(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Dolphina,

ha? how to go abt clinic A? Normally my check up at Ang Mo Kio, KK Women Clinic leh! Last week the detailed scan went directly to 2nd floor, ADC.

If not wrong,
1. put the booklet on the tray
2. wait for Q no.
3. they will call u, register & give u Q no.
4. u can go to do routine urine test and weight measurement, while your hubby can go to take Q no for u for u/s(just next to clinic A)
5. After ur urine test & w msment, u can meet-up hubby wait for the u/s.
6. After u/s, with the Q no.(from clinic A), u can visit your gynae liow.

If not clear enough, maybe u can check with them again, ok?

Dolphina,

Me & hubby only thot of girl name, boy one not yet leh! Actually my family planning to have 1 boy 1 girl, who know......

Now still not decide yet whether want to close factory or not? C how lor!
141789.gif

My sis & IL encourage me try for next one...But one of my fred told be better stop at 2. If not, like her's brot, try n try n try...till 4, all boy!
141790.gif

How many kids u plan to have? Dolphina & all MTBs?
If happen tat u have 2 boy, will u try for a girl?

TSH,
Did u received my email? (to ur yahoo.)
Can you please call my friend A.S.A.P? B'coz she will be due end of this mth. (If u need the Bpump, better arrange before she go to delivery.) ok? Thanks.

Sun moon,
Welcome back to Singapore!!! (next week hor?)
It's common & MUST talk to our BB often....sound a bit silly but shower BB with love mah! Ask yr hubby also must do tat, so that boy boy will be close to both of u. (Tai Jiao!)

Jay Kay,
Wah! not bad man! Yr hubby know how to make u laugh! It's good u know, happy life! next time Ah Boy must be "Smile Always"!
141800.gif

Very easy to take care hor!

jaykay,

your hubby so funny....

evelyn,
i also visit my gynae at AMK thats why not too sure how to go about doing the registration at KKH itself... i always thot we have to press a Q no at the machine first then wait for our turn when the no. is called. thanks with your explanation i aga aga know how liow....

the nurse at AMK told me to go straight to 2nd flr at ADC. after scan then proceed to clinic A coz the appt time at ADC is earlier than gynae one. just dun know what to do when reaching clinic A lor

aiyo think too early to decide whether to have 2nd one or not....wat if the first experience is that bad then maybe dare not try for 2nd one liow...heeeee

Dolphina, do u know where is Clinic C and AMC? When we walked in from the front door at Women Specilist Tower, go straight is Clinic C. So from the front door, u turned to ur left where AMC is located. Clinic A is just beside AMC.
Hope this help!
But, u meant u never see ur gynae before?

Hi Evelyn,

I want to have 3 kids. But hubby said that 2 is enough. If the second one is a boy, I'll try for a girl. You know how sweet little girls are...and then you can dress them up with pretty dress, shoes and tie their hair. My hubby would want a girl so that he can spoil her (daddy's girl).

evelyn, Jaykay,
me too... i will try to have a girl for the next one, but if it is a boy still, i will try one more time, but that's the max i think... really hope to have both boy and girl in the family. But cannot have too many kids, if not hubby and me will never get to retire liao! The more kids, the less each one gets... in terms for money for education and other stuff like travelling... just my thoughts la.

oceans,

heeee, i meant i usually see my gynae at AMK clinic and not at KKH.... have been to AMC and ADC before but not at clinic A...so was not too sure how to go about registrating at clinic A for appt...dun wan to blur blur wait in vain then realise got everything wrong lor...

at amk, its very straight forward, just drop the booklet and the rest all self service and wait for our turn to see gynae. but i rem seeing people pressing a Q no. at clinic A. so was wondering is there a need to press a Q No. or to drop the booklet on the tray...and then proceed to do the routine before our turn or have to wait for the nurse to call us then proceed to do the routine test...

solly for being so long-winded hor...

