(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

<font color="0000ff">Poohy</font>, yap, i noe abt that too. If the Medical Chit indicated HL, this will be recorded as Hospitalised Leave. Sigh, maybe cos i under subsidised rate, so if i dun admitted even though i was supposed to have bedrest, KK will only give me MC cos they din earn any hospitalised bill from me?

Actually, if given me HL, will be better other than my MC almost fully utilised and it also showed that i really need rest. And then my boss will say such things as <font color="ff0000">how come so long still not stable yet!</font>

Sometimes, i still go back to work even though i was supposed to be resting....

<font color="ff6000">Piggy</font>, glad to hear that ur sugar tolerance test is normal.

Abt breast-feeding, i will also try if had enough milk and as long as i can!

Hi Dolphina,
You can check out Moms in Mind website. I think they sell breastfeeding pillow. I heard it's quite good because you can rest your arms and baby on the pillow. My colleague uses one. I'm not sure how much it cost though.

Oceans,
You must take care of yourself. I can understand your work constraints about taking MC especially if your boss is not those understanding kind. However, don't jeopardised your pregnancy because of this and also because of your previous bad experience with the hospital. If you really feel that the situation warrants immediate attention from the gynae, then it is still better to be on the safe side and get admitted.

thanks all mommies for your well wishes, am still recovering and will post again when i am not so drowsy....

these two days weather hot, and i kind of sweat alot and when wind blows ( my place very windy ), i kena a bit of cold too.... sigh

I started working here (had been waiting 1 month for them to sort out the admin) so haven't been posting much, though I've been reading. Last week I felt very lightheaded several times, usually after about 1hr in the morning at my workplace. So worried that I would faint cos my mum said she fainted a lot during assembly in school (she's a teacher) when she was pregnant.

Oceans, do take care and better drink lots of water. Your tummy probably looks a little smaller if your fluid is low. Try to up your fluid intake above your pre-pregnancy normal.

Piggy, you really v small size! When is your EDD? I remember you're delivery earlier than most of us, or was that Evelyn?

Catz, will be thinking about you when you go to SF for the scan and hear what the consultant there says. Tomorrow also my Ob/Gyn appt, which is long overdue because of the silly insurance problems here.

Evelyn, did you BF your 1st baby? Got any tips to share with us? I heard we must massage our breasts a few weeks b4 due date to try and get milk production going. Is it true? One of my relatives shared with me how her nipples bled in the 1st week cos there wasn't much milk and her BB kept biting and sucking cos hungry. But after that it was ok.

Hi dolphina, Ocean,
During my last visit, my gynae told me I can reserve my bed anytime now. Thats why yesterday I went to KK made reservation lor!
Just to let you know that the staff will explain all the information very detail to you, you can ask the staff if you have any questions. If you have nothing to ask &amp; confirm which class u want, the staff will make a registration for you.
The initial payment no need to pay now, only pay when admission that time.

Dolphina,
If u want to upgrade to A1 class at delivery time, I think shouldnt be a problem! (If A1 class still have available bed.)

Ocean,
Not so easy to have a BB hor? Now having BB inside oso give u a lot of problemhope u can relax and be strong all the time, okay?

BabyD,
Yap! I did BF my 1st baby! (But for 2mths only. No more BF after goes back to work.) Actually BF is not easy le, yours must have prepare lor! Nvr heard abt must massage our breasts a few weeks b4 due date Only knew that during CF, must eat a lot of fish. Before BB suckwe must use warm towel to clean and massage our nipples for the first few times, after that no need liow! (Sure will have much milk for BB, dun worry!)

Dolphina,
I did not ask for the sugar tolerance test. Gynae asks me to do it cos my mum is diabetic. So she wants to play safe.

babyD,
My EDD is 6 Jan 2005.

Jaykay
I very envy u. Can go and eat n eat n shop.
Must enjoy yourself uh. I think after 32weeks, no more travel allowed by airlines, u know. So must make full use of this trip.

Yvoyvo,
Can you kindly update on the status of EDDs? Been trying to search for the latest update but seems like very long ago? Thanks in advance.

Wah JayKay, talk about Penang laksa and char kway teow, I cannot tahan liao *slurp* My parents are M'sian so I LURVE M'sian food.. my Dad had the bright idea of dragging my big pregnant butt back to KL to visit relatives in Nov and I was like, cannot cannot, much as I would like to have a chance to whack good M'sian food!

BabyD, you're so lucky to be able to work and supplement your husband's overseas allowance.. but pls do be careful yah? I do feel faint at times too.. I guess baby is pressing on all our organs and we have to work extra hard due to the extra weight and pressure. Oh, rgd massaging breasts, it's a good idea but pls do not stimulate your nipples in your final months as it can induce early labour.

