(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Catz,
Remember reading that Timo's school got one case of HFMD. Did you keep him home for one week? Any new cases surfaced huh? Read that this Monday alone already got 527 cases, getting very paranoid liao.

Tetra,
Wow, sounds fun for the kids but not so much for you hor? Take care.

Piggy, Timo has been missing school for 2 weeks plus liao.. now with the situation so bad, I don't dare to send him back. There were 2 new cases on Monday... just when I'd decided to send him to school on Tuesday! By the sound of things, think another 2 weeks to go before I can even consider sending him back to school.

Catz,
Aiyo.... That's terrible. I dread the day that I see L's school got cases. I heard from one mum that her gf got it from her child. She (the gf herself) said that body pain is really terrible. The pain in in mouth is so bad that she can't swallow. Hearing it from an adult put things into different perspective.

Chicken Pox
Both maid and HB contacted L's CP. Have been locked at home for one week now. I brought L shopping on my own and I realised that he is more co-operative, knowing that there is no one else around, he listens n try to follow instructions, instead of out to contradict. Hmmm...I remember one of my gf telling me long ago, that one day, you will find that child grows up suddenly, like out of the blue kind of thing. Didn't know what she's talking about but I kind of beginning to understand now.

Angela,
What happened to you maid? Contract ended?

Piggy, OMG, maid and hb down with chickenpox?! Faint.. so terok.

Yah HFMD no joke so I don't mind taking him out of school although he's rotting at home
Better than him getting ill and spreading to everyone at home. Not to mention he's only 14kg.. how much more weight can he afford to lose without becoming emaciated? :p

piggy,
sorry to hear everyone got CP. Last time when Sherman got it, also like that, pass to maid and we gave her 2 weeks off to recover. Quite tough for us then too. Lucky hubby, me and rest of hubby's family all got it already, otherwise can't imagine how.

Hiaz... I'm so busy at work, still haven't found part time cleaner yet. I'm also really reluctant to get a confinement lady... heard too many horror stories about most of them being naggy and unsupportive of BF. I can just imagine that with post natal hormones, I sure cannot hold back and will probably scream at anyone who nags at me about BF or keep asking if I don't have enough milk every time the baby cries. Any of you actually have good experience with confinement lady who supports BF to recommend?

Dunno how... just found out that my mum went to book a holiday to China starting on the day after my EDD. *faint* Was so upset and couldn't believe she really did it, that's why hubby started talking about getting confinement lady. My mum claimed she didn't know my exact EDD even though she knew I was due in June. I really thought she would know better than to book a tour in late June, regardless of when my EDD was. I think I will just tahan on my own rather than torture myself with a confinement lady. I'm counting on MIL to take care of Sherman, so that I can cope with the small one.

babyD, gosh I'd be really upset if my mom did that too!!!
I went without confinement ladies both times and I'm happier for it. Most CLs don't seem to be too hygienic and in my heightened hormonal state, I don't think I would take to it that well.. might have sent me into PPD :p

Good luck with the hunt for a cleaner and do try to rest well! Your job sound so nightmare lah.

BabyD,
Wow, your mum really quite blur queen. Is she suppose to help you during your confinement period? Why not just cater food for yourself instead of hiring CL? By then, you should have found a cleaner to do your cleaning. At least you don't have to worry about food. I remember I was constantly hungry then due to BF. Is Sherman ok to stay over at your MIL should you need that?

Hi BabyD,

If you want to engage confinement lady, you can consider mine. she does 2 confinement for me and are supportive of bf...

Let me know if u change ur mind and wants a cf lady..but she is rather popular, my frien cant booked her for Nov as she is taken...not sure abt ur edd though..

Piggy & Catz,
The original plan was my MIL would take care of Sherman, bring food for me and be around for 1-2 hours a day (cos she preferred not to stay at our place and I didn't feel I could climb up and down the stairs at her place). Food is no problem, in USA I always ate the previous night's food for lunch anyway (though my mum keeps nagging about it). Part time cleaner would clean the house. I assumed my mum would be able to come and visit me once or twice a week, never intended for her to come over and help everyday as i felt I could cope, so she knew about this plan.

