(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

<font color="119911">Evelyn</font>, my company hor, even if my title is "Admin Officer", is also considered as executive staff. So, the title is no "pa kay" one!
Wow, but u got so many leaves? That is more than my annual leave!!!

<font color="0000ff">TSH</font>, it is okay to pour your fustration and worries here!
157549.gif
We are all here to support one another.

About ur hubby thoughts abt "retribution" thing, I think u r right that he had been influence by his mum. But usually i thought that if we did bad things in previous life, this will be on our own self. Everyone had their own fate, even your little baby.
Once your hubby sorts out his internal thoughts, I am sure he will support u. Try not to quarrel so much!

Hi TSH,

Don't worry abt complaining too much, we fully understand what you are going thru. Its good to pour out your woes so that you will feel better and grow stronger. If you kept it to urself, you prob will feel even more lousy.

Stay positive and don't worry too much. Things will be well, be strong. As for ur parents in law, pls ignore what they say as at times they tend to jus say what they think w/o considering pple's feeling. Hence, jus stay neutral when hearing their comments, don't feel upset or anything, they are not there to rule yours or ur hubby's life. However, try not to quarrel with you hubby as prob he is also in a diff position.

For me, my father in law said that he wished for a boy, haiz, then I ask him "so how"?? He just laughed off and replied its ok if its a gal, in my thoughts I was thinking , of course ok lah, if not then how??? He is contradicting, isn't he!! However initially, I was pretty upset by my FIL comments and he even tell me that my MIL also wished for a grandson(even though she did not say anything but was happy) and she is disappointed for having a grand daughter instead. Well, I jus accepted what they say but I was feeling rather down. But I kept telling myself its my child and I have always wished for a girl, why be bothered abt other ppl's comments or how they feel. The worst thing is that my hubby is a "so" fillial son and I think he was influenced by what his parents say or wished for.. haiz..

Today on leave at home now. Trying to do some housework but I notice that I was feeling very breathless..I think this is because of long time never do hsework. (all the while Im in-charge laundry
157604.gif
and cooking
157605.gif
, my hubby in-charge hsework
157606.gif
157607.gif
157608.gif
. Hee, this is our agreement because both of us working mah, so must be fair!)

TSH,
Dont bother whats yr MIL said.try dun let her qsn disturbing u and hubby. Yr girl girl need both of your support to grow well, so try dun quarrel often.
All the girls in this thread are always praying for you and baby, so be strong..!

Ocean,
Im seldom take leave. Those leave balance actually accumulated from previous year. Now Ive to clear 1 or 2 days per week, very wasted leh! May be after clear all my leave, they dun want me liow, whos know?

silly qns for all of u.

Anyone of u ever measure yr tummy before?
157630.gif
Yesterday after shower, I noticed tat my tummy look bigger than day time. So hee hee hee, out of curiosity...tried to measure lor!
Wow! 90.5cm(35.5inch) Is it big or not? (into 23weeks now.)
Dun tell me I am the one whos have the biggest tummy right now, oh no!

hi TSH,
I can understand how you feel right now. So many "what-ifs" and worries. My triple test came back positive, but I've opted not to go for the amnio test, coz didn't want to jeopardise my pregnancy. I will be going for my detailed scan on 27 Sept. It will scan for clues if my bb has any defects or has Down Syndrome. I'm currently reciting this prayer called "Prayer for Expectant Mothers". I can give you the prayer card, just PM me. I believe that where such things are beyond your control, you must deepen your faith in God. No point blaming yourself, or think that its karma (what my relatives like to say). Now just pray for the safety for yourself and your bb. Pray for a miracle. With God by your side, nothing is impossible.

Hi Evelyn,
After reading your question, I got curious and went to measure myself also. I am 34inch at my widest!! I'm coming to 22weeks now. Heehee....

Hi Java,
Just a true story to encourage you. My friend's sis is expecting twins and they found out that one of the twin has a hole in the heart. They were very upset, firstly they are concerned about the twin's health went he comes into this world and secondly, the delivery may not be smooth for the mother. However, with their constant prayers to God a miracle happened - the hole was closed when they went to the gynae for a detailed scan on the following month (1 month later)!!

Another story is closer to your situation. This is from my neighbour. They were expecting their 2 child and the triple test came back positive. They were told that their child may be suffering from a genetic defect and they proceeded to do an amnio. The results came back showing that their child does not have a genetic defect but it may have Down's Syndrome instead. My neighbours were very perplexed but they went ahead and kept the baby. Thank God, they had a normal and beautiful baby girl!! Hence, sometimes all these tests although may mean well, may throw us off and make us parents-to-be very very worried. But ultimately, I feel that we should not take a healthy, normal baby for granted, but instead leave it to God and ask Him to continue to bless us with a normal, healthy child. And yes, I definitely agree that with God by our side, nothing is impossible.

Hi all mommies,
it has been a long time. I am sorry i can't reply to everyone's posting but am happy that all mothers are doing okay.