Piggy, you are really a featherweight!! Thank God your heart condition has not affected you much during the pregnancy hor? Yah my friend really tam jiak... took her almost 1 year to even lose 15kg! Well, she's living in Australia so milk is plentiful

Ocean, how do I get KKH Premier pkg? Dunno whether it will be difficult to get appt 'cos I hv not seen them since the start of pregnancy. I dun hv a good impression of KKH leh... find that they are very mechanical and no EQ.

Hv been thinking pretty seriously about my birth plan. I would like to try without epidural as once you have the epidural in place, you cannot move around and I would like to try natural pain relief like showering and different labouring positions like they are teaching us in prenatal class. Worse come to worse, try light narcotics first. Also, don't know whether can request for no episiotomy.. I find it is not necessary unless your kid is kingkong sized. Aiyah, sekali think think think and then kena c-section :p

Oh forgot to mention about breastfeeding pillow- did my research and the 2 highly recommended ones are Boppy and My Brest Friend (yah, stupid name). The Boppy is about US$25 and Brest Friend is about $40 methinks. I bought one new Boppy and one old one ($1) from yard sale..

Will update you after I get back from SF. Hopefully it will be good news.

I am back from my flu today to office.

Username - EDD - Sex-of-BB - Name-of-BB - Hospital
Evelyn Au - 24/12 - Boy
Ah Bunny - 28/12 - Boy
Tetra (Mum-To Francis's baby) - 02/1 (25-27/12) - Boy - Lucas
TSH (tan_tan) - 05/1 - Girl
goodfriend - 05/1
sun_moon - 06/1 - Boy
PiggyLee - 06/1 - Boy - - TMC
Catz - 08/1 - Boy - Timonthy (Tim) - TMC
yvonne - 10/1 - Twins (both boys)
babyD - 14/1 - Boy
JayKay - 14/1 - Boy - Gideon
dolphina - 15/1 - Boy
emonster - 15/1 - Girl - Phoebe - TMC
yvoyvo - 14-16/1 - Girl -
yve - 19/1 - Girl
twinkle - 22/1 - Girl - - TMC
Hopeful24 - 25/1
Ocean - 26/1 - Girl
Toh - 27/1

Hi emonster,

Just saw ur information, we are of the same age. So coincidental.. I had been sitting at the same place for the past 2 lessions front 2nd row on the right hand side of the room and at the corner.

I am having short hair but no glasses on. Hmm this week I will have to look at the mummy who is wearing blue specs.

I was even been asked question by Mrs Wong... oops cant remember the questions.

<font color="119911">Catz</font>, u just called KK line and told the nurse that u like to make appt to see a particular doctor. Then u told them that u would like to be serve in the Premier suite and maybe checked with them on the charges.
Service are supposed to be best and heard that every doc there had an u/s in their room!
But cos charges are more expensive than the pte and subsidised patient!

<font color="aa00aa">Evelyn</font>, thanks for the info on the room type. sO which class are u taking?
I agreed that it is not easy to be pregnant especially when there is complication. Think for me huh, every trimester, i had been asked to be admitted for close monitoring.

I'll be attending Hands-on Baby Care tonight at TMC by Mrs Wong. Wonder if I'll get go handle a real baby or just a doll. Quite excited. Hubby is coming along too. Quite nice of him to come because it's a busy week for him.

BTW, was wondering if any of you are feeling tired easily nowadays again? I have to go to sleep at 10 pm latest now. Otherwise, I can't get myself out of bed the next morning and will get very bad "panda eyes". Not sure if this is due to anaemia again. Sigh......

Hi Catz,
I have been looking forward to eating Penang Laksa and all the other M'sian food for a long long time. Hence, hubby suggested that we go to Penang since he's never been there before. I grew up with M'sian food since young cos my aunt/nanny was from Penang. Wah, I can still remember the fantastic laksa and prawn noodle soup she made when she was in Singapore. It's really hard to fine authentic M'sia/Penang food in Singapore..... Why don't go make a trip with your dad there? It would be a good break.

Hi Emonster &amp; Yvoyvo,
How are the lessons so far? Are they useful? Which lesson are you at now? I thought I would be in the same class as the both of you but realised that you both attend the weekend classes.

hello girls,

real busy today..still struggling to finish my work coz deadline today and my boss has been hounding me every half an hr asking for updates...arghhh give me last min work and then short deadline!!

any idea when 3rd tri will begin...oh no i hv been feeling nausea recently and also faint in the afternoon...

piggy,

oic..glad your result is ok!

catz,
all the best for little tim!!

yvoyvo,
long time no hear from u liow. drink more water, rest well and take care ya.

jaykay,
ya these days i hv to hit my pillows by 11pm... but then hor still feeling tired in the next morning.

dolphina,
Third tri is suppose to start from 28th weeks.

Jaykay,
So nice that your hubby is going with u, I think he is really trying to pamper u liao. Maybe he suddenly feel tat he not so sayang u previously, now trying to make up.

I am feeling a little more tired these days than say two to three weeks ago. Maybe is becasue I got more work to do in the office. But since my third tri starting soon, I think it should be normal to be more tired in the 3rd tri?

