(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Hey Ocean, yeah, thanks for the suggestion! Anyway, the earliest I can be back in S'pore is last week of Oct.. so I'm not worrying too much about it yet.
I'm only taking my Citracal Prenatal Rx.. 'cos that has all the folic, calcium, iron etc.. not necessary to supplement with too much stuff. What kind of extra supplements were you thinking of taking?

Catz,
Really, it's compulsory in California?? That's strange... thought in US they believe in freedom of choice so they never make anything compulsory except vaccines for public health reasons. I hope it's not compulsory in Massachusetts, otherwise we should do it here and bring the results over since it might be really expensive there unless insurance covers blood tests as well.

Ocean,
Besides the multivit containing lots of Iron, I'm still taking Folic Acid and also some Vitamin C cos Vitamin C helps in absorption of Iron and also in deposition of collagen. I figured no harm taking Vitamin C since it's supposed to boost the immune system and we definitely need to deposit lots of collagen in our tummy area so that the skin can stretch properly. Baby probably needs it too, for formation of hair, nails & skin. I didn't check with anyone about taking Vit C, but I think it should be ok. Anyway, hubby thinks I shouldn't eat any medicine even if I'm sick so Vit C is my only immune system hope!

Hey BabyD, I'm actually not surprised that it's compulsory.. they take child welfare very seriously here. Anyway, it's always a good idea to bring up all your medical records 'cos doing the same tests again will cost you more than double. Hmm.. how come your multivit doesn't contain folic acid? I thought that's one of the key ingredients in prenatal vitamins?

<font color="0000ff">Catz</font>, actually i been taking Obimin but i saw that it does not contain Iron and Zinc. I was thinking if i am lacking of these as i sometimes feel very dizzy....

By the way <font color="0000ff">Catz</font>, i think <font color="119911">BabyD</font>'s mitiviamin comes with Folic too. But just that the dosage is smaller.
I am also taking Folic Acid with Obimin though gynae ever said i only need to take the Multi-vitamin in my 2nd trimester! Me kiasu!!

<font color="ff6000">Toh</font>, actually we can stop taking folic acid after 1st trimester as by then, our plancenta will take over the duty to provide BB with the neccessary vitamins. Also, BB spinal cord will be already form by 2nd trimester. But i still continue to take till i finish my supply!

I am also taking obimin and I thought it was due to the iron that is causing my constipationa and heatiness, guess I am wrong. So does anybody knows what's the content of obimin?

hello girls,

oceans /twinkle, does taking obimin worsen your nausea? as i still feeling nausea was told by gynae not to take it until nausea subsided...was thinking its time i should starting taking them since already in 2nd tri...

am still taking folic acid also since theres still stock..hehehe

anyone taking neurogain?? heard its good but is it necessary?

Just checked with my reference. Obimin does contain Iron in the form of Ferrous Fumarate 90mg. The full list of Vitamins and Minerals of Obimin is as follows:-

Vit A 3000 iu
Vit B1 10mg
Vit B2 2.5mg
Vit B6 15mg
Vit B12 4mcg
Vit C 100mg
Vit D 400 iu
Niacinamide (Vit B3) 20mg
Calcium pantothenate (Vit B5) 7.5mg
Folic Acid 1mg
Ferrous Fumarate (Iron) 90mg
Calcium Lactate 250mg
Copper 100mcg
Iodine 100mcg

Ocean, you are right that Obimin does not contain Zinc. You don't have to continue your separate folic acid supplement since Obimin has folic acid.

Dolphina, what is Neurogain? I think you are refering to Neogobion right? If so, it's an Iron supplement with vit C, folic acid and some minerals like manganese and copper. It's for prevention of anemia, esp during pregnancy.

<font color="0000ff">JayKay</font>, yap, i know Obimin c/w Folic Acid. However as the dosage is only 1mg, that is not enough if we are still in the 1st trimester. Understand from KK that the recommended dosage is 5mg per day. As i just move on to the 2nd wk and with some left over, take lor!! Kekekee..

Ok, for neutrogain, let me exact from another thread first! It is heard to contain DHA which is good for the BB's brain development!

