(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Hi Tetra,

May I know where did you get the CDs? will ask hubby to go & find out next weekend.

tan tan

Good morning everyone... it has been a long long time since i last log in.... a lot happening for the pass two weeks and i was on holiday in Aussie, thus didnt have interent access. Was suppose to stop by Spore for two more weeks but make last min decision to come back HK cos have alot of errands to run and also we will be moving back Spore soon, so need to come back and settle many things. Basically have a good trip and my tummy is quite obvious liao... all my norma clothes are not wearable anymore. Last weekend went to see gynae and finanlly get to see the sex of my baby.... and it's a boy. My parents, in-laws and hubby are all very happy as expected. I have felt a little bit more movement but not the obvious kind... my friends told me it will only be obvious ard 6-7 months. I have gained too much weight so now i really have to watch what i eat. Doctor also told me to cut on sugar.... sigh. Think detailed scan will be next month.

I have not read all the previous posting yet cos no time... but hope everyone is doing well and how many mommies know the sex of baby already? Any new updates??

Hi tan_tan,
I bought it @ a CD shop (dun think it has any branches) in Novena Square on the ground floor facing the info counter near Angie The Choice cakeshop. I think you can try @ any CD shop @ your convenience i.e. Sembawang Music, etc. They should carry this disk. Otherwise call 1st before your hubby made a wasted trip.

sun_moon: so envious that you can still have holiday @ Australia. yesterday, also told huby the desire to travel. but with swollen feet abit difficult. thot of going somewhere nearer i.e. Bali, Langkawi but pregnant also can't do much things like eating whatever u like. so sian! think must wait a long long time b4 I can travel.

hello girls,

wow seems like most of you will be having bb boys leh...so sad still have not found out mine yet..gotta wait till next month... hey any one of you went to take the "on line gender test"..accurate or not huh..heee just being curious...

evelyn,
opss slip of our mind that u went for the detail scan. aiya preggies tend to be more forgetful right....so whos next going for detail scan huh..must diary it liow...hahaha

tetra,
wow din know our legs will get swollen at this early stage, thot usually it will happen in late 3rd tri.

sun_moon,
so you and hubby will be relocating back to SG for good liow huh..then you dun have to worry where to deliver your boy liao lor..

yes Dolphina, we will be coming back soon.. and i will be delivering the baby in singapore after all! Very glad that things working my way. We did stoped by spore for two days some time back to scout for housing ... but didnt have time to see see look look.. looking forward to coming back for good... but then will have lots of packing and unpacking coming ahead.

btw, wanna ask everyone... do you visit relatives/friends who just gave birth during your pregnancy ? is it okay to go visit?

Ocean,
I've mentioned to yours on Wed, 11 Aug. But nvr mind lah! like wat dolphina said...preggies tend to be more forgetful mah! heehee..

My detailed scan at KKH, ADC. I think almost 1hr+15mins. The u/s doctor said my BB sleep facing downward, can't tell his heartbeat normal or not? (The way BB sleep, my hubby & me noticed too, so cute! so funny! 1st time C BB sleep facing downward.) So asked me walk around to make BB change his "sleep position". Then come back just for u/s his heartbeat. This time, the doc gave me 4pcs b&white u/s photos.

Dun worried, maybe you'll be able tolerate the pain u never thought you could do that day! Relax...

Experienced moms will feel the tummy is like going to burst like tat, it's true! tummy is bigger at nite time. (me too!) Normal lah!

A thin black line fr belly button spreading downwards...Actually fr wat i read: During pregnancy, a faint dark line may form fr yr navel to yr pubic area. This is known as the linea nigra, and it's a temporary mark caused by pregnancy hormones. It will disappear as the top layers of skin cells are shed a month or 2mths after delivery.

Oh really, Evelyn?
140585.gif
. really had forgotten liao!

The detailed scan at KKH hor is in black and white? Is it 3D scan or still the normal 2D scan?
Hmmm... so nice, the sonagrapher gives u 4 pics of ur BB!!