Just an update of myself.... I have finally settled down into my new place and have all the broadband and cable TV set up. House is tidied up and starting to stock up my fridge with food already. Last few days has been quite stressful and me and hubby got hot tempered a few times and we are definitely not happy about it. Last night we talked and gathered that probably the house moving make us like dat and we are trying to relax now and take things easy.

I was feeling a little depress lately too cos i keep wondering if i can be a SAHM for long. I feel little for not earning my own money and have to depend on my husband. I dont know if i am being too spendthrift for wanting to buy some trendy looking mat clothes ( might cost more ), but my hubby didnt allow and reprimanded me for it. He said i am wasting money.. and that leaded me into a mild depression and i feel very upset. I am carrying our baby and he doesnt even let me buy something i like. Everyday my body is changing and dressing nice is my only means to stay in confident and cheerful... yet he is only concern about money. I felt so down... i told myself maybe i shd go back to work after birth... but i dont want to neglect my baby over money too.... so i just feel lost.

Am going for my detailed scan next Tuesday. I am praying and hoping that things will be okay. I can feel alot more baby movement now and my tummy is also quite big. So far, i have not got any leg cramps yet... but due to house moving ( constant standing, walking ), my feet are very pain and aching all the time. I love swimming but i do worry of getting the cramp attack when i am in the water... do you gals think this is possible?

Anyway... guess i am very long winded here too... sorry.... today is another busy day... i just hope me and hubby will not lose temper at each other again...

Hey java, could I have a copy of the prayer? My email addy is [email protected]. Thanks so much

TSH, you are a brave mama. You are doing the right thing by just ignoring your MIL and all her loaded statements. Somehow seems that our husbands are totally opposite - my husband is convinced that everything will be OK whereas I'm the one who's worrying. As for family support, well, I never expect anything from my in-laws. Whenever they boil soup, they will only give to their 2 sons and let their DIL just sit there. Whereas my mother will boil birds' nest for everyone and give up her own portion if she thinks anybody wants a second helping. Anyway, you're lucky to have such supportive and caring parents... don't let your in-laws' attitude give you any more grief. Just concentrate on your beautiful baby girl and nourishing yourself yah?

Evelyn, add me to the leg cramp list!! I kena this morning. Luckily even though I was blur but remembered to point my toes upwards towards the stomach and massage vigourously. Hope it doesn't happen too often!

Has anyone felt baby hiccuping? My baby is a very hiccupy fella.. this week and last week he has been hiccuping.. so funny!

Dolphina, if you cannot eat beef, then must eat lots and lots of leafy green veg, esp spinach, not to mention liver (if you can stomach it)... luckily I am a beefeater 'cos I cannot tahan liver!!

Piggy, the Wombsong listener comes with headphones so we can listen to baby. It also comes with a mic so we can talk to baby. If you hook it up to a CD player, you can play Mozart too but I haven't attempted that yet.. quite happy to just lie down and listen to all his swishing and heartbeat sounds. It's not very expensive 'cos it's not a doppler device. Think it costs about US$30... but it was a hand-me-down from my auntie

Hi Sun Moon,
So nice to hear from you again. I guess you and your hubby are stressed out over settling down in Singapore again. I believed he is concerned about the daily household expenditure and hence, wasn't very happy to hear that you want to spend money on new maternity clothes. I know how you feel about the need to look good esp during pregnancy. I myself spent quite a lot on nice maternity clothes in order to make myself feel more confident (because so fat already mah, so must look nice lah
). May be you can try another approach on your hubby, e.g. that you want to look good for HIM esp when the both of you go out together or when he meets his friends now that he is back in Singapore. May be he will part with some money to let you buy some clothes because you are thinking more for HIM then yourself. I hope he buys this idea..heehee...

As for going back to the work force, I think may be you can try doing part time work first so that you wouldn't neglect you baby and slowly assimilate back into the workforce once your baby is older. However, I would still encourage you to think carefully about this because you may not want to leave your baby when they comes out because they are so cute and you will miss them!!

Hi Catz,
How does baby hiccuping feels like? Can you describe the feeling to me? My boy has been moving a lot recently and I think he has been doing somersaults inside because I get that queer turning feeling in my tummy.
I can't wait to see my boy again. My appointment is next Wed.

hello girls,

finally back at work after 2 days leave, gotto clear lots of stuff but hor please bear with me coz i wan to comlaint!!!

yesterday i was referred to see a so call visiting physician from TTSH for my persistence cough and guess wat the so call professor say...oh i think your cough is due to your infammed tonsils that irritate your throat and you just have to bear with it and u can decide if u wan to remove the tonsils after the delivery..no medication prescribe coz nothing will help and just get some lozenges to suck like the fisherman...

wah piang cannot believe it..thats all and he already discharge me after that 10 min consultation, he did not even bother to lift his fingers to check if my lungs are clear or not and it cost me over $80....

i tell u hor i was fuming mad i even ask him over and over again, u mean you are not giving me any medicine...somemore his attitude sucks..ask me wat cause my cough..hey if i know then i dun need to go waste $$ to see hime liow..then i gave him a blank look say not too sure..he not too happy and then ask so is it your lungs or throat or bronchitis???? argh feel like punching him...

in the end went to see another GP in the afternoon and she say she think my tonsils are perfectly ok which i agree coz i do not have any sored throat at all.. usually if tonsils inflammed then i will sure kena bad sored throat...still fuming thinking about it today...

solly huh complaining so much early the morning...coming back later to read the earlier postings..