OK, this information is from <font color="ff6000">Rochelle</font> who is from the Year End Mum-to-be thread! Thanks to her
, i just cut and paste to put it here:-

<font color="0000ff">What is NeuroGain PB Plus?
NeuroGain PB Plus is an improved formulation of Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) to help meet important nutritional requirements during pregnancy and breastfeeding. NeuroGain PB Plus provides a balanced intake of Omega 3 Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA), omega 6 Arachudonic Acid (AA) and omega 9 Oleic Acid (OA) fatty acids.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Who needs NeuroGain PB Plus?
Pregnant &amp; Breastfeeding mothers
history of low birth weight, pre-term births
frequent, multiple pregnancies
allergy to fish &amp; eggs
poor, unbalanced maternal diet</font>

<font color="0000ff">What is the composition of NeuroGain PB Plus?
Scientifically formulated in Japan, NeuroGain PB Plus provides 250mg of Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA), 20mg of Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA), 18mg of Arachidonic Acid (AA) and 70mg of Oleic Acid (OA) in a small "easy to swallow" 500mg soft gelatin capsules.</font>

By the way, i have checked, the price is abt $30.15 for 30 capsules. One to be taken per day. I think some of the mum-to-be is taking this right?

For more information, pls look at the website!
http://www.mederis.com.my/NeuroGainPBplus.html

<font color="0077aa">dophina</font>, i dun feel anything taking Obimin leh!
In fact, i always put the whole tablets in my mouth and bite it into two and then drink water to swallow it!

Oh, u know we are sort of in the phrase of having lesser MS, some even dun have, and yet still not able to feel BB movement
126666.gif
. Sometimes, i wonder if BB alright or not!
126667.gif

By the way, all of our baby will be born in the Year of Monkey!
126668.gif

jaykay,

ya its the same neurogain that oceans has mentioned.

do u all think we can safely buy off the shelve and consume it since some other girls are also having them at their gynae recommendation or its better to check with our gynae huh?

seems i am having worse constipations since 2nd tri. taking fruits and veg does not help at all leh. cant imagine wat will happen when i start on those pre-natal vits...arghhh

Hi Ocean, actually our daily requirements for folic acid is only 400mcg (micrograms). Hence, the level found in the prenatal multivitamins is more than enough for us. Also, when you take fresh vegetables and fruits, you will be getting a fair share of folate.

Most government hospitals, clinics and pharmacy will dispense the Folic Acid 5mg as it is the only formulation and strength available. It is okay for you to supplement your 1mg folic acid intake in your MV with the 5mg as any extra will be passed out of your body through our urine as folic acid is a water-soluble vitamin. Hence, there is no fear of toxicity.

Ocean, are you taking NeuroGain? Actually, you don't have to take this if you are taking a lot of fish. Fish like salmon, tuna and cod fish are rich in DHA and AA (forms of omega 3 fatty acids). However, there are articles saying that it is good to restrict the amounts of salmon and tuna fish because of the high levels of mercury found in these deep sea fish.

Apparently, it is good to supplement yourself with DHA and AA as it is good for your BB's brain development (suppose to make your BB smarter). The other reason why you should take DHA and AA is that our BB is drawing these fatty acids from our body supplies, hence, it would be good for us to replace what we have given to BB.

I am taking Brand's Omega 3 with essence of Chicken. Cheaper mah!!
However, it does not have AA and Oleic Acid.

Hi Dolphina, I can empathise with your constipation because I am experiencing it as well. (tho' I'm taking prenatal MV tabs now)

Why not try taking Fybogel? It's available in pharmacies and you take it after meals to increase your dietary fibre. This will help to regulate your bowels. Fybogel is not absorb into your blood stream, hence it is safe for pregnant ladies. Just mix 1 pkt of Fybogel with a glass of water and drink immediately. Otherwise, it will become jelly if it stands for too long. Don't try any laxative unless you consult your gynae.

Another tip is take papaya but not too much because of the high Vit A content. Last resort will be preserved prunes!! Hope these advice will help.

I'm taking Neogobion. Yes it contains Folic, but only 1mg and the recommended daily intake is 5mg, so I'm supplementing. Although you technically only need it in the 1st Trimester, gynae says it's a good idea to take it till the end of pregnancy. Actually, did you girls know you can get very cheap generic Folic Acid from NTUC Unity pharmacy? I get my Folic Acid for just a few dollars!