Ocean,
yalo, still the normal 2D scan, dunno can ask for 3D scan or not? (I think maybe more expensive or KKH only have this normal one.) Maybe u can check with them when yr next visit.

dophina,
I think u intend take the "on line gender test", right? heehee...

evelyn,

wow your detailed scan took so long huh...so they took all the measurements of the bb...cant wait for mine next month liao....still got 3 more weeks to go...

well i have to see how the accuracy of the test leh for those already know the gender of their bb...at least can know the statistics lor....coz it seems like most of you all will be having bb boys...no bb girls yet right if i recall correctly. heard so much of the gender test but just curious how accurate it will be for majority.

oh for mtb with KKH, does that means after they took our blood test and we do not hear from them it means "no news means good news" is it huh..

My friend has a brand new set of AVENT Bpump with 4 bottles n cooler bag. 100% brand new & not use yet condition. Willing to let go at S$90.(Normal price S$140.00)

She want to selling it bcoz her hubby got for her 1 set Medela electric mini plus pump 2 make pumping job easier. So, there's no point having 2 sets.

U or any frens interested? Let me know or email to me at [email protected]

Hi sun moon,
I think depend on individual. If both party dun mind, should be no problem.

Last time during my CF for my 1st one, my frens came to my hse visit me. (For me ok if they dun mind!)

If you dun mind visit friends just give birth, may be u can check with them first whether they mind or not?

Hi Evelyn,

I am interested in buying the pump (manual one right?), please contact me at tansh201
@yahoo.com.

Hi Dolphina,

I think you can assume that no news is good news cos if there's concern from the doctor, they will call you up ASAP for further tests. That was what my previous gynae did when she realised that I was anemic. I went back to her clinic the day after she called and they took some more blood from me for further test. I also had my Triple Test done about 3 weeks ago. I haven't heard from my new gynae yet. Will be seeing him this Wed. Very excited. Hopefully Ah Boy (that's what hubby and I call him) is okay. Wonder if I can see his face during this appointment.

Hi Evelyn & Sun Moon,
Congratulations! I guess we have to be prepared for some rowdiness from our boys!!

Sun Moon, when will you be relocating back to SG? Have you decided where to give birth?

Hi Jaykay,

thanks... i am a bit nervous about this boy boy ... i only have a sister in my own family and frankly i really dun know much about boys. I guess i do have a lot to learn. Boys are more naughtly also! Hahahaa. But i am happy that it's a boy ... at least no more pressure for future second baby... can be any sex. Hee
I will be back end of the month and will be going to Gleneagles. Have not signed up yet but i have already decided. Since my gynae is there... =) What about you leh?

So far we had mothers having bb boy. Congratulates.

Username EDD Sex-of-BB
Evelyn Au - 24/12 - Boy
Tetra (Mum-To Francis's baby) - 02/1 (25-27/12)
Ah Bunny - 04/01 - Boy
TSH (tan_tan) - 05/1
goodfriend - 05/1
sun_moon - 06/1 - Boy
Catz - 08/1
babyD - 14/1 - Boy
JayKay - 14/1 - Boy
dolphina - 15/1
emonster - 15/1
yvoyvo - 14-16/1
twinkle - 22/1
yve - 17-22/1
Hopeful24 - 25/1
Ocean - 26/1
Toh - 27/1

Hi dolphina,

Heard from my mom that if ur tummy not big now, then probably u will have a bb boy.

jaykay,

thanks for your assurance...feel more at ease hearing it....

yvoyvo,
oh really huh... just so coincidence that those who know the gender liow are all boys hor..keekee dunno whos little princess will be next to show up first....

Hello Sun Moon,

Coming back end of the month - that's quite soon! You must be busy with the packing like BabyD. My gynae is at Gleneagles too, so I'll be delivering there also. May I know who's your gynae?

I'm also like you, quite apprehensive about looking after boys. I've seen enough of my very hyperactive nephews and I think boys are going to a handful for all of us....However, can't complain because all children are God's blessings to us. Heehee....