Hi Dolphina,
Cool down. May be I can help here? Just help me by answering these few questions.

1. How long has your cough been?
2. Any phlegm? If so, what colour?
3. Do you have a blocked or runny nose right now?
4. What medication are you currently taking to relief your cough?

I don't think it's inflamed tonsils - you most probably would have gotten a fever and sore throat. Don't angry lah.

jaykay,

precisely, i have no sored throat or fever at all leh...

heee so our dr jaykay can offer some assistance:

1)coming to 7 weeks liow...
2)only in the morning - transparent
3)nope at the moment, but 3 weeks ago have blocked nose now recovered.
4)oh forget the name liow..something with dys....(those common remedy - black colour syrup)

was given antibiotics - Erythromycin by my gynae in earlier aug but not responding to it at all

Hi Dolphina,

You don't have to worry much. From what you have written, I believe your cough is dry, i.e. you cough because of irritation/'itchiness' of the throat right? Also, since you only get clear phlegm, it means that there isn't any chest infection. However, I think your cough may be due to the back flow of mucus from your nose to your throat when you sleep at night, causing irritation and hence cough (usually at night?) and you get phlegm in the morning only because of the accumulation of the mucus flowing from your nose into your throat.

Did the GP give you any medication to take? The best way to control your cough is to control the mucus secretion from your nose by taking an anti-histamine. Did the GP give you any anti-histamine? Take the anti-histamine at night before you go to sleep (otherwise you will be drowsy in the day). I think it will help to relieve your cough. Also, don't take any cold drinks but try to take warm water. This will help to relieve the throat irritation and stop you from coughing so much.

I hope this is of help to you and will put you at ease.

thanks jaykay,

u are indeed a darling!! hey this is wat the GP told me leh....she has given me some medication to ease the throat irritationg..keeping my finger cross it will help..i think so far it has improve somehow...

ya its dry cough and usually happen in the day..surprise it did not interrupt my sleep at all at night...phew else sure panda bear liow..

used to skip dosage in the day coz of drowsiness but now hb insist i take in the day also coz it has been dragging on for so long liow...bo bian lor coz i also wan to recover asap...

craving for cold drinks and ice cream coz i have refrain from having them since...

thanks again jaykay...

Dolphina, you are most welcome. That's the least I can help to put your mind at ease. Remember, no cold drinks and ice-cream ok?

Take care!!

Dolphina &amp; Jaykay:
Jaykay,so nice of you to "remotely diagnose" Dolphina. The silly physician got paid $80 just to talk rubbish. I think some doctors ought to be shot. I hope your cough gets better, Dolphina.

Dear Sun Moon,

I suggest u go to China town area to get the maternity waer. Nice and cheap. Go with hubby and say that you want to help him save money, that is why come here to buy.

I went for check up today. All is fine. We saw bb covering face with hand. So cute.

Baby is on the "fat" side: 585g. The gynae says next appointment got to take blood test and go thru sugar tolerance test to c got diabetes or not. (My mum has diabetes) Any of you went thru this test?

Also, yesterday measure tummy. Me at 34inch.

That's all folks.

jaykay,

ya have to exercise some self discipline for bb sake...drooling over ice cream..

piggylee,
thanks...at least the frequency of cough getting a little lesser today....heee

glad that ur bb doing fine...wah now already can measure bb weight liow huh...thot usually at 3rd tri then will do that...

yalor if he can say something "sensible" at least i dun mind paying but now like kena "chop" for nothing..was hoping at least he can shed some light but apparently nope...must go and complain to my gynae in the next appt liow (ops i sound like a complain queen liow)

oh about the glucose test..is it a must?? have not been told to go for one... hmmmm beside the detailed scan, any idea if there any other complusory tests later on?

hi dolphina, i m actually from the Feb/March 2005 babies thread but will pop into this thread once in a while to see what other things i can learn. saw your complaints on your cough. i had that cough too for a few months. it started after CNY and lasted thru may. went for x-ray 3 times but lungs were ok...then paid a few hundred to see the ma kuang chinese physician and all no use. in the end, doc says it might be the nasal problem cos i do feel abit of pain at one side of my face, beside the nose each morning, and like you, phelgm was the most in the morning after the night's accumulation.

what i did was to take a lot of water, it will help "dissolve" away the phelgm. also, take bird's nest regularly as it helps to nourish the lungs after all the coughing. i took quite alot (everyday)during april/may period so i think it is one of the factors that helped. keep yourself away from pollution to prevent further irritation. then your cough will go away soon. stop taking all those cough syrups cos they will never help. remember, no oranges till you have fully recovered. no cold drinks also....

