(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Catz,
Hubby may either be going to Mumbai, India or Kaohsiong, Taiwan. I am hoping more for Taiwan. I told him that I will bring ah boy with me to visit him every 2 months so that he does not need to fly back so often. Moreover, it's easier for me to take leave and fly over than for him to come back. My place is so near Changi Airport anyway! I am actually very happy that I miscalculated. I really can't imagine hubby away when I'm pregnant. I won't be able to share the excitement with him - it's so sad.

Evelyn & Dolphina,
Yes, I'm counting down to my weekend getaway. The flight is at 8 am. Looking forward to yummy food!!

Evelyn,
I am definitely taking your advise and have epidural. I don't think hubby will let me bite his arm!! Heehee....

Hey JayKay, wah, Mumbai will be pretty cham lor. Definitely pray for KHH!!! At least there are direct SQ flights there! Yup, I definitely agree that your timing is so much better this way than to suffer the pregnancy without your husband. Enjoy Penang yah?
Eat more kway teow for me!!!

dolphina, onz lah... it will be so funny to see all these heavily pregnant women together in one place

Evelyn, I'm scared that if we don't make the effort to paktor earlier, we'll fall into the mummy and daddy trap and there will be no more romance in our marriage lor.. Hv seen it happen to too many people liao. I told hb if he calls me 'mummy', I will kick him in the nuts!

Yay, weekend going to San Diego for a last blast before I leave CA for good....

Catz,
Will definitely have a good time there. Aiyo, haven't pack my bags and change currency yet! Too bad can't 'ta bao' char kway teow to share with you! You have a good weekend at San Diego too!

I m back. Yest gynae gave me a day rest.Tues CTG shows bb doing fine. But he wants me to monitor for whole of this week and go back to him once bb not kicking much again.

He mentioned that by 27 week, bb supposed to be more active and there shld be kicks of at least 10 times once every 2-3 hrs.

Hi Dolphina,

Must monitor your bb's movement, if not kicking muc have to let ur gynae knows.

Hi JayKay & Catz,
Have a great weekend!

catz,

yalor all the heavy duty gather together will sure invite lots of stares...heeee

jaykay and catz, so nice to have a weekend getaway. have fun and enjoy okie!!

twinkle,
glad to know ur bb is fine. did dr say why bb did not kick as much?

seems like my bb has a funny trend, once a week he will take a day off and kick very little as compared to other days. just yesterday, he also very lazy and din kick as much and not as powerful kicks so getting a little paronoid at first...

anyone experience pulling pain near belly button, been having it since yesterday, dunno is it belly button popping out soon huh? anyone feeling nausea? jialat seems like those 1st tri symptoms coming back to haunt me already...

Catz, dolphina and all girls,
Cant imagine one group of pregnant ladies have a gathering at somewhere.feel abit
funny leh! hehe!
You know, Sun Moon and me went out 2 times together and 2 times got people commented; ha? You both pregnant at the same time ah? Are both of you sisters?.....
Anyway, Im looking forward to meet all of you.

Dolphina, JayKay,
Frankly speaking, I still intend to go without epidural! Maybe this time round not so pain leh!? (hehe, try to consoling myself.)

BabyD,
Same as your Jap neighbour, Ive endured abt 6 hrs of labour too for my eldest son. Heard from those who have given birth before that on average, the second delivery is half the time taken compared to the first right? If true, maybe this time I can tolerant the pain without epidural. (hehee!)

Dolphina,
O, u intend to count the strokes for baby Chinese name after you give birth ah? Read from other thread, some parents kena cheated bcoz got the same set of names leh! U better be cautious of this matter hor!

Catz & Jaykay,
Enjoy your trip and have a safe journey!

Twinkle,
So happy to hear that your BB is doing fine. Wow, so many times ah? At least 10times once every 2-3hrs? I thought mine very active, but less than 10times every 2-3hrs leh! Maybe abt 5 or 6times, dunno is it ok or not? Today mthly appt with my gynae, must check with him.

Hi Dolphina,

Dr says prob I m too stress with my family matters hence resulted in this. My mood prob affected her.
I only got paronoid when these continues for a few days, ie bb not kicking much.

evelyn,

yalor if we go out together people sure stare hard hard at us...quite fun right....

hmmm saw the thread somewhere also...thanks for the reminder, we will not go to that particular famous person...(kena blacklisted liow!)

twinkle,
oic, try to relax and take it easy okie else will affect bb inversely...

yahor but sometime i dun think its bb kick but more like bb moving, gliding inside leh..esp after clearing bladder like bb gliding away from the bladder...heeeee so funny feeling...alot of time only feel as if tummy trembling and shaking leh...sometime very gentle movement..so confusing so how to actually count huh??

sometimes in the middle of the nite, will feel tummy hardening and it hurt whilst trying to stretch myself...anyone has similar experience?

dolphina, same here.. baby Tim has his really active days but today he is taking a break.. very laidback. The movements are really funny hor? Sometimes I can feel him stretch out and one part of my tummy will get really hard and stretched.. is that the same feeling? Or could you be having braxton-hicks contractions already????

twinkle, so glad that everything is OK with you and baby
See, told you not to worry.