Sun Moon, I would assume you'll be staying with your in-laws when you come back right? Or you already have a place on your own? Otherwise, house-hunting can be quite taxing for you now isn't it? Take care!!

Hi Dolphina,

Don't worry too much, I know you will be okay. No news is always good news!!

Wah, there are 5 of us expecting boys. I am also excited to know who's little princess will show up first! I think girls are so sweet!!! Come to think of it, all our kids will go to school together next time in the same year!!

hi JayKay,
I admit that although I'm very happy that i have a baby boy, I think baby girls are really sweet. Also, the girl girl clothes, hats and shoes are just so much cuter than the boy boy stuff! (not that I've bought anything for my bb yet.)

Catz,
Can you believe it, I still haven't started packing! I keep telling myself US has everything so I don't have to worry if I forget to bring something and most people tell us to go there and buy. Hubby and I are travelling really light from the looks of things! It feels very different from when I went overseas to study at university so long ago, probably cos I'm going with my whole family - Hubby, BB and me!

I'm going to go for my detailed scan next week on Thursday, followed by one last gynae visit before I leave. Not sure when I'll get to see a doctor again in US cos I'll have to get the health insurance first when I arrive and it takes some time for them to process it. But generally, we're not too worried cos 2nd Trimester is supposed to be the most stable period. My hubby says that I appear to have loads more energy than him now, almost more hyper than pre-preggie state! You girls the same way?

Hi Yvoyvo

Really? If tummy small is a boy? My tummy small leh...

Dolphina,

Keep our fingers crossed. I m also going for my detailed scan next mth.... I wish for a girl...

Jaykay,
so we both going to deliver in the same place... great! I am seeing Dr Lisa Chin. She has been my gynae before i came HK, so i went back to see her last Sat when i stopover in Spore. She has been very friendly and nice, and i have thus decided to look no further. During our stopover, we were also looking at many rented apartments and have already confirmed renting one in the east coast area. Looking forward to our new life back in Spore. I love that apartment cos it is very breezy and has sea view...

today the feeling of the boy boy's movement in my tummy seems more obvious leh. So interesting. I also agree girls are always very sweet and cute... but now i have to focus on my boy and start thinking how i should 'bond' with him when he arrives. Must seek advices from friends who have sons liao!
I have not bought anything for baby yet... will buy when settled down in spore. Seems like there's lots to buy... serious shopping!

Wah sun_moon, so you've decided to return to S'pore earlier! You'll be back home even before me.. so far the silly lady who is arranging for my travel seems very blur but I should be back by first week Nov.. so much later than you! I'm also an east-coaster.. I really enjoy the seaside feeling

I'm having a lot of movement this week. I finally got my womb monitor thing and we can hear the heartbeat.. usually we lie in bed and just pass the headphones to and fro.. Can even hear the 'doosh' sound when baby kicks me!

Hmm.. I also dunno what to do if mine is a boy.. I grew up with a sister and had no close boy cousins. Boys seem so alien to me.. whatwith all those zoom zoom sounds etc.. But of course I'll be happy with a healthy baby.. I just worry that I don't know how to handle a boy.. can't wait for Aug 26th and my detailed scan!

BabyD, hehe.. anyway, you're limited to 2 suitcases per person so you can't bring along that much!
Not to worry lah.. but warn you, the first few months, you'll be spending a lot to set up your household.. can feel quite sim tia.. Advise you to look out for yard sales ASAP and also in the Classifieds for second hand furniture and other odds and ends. If not, Walmart's a good place to start off.

Oh Catz... where about in east coast will you be staying ah? Maybe next time we can meet and bring out baby to playgrounds/parks together.

I will be back much earlier, and to me that's a comfort cos i will have more time to buy all the things and also i dun think i can really help out much in the house moving if it is in my 3rd tri. So this timing is good for me. I heard from my friend that this year alot of ppl carrying boys... seems like she is right. Look at our statistic so far! Gosh! My detailed scan will be in mid September... looking forward to it too. These few days has been trying to be more careful with the food i take... cos i gained too much weight liao. :p

thanks jaykay!

twinkle,

heee me too hope for a girl. really looking forward to the detailed scan.

seems like i tend to get hungry real fast now and the little tummy has slowly appearing liow....soooo happy...
but at the same time also worried to put on toooo much weight.

can i ask those mtb already wearing maternity clothings....is it ok if we wear a mat top and then it seems so loose now coz still very roomy huh.. wanted to try but feel so paiseh leh coz those i saw wearing mat top usually have big tummy liow.... dun want to look silly leh...

life is so irony isn't it....