Thanks again for your post which really comfort me a lot...also told hubby to drop the "retribution" thinking and should keep me in good mood always, these two days seems like he already "improve" a bit..

Another thing to share with you all:-

I came across this insurance product offered by Manulife for expectant mother, which actually covered TOF and other congenital anomalies (I was so regret that I didn't know about this product before). It's called mum@myfuture, the prodcut summary is as below:

This is a single premium one -year policy that covers the life of a pregnant woman. The MTB paid 300 for a coverage of 10K and if:

1)The MTB has a miscarriage (defined as if the bb is lost during the first 27 week of pregnancy), she will get back the premium paid (i.e 300).

2)She has a still birth (28wk of pregnancy or older), she will get 15K.

3)The bb is diagnosed with any of the following congenital anomalies, she will get 15K.
a. Down's Syndrome
b. Spina Bifida
c. Tetralogy of Faloot
d. Oesphageal Atresia and Oesphago Trachacl Fistula
e. Hydrocephalus
f. Neonatal death

The policy terminates when any one of the above benefits have been paid.

The policy can only be purchased before the MTB reach 5 months (I am not sure how they define this, it could be calendar months or 20week), though most of us have passed the 20wk, it might be useful for those who have not, or maybe you can consider it when you plan for you next bb..

In fact, I came across a thread few months back (during my 1st tri). I think it was a financial planner tried to introduce this product but the others think that she is only trying to boost her sales quota, so some actually complained and said that the information should be removed from the thread. I posted to ask for more information but before I could get any reply, the thread just disappeared two or three days later. I got no chance to get to know this product. Haiz... with my condition now, I dun know whether I can get my next pregnancy covered, so poor..

Hi TSH,
I'm from Feb/Mar MTB. Thank u for posting at that thread re: insurance.

U r a great pillar of strength!
Pls let me know if u need more info abt Fallot's Tetrology. I've seen infants with such heart conditions in my course of work. It's a very admirable decision that u've made to keep ur blessed baby--she's really blessed to have a mummy like u!
Pls jia you ok?!

U can email me at [email protected]

TSH, glad that things are better between you and hubby
The insurance plan sounds really good. HOpe you are still qualified to get it!

sun_moon, moving can be such a pain... I dread the big move...and I pity my husband 'cos he has to handle all the 'closing up' over here while I swan back to my parents' house.. hehe
Yah, I know the feeling of not having any income sucks.. when I first came over here, I felt so weird that I couldn't whip out my own card to spend on. Have to ask permission for everything. Hubby was very harsh at first but now that he knows housework and pregnancy isn't easy, he trusts me more. I have also been going a bit overboard with maternity clothing 'cos everything else doesn't fit and I am very scared of looking like an auntie.. it would be good to just point it out to your husband and ask him to give you a fixed budget so he won't get annoyed if you buy clothes. Just let him know maternity clothes aren't that cheap and that you are shopping around for the best buys lor... Men can be insensitive but you just have to put them straight. Don't worry yah?

JayKay, you solid lah..
Dolphina, yup, some specialists are really la-dee-da... really gets my blood boiling. If you do not have a chest infection, that's good!! If you find that your throat is irritated, can suck on those pei pa koa lozenges which are very soothing 'cos of the honey in them. Hot honey and lemon is also very soothing... I am the queen of sore throats so I know

JayKay, hmm.. the hiccups are very regular (quite fast) and jerky- you will know if it's hiccups 'cos the poor fella will be jerking around a lot. If baby is somersaulting, it feels like a milder feeling of when you go down a rollercoaster.. know what I mean? It's really funny when the hiccups happen... I always say to him.. aiyah, poor thing, mummy knows how irritating hiccups can be

Thanks for the comforting words, Jaykay, PiggyLee and Catz... i am feeling slightly better now, but still have not gone for any further shopping yet. basically just do not really feel excited about buying mat clothes anymore.

Dolphina, i hope your cough is getting better. just listen to everyone's advise and keep away from cold and acidic stuff ( like oranges ).. drink more hot honey water ... get well soon yah!

Tan Tan... sounds like you are feeling better now and i am very happy for you. Do remember to continue eating good healthy food to give your baby the best nutrients.

oh btw, has anyone started buying baby car seats and prams? Anyone heard of the brand evenflow? Is it a safe brand in the market? I saw one yesterday in a neighbourhood shop and it's a combi of car seat/stroller... can use till baby 3-4 years old. Have not done much research on this yet, so didnt dare buy.