Hi Evelyn,

Aiyo, so sorry leh, I only read "Just asked my fren Jenny to contact u thrg email ..." then ngong ngong kept waiting for your friend's email, and wondering why your friend didn't contact me.. :p

o.k. Will call her later today. Thanks for the reminder.

JayKay,
So strange, your gynae told you to watch your weight?? My gynae was beaming when I finally put on weight and you've put on less than me so far. The rest of me is also pre-preggie state so all of it is going to bb, but my bump much more obvious now so I'm pretty sure the weight gain is mostly baby weight. But I'm eating quite normally these days, not really snacking much at all. I think it's better to put on more than less... I have a friend who was rather small size and she put on only 7.5kg for her whole pregnancy. Although she gave birth to a healthy boy, everyone was really worried that the baby wasn't getting enough nutrients when she was near term and her tummy was still so small. Her baby weighed slightly over 3kg, which is lighter than the average 3.2kg and he looked so small and scrawny, unlike other babies who look chubby. I think that's when hubby started scaring me and I think if I didn't put on a little more, he'd probably force feed me! Now her baby has gained some weight and is very cute & chubby - looks just like her. Even she said that the baby is a lot better off outside than inside her.

Wish i am in you ppl's shoe... i am wondering is there any way i could lose some kgs by exercising or walk more often hahaaa.. i dont believe baby took all the 8 kg i gained.. in fact, the baby dun weight much at this stage. So minus the weight for the extra blood, placenta... the rest has to be FATS!!!! My hubby has his funny way of cheering me up... he always tells me it all went to the breasts... which is indeed bigger than before ... but that can't take up so much kg too wat. Maybe the trip to Aussie didnt help... was eating fish and chips and seafood basket almost everyday...

Oh i see, <font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>! I was thinking how come u said that u r going for the first time!
So, now u roughly know where is Clinic A liao? It is just located beside the AMC!
U just placed ur booklet on the tray and the nurse will scan it and give up the Q number. The rest is just like what <font color="119911">Evelyn</font> decribe!

As for the pressing the Q number, that is more likely for the followup after seeing doc for appt and payment!

Talking abt weight, nobody asked me to watch my weight. In fact, i gained abt 5kg leh!
Hmmm... maybe i shld ask the doc on my next appt!

Hehee.. JayKay, your husband is so cute lah.. The WombSong thingie actually has a mic for talking to baby but we haven't used it yet.. maybe I'll start off with the Mozart first.. sekali scare the poor fella with my booming voice HELLOOOOO!?
You're so lucky to have the 3D photos. So does your baby look like you or hubby?

Wah, I really hope to have one boy one girl too.. I think I will age prematurely if I have 2 boys 'cos they are very active. Die die not more than 3 kids 'cos I think it's very hard to cope lor.

sun_moon, don't worry, a lot of weight gain is also from the additional blood in your body and your expanding liver and kidneys.. don't forget that you will need 25-50% more blood to support baby

Hmm.. I think I was 61kg pre pregnancy, now currently back at 61kg again 'cos appetite is back.. plus the birds' nest concentrate I've been taking is pretty full of calories too. I actually thought that my boobs were bigger in the first trimester..maybe they were swollen then?

Most of the ladies here at with KKH?

Thanks for sharing!
I was initially abt 44kg before pregnancy, now 49kg(BB at wk 22 liow!) gained abt 5kg. If compare to my 1st one, a bit lost leh! (last time at this stage, me oredi 52kg lor!)

Sun moon,
You're right! maybe I'll try one more but oso LAST one!(max!)

Hi all &amp; Sun moon,
I've checked the book tat Moms-to-be need exercise. Exercise is good for your mood, for weight control &amp; strength &amp; stamina. Women who exercise regularly during pregnancy tend to have shorter labors.

30mins of moderate exercise every day is an excellent goal for pregnant women. Don't push yrself too hard: U should feel as if u're working hard but could still hold a conversation. Going for a brisk walk for abt 30mins every day is a great start for those who aren't used to exercising regularly.

