(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

twinkle,

i was told i will be having blood test for down syndrome too for my next appt (i think its call triple test) too altho i am below 30... thinks it a common test for all i guess.

anyone going for pre-natal class? any idea at which week will be ideal to start the class huh?

heee anyone start to wear maternity clothings already? i have not leh...my tummy still not obvious...
wonder when will it really shows...

So many postings to catch up on over the weekend!

Oceans,
I think I paid only $1-2 for 100 tablet of Folic acid in Unity. No harm taking till term since it's so cheap. Actually I bought Iron tablets from Unity as well, but gynae said it's better to take Neogobion because it contains sorbitol to help with constipation. Now I'm quite regular, so will continue taking Neogobion.

twinklegal,
Try fruits like kiwi and dragonfruit. They have lots of small seeds which help constipation. It works for me. We opted not to do alpha beta test for down syndrome because hubby and I already decided we'll keep the baby no matter what and the test is not very accurate, so it'll only cause stress. Nowadays the gynaes just let everybody take the tests so that they won't get accused of negligance for not doing the test. But some of these tests are really not compulsory. We checked with the gynae on what is compulsory and what is not, plus what test is for what.

My gynae didn't bother to measure my bb at my last appt cos baby was all curled up and sleeping. I also felt those wave like aches now and then, keep wondering if it's bb kicking me!? This weekend, my tummy grew much bigger suddenly! I now have a distinct bulge, so hopefully at next Tues appt, my gynae will be happy with my weight gain and bb's size =)

Hi Dolphina,

Me too have not started wearing Maternity clothes, only bought a few, so ex.. so will wait till cannot fit in to my working clothes at all then will start wearing loh... my tummy also not obvious...

Hi Baby D,

Tks for the tips, will try kiwi soon. Is dragon fruit heaty? think I heard from someone that it is... not too sure...

Hi everyone..

so many postings here.

Anyone here crave for orange? I crave for that.. but heard that cannot eat too much..

Ocean,
My EDD on X'mas eve (yeh !) How abt u ? R u SAHM ? How long u join this already ?

dolphina,
Yes. Next week have detail scan. My gynae is Dr John Tee. N u ? R u SAHM too ?

twinkle,
If have any blood test just do, don't worry ! No harm for you and yr baby. Me, 31 years old also take the blood test.

hi toh,

i tried eating oranges twice in my 1st tri and puked badly. till now dared not try again... heard that if eat too much will cause phlegm in bb. dunno is it true or not.

hi evelyn,

nah not a SAHM...cannot afford lah....heee
i am seeing dr chris chong..my detailed scan will be 1st week of sept...are u attending any pre-natal class at KKH?

<font color="ff6000">Twinkle</font>, the list not completed yet. Still got somemore!

<u>Baby bathing</u>
127855.gif

Wipes
Baby bath tub
Bath mat
Bath towel
Bath sponge (optional, small cotton handkerchief from Chinatown would suffice)
Baby soap/ bath lotion (Johnsons baby foam bath recommended, use very little for each bath)
Baby shampoo
Baby vest
Disposable diapers (Pampers Newborn recommended for night use)
Baby blanket
Cotton diapers
Cotton buds
Sterile thermoplastic tray with swabs &amp; swabsticks
A jug of cool boiled water
Polythene bag for soiled diapers
Baby oil
Baby changing mat
Rubber mat
Dish/ container (to wash babys face)
Baby powder with puff (medicated baby powder recommended)
Tissue paper

<u>Care of the Umbilical Cord Stump</u> (Optional as the hospital will provide everything)
Sterile swab applicators
Sterile cotton swabs
Sterile container for cord spirit
Cord spirit

<u>Laundry for Baby Clothes</u>
Buckets with lids
Nappy detergent
Nappy softener
Basket for baby laundry
Clothes hanger for drying

