(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

hi jaykay,
thanks! we're leaving at the end of this month, haven't started packing yet but don't intend to bring much stuff since Catz says everything is so much cheaper over there.

hi twinkle,
I'm now 17 wks 4 days. Doctor says the little short spasm like sensations I've been feeling is probably baby kicking or punching inside because I'm still quite skinny so not much fats to cushion the "blows". But today, i finally registered a 3.8kg increase from pre-preggie so doctor was very pleased and said BB and I are both doing very well (big improvement from the previous 1.5kg wt increase 3 wks ago). At first BB was sleeping in a kneeling position so couldn't see. Then just as he was telling me that, baby turned and revealed so we could see. Of course hubby very happy. He's so jealous he can't feel BB move yet!

Hey Catz,
Anything we should bring to US that we can't get there?

Wah.. so many boys eh?
I hope to see and confirm at the end of the month... Ack.. all these cute OshKosh clothes that I cannot commit to buying!!!

babyD, think you won't be subject to triple test as they cannot do it past 20 weeks yah? Will check when I see my OBGYN next. As for things to bring, hmm... just bring all the things you know you will crave - birds' nest?? As for shopping, hehe.. well, as my husband is a student and he only has classes Mon-Thu so it's pretty OK to do some shopping after grocery shopping or whatever. Anyway, as long as you buy fr Walmart, Target, you can't really go wrong with prices.

I'm getting lots of little punches from my little Dinks these days.. I know that my little one is really active as seen fr the week 11 ultrasound.

twinkle, the changes will be made by the new prime minister on 12 Aug.. when he take the new job.

Hi Yve,
How have you been? Have you bought any BB stuff yet? Will you be attending the pre-natal class at TMC? I will definitely be glued to the TV on Aug 12. Can't wait to hear the news on maternity leave.

BabyD, you are so lucky to be able to feel baby. I can only feel him occasionally when I lie very very still in bed. I guess I've got too much fats!! So far, I've gained about 3kg since pre-preggie. I guess I am going to put on more with better appetite. However, I just threw up my lunch again. May be baby doesn't like Mee Soto....sigh...

BabyD, don't get too stress out with the packing of your stuff. Take care and don't carry too much heavy stuff. Must let hubby pamper you.

jaykay,
Hope PM Lee will have lots of goodies for us eh?? I gng for yoga class this Sat.. Have not decide on the pre-natal classes, cos may go to Eastshore for them.

I still waiting to feel my baby.. haiz, i must have thick skin.. hee, like waiting for a sign to tell me that bb is doing fine.. my tummy also not growing much..

I had from my colleague that it is going to annouce on 22nd of aug for the no of mths of maternity leave...

yvoyvo & dolphina,
Better with effect before our EDD. Hope at least 3mths of maternity leave(not 4mths, too long..) & more paternity leave for dads too.

Wat are yours views on this issue?

Hi babyD,
CONGRATS!!

jaykay,
3kg is not much, don't think you got too much fats lah! I don't feel bb all the time either, only if I'm quietly sitting, lying down or strolling. Don't worry, books say that's normal because bb is asleep most of the time! They apparently start getting active at night when we're about to sleep, maybe cos by then we're not competing for energy.

yve,
Don't be anxious. I'm sure you'll feel bb soon. It's a bit like a nudge so you may just think it's gastrointestinal noises. I didn't feel bb until tummy finally grew out last weekend. I'm sure bb will show soon, and then your hubby will get very excited and want to stroke your tummy all the time!

Evelyn,
On the baby incentives thing, I think govt will have to come up with something quite substantial after all the hype they've cooked up claiming how concerned they are about falling birth rates. No matter what they are, it will be better than what we have now and they promised to effect it in August/early Sept because they made the announcement in Jan and told couples not to wait until incentives are announced to conceive.

Hi Evelyn,

My hubby also told me it will be announced on 22 August during PM Lee's National Day Rally speech.

I don't know whether 3 months maternity leave is good for me or not, because my contract will end at 31 March 2005 and my EDD is 05 Jan, so if 3 months maternity, then when I come back, also no job liao..