Hehe.. if we have a gathering, maybe we should get the lady with the largest tummy to fake labour.. hehe.. make everyone around us freak out! Kekekekekekekeke..

Jaykay, take care and have fun in Penang!! I only leave for San Diego on Friday which is Saturday Singapore time. :p

Twinkle,
Glad to know that everything is fine. Please try and stay positive for your little one ok? Take care of yourself.

Dolphina,
I think our babies also have moods that's why sometimes move a lot and sometimes hardly at all. It's the same for my boy. Sometimes, he can move about the whole night until I can't sleep, and sometimes he is quiet and just nudge you a few times. Don't worry!

Evelyn,
I really 'pei fu' you ah. No epidural this time round again. I think your pain threshold is fantastic!

I was just wondering how all of us will look like if we had a gathering......we may bump into one another's tummies because we are all so big already! That's quite comical isn't it?

catz,

u notti girl, fake labour...heeee
. before u wan to do it must pre-emp us else scare the wits out of us leh...

isn't it too early to have BHC?? i dunno leh it usually happen in the middle of the night whilst sleeping and i only notice the hardening when i try to move my sleeping position...or early in the morning when i try to stretch before getting off the bed....it can get painful at times!

jaykay,

yalor so worried when bb does not move as much...in my heart i also have the phobia of the cord incidents.(choi choi choi!)
like yesterday pep talk to him to move and he simply bochap me!! wat a little rascal...

by the time we meet up, most of us if not all of us will be in 3rd tri liow. tummy must be pretty huge liow ya..

evelyn,

yalor u r not "once bitten twice shy" hor...hope your checkup went well..when is your growth scan huh?

oh should bb movement be more as we progress or less since lesser room for them to "roam" about huh?

Twinkle,
Happy to hear that bb is fine. Must stay positive always.

Evleyn,
I think if we all go out together, must contact "Today" to come and take photos. Not everyday u see preggies gathering like that. hee hee.
btw, got any idea where you read the thread of the dishonest fellow giving names? I must broadcast to everyone and avoid going to him/her.

Dolphina,
I also have this experience. You know, if I sit and lean on bed frame for say half an hour, I cannot get up and need hubby to come and pull me up. Very painful to get up, stomach like very tighten into ball.
I read any movenments you feel, even one swish or one tug is counted as one movement. Don;t need to wait for tummy to be kicked to count as one.

Catz,
Faking labour is a good prank to play. The rest of us must shout and scream and turn hysterical. Then, we tell the labour woman to get up and walk away saying, "I don't want to let baby come out now!" after we attract a crowd of onlookers. What say you?

Have a good trip.

Jaykay,
Must eat and enjoy yourself hor. Eat all our share.

My friend tells me that Braxton Hicks contractions starts at the top of the fundus and spreads down to the bottom. I don't think I've got that yet, though I also experience the hardening at night and it's difficult to get up. Yah lor, my BB really very active, last night he kicked and wriggled around for 1.5hrs before settling down so I can sleep! He likes to hear me sing or hum songs, after that he'll kick more. I notice he's more active in the daytime and more quiet at night if I've been sitting around during the day, but if I've been busy and moving around all day, he's superactive at night. Probably sleeping the whole day while I'm busy!

Wah... you girls really very drama leh... in public you want to scream and go hysterical, wait somebody really call ambulance than you know.

hi girls,

TGIF!!!

piggy,
wow now i know u also another drama queen liow....yalor like wat babyd said, wat if someone call an ambulance...like that dun wan to appear in newspaper also cannot liow...hahahaha

oh so any tiny weeny movement can be counted liow huh..but sometimes for a couple of hours cannot feel anything at all leh... maybe taking a break??

babyd,
sometime before bedtime i will tell bb to guai guai and sleep coz mummy need to sleep...but then again, if bb refuse to make any movement thereafter i wake up, i will be paranoid already. wat an irony...arghhh my hb say dun restrict bb movements anymore else bb throw tantrums to spite me frequently...almost fainted!!