Ocean,
You can only feel baby at 18 weeks or later, so don't be anxious that you don't feel anything yet. Apparently it's a standard for 1st pregnancy. Some mums may feel it earlier for 2nd or 3rd pregnancy.

thanks ocean, maybe i will just give obimin a try and see how it goes...heheh ya i think most likely we will only be able to feel bb movement from wk 18 onwards from wat i read....or perhaps we cant tell if any movement is from bb...

thanks jaykay
hmmm...so we can take fybogel huh..maybe i will give it a try as well...

Hi Jaykay,

Thanks for the info on Obimin, phew, at least I knew it contains Iron. But I am taking it on alternate days instead as it is too heaty, always got constipation if I take it everyday....sigh...
You mentioned that we can't take too much of papaya but is twice per week considered a lot?

Hi Dolphina,

I can understand your problem. I am also getting frequent constipation but fruits and vege doesn't seem to help. But I don't think Obimin will cause me to feel nausea. Basically, my MS hasn't really go away like for today, I m feeling nausea again... sigh.. and I m so bloated urgh...

Just pray hard that it will go away real soon. As what Jaykay suggest, try taking Fybogel. I m also taking it but I restrict myself to max 3 packs per week. Although my gynae says that it is ok to take, but can't help but feel worried if I take too much.

Hello, to all ladies. It has been a long while since I post a message. Hope u've not forgotten me. It has been a crazy weeks this mth, boss piling more work for me. I 've been keeping track of the postings as I will log in to read when I need a break @ work but not convenient to post. By the time reach home, no time to turn on PC except today...hubby got date 2nite (still not back yet!!!)

Anyway, those postings in the last 2 weeks have been addressing issues I have been experiencing like frequent sneezing &amp; stuffy nose (better now), weight gain, pressure having a bb boy, feeling your throbbing heartbeat @ lower abdomen, etc. I have fun reading them!

Tomorrow should be in my 18th wk. Just to share, my last ultrascan was on 19 Jun in my 16wk4d, baby measuring abt 14cm-14.8cm weighing about 190g. 80% chance of a boy. Hmm...baby like very big based on the reference guides. I have gained about 5kg since pregnant, weighing abt 62.5kg. Also withdrew blood for the triple test (incld HIV compulsory). doc said got bad news then call me so assume should be ok.

My next scan will be on 16 Aug &amp; will be going to TMC for the detailed scan. Quite excited as by then should be in the 20th week. We are almost half way the journey!

I feel better than in the 1st trimester, not so sleepy/hungry @ work in the later afternoon. But nose like getting bigger...alas dun noe wat to do!

As for the Neurogain, I have juz finished the 1st bottle. Recommended by my gynae, so take lor since I used to take scott cod liver oil before pregnant. But costly, one capsule=$1, can buy 1 pkt of mee hoon &amp; still got change.

Also checked with my gynae, dun really need to take supplement if already taking multivit. Constipation may get worse. But I think good to take @ least 1 glass of milk i.e. Anmum1 for pregnant mum.

I have not seen Ah_Bunny &amp; Elle logged in for quite some time. Must apologise for not able to revert to your questions earlier. In case, u logged in, the following is for you:

Ah_Bunny: did u go for the Yoga class on Tuesday? Not sure if you're there 'cause saw some new mums. Let me know.

Elle: I'm the one who is using Dr Lawrence Ang @ Sun Plaza. If u wish to find out more, pls let me know.

That's all folks. Have a good sleep or day! Hubby juz came back...must remind him to make milk for me!

Wah.. so many postings!

I also had constipation at first when I switched multivits fr Blackmores to Citracal (higher iron content) but now, because I drink more than 2.5 litres of water per day, I'm really regular.. I hate those fibre drinks.. they taste so icky! I will keep taking multivits even when I hv delivered as I think we will need the extra nutrition when breastfeeding. I think I hv slight anemia so it's good to hv the iron.

JayKay, are you trained in Pharmacy? I must say that you are very knowledgeable about nutrition and stuff!

Good Morning All MTBs!

It's been a long time since I logged in, got tons of work to do, plus my boss ask me to brainstorm about National Day Deco for our facilities..... Gosh, really a big hassle....

Saw lots of postings on vits and supplements. I'm taking NeuroGain too, my gynae says that some mothers feel more alert during the day after taking this. For me, not much difference, but as I am not taking any fish now, so this is my supplement for fish nutrients. Only paid $28.90 for a bottle of 30 capsules.