I am thinking of applying new job, but now it doesn't seems to be the right time to do so, coz I can't ask the potential employer to wait until next March or so, right? :p

My hubby is an academic, so he got no paternity leave, even if there will be longer paternity leave, he might not entitle to. Luckily it will be school holiday during my EDD, so he can take longer leave, I plan to ask him to take two to three weeks off to accompany me..

For me, the best baby incentives would be- reduce maid levy or more subsidy for infant/child care, these are what I need more. And yes, all the baby goodies will take effect once they annouce it, so we will all entitle to whatever they annouce, dun worry on this...

About the bb movement thing, last night hubby finally "felt" the bb movement and he was very excited, I think now he feel more "real" about our bb liao..

By the way, any of you start listening to those "tai(1) jiao(4)" music? any idea where can I find these music? I think should be different from normal classical music right?

tan tan

Hi Evelyn,
I'm crossing my fingers and hoping that the maternity leave will take effect before all our EDDs. I really hope the govt won't play ppl out as like what BabyD mentioned, they have been encouraging couples to conceive before the annoucement in Aug. I do agree with you that a 4-mth maternity leave is a bit too long. We don't want our employers/potential employers to discriminate us.

I also hope there will be more tax rebates. Being pass my big 3-0, my rebate is not going to be very substantial. Well, lets hope for the best.

Hi BabyD,
I can't wait to feel BB more. But was told by my colleague who is into her 6th month of pregnancy that her BB is so active at night that she woke up!

Hi Yve,
Don't worry about the tummy not growing much. It will grow exponentially later in 2nd trimester. My hubby has been poking at my tummy now because it's quite obvious and trying to "stimulate" baby!
I believe yours will do the same when tummy shows. By the way, is yoga any good? It's good that you are keeping yourself active. I've been very sedentary.

Are your hubbies forbidding you from snacking? Just got scolding from hubby that snacking is bad and he said that I'm using my pregnancy as an excuse to gorge myself with tidbits. Sigh....he's afraid that I will put on too much weight and no nutrients go to baby when I snack. Are your hubbies so uptight about what you eat? I never thought men can get so kan cheong about such things. He threatened to take all the tidbits in our cabinet to his office.

uh?? 22 Aug? That's a while more to wait..

jaykay, hahha.. depends on what titbits that u eat lah.. if potato chips and junk food, of cos not good lah.. try to eat healthy snacks.. cos we get hungry every few hours, so need to eat something right, but eat something nutritious lor.. fruits, dried fruits, nuts.. cereal..

i better get my butt moving lah, have been very lazy too.. need to stretch those muscles..

Hi MTBs,
I've somethings interesting wld like share with yours....

If u want to find out the sex of the baby. Well, I have a tactic to find out as taught by my baby sitter.

To find out, firstly go to where u store the rice. Secondly, from the rice bin, use both your index & thumb to pick up the rice out of the bin. Whatever the quantity of rice u manage to grip with your fingers(remember only index & thumb), then accurate counting is essential.

Group the rice 2 grains by 2 grains. Finally at the end if u are left with a grain then congratulation, u are expecting a boy.
If the end bal is only 2 grains. Congratulation too, u are going to have a baby girl.

I tried already, it is a girl !!! (So happy! B'cos this time aiming for girl mah!) My baby sitter told me v "jun"! (dunno leh! hopefully.) Tomolo my turn to do the detailed scan...., hehehe, then can proof tat whether "jun" or not?

babyD, since u knew is a boy, why not u try first? C accurate or not?

Good luck to all!

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, actually from what i understand, the machine in AMC and ADC of KKH are both the same!
This is heard from few doctors that i met. The one that is not so good/clear will be the machine at KK 24hr clinic. Maybe, it is the function that they used!
138935.gif
The only thing that is better to scan at ADC is hubby can go in and also the machine can movable.
So when is next visit? Is it detailed scan?

<font color="ff6000">Evelyn</font>, so how? Do u think u still will not take epidural for this time round?
I still feel that u r very brave!
As for my temper, still the same, as inpatience as before... No change lah... just that now got excuses to say that it is BB affecting me! Kekee...

<font color="aa00aa">Catz</font> and <font color="119911">BabyD</font>, so nice, both of u can feel BB's movement liao!
Me only can feel cramp and pain!
When is the earliest wk that u all start to feel BB's movement?