Evelyn Au &amp; Tetra &amp; Ah Bunny,
Do you feel more tired since u all have hit the third tri now?

Evelyn,
You BF only 2 months? I think a lot of doctors recommend BF up to 6 months, or at least 3 months. I'm hoping I will have enuff milk cos I'm quite flat, scared my baby might starve, but was told milk production got nothing to do with size.

Catz,
My work situation v complicated because I'm doing research so I won't bother to explain. But the boss is v flexible about hours so even when I finish my confinement it'll be quite easy to come back and work. My work place is just 10 min walk away, think maybe can go back and BF bb if necessary. Hubby planning his timetable after BB arrives so that he's away until lunchtime, then I can go to work after that.

I did my glucose tolerance test today so they took another 3 tubes of blood again. The Ob/Gyn was a v nice guy but in US they don't typically do u/s scans - apparently only once in the entire pregnancy! Catz, you requested for extra u/s is it? Miss seeing my baby, no clue what size he has grown to now.

Ocean,
Ive reserved B1 class. (4 beded, got TV, Aircon, bathroom.)
So how? Which class will u go for?
Do you know that we can claim our antenatal bills from Medisave account? Not now lah! upon admission to the Hospital for delivery &amp; before the day of our discharge.

JayKay,
How was your class yesterday? Did u enjoy handle a baby? (real or just a doll?)
Emmm, Penang trip! Ive been there before during my secondary sch time! (very long time ago lor!) I cant forget the Bak Kut Teh! very nice! I think Penang must be change a lot liow!

Piggy, JayKay,
Im not feeling tired easily in this third tri.but keep going to pee pee every nite nowadays! Even go to bed at 10pm or 11pm, bcoz of pee pee, end up sleep ard 12am. (Yesterday worse! Almost 1am then can sleep!) Now, very bad panda eyes leh!
168627.gif

BabyD,
No choose lah! Not so convenience express my milk in my company, so better stop lor! (poor my son!)
Dun worry! My eldest sis quite flat too, but she can BF her kids up to 9mths, her milk more than me some more! (even my cup bigger than her.) Therefore, milk production got nothing to do with size.

i am back and feeling much better today. I have been tired easily lately too. i think we are all approaching our 3rd Trimester soon. Still remember those days when we lament over our morning sickness... we have definitely come quite far! Jia you all mommies, and the best is yet to be! Heeeeee!

Oh by the way, Guardian pharmacy is selling the Ear Thermometer by Braun at $89 (usual $110 ). If anyone of you have not gotten one for future baby use, maybe it's good time to buy now?

Anyone visited the Robinson Expo sale? I been there yesterday and some things are not even as cheap as Giant!!! So dont bother to waste you time there la.

I am also starting to set up my baby room... did one round of cleaning and will starting gathering things that i bought and put them in soon. Its quite fun, and i do it when hubby not home to kill time lo.

Quite a busy day today so didn't have time to log on.

Hi Evelyn,
Yesterday's lesson was quite fun. I got to see Evelyn Tan in my class. Wah she still looks so slim. You wouldn't know that she's pregnant from the back. I didn't get to handle a real baby, just plastic dummies. But hubby was the clown, doing stupid things with the dummy baby like bending the arms and legs into awkward positions, squeezing the head to make funny alien faces. Luckily, we were sitting at the back end of the class, otherwise, sure kena scolding from Mrs Wong. But I have to say that hubby was very quick to pick up on the various baby handling techniques like soothing the baby, swaddling,bathing and cleaning the baby. He even took down notes!!! Next week's talk will be on breastfeeding. I hope to pick up some tips from the lesson.

Sun Moon,
Don't need to spend so much on the Braun Ear Thermometer. I learnt from the lesson last nite from Mrs Wong that the best way to take baby's temperature is under the armpit using a digital thermometer. Also, just to share my previous experience with using the Braun Thermometer, I don't find it very accurate because it is dependent how you hold the thermometer and if your ear has wax or not. Finally, it gets spoilt pretty easily. Just get a good digital thermometer like the Terumo brand for axillary (armpit) temperature (Green box)and beeps when the temperature is ready. It costs about $30-$40.

Actually, now is the best time to prepare baby's room. I guess we are not too big to carry things and do cleaning now. But we should leave the washing of the clothings to Dec because they may smell stale if we wash too soon.

Hi Catz,
I hope everything is fine with little Tim and yourself. Keeping my fingers cross for you.

Hi Piggylee,
ya, definitely felt more tired than last 2 weeks. just over the last weekend, can felt the "tiredness" coming &amp; woke up later for work. worse still, stomach got bigger, work also got more. the equation is just not right. boss made me worked until 10pm last nite, hubby had to sit in the ofc to wait 4 me. well, @ least boss felt bad. btw, i have about 3-4 meetings over dinner with my doula, each session is to find out more about each other &amp; sharing with her wat is my expectations. I asked lots of questions so usually takes about 2 hrs. better made sure she is the right one for such an important event in my life.