Dolphina,
If couple of hours still no movements, have a snack, preferably something sweet and lie on your side and wait. I read that you should be able to feel movements then.
Every baby behaves differently. Even the same bb behaves differently on different days. I have days that bb kick and tumble whole day. Then abruptly stop when I eat.
I have days that I feel no movements in the day time but tumble at nights.
I also have days that both days and nites also not much movements, except for occasional tug, which can be missed unless I very attentive.
So a good way is take a snack and lie down (if you can) to feel for movements. I try to change my sleeping position and this will wake the little fellow up and then, I get a kick.
Don't worry too much about cord thing. You may scare yrself unnecessarily, u know?
Also, bb movements is suppose to be less towards the last weeks. Like 36weeks onwards cos really no space to move. That is why that time, our gynae checkup is once a week to make sure all is OK. So u don't worry too much first, ok?

BabyD, Dolphina,
I told hubby about my plan and he says that I am quite gila, u know. Sure some pp will call ambulance! hee hee...

Hahhaa..
u all so funny, wanna fake labour!!
So if the ambulance came, the preggie just act that she managed to stand up and then, <font color="ff0000">Oops, sorry, it's a false alarm!</font>
kekkee...

Talking about BB movement, sometimes i really dun feel her moving leh!
Jiat luck, every 2-3hrs have to be 10 movements??
216291.gif
Dont think my BB moved so much leh! How??
216292.gif

Recently, I noticed that my BB will wake up at abt 7-8 something and moved abit, stopped and then moved and till abt 9-10 something, she will then be very quiet!
216293.gif
So i think basically this will be her pattern!
Now trying to be more concious... sometimes quite worried as she din moved for the day!

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, so have u decided on the name liao???
I still cracking my brain and was thinking wanna go for counting of stroke too or not....

piggy,

thanks for the tips. so its sweet stuff not cold stuff huh! i always thot to drink something cold..heee

usually i will feel bb movement when lying down esp at nite. its only in the day that its difficult to track. probably due to my constant moving about....

ya knew i was getting silly and paranoid over the cord thingy..trying to get rid of the silly thot...kena scolded by my hb also...

oceans,

but your girl seems to be the gentle kind since day one rite..unlike my boy, sometimes he happy he can move about non-stop with powderful kicks, sometimes he not happy, can be so quiet the whole day..kinda worried cos so unpredictable...

nah, not yet settle on the name, cannot agree with hubby on the english name. hb wan a simple user friendly name whilst i wan something different and unique...
chinese name shall wait till bb born first, count the strokes so no issue for now.

u fretting over english name as well?

Hi dolphina,

According to a gynae who gave a antenatal talk which I attended in August, it's not dangerous if the cord is "surrounding" the baby's neck, as what he described, it's just like you roll the tubing (cord) up and the water (blood) can still flow. The only problem is when the cord has a tight knot (thus stopping the blood flow), and that rarely happen. You know what, he said sometimes it's just easier to tell the family that "oh, the cord surrounding the bb neck so..." when something went wrong with the baby (I felt it's so unethical to do so leh) and this make people think that cord surround the neck is dangerous, which is of course untruth then.

So, no worry on the cord thing, o.k.?

Hi Girls,

Went to NUH ADC for my 28wk growth scan last week, bb weight was estimated at 1372g, AC = 246, HC = 274. Anyone can share with me their bbs' info? I gained 6+kg compared to pre-preggie but 8kg compared to first tri (when I dropped 2kg due to MS). But many of my colleagues thot that I am delivering soon as they comment that my tummy is very big.

Got this comment of "excessive liquor" on the report, am a bit worry about this, what could be the problem, anyone can help to answer?

I think since last few weeks I always have this "hardening" tummy, at least two three times a day, dun have specific timing, can occur anytime, not sure whether it's BHC or bb just stretching inside. Feel like tummy going to burst, anyone experience the same?

Hi TSH,

My 26th wk scan did early this week bb only 700+g, felt so small as compared to yours 1372g. What is AC and HC, ai yoh me so "sua ku" one... ha ha ha. I have gained 7 kg as compared to pre-preggie.

BTW, why I don't have growth scan one huh? What abt the other ladies?

hi TSH,

been a long time since your last post...hope everything is fine with you!

thanks for the assurance once again! greatly appreciate it cos i think i heard too many horror story about the cord thingy till i get paranoid..

during my antenatal class, the nurse also say the incident rate is low but thats contrary to what i have heard leh..so its true that the incident rate is low since the gynae also say so...

i think your bb weight is good leh. my last appt at 24wk 6days, my boy only weigh 700g...

wow u had your growth scan so early huh? i will only be doing mine at 32wk. wanna to bring forward the scan but was told it will not be that accurate if done too early...

maybe u can check with your gynae wat does the term means.....

ya usually i will feel tummy bursting after dinner and my auntie suggested to apply lots of anti-stretchmark cream and indeed i dun feel that uncomfortable leh..dunno is it co-incidence but as long as it works can liow..

from my last visit, i have so far gain 6kg from pre-preggies day...hope i dun have another "growth spur" this month!!! otherwise i will faint....

twinkle,
guess you dun have to worry that much regarding bb weight since ur dr did not mention anything right..