Heyhey sun_moon, hope you are feeling better
Forgot to add that men are very practical kind of people.. even though they are over the moon about baby's arrival, the first thought in their mind is financial issues.. it's a man thing lah. My husband didn't want me to buy maternity clothes too but when he saw all the marks and lines left by my normal clothes, he also seem tia.

As for car seat/stroller - they are called travel systems and Evenflo is not as good quality as Graco. I have already bought my infant car seat from Graco (Snugride) and pram (Peg Perego). Other good brands are Combi and Aprica for pram. Can search consumer reports for crash safety ratings for car seats. The bad thing about infant car seats is that they can only be used up till 6month/26lbs. However, they are handy to carry baby around in until then. I still have to get another car seat for 6months+, was thinking of Britax or Graco again.

hi jannie,

thanks for the tips! really appreciate it.... ya been taking birdnest since wk 12 but does not seem to help (my mum also say bird nest should help).....hopefully can recover soon

thanks Catz &amp; sun_moon! sun_moon dun get too stress up okie, must relax else bb will be affect too...

TSH, dun worry too much about next pregnancy ya... stay positive and do give your hb more time and everything will work out fine.....

Dolphina, you may want to try Eu Yan Sang's bird's nest. Initially, I just took the bottled ones, then cos I had to go overseas for 1.5 mths, I brought EYS condensed bird's nest which I took a teaspoon every morning and evening. After 2 bottles, I was ok!! One bottle is about $67 I think. Very important to drink alot of water....

Hi Dolphina,

Congratulations on having a bb boy! Pls take care of yourself. I have heard from doctors(in the past when I have cough persistently) that honey mixed with lemon is good for cough cos it helps to clear the phlegm. Maybe you can try this. Its with hot water hor, not cold water.

Hi TSH,
Glad to know you are feeling better. Jia You!

Hi Evelyn,

I also suffered from cramps at night, urgg, shouted "help help" and my hubby got a shock of his life... hee hee

Can I know how much (estimate) have you gals spent on maternity clothes? I think I overspent leh... so "xim tia"

To those who have measured their tummy:

How/where exactly you measured your tummy huh? I measured mine yesterday and this morning, wah...scary 37~38 inch leh, pensang liao..by the way, I am in my 23wk (according to my gynae, based on u/s) or 24wk (according to the gynae I visited in Malaysia and last detailed scan done by the gynae in Glen E)..

Hubby looked at me and said "your tummy that big meh??", ha ha, maybe because I already got a not so small tummy before preggie..

So I am the champ here, he he he.. :D

Hi TSH,
It's good to know that your hubby's mood has turned around. I hope you get the insurance too. No harm asking but just make sure that the agent explain everything to you clearly.

Hi Catz,
I'm not solid lah. Just using my pharmacy knowledge to help out. Been working in a retail pharmacy for 3 years so I've seen my fair share of cough and cold patients. Would be more than happy to answer any inquiries for you and all the ladies here.

Oh Catz, so far, I did experience some rapid jerky movements from baby. I guess he must be having hiccups then. So funny!! Can't wait to see him next week.

Hi Twinkle,
I think I spent around $1k on my maternity clothes. Yeah, it's a lot of money. But I very vain leh. Bought most of my clothes from Thyme. Actually, now that you mention 'sim tia' I really feel a bit 'sim tia'....but my only consolation is that I can keep it for my next pregnancy lor....heehee....

Hi All MTBs....

Good Morning!

As always very very busy, but still want to pop in to say HI to all....

Read about the measuring of tummy and did my last nite.... although I complained that my baby is small few months ago, now my tummy is a whoppy 38 inches.... can anybody beat me on that... haha, was so shocked when my hubby did the measurement and he was like "Wah, your tummy is really growing hor...." I'm very happy to see my big tummy....hee hee

Hi Catz, really envy you cos you can feel your baby hiccup... so cute, I can only feel some power punchs and kicks now and then, I keep asking Phoebe to kick me and my hubby will be like "you quite prevert leh, keep asking her to kick, no wonder she so kitchit (small size)" But I can feel her turn / sommersault when I wake up in the morning, turning from my left to face the ceiling, the feeling really cute, but sometimes I feel a bit of crampy pain when she does that....

TSH: Keeping you in mind during my daily prayers (my morning prayers to Goddess Guan Yin)
... I actually once posted if anyone has come across the Aviva insurance similar to what you have posted earlier. It's also a one time premium which maximum payout is $250K but no one replied and I also forgot about it until recently.. But I'll make sure I'll opted for it next time for my 2nd child.

Hi sun_moon, can feel what you are going through now. I actually forbid my husband from paying anything for my pregnancy or the baby, be it the baby cot which I bought 2 weeks ago (S$168 with mattress and beddings), pumps, clothes, my antenatal course and my checkup package. Not that I'm financially stable, but I already know that this is some big cost and my hubby at some point of time would not be able to understand the logic behind some purchases / payments and I find it pointless to go through any agony of a fight. So far, I guess I have spend close to $2K for the above. If my husband is to pay for everything, he will be grumbling none stop....
but when I see all those Winnie The Pooh clothings...I just couldn't stop myself.... haha

My next purchases will be the stroller and the car seat, any recommendations? me really not that good in this area...