HI TSH,

I heard from my colleague that it is best that you let your baby listen to music from mozart... Can get from either mothercare or sembanwang music store.... I am also still considering of buying it... As my colleague mentioned it helps to calm the baby down...

HI JayKay,

So far I had been taking snacks but my hubby did not stop me... But not too often that's what I feel... But I felt that it is helpful when you are in between meals...

hello girls,

was down with flu yesterday and was on MC...aiyo still yet to recover from my cough and now kena flu..so sad....

oceans,
yupe going for my detailed scan at ADC in 3 weeks time. i been to both but personally i feel that i can see more clearly with ADC scanning then AMC leh ...

oh at my last checkup i seem to have put on less than 2 kg so far leh...but my gynae din say anything maybe coz i already overweight before preggie lah...hahah so got store enuff fats liow. my appetite also remain the same and worst i did not encounter any special craving at all....

and the worst thing is i can still fit into my usual clothings...tummy not at all obvious...a bit depress coz cannot start on my mat clothing yet else so paisei...arghhh

Hi Dolphina,

Me kind of depressed too because tummy still not showing and still can wear my normal clothings...

Yesterday went shopping and bought a few pcs of maternity waer, cost me 200+ sigh... maternity clothings are really ex and thinking that we will not be wearing it again till our next preg makes my heart ache...

Me also pai seh to wear cos tummy still not obvious, but I am wearing my skirts by zipping half way only.. hee hee...

I out on 3kg liao... worried men... grew fatter and fatter....

twinkle,

heeeee so we are in the same shoes...

yalor those clothing so expensive luckily my frd pass me most of the tops and i just need to grab some bottoms...

anyone know where to get cheaper mat. bottoms. find that thymes and the rest too x leh. dun wish to spend so much..me cheapo lah..hahaha

twinkle, hahha.. i do the same to my skirts zipper too.. go home will immediately unzip a bit and nuah on the sofa.. I also still in my fat clothes.. only wearing a bigger dress and a maternity pants.. but wear the pants with a normal longer top..

dolphina, yeah.. me overweight before too.. heh..

Dolphina,

My friends did not pass me any maternity clothing cos they also never buy muc, jus normal big t-shirts etc.

Yest I went to perfect mum at international plaza at Tg Pagar(they carry quite nice tops), the pants cost 69 less 15% cos my frien has the privilege card. If u purchase abv $200, u will be entitled to the privilege card and discount. In Suntec there's another shop called Desiree selling maternity clothes too. The pants I think cost $59 if I m not wrong. Happy shopping. I personally find Theme and Spring ex too...

Yve,

Hee Hee, me worst, I zipp down halfway whole day, ha ha...

As I m not overweight, hence my blouses are normally quite small size so it doesn't really cover my hips, hence must buy if I wear maternity pants... sigh....

Hi yve, twinkle, dolphina,

So envy all of u... I had started to wear draw string pants since I was in my 3rd mths... As most of pants before preggie were just fitting and my clothing are either on the waist length or too short to cover my pants/skirts zips... Therefore a bit of growth it was too tight and uncomfortable...

I think my tummy became bigger after my 4mths, it seems to grow faster.... So now been wearing some of the mathernity clothes pass down from my colleagues...

It seems that nowadays I am very tired everytime I had a heavy breakfast... So no choice took a small nap... luckily my boss is not around to see wat I am doing...

yve,
Did u start wearing maternity clothes ? I heard from old plp, if pregnant 4mths onward, should start wearing maty clothes not normal clothes...b'cos of "tong fong", tummy will growing very fast.

Evelyn, I started to wear 2 of my maternity clothes.. One is a dress that dun look like maternity. and another is a low waist pants.. Also dun look like maternity..

Hi Yvoyvo,

I went to Jurong Point yesterday, tried Popular book shop &amp; Kiddy Palace but couln't find the "Tai Jiao" music..
where got Mothercare? maybe ask hubby to go find out with me during this weekend.

By the way, do you know what is "tai jiao" in english?? paiseh leh, I really dun know how to explain to the sales girl yesterday, only tell her the music for pregnant women, and she looked blur blur..