Swimming or participating in water aerobics is probably the best type of exercise for pregnant women. The water supports your extra weight, helps you stay cool, lessens any swelling in your legs, and generally makes u feel refreshed &amp; invigorated.

Hope this can help all.

Hi BabyD,
Yes, my gynae was telling to watch my weight may be because he's afraid that I may put on too much each month (more than 2kg) and will be out of control by the time I deliver. I have also heard of cases you mentioned above that the baby is a bit scrawny when mummy does not put on enough weight.

Sigh....I wish my hubby is like your hubby, BabyD....my hubby has been telling me not to gorge myself with food. He keeps telling me that celebrity like Wong Li Lin still looks so good during pregnancy - so slim and sexy - why can't I be like her....sob, sob....

Hubby also said that I better don't put on too much weight because I may encounter difficulties giving birth if baby gets too big to pass through the birth canal. Then I will need to go for Caesarean (he's not pro-Caesarean).

Well, I have been taking 3 regular meals and no snacks. But sometimes when my mouth is 'itchy' I will nibble on some biscuits. BabyD, I'm so envious of you!!!

Hi Catz,
I can't tell from the photos whether baby looks like hubby or me. Probably when he gets bigger, then I may have a better picture of his facial features. But from what I was told by gynae, baby is fat. He weighs about 313g at 19 weeks.

Catz, agree with you that I will age prematurely if I have 2 boys also. They can be little monsters at times isn't it? But I would rather have a naughty boy then a quiet one. They are more amusing when they are naughty isn't it? Heehee....

Hi dolphina,
Since the nurse asked u go straight to 2nd flr at ADC, then very easy lah!
Just to remind u, after yr detailed scan at ADC, remember bring along the scan docm to visit yr gynae at Clinic A.(I think the nurse will give them to u.) OK?
Aiya, even 1st experience tat bad(assume only), u oso must have at least 2 kids mah! If not, the eldest one v lonely leh!

Hi JayKay,
True! little girls really sweet......
142225.gif

I'am so envy my sis! Her litte princess so sweet, so pretty.....(now 8mths+). My sis always dress her up with pretty dress, shoes, bandana.....Wah! so cute!

Hi Catz,
Yap, I think 3 of us(me, dolphina &amp; Ocean) with KKH. Maybe twinkle too(not sure).
I find Dr John Tee is good, tat's why I chose KKH.

hello girls,

TGIF...cant wait for the sunday rally....

thanks evelyn,ok will bear that in mind!! yalor i also think 2 is perfect esp 1 girl 1 boi but this kind of thing hard to say lah... i am so scare that i will be put off by the 1st one liow so dare not think of the 2nd one first...hahah but then hor, many others are like you, will forget about all the misery and will go for the 2nd one after a while right....

evelyn, are u working or a stay at home mum??

How I wish I can constantly log on to chat with you gals. However, I do come in to read but not post msg because my office is into open concept hence anybody can see what you are doing..sigh. Hence you gals might think I "disappear"
sometimes. Have read a lot abt your comments on bb's size, hubby etc etc... me enjoy reading...

For me, I am not snacking but eating 3 meals a day. Occasionally will snack but will try to refrain cos I m also the weight-conscious type. I measured myself today and found an increase of 4kg, now my weight is 56 kg liao...
I m seeing my gynae next Mon but I am not sure when my detailed scan will be. Heard that it will be on week 20th? I m in my 18th week now. Except for 1/2 colleagues that knows I m pregnant cos I told them , the rest still cant tell I m pregnant, goodness.... sometimes I do get worried why my tummy is growing at such a slow pace, maybe i will ask my gynae next week.

I took a second blood test and the results think is out, but my gynae did not call up to say anything leh.. so am I safe?
Will we have another test during the 5th mth detailed scan? And what do I expect from the scan?