Just like to ask all MTBs, do you experience crampy pains in your tummy (at the front and sides), been feeling quite abit of such pains and wonder is it due to ligaments stretching or womb expanding?

Well got to pop out for a while, come back shortly.

Cheers! :p

jannie, okie will try out the EYS one..ever tried the Lo Hang Ka one but not very nice leh i personally felt...

twinkle, thanks! will give the honey and lemon a try tonite (now a bit desperate liow all remedies will try liow..hahah)..u dun bother about wat ur in laws say about your girl okie..once they see bb they will melt one lah..

ya on past few days i really feel very crampy on sides and front too. at times painful to even move around...is this normal? a bit worry leh...

hmm think i am the laziest mtb here.(paiseh)..have not bought a single item for my bb yet..hb kept pestering me to go to the bb hypermart but i still no mood leh.,..aiyo must buck up liow... regarding the mat clothings, i think i only spent $200 so far coz got hand me down...

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, u r not alone! I had not buy anything for BB too!!
Was thinkin of buying near year end!! Waiting for the sale!!
By the way, for new born clothing, no need to buy too much as BB outgrown the cloth very fast!

As for maternity clothing, i had not officially wear yet. I usually wore those bigger size clothing though my stomach is showing! <font color="ff6000">Sun Moon</font>, if need be, then, maybe u just buy one or two piece very nice one for you to wear when u going for dinner.

So far, i had some hand-me down and i only buy some tops from Future State when they are having sale at $9 per pc! I just mix and match!!

Wow <font color="0077aa">JayKay</font>, i am impressed! It is nice to have someone with medical knowledge around! Think ur advice is better than the one given by that specialist!!

Hi JayKay,

Thats a lot... now then u feel xim tia... hee hee.. shldnt have ask if thats the case... one person xim tia better than all xim tia rite... ha ha...

Hi dolphina/ocean,

same here, I have not bought anything yet. Hopefully can buck up for the next few weeks...

btw, wat are the impt items that we have to buy first or those that needs a lot of shopping to decide?

oceans,

ya man jaykay advises are far more better than that specialist.. i still not convince by wat the professor say leh...make no sense at all...hahah sound as if i know alot....

heee lucky got a khaki here who have not buy anything yet..but hor dun think me or esp hb can tahan till year end then buy..alot people advise to settle most things before 3rd tri else tummy too big n tired to move around freely...

wah impressed leh u still have not start on mat wear??? u must be very petie in size then..so now everything is fine after the scan, u can start to wear liow lor....

twinkle,

i dunno where to start also leh but hubby say must go see see look look those big bulky items like stroller, cot and car seat to compare prices and model and then decide ...

bb clothings wise, will have some hand me downs from frds and relatives but yet to collect from them... wat a lazy mummy here....

Sun Moon,
Relax, relax!
Dun think too much! Both party must try to be understanding &amp; considerate to avoid unhappy things from happening. If boy boy know abt yr quarrel because of mat clothes, hell feel not happy too. Cool down and stay happy, ok?

Catz &amp; twinkle,
Poor girl! Hopefully the leg cramp wont attack you often.
Sometimes I feel women really really pai mia! For the 1st time, pain! (your know lah!) During pregnancy, I can say from head to leg..whole body pain! During labour, pain again!......why we must suffer all this huh?

Jaykay, Piggy, TSH, emonster
Wow, your tummy oso quite big huh!
Esp emonster, so huge! BTW, your BB how many weeks liow?
I think this is the average measurement at this stage right? However, at least we know our baby is doing well now.

Last nite till this morning, I din feel BB movement, so worry and told my hb. Then both of us talk to my BB: bao bei, what are u doing? u still sleeping huh? why so quiet? Immediately, I can felt BB kickingso amazing!
(May be last nite too tired, never talk to him, so hes showed temper to me, hee hee!)

Piggy, dolphina
My 1st pregnancy never take blood test for glucose test. So far for this one, my gynae oso never mention need to go thru glucose test (touch wood). I think depend on individual. (if yr family member is a diabetic.)

dolphina,
I think u can compare prices and model first, Dec 04 then shop and start to buy yr bb stuff lor!
Now very impt : do take care of yrself!

Hi Evelyn, I'm only in my 21 weeks going 22 this Friday. Wasn't a slim gal before preg (waistline 28), so now boom to 38 is like something very amazing.... dunno whether is Phoebe absorbing most of the nutrients or me......
Still feel that I'm absorbing most of the nutrients and not baby because she's quite kitchit.....haha

Am starting my antenatal class in TMC on 18 Sept at 2pm... anyone attending class at this timeslot??? BTW anybody delivering at TMC, saw in one of the posting, but couldn't remember which MTB liao...