Then my friends and colleagues kept recommending me Malay massage ladies, which i didn't have the luxury of for my 1st pregnancy. Thought it would be nice to be able to take a bit more care of myself this time round, but would need someone else to be in the house during the massage sessions. That's when I asked my mum if she could come over for 2-3 hours each day for that one week so that I can put my mind at ease during the Malay massage. We also didn't want to overload MIL too much, so hubby was wondering if my mum could come over for 2 days a week to relieve her. That's when mum told me about her holiday plans. Actually, I think I'm just really upset that I'm delivering a baby in Singapore this time and she's flying off for a holiday, regardless of whether I need her help or not. Cos at most don't get massage lady until much later, count on MIL and hope she doesn't overstretch herself, plus hubby will also take some leave. It's just always good to have family members close to standby for support, esp if anything happens *touch wood*. I mean, what if my MIL or Sherman falls sick, then we would really need the additional support and help, who else can I count on if not my own mother? The last time I was in USA for 1st delivery, of course they couldn't be around, but this time they are actually flying off for holiday. And the worst part is that when I got upset about it, my mum blamed me for not telling her earlier and said she thought I didn't need her help. That just made me even more upset, cos I felt like her holiday was so much more important than being around when her daughter delivers her grandchild. Maybe it's my pregnancy hormones too, really couldn't help feeling so upset.

Twinkle,
I'm due in mid- June, may be too late for getting confinement lady, especially if she's popular. Think I've pretty much decided to stick to my old plan and cope on my own with MIL's help.

babyD, it's not your pregnancy hormones 'cos I would be upset too! Try the confinement catering from Natal Essentials.. it was yums and nutritious. Hot food is good for you too
I'm OK with leftovers but after giving birth, you do need good nutrition.

tetra, congrats passing your driving!! so exciting to be mobile now..

babyD,
I would be upset too.. I would also interpret that my delivery is not as impt as the holiday.. but on point getting upset leow.. rant and rave here to us lah..

Catz,
Did your mum help you during confinement? I dunno how to manage both Sherman and new baby at the same time leh, that's why ask MIL to keep him at her place as is his usual schedule. You got both meals from Natal Essentials, is it? Was their food very heavy on ginger and wine? I'm thinking about it, quite expensive, but I figured it might be worth paying for the lunch package to save my MIL the travel time, petrol, etc, since she has to go pick Sherman from school and feed him lunch. Will discuss with her and see what's her thinking. I looked up the Amah On Wheels website, they really sound very professional but so ex. Your sister has a good experience with them, is it? How many hours do they usually spend cleaning? Is there a minimum contract period that you have to commit to, or can terminate whenever you want?

My mum just called me to say she's going to try and change her holiday to earlier date. Think she felt bad after I told her why I was upset. I felt better telling you girls about it, told her it was ok if really cannot change, but secretly happy that she decided to try. Haiz... really think it's the pregnancy hormones, normally I just can't see myself getting so upset and feeling so petty.

babyD, my parents helped out by taking Timo out just for a couple of hours while we dealt with Beth who was a really difficult newborn. But it's good to have the elder one at home as much as you can to avoid jealousy problems. Yes, I catered exclusively from Natal and it was wonderful. I HATE ginger and herbs so I didn't have certain dishes but their food was goooooooooooooooooooooood. I'm so surprised how much I enjoyed it! Amahs spend about 4 hours cleaning and it's really worth every penny. I think there's a 3 month minimum which is really OK.

Hey you're not petty lah.. think your mom didn't realise how much it would upset you.

Catz,
Thanks for the info on Natal. Did you state your preference for no ginger / herbs, or just didn't eat those? I'm also like you, don't really fancy them, plus ginger can worsen BF jaundice. You mean it wasn't easier with No. 2? I kinda thought we all were blur like sotong for No. 1, so No. 2 would be easier cos should know what to do this time. I felt Sherman would be less stressed if we stuck to his usual routine of going to school and MIL's place on weekdays. Figured MIL can bring him back home at 5plus after he wakes up from his pm nap.

babyD, I stated my aversion to all weird things like kidneys, liver, frog legs.. the ginger and herbs were tolerable.. I just set them aside. Heee.
The soups were really yums.