Seems like there's lots of baby boy for the month of Jan, really curious to know whether my is a boy boy or girl girl, sometimes got the urge to go pay my gynae a vist and do the ultra sound.... :p

I'm still experiencing MS. Especially in the morning when I'm brushing my teeth... although it's always gastric juices.
Puked badly last nite too, don't know when this will end....

Been taking 8 prunes a day to help with my constipation and it do really helps. Maybe those who are experiencing constipation should try, but try not to take too much, cos will kana diarrhoea.

Still quite worried about the size of my baby. Only measures 8.1cm during my last visit (15 wks). Gynae only commented that growth is good and measurement might not be that accurate cos baby is bending, but compared to many here, mine is still the smallest. Both my husband and me quite big size one, my hubby 1.8m, don't know why my baby so small. Hubby once made a remark "you don't eat that's why baby so small size" quite hurtful after hearing this.... No appetite how to eat? So sad.

Emonster, cheer up la. Our body has alot of reserve and baby will take from there. In fact we dun need to really eat for double... just eat quality food, with lots of fiber, vit, proteins and carbo.

So many posting on supplements... i dun know if i am doing it wrong, cos i am only taking the multi-vit that my HK gynae has given me since my 1st trimester. Till now still havent finished. I did ask him before about NeuroGain Plus, but he said there's no scientific proof that it helps and didnt suggest i take. So what i do is i take more fish lo.

Will book my next gynae appointment in Singapore and will see what my new gynae have to say then. However, i still have not decided on which gynae though. Just wondering, if i need to see a few gynae to choose one, is it safe to see them in consecutive days? If they each do u/s on my baby, will it be too much?

Hi Sun-Moon,

I think dun need to let each gynae do the u/s if u see them consecutively, you can ask the first gynae u c to give u a photo then show to the rest, better still if you have all your previous test reports or u/s photo with you, you can show them all to your new gynae, think they should be able to judge base on these, if not, I doubt whether he/she will be the right one to see.. :p

Hi all MTBs,

Just to check with you all: Do your gynae do u/s for you every visit? mine used to be but my last visit (21 July, 16wk+) gynae only used dropplet to hear heart beat, and she said " emm..heart beat is normal, your blood test (which I did three weeks before the visit) result is normal, everything is o.k, so I see you in 5 weeks time then we will do the detailed scan.." in less than 5 mins we were done. A bit disappointed because I was expecting an u/s and was thinking of maybe can find out baby's gender, had been talking to bb for few days to ask him/her to coperate, open leg big big like that...

By the way, these two days I do feel strange "movement" at my lower abdomen, not sure whether it's the so called "bb movement", not very strong. Dun know how to describe the feeling, but it is like your muscle just "shake" abit without control (like sometimes our eye lip will "shake" or "jump" and the old always tell this indicate good/bad thing will happen"..Anyone has experience the same?

Tan Tan,
actually what you describe is almost exactly what i feel. First about my last gynae visit... doc did only a 2 mins scan , although i did get to see my bb, but can't tell the sex yet. And 2 mins is like so short... but at least he told me everything is normal. My hubby said he saw our bb's two thumbs up at the side of the cheeks... like telling us he/she is ok and cool there. Hahaaa... i have it in DVD so can still look at it at home la.

And about the movement in the tummy area, i do feel some faint sensation there too.. yet dunno if it's the bb or not. It's like a small ache, but very short. Most of the time occur when i am lying down.

TSH, same same... over here, they do not do u/s at every visit. Apparently even though there is only a small amt of radiation in u/s, it's still better to be prudent. I don't mind lah.. but we were so depressed after the visit.

sun_moon, so I guess you'll be delivering in S'pore for sure? Guess we'll be arriving back in S'pore at around the same time, big bellies and all eh?

Yup, the movement is like what I feel but I hv to be lying very still...

Afternoon
127073.gif
Everyone!! It's lunch time
127074.gif
. Dun noe wat to eat, so eat Mee Siam!!
Now waiting...

<font color="0000ff">Dolpina</font>, for the neurogain PB Plus, KK they dun prescribe. Even if they prescribe, u still have to buy it over the counter. What i heard was that we can start taking it at the start of our third trimester!