Yap <font color="ff6000">Twinkle</font>, no need to worry too much abt BB weight since ur doc never mentioned and think is within the normal range!
Actually, i was worried that my BB gal very small too. The last time the doc measure, she was abt 450g at wk 23.
216533.gif
She is so much smaller than the rest, but the doc said her size is ok, not too big or too small!

<font color="aa00aa">TSH</font>, i also do feel my tummy bursting especially at night! And tummy will feel very hard. I only apply those Johnson Baby Lotion with Aloe Vera on my tummy sometimes if i remember!
Hopefully dun have stretch mark!
216534.gif

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, yar lor! I also feel my BB very gentle and dont like to have big movement.
But still u cant help worrying as now, she should be quite big mah!
216535.gif

Apparently when we're moving around, bb gets rocked to sleep. When you're sitting down still at the computer or lying down for a long time, bb will wake up and then start moving. So don't worry if you don't feel the kicks or movements much if you're the kind who moves around a lot. bb won't wake up straight away and start moving once you sit down, gotta sit for a while then he starts moving. I was told this by a doctor friend and find it's quite true for my boy.

Oceans,
I think maybe you should go buy some good stretch mark cream, better to be safe than sorry! I've been applying faithfully every night, supposed to do twice a day but no time in the morning!

Dolphina, twinkle &amp; Oceans,
So long as doctor says bb is growing well, don't get paranoid about unnecessary things and stay positive about bb. I was told that happy &amp; unstressed preggies generally have healthy bb compared to v stressed ladies. Stress releases lots of hormones &amp; chemicals which may affect bb's rate of growth I guess. Seems like most of us gained around 6-8kg, which is quite normal for 26-28wks. Babies come in a whole range of lengths and weights, depending on your genes, even at birth, can range from 2.8 to 4kg! v big difference!

i wish i can get a scan to see my bb and know how heavy he is, so envious of you girls...

Hi twinkle, dolphina and Oceans,

My baby girl was only 485gm at 21wk, so shock when the measurement on 28wk came out to be 1375g, during these 7 wk I gained 3.6kg, guess half of the weigh gained went to bb and amnio fluid kua?? wah... that still means 1~2kg for fats and (hopefully more) on blood or other body fluid leh..no wonder my colleagues all said I am VERY BIG nowadays..

Actually I shouldn't have this 28wk growth scan one. I signed up package which comes with 2 scans, one supposed to be the 20~22wk fetal assessment scan and one will be the 32wk scan. But because on 21wk when my bb was disgnosed with congenital heart problem, the gynae wanted me to do amniocentesis, and the amnio also include on FA scan, so it's like they "owed" me one scan, then my gynae just asked me to do a growth scan on 28wk lor..

Twinkle - if I am not wrong, AC is abdomen circumstance and HC is head circumstance, gynae used these info (and the thigh bone length) to estimate fetus's age..

Oceans - ha ha, I also used Johnson baby lotion (the one with aloe vera) but not stretch mark cream, coz I seldom appply any lotion before and that lotion came free with the shower cream I bought, so want to finish it.. :p

Dolphina - thanks for you concern, I am fine, nowadays both hubby and I had became more and more "accept" to the fact that our bb is a "special" bb liao, although sometimes may still feel worry but never feel down or afraid again. I think this should be good to my bb hor??

Hi TSH,
Long time no hear from you. Wah, seven weeks, your bb put on so much weight. Hee hee. Did you eat alot in that seven weeks? My scan on the 28weeks show bb at 1066g. So your bb is bigger as compared to mine at the same time. I did not ask for AC and HC. At 28th weeks, I put on 5 to 6kg since pre preggie.
I realised that my waist put on 2inch in the last 3weeks. Jia lat. Don't know if amnio fluid went up or what?
Well, I think it is good that your hubby and yrself could think bb is special. That is great. Keep up the good mood, ok? That is definately GOOOOD for bb.
Maybe that is why she had a growth spurt cos she can sense your happier mood?

BabyD,
Nevermind not getting the scan, ok? Take more pics after bb is born. At least they are in colour. Scan only in black and white.

Twinkle,
I also got no scan termed "Growth scan" leh. Every time I go see gynae, she will scan and say how heavy bb is. No special term like "growth scan". What abt you? Do you have a scan every time u visit gynae?

Havent posted here for a while... basically have been busy going around buying baby items. And finally hubby and myself bought most of the big items over the weekend! Now i can relax and spend more time resting at home. But this weekend really spent quite alot of money getting all the stuff. Hopefully baby will like the things we bought and use them happily.

