(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Aiya...god knows right...I know is heart pain to see him go through it but he will be fine...

Catz,
Kids recover v quickly compared to adults. Tim will be up and running about before you know it. As for washing eggs with detergent, hubby is dead against it.

Catz,
Washing eggs with detergent is so funny. kekeke... Never tried that before.
Aiyo, Timo got to chop chop? I noticed that L also got redness at tip after he goes to school. I found that he goes to toilet in school and didn't bother to wait for the pee to complete, wear back underwear.... That's why he got that redness. So after school, I will strip off his underwear n let him wear a pair of loose shorts. He gets much better after that.

MG,
Happy to hear that Claira is well now. I can understand why mums are crazy about cleanliness. After one episode of LS + vomit.... all mums will sanitise non stop. So how are you feeling now? Enjoying your second tri?

Progress Report
L got his report yesterday n according to teachers, he is much better in the second tri compared to the first.
Aiyo...his Chinese still cannot make it to anywhere..... Told me the other day that teacher call him Ting1 Dao4 Ma1. Teacher said he had no idea what she's saying.... really regret not speaking to him in Mandarin.

Hi Piggy

This time round, my tummy is bigger than my first one. Now I'm 26 weeks but it looks like I'm going to pop anytime soon....I reckon this could be a big baby as well. She kicks me alot as compared to Claira, must be a naughty one.

Actually quite tiring to carry one in the tummy and at the same time looking after the elder one. I'm definitely more active than my first pregnancy given that I was not working at that time and had more time resting so don't feel that tired.

I've been experiencing leg cramp recently and also cramps on my lower arm, so strange...I hope this is normal. It never happen to me before during my first preggy. Must be my irregular intake of supplements...:p

I'm glad Claira's mandarin is improving cos' my MIL & FIL speak to her quite often and also she picks up alot in school. But she don't like to converse in Mandarin with me and my hubby, don't know why...

Lucas had his 1st dental checkup @ GPA Dental @ Goldhill last Sat, and I must say I am impressed - 1st by the technology - no drill & using laser water jet, LCD screen showing photos of his teeth & also playing Hi-5 show; and 2nd by the attention and the effort put in to make a child comfortable. I was impressed with Lucas's behaviour as well, he was very co-operative & held his mouth open when instructed. It was also quite amusing when he wore kiddy sunglasses when dentist turned on the 'sunlight'. He had to fill 3 cavities for preventive measures, and the filling is patching with child safe non metal composite. He still has to return this week for filling the other 2 teeth. Glad that we made this decision to go to a child dentist. can deduct from CDA too.

Total is about $187. Consultation & check-up $35. Scaling & polishing $70. Restoration-Composite (filling) $70.

Oh my, 3 fillings? I've never taken Sherman to the dentist. Maybe it's time we made the trip.

Off to Tazzy tomorrow. Looking forward to this road trip. =)

catz: We are still waiting for the visas from the immi which should be withing these 2-3mths, we hope. The earliest is probably Feb/Mar if everything is well.

Tetra, OIC.. then how will you find a house over there to buy?

Slamdunk's little girl is hospitalised for pneumonia.. please pray for her. SHe's also dehydrated and on drip plus nebuliser.

catz: Need to be hospitalised for 3-5 days. Sounds serious esp for a little girl. Will pray that she will recover soon. Can't imagine how she allow the nurse to put on the drip for her.

The virus nowadays is getting stronger. sigh...

piggy: we are expecting should be next month or so, hopefully. Anyway, we plan to go after CNY. My hubby will make the 1st trip to do some ground work.

We will be renting a place first for the 1st 2 yrs. We can only enjoy the 1st Buyer subsidy which amounts $14K to $21K after the 1st 2 yrs. By then we may also evaluate if we decide to stay on @ Adelaide or Melbourne. Unless we find something of very good deal & the interest rate is favourable, we may consider. Otherwise, a small house near the school, park & city to rent, will be good enough. We don't really have a place of our own now, so got this nestling urge to set up a more permanent place for the family.

Tetra, maybe too weak to fight? Anyway, good news from Mabel.. she is better and likely to be discharged tomorrow. Might run into them at Mt A since Timo has appt to see pd urologist for his circumcision first appt.

Wowee, actually will need to have quite a bit of money to rent and start up house over there. Hubby already has a job? I know what you mean.. we were 'homeless' for about 3 months after we sold off our Pasir Ris place. Very unsettling feeling.

Slamdunk & Catz,
Glad to hear that Raeann is better now. Hope she gets discharged quickly.
Do keep us posted.

Tetra,
I guess there's lots of groundwork to do. My gf went to stay there for a month first before making the final move.

Good to know that Raeann has discharged. Slamdunk must be so shack...