<u>Feeding Baby</u>
Milk bottles &amp; small sized teats (Avent is good)
Bottle scrub brush
Warmer cum carrier bag
Thermometer (to use when baby is unwell)
Large pan/pot (for sterilising)
Tongs (to handle hot bottles)
6-Bottle Electric Steam Steriliser (optional)
Milk containers

<u>Accessories</u>
Playpen
Walker
Stairgates
Rubber protectors
Highchair
Bouncer
Stroller
Baby carrier
Pram

<u>Toys &amp; Playstuff</u>
Rattle
Mirror
Baby gym

<u>Mummy Care</u>
Maternity Dress/ Pyjamas with Front opening for breast feeding
Breast cream (Medela Purelan is good. From Robinsons, kiddy palace)
Cotton balls (Sterile)
Nursing pads (Pigeon is good. Tollyjoy is lousy)
Disposible panties
Sanitary pads (Whisper - Long Ultra dry recommended)
Bedroom slippers
Painkillers (with doctors prescription only)
Nursing pads
Breast pump

<u>Other optional items</u>
Plastic bowl/ container, 10-12 inch diameter for both baby and mother.
Electrical Flask (autoboil), quick access to boiling water for milk
Thermoflask without autoboil, for mums drinking water
Claypot or double boil claypot for mums confinement soup
Claypot or earthenware for cooking pigs trotters in ginger and black vinegar
2 pails for mums bathing and face cleansing.

Welcome Evelyn.

Username EDD Sex-of-BB
Evelyn Au - 24/12
Tetra (Mum-To Francis's baby) - 02/1 (25-27/12)
Ah Bunny - 04/01 - Boy
TSH (tan_tan) - 05/1
goodfriend - 05/1
sun_moon - 06/1
Catz - 08/1
babyD - 14/1
JayKay - 14/1 - Boy
dolphina - 15/1
emonster - 15/1
yvoyvo - 14-16/1
twinkle - 22/1
yve - 17-22/1
Hopeful24 - 25/1
Ocean - 26/1
Toh - 27/1

Hi Twinkle,

I heard that the best time is from 4mths onwards. And the one at KKH for Aug I think is fully booked. r u interested? I am thinking either to go to KKH or TMC...

Huh, <font color="119911">BabyD</font>, so cheap? They only sell abt $2 for 100 tabs of Folic Acid? Is the dosage the same at 5mg/tabets? Thout hospital things are cheaper and it ended up more expensive!

<font color="0000ff">Toh</font>, i dun have any craving leh!! Still the same, just as fussy on food like before, but now at least can shift the faults to BB!!

<font color="ff6000">Evelyn</font>, how long have i been joinin wat?
Nope, me not SAHM. I am SAWM - Stary at Work Mum-to-be!
I wished i can stay at home too... Ur EDD is Christmas Eve? Wow.... how nice, but BB got one lesser present hor!!

<font color="aa00aa">yvoyvo</font>, thks for the updates!! i also thinkin of joining the classes, but dun noe is it good or not!

Hi Dolphina,

I am also seeing Dr Chris Chong in KKH. so far i find that he is friendly. Will be seeing him again in two weeks time.. but detailed scan will be in sept.

Yes Oceans, sometimes i also very fussy abt food that i will tell my hubby is bb who wants that not me.. hee hee

hi toh,

ya i find him good, no complaint so far, very accomodating too....

will be seeing him this fri and my detail scan also next month.

do u intend to attend kkh pre-natal classes? thot of doing so but not too sure when to enrol...

Toh, I don't just crave oranges.. I crave anything sweet. Trying to restrain myself if not sekali kena gestational diabetes.

Had an appt with my OBGYN today.. still no ultrasound.. hv not had ultrasound since week 11... *sigh* He said it was no point as even a baby girl will look like she's got a little penis so he'd rather be sure and do it at week 20.. arrggh.. another 20 days fr now. But he will give us a video of the ultrasound.. cool

Ocean, alamak, I think I am the most kiasu of all the MTB in this thread... I've bought all my baby's clothes till 9 months and all my breastfeeding barang barang.. not to mention swim diapers, pram, infant car seat, milk bottles, steriliser, toys.. the only major purchases left will be baby's crib and changing station. After we confirm the sex of the baby, then we will go to Osh Kosh factory outlet and buy up until 2-3 years old.. hehe.. A lot of the stuff is cheaper in the US, for e.g. Avent, clothes and shoes, toys..

