(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Sigh... why mine so skinny? :p If I push him to eat one more bite, he'll puke everything out. Not to mention he already takes an hour to finish every meal. Argh.

Sherman is a big eater when it's things he likes to eat. He refuses to eat all fruits except bananas, I really don't understand why as fruits are sweet, thought all children would love them. Also, if he sees the green vegetable bits hidden in his food, sometimes he will reject it. I think he just went through some kind of growth spurt with all the snacking he's done, suddenly I couldn't carry him any longer than a few minutes. he's now 16.5kg.

piggy,
I agree it's nice to hear our kids proclaim that today is a happy day or sunny day and they just go about singing / humming songs the whole morning. Sherman does have his mood swings though, usually when he didn't sleep enough, he will wake up tired and moody, wanting to be carried and telling everyone he's so tired, sometimes even pretend to be sick by coughing. It's quite amusing.

Long time no chat. P went through her dental 'experience' in Sept and I think hospitals are definitely not in her list of 'places to visit' for a long time. We spend S$1.5K to get her 5 teeth filled, plus fluoride treatment, cleaning and polishing. The GA process and the after ops is a terrible experience for us (P and me). So after we left the hospital and P requested to visit Toys R Us, I obliged and bought her anything she wanted. Mummy heartpain to see her go thru that.... sigh.

MgTeo:

Congratulations!

Catz,

You are not alone... P only gained 1 kg from Jan till now and she's such a picky and conservative eater. Only loves eggs and eggs only. Sigh..

Thanks emonster! What acutally happen to P's teeth?

Claira can also eat quite alot sometimes. She can finish about 1/2 bowl of rice, 1hr later 2 pieces of bread, a slice of pear and then yogurt. After all these, she will ask me for more food but I will put a stop then.

Sometimes children don't know when to stop eating. Claira had experienced indigestion once after eating 1 kuey, 2 bananas, 2 bottles of water at my mum's place and that upset her stomach for about a week.

emonster, aiyoh so poor thing. After Timo's hospitalisation, I also went nuts buying stuff for him. heh.

MG, the stuff should be here by early next wk. Will email you when they arrive

Waaaah all your kids have such good appetite, really makes me so sad that Timo can't squeeze in very much. Sigh. Ah well....

Hi Catz,
How's Timo now? Fully recovered? You are organising private spree for Gap/Old Navy? Interested!!

Hi Emonster,
Sounds bad, what has happened to P?

I thought my son was a little glutton lately cos he also eats alot. He is not the only one...

Sean will normally ask for supper after his dinner. Aside from a serving of fruit, he will want a slice of bread or biscuit, ice-cream if he knows that there is a tub in the fridge. And a 200ml of milk before sleep.

Today, when he was back from school, he had half of a kaya bun while awaiting for his porridge lunch to be ready. After his lunch, he asked for the other half of the bun. Still dissatisfied, he wanted another piece of the kaya bun. When I asked what he had for snack in school just now, he told me 3 servings of "Chee Chiong Fan"!

My mum was amazed by his eating habit and was commenting that he should go on diet. But I feel that as long as he is eating the right, healthy stuff and eating well, there is no such need to control their diet. As what Piggy mentioned, we can find joy by just looking their satisfying look.

BTW, another upcoming family event to share with you in this November. Jacob Ballas children's Garden's Carnival 2008

Date : 9 November 2008 (Sunday)
Time : 10am to 7pm
Venue : Jacob Ballas Children's Garden, Singapore Botanic Garden
Entry : Free

There will be exciting games, rides and fun food. Buggy ride around the garden, and a wide array of child centre activities.

You need to purchase $10 coupons (in denomination of $1 & $2) in order to enjoy the games. Coupons are available now and on the date itself at the Botanic Garden.

For more information : www.sbg.org.sg

Joan, Timo's tummy is fully recovered now but he's got a runny nose today hence not in school. Gap/ON - will notify all when there's a good sale on.