Having the 2nd one was tough

Hi ladies, back from Margaret River yesterday. Very tiring, and the sun here is so different from S'pore, you can be microwaved alive without knowing.

So scary to read about the severity of the HFM cases in S'pore. And I read that the dengue cases is increasing as well before I left for AZ. Is it safe to come back? (just joking...must come back, Lucas is missing his home).

piggy: How's the CP situation @ home? Must be hard on you, only sole warrior @ home to tend to Linus. Must take care & rest well too.

babyd: It's always good to get as much help as possible if you can. Because of the night feeding, you will be very tired in the day time. Having the massage is definitely good, and if someone can help to tend to baby in the daytime, will be great. Good idea to have the same routine for Sherman & just order the confinement food as suggested by catz so tt your MIL can focus on Sherman. I will be just upset about my mum with/ or without the hormone effect. Don't worry too much, you still have 3 mths to work out everything. And you will be surprised that everything will turn out to be better than what
you have expected.

Btw, thanks for the thick clothings, very useful for both boys. Meanwhile, you just take care of yourself, all these worries is just a nesting urge from the hormone to get the home ready for the arrival of the new baby.

Will catch up with you girls again.

Tetra,
Thanks for your concern. Everyone is well now.

Enjoy n have fun.

BabyD & Catz,
Me too!! Liver n kidneys, yacks...

BabyD,
I was thinking confinement food is good cos you save the trouble for your MIL n should unforeseen things happen (e.g. kid falling sick), at least you know you don't have to worry about food. Sometimes, money is secondary when you can get covenience to make your life easier.

Tetra, think the heat these few days are just outta this world lor.. hope your kids are OK with the change in climate lor. WELCOME BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BTW, acc to the pd, there are quite a few cases of chickenpox going around. Beth just did her jab today

babyD, yah, at least your food is settled if you just go for confinement food catering lor. The service was fantastic!

catz: Marcus is down, up and down again with running & congested nose & watery eyes. And now Lucas is also going to be down with cough and running nose. The climate is too dry for our likings. But otherwise the cool air is great.

Marcus is also getting more sticky to me. It has been a great time for us as a family as we seem to get to know Marcus better as we spend more time with him and his personality is getting more distinctive. These nights, I will have to sing and tap Marcus to sleep while daddy scratch Lucas. I was just joking that when my hubby return to S'pore this weekend, I will have to sing, tap Marcus with my hands and scratch Lucas with my foot at the same time. Maybe after some time, I am so good in it, I can be a busker to display my multi-task talent. hahaha... Well, time for me to continue with my training now. Will catch up with you all again. Goody night.

Tetra,
Great to hear from you! Glad to hear the warm clothes came in handy. Colder than you expected?

Thanks girls, for all the support and advice. Our plan is for hubby to take some time off in the first week or two. He says he can cook more nutritious food than the confinement catering =), which is true. For the 1st pregnancy, he was literally my only confinement help and cooked all my meals (including yummy soup everyday.) Sherman will go to school and my MIL as usual, and they will come home around 5pm after his nap. MIL will bring dinner, help me bathe baby etc. After hubby finish leave, we will order confinement food for lunch. My parents decided to cancel their holiday in the end. She didn't sound happy and I felt a bit bad it couldn't be postponed. I offered to pay the $150 cancellation charge, but she refused. I asked her to come and visit me 2-3 times a week in the daytime during the first month. We're all happy about this flexible plan.

I just did loads of shopping yesterday and spent a lot of $$$. Ordered my Avent Duo breastpump from Amazon, bought a new baby cot from OG (Sherman spoilt the hand-me-down one at MIL's house), another steam sterilizer (cos we have only one) and lots of supplies from Robinsons. Feel like I'm really ready to have the baby soon. =)

Those who live near Upp BT/CCK area, got any massage lady to recommend?

Tetra, it's so common to fall ill after a trip.. as long as you enjoyed yourself
Yes it's great when #2 develops their own personality...hehe.. you busker liao ah?

BabyD, wow, big shopping means nesting instinct hey?

