coincidentally), if born in Dec, then can quickly enjoy income tax benefits...whereas if it's a Jan baby, you still have to fork out tax in '05. Hehe. But anyway, all babies have their own timing..hopefully mine won't be too laid back and leave everything till the last minute :p

JayKay, I actually really don't mind male/female gynae. It's a bit hard for me to change gynae now 'cos like you said, not many gynaes want to take on someone in their 31/32 wk.

BabyD, I think 'cos you are under HMO scheme, therefore it's more rigid..whereas if you were on a PPO scheme, you have more say 'cos it's just a matter of paying more or less. My OB did more u/s than the normal American OB..some ppl in my prenatal class actually only had one u/s and their doctor refused to confirm the baby's sex until their 7th month! So it's a matter of your insurance lor.. Anyway, your pregnancy has been so routine so don't worry too much.. not like me - normal pregnancy but with a lot of false alarms :p But maybe if you feel that the lack of u/s is making you worry needlessly, you could tell the doctor at your next visit... hopefully they can make a concession for your sake?

Went to Baby Hypermart and Kingdom just now... not bad lah but not much left for me to buy except a whole bunch of washcloths and the crib.

I also prefer bb to be born in Dec than Jan. It's not totally untrue that Dec babies are at a slight disadvantage in their first 2 years of schooling - our S'pore gynae told us there is quite a significant difference between age 6 and 7, though it evens out later. He chided us for thinking abt ourselves &amp; not for bb's advantage. We just feel that bb is ahead of others if he's born in Dec, rather than have to wait one extra year to start school &amp; graduate. We didn't think about the baby boom primary school places availability problem until Dolphina mentioned! Hopefully bb will come early, though 2 weeks may be quite a lot to ask for my bb.

Catz,
I don't think the insurance is the issue at all, because I haven't had any u/s scans done while I'm here and my insurance definitely entitles me to at least one or two. It's the doctor's call and he just doesn't feel it's necessary although my measurements indicate clearly that my fundus height has been consistently higher than expected by 2 inches although my bb was 50 percentile on detailed scan at 20 wks in S'pore. My friend managed to pester her gynae at another practice to agree to give her growth scan at 36 wks (she's due soon.) so hubby &amp; I are thinking we may bug our gynae until he's fed up enuff to agree.

babyD, it's definitely an insurance issue.. like I said, private insurance is a lot more flexible ('cos any extras are paid out of your own pocket). HMOs are very very ngiao 'cos the copayment is very low... anyway, it would be good to pester your OB until he gives up

Imagine if our babies are born Jan 1.. their birth cert will be T050000xx..haha, a lot of zeros

Catz,
I was told to let bb out one to two weeks b4 full term but was not given any date. She says will monitor the progress of growth of baby and my heart condition. I guess she just want to be sure that my heart can take it. Anyway, she says I shall try natural first and should there be any need, than go C section. So I guess she is not like what yr hubby thinks of Singapore gynae.

Also hor, pro natural without epidural or any drugs is good but it depends alot on the woman who is actually feeling the pain, her threshold for pain and the circumstances at that time, etc. Alot can happen during the delivery that is unexpected. So a scheduled natural birth may turn out to be C section in the end.
My boy was also in sit and reach position 2 visits ago and he turned in the last visit. So just need to talk to Tim and ask him to help help.

Why 28th Dec? Did you choose this date or was it scheduled by YC?

Evelyn,
Yah sorry for getting name wrong. I am in the midst of looking for a maid so thanks for the info.

Twinkle,
I hope your constipation problem has been eased?

Dolphina,
You poor thing. Everyday poo poo also breed? Better try to drink more more water hor. I very scared to see breeding leh.

Anyone experiencing waking up too early and unable to go to sleep despite being tried? I woke up two hours earlier than usual and find that I can't get back to sleep. SIGH... Then end up feeling tired the whole day. Been happening quite often leh....

Dear All

I go back to find the EDD of you gals:
Can you all update me on hospital?