Jaykay: I'm sure u will have a great time in Penang. my feet got swollen after 2-3 hrs of shopping but the daily swim &amp; doing-nothing is really good. btw, pls do not take unclean street food if u can control as advised by my gynae. as long as u suspect it's not clean, dun take. there are many restaurants esp in shopping centres that can offers you cheap &amp; clean food. actually the hotel I stayed cooked better char kway teow than outside ones.

sun_moon: i read that as we are approaching to our due date, you will feel instinctly to do some cleaning to prepare for your baby. I have not developed my inventory list but i think need to be done asap esp in the 8th mth. just 3 weeks ago, cleared my drawers for baby's stuff...felt so maternal!

catz: your birth plan is also something I am striving for. heard about the narcotics jab @ thigh but must not be done when the baby is coming out soon (active 2nd stage labour)as there is a risk of the narcotics going to the baby. better to write in the birth plan that u want light narcotics. about the episiotomy, got pros &amp; cons. this is still better than having 2-3degree tear which may go in different directions (star) &amp; it may require more complex stitch &amp; may affect the organs in the pelvic area i.e. bladder control ability. but if the tear is just surface, then easier to heal &amp; better than epistiotomy as the latter usually requires more stitches &amp; asethethics before the cut. to have the serious tear is when the mum keeps pushing when her cervix is not fully dilated yet, so one way is to keep blowing out while dilating (there will be a strong urge to push, so this is when hubby is useful to remind u when to breathe out). only push when gynae asks u to do so after you r fully dilated. anyway, like wat u say, think so much, later kena c-section then no need to bother so much already!

Hi everyone, have good news to report... my baby passed all his exams with flying colours - there is absolutely nothing wrong with any part of Timothy... THANK GOD!!!! You can't believe the relief we're both feeling right now.. Before we drove up to SF, we were both so tense. Husband was feeling like he was starting the flu so he was rather grouchy... to top it all off, we missed our turnoff and ended up going over the Bay Bridge and having to turn back (extra 20 minutes) and pay toll. *sigh* So we were two very unhappy campers by the time we got to UCSF. The first ultrasound was very detailed, taking about half an hour. Halfway through I was feeling like I was going to pass out. Luckily the radiographer noticed and told me that she could actually do the u/s when I was lying on my left side. Anyway, she was pretty generous with the print-outs and we got to keep 4 piccies. Got his side profile and little feety on film.. so cute. But yet all this time I was thinking - what if this is the last time I see my baby healthy... what if he doesn't even make it to one month old. She was only a technician so she couldn't answer when I asked if his heart was OK.

After that, went to the heart centre for my ECG. By this time, I was really tired already from the stress and walking fr building to building.. the ECG (another ultrasound) took about half an hour too and it was really detailed.. checking blood flow and all that stuff. So I asked the radiographer if it looked OK. He said he wasn't supposed to say but yup, everything looked good. After he finished, I went to the loo and when I came back, the cardiologist gave us the good news that everything was perfect.. wah lau, I was soooooooooooooooooo happy. She said she was dreading telling us if there had been anything wrong 'cos she's had to console so many expectant parents. Anyway, thank God my little boy is as normal as normal can be. Had a follow-up appointment with a genetic counselor and she also said that everything was perfect. Thanks, ladies, for all the kind words and for the support.. really appreciate everything!!!!

Guess what? After the good news, my husband was cured of his flu--- I guess he was having tension headache lah.. Anyway, my parents are so relieved. Me too 'cos I can go to TMC! Only bad news is that my gynae Yvonne Chan might be going on holiday end-Dec so she might not be able to deliver and will pass me on to Phyllis Leow. Any comments?

I was told that South East Asian women have a tendency to tear during delivery, which is why most of the doctors in S'pore do episotomy routinely, sometimes to prevent possible tears, rather than because they see a tear coming cos by then it's usually too late. Our babies are actually slightly lighter and smaller than the average in US, (3.2kg compared to 3.4kg) but they don't normally need to do episotomy on most women because they don't tear as easily as we do.

Sun Moon &amp; JayKay &amp; all MTBs,
True! Ear Thermometer not so accurate! We should buy digital thermometer (take temperature under the armpit!)
I have 2 thermometer at home; one is Ear Thermometer (gift from company during SARs), another one is Terumo brand (recommended by doctor and exactly Jay Kay mentioned the one!)
On hand I have so many baby poster (all in A4 size), plan to decorate my BBs room this few weeks. Now still looking for nice wardrobe or chest of drawers for Guo Guo and Ti Ti. After all settle, then will do the washing of BB clothings.

JayKay,
Very interesting! Some more can see his Real Face; how serious &amp; how important u and BB for him! Next time u no need do anything liow, just ask him do it for you! heheee!
168915.gif

Catz,
So glad to hear that!
168916.gif
Really gooooooood news for u and all of us! No more worry now but still must take care of yourself and little Tim hor!