Dearl MTBs,

My tummy only became more obvious recently (after 18th week), but I am not wearing any maternity clothes yet, only my normal T-shirt with bigger pants, and most of the time I can only zipped half way.. :D

Last weekend went back to Malaysia and bought 6 pieces of mat clothes (all one piece type) for RM226 (slightly more than S100), think if you really want, can go to Malaysia for a weekend and shop lor, but hor, I bought those clothes at Pasar Malam lah, maybe that's why its cheap lor, but really quite nice looking leh, the quality is not too bad as well.. too bad I dun have a digi cam, else can take photo and show you girls here..

My hubby finally confiscated all my tidbits in the kitchen cabinet and brought it to his office. Sigh....Now I have to snack secretly in the office where he can't see. I know I should be taking nutritious snacks but somehow they are not as appetizing leh....

Anyway, was reading through all you discussion on maternity clothes. I actually started wearing maternity clothes when I was about 3 months pregnant. Somehow I had to wear loose clothings because all my usual clothes are fitting and they made me feel breathless and nauseous. I even bought new bras because my old ones felt too tight and uncomfortable. My breasts grew by one cup size and the chest circumference also became bigger.

I spend about $800 in total for my maternity clothes and new bras. No choice because I can't even wear my usual clothes.

Wah, I have to say that all you ladies are quite lucky. Some of you haven't even worn maternity clothings yet. I feel very kiasu leh...

May be my tummy is quite obvious now lah...

<font color="ff6000">Twinkle</font>, u wear ur skirt zipped down?
For me, i wear my skirt higher than waist. So now those that can fit in, i will wear them and pple are commenting that my skirts get shorter and shorter!!

I din buy any maternaty wear. Had some passdown frm my sis and SIL. However, my mum did bought some from Yishun Centre. You know those neighbour shophouses. Quite nice and 1 pcs is abt S$20 to S$23.
Currently, i only wear maternity dress when going out!

<font color="0000ff">JayKay</font>, why ur hubby keep all ur titbits? I know we shldn't eat too much titbits, but it is alright to take some crackers in between meals! Maybe u shld talk to ur hubby and promised him u dun eat too much?

Hi evelyn,

It's not that I doesnt want to wear, just that tummy really not obvious at all, even the shop lady commented that I definitely don't look 4 mths pregnant
. Me start worrying now liao, why tummy so small. But I did hear from friends that once it starts growing, the speed of growth and size will expand in no time... don't know how true.

Hi Yvoyvo,

tks for the tip. ya me too will go JB look ard for clothes.

Hi Ocean,

I had a good laugh over your comments on your skirt getting shorter... ha ha ha ha...For me I guess my colleagues will be thinking why this girl always forget to zip her skirt if my blouse happen not to cover my skirt... ha ha ha...

<font color="ff6000">TSH</font>, actually i also read that Mozart Music will help to develop BB's brain. But i read that even those normal music we listen is also okay though Mozart dun noe which pc of music is especially good! Thinking of buying too, but then, i dun really like classic music leh!
So, sometimes, i jus tune in to Syphomy Radio station to listen!

<font color="119911">Twinkle</font>, sooner or later, my skirts will all turned to <font color="ff0000">Mini-skirts</font>, while urs will all changed to <font color="ff0000">skirts without zip</font>! Kekee...

By the way, it is good to get some bigger size One piece dress as after we deliver, we would not get back to our original shape so fast. And to wear maternity clothing will be very funny. So at that time, our bigger clothing will comes in helpful!

Hi Oceans,

Thanks for reminding me about the Syphony Radio station, I totally forgot that there is such radio station exist.. :p

I tried to search those free MP3 tai jiao (is it called "lullaby" in English??) music from the internet, now downloading one Mozart music (282MB, my PC storage is going to be full soon), later will try to burn into CD or just keep it in my portable hardisk, then can play in laptop at home..