It's been a busy week for all of us. Since last Friday, after Marcus went to KK hospital for a follow-up checkup on his tongue. Lucas, Marcus, & myself have been down with either food poisoning virus or stomach flu. Let me count how many times we visited the clinics for the last 7 days:
Lucas: 2X GP clinic, 1X Mt A 24hr clinic, 1X PD
Marcus: 1X Mt A, 1X PD
Mummy: 1X GP clinic
This virus really contagious. We are in recovery route now. Both boys were either vomitting or having diarrehea. Marcus vomitted 8 times in a short span of 2 hrs. We run out of bedsheets & t-shirts. The latest episode now is Lucas having rash outbreak all over his body. He was complaining of itch so now @ the clinic with daddy. sigh...

Tetra, oh nooooo poor you! Yes there is a bad bug going around (cold/flu) but stomach bug is really bad. That's why we sent Bethany away when Timo had it and had to stay in hospital. He pooped all over his pants 'cos cannot hold it in. aiyooooooooooooo... pls take care yah?? Hope everyone gets well soon. Must wash hands like crazy or use a lot of hand sanitiser. I went around the house wiping and spraying with those hospital grade sanitiser every day.

Hi All!! It's been a busy week. Next week is going to be another hectic week. I didn't know that Depavali was brought forward to Monday 27th. Was trying to organise some work done on 27th when someone told me not possible. Wah.... really out of touch...sometimes, I wonder if I am on earth.....
Lately, I realised that I have been very forgetful and so engrossed in work that I lose track of time. Wonder if I'm aging prematurely.
Anyone going away for long weekend?

Tetra,
Oh.... with that number of visits, looks like majiam sign up for membership. Take care n hope that next week is 0 visits for all.

Tetra,
Oh, sounds bad. Our family was sick too, machiam like relay like that, keep passing round, but symptoms weren't too bad. Just lots of phlegm, runny nose, etc. Miraculously, Sherilyn didn't kena, maybe all the anitbodies in my breastmilk is protecting her after all.

piggy,
you're not alone with the forgetfulness. I've been really terrible after my second pregnancy. Not sure if it's just aging or prolonged sleep deprivation that's taking a toll. I also forgot that Deepavali is Monday and planned my experiments, so I have to go back to work after all. I also lose track of time and forget to attend meetings which i reminded myself of that very morning.

We're going away next month to Tasmania, which I've wanted to see for a long time. I'm so looking forward to that holiday even though I think I'll need another one to recuperate when I get back. =)

BabyD, yes I found that bfeeding antibodies were the best.. however Beth did succumb at 2 months old to a flu bug that everybody had. Dr said that I didn't have the immunity to that particular bug. Wah Tasmania, enjoy yourselves!

Haha.. forgetfulness ah.. think I cannot go back to work.. sure kena terminated for forgetfulness!

Catz,
I think for me, it's probably 80% sleep deprivation and 20% aging that's causing the forgetfulness. Thought Sherilyn would get better and better at night, cos at one time she just woke up once around 3-4am. Now that she sleeps earlier, she's back to 1am and 4am, so I'm like a zombie. I tried the dreamfeeding thing, didn't work at all and it seemed to make her wake up even more often between feeds, so I gave up. I really hope she starts dropping at least one night feed soon!

babyD, yikes... that's really rough on you! She's prob not getting enough feeds in the daytime?

Just seeing my sis going through the whole newborn thing reconfirms my decision to stop at 2! No awwwww, no maternal instinct here.. just phewww THANK GOD NOT MINE! Hehe..

Catz,
Hahaha.. the way ou put it is so funny.... I tell you.... wait 3more years, you will miss it again.

BabyD,
I guess it is really hard for you. These days, getting up 2x to let him pee is such a chore.... to think that you have to feed.....

Piggy, no leh.. I can guarantee you my maternal instinct totally died already. Will go for ligation once I hit 35 in 5 years

2 x to pee at night? Waaah...