Sorry, so many quest to ask..

Hi Dolphina,
Bravo to you on your courageous act to start wearing maternity clothing. I am also starting soon.... hee hee...

Hi Evelyn,

My gynae is not at KKH, its at Raffles place, but he does delivery at TMC.

Today is friday... my last day being a housewife alone in HK... so stressed up with the cancelation of utilities that i feel that my blood pressure also shoot up. My poor boy boy... hope he is okay inside.
Think now is time to find out more about shopping for baby stuff. Anyone has any idea where is a good 'one-stop' shop for all baby items? Advice everyone to start getting your stuff before the last 2 months in the 3rd trimester... guess will be very big and heavy to be shopping around too much then. I think now is still honeymoon period and we shd make use of this time to do most of the preperation.

Jaykay, are you and me the only two deliverying in Glen E? have you signed up for package already? How much are you paying ah??

Hi Sun Moon,
Don't get stress up. Not good for yourself and baby. I can understand there's a lot of paper work and calls involve at this time. Take deep breaths and relax ok? I can't help you on the one-stop shopping place. I'm quite clueless myself because I'm totally relying on hand-me-downs from frens and relatives. But I was told that there's the place in Paya Lebar - it's call Baby Mart or something- where they sell everything from cots, prams to clothings. May be the rest of the ladies here can enlighten us.

Sun Moon, yes, looks like we are the only 2 delivering in Glen E. I don't need to sign up a package with my gynae because all my consultation and delivery charges are waived. I'm only required to pay for the scans, lab tests and the vitamins that I purchased from the clinic and the hospitalisation fee. I heard my gynae's clinic assistant will be booking the hospital bed for me soon. I haven't decided on whether to go for a 1-bedder or 2-bedder. What about yourself?

Oh, Sun Moon, please take care when handling your luggage and stuff, we don't want you to overstrain yourself okay? Ask hubby to be nice and carry everything for you mah.

thanks jaykay... i will try to relax and not to be so uptight. Hubby also called and told me to let it go... he say will take over tomorrow when he doesnt have to work. At least i am relief now.

btw, how come so good all your consultation and delivery charges are waived? You or hubby working in Parkway Group or your company paying for you? Guess can save alot of money here right. I should be going for single bedder room la. if in HK, i might go for 3 bedder room cos here it's very expensive, but since back in spore, will take one bedder since rate is not too high still. We are hoping that company will pay too, but have no confirmation yet so praying hard now.

Hi JayKay,

Why your consultation and delivery charges are waived? is that means you actually signed a package which include all these before? with the gynae or with the hospital? I only know normally you have to sign one with the gynae and one with the hospital (for delivery), dun know they got two-in-one package leh..??

twinkle,

hey me too leh, actually no one knows that i am expecting even those i am pretty close to one until last week coz my boss big mouth (i only told him 2 weeks ago also)go and announce to everyone in the office...everyone was surprise coz no one actually suspected anything at all.

aiyo i actually plan to play a little prank on all..i intend to just turn up with maternity wear one day but now my plan spoilt liow tats why i decided to wear yesterday since not much fun liow lah.. haha

sun-moon,
yalor dun get so stress up just enjoy your last few days in HK. maybe next time when u back in SG u will begin to miss it liow...btw how long have u been in HK?

sun-moon/jaykay
actually hor, i have not started to buy a single bb item... dun know where to start with... hubby say wait till know bb gender than can start else a bit diff coz dun know wat color and pattern to buy lor...i think quite true lah so have to wait till next month the earliest i guess...heeee oh i think that baby hypermart location is at ubi, there are actually 2 similar one within the same vincity..one is call baby kingdom but cannot rem the other one name..these days memory really failing liow.

girls,

i have been having slight and occassional pain/cramp like feeling on abdominal and stomache area leh..is it common/ normal at this stage? dunno is it whole body trying to expand thats why feeling it this way.. a bit worried leh... arghhh

Hi Sun Moon &amp; TSH,
My consultations and gynae delivery charges are waived because my hubby is a doctor. This is an understanding within the medical profession. But I have to say I saved a lot of money from here as I can also claim for my scans and lab tests from my company. I would only have to come out with money for hospitalisation. I think I would go for a 1-bedder also. I guess I'm really very lucky. All these money saved will be used for baby when he comes out.