I didn't start buying baby stuff until 2 weeks ago, but when you start, things just keep getting in..... So enjoy shopping!!!

Anyone experiencing the crampy pains at tummy??? Quite worried about the pains...

evelyn,

thanks! yalor now my priority is to recover from my cough..sigh was thinking 1st tri so miserable with the MS thingy then maybe moving on to 2nd tri liow can start to enjoy..but now hor still cannot leh...still cannot eat my ice cream (me craving like crazy for ice cream now...haha)then heard that 3rd is no honeymoon liow also...arghhh

yaya i also think we woman "hard life" lah....have to endure all sorts of pains in our life...and hor come to think of it have to take care of family and juggling working life...tough leh..but wat to do ...

jialat seems like i have been complaining non-stop the whole week...must be the hormones faults (my hb favorite phase whenever i lost my cool)

Well ladies... i have also been telling myself to relax ... so i try not to think too much and just get thru one day at a time. Shopping for a few more mat clothes is a must cos those that i bought previously seems a bit tight now leh. I dont have any dresses so far, and most of the pants are getting so tight that i am afriad it wont do baby good. I dont know why, but been to a few shops to see see look look yet nothing caught my eyes. Are all mat clothes so aunty looking? I think going forward i will shop w/o my hubby around. Maybe i shd just pay for them myself ( with my savings from past working days ).

Since all of you are comparing tummy... i got curious and measure mine too... and it's 36 inches... also quite big hor! :p

Catz, thanks for the clarification on the car seat. i didnt know Enevflo not as good... almost got talked into buying that...phew! Will try to look for those brands that you mentioned.

okay.. got to go now... drop in again soon.

Hi emonster &amp; twinkle,

I am delivering at TMC.EDD is 06 Jan 2005. That makes 3 mtbs delivering there now. Any more to join us?

Is anyone considering the cord life thingy? One company is cordlife, which company is the other uh? Anyone makes a decision on which to go for?

Me also have crampy feeling. Sometimes baby like go into a ball and then suddenly releases it self. Don't know doing what inside me. The cramps can be on either of the sides, stretching to the anus area. Anyone have same feeling?

emonster, Piggy
Izzit the crampy pains at tummy like balloon want to blast like tat? i've this feeling but dunno same as your or not? Oh ya, i've hip cramps too, aiyo, so painful!

Sun moon,
Are all mat clothes so aunty looking? I dun think so leh! I found tat nowadays the mat clothes look so nice &amp; more design if compare to last time. (may be you've high expectation??) Are u free next Friday 17/9/04? May be I can shop with u &amp; give u some ideas, how?
A, you've part time job liow huh?

Sun moon,
I think i've misunderstanding. What u meant was yr saving from past working days should be before be a SAHM right?

Piggy, me also wanna be TMC mom.. just have to confirm that all is well with Baby Timothy's heart before I decide.. if things are not good, then I'll have to opt for KKH but my heart has been set on TMC single-bed all along
I was also considering cord-blood banking but it's kind of pricey.

emonster, don't worry, the cramps are normal.. it's your ligaments stretching to accomodate Phoebe! But if they feel weird and menstrual, do monitor yourself.. if not, it should just be normal round ligament pains. I've been waking up with pains around my stomach too - maybe my little boy has kicked me too much!

Sun_moon, Evenflo is OK for carseats but their prams aren't very lasting. So their travel system is kind of a dud since you only want the pram.

JayKay, can I check with you what kinds of Px acne medication is OK for pregnancy? I know Differin (adapaleic acid?) and anything with Vit A is out of the question. Is Dalacin OK for use?

emonster, I'm another Winnie the Pooh nut!! There's a lot of Classic Pooh stuff and I bought up most of the items - blankets, quilt, recvg blankets, onesies, outfits.. hehe.. I love the white Classic Pooh stuff 'cos it's so unisex and babies look so good in whites and creams. Trying to get as much Classic Pooh stuff as I can from here so I can do up baby's room in Classic Pooh motif.

Err.. if I total up how much I spent on maternity clothing, I think I will xim tia too.. I bought quite a lot of items on clearance for around $2-$8 but it all adds up lor... :p

Evenlyn... yes i meant my pre-SAHM days. Actually, prior to moving to overseas w my hubby, i had a decent job, but quit to follow him there. Now that both of us are back, and i am pregnant... i naturally cant look for job yet. I still thinking between being a SAHM or going back to work. Right now, still have some personal savings and sometimes i use it for personal indulgence that i dun wish to explain to my hubby. Anyway, next friday i will be free, and would be nice to shop together.

Have been thinking of names for my boy boy... maybe i should ask for some opinions here. Hubby came up with two names... can everyone tell me which one you think is nicer? Aramis or Ethan.