Will try to visit library and borrow some books on parenting this week and spend more time at home reading. I dont know if you gals feel more tired nowadays, but i do and walking too much is pain on the feet too.

Oceans,

Tks for the assurance. Prob I was down with flu and the medicine that I took somehow made her drowsy too hence she slept most of the time.

BabyD,

Hope you got a scan real soon ya, you must be dying to see ur bb .......gd luck!

TSH,

I was shocked to knw ur bb weight at week 28 measuring at 1375g while mine at wk 27 only measures 700g..so much difference... hee hee. Btw, tks for the explanation on AC &amp; HC. At least I have a better idea nw.

PiggyLee,

My gynae did not mentioned to me abt the growth scan, I will try to ask him on my next visit. I will since him twice a mth from now to assess if bb is ok, ever since that day I complain of very faint movement for 3 days.

Sun Moon,

I realised you are up posting quite early, u shld have slept more cos its raining o/s rite... me so sleepy now.... yawn......

My 31wk gynae visit on last Thursday 21/10, BB weight was estimated 1.6kg, 26cm and my weight 53.70kg. Same as most of you, I felt my BB quite small size too if compared to my 1st pregnancy. (At 32wk, my eldest son oredi 2.5kg)
Anyway, as what BabyD mentioned, so long as BB is growing well, we better stay positive abt BB and dont worry too much on BB weight.
Oh ya, my next visit will be changed from 4wk to 3wk instead, so next visit will be on 8/11/04.

Dolphina,
My gynae told me need not arrange any special growth scan for my BB since every visit he did scan and explained to me. From the scan actually can tell whether BB is growing well or not, so the monthly scan consider as Growth Scan liow. Did your gynae scan for you every visit?

Piggy,
Do to check this thread Chinese Name for Baby to find out more details. U also intend to count the strokes for BB Chinese name huh?

Hi TSH,
Aiyo, long times never see your posting here. Glad to know that hubby and you stay positive abt yr girl girl.

Sun Moon,
Finally u can relax at home liow!
I know most of you still feel easily tired nowadays. But for me, touch wood! I feel energetic and strong since 3 tri onward. Maybe all of you busy going around buying baby stuff???
Yalo, why u woke up so early huh? Swimming every early morning? What time u sleep every nite actually?

i wake up around 6.30am everyday together w my hubby. He goes work early. After he left for work, i usually can't fall back to sleep so i either read papers or surf net. Somedays I even go swimming. But i prefer to swim in the afternoon when the sun is warm. I dont want my bb to feel cold.. heeee... also cold water is more easy to have leg cramps.

Just now raining very shiok, so i stay on bed and read some books about baby care... with some soft music... very relaxing. :p

twinkle,

heee yalor i am those kind that can get paranoid easily one...so also get on my hb nerves...ahahaha

TSH,
keep up the positive spirit okie!! jia you!!

sun moon,
good that u have more or less settle on those big items....so now can sit back and relax liow lor...envy ur lifestyle now...heeee

piggy,
seems like my tummy expanded an inch every week leh but i still find tummy small leh...my col all comment that i dun look like 7 month preggies....maybe i too big size for my tummy to show...

evelyn,
yupe, my gynae will do scanning every visit but he always comment that his machine not too clear for my tummy - big size mtb (indirectly telling me that i have too much fats lah)...since he schedule one growth scan at ADC, so i will just go for it lor....

Hi Dolphina,

So we are those easily paranoid one lor.. ha ha aha , our hubby must tolerate our sensitivity..h ah aha.

Hi Sun moon,
Me full of envy when u mentioned "very relaxing"
... hee hee

actually sometimes i also envy working mums... at least your day passes by so easily. And have colleagues to talk to. I sometime also quite lonely at home, that's why i always like going out. But now just too tired to go out, so try to force myself to stay indoor. Sigh...

Yah lor, <font color="ff6000">Sun Moon</font>, i also envy your lifestyle!! So nice and relaxing!!
After reading the cool weather and relaxing music, i feel like sleeping!
yawn.gif
Kekeke...

Recently had been waking up more in the night!!
216957.gif
And in the morning at about 5-6am, will wake up again!!
yawn.gif
Do u all wake up very often at night?

So <font color="0000ff">Twinkle</font>, how u doing? ur flu receovered liao? Actually, for me, i did find that during pregnacy, i tends to have cough and flu more frequently than before. Wondered if this sort of one of the signs!!

Hi Oceans,

Tks for your concern. Me recovered from my flu and cough liao.. was feeling so terrible last weekend, went to see doc again. You take care too, as not so gd taking medicine during pregnancy.