Heard tt prenatal classes are really good to attend.

Hahha..<font color="119911">Toh</font>, so, great minds think alike! We are fussy all bcos of BB!!
I felt that at least we are lucky as we can still be fussy about food like before!!

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, the KK classes think start from wks 16 onwards!! I dun noe if i wanna to attend or not leh!! I heard TMC one with one of the snr nurses is very good! Think we must pop by another thread to ask those more experience mummies to get some comments!

<font size="+2"><font color="ff6000">Catz</font>, u buy BB's cloth till 9 mths liao??</font> Goosh, that is very very fast!!
Think cos it is cheaper to buy in US!!

twinklegal,
I don't think dragonfruit is heaty at all. It's like eating kiwi or honeydew, which i don't think are heaty... Anyway, I was told preggies shouldn't eat too much cooling stuff for dunno what reason and all the "bu" stuff are heaty so everything should balance out if you don't eat too much of anything.

Dolphina,
Oranges tend to be too acidic, that's why it makes you puke. Go for other fruits. These days the kiwis and dragonfruits are quite sweet because they're in season. Alternatively, I find Florida orange juice (the extra large cartons with "Most Pulp, Farmer's style") really good. It tastes quite natural, not so sweet, and has a lot of pulp for fibre. The grapefruit is good too, but a bit bitter for some people. It's a bit expensive, but not so bad when you compare volume for price with other brands like marigold or fruit tree.

Ocean,
Yah, I just checked last night. I paid only around $2.50 for 100 tablets of 5mg per tablet Folic Acid from Unity. I got the generic Iron tablets for around $3.60 I think, but so far I haven't taken any of those because gynae recommended Neogobion to help with constipation. Neogobion contains other multivites besides the normal dose of Iron, including 1mg of folic, Vit Bs etc. It sells for around $23-26 in Unity for 90 tablets. I can't remember the exact price because I went there some time ago.

Hi Catz,
I haven't bought a single thing for BB, hardly bought anything for meself either! Just taking out loose tie back dresses (not really maternity yet) to wear this week and I'm planning to wear hand me downs from a relative until I leave for US. Can't believe you've already bought all your breast pumps, pram and infant seats already! You seriously going to buy stuff for BB up to 2-3 years? We're not even thinking half as far, my goodness! Are things really so cheap in US? You have a car there is it, otherwise how to buy so much stuff and cart back?

catz,

wow u are indeed amazing, already bought so much stuff up to 9 months!! hahah really "pei fu" you!

Oceans,
16 weeks..but scare if go too early will forget most things in the next few months...also if most attendees got big tummy liow then i a bit paiseh leh coz no obvious tummy to show yet... heard TMC ones conducted by Mrs Wong is good but sure overwhelming response since she is so popular.

babyD,
yalor till now i still very skeptical of having oranges juices..maybe i can give it a try since past the 1st tri liow hor...

any mtb gonna breastfeed? thot of doing so only during maternity leave coz company facility not friendly at all leh...now dunno wan to get the manual or electric pump...coz its not a long term thingy for me...so dun think will invest in an expensive one. aiyo so many things to buy and consider...

Wah Catz, you are really on the ball!! I haven't done anything yet. Hubby and I are very inert. We are just waiting for people to pass us hand-me-downs. But I can understand when you are in US with Osh Kosh factory outlets and all, prices should be very good. I kowtow to you ah!

Dolphina, I am thinking of attending only Mrs Wong's classes at TMC. You want to go? I am going to give them a call first. Let you know the details.