Catz,

I am so happy for you until got tears forming at my eyes. (Pregnant women are a bunch of emotional creatures) hee hee.

You seeing Yvonne Chan? I also seeing her leh. I did not know she going away for holiday in December. How did you know uh? Who is Phyllis Leow?
I am very comfortable with YC so I really dread changing gynae. Any idea when is her leave? I must start to talk to baby to come out after she is back. Your EDD only two days after mine. I think we may end up really screaming together, so exciting. Heehee.
You know, during my last check up this week, Dr YC points out to me that baby has started to develop a "Bao" on the checks liao. Not like last month's scan, still skinny and hollow. Just that his hands blocking face most of the time so cannot take a pic. She prints out pics for me at every check up too. So will you go back to her now that you know she will be on holiday?

hello all,

busy as usual but TGIF!!!

Catz,
big congrats!! so happy little tim is certified ok now....so just enjoy the rest of pregnancy in peace...

piggy,
oh 3rd tri starts at 28 wks..hmmm so most of us will be hitting 3rd tri soon...very fast hor....

gtg now...will be back later

Hi girls! My mood is back already
Such a relief that my boy is A-OK! Thanks everyone!!!!

Piggy, didn't know you were seeing Yvonne too. Hv had her as my gynae since I was 18 I think.... actually she is fully booked until April but she has agreed to take me on as a patient as long as I am OK with Phyllis Leow doing delivery if she is not around. Could you pls check with her more rgd this issue? Might be more of an issue for me as your EDD is 2 days later.. she's afraid if I deliver earlier, that she won't be back from holiday and she has not firmed up her holiday dates yet. Not sure how she will charge me also 'cos I am only starting prenatal care at 32 wks.. did you sign up for a package? Also, what is her take on episiotomy? Routine or only if absolutely necessary??? Hope this Phyllis doesn't have to step in. I'm also very comfortable with Yvonne so I think I will still go back to her. I think Phyllis is with another gynae practice within TMC.

BabyD, I think I get more ultrasounds as my OB is rather expensive and not part of an HMO. Charges are higher lor.. nope, I did not request for the u/s but he does not do them at every visit.. only twice during first trimester and once in second trimester. It's only 'cos of Tim's suspected heart problem that I ended up having a 2nd u/s in 2nd trimester.

Just got back from childbirth prep.. did a very interesting exercise. The doula had all of us hold an icecube for 1 min and do breathing exercises, coached by our husbands.. after that, we held the icecube WITHOUT doing breathing.. wah, can die man.. so it's important to stay relaxed and have good support from hubby. She made husband hold icecube too but all the men macho lah :p

Also, she talked about perineal massage. Studies hv shown that it's most effective when the baby is starting to crown.. anytime before that, it's not so effective. What you can do though, is to practice lots of squatting exercises to stretch 'down there' in the meantime. In the US, the nurse will help to do perineal massage when the baby is starting to crown.. not sure if they have this practice in S'pore.. perhaps can avoid doing episiotomy if they do.

Hi Catz,
I'm very happy for little Tim and you. Great to know that everything went well and that it was a false alarm. Thank God indeed!!

Hi Tetra,
Thanks for the advise. Actually, I love eating the food from the roadside hawkers. But I don't think I want to take the risk now. I will be spending most of my time eating rather than shopping. I'm very greedy.....

Hi Evelyn,
I think my hubby is quite sweet. Although he can be insensitive at times, he's quite soft-hearted. May be really must 'manja' him sometimes.

Hi Piggy,
I also hope that my boy will be a bit chubby so that I can pinch him....very naughty mother here. Your boy still quite shy ah, don't let you see his face. You must tell him to cooperate until your gynae comes back from holiday.

TGIF!! Have a good weekend, ladies!!

Catz, happy to know that you Tim is ok! Now can relax la!

Evelyn, Jaykay, too bad you mentioned about the ear thermometer too late... cos i already bought it that day... my friend told me it was very useful for her... i will see how it goes, if not good enough then buy again lo.

today just bought the pigeon steriliser... i think it is better then the avent one, since it can fit other things besides bottles. And it's also cheaper... i got it at $87 only.

I'm just wondering how big all your tummies are now, cos over here they don't do routine u/s scans so I have no clue if my baby is big or small. I seem to have grown a lot this last month and I measure about 36 inches at the biggest part of my belly at 26 weeks today. I know 2 other preggies here and they are much more advanced than me but their tummy is around the same size. Is my tummy big or small compared to yours?

forgot to add that i put on 8kg already, which seems like a lot compared to most of you. But then at the beginning my gynae said i was a little underweight and kept asking me to put on more weight. Hubby says i look ok (not fat), but i dunno whether he's just being nice.

babyD, as a rough estimate, your OB should measure from your pubic bone to the top of the uterus... # of inches roughly equals # of weeks of gestation. I measured 29 inches at 26 wks so my kiddo had some kind of growth spurt
Why not check with your OB when the next u/s will be?

Hey twinkle, how's it going huh?