Hi Catz,
Yes, you are correct on Differin and any other retinoids (vit A) topical preparation. However, I also would not recommend Dalacin as a certain percentage (low levels) of the topical preparation are known to be absorbed into the blood stream. Can you tolerate the breakouts for the time being? I believe it's quite a lot of pimples to warrant you to seek treatment. I would suggest that you use OTC preparations containing benzoyl peroxide (Oxy, Clearasil, etc) or may be try tea-tree gels which are safer alternatives. I know it's difficult because of those comments from people. Must tahan tahan for the sake for little Tim ok?

Hi Sun Moon,
I think Ethan is a nice name. Hey Sun Moon, which part in the East are you staying? May be can pass you my discount card from Thyme Maternity. Let me know if you are interested.

Hi Oceans &amp; Dolphina, thanks for the compliments.

Jaykay.. i staying along opposite East Cost... and can see Big Splash from my windows. Thanks for the kind offer... actually i do have the Thyme card too. I am just thinking maybe i should pop in there to have a look again next week. So far, their items are not so aunty looking among the rest. My problem is, with the tummy expanding, all the pants i bought are no longer comfy to wear when i sit down. I dont want to squeeze my baby so i am considering buying some skirts or dresses now. However, nice skirts/dresses arent easy to find.

Have started my swimming routine again. Now i try to make it a point to swim everyday... i feel happier after swimming. Highly encourage all mommies to swim more often.

Hi Sun Moon,

You can try shopping at Perfect Mum (at Tg Pagar). I bought most of my maternity clothings there. I find their cuttings nice and trendy esp the pants which definitely dun look aunty cos its a bit bell at the bottom (hee hee). Their prices are on the high side though , pants cost $69.9 less 15%(can ask the lady if she can give u discount). If you happen to be at Thyme at Suntec, do drop by at Desiree Maternity whch I think they carry quite nice pants and skirts too. Its on the same floor as Thyme.
Happy shopping.

GOOD MORNING!!!!

Hi Piggy &amp; Twinkly: So glad to see that both of you are also delivery at TMC. Looks like our dates are quite near.... my EDD is 16 Jan, high possibility of us screaming together, or straight after one another.... if that's the case, then we have more kakis during our stay
Have any of you sign up for the antenatal classes? So which class of rooms are you opting for? Me still deciding on the two and single bedder.... still working on the costs....

Hi Catz, Thank you for your advise on the pains.... but still quite worried and monitoring because it does somewhat feels abit like menstual pain.... very hard to describe.... sometimes I wonder is it tummy ache... can't really tell the pains apart. I knew initially that you are going to deliver at TMC, but might choose KKH... I love the single bedded at TMC too and oh yes, the new one and only delivery room with Jacuzzi pool is really wonderful... I'm praying for baby Tim everyday...
talking about the Classic Winnie The Pooh collection, this is enough to blow my pockets apart... They are so adorable.. I saw one rompers which I'm still thinking about it now.... might get it during this weekend. And my friend bought Phoebe a cute pair of booties with a bear paw print at the bottom.... so cute.....
I'm working on a 1000 pc puzzle to decorate Phoebe's room... see I'm really a Pooh Pooh bear fan...

Hi Evelyn... the pains are quite hard to describe, a bit of pulling at both sides, some soreness at the bottom of tummy, sometimes abit of cramp at the area near virginal... hard to describe...

Hi sun_moon... Aramis sounds nice but I prefer Ethan, more unique.... and sounds handsome.... haha just my point of view...

<font color="ff6000">Sun Moon</font>, how to pronnounce Aramis?
Scare i pronounce wrongly!

<font color="119911">Twinkle</font>, maybe we start from the things that we need for BB when we bring our Darling home base on daily needs:-
1) 3 Milk Bottles - 2 for milk and 1 for drinking of plain water.
However, not sure if there will be any changes if we are breast-feeding.
2) Manual/Electric Pump - If breast-feeding, we probably need the pump to help to extract milk.

3) Sterilizer - To clean the milk bottles
4) Pacificer - We need 2. One for daytime and the other for night. The night time one, the pacificer must be flat outside so that in case BB fall asleep, there is no pertuding part that will hurt BB.
5) Dypers - Heard that as BB is still very small, we need to buy those small size one! Also must ensure that the tape is adjustable.
6) Bath Tub and bathing lotion
7) Clothing and Towel
8) Baby Clot/Playpen - For BB sleeping time. Think i will only use playpen.

9) Stroller - I had not buy stroller yet. I think this is impt. But there is so many in the market hor, dun noe what to choose.
10) Wet Tissues - Oh, this is useful especially if BB "pu pu" outside or BB sylvia keep dripping!!
Very convenient!!
11) Car Seat - If u owe a car
12) Mosiquto Repellent - You noe those Johnson BB lotion in green colour one to prevent mosquito from bitting BB as BB flesh should be sweeter than ours!
This is usually used when we bring BB outside.
Ai yooo.... dun noe still got what else lah, but think the above are a must! <font color="aa00aa">Evelyn</font>, maybe can help us to see what i miss out!