Hi Dolphina, I have decided to go for the 2 ante-natal lessons plus 1 doctor's talk at TMC. I didn't want to go for the whole package because I thought the rest of the lessons (except for 4 &amp; 5) are not so useful for me. I will be attending lessons on 6th, 13th and 21st Oct (every Wed). You interested?

jaykay,

u r fast!

u mean we can pick and choose which lesson we wan? then do u need to pay for the whole package? how much is it?

dun think i can make it on weekdays, actually prefer weekend classes...

wow so now u already booking the oct classes. by then which week will u be at huh.

sorry so many questions.

Hi JayKay,

I am interested in the ante-natal class as well. Do you have the details of the course? or can we get the details from website?

tan tan

Hehe.. alamak, now I feel so paiseh. :p Dunno leh, all the S'poreans over here are stocking up baby clothes left right centre.. even those who are only thinking of having kids 2 years later! The baby clothes are really a steal.. we got a lot of bargains 'cos we take our time browsing through the sales and clearance. Even for my Avent pump, I got it at a really good price. Yah, I'm really serious about stockpiling (in vacuum bags) for 2 - 3 yrs 'cos we figure that we save a bundle of $ and time.. since over here, we're both so free to shop, might as well buy. Sekali go back to S'pore, no time to browse for bargains!
Shows you what a bored housewife I am... hehe..

BabyD, you can hv lots of fun shopping too. You should be flying soon hor? We have a huge SUV so we can really fill 'er up. In the US, if you don't have a car (unless you're in NYC), it's like you hv no legs!

Dolphina, I plan to try BF.. everyone says not to stress yourself out so I bought a manual pump first. If I become a professional moo machine, then I'll upgrade to an electric.

hello girls,

been rather quiet here lately...

sun_moon must be too busy meeting up with frds in SG liow no time to come in..heeeee

catz, ya i was thinking of getting a manual one also but heard its so much tougher and tiring than an electrical one....so having 2nd thots... decisions decisions again!

Dolphina, I'll be attending lessons on 6, 13 and 21 Oct. Actually, the lady over the phone asked me to take up the whole course ($180 exl GST if not delivering in TMC) because the price difference is not very great. However, I feel that the rest of the lessons are not so crucial for me. Hence, I have decided on the 2+1 package ($147 incl GST). You can bring hubby along during these lessons.

I wanted to go for their weekend classes, but was told that they are no longer available. I should be about 26 weeks pregnant by then. Can't imagine how i'll look like then. Heehee...

TSH, check out the website provided by Yve. That's where I got the class details. You can call to get the specifics.

hey dolphina, i did my research.. apparently the avent manual pump is really effective.. yup, hand might hurt but no point paying so much for an electric pump when you don't know how long you can do TBF.. less of a risky buy, if you know what i mean. besides, lots of my friends are pumping exclusively with the avent manual as it is silent and doesn't make an embarassing noise while pumping at the office. Haha

Hey Catz,
Hubby and I have been wondering how much extra money we need to budget for buying all the baby and mommy stuff. Since you're the expert who has done all the shopping so far, do you mind sharing with us how much you paid for the various things you bought, like your Avent breast pump, baby clothes &amp; pjs, pram, steriliser, milk bottles, maternity bras etc etc?? It'd help us a great deal with planning. How much does a car cost over there? We're going to be in Boston city so parking is very difficult and most people get around by subway like in NYC. We haven't decided whether to get a car yet, especially because we have no experience driving in cold weather conditions like snow and ice so it might be quite dangerous. It's a lot colder up there than in California, with lots more snow. Hubby joked about how when the snow falls, he'll make a snowman and make me stand next to it to see if snowman and me are equally fat, cos I'll be near term by then!

Hi Toh,
I crave for orange only in my first 2mths, but tried to control b'cos also heard that will cause phlegm in baby.
So funny ! Since from last week suddenly me craving of ice-cream ! Anyone experience this ?

Been super busy these 2 weeks, so no time to pop in and chat, have not gone through any of the postings yet... so much to catch up...