How is Timo's surgery going?

Most new migrants usually rent about 12-18mths before they purchase their 1st house. Would take awhile to find out the which suburb to settle. We have identified the suburb to stay and the schools to look at. Hubby will look for a job after we receive the visa.

piggy: Did your gf settle down at Adelaide or other states? How is Linus going on @ school now?

Tetra, he will be going for surgery next Fri.. I will have to manage him alone as my hubby is not around and my Dad will be struggling to manage with Bethany. Sighhh... quite worried that he will puke all over the car after the GA.

Slamdunk yah.. shack but happy that Rae can come home. POor little baby.. from the photos, she looks so much thinner now.

Catz,
Better to catch a cab so that you can look after him or else get your mum to follow you when you pick him up?

Tetra,
Melborne I think. Her hb also went there n got a job selling cars too.

He has gotten used to school but there are times that he will ask me if that day is school day? Now, it's school hol, so he is enjoying his playtime. My helper is due for home leave. Am wondering when to let her go back. L has told me that he will cry loud loud when she goes back. So I guess I need to push all work away n take care of him when she is on leave.

Piggy, my mum cannot be spared la. Whatever it is, I'm on my own.. just thank God I do not have to bring Bethany 'cos dunno how I'd be able to go into the OT to hold his hand when they sedate him. She's such a handful.. v exhausting to be her mummy.

Heee... Linus is a real character lah.

Catz,
I guess when a kid is handful, she / he will be much brighter. You have a potential scholar here.

Yes, I have accepted that my boy is a radio station. He even talked in his sleep!!
He got very attached to a stuff chick toy recently. Bringing her everywhere n treating her like his child. He even tells me that I am a grandma now that he is dad. Wonder if any kiddos here play such long term pretend games? He will pet her, smile at her, talk to her, sometimes scold her, etc....

Catz,
Don't worry about Timo's circumcision. They are very resilient. My gf's boy did it too and is running around in 1 or 2 days.

Piggy, can ask your GF how she brought her son home? Like do I have to bring sarong to the hospital? Quite worried as I am going to have to handle him by myself the entire procedure and back home.

My ding dong son ah.. sigh, yeah the teachers agree he is v bright BUT hor, he is not so sociable. He doesn't like to play with others unless he finds other like-minded kids .... usually much older than him. Just feel a bit scared he will be a loner. 'Cos he's so shy as compared to Ash who's very very loving and sociable.. and Linus too.

Catz,
Linus is NOT sociable at all. He also wants to play with older kids, preferably girls as they will usually give in to him. L interacts very well with adults....he will fill them with stories, songs, hugs & kisses,etc. But when he sees kids his age, he will not mix around. He has been telling me about this boy in school that won't allow him to hold his hands & telling me how angry he is that this boy always let go his hands, etc....etc..

Anyway, let me check with my gf. She is in Malaysia now so I will get her tomorrow when she returns, ok?

Piggy, yes yes, Timo is the same.. teachers always say he'd rather talk to them leh. He always say he doesn't like so and so 'cos they are naughty :p

Thanks thanks.... went to Joo Chiat today and got a kiddy sarong for him but think I will maybe go and find nightgown or something of the sort for him. Was reading up and the whole area might be bruised and swollen post-op. OUCH!

Hi Catz,

i rem when Jayden did his circumcision, it was quite ok. he rested in the ward for half a day and was ready to go home by 2pm. He wore back his pampers and pants when going back and if I remembered correctly, I carried him while daddy drove. He just need to wash the area with antiseptic lotion 5 times a day, no medication given. Surprisingly, he was up running abt the 2nd day...btw, he did his ops at mt a.

No worries, Tim will be fine too...take care

twinkle, OMG, thanks so much! So he was OK to wear pants coming back from hospital? And what did he wear during the week??? Sorry, I've been searching and yet no answers
Yeah we'll be doing it at Mt A too.. think you must be under the same surgeon - Dr Sim CK issit?

catz: I am sure you will manage well without you even knowing. Having you at his side will give him great support and encouragement. Let us (me) know if you need any help.

piggy: Melbourne? so cool, the visa to go there is very stringent. Linus is so full of drama. I will be ending my contract this month, and will get to spend more time with the boys. As AMK is a mature estate, there isn't much nice playground or open spaces for them to play. And my helper is more busy now so they have been staying @ home, watching dvds. sigh...

Lucas tends to get along better with older kids especially girls. His best friend is Rachel, and I have also receive feedback from teachers that he is not very sociable, prefer to be observer than participant.

Hi Catz,
Yes he wore back his pants. Tim not wearing pampers I suppose so shld be much better.I loosen his pampers that time so that friction will be lesser.