Does anyone else find that sometimes for no reason, can feel really breathless? Sometimes I have to unhook my bra 'cos I feel like I'm choking... how ah?

Catz,
Your EDD is actually what date? If 08/01, then mine is earlier. Did your EDD change?

Yes, I sign up package with her. I think at 20 weeks. Must go check how much I pay, then let u know. I made a calculation at that time and find that with or without package, the costs about the same. Maybe only $100 to max $200 difference.

I have not ask her about episiotomy cos my heart condition need to be monitored and if she feels that I cannot go natural, she says she may want Csection for me. Anyway, I will check with her on my next visit first week of November) &amp; let u know. Btw, when u coming back?

I went to read on this Phyllis in this forum and seems not so good leh. You saw the thread? She belongs to the TLC clinic located at 3rd floor TMC.

Yah, I feel abit breathless too but usually after food. I think maybe abit of heart burn, so feel a little breathless.

BabyD,
Me at 34inch, 27weeks. Not a good guage cos I very small size....

Jaykay,
I also want a chubby boy, I told my hubby, if chubby, then I can draw whiskers on its cheeks with my eye liner. I cannot wait to do so.
(My friends who overheard me gave me a scolding...hee hee)

just wondering has everyone decided on which pram/stroller to buy already? I have been looking around yesterday and get quite confused with the choices avaiable. Some are light but the seat looks very narrow and flimsy,some are sturdy but about 7-8kg with baby. Saw a few Graco ones too but husband and me not very impressed with the funtion or quality too. I am now inclined to buy a sturdy one, but i have reservation cos if its so heavy, how am i gonna to use it to bring baby out next time during weekday when hubby not around? Do you all think i should go for the light weight ones instead??

And between baby cot and play pen... also undecided leh... any advice?

By the way, i saw Ivy Lee and her husband at Mothercare yesterday when i was shopping there... she also buying baby stuff lah! She still so very slim you know... i so envious!

sun moon,
I have been looking around too and face the same problem as u. I think those that are too heavy not pactical cos we may not always be out with hubby so we have to lift that pram on our own, then open, then put baby down,etc-- very siong.

So I am waiting to see if got any warehouse sale, Heard that Gracco having one at end of year. Don't know this year have or not. If yes, then may find one that is a compromise between weight and sturdiness selling at warehouse price.

As for baby cot or play pen, I bought a cot but can changed to play pen. I think first one year most likely will not need playpen as much as cot. You went to Robinsons warehouse sale? It was sold at S$299 with matress, mosquito net, changing tray, matress protector, cover and musical mobile. I bought it from Robinson store in Raffles City and saw them selling the same at the Singapore expo. Why don't u go take a look if u got time? It is still on tomorrow. A lady is there doing demo on how to use this cot.

Hallo Piggy, Har? Phyllis not so good ah? Die.. I haven't read the thread yet.. will go and kaypoh later. Hmmm... I will be back on the 7th of Nov and my Mom has already made an appt with Yvonne for 9th Nov. I will bring it fwd to the 8th if I am not feeling too jetlagged and heatstroked
My EDD is confirm 8th Jan 'cos I know the exact date (and time) of conception..heehee.. Oh OK I guess I will not have any package but nevermind lor, since it makes not much diff in $$. As for the cot/playpen you bought, what brand is it? I was thinking of buying a Graco playpen with bassinet and changing table 'cos if we go on trips, we can bring that along (it packs into a golfbag sized duffle)... They say never ever use hotel cribs.. very unsafe.

Piggy, i might go to Robinson today and also thinking of going to John Little too. One more question is, where do you intend to put your cot? Baby's nursery room or in your room? I keep thinking and thinking but i dont know which is more convenient....

I still have many things to buy, and seems like i will have to be going out shopping almost everyday... to research and check prices. Very siong leh.

Evelyn, when you having leave again...? Shopping alone a bit boring leh...

morning girls,

monday again.....kekeke

sun_moon,
I have also bought my pigeon steriliser yesterday at john litte @ $87 - $5 (cut-out coupon) and 5% off monthly bill...pretty good deal i suppose...

hmmm now also looking for a cot and stroller/pram...headache lah coz dun wan to commit to something so expensive and turn out a white elephant leh...

piggy,
u so cute wanna to draw whiskers on your bb cheeks....notti notti. maybe by then u will not bear to do it liow when u see your bb chubby face hor...

btw does anyone of your intend to buy the avents milk storage bags? is avent the only one selling this products coz cant seem to find others leh..otherwise wat other alternatives are available huh?

Hi Catz,

I did not measure myself but comments from colleagues and friens says that my tummy is small. Hee hee, but my gynae assured me that that bb is growing well. Not neccessarily that when u sees ur tummy as big, it means the bb is growing well. Some babies can come out ok in size but the mummy's tummy is small. It really depends on individual.

Yes I do feel breathless at times, esp when walking too much.