Hi twinkle, thank you for your assurance, so glad to know that my baby growth is ok.
Been quite bothered by it during the whole weekend.

Catz, you already bought so much things for your baby ah... amazing.. actually, I also just bought 2 cartons of Pampers for my baby. Too cheap to miss out.. 4 packs of Pampers Premium for only $79.. Other supermarkets are selling at $26 per pack.. so my colleagues urged me to buy and keep. Even my other colleague who's giving birth in April also bought 3 cartons...haha. I'm really a kiasu mum..

Hi Jaykay, so you have already booked your lessons at TMC. I was supposed to update you on this during my last visit, but it slipped my mind because of the horrifying blood test... so pai sai.. I think I will also opt for the 2 lessons plus 1 talk, cos some of it are abit off for me. Going to look at attending so yoga classes soon.

Been super busy these 2 weeks, so no time to pop in and chat, have not gone through any of the postings yet... so much to catch up...

Hi twinkle, thank you for your assurance, so glad to know that my baby growth is ok.
Been quite bothered by it during the whole weekend.

Catz, you already bought so much things for your baby ah... amazing.. actually, I also just bought 2 cartons of Pampers for my baby. Too cheap to miss out.. 4 packs of Pampers Premium for only $79.. Other supermarkets are selling at $26 per pack.. so my colleagues urged me to buy and keep. Even my other colleague who's giving birth in April also bought 3 cartons...haha. I'm really a kiasu mum..

Hi Jaykay, so you have already booked your lessons at TMC. I was supposed to update you on this during my last visit, but it slipped my mind because of the horrifying blood test... so pai sai.. I think I will also opt for the 2 lessons plus 1 talk, cos some of it are abit off for me. Going to look at attending some yoga classes soon.

dolphina,
Oh..., Dr Chris Chong ! heard lots of good comments on him. Anyway, Dr John Tee is very experience, I find him good ! (my first baby was delivered by him.)
So far, I have not attended any pre-natal class at KKH, no time lah !

If you have time, better attend. My sis told me quite helpful...
Is this your 1st baby ?

catz,

hmmm since u have already done so much research, then most prob i will try to get the avent manual pump liow...thanks for that! must rem to share watever tips u have ok...heeeee

evelyn,
yupe its my 1st bb...wow so this is your 2nd bb...u must be very experience liow lah. so how old is your elder bb?
dr john tee is the head of dept right. actually that time was deciding on whether to go to Dr Chong or dr Tee....lucky so far so good with him.

evelyn,

oh forgotten to ask u, can u still rem how much is your total hospital bill when u had your 1st bb... how much cash did you pay? did u take the single bedded?

believe u are ok with their overall service right. did u bf and any lactation consultant came to assist u? paiseh so many questions at one go..no other friends of mine had delivered in kkh so guess have to ask u liow.

Hi emonster, welcome back. No worries about checking on the pre-natal classes at TMC. Will you be attending lessons 4 &amp; 5? Better book soon if you are looking at going during Sep/Oct as vacancies seems to be going fast.

Hope to see you there.

Ocean,
pai say! wat I meant was since fr when you join this discussion board? Anyway, u can ignore my qns.(since fr Aug 2003, right?)
Even my EDD is x'mas eve, but I believe tat sure early 1 or 2weeks time. (Just wait &amp; see!) Your guys also must prepare tat baby will come out early 1 to 2weeks time fr the EDD. (Nowadays, all baby have enough vit &amp; full w energy, that's why want to come out early mah!)

If my BB really come out on X'mas eve, got one lesser present meh? (Me born on Valentine's day, got double present leh!)

Is this your 1st baby? Who will take care your baby after yr CF?

Evelyn, actually i joined this forum earlier, think ard Oct'02 when i was sourcing. But i never register as member till the forum required!