Username - EDD - Sex-of-BB - Name-of-BB - Hospital
Evelyn Au - 24/12 - Boy
Ah Bunny - 28/12 - Boy
Tetra (Mum-To Francis's baby) - 02/1 (25-27/12) -Boy - Lucas
TSH (tan_tan) - 05/1 - Girl
goodfriend - 05/1
sun_moon - 06/1 - Boy
PiggyLee - 06/1 - Boy - Linus - TMC
Catz - 08/1 - Boy - Timonthy (Tim) - TMC
yvonne - 10/1 - Twins (both boys)
babyD - 14/1 - Boy
JayKay - 14/1 - Boy - Gideon
dolphina - 15/1 - Boy
emonster - 15/1 - Girl - Phoebe - TMC
yvoyvo - 14-16/1 - Girl -
yve - 19/1 - Girl
twinkle - 22/1 - Girl - - TMC
Hopeful24 - 25/1
Ocean - 26/1 - Girl
Toh - 27/1

Piggylee &amp; Catz,
I'm a little confused... you both have the same gynae and she's asking both of you to induce labour 2 weeks before due date? Why is that so? For medical reasons or because she's going on holiday?

Over here, they try not to induce labour unless the bb post term or complications arise. They say it increases the risk of C-section so even if they think bb is larger than average, they will not induce bb to come out until a few days post term.

Piggylee,
I also wake up earlier on some days, like this morning, woke up at 4:30am and couldn't go back to sleep after going to the loo. In the end I got up around 6 plus and had breakfast, then slept a little more before going to work. I think I'm rather stressed.

Catz,
My insurance is so expensive that I don't have any co-payments to make for each visit. I paid US$3600 for 1 year! I wouldn't have to fork out this much money for pre-natal care, delivery and a whole year of GP visits if I was in S'pore, that's why I'm kinda getting more frustrated as I discuss it. Imagine if you girls were paying SGD$6k and your gynae was only going to give you ONE scan for your entire pregnancy and just see for 10 min per visit. How would you feel? As far as I'm concerned, my friend got a growth scan here, she's delivering at the same hospital as me, and she didn't have to pay for the scan because it's all included in the insurance. So it's just the stubborn gynae and health care system I have to deal with. To be honest, I don't feel assured or confident going into the delivery room without any idea of how big my bb is &amp; seeing a scan to make sure he's really engaged head down. It's very hard for me to trust the doctors here because they are refusing me what is routine for us back home. I feel so disappointed every time I go to visit the gynae and there's nothing to look forward to until onset of labour. It's so different from my experience in Singapore, where every visit to the gynae was a highlight for me &amp; hubby.

Hi PiggyLee,

Tks for your concern, constipation still not so ok, but manage to produce low output, better then dun have rite... hee hee.

Hi Dolphina,
You too take care, dont force yourself till bleed. Take care.

Have u gals bought bb's body suit/clothes/long pants/ etc? How many did you gals stock up btw. Another question, my bb will be taken care of by my MIL. I just realised I only bought 1 set of Avent Steriliser, what abt the time when my bb is in my PIL's place? Oh no, dun tell me I have to buy another one? Quite ex leh. Any suggestions?

Hi Piggy,
I woke up at 5.30am this morning to go to the loo and couldn't get to sleep thereafter. Actually, I haven't been sleeping very well since the start of the last trimester. I really hate not being able to lie flat on my back or sleep in the prone position. Lying on my side is so restrictive. On top of that, Ah Boy keeps moving around in my tummy, doing some acrobatics. Sigh.... Panda eyes every morning.

BabyD,
Wah, you actually paid so much a year and don't even get to have u/s? Definitely must pester your gynae. I can imagine your frustration and how 'sian' it will be to go to the gynae and see nothing but just talk.

Twinkle,
I bought quite a fair bit of clothings for my boy. Howevever, was told by my friends not to stock too many of the newborn sizes as they grow pretty fast. Hence, most of my sizes are 3-6 months or 6-12 months. Kiasu hor!

What I bought:-

Singlets x 6
Rompers x 4
Long sleeved tops x 4
Long pants x 4
Short sleeved tops x 6
Shorts x 6

Actually, baby does not need shorts because they can just lie around in their diapers. But since it looks better when in a set, so I decided to buy them. Oh, do buy bigger size shorts because of the diapers.