Hi Dolphina,
I also haven't bought anything from baby yet. However, my cousin is going to give me a cot and I have gotten a play pen from a colleague. I have also received baby feeding bottles yesterday. Another of my colleague is going to pass her son's baby clothings to me. So it seems I don't have to buy anything yet. Just waiting for a pram....heehee....

Ladies, have a good weekend okay!!

dolphina, hehe.. your boss really has a big mouth eh??
Hmm.. as for the stomach pain, it's really 'cos we are stretching and the round ligaments are expanding to accomodate the uterus.. I am also having pains and I think you will get a painful sensation when the uterus reaches the belly button level and pushes it out.. seems that everyone's belly button will pop out by 6th month, that's what I've read.

sun_moon, try to take it easy with the relocation... best to leave it to your husband

JayKay, you are really so lucky to have your medical covered by your company!!! Plus your free consultations etc..Plus you can get handmedowns.. I will not have any handmedowns as I do not know anyone close who's a mum plus I'm the first in my family to have a baby. *sigh* My SIL had all handmedowns but they were on loan only.. so we have to spend quite a bit on baby stuff lor.. BTW, can tell your husband that not everyone can be like Wong Li Lin lah... so unrealistic to be a chio mother and not to mention, stressful!

Hi Catz,
I've been trying to tell my hubby that....either he is trying to make sure that I don't put on unnecessary weight or he's just plain mean. Well, I take it that it's the former. But I always wonder how these celebrities do it. You know, still look so wonderful during pregnancy and after? It is in their genes? They somehow makes pregnancy looks like a breeze....sigh....
Hey, don't worry about the hand-me-downs, I believe your relatives and friends will also buy some baby stuff as gifts for you right? Just make a wish list. Ask your hubby to hint to his colleagues and your parents to hint to the relative...just make sure the gifts don't overlap...heehee...

Have a good weekend!!

<font color="ff6000">JayKay</font>, now i understand why ur hubby dun wanna u to put on more weight. Maybe cos of his profession, he felt that if u get too big, during delivery time, it will be hard on you. Also on junk food, he knows how unhealthy all these snacks are!

thanks everyone... i will take it easy... in fact as the day draw closer... i am feeling kind of more excited. Now am really in the full force of packing stage. After tomorrow i will not have interent access so will be disappearing from this forum for a while until i am back in Spore.

Jaykay you are really so so lucky.. can save alot of money on the medical fees. I dun have hand me downs too cos my close frens are all pregnant at the same time as me and in my family, i am also the first to be pregnant. So buying baby stuff is a must, and choosing among so many brands and models is my biggest headache. Buy wrongly very jia lat one! Maybe we could start a summary for all the neccessary items and list down three top popular brands to make everything easy for everyone?! eg

Cot :
PlayPen :
Pram :
Milk Bottles and Steriliser : Avent
Breast Pump : Medala, Avent

i suppose the list goes on but i have no time to do this now... hopefully each of us could just add on whatever we know and make this work la.

okay i have to go back to my packing for now... have a godd weekend everyone!

Hey JayKay, well, your husband should also know that as a pregnant woman, it's better to have smaller meals so as long as you keep your snacks healthy, he shouldn't complain so much. Aiyah, I find that I am snacking on a lot of Chips Ahoy and Pringles, that's why my stomach is really pushing out these days
Luckily, my husband knows how sensitive I am about weight gain and plus with my horrible pimples, he's really trying to be extra nice.. especially cos we will be separated from end Oct onwards...

sun_moon, what a good idea! I've read up a lot on baby items too 'cos no handmedowns.. Mine is an American-biased list though..