<font color="119911">JayKay</font>, me not taking neurogain yet. I also dun take alot of fish
127075.gif
leh! Been takin lots of chicken recently!
Actually, i dun mind BB taking my fatty away, can slim down
. Kekeke...

By the way 400mcg of Folic is smaller amount than 5mg right?
The gynae told me that the recommended dosage for the 1st trimester is actually 5mg. Anyway, it is alright to take more for Folic Acid.

By the way, Fybogel is safe for pregnancy. My doc actually prescribe me with 3 boxes of the orange flavour!
127076.gif
But i still seldom take, very lazy as i like to put drink for a while and sip them as and when. For Fybogel cannot, must drink fast fast else turn into jelly!

<font color="ff6000">BabyD</font>, i saw that in KK, the pharmacy sell Folic at S$1.50 for 30 tabs! Anyway, we already moving to 2nd trimester, thus guess no need to take too much Folic if we r taking Muti-vitamin. Now, i think i must ask for Zinc hor since Obimin dun have!

<font color="119911">Tetra</font>, i heard that nose getting bigger is one of the old wives tale of having a BB boy!!
So maybe, it is true that u having BB Boy!

Wow <font color="0000ff">Catz</font>, u drink abt 2.5l of water!
127088.gif
Me think i drink even less than 1.5l.
Jiat luck. Heard that must drink more water even though we may have water retention. One reason was to curb constipation, the other is to provide enough fluid for our water bag!

<font color="ff6000">emonster</font>, where did u get ur Neurogain? So far, that's the cheapest i heard!

<font color="ff6000">emonster</font>, suggest u take small portions of food. Then in between, have some biscuits or bread to eat. Will help alittle. I dun have this
127089.gif
but i still feeling nauseas. So was consoling myself BB is growing well.
i heard that some preggie MS ended at ard wk 16 but there are some who is all the way!

<font color="aa00aa">Sun Moon</font>, think as long as it is not detailed scan, for those normal U/S, it is ok! Just that if u scan many times in a week, dun think neccessary and also there is a cost, you see.

<font color="0000ff">TSH</font>, if u want doc to do an U/S, u have to ask for it. For me, i was told to go back for my tripple test in another 3wks time after my last visit. But i was told no u/s for next visit.
127090.gif
So i request for the scan and thus the doc put up my request for me. I think for your case, since doc already heard ur BB's heartbeat, it meant that BB growing well and thus no need!

Hi Catz,
Yes, I'm trained in Pharmacy. You are very sharp. I'm thinking of going back to my old profession after BB comes out. Not so stressful and will be able to spend more time with BB.

Emonster, don't worry. You won't want the BB too big either. May have problems delivering. What's most important is that BB is healthy.

Tan Tan &amp; Sun Moon, I think last night was the first time I felt BB move. It's a feeling I can't put down in words. Like someone running its finger in your tummy. It was really quick. Am looking forward to it again. Hubby was also very excited when I told him about it. He asked me if BB was again moving this morning.

Ocean, you don't need to specially ask for Zinc supplement because you can get it from food you take daily. Your body only require trace amounts of zinc anyway. Remember, moderation is the word.

Yes, 400mcg is a lot lower that 5mg. It is okay if you still want to continue with your Folic Acid 5mg because it is water-soluble and hence, not stored in your body.

Ocean, where did you get all these really cute icons? I love the BB one.

oceans,

really huh, KKH dun provide neurogain..aiyo still thinking of asking my gynae for them...so if i get him to prescribe, do u think its cheaper that getting from outside huh....

did your dr at kkh prescribe fybogel, is it cheaper than outside huh...heeee me cheapskate lah, coz KKH medicine usually cheaper than outside. since cannot claim from co must source for the cheapest... but my gynae strongly recommend prune juices (which doesn't help in my case leh)

aiyo i am officially 16th weeks liow but my nausea is still around...cant wait for it to vanish..

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, yah lor, i got that impression too. Asked the doc to prescribe for me the Neurogain and she told me the pricing will be the same. Even called the pharmarcy for me to confirm, but i still insisted that she wrote in the prescription. At the end, the pharmarchy give me another paper, and asked me to go to the general counter to get the supplement there. And the price is still the same at $30.15!

For the Fybrogel, i cant remember if it is cheaper. The cost on the box is S$10 something. But not sure if there is any subsidisy as i collect together with Folic and Obimin. Maybe u can try for a box first.