Yap, this will be my first baby. Have not think who will take care. Wait till final trimester then decide lah!!

catz &amp; dolphina: my colleague is using a manual breast pump in the office for 4 mths. so i'll borrow it from her. the only thingy is the sound esp if there are many male colleagues around, it's quite uncomfortable. she did it in the meeting room, only have 1 male in the dept &amp; that's our boss...so he got no choice. i got another manual Avent pump from my SIL so will try which one is better for me. planning to bf for 6 mths (if possible) since it's free &amp; perfect food for infant. pple say bf baby are usually more healthier. it's juz that mum can't any how eat/drink things but not as restricted as when u're pregnant. Btw, i saw that Mums &amp; Babes rent dual pumps for bf mum so dun have to buy, can be pretty expensive.

Hey Tetra... er.. I don't feel so good about using other ppl's breastpump as breast milk is kinda personal... I guess it's OK if you're just testing to see if you can get a good let-down with that particular brand but I would run out and get my own as soon as I was sure. Esp with those electric ones with the thin tubes.

babyD, I estimate that we prob will use not more than US$1.5k buying up stuff till average 2.5yrs. For toys (esp the plasticky kind that you can easily disinfect), you can save such a bundle by going to yard sales. But actually Fisher Price, Tiny Love, Imaginarium etc are so much cheaper here so you can save, even by buying new toys. However,for things like playpens, cribs and car seats, you are recommended to buy brand new due to safety reasons.. esp as SIDS is much more common in colder climate. Aiyoh, I cannot imagine not having a car for grocery shopping. You could get a really old clonker for around US$2k since you won't use it to commute into town.. more likely that you will use it during the weekends when you're out shopping in the 'burbs. Or going to the nearest factory outlets.. hehe. I was living in northern England and I had a car.. couldn't live without one! There are such things as antifreeze for your windscreen wipes and snow chains so not to worry.. don't speed, that's all. If you want a good idea of how much you'll need to spend, you can chk out target.com or babiesrus.com.. those are standardised US prices. However, I shopped around for sales but you might not hv the same luxury of time. Lots of good buys on ebay though.. I got my Avent Isis with the On-the-go set for a total of US$47 but at Target, it's $57.

emonster, I had the crazy idea of shipping back pampers.. hehe.. 'cos I hv warehouse club membership but aiyah, paiseh. However, I might bring back a big box of 1000 baby wipes 'cos I'm not sure if they sell such a big pack of baby wipes in S'pore. Seems like everything in S'pore is so small-sized..haha.. I've got the MEGA american syndrome liao. :p

There is a sale a at Marina Square Mothercare, refer to this website. From 5th Aug to 10th Aug http://www.mothercare.com.sg/ms

I had called up both TMC and KKH, I felt that the nurse from TMC are much more friendly then KKH and she even suggested that I go in Sept. While KKH just let me know of the dates in Aug... I think I will confirm going to TMC for the 6 lessons from 18th Sep to 21st Oct. Anyone interested?

Dolphina,
Em! This is my 2nd baby...now can say had a bit experience lah, not very....
My boy already 2years old lor, very active &amp; talkative! (But sometime dunno wat he talking abt? kirikuru, kirikuru... still under learning stage.)
U still dunno BB's gender? Hope for boy or girl? will u look after BB after CF? ...look for CF nanny already? me still looking....(last time one no good!) Any recommend ?

Hi Dolphina/Toh,

Oranges do cause phlegm, hence better to avoid.

Hi Ocean,
Tks for the detailed list. Appreciate that.

So how u ladies feeling today? anybody going away for the long weekend? Have a great week ahead.

tetra,

my col used an electrical one and its very noisy also....but heard its lots easier...

evelyn,

oh ur boy already 2, must be very cute now.. hope to know my bb gender in my next appt provided bb co-operate. me no preference since 1st one lor. not looking for CF as my MIL will be doing confinement for me....a bit worried but since she insisted so bo bian lor. sigh

Dolphina,
sorry for not ans you another qns. (too fast post the message.)