I also wake up a no. of times in the night to pee... hee hee

I thought of signing up for the antenatal classes at TMC. Not sure if it is too late by now?

these days i also wake up a few times at night. Mostly to pee, then very hard to fall back to sleep sometimes. There was a few times i stayed awake from 2plus to 4plus...

Long time no chat.

Like to share my frightful weekend.

Went for my checkup on Saturday and at 28wks, Phoebe is weighing a whoopy 1393gms. Gynae is very shocked and keeps saying that baby is too large, the maximum should be 1200gms and immediately suspect that the weight gain is due to diabetics. I was send for the diabetics test as I have not taken anything in the morning. It was such a mental torture. I told Gynae that my appetite is not good and all the more she suspects that I am diabetic. My husband immediately blamed me for taking soft drinks, but I only took 1 can per week, can't be that bad right? Really feel so bad, can't even cry in front of my hubby, must force my tears down my stomach. His face was so bad and really showed his frustration of having to wait in the hospital for 2 hours for me to complete the test...

Things was worse at the lab. There was this very inexperienced MO or Lab Technician trying her skills on preggies. One poor skinny mother (really skinny except the bulging stomach) became her guinea pig. THE MO poked the needle in and try to draw blood, no blood came out and she wriggle the needle about for about 2 mins, the mother immediately turned white and I feel like screaming for help. Luckily a more experienced MO came to help, if not I dunno if the mother will faint...
When it is my turn, I pray hard that she wouldn't be the one to draw my blood. Prayers unanswered and just when she was about to poke me, the other MO shouted "Stop, don't do it, I'll do her" I was so relieved...... if not I'll be the one to faint...

Still praying hard that my test results will come back okay, being having sleepless nights and totally lost of appetite... the tears automatically just comes on.... *sigh*

Hi twinkle,

No too late I think, cos we just finished the course on last Saturday. Each course last 6 weeks and it should be just nice for you to call and enquire now.

I really encourage you to attend the class as it is really useful (I personally find it so). The lecturer, Mrs Wong is really really good!!!

I find the breathing technics, the exercies and the massages (to be performed on you by your husband) very good and most importantly I learned alot on the tips and things to look out for on breastfeeding! I considered $$$ well invested!

Hi emonster,

So sorry to hear abt your encounter over the weeknd. Don't worry too much, the results might turn out to be fine...relax...

Worrying will only add stress to your bb, pls take care.

Ok, I will try to check it out on the classes.

emonster,
Phobe could be having a growth spurt, that is why she is that weight. My gynae told me that at 28weeks, weight should be 1kg to 1.3kg. So you only exceed by a little bit. Don't worry first, ok? Your results should be out today, you did not call gynae to check?
I went for the GD test too. Got the result the next day. Don't worry about one can of soft drink a week. I drink at least 4 to 5cans a week. Why yr hubby so inpatient, uh? Wait 2 hours very cham meh? You poor thing, have to force tears down stomach. Nevermind, hug hug you back ok? Got anything to complain about, just come up here to SU GU.
I think that MO should go back to school. I would have insisted that she NOT be the one taking my blood. Remember you have a right to say NO, ok?
GTG, Keep us posted.

Hey emonster, Aiyooooh, poor girl.. I can totally understand the stress you're going through. Don't worry, GD isn't that bad yah? I actually passed out cold for 10 minutes after a blood test too... have a big phobia of getting blood drawn.

twinkle, I would definitely say go for the classes.. esp us first time parents, really blur blur. Did my husband a lot of good 'cos he's not as diligent about reading up.. plus usually the lady conducting it will encourage the husbands to be encouraging and loving.. make them feel guilty!!!

sun_moon, I will be joining you in boredom soon.. sometimes I get worried as during the day, I have no interaction with anybody and I don't have the habit of talking to myself so my poor baby doesn't have any aural stimulation. I've also bought all my major items, except for the crib which I will buy when I arrive in S'pore.

Piggy, when is your appt with Yvonne?

Ocean, I wake up quite frequently at night too.. I think it's 'cos baby's movements are pretty violent sometimes... although for a few nights, I've been woken by the stinky smell of this horny skunk that seems to be intent on mating in my garden.. wah liau.. feel like killing that stupid skunk for disturbing my sleep for so many nights. :p

sun moon,
We were also super busy and tired this weekend buying baby stuff. We did this 14hr marathon shopping because we finally rented a car tog with another couple. Started at 9am in the morning and only got home at 11pm! We had to come back to the house 2 more times in between to drop off the big items like the pram. I was on my feet the whole day and was so exhausted! Suddenly wish I could take break and lie in bed like you instead of having to go to work. My hours v flexi, but sometimes must go work for 1-2hrs on Sat/Sun. Had to work 1hr on Sat b4 shopping trip, so almost died bcos woke up early, shop whole day and come back late. Pengsan liao... but at least now we have bought everything we need. Feel so happy after hubby assembled the pram etc.