Ocean, thanks for the weblinks to all cute icons. Yes, don't need to ask for zinc supplements. You can get a good source of zinc from nuts and seeds e.g. pumpkin seeds, pistachio, etc. They are healthier snacks.

Dolphina, if there's any consolation, I just puked my lunch....
. I'm also officially 16 weeks already. All my $$$ down the sewers!!
I think I better stick to fish soup or porridge.

Oh <font color="119911">JayKay</font> and <font color="ff6000">Twinkle</font>, BB
127162.gif
must be growing so well that certain food BB dun like and rejectted!
Must think that way, then feel better!

<font color="119911">JayKay</font>, dun mentioned abt the website.
127163.gif

Hmmm.... BB kicking? So nice... me waiting for my turn.

Hehe.. JayKay, me got nose for pharmacists
Just could tell 'cos you know the lingo lah.. it's actually such a good profession.. you can choose to work part-time!!! For me, stupid, did engineering degree so it's v hard to find part-time or flexi employment.. rather worrisome as I hv been out of the job market for 2 years already! Oh dear.. let's cross our fingers and hope tt your MS will disappear!! Poor thing..

Ocean, dunno why I'm so thirsty leh.. last time, I think I barely drank 1 litre a day but ever since after first trimester, I'm like a thirsty monster. Guess it's a good habit for camels like me to cultivate.. kekekeke..

good morning ladies....

what a nice weather to laze at home ya...heeeee

oceans,
oh if thats the case i will purchase the neurogain from any pharmacy liow. do u think there is a need to inform the gynae that i wish to take them huh?

jaykay / twinkle,
oh dear, sorry to hear that..guess we have to endure and just hope our nausea will diminish asap since those old folks said that usually it will go away from the 4th months onwards...

oh on sat i think i felt bb movement..its a little like wave-like on my left side...may i ask a silly question, is it bb position is not fixed (ie sometimes the head is on our left and some times on our right, vice versa for the legs huh)... dun laugh at me hor

Hi Dolphina,

I did tell my gynae that I wish to take Neurogain PB Plus, and she said "sure, go ahead, you can buy from outside pharmacy", but she reminded me that I should get the one specially for pregnant women, as the normal type contains some vit that are too high for preggie. In fact, I knew about this before because when I asked the pharmacist, they already mentioned to me.

So, please take note that "Neurogain PB PLUS" is the one we need, you shall see a pregnant woman in the packaging.

I normally take it at night before going to bed, because daytime I take Neogobion (iron) and sometimes folic acid (I still got some left so plan to continue taking until finish :p )..should be o.k. kua??

Hi Dolphina,

I bought it from NTUC-Unity Pharmacy, cost $29 (or slightly more, surely less than 30).

tan tan

Good Morning ladies,
Been feeling under the weather the whole weekend. It all started on Friday with the puking and then I felt feverish on Sat and Sun. However, there is no actual fever because there wasn't a raise in my body temperature. Couldn't sleep well last night either. I am starting to get lower backache and it's unbearable!! I can't imagine what will happen when my tummy gets bigger. Sigh....

Twinkle and Dolphina, let's hope our MS goes away ASAP!!! It's so frustrating!!

Hey Dolphina, no worries, we won't laugh at you for asking question about where BB is facing because it's the same question I would like to ask too!! I had been wondering about the same thing for the past few days, heehee... and I felt the same thing - wave-like feeling on the left side. But didn't feel anything for the past few days though. Can anybody tell us whether BB move around constantly?

Oh, another question, I have relatives and colleagues telling me that I am not suppose to stretch and reach out for things. Why is that so?

Wah! I noticed that most of yours pregnant abt 5mths+-, right? Don know can I join in or not?

Me, this week should be in week 20. Next week KKH check-up, now still don know baby boy or girl?

Hi Jay Kay/Dolphina,

We are on the same boat, just pray hard that it will go away real soon.

Jay Kay,
I was also sick last weekend, had a throat infection and mild fever but just drank barley to keep away the heatiness cos don't want to take medicine. But mum scolded me for taking too much cooling stuff

I am seeing my gynae today, wanna ask him can see the sex of the bb ornot...

<font color="119911">Catz</font>, that's a good sign!! To drink
127548.gif
more water!!