Hi Sun Moon,

Me too was clueless when comes to buying prams. But friens advised me not to buy first as we might get it as a gift on bb's first mth. Sensing no urgency, i also agreed that we buy it later if we didnt get it as a gift...(hee hee).

As for bb's cot,my frien will be passing me her bb's play pen and asked me to buy a bassinet and mattress(not sure correct spelling or not), to act as a cot for the first yr or so. After that can use it as a play pen.

I have already bought the AVENT steriliser at $110. Friens strongly recommended Avent hence I buy loh. Like their bottles too. But I also heard that Pigeon steriliser was gd too cos can fit in diff sizes of bottles. But I head that Avent bottles cant go into Pigeon's steriliser, not sure true ornot.

You have Robinson's card? This mth statement did come with some $10 discount voucher for purchase of minimum $50. Go check it out.

I saw in Kiddy Palace that the Avent set is going for $110 at a discount. Normal price is $163. Do get it now if u intend to buy one later.... cos cheap...

Good morning ladies!

Sun Moon, I think I will also pop by Robinson's today to look have a look at the cot Piggy was talking about. I was torn between whether to buy a playpen with bassinet or a cot. However, after visiting my friend who had given birth a few days ago, I am convinced to get a cot. Moreover, I am seriously planning to have a number 2. So, it's economically viable to buy a cot. Heehee.....I also have some problems with buying pram/stroller. Don't know which brand to buy. I was told that if the pram is too light, then it may not be stable, etc....very confused...

Piggy, what is the brand of the cot? I may want to check it out during lunch at Raffles City Robinson's.

BabyD &amp; Catz, I haven't done any measurements on my waist yet. May be I'm afraid to know. Anyway, I've gained 2.5kg for this month. Looks like gynae is going to scold me during Thu's appointment.....sigh....

Catz, I had the breathlessness problem during the first trimester and I changed to larger size bra. Now, it seems that the larger size bra is also constricting my chest, especially after meals. May be it's time we go and buy some nursing bras?

Hallo girls

Avent bottles are fatter than other bottles, hence other sterilisers might not be able to accomodate it. The wide mouth opening of the bottle does make it easier to mix up formula and for cleaning though... pros and cons...

JayKay, I don't dare to measure my waist either (not like I can find my measuring tape!!!) but it's not so bad to measure the top of fundus.. at least it should roughly correlate to the number of gestational weeks
Dunno leh.. sometimes I can feel breathless when I'm braless.. plus I'm already using loooooooose bras... :p

twinkle, I would rather have a small tumtum.. as long as baby is growing well! So horrified 'cos when we were doing breathing exercises at prenatal class that day, one of the other mother's shirts rode up and I saw her stretchmarks.. wah lau, it was like her entire belly was dark pink from the marks!! Scared!!!

Alamak, I think I am kiasu.. getting a cot AND playpen with bassinet.

sun_moon,

the other day u were asking for the addy for the 2 hyper marts in kaki bukit right....

someone posted them in the other thread..hope its still useful to u!

"Shun Li industries Park at Kaki Bukit Ave 1, no. 83 baby's kingdom (monday to sunday &amp; public holiday 10am - 9pm) and 69 baby's hyperstore monday to saturday 11am - 9pm, sunday 11am - 7pm)."

Twinkle,
i did asked the sales girls in one of the shops, and she told me can fit. I seriously hope she is not taking me for a ride!!! Things i bought from John Little will be delivered to my house later, so i will test it and let you all know.

As for cot vs playpen, many different people have different views and opinions, so i also get quite confused. But i think i will still go for a cot. Like what Jaykay says, I do intend to have more kids, so i think it's still worth the money to get a proper bed for the little ones. I wont get the playpen at this stage, but if the need arise later on will buy lo.

I think i will pop into town later today also... to John Little (Summerset), think they have more baby stuff there. I still have some small small things and i want to buy them so that i dont keep having them in my mind.

Pram is my big headache... i think my choices are narrowed to Peg Perego, Graco and Combi. Have not seen the combi ones, but know Kiddy Palace has a number of models... i probably will check them out and compare them with the other two before buying. If i am bigger build, i wont have so much reservation... but i not very tall, quite petite, so if get a peg perego, i think i need to go gym and build some muscle for it! But cannot deny the fact that it is a very sturdy and good pram.

Dolphina,
i found the place last weekend after driving there ... thanks still! Actually my parents stays near there... no reason i dun know but last time not pregnant where got go notice this kind of shop right... hahahaaaaa..... I didnt go to shop 83... only shop 69... cos heard ppl saying 83 doing parallel import so no warranty, thus didnt want to waste my time.

Catz,
You so good, know the exact time of conception? But hor, having said this, I had a very weird feeling even before missing my period that something is different. I woke up in the middle of 3 consecutive nights, feeling extremely cold and very unsettled. I told hubby about it but did not link this to pregnancy cos we still did not know. But I knew something is not rite, just don't know how to put it into words.
Any of you mtb knew that you are pregnant even b4 testing for urine?