PlayPen - one and only that you should buy is Graco due to safety concerns on other brands as the playpens can sometimes fold in when the baby is still playing in it!

Pram - Combi, Aprica are good brands.. I bought a Peg Perego P3 which some people find heavy but I think it's really great

Milk bottles and paraphernalia- I've bought all Avent stuff, incl microwave steriliser..

BTW, a couple of books I've read do caution about accepting handmedowns for a couple of items - car seat (should not use anything more than 6 years old and also anything that has been in an accident), crib (very long para given, I'll type it in below) and playpen (due to poorer safety measures in older models).

Don't buy a used or old crib and don't take a handmedown from a well-meaning friend or relative. Why? B/c old cribs can be death traps - spindles that are too far apart, cutouts in the headboard and other hazards that could entrap your baby. Decorative trim, such as turned posts that look great on adult beds are a major no-no for cribs - they present a strangulation hazard. Other old cribs have lead paint, a dangerous peril for a teething baby. Another hazard to handmedown cribs (regardless of age): missing parts and directions. It only takes one missing screw or bolt to make an otherwise safe crib into a death trap. Without directions, you can assemble the crib wrong and create additional safety hazards. So even if your friend wants to sell/give you a recent model crib, you could still have problems if parts or directions are missing. (Taken from Baby Bargains book)

morning girls,

abit disppointed leh. been hearing rumours last week that mat leave will be extended to 4 months and now become 3..but better than none lah....

dun think there is any paternity leave right. another disappointment....

hmmm..so do u all feel that the bb getting more active and "bo eng" these days or not. dunno is it i have been lazing in bed over the weekend and find bb so active.....having a lot of commotion in my tummy....haha

Hi Dolphina &amp; others,

Ya, me quite disappointed too. Basically for me nothing is clear in the PM's speech yesterday. I am only a PR, if the 3rd month is paid by the government, then I guess I won't be entitled to, so sad ..

Also, the childcare leave, dun know whether it is two days per parent per child below 7 or what..

Any idea what will be the range of fee for infant care after the $400 subsidy? also, both hubby and I work in university, I guess university is not "schools" hor? so still have to work 5.5 day week..sian lah...

wasting my time sitting in front of TV for 3+ hours..

TSH,

dun be so sad, guess have to wait for the full details first.

yalor this is the first time i sat thru the whole thing leh and then it became the last topic and everything is so unclear...

how much tax relief and wat bb bonus are we entitled to etc etc?? aiyo then still have to wait till Wednesday for the full details....really waste our time...hahaha

Good morning ladies!

Dolphina, can't agree more with you that last night was a bit of a let down because there were rumours going around that it was going to be 4 months. But having an extra 4 weeks is better than nothing. I guess all of us must go and get a copy of the Straits Times on Wed. Like you, I've never sat through the PM Rally before and last night was my first time. However, I thought PM Lee was quite candid and inspiring at times. Let's cross our fingers for the best.

TSH, don't give up just yet. Let's all wait for Wednesday's details. Regarding infant-care charges, I was told that it cost about $1,100-$1,400. Hence, with the subsidy, we will still need to fork out at least $700. Hey TSH, don't worry about the 5-day work week. May be the Uni may align themselves with Civil Service.

Hi All, actually dun feel so disappointed lah on the speech. I think our PM Lee speech was quite serious but with a touch of humour. Din noe i can enjoy such political issues. The only part that i find boring was on the part he is talking abt the education. Nearly fall asleep..