emonster,
Don't worry unnecessarily until the test results come out ok? Men are like that, anything also they get v kan cheong and paranoid. I think these days our hubbies feel v helpless cos they're not the ones carrying the babies so when something goes wrong their first reaction is to get frustrated. TSH's bb also abt same weight as yours, but her gynae never panic, so don't worry so much ok? I think doctors always play safe so they have to tell us any possibilities, no matter how likely or unlikely it is (Catz bb is gd eg of how a potential heart problem turned out to be a false alarm.) Doubt if it was an MO taking blood, probably some lousy practising technician. I also kena needle getting dug around both arms and the stupid nurse still fail to get my blood!

Oceans,
Maybe you want to consider getting flu vaccination since you get flu v often? We managed to get ours last week despite the shortage of flu vaccines, because we fall into "high risk" category - pregnant mummies during winter season + close contact care giver (daddy) of baby <6months. I never bothered to get flu jab b4, this is my 1st time. Got it becos I was told by several different nurses / doctors to get it.

catz, i guess you know how i feel. Just like today, have to think hard what to do to occupy the long day ahead. Till now no idea yet.

BabyD, feels good that you have all the items settled right. I feel very relief and now just waiting for the items to be delivered.

I have been having difficulties sleeping, and last nite woke up so many times, and in the middle of 3am, baby playing in my tummy, dont want to sleep.
Think this trend might go on for a while... sleeping from night till dawn is history liao...

babyD, we had a crazy shopping weekend in San Diego too.. went nuts shopping at the navy exchange 'cos it's tax free and sooooo cheap. Got my Graco playpen in Mocha fabric plus a whole tonne of Kitchenaid stuff.. totally filled up the boot of our SUV.. super scary. Which pram did you buy in the end?

sun_moon, yah lor, at least you have your husband in S'pore with you.. I gotta do without my overgrown baby for 1 1/2 months.. although I don't have to cook/clean much but it's going to be boring....

Hi Catz,
We got a Graco playpen too, in Spectator print! I got the Graco Metrolite Travel System in the end. Found Peg Perego too expensive, most of the travel systems are really heavy (even this one that we bought, and it was already the lightest one that we liked). Needed it to be able to shield bb from the cold winds as much as possible so no choice, those open push cars are not going to work for us in winter.

aiyoh... these days i'm working a little too hard... just got home at nearly 10pm today, soooo tired, especially because we didn't rest much during the weekend. Trying to get more stuff done before delivery, any of you girls feeling the same way, like you need to make sure you tie up all your work before you have to go on maternity leave?

I wake up sometimes in the early hours of the morning to go pee, and if bb is awake, then it's hard to go back to sleep. Happens at bedtime too, he seems to kick and wriggle a lot more, but if I'm tired, then i just knock out and don't notice the movements. Finding it hard to turn in bed and getting out of bed is a mental and physical challenge! tomorrow going to see gynae again.

Hello dear mums here, long time didn't hear from me...so much to share so bear with it...haha

My 28th wk showed that baby about 1.2kg (from 800g 4 wks ago). I think i probably won the title of being gaining the most weight here...about 13 kg from my pre-preggie weight.

emoster: I agree with babyD that doctors always want to play safe so that you are mentally prepared. 1st of all, the weight &amp; week is just an estimation &amp; some healthly babies grow more @ certain stage. one can of soft drink is nothing so don't feel bad. tell your hubby that by behaving like that does not help in the situation. It only causes you more stress.

Attended a public forum organised by Avent (opened a new showrm @ Gateway East) last Sat which covered on "How to Gain Shape After Delivery" by Mrs BB Wong (TMC) &amp; "Feeding Problems in Newborn Babies" by Dr Low Kah Tzay (Mt E). Abt $15 &amp; u get to receive Avent freebies &amp; voucher in return. I think they may have another one in late Nov on Breastfeeding @ Home &amp; Work. Look out in the newspaper or visit www.avent.com .

Quite enlightening...especially on the following areas:
1) best way to lose weight naturally is to breastfeed (do not have a crash diet). Milk will be little in the 1st 1-4days but a good-weight healthy baby has ample fats to survive on colostrum/milk exclusively so dun have to supplement with formula milk or water for the 1st few days. of course there are signs to look out if the baby really does not have enough milk.

2) During your stay in hospital after delivery, in order to get milk production going, try to breastfeed for 8 times/day (2-3hrs internal) even though there is no milk (just colostrum which is very good for baby). This will send signal to brain &amp; release oxytocin to let-down milk &amp; also to contract uterus. &amp; best of all, to lose 500 calories/day. Milk may to come in the 2nd-4th day.