My hubby took 2 weeks off for both little ones to. COoking ah - he's good but extremely greasy and the washing up just isn't worthwhile. Glad that your mom will be around to help!!

Book Sale
Mums, MPH book sale at Expo Hall 4. Go check it out...lots of Osborne books, many really worth it. Saw Slamdunk there today too. Spent $300+ there. :p

Wahaha.. so that's where Slamdunk was rushing off to. Kekekeke..

My hubby got suspected dengue, aching all over.. moaning and groaning.. sianz.. no holiday for me today
Timo got swollen eyelid.. looks deformed.

man...so hot that i feel like booking aussie holiday now to escape the heat except that it will be worse when we get back cos of the contrast...poor kids, they sweat so much now at home and me too...sweat when breastfeed, sweat when pump and excema flaring up cos of sweat and heat!

babyd, glad u got the isis duo, let me know what you think yah?

yeah i was so glad no 1 was in school when no. 2 came along man, at least a few hours break from sibling rivalry! no joke...very hard to stay calm when no. 1 tries to pull or scratch no. 2...a bit extreme lah cos she is quite a prima donna.

haha! Today I spent a lot of $$$ too! But went to IKEA instead :p

BabyD,
I knew a urut lady last year. She is great! very experienced! Had recommended to my friends and colleagues, they're very happy with her urut service. You must tell her that recommended by friend, then she will charge you $50/session. Call her at 81336050, her name is Ros.

Catz,
nesting instinct...?? Yah, maybe. I hardly have a chance to go shopping these days, v happy to manage to do everything in one afternoon by taking half day leave on Wed pm. Robinsons sale was crazy, could barely move with my big bump in front. MIL was saying everybody seemed to be on leave, don't need to work.

Evelyn,
I'll call her up. Thanks!

Al,
Heat is terrible, I think it's worse because I'm pregnant leh. Usually I must sleep under duvet, but recently cannot and feel v warm when sleeping, almost like having fever. Thanks for tip on Amazon offer, USD$210 is really a steal, even with shipping charges it's only half price of what I'd have to pay to buy it here. I wrote to Avent to get assurance about dual voltage, and since you've been using without problem for some months now, I'm doubly assured! Keeping fingers crossed that everything will arrive ok.

BabyD,
Hi Hi. How big are you now? 1.5 month to go, excited?

Catz,
How's your HB? Really is dengue huh?

Outing
School just gave out a notice of an outing to Bird Park. Was wondering how are their teachers coping with so many kids. Somemore got go sit panorail. Wonder if I should let him go? What do you girls think huh?

Piggy, no lei, not dengue :p But then again he didn't wait for his blood test results.. but unlikely to be if they didn't call him back. But it was shack for him and shack for me lah.. :p Birdpark - personally one of my NO-GO 'cos I dislike birds and there's risk of avian flu if they go and handle those pesky birds. Plus all the bird poo :p Eeee....

BabyD, poor you lah... the stress at work just doesn't help matters but thank God your mom will be around lah!

Hi Piggy...

read your post on visit to birdpark...

just brought Phoebe to Birdpark last Sat. Was very very hot and crowded. So it's good to put some sunblock on L if you decide to let him go.

your concern about the panorail is not unfound. The tram is divided into many carriage of 6 pax (8 sections if I don't remember wrongly)with sliding doors on both sides. Unless they assign 1 teacher to a carriage, if not there might be chances of student escaping at every stop.. BTW there are 3 stops...

But the great thing about bird park is the penguin exhibit (i have never seen so many real life penguins at a time) and the flamingo pond. The Owl exhibit is nice, but very very dark. The teachers might have problem manning the students.

Hope the above helps. But I would have concerns too if P's school organise an excursion to BP cos P is really 'wild' when she's out. I was very worn out at the end of 2.5 hours at BP...

Catz...