Catz,
2x pee is usually once at the time he comes into my room, usually 12+ or 1+ when he wakes and realised that he is in his own room, the second time when he wakes in the morning, at 6+ when I am still in dreamland. So I guesses it is more like one pee to him but like two to me.

Yikes, I already get woken up by hubby gg toilet or by my own insomnia.. add in a toddler wandering around, I think I will die. I'm just super lucky my kids stay in their rooms till I get them in the morning
Haha.. think God knows my limits!

piggy,
I can't get Sherman to wake up and pee at night. He will just wet himself, then wake us all up and tell us "I was dreaming then suddenly all the urine come out".

Catz,
Probably not enough daytime feeds?? But MIL is trying her best and can't get more milk in using the bottle. Weekends I latch her and she's often uninterested unless she's about to sleep! Haiz... but then I think of what I went through with Sherman refusing to sleep in the day and waking up every 1-2 hours at night in Boston and I tell myself Sherilyn is a great baby already. Still, I didn't need to work 8:30am-6pm, so it didn't feel so bad then. Or maybe I'm just getting old... =(

BabyD, Sherilyn sounds like she's very weight conscious
If your MIL is trying her hardest, then no choice. I used to give Beth so many baths to keep her awake.. luckily it worked but yeah she sleeps a lot more than Gina Ford recommends.. but that's fine by me.

piggy,
my big boy still needs to wear XXL diaper to sleep every night. We didn't have energy to keep cleaning up, esp when i was preggy. He can take his afternoon naps without diaper, just not at night cos he's too lazy to wake up and go toilet. If no diaper he wets himself and wakes everybody up.

Catz,
Aiyoh, small babe weight conscious! She's a much smaller eater than Sherman. 4 months already still haven't hit 7kg. Some of the other babies were 7kg by 3 months! I really can't get her to sleep earlier than 8:30pm. But then, that's also the earliest Sherman slept when he was a babe.

BabyD
My eldest boy also cannot wake up in the night to do to the toilet, but DS #2 can.. Sometimes I wonder how should we do to train them to go to the toilet by themselves...

Claira is having diarrhea and fever since Sat...I've already seen PD and stool culture report will only be out tomorrow. Can anyone help to advise? Can anyone share your experience please? Everyone is asking me to send her to hospital....How???

I'm now totally stressed out and exhausted. She is practically passing motion every hour even during middle of the night. She keeps telling me her stomach is pain, pain, pain. I feel so helpless that I can't do much for her.

mgteo, if she is dehydrated, pls bring her to the hospital. That's what happened to Timo.. on the 2nd day of vomit/diarrhoea, we brought him to his pd who recommended admission. The same thing happened to Ashton too.

Personally I prefer the care at private hospital, not KK.

Hi twinkle & Catz

Thanks for your advise. I personally also don't like KK. I'm getting worried. I will bring her to East Shore since we brought her on Tues.

Hope she is better.. get well soon, Claira! Timo had to be on drip for 3 days 'cos severely dehydrated that time.

he was unable to eat or drink.. as in eat or drink then puke or lau sai.. anyway I think Claira really better go hospital already.

So far Claira is still able to drink and eat a little but of course only porridge and porridge water. What she lack of is SLEEP.

Her report is not out yet and we will go and visit her PD later in the evening then she will assess her if it is necessary to admit her. So far she is not showing signs of dehydration probably because she only lau sai no vomitting.

Everyone in the family is so affected by her condition because of sleepless nights. I really can't wait for this to be over cos I'm so stress and tired over this.

aiyoh mg, hope she can get well soon too. yah after taking care of timo during his illness, i fell ill from lack of sleep. so shack..

mg
Oh dear... Hope that she gets well soon. I can understand that the whole family must be worried n very tired. Take care & keep us posted.