Catz,
My detailed scan is the same day as yours! I'm flying out the next day so my gynae decided to do the scan before I go although it's still a bit early. Hubby and me are light travellers generally, so i don't think we're even thinking of carrying 2 suitcases per person! He didn't even allow me to carry a 3.6kg handluggage up the plane when I went to Bangkok recently and made me check it in (to my great embarrassment when it was weighed) - said I'm not allowed to stretch to put handcarry in the overhead. I will just carry my handbag and he'll carry the rest so we definitely won't exceed 1 check in per person.

dolphina,
I also feel a bit funny wearing maternity tops cos tummy not so big leh. I find dresses and button up cotton shirts quite ok. Most of the button up cotton shirts are long enough to cover tummy & are not so fitting, unlike T-shirts and other tops. Haha... I finally went to This Fashion and they really do have nice floral elastic band skirts & plain colour wrap skirts for $10 or so. I bought 2 this weekend, definitely more affordable than maternity clothes although maybe they won't last too long cos quality not fantastic. But what to expect for this kind of price.

babyd,

you must be of small build right...for my case, i cannot fit into This Fashion usual clothings...heeeee

now having headaches coz i dun wear dresses to work, usually pants with blouse so now guess have to upgrade to mat pants and with those elastic bands, must go with mat top else looks weird leh...those mat top i have seems too roomy at this stage still..so jialat lah, wear or dun wear also headache....running out of normal clothing to wear to work liow... arghhh

u must still come and chit chat with us at when u fly over liow ok...must keep us update as well.. (me forever so kpo one lah)

Hi Sun Moon & Catz,
I staying at the East side of Singapore too. However, I'm at the Changi area. But I guess can still go to the beaches for strolls.

Sun Moon,
With your new apartment, you would need to buy quite a few things right? I agree with Catz it can be a bit 'sim tia' because it's quite a lot of cash outlay for you. But I guess it can be fun shopping for things together with hubby.

I haven't bought anything baby boy stuff either. I have to agree with BabyD that girls have nicer stuff to buy - nice shoes, hair clips, dresses, etc. Boys stuff are really quite standard and boring...sigh...

Hi Dolphina,
Don't be pai seh wearing maternity tops although that's how I felt initially. I know how you feel because our tummy is "not here not there" right? For me there was no choice because I couldn't tahan my normal clothings anymore. Plus, wearing fitting clothings sort of aggravated my nausea and vomiting during the first trimester. Hence, I had to be thick-skinned and started to wear my maternity clothes by 12th week of my pregnancy.

Anyway, loose maternity tops actually makes your tummy looks smaller...heehee....A few friends actually commented that my 19th week tummy is still not so obvious. But it's bad for 'begging' for seats on the MRT because nobody knows for sure whether you are pregnant or not to give up their seats!!!

Hi BabyD,
You are a very very lucky girl to fit into This Fashion clothes even during pregnancy!! I bet you look very trendy in those clothes there. These are better than those boring 'Sailor Moon' maternity dresses!!

Hi everyone! Wah, this is such a boy thread.. wonder if BabyD and my scan will produce any different results

Sun_moon, JayKay, I'm actually at Pasir Ris, next to Downtown East resort.. all quite nearby lah. Beach/park/water theme park is right behind my place. Wah I'll need to get professional cleaners to steamclean my place 'cos after 1.5 yrs of abandonment, I'll bet it will have mold spores.. not good for baby lah.