I think the Babies Benefits are such:-
<font color="0000ff">1) Extension of Maternaity Leave to 12 wks. This is extended to up to the 4th child</font>
I heard abt the 4mths and 6mths benefits. However, i felt that both are too long and might affect Women's employment status. Employer might not want to employ women as compared to guys given everything the same. However, i think maybe govt shld give the father longer parentanity leave.
<font color="119911">2) Reduction of Maid Levy</font>
<font color="0000ff">3) Given Infant and childcare subsidisy</font>
<font color="119911">4) Baby Bonus from 1st child to 4th child</font>
Not sure abt the details for this though
<font color="0000ff">5) 5 Days Work Week which apply to Civil Servant</font>
How nice! Really wished that i had joined the govt... However, i understd not all ministry can enjoy such benefits. Eg the Police Force, those army camp that required excercis/flyin/sailing on Sat... Cannot be dun protect country on Sat and Sun wat..
<font color="119911">6) 2 days Childcare Leave for pple with children below 7yrs old</font>
Dun noe is it per child 2days; or per parents with children below 7yrs 2days or per family regardless of the number of children

Actually, i think our govt is quite good lah. Seriously whether to give birth or not is a couple family business and it became a nation issue.

Hi Oceans,

5) 5 Days Work Week which apply to Civil Servant
--if I am not wrong, this 5 days work week scheme is going to be flexible that you can choose one day on the week off, i.e. not necessary all work from Mon to Fri, can be Tue to Sat, etc.

6) 2 days Childcare Leave for pple with children below 7yrs old

-- on the Year-end MTBs thread, they all say it's per child per year per parent leh, i think this way is fair enough lah, how can those have four kids below 7 get only two days off and those have only one kid below 7 also get two days off??

Actually quite disappointed cos' i thot the maternity leave will be 4 months. And then they never mentioned anything abt paternity leave..

Only happy that now the first child also get the baby bonus..

Maid levy to me is not an impt issue.

Hope to hear good news on Wednesday..

Today "hot" topic!!!

For me, not so disappointed with the maternity leave. If 4 mths, a bit too long leh! (E'yer might not happy with this too.)

Me only disappointed why never mentioned abt paternity leave? (Actually in the 1st week during CF, hubby really impt to us.)

If not wrong! per parents with children below 7yrs entitle for 2days children leave per year. (I dun think based on per child leh!)

Let us wait for the good news on this Wednesday!

Yap, cos this is what affect us. Oh, there is one point that i missed out. I remembered PM Lee talking about <font color="0000ff">Grandparent bonus</font>! For me, the maid levy is not impt as no matter how, i dont trust to have my BB with a maid. So, probably looking at get in-laws or my mum for help! So hopefully got some incentives too for the grandparents.

<font color="ff6000">TSH</font>, that was what i thot too! But hubby was telling me the Civil Servant already been doing that, but not for those operative pple. He said maybe cos they are on shift work! Anyay, this does not affect me! Maybe we shld joined the Civil Servant hor!

Hi Oceans,
I'm actually contemplating joining Civil Service (after giving birth). Their benefits are so good and working environment is so relax. People start packing up to go home at 4.30pm. Sigh, not like us in private sectors, work like dogs....

Are any of you staying with your in-laws or parents? I guess you will benefit from the Grandparents bonus. So good!!

Hi Evelyn,
I was looking forward to paternity leave too. I guess the government still wants the men to be men - work and support the family and Singapore's economy.

Hey <font color="119911">JayKay</font>, that's wat i thot too!! But i wondered if the govt want me now! Afterall, i will not be young liao!

I am not staying with my parent or in-laws leh! Like that, think i cannot get the incentives liao cos, otherwise, how to prove that i had asked parents or in-laws to help?

Guess we will all be looking out for Wed papers!

You know, actually abt the <font color="aa00aa">Maternity Leave</font>. I felt that 4 mths is too long. But if given 12 wks, maybe the govt can also give mum whose BB is below 6mths/1yr of age additional 1 wks(5days) flexible Infant Leave. We can choose to take this 1wk leave anytime after we went back to workforce. This is cos i understand we still need to bring BB to hospital after delivery for immune jab and BB can fall sick easily.