Yes Sim CK, he is very good esp with his stiches.
I was amazed by his skills too.. Tim will be fine.. dont worry.. take care

Catz, he wore loosen pants at home. I did air the area, eg not wearing pampers for an hr after bath, jus wear loose pants. Hope this helps

Tetra, thanks for the offer! Hope my dad can cope with Beth lor. Sigh.

AMK - hv you tried Bishan Pk? Or the playground at McCafe opp the AMK library? Where is your BIL's place again?

Twinkle, thanks thanks... I have bought him a girly nightgown...haha..

catz: you r most welcome. The most stressful part is when you have no one to turn to.

I have been planning to go to Bishan Pk for a very long time. But need to drive there & my hubby would rather rest @ home. And since we move to AMK, we have been sick on & off. The boys & myself are having running nose & cough. AMK library also a distance from my place, need to drive there as well. The only fun walk " my place is to Serangoon Gdns which takes about 15mins. My BIL's place is @ Ponggol. We din go there very often now... sigh! I still miss my old place.

Circumcision
Mummies, may I ask: Under what circumstance do you bring your child for the op??? My DS #2 always say his penis itchy and stuff. Dr did say that if it keep on itching, he might need to do circumcision for him.. I dunno if he can take the stress of the op...

BTW, how much does it cost to do the op at mount A??? And any Dr to recommend??? Or we can just go to our normal PD and ask to do a op??? The Dr i see is from KKH, I dun wish to do the op there os the staff there can be quite rough at times..

isabella, yes if it itchy, means the gunk under the foreskin is causing it and prob need to circumcise else might get UTI. Op at Mt A total is about $1.5-1.8k due to GA and op theatre cost. The nurse says about 30% can claim Medisave, rest you fork out yourself. The PD will refer you to the surgeon - paediatric urologist to do the op. KK might be cheaper. Cheers.

Tetra, ehh, so you're staying with ?? in AMK? Walk to Serangoon Gdns? Er.. so you're more towards AMK Ave 10 side near Pathlight construction? We like bringing the kids to Sembawang Pk and Bottle Tree
Heard Semb Shopping Ctr opening up again.

Catz
Thanks for the info... Guess will have to bring him to the Dr to determine whether he needs circumcision...

Tetra
I think you're staying very near me.. Me and hubby also walk to S.garden very often for supper sometimes...

isabella, don't make a special trip to the pd to do it la... if he's going for review or whatever, then just ask him to check the foreskin for any problems. If he doesn't get UTI, then not urgent but of course better to do it before he kena UTI.. *touch wood* Anyway if you need, the contact of the paediatric urologist recommended by Ong EK is
Dr CK Sim
Mt A clinic, #02-08 tel: 63564166

No need referral letter if you are sure you want to circumcise. $80 for first consultation. V fast and efficient. But he will be on leave next week.

Catz,
Just spoken to GF. What she did was pack an adult T shirt for him to wear, tie a make-shift "belt" for him to wear so that he has a "dress". She told me not to let him see his bandage if possible, else he will whine & don't want to pee cos pain...
By the way, after the op, the nurse/doctor must see that he urinated at least once before letting you go back.

Piggy, thanks thanks!!! Yes the doctor told me about the urination - 'cos don't want them to go back home and freak out.
I will have to do a lot of 'psycho-ing' on Friday. Bought 2 night-gowns for him...haha... dunno if he will agree to wear or not but it's purely for comfort. :p

Thanks again ladies for all the advice and concern. Keep you posted on how he recovers.

hi girls, we're back from Tazzy. It was beautiful there. Only bad thing about the trip was that the whole family was sick, starting with Sherman, who spread it to the rest of us. And because he was sick, he refused to walk, kept complaining of the cold and wanted to be carried everywhere. Sherilyn got the bug towards the end of the trip and started having a runny nose. She developed a phlegmy cough and bronchitis only when we got back. Hubby and I are still sick. The bug is v nasty, Sherman is still coughing after 2 weeks.

So it wasn't a very restful holiday, but the sights were worth it. Sherman got to see some old steam engines that were painted in the likeness of Thomas and his friends, minus the face. It was probably the most memorable part of his trip.

babyd: wow, Tasmania! It is also one of our place to visit. How long was the trip? The virus nowadays seemed to be more resilent and contagious. We seemed to fall sick every month including the 2 boys. Now is running nose & phelgm.

babyD, wow, Tasmania really sounds fantastic. Falling ill on the journey is my biggest fear.. aiyoh.

Tetra, oh no, sick again? Maybe it's because you're staying in close proximity with one another? My kids had a mild tummy flu so Timo had to have his op postponed a fortnight. Sigh. good thing is that my hubby should be around.

so scary & sad to hear tt the Singaporean hostage is dead. She is only 28 & married for 1 yr... what's this world become to???