Dolphina, yah lor, don't paiseh about wearing looser clothing. Normal tops are usually too short and will 'zao geng' your belly.. I find that these days, if I lean forward and my waistband just pulls against my tummy, my little rascal will kick around a lot. So I wear ultra ultra loose stuff... I really look like an auntie 'cos some maternity stuff is still too big for me.. but heck it lah, we preggie women go for COMFORT!!! Erm, I really hate those Sailor Moon type dresses.. so unflattering!!!!!! Oh yah, and according to quite a few 3rd trimester mummies, they swear by those low-rise under the belly pants instead of the elastic ones. I've got a few of each and I quite prefer the under belly ones 'cos I can wear some of my normal tops which are slightly bigger and longer.

BabyD, aiyah, don't worry, just bring up 2 suitcases per person anyway... so that when you come back, you won't have to buy suitcases from there.. don't forget, you will be coming back +1 leh..

jaykay / catz,

ya exactly how i feel coz its still at the neither here or there stage....

maybe i must really overcome my "barrier" to start wearing the mat. clothings now...else really got no suitable clothing to wear to work liow...heeee

guess wat, that day i was wearing this ultra super size t-shirt and was looking at some mat clothings at kiddy place, this man standing beside me with his wife gave me a head to leg "look" as if telling me -- dun tell me you also preggies....arghhhh feel so "hot" and stared at him back..aiyo his wife also not so obvious wat...heee me very notti hor...

Hi Dolphina,
me too worry abt putting on too much weight. I have gained 3-4 kg so far, but tummy still not obvious.. haiz...

When I tried on my maternity tops, I look so funny and "gong" cos no obvious round tummy to show off... ha ha ha..
Guess we have to start off someday to wear the maternity tops cos I am also wearing my usual clothings. However, I avoided pants cos they tend to be tighter, now I only wear my dresses which are slightly loose at the hip. But I do realised that my hip expanded becos I cannot fit in my "jackets suit skirt" anymore, those tend to be more fittings one lah..

But I do intend to start wearing from my 5th mth onwards.... cos too tight bb also no good. So for bb's sake, ugly also must wear loh.

I found a shop selling cheap maternity clothings... quite trendy. Its located at pple's park you gals know where is the CK dept. Theres a market beside it whereby there is a foodcentre upstairs. There are few stores selling maternity clothing. Although the place looks run down, but believe me the clothings in one of the shop I went to was nice! I bought 2 tops for $40.. really cheap for me cos last week just spend $50+ on one top at another shop, and I feel that the tops are even nicer and trendier than the one I bought at the boutique.... do go down to take a look if you are free, good buy....

I started to wear maternity clothes this week, on Monday and today, yesterday still wearing a bigger pant with normal top.

And yes, it does make me look funny, like a ballon, even hubby cannot "tahan", he said " r u sure you want to wear this??" and when I went home on Monday, he asked me "anyone laughed at you??" ---> which means when he saw I wear mat clothes he want to laugh lah... :p

But hor, it really make me feel more comfortable, especially when I sit down. When I wear those bigger pants, no matter how big they are, I have to zip at least half way down when I sit down. So, just wear lah, who cares what others think???

Also, I found people tends to give way to me when I wear mat clothes, before that some of them just walk straight like going to bump into me and I always has to give way to them. Ha ha, this is another advantage as well...

Catz & BabyD,
My details scan will be on 27 August, just a day after you two. On one hand, I hope for a boy so that it will be less pressure in the future, coz this will be the first grandchild in hubby side; on the other hand, I hope for a girl because I think it's better if the first bb is girl, more closed to mother mah..aiya, dun know what I want leh..

aiyoh... on the contrary... i find my tummy quite big at 19 week leh. It also feels harder nowadays and i can feel more funny funny sensations these two days. I started wearing mat tops and pants since last month, and i think the one i bought can pass off as usual clothes... so not so bad. I feel so much more comfy in them, didnt see a point to try squeezing into those tight fitting mini-t and jeans that i used to wear la. It's only a few months, so might as well enjoy it. I am not so worried about how i look now, but more worried about whether i can fit back into my old clothes after delivery. haha...
been very stress these few days cos we are moving, so have lots of things to settle. have to cut all utilities, and also broaadband, cable tv etc... thousands of number to call. Really not fun at all. Coming in here to chat is good... help me release so stress!