The antenatal package is S$600.00 Starts at 16weeks or later. (Do not include any tests, medications but include US scan at each visit)
Package/Non Package
Normal Delivery fee: $800/$1000
Assisted (Forceps/Vacuum)Delivery fee: $1000/$1200
Caesarean: $1500/$1700
Doctor's daily visist: $100-$200per day (applies to packakge and non package)
Note that a delivery deposit of $800/$1000 is payable at 32weeks of pregnancy.

Other fees: Hosptialzation, Paediatrician, Anaesthetist (epidural is $250to$300, GA is$350to$500)

The Gracco playpen u are saying is for travel purpose. The one I bought is for home, not meant to lug around. As for the brand, I did not take note of it. I feel that it is stable enough and it could take up to 50kg of weight, which I think is good enough.

Sun moon,
I have a headacde on where to put. I have a problem cos I have a doggy sleeping with me in my bedroom and my MIL says "NO WAY!!!", your dog will sleep with your baby. (I wonder why as I have many friends who has dogs at home and sleeping in the same room as their new born too. Also, I DO NOT believe in this nonsense as I feel that the more you exposed the baby, the stronger the resistance. So in order not to go into conflict, I have to say OK.) In case you wonder, my dog can't go out to sleep cos she very very stick to me. Like glue. Will wait for me outside toilet to finish my business, wait for me to eat my dinner, as long as the eyes must always be on me, otherwise will be barking non stop. very spoilt...Also, she is very old now and I feel that if I throw her out to bring in baby, she will die of sadness. I cannot bear to do so.

Another reason is that my room is air con and I think that I have to wake up at nite to do feeding, thus disturbing hubby, etc, etc, I feel that it is better to put baby in another room. I shall buy a electronic baby monitor thingy.

Well, that is my plan at the moment. I may change it if I feel that the doggy thing is settled. I think for practical reasons, it would be better to put baby with you (for feeding and changing, provided your hubby is not a light sleeper) but if you have a Confinement lady, then put baby with her so that you can rest well for the first month.

Dolphina
I think don't buy the milk storage bags first cos you don't know weather got milk or not. Just show your hubby how it looks like, then after delivery, if you got milk, ask him to go buy it. I feel that it is very expensive to buy for standby. I think better if you get two extra bottles to store the whole bottle into the fridge after you express the milk out.

Jaykay,
Don't know the brand leh. I never take note of that. Just ask the sales person, which is $299 and have 7 free gifts? Tell them your friend bought it and you want to see. I think this is a reasonable pricing as the matress protector that they are giving away is a very good quality one.

Hi Piggy,
I'll thanks for the info, will go and check with the salesgirl today.
As for your question about whether we knew we are pregnant before the test....well, I had a strong feeling because my period is very regular and I was 5 days late during my trip to Cape Town. I started getting nausea on my flight back from Cape Town to Singapore which was further aggravated by the smell of the horrible airplane food. I immediately went to check using a pregnancy test kit once I touched down in Singapore - BINGO!! My hubby nearly fainted....he asked me to buy another test kit to check again just to be sure. We never expect to strike 'lottery'...heehee... Like Catz, I know exactly when the time of conception was too.

Hi Dolphina,
I've already gotten some Avent milk bags during Seiyu sale. I bought the milk bag starter kit which costs $15.10 (before discount). It consists of clips, labels and sterilized bags. Subsequently, you can just purchase the bags which costs about $7 (before discount) for 40pc.

Dolphina,
i also bought the milk bag starter kit... didnt buy many bottles... all in all, i have 2 free 4oz ones from the manual breast pump that i bot (Avent), 2 9oz ones, and 2 free pigeon bottles that comes with the Steriliser. Think this should be enough for a start.

Just received my goods from John Little. I checked and my Avent bottles can fit into it... so no problem! My question now is... for all those mothers who bought their steriliser ( whatever the brand ), do you initialise it buy using it one time now? Or wait till baby come then initialise the steriliser? If dont try now, how we know it's working? Cos if not working can quickly bring back to shop for exchange mah... can share you view on this?

sun_moon,

no prob! actually hor i also not too impressed with the 2 stores. things not exactly cheaper than outside.....saw a similar pram at carrefour selling at the same price as one of the store (cant exactly rem which store. heard that they only give discount if you buy more items at one go.

piggy,

hmmm my frd also suggested not to buy the breast pump and other accessories first in case no milk..can get hb to get them if need be...aiyo but then hor my hb is super blur one, always sent him to run errands like grocery stuff and he end up with the wrong stuff!!

Jaykay,
i only saw the starter kit with all the clips and stickers. din see the one with the storage bag only. will go and look around coz i hv bought similar clips from ikea. hope they works as well. thks!

girls, IRO the cot, what size and dimensions did u all get huh...seems to come in various dimensions...at a loss too...also scare bb dun wan to sleep on the cot the wasted liow. (aiyo me hor so many "wat if"). does anyone of u gonna let your bb sleep in the traditional "sarong" style?