Here is the link, just in case if any of you are interested:

http://www.bbxpp.com/Soft/Class15/Class47/Index.html

Got to be patient coz the downloading speed is quite slow..

o.k, chao liao..see you all tomorrow.

tan tan

Did any of you girls go to the mothercare sale? I got a skirt there for $26 at a sale a month ago, but haven't started wearing yet. So far I'm still wearing drawstring skirts and pants that I've always had and I still fit in quite a few of my dresses which are a bit looser on the waist. My friend told me yesterday that she bought all her "maternity" clothes from This Fashion and she's already 8.5 months now! Apparently they have lots of elastic skirts that cost only $10. She's not the first one who told me about buying from This Fashion, but I laughed at the idea the last time. Maybe should seriously go take a look and consider if you're on a budget. After all, maternity clothes are really quite expensive and we only wear for a few months multiply by how many kids you're planning to have. I wish I could wear the nice Spring hand me downs I received but tummy still not big enough yet. Dunno got chance or not cos I'm leaving in 2 weeks for US. I found non-draw string too uncomfortable two weeks ago. Can't imagine walking around with zipper halfway down!

hi ladies...

can anyone please enlighten me wats the different between maternity bras and nursing bras? are they all without underwired? these days feel uncomfortable wear those underwired ones.. where can i get the maternity bras?

seems like we need a complete make over for our wardrobe from inner to outer and from top to bottom.... heeee

TGIF

Hi dolphina,
I'm not an expert on this, but maternity bras are just bras with wider bust straps and shoulder straps to provide better support. To be honest, I find them no different from good sports bras apart from the many more hooks they provide at the back because they expect preggies to grow bigger as they progress in pregnancy. That's why I'm just wearing sports bras now, cos they provide good support, are comfy and not as expensive! I think it should work fine as long as you're not too big. I have friends who continued to wear their normal bras till late in 3rd trimester when you can feel baby kicking your ribs! You can get maternity bras in Mothercare, some maternity dress shops, Marks &amp; Spencer. Wacoal &amp; Triumph have mainly lacy nursing bras, all with underwire. I don't like them because they are just thin cotton with no padding whatsoever and it looks pretty bad on smaller people like me who can't fill up properly.
That's why I stick to sports bras from Wacoal / Jockey.

Nursing bras are the kind which either release from the front so you can breastfeed baby, or has a flap which either zips down or attaches to the end of the shoulder strap with a plastic clip/catch. That also allows you to easily "pull down" the bra cup without removing the whole bra to breast feed baby. Quite good if you need to bf in public places using a nursing top. Most of the nursing bras I saw so far have underwire, but some don't. I suggest you don't buy nursing bras until you're further down into the 3rd Trimester (some ppl tell me after delivery!) cos you may change size dramatically, esp when the milk comes. Hope this helps.

thanks babyD,

that is very detailed and informative...maybe i should pop by the departmental stores to look around first...

thanks once again!

TSH,
Dun worry abt yr job or applying new job. Now most important is must take care of yrself &amp; BB.
O...., yr hubby still study, I think both of you must be young couple, right?
I' ve check for you what is "tai jiao" in english, but my colleague told me no english name leh..
Surprise! U r M'sian? Spore PR? How many year u been in Spore?

JayKay,

Poor girl! like wat yve mentioned, U should eat healthy snacks. If you eat too much titbits, not good for BB leh....Try to avoid eat peanut hor, will make BB' s skin allergy.
Yr hubby kan cheong u, good what! U should proud of him.

<font color="119911">BabyD</font>, u leaving in 2wks' time?
That's fast! So have u finished packing?

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, i think so too. Our waredrobe had to have a complete makeover. But, i also too lazy to do that!

Recently been feeling especially lazy!
yawn.gif
Notice that my complexion is quite bad now. Well, not that i had good complexion, but just cant help to feel that it is now worst!

By the way, just to check, did u gals notice a thin black line from belly button spreading downwards. Think it is normal, but cant help feeling it looks so ugly!

Hi Evelyn,

I know now most important is mysefl and bb, but can't stop thinking if I dun have a job and can only rely on hubby sole income, this somehow make me feel unsecure leh..

By the way, my hubby is not studying, he just completed his PhD and now is working as academic staff, since he is new, he dun have tenure, only three years contract, and now is the second year, when the bb is born, only one year left for his contract, so now I keep reminding him that he must work hard to secure at least another three years contract, if not, dangerous lor..and, we are not very young lah, both 31 this year, my mum at my age already gave birth to my youngest brother (6th bb).. :p

I am M'sian, Singapore PR, only here since last January, came with hubby (he is also M'sian, SPR) because he is bonded by the University, have to work here, also, in my field, it is easier to get job here than in Malaysia (I study environmental science, major in water and wastewater treatment, cold subject hor?!)..