Dolphina,
I think some problem on my posting this morning....must re-post again!

Just sharing my info here...My gynae did told me tat once the result out, if ok they won't call u. But if something wrong, they will call u immediately. So no worry liow! (when ur next visit, the gynae will tell u the result, anyway.)

If I'm the one whos has BB girl, how nice! (can close factory liow....hahaa..)

141378.gif
141379.gif

Hi JayKay,
Thanks! hahhaa....I think every nite u & hubby must be talking to ur Ah Boy leh? quite fun right?

Hi Sun Moon,
How abt u? Do you talk to ur boy boy often?

I can feel how happy all of yours right now. Hopefully every BB is growing well....

Evelyn, yes i do... i talk to my boy often... especially since i am alone at home most of the time. Also since i have been travelling alot, and next week also coming back to singapore, plus all the house moving... i keep talking to my boy, telling him to be cool, not to be scared. I tell him we are going back for better life... blah blah blah... hahaaa.... sound a bit silly right :p

So much talk on wearing maternity clothings. I guess all of us have to take the first "step" to start wearing them because comfort is really most important for us now isn't it?

Hi Dolphina,
I know what you mean when ppl give you that kind of "look" lah. I also get it from them. It's like they are thinking whether this woman is fat or just have a big tummy....probably not pregnant. Makes me fed-up too. Nevermind, we pregnant ladies can still look "happening" and pretty.

Hi TSH,
Your hubby isn't the only one making such comments. My hubby is quite "ai mian zi" one. He will screen what I wear when we go out together. If it's something he doesn't approve, he'll refuse to let me go out because he says he doesn't want to go out with a "Marshmallow Man"!!! So mean right!!

Hi Evelyn,
Yes, hubby and I try to talk to Ah Boy every nite. Once my silly hubby shouted at my tummy. I asked him why he did that...he said, "you've got so much fats around your tummy, I was afraid Ah Boy can't hear me mah!!" So insulting right? But hubby never fail to make me laugh... heehee...

Hi Catz,
My place is very close to Pasir Ris also. Wah, looks like to you have lots of things to do when you come back to SG. It's really a good idea to get a cleaning squad to clean up the place for you first. Have a good trip back to SG and try to walk around during the flight back.

evelyn,

oh ok coz that time i have forgotten to ask my gynae whether they will call me or not lor then now become paranoid liow...heee thanks for assuring me!

since its going to be a boy boy again your factory still remain open still??

sun-moon,
ya ya me also tok to bb everynite, too bad still dunno gender else can call out boy boy or girl girl coz now can only say bb...

jaykay,
yalor feel so annoyed at that moment...hmmm maybe its high time for me to leap that "first step" sometimes next week liow...

do you all feel appetite increase tremendously huh, i kept getting hungry and must take 3 full meals at least...arghhh now already like that cant imagine the months to come.. akakaka

so have anyone of you thot of any names for your boys yet?? getting so exciting now as we advance...

ocean / evelyn,

can i ask how to go about at clinic A?

do i need to press a Q no. first or can i put the booklet on the tray (if there is any)? then do we wait for our turn (Q no.) to be called and registered then proceed to do our routine urine tests and weight measurement?

a bit KS to ask so early but going to clinic A to see my gynae for the first time after my detailed scan next month...a bit lost...

Dolphina,
Yes, my appetite has improved tremendously after the 1st trimester. However, my gynae told me that I can only put on 2kg each month. As I just went to see him this morning, he said that I put on a bit too much (2.9kg) since my last visit a month ago. He said that I may end up being very fat if I don't control!! I am definitely taking his advise. I better stop snacking and each just enough. Don't want baby to become too big either. Otherwise, I'll have problems during labour. Sigh.....