How's Claira now? Hope she is getting better. I think she caught the same virus as Lucas & Marcus. Almost took 3 wks to fully recover. It is very tiring on the caretakers, all of us got the virus even daddy.

We went to the zoo yesterday & the kids played at the new waterplayground. Very fun, & as usual crowded on weekends. It is really worth going there again.

BTW, I am planning to bring Lucas for a dental checkup. I looking for a child friendly dental place and I am exploring the following. Has anyone tried any of them? If so, pls share your feedback i.e. experience & cost.

1) GPA Dentist - they have this no drill, no pain, no injection check-up
2) The Kids Dentist
3) Pan-Atria Dental (Wisma Atria)
4) Dr Loggie @ Tay & Partners (Ngee Ann City)
5) Bishan Dental - Dr Tan
6) Dr Elizabeth Tan @ Mt E

I am looking @ either (1) or (2). And is it a must to do an x-ray?

And does anyone have the address/tel of this toys rental place @ Pasir Panjang? I thought I saw it on Ashton's blog.

Hi Tetra, a couple of my friends have gone to GPA at United Sq and say it's good.. so that's the one that I will be bringing my 2 monkeys to.

As for the toy rental, alamak, dunno leh.

Hi All, Claira is better now. Less diarrhea and she can eat and drink better since yesterday. Report shows she has gotten salmonella. (a kind of bacteria that cause food poisoning usually from chicken and egg). Thanks for all the well wishes. At least now everyone in the family is relieved and happy to see her back to her usual self.

eeks.. salmonella poisoning! From school? Glad she is better now.. thank goodness no need to go to hospital.

Seriously I also don't know how she got that. Is not from school cos' I called them up and no one was infected. And thank god that she is not admitted.

Then make sure whoever's cooking her meals at home is handling food properly. In fact my hands are super dry 'cos I wash my hands so many times during food prep. I KS.. I will wash the outside of the egg with a little detergent 'cos eggs have a lot of salmonella. ANd whenever I handle any raw stuff, I will wash hands too.

Luckily she is OK now.. could've been really serious! She's resting at home till end of term?

Catz,
You probably shouldn't wash the outside of the egg with detergent because eggshell is porous. The detergent will get into the egg and your kids will be eating it. Salmonella will get killed if food is cooked properly, so no soft boiled eggs for the kids and be careful if you see blood in boiled chicken from the chicken rice store.

I think when Sherman gets a stomach upset and nobody else in school or at home get it, it's because he didn't wash his hands properly, or was itchy fingers touching the dirty wall or chair in the restaurant.

mgteo, glad Claira is better. Food poisoning is just terrible, even for adults. I still shudder at the memory of puking up everything I took several years ago when I got it. Had to get two jabs to stop the puking and I still puked after that.

BabyD, read that it's ok to wash with very diluted detergent so that's what I've been doing. Aware that it's porous but still feel safer rinsing the eggs and yes, no soft boiled eggs!

Hand washing is so impt but argh, kills the skin.

Babyd you're right I suspect it could be because of her itchy hands and no proper hand washing.

Catz, she's now well and back to school today. Anyway I've never wash my eggs before maybe just rinse with water and yes I totally agree that hand washing is so important. I even use hand sanitiser during that past few days. I was so worried that I might get infected given that I'm now pregnant and more vulnerable with all these bacteria and virus.

mg, poor you.. the worst case I heard was my friend's sis who had 4 kids, pregnant with 5th kid.. all her kids got HFMD and infected her unborn baby as well in the 3rd trimester.. now baby dunno how.

Timo just came back from Godpa Ong today again.. hv to schedule circumcision for him during the hols

Oh my god...I hope the baby is ok. This is definitely very depressing.

Circumcision? Is it because of religion? But it is actually good to circumcise. Clean and more hygenic.

Yah gotta wear sarong for 1 week and this will be under GA
Sigh.. had I know, would've circumcised at birth but thought it was unnecessary to make him undergo it then.