Yesterday tried to find my medical record &amp; bills(still keep it w me.) See below :

Ttl(S$)
Mthly check up 620.10
Hospital bill:
Mum (Ward &amp; various) 966.95
Baby (Ward &amp; various) 180.40
Medisave <943.40>

Ttl cash paid 824.05

Not so expensive right? B'cos I was normal deliver &amp; never took the epidural anaesthesia.(should be this name.)

Oh missing for the past two days cos' very busy..
Well, I also crave for sweet stuff, and people said that if that's the case, then most likely it's baby girl.. If crave for sour stuff then it's boy.. wonder how true is that..

Some of you are fast.. i haven't even get anything for bb yet.. wait till i know the gender maybe i will be stocking up too..

<font color="119911">Evelyn</font>, u so strong, din take epidural? Not painful meh?
Both of my SILs told me must take epidural, so very very very pain..... But i very scared of side effect leh!

<font color="0000ff">Toh</font>, i also not buy anything for BB. Guess my thots of able to see BB gender at wk 15 doesn't work! Today went for a scan and saw BB face and BB really facing the scan. But BB curved up his little leg and anyway the sonagraph told me can only see at wk 20!
Where got need so long!?

The sonagrapher also pointed to me this is the eyes, nose and mouth. I looked at it, black black, cant see the difference!
But today, i managed to hear BB heartbeat for the first time!

Ocean,
pain! of course v pain lah! Actually my hubby asked me if can tahan better dun take, like wat u said: scared of side effect! Anyway, I got the feeling of normal delivery of my new born son at tat time. Come to think of it, it's so wonderful! (If u take the epidural, u can't feel when the baby come out, told by my colleague...)
Is yr temper ok during yr pregnancy?

Dophina,
I din take the single bedded, mine was B1 class(4 bedded).
Yap, when I bf the lactation consultant did came on the 1st day. I only bf my son for 2mths b'cos as a working mum(maybe for me only), not so convenience "pump" my milk in the office. Will u bf?

hows ur weekend??

evelyn,

thanks for the info on the bills. wow i think the cost is indeed reasonable for 4 bedded. still hv not decided to go for wat ward yet. u are very brave to go w/o epidural. i dun think i can do it with my low threshold of pain...hehehe most likely will opt for it....

i also intend to bf but will stop once i go back to work coz my co also not very bf friendly. heard that there will be 3 months Mat leave, hope its true...

oceans,

me too cannot see my bb gender at last scan. dr say can see at the detailed scan at 20th week coz the machine at ADC is better. arghhh still have to wait for the next appt...

Hi Dolphina,
Yes, I too, heard from the grapevine that there's going to be 3 months of maternity leave. However, I'm not sure about the specifics like whether it is going to be compulsory or optional, subsidised by government or fully borne by employer. I'm crossing my fingers still because I'm intending to breastfeed also. Hence, a 3 month maternity leave would be a good time to bond with BB.

Has anyone bought the Medela electric breast pump that cost about $600? What's the difference between that and the usual electric ones? I'm not sure whether I should invest so much $$ on a breast pump. Looking forward to your advice.

hi girls,
I just got back from my appt and what we saw last time is now confirmed, I have a boy!
BB is doing well and they took my blood.

Hi Catz,
That doesn't sound too bad but it's quite a hassle to go around comparing prices right?? Maybe I should go around singapore and write down the prices so that as long as it's cheaper in US, I just buy. Not sure hubby has the kind of patience to do that much shopping. You and hubby that free, huh? I guess it's ok if you don't have to work. Both of us will be fully occupied so I don't think we have the same luxury of time as you do. Also rather buy from online companies than from individuals on ebay so we'll see how. Oh yah, I checked with my gynae today and he refused to believe that USA can make the triple test compulsory because he says it's the same as getting amnioncentesis after 40 and they can't force you to do it. Some people in US don't have medical insurance so they don't even go for ante-natal care. Can you check again with your gynae about it to confirm? I don't know where else to find the info leh.

Hi babyD, congratulations!

That makes the 3 of us in this thread who are expecting boys. Is your hubby excited? When will you be relocating in US?