At least, this wun really affect employer so seriously with the flexibility! Also, we wun be so out of touch with the office situation!

Just back from the gynea last evening and she cfm that I am having a ger.. A ger who keeps kicking and poking me every day now.. She cannot keep still while the gynea was trying to get her measurements during the scan.. So this is my little hyperactive princess..

congrats yve!

finally there will be a little princess in our thread liow.... forgetful me...are you the one whos hoping for a ger ger huh???

wonder how the grandparents incentives works hor and how to prove they are taking care of the bb....guess still have to wait till tomolor...dun think they will be a tiny chance of having paternity leave since nothing was mentioned right...indeed very disappointing on this issue....hb help and support is so important in the first week after delivery ya....

dolphina,

No leh, cos all along i tot it is a boy.. then turn out it is a ger.. So okay lor.. as long as it is healthy.. baby is right on schedule, EDD is 19 jan 2005, unchanged..

Oh yeah, I passed my blood test.. have all the right positives and negatives.. And doc din scold me for my 3kg gain in 4 weeks.. heng.. though the recep nurse give me that look..

Wah yve, congrats on being the first one in the thread to have a little girl
Arrgghh.. think about all the cute, pretty things you can doll her up with! Can't wait for my detailed scan on Thursday... I would be surprised if it's a girl lah.. 'cos got such a strong feeling that it's a boy.. as long as it's healthy

Yah I wonder how the grandparents' incentive will work... So far, I'm not too impressed with the measures as it does not address the problems of infertility and treatments.

143332.gif
143333.gif
143334.gif

Yve,
What joy! Conglatulations!!!

Now u can shop for yr little princess all the nice dresses lah, shoes lah......doll her up!

Hi dolphina,
Refering to yr qns on 20/8/04. (forgot to ans u, heeheeee.)
I hope i can be a stay at home mum, so tat i can have more time with my son. On the other hand, I can't be a full time SAHM...(will feel life very sian...) Tat's y now had to work lor! bopian!
143347.gif

O ya, when is yr next gynae appt?

Hi Twinkle,
Oops! so sorry.......
I thot u at KKH too, paiseh!

Hi TSH,
This Friday yr turn to gynae appt right? kan cheong or not?
Just to inform u, Jenny gave birth liao! It's a boy! 3.3kg. Did u manage get the bpump from her?

Hi Catz and BabyD,
If I'm not wrong, this coming Thurday should be your turn liao. I think Catz more excited than babyD (Bcoz babyD oredi knew it's a boy mah, hor?)

Hi Evelyn,

Was about to ask you whether Jenny has given birth..have not get the breast pump from her yet, we supposed to meet on last Saturday but she called up and said she got pain..I told hubby that she might go into labour soon...so when was she pop??

For the appointment, not really kan cheong lah, just a bit curious what is the gender of my bb, my mind is still 50:50, from heart, i think first one is girl is better, but to think about the pressure I may face in the future if this is a girl, then I hope this one is a boy...but no matter how, i think bb is healthy is the most important lah..

So now hope bb is fine, grow healthy in my body, and hope I dun gain too much weight, everything o.k., then good lor..

hi evelyn,

wow u can still trace back to the Qn so far back..hee thanks for the answer thou....

my next appt will be on next fri - the detailed scan....aiyo still have to wait till my neck long long leh....

TSH,
ya i also think likewise as you leh. no strong hunch yet whether girl or boi... also like to have a girl but kinda stress by my in laws too coz they hope for a boi since its their FIRST grandchild ....but then hor wat to do..this is something beyond my control wat (all hb fault mah hahaha)...dun care so much liow....as long as bb healthy we as mummies will be very happy liow....

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, i also dun noe is mine a boy or girl. Now in my 17wks and still i dun really can feel BB movement. So was abit worried now! Waiting for my detailed scan on next Mon! Hope BB is fine &amp; healthy!