I didn't want to bring P to birdpark, but I also didn't want to spend my whole Sat at the zoo so I tot birdpark is a good alternative, but I was very wrong lah...

every exhibit was so crowded. I even have to queue 15 mins for the panorail.

lesson learned.. will stick on to zoo from now on...

babyd: The weather is extreme. In Adelaide, it is mostly warm in the day, and cooling at night. Horribly dry. didn't rain since like March. If saty here, must put on double dosage of SKII plus butter, it just dry up your skin and lips. In Margaret River and Perth, not so dry, hot during the day with breeze. The thick clothings come useful when we visit the coast i.e. visit the lighthouse. Poor Marcus kept tearing in the eyes with mucus flowing like tap from the nose. He's ok now, even our skin seemed to be better with the super effective moisture cream. I think we have acclimatise ourselves with the weather conditions.

piggy: I think it is better you bring Linus to the birdpark on your own. My complaints are: it's difficult to walk even for adults with lots of slopes (up & down), maybe it's because the park is perched on a hill. Can be quite boring (& sad for me) to see the birds caged up, and can't fly (especially the hawks, eagles). The ostrich is pathetic. Can be very hot & humid depending on when you are going. I do have my favourites - the lories aviary and the pelicans exhibit. I find the zoo is soooo much better. The animals seems to be happier. Even the night safari is better in terms of experience.

Mums,
Thanks for all the input. I asked L if he wants to go to the birdpark with his school? He told me "No, baby don't want to go." He went on to tell me how the teachers gave them the form to ask for parents permission, etc, etc... Anyway, I think with all your input + his reluctance, I will keep him home.

piggy,
I have 5+ weeks left to go, now at 34.5 wks. Yeah, looking very big, people around me all think I'm giving birth this month. I'm finding all the maternity pants uncomfortable too, except those which sit below the belly. My belly button also sticking out through my shirts.

Evelyn,
The number you posted for Ros didn't work leh, says not in service. I tried a few times on different days. Can you check the number is correct? Maybe she changed her number...

The new baby cot and Avent sterilizer arrived already. Just realized that the new Avent bottle teats are a lot softer than the old ones that I got 3.5 years ago. My son hated the Avent teats, but I'm quite hopeful my girl will take them (cos I have so many of their bottles and teats already.)

Just came down with nasal/throat infection, all clogged up with yellow phlegm for the last 3 days. Fortunately no fever and hope it won't develop into a cough. Praying I won't pass it to hubby and Sherman. My brother, SIL and niece all down with flu. Weather too hot, plus exam season, lots of bugs around. My brother and his family all down with high fever. My mum told me that my dad drove him to A&E yesterday after seeing the GP cos doctor was quite worried.

piggy,
managed to call my mum just now, my brother wasn't admitted in the end. They ran some tests, verified he didn't have dengue and was stable, so didn't admit.

Wah, read the papers that the temperature in June might go up to 38 deg C!? Isn't that like fever temperature? Thank goodness my MIL don't really abide to confinement practices and I'm free to bathe and wash hair like I did in US. Don't know how the other June mums will tahan the heat and sweat without bathing for the whole month??

Hi BabyD,
My apology.....she has changed her mobile number.....97335603. It used to be quited difficult to get her sometimes, be prepared. You may sms her too.

Eve,
Thanks a lot! i managed to get her and confirmed my booking already. Trust your recommendation, seeing how you managed to get back to your beautiful figure after having Wilfred. Her charges are quite reasonable too.

Hope all the mums here have a great time spending Mother's Day yesterday.

We are finally back home, reached S'pore yesterday evening. I could feel every part of my body relaxing, I think I am on a high-strung note for the last few weeks. Overseas trip can be so tiring & stressful at times. Actually I felt so surreal as if the trip is just a dream. Think I need to take some time to adjust back to reality.

Hi Tetra,
Nothing is ever quite the same as home sweet home, I'm convinced we always sleep best in our own beds. Even though it's tiring, I always look at the pictures and all the memories flood back and I remember Sherman's antics during his holidays much more than his usual ones in Singapore. I'm sure you all had a good time =)

Tetra, actually trips are most stressful for the person doing the packing and unpacking i.e. MOMMY! Haha.. hope you get a good rest
Post some pix if possible!

Yah, agreed with babyD and Catz. Though the mattress was quite comfy in AZ but sleeping in our own beds is still the most restful.