Are you Malaysian too?

TSH, u must try not to give ur hubby too much stress too. I know u r worried abt financial. Are u planning to stay in Singapore after BB is born?

My hubby contract going to expired next year too
and after that i dun noe what's going to happen. There is committment on the paying of housing loan and the new committment of BB. So i just had to continue working no matter what!
139727.gif
Maybe u can try part-time job if cannot find a full-time one! Try not to stress yourself too much too, ok!

Ocean,
Yap! If can, I still will not take epidural this round.
Me too, some mat clothes passdown fr my sis &amp; some continue to wear fr my 1st one. So, I din spend too much money on it.

dolphina,
How r u now? not recover yet? Takecare hor!

No worry lah! After 5 or 6mths, sure yr tummy can show to everybody. (Maybe at tat time, u will say: Y my tummy so big ha???

twinkle/dolphina,
You can try to buy yr mat clothing at Novena Sq - Marton Bell(#02-28), now have 20%disc. Sun Plaza at Sembawang or Yishun North Point. (Not so ex.)

Hi Oceans,

Thanks for the advice. Ya, I think i shouldn't stress my hubby too much, coz he always says "too much pressure" recently.. :p

Well, I think we will stay here for at least another few years, unless we find a better job back in Malaysia. The lucky thing is that we do not have any financial committment other than insurance, was thinking of buying a house but found out that I am pregnant, so gave up the idea. Worst come to worst, I can still stay in my sister's house..:p

To all MTBs,

Have you all think about whether to look for babysitter or getting a maid after bb is born? I really can't decide now, both got pros and cons, think I should gather more opinion first..how about you gals??

mum-to-be
I got a rocker and a two-way facing 3-position recline pram for sales. Rocker used less than 10times, and pram is never used before, all are new stuff. Interested please email me at [email protected], pls state 'purchase sale items' in the email subject. Thanks. Below is the pic of the items.

rocker
139810.jpg

139811.jpg

139812.jpg

pram
139813.jpg

139814.jpg

139815.jpg

139816.jpg

139817.jpg

139818.jpg

oceans,

ya i am lazy also but then think me gonna outgrown those existing clothing soon....

evelyn,
thanks for your concern..me still having blocked nose and worst in air-con place esp now in the office. cannot use nose to breathe can only use mouth..arghhh sound like a fish...cant wait to leave on the dot.

hee yalor thats what my gf told me also...better to have smaller tummy else very clumsy...but simply cant help it coz wanna to show off the big tummy...

TSH,
personally i prefer a reliable babysit than a maid. i will never leave my bb with the maid alone unless there are elders around. simply heard too many stories liow.

sniff sniff...

Hi Evelyn,
Thanks for your support. I'm snacking because I had a stressful afternoon. Hubby would have killed me if he knows about this...heehee...But I will try to eat nutritious snacks for the sake of BB.

Hi TSH,
My 2-cents worth on the maid or babysitter issue...Well, I guess a babysitter would be better because they would be local and understand the our language and knows the usual practice. It's easier to communicate to them compared to a maid who's a foreigner. Having said that, you must get a trustworthy babysitter because there are cases of babysitter dropping the baby and not telling the parents about it or are dishonest about it, then baby will be in trouble if serious.

I agree with Dolphina that if you want a maid, you should get someone you trust like your parents or relatives to 'jaga' them. I've read enough news report on the horrors of leaving your baby with maids. But having said that there was a case whereby there were 2 maids being 'jaga' by ILs - 1 maid tried to frame the other maid by feeding the baby bleach!! And all this because of jealousy!! The baby burnt its vocal cords and throat!! I really pity the baby's parents. I guess all this is a matter of 'Heng/Suay'.

Yve &amp; MTBs,
As long u feel comfortable, even dun look like mat clothing, should be no problem lah! But make sure dun still wear those too tight or unfit skirts.....(dunno want to laugh or....after reading all yr comments on mat clothes.)