3) With the explusion of placenta from your body, your placenta hormone will drop &amp; will affect your emotional stage. this is when we may cry for no reason or over trival matter (also verified by many of my friends, may cause blues if we didn't recover). Better prepare your hubby abt this. However, this is necessary as the placenta hormone must fall 1st as it inhibits the crucial hormone in starting the milk production. Isn't our body amazing!

4)If want to breastfeed &amp; still have to consume alcohol... for DOME, just 1 tablespn/day &amp; for chicken boil with alcohol, make sure it's double-boil to remove all alcohol. actually this tonic is unnessary as long as mum has good rest &amp; well-balanced diet.

5)Red dates tea is good as it contains high iron which is good for blood (need more for milk production &amp; make up for blood loss).

6)Do not take seriously on myth that baby should not be carried all the time whenever he cries. Crying is the only way to communicate. Mum should look out for sign of discomfort. Sometimes baby just want to feel secured, so just carry or offer breast for suckling to offer comfort &amp; closeness. Sometimes baby doesn't want to lay down, an upright position may help to remove gas/colic.
...to add some more sharing when i can recall.

Just a sharing on my recent thingy with hubby. last Fri, he was offered a 2-yr overseas posting in Manila &amp; will start asap. He will be around 1 wk b4 EDD &amp; will leave 1 wk later after birth. Subsequently only return once in 2-3mths. When we were discussing abt it over @ haagan daz @ Raffles City last Sat, my tears started to drop non-stop while i ate my ice-cream...was thinking how much i would have missed him after baby is born. we've never been apart for more than 4days during our 8 years of marriage.(already his recent 2nites @ Xian trip already cannot tahan) But i kept telling him i'll be ok with my family support here &amp; for the sake of our family future especially the $$. He said very embarrasing for him, onlookers thought that he is trying to break up with me &amp; not taking responsibility for my pregnancy. hahaha...so drama! (no wonder ice-cream tasted a bit salty, must be from my tears)

then the actual package offer was made to him yesterday, what a #@123*abc miserable offer! I said that's it...my mind was not abt the $$ anymore but the quality of life that we prepared for so long to be parents together. anyway, we decided to reject &amp; he shall focus on pursuing his own interest in S'pore. Caused me so much distress for the last few days (though didn't admit to hubby) that i took mc to rest @ home today. but really what a relief for both of us. Taking my hubby away from this important part of our lives for an unworthy cause. hmmm or perhaps I'm not as strong as I thought I am.

Hi Emonster,

Ya lor, my bb also about the same weight at 28wk, you know, in the report they actually wrote " growth within 50 percentile", that means 50% of bb will be below my bb's weight and the other 50% ABOVE leh. Also, Evelyn's bb boy was 2.5kg at wk 32, guess his weight should be around 1.3kg or more at wk 28, so dun need to worry, o.k.?

What worried me was the notion of "excessive" liquor (amnio fluid), but when I asked the sonographer during the scan, she just said " fluid is o.k.". Going to see my gynae again tomorrow (30wk), will check with her on this.

Should our appointment with gynae change to every fornight from 30wk onward? dun know whether I should request to see my gynae every two weeks after tomorrow visit or not, any idea, ladies??

<font color="ffff00">BabyD</font>, u meant preggie can take the flu jab? I thot cant? Actually early part of this year, i was supposed to take the influenza. But did not cos i got fever. Then by the time the rescheduling is out, it did stated that pple preparing for preggie within these 3mths are not allowed to take too. And then, i was found preggie... though tat time, it din work well!

<font color="0000ff">Catz</font>, wow ur side there still got "free live "X"-rated show"!
I dun noe leh, i think my BB is laying quite low, maybe sitting on my bladder..... Thus, now, i need to go toilet more often!
217379.gif
Sometimes, i cant sleep immediately and thus, usually the next day, i feel very tired!!
yawn.gif

<font color="119911">BabyD</font>, my BB is very gentle and thus her kicks wun affect me in any way!!
By the way, at this point of time, can u tell whether if it is the legs or the hands that caused the vibration??

<font color="aa00aa">Emonster</font>, sorry to learn abt your frightening experience. Yap, if you find that the MO is not experience, u can request for another one!
By the way, when will the results be out?? Dont worry too much hor though i know it is easy said than done!
217380.gif

<font color="0077aa">Tetra</font>, sorry, have to smile
when i read ur description abt u crying and onlookers thot ur hubby dont wanna responsible for ur pregnancy!!
Am glad that at the end, ur hubby wun be going and he would be in Singapore with u and BB during the growings months!!

<font color="ff6000">TSH</font>, as long as the sonagrapher said that it is okay, think not so much to worry. But maybe try not to move so much! For me, i more worry abt water not enough as it would restrict BB growth!