Oh, I am very happy to see Ah Boy today. He's very cooperative and showed his face during the 3D scanning. His legs are also opened so wide for me to see! I am definitely going to have my hands full when he comes out because he was moving around and gripping/playing with the umbilical cord!! I am worried that the umbilical cord would go around his neck in later months....I hope he will be a good boy and don't play with the cord too much....

jaykay,

think in my appt appt i will not dare to look at the weighing scale liow....

wow your scan sound so interesting, u must be having fun watching your boy moving and playing around..dun think the scan at KKH will be that clear... so can you feel your boy move alot during the nite?

hey just realise our EDD is only a day apart....so envious you already know your bb is a boy leh...heeee

Dolphina,
I think the gynae nowadays are very concerned about weight gain because of the risk of gestational diabetes and pre-eclampsia. I guess for our own safety and baby's we have to be very compliant lor.... Don't worry, try and restrict on the in-between meals snacking. I think this will help a lot.

The scanning was really great because you know for sure that there's a little one growing inside you. It was really fun to see him move very slowly (because of the transmission of the image signal), grabbing and releasing the umbilical cord. He smiled a bit and was turning his head. I couldn't see his features clearly so I can't tell if he looks like daddy or me. Heehee...

I can feel Ah Boy's movement starting around 10pm and it seems that it is getting more frequent recently. I can still feel a bit of movement around 8 am on my way to work but everything stops during working hours. Today, he's been very cooperative and was still moving around 10am during my appointment with the gynae. I guess it's because I told to be a good boy and let me see his face last nite. Heehee...

jaykay, dolphina,
i also like to control the in between snacks, but sometime, i get really hungry ard 3-4 pm and i just have to eat something. Any suggestion for healthier snack? I am also wondering whether i might end up with depression... cos i am still very concern about my weight gain ( seems shooting too high )... just feel more and more out of control of my body now. I know i should enjoy the process of the growing belly... but just can't help weighing myself everyday and get worried after looking at the scale leh!

hi sun_moon,

Same to you, i also feel hungry between meals, particularly at 11am and 4pm. What is do is I prepare 4 slices of bread (sometimes with kaya & butter, or jam, or cheese), take two slices for breakfast with a cup of milo, then eat half of the remaining two slices at around 11am, and the rest I take at around 3 or 4 pm, depends on how much I eat for lunch. But I need to eat dinner at around 6:30pm, else will feel hungry as well. Sometimes I will take vitagen (or just drink something) first if I haven't finished cooking dinner, then have my dinner at around 7 to 7:30pm. I think split the meal to smaller portion but eat more times does help, although it make me feel like I am always eating.. :p

So far, I gained about 2.5 kg ( was 65.5 in wk 5, drop to 63.3 in wk 9 due to MS, now 66), I read from one book that if you are small size before pregnant, you tends to gain more weight (12~15kg) as compare to those who are bigger size (8~12kg), I am in the bigger size range, so I hope I won't gain too much weight at the end. I guess you are in the small size range before preggie, right? so dun worry so much lah! as long as no GD and baby not too big should be o.k. liao!!

JayKay, so envious of your 3D scan!! How many photos did they give you??

Actually I was kind of hoping for a little girl 'cos I find that an elder sister is a better chehcheh.. if it's an eldest boy, they tend to be a little bit more distant.. so for family unity, I think elder girl, younger boy is ideal.. of course, it's all out of our hands by now.. hehe..

Hmm... I also find myself comparing tummies.. feel so inadequate when I'm at the doctor's and I hear that this lady is the same no. of weeks as me and her tummy is so huge!!!

Lots of movements this week hor? Acc to babycentre, this is the most active week (wk 20) and baby is kicking and somersaulting away!!!

sun_moon, so your husband will be with you when you relocate to Spore? So lucky.. I'll have to do without my husband (and his back rubs) for 2 months till Dec..*sniff*

Come, let's all bravely wear our big tenty mat clothings with pride

Tan Tan,
okay i am on the smallsize range initially... was abt 48kg before pregnant. But throughout the last few months, i didnt lose any weight during MS, and till now, i have already gained 8kg leh! This is alot leh and i just feel so worried when comapared to everyone here. So now, i have to control my calories, and sugar lor. Still eating healthy and adequately, but no more snacks, sweet stuff, sweet drinks anymore la. Got to keep my weight in check.

catz, yes, me and hubby travelling back together this time. In fact we are booked on next wed's flight already. Can't tell you how excited i am. Full of great expectation of new married life in Spore. ( We were here in HK since married ) I look forward to spending more time with my own parents too. So where will you be staying when you are back first?