Twinkle,
Some mom's tummy really not abvious even 4mths pregnant. But some cases like yvoyvo, jaykay...&amp; me, tummy became bigger after 4mths. Once it starts growing, Wow! I think u should know wat I want to say hor?

TSH,
Yap! I am M'sian too, Spore PR. My hubby is a Sporean. Your both same age as me! Ha, so happy! (I thought I am the oldest one here.)

Em, env science....really cold subject!
My son is taking care by baby sitter(2 yrs+ lor, so far so good.) I think you should look for b.sitter than a maid.

How come nobody ask me abt my detailed scan yesterday? So sad!

(just kidding !)
BB overall everything is ok, size not too big not too small. Guess boy or girl ?
It is a boy! (Alamak, how can?)
My hubby, my sis, friends, colleague,...all can't believe tat b'cos the symptom totally diff if compare to my 1st one.
Since confirm it is a boy....So long as the baby is healthy that's most important, right? (Everybody told me tat.)
My hubby like BB girl very much! He even told me: Heehe..., we can try again next one. (Give me big headache now b'cos I wld like stop at 2.)

<font color="0000ff">Evelyn</font>, really, u went for your detailed scan yesterday?
Sorry for forgeting..
Hey, but did u mentioned to us or not!!

Well, glad that everything went well for you and BB!
Was it long? Which hospital r u in har?
U sure no epidural can? I was wondering if i can tolerate the pain or not too leh...
140080.gif

By the way, did anyone of u feel that ur tummy is like going to burst like that? I usually feel that way especially at nite and notice that tummy is bigger in nite time too! Is this normal?

read all the messages since my last postings...so many issues &amp; info to learn.

Coming Monday going for hospital visit (to view the wards) followed by detailed scan @ TMC then to see gynae for the regular checkup. Very excited about the scan &amp; most importanly to see that the baby has developed well. Read about the 3 &amp; 4D scan but gynae said it's usually conducted in the 8mth but by then it's very close to the due date so no point. but wat the heck, since got this facility thot of having it for the experience &amp; get the photo for keepsake.

Yoga: if u feel like going, just do it. have attended 4 lessons, stopped for 2 weeks &amp; can feel bodyaches from sitting too long @ PC. do u have water retention problem? my foot get swollen at times &amp; the trainer shows us some movement to help to activate your "lymph" (dunno if it's correct) to help drain the water. my package still left 2 lessons, so will sign up for another 10 classes.

maternity clothes: jus 2 wks before the 3rd mth, start wearing maternity clothes. Now in my 20th week, the clothes has been subjected much wear &amp; tear from the daily use. as for the bras, go for the non-wire type so that the milk-production veins is not blocked by the wire.

Governmt subsidy: watch the handover on 12 Aug until sleep...thot they will annouce on the perks &amp; subsidy. hoping for 3 mths maternity leave &amp; more for fathers, &amp; more child-care subsidy.

baby movemt: more distinct movement can be felt this few days but not the kicking types, like little tub to your palm when u place yr hands as you lay still. also observe a vertical dark line appearing. actually quite enjoying seeing myself in the mirror after bath. everything so round...every nite subject my hubby to answer the same question "has my tummy has grown bigger." haha

babysitting: my mum will be doing the confinemt for me &amp; has expressed that she can help to look after my baby. but she has to leave her job which she enjoys though not paying very much. problem is she is abit wishy-washy. later say maybe work part-time in the morning &amp; leave my baby @ her home with my dad &amp; elderly granny. another issue is since we want to bring the baby back everynite, we have to go to her place in the South after office &amp; return to our home in North every working nite. dunno we got the stamina...must also think of how much to pay mum for the baby sitting? anyone here can advise on the market rate? but still personally prefer mum to take care if not leave baby @ infant care.

music: mozart music was used for research &amp; found it's good for baby. actually, further studies has shown any soothing classical or new age music is good for baby. recently bought 1 CD "Music for Mother &amp; Child" which consists of 3 CD @ abt $22 or $19. pretty good, disk 1 for pregancy &amp; new-born (with wind-chimes in the backgrd), 2 for 0-1years (with ocean sound) &amp; 3 for 1-2years (lullabies).

Tha's all folk! Have a good weekend! and by the way, Baby D do have a safe &amp; a smooth trip to US!