We just went to NTUC this morning, horrifying crowd even on a Tuesday morning. Apparantly senior citizens enjoy a 2% discount from NTUC purchase on every Tue. The fishes and the veg are so expensive and miserable in quality and quantity. Already missed AZ...sigh!

btw, do check out the activities at the National Museum as they have some good children activities during this period. Planning to go either on 26 or 27 May. You can either check from the website or collect the brochure from the library.

Tetra,
Welcome back! Despite all the stress & tiredness, you & HB will definitely think back with fond memories.

Meet the Parents Session.
Spoke to teacher on the phone yesterday as L didn't go to school yesterday n teacher called to ask. Anyway, teacher said since we are on the phone, she might as well "meet over the phone" She commended that he will not do his work in class. Although there is an improvement since term 1 but he is far from co-operative. Haha... I want to laugh n cry at the same time, hearing her describe his attics in class. When told to do that page of colouring/writing....he will fiddle with her markers n ignore her. Or he will turn to another page that he deem fit & colour on that page. When told to get up to do some exercise, he told her he is tired & have stomach pain, no strength to stand up.
Should I laugh or cry?

piggy,
Really ah... I'd be very frustrated with L if I were the teacher, leh. Sherman is apparently quite cooperative in school, but the moment he gets home, becomes like L, got excuse for not doing whatever we tell him. Maybe you can give him a prep talk? I've given my boy a lot of prep talks about behaving in school, must listen to what the teacher says, cannot push other children, don't want to hear about him getting sent to the principal's office for punishment, etc. Seems to be working, at least for school.

Last night he made grandma angry, refused to listen to her and was jumping up and down the bed. I gave him serious prep talk at bedtime. This morning guai guai apologize to her first thing in the morning, even said he won't do it again. *haha, only for a while I know, but at least he promise to try*

happy holidays!

it has been a long while since l last posted. i have delivered my bb girl on sat! will be discharged tomolo but bb just begin her jandice treatment this morning. hopefully she can be home with me tomolo.keeping my finger crossed...

and the worst thing is gor gor is down with stomach flu since last nite with high fever, daddy and grandma are with him at the dr now...
really bad timing and poor hubby has to rush here and there...

babyd, congrats on your girl too and have a smooth delivery!

gtg now and will post bb pic when i got home...

Dolphina,
Congrats! So coincidental, my colleague delivered her girl on Sat too. I'm waiting for my turn... going to be 37 weeks by this Fri, but hope my gal will stay in until at least 39 or 40 weeks because she's on the small side (now barely 2.5kg according to the scan) compared to Sherman who was born at 3.5kg. My gynae thinks her max weight at 40 weeks is only 3kg.

Piggy,
I psycho my son almost every night at bedtime now by going over the day's events with him after the lights go out. He gets extra praises, hugs and kisses for being good and I tell him mummy (and everyone else "involved") is very sad if he has been naughty. He can be quite rough, so i'm terrified that he might "bash up" the baby trying to play. Yesterday he kicked my tummy accidentally, then later jumped on me (while I was lying down) with a book. It resulted in a series of Braxton Hicks contractions lasting till midnight that gave me quite a scare! I gave him a long prep talk about safety and how fragile babies are... *sigh*

back home and enjoying the "confinement" with this super duper hot weather!

piggy,
thanks! still cant decide on a name yet! ahahah papa and kor kor cannot agree...kor kor very fickle minded...changes his mind every day...

babyD,
ah ger only weighed 2.9 at birth at 38 weeks 6 days..so small compared to kor kor who was 3.5kg at 39 weeks! was hoping she can be over 3kg too...alot of people was telling me coz usually girls are smaller...

jov still recovering from his stomach flu, on tue, he LS for 13 times...very poor thing...he has been kept in grandma house since sun coz PD said better to keep him away from mei mei...missed him so much coz have not seen him since monday...

now a little worried for ah ger jandice, hopefully she can get clearance from PD tomolo coz CL has been sun-tanning her...

Dolphina,
Hope your girl is ok with the jaundice? How's kor kor now? Hope he is well completely n enjoying his mei mei around?

Catz & Tetra,
Where are you?