Catz,
Is the luggage limit dependent on which airline you take? We're taking the non-stop to New York on SQ so it's not an american carrier. I had the impression that the luggage limit was still 20kg per person?? Anyway, yesterday we laid out our stuff and we didn't even completely fill 2 cases yet (1 big, 1 small). Planning to shop for maternity and baby stuff when we get there so virtually not bringing any! Just have baggy sweaters and 1 warm maternity skirt, that's all.

Hi Dolphina, tantan, sunmoon & JayKay,
I'm not exactly small size lah... Normally wear a medium size but I look skinny cos I'm taller than most girls - 1.65m. Of course can't buy tops from This Fashion, but elastic / drawstring skirts are pretty ok. I started wearing some hand me down skirts and hubby commented that I look bigger than I really am, so you girls are not alone. Just went to a wedding dinner last weekend and I was so surprised I could still fit most of my pre-preggie A-line dinner dresses though the bump shows up significantly. Guess my tummy not very big cos half the ppl who knew I was preggie came to congratulate and the half who didn't know didn't realise until I told them. I still have about 6 cotton type tops that fit (mostly button ups which are longer) so I'm still not starting on maternity tops yet. I've put on about 4.5kg in total from pre-preggie days when I was 54kg. Actually quite relieved that I finally put on some weight cos my weight gain at 14 weeks was only 1.5kg and my gynae wasn't too happy! Anyway, I think bb is going to grow exponentially from now on so the transition of wearing tents that look too big for us won't last very long. Jia You to all the preggie moms here!

hello girls,

finally i pluck enuff courage to wear my FIRST MAT Clothing liow...past few days feel very uncomfortable in my usual clothings so decided to take the plunge today....feel so conscious the whole morning...heeeeee

ya me also on "biggest" side...even heavier than TSH....so i really hope i dun ballon that much else the consequently will be terrible liow lah...

Aiyoh, I'm also considered big size leh.. I cannot buy S'pore local brands 'cos I sure take L even though I'm XS or S in American terms... depressing!

BabyD, I think if you're on SQ, you should get 2 luggages not exceeding 62kg each per person.. Very generous. 20kg is for travel to anywhere else. You guys really travel light man... I cannot travel so light!

sun_moon, I'll be staying with my parents first.. can't imagine what the neighbours will think of them with a big pregnant daughter with no husband in sight! hehe... scandal!

Hi Sun Moon, TSH, BabyD, Dolphina & Catz,

I was about 54kg pre-preggie and my height is about 1.63m. I lost 1kg during my 1st trimester and I had put on 2.9kg during the start of my second trimester. I weighed 56.8kg in the clinic yesterday. I normally wear either S or M size clothings for foreigh brands and M size for Asian brands. I'm also not exactly small frame and my backside is definitely BIG!!!
Most of the weight I had gained had gone to the baby/tummy because my face, arms and legs still look pre-preggie. My gynae said that if I don't watch my weight, I will get horrible stretch marks!!! Urgh!!!

As for nutritious snacks, I guess we have to eat prunes, raisins, nuts (not too much salt tho)and other boring stuff....sigh....Anything but potato chips!! Urgh!!.....

I guess the other way of controlling your weight gain is to take more protein and less carbo. Eat more of the accompanying dishes and less rice/noodles. More proteins like eggs and fish will be good for baby too.

Catz,

My gynae gave me 2 photos in 3D and 1 in ultrasound. My crazy husband 'shouted' at Ah Boy again last night - he said," Hello!!! Don't play with the cord!!" Well, his excuse for 'shouting' is because I have too much fatty layers in my tummy and Ah Boy can't hear him. I guess he is more excited than me!!