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, i did mention to the doc abt giving me DHA as this is known to be good for BB brain development. But the doc told me as that is not said a neccessity for BB growth, KK usually dun prescribe. And like i told u, even if i ask doc to prescribe, i still have to buy over the counter.
So at the end, i have not bought
127549.gif
the Neurogain PB Plus yet! No need to tell the doc lah!!

OK, thanks <font color="119911">TSH</font> for telling us. Think it is cheaper to buy frm NTUC Unity. By the way, if got link card, any further discount?

<font color="aa00aa">JayKay</font>, i heard that is dun stretch both our hand above our heads, such as hanging cloth
127550.gif
from 2nd trimester onwards. This is because scared that the cord will entangle BB. Well, so it's better to play safe lor!
127551.gif

<font color="0077aa">Evelyn</font>,
127552.gif
For me, i am only 3mths plus pregnant! When is ur EDD?

twinkle,

keeping our fingers crossed that MS will vanish! also i have been couging for 2 weeks liow. so have to completely stay away from icy drinks...sob sob.. hope to recover soon....

oceans,
ya i think i go and buy from ntuc unity, can earn link points somemore..heee

hi evelyn,
welcome!! so u will be having your detailed scan next week...whos your gynae at KKH?

Btw, have you gals started buying baby stuff. Honestly, I do not have the slightest idea what are the things I shld buy? Hence a kinda of lost and blur blur when pple ask me have I bought anything. Anybody can share?

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, NTUC unity can earned link points?
Kekeke... actually i asked my nurse friend to buy for me, thought will be cheaper as staff got 20% discount. But she told me her hospital dun sell! Hai yah...

<font color="ff6000">Twinkle</font>, so, have u see gynae liao? Know gender of ur BB?
For me, i had not buy anything yet. Hubby said wait till Dec then see lah cos dun noe how things will go!

twinkle,

me too leh. have not bought a single item yet. dunno where to start. maybe will start looking around for those heavy duty stuff like stroller, bb cot or playpen, car seat first. must go around to compare prices also...

but luckily my frd will pass me some of her bb clothings(abt 6 months old now). i am fine with hand me down and she also pass me some maternity tops so i will have to look for some bottoms.

hope from this week onwards, we will feel alright to go shopping finally.

oceans,

ya if i rem correctly if we spent more than $20 at unity, we should be able to earn points...

wow u can tahan to wait till dec?? wouldn't it be late by then huh? hehe me just kpo lah

my frd advise me to settle most shopping and looking ard by 3rd tri otherwise if tummy too big then will get tired easily.. anyway shall see how it goes also...

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, year end will have Christmas sale mah!
No lah, actually, hubby and i felt that we'll wait till everything more stablize.

Below is a checklist for some of the purchases for Baby's room. This is given by one of the gals from another thread!

<u>Checklist of Purchases</u>
Babys Room
Babys Cot
Wind-up mobiles/ Merry-go-round
Mattress
Blanket
Bumper
Cot sheets
Mattress protector
Changing table (optional)
Cupboard or Chest of Drawers
Clothes
Pacifiers
Mittens
Bootees
Nappy (Johnsons and Pigeon recommended. Can use to wrap baby)
Nappy liners (1 box of 100 pieces is enough. Can be re-used)
Cotton buds
Blouse/shirts - long and short sleeves
Suits - pants and long shirts
Handkerchief
Safety pins
Face towels
PILCHERS (pants worn over nappies)
A basket full of diaper/cotton balls etc.
Thermometer (Check room temperature)
Nail clippers
Drapolene cream to prevent nappy rash
Oil for wind (Ru yi or White Tree Oil)
Ziplock bags for checkups and outings. Use to store soiled pampers or nappies.
Woodwards Gripe Water

Hi Ocean,

Thanks for the comprehensive list. Yesterday went to see gynae but gynae says cant tell the sex yet..... but he said that the doc is very active as it kept moving its hands and legs non stop... hee hee... so cute..
Doc mentioned that my blood test shows I m anaemic... thus have to take iron pills... sigh... there comes my constipation prob again...
Btw, he also drew blood for a test called alpha beta test(test for down symdrom), but I did heard before that this test was normally done on woman age 35 yrs and abv? Anybody has tested this before? Me like blur blur one.. hee hee

emonster,
My bb's size at week 15 is the same as yrs, mine is only 8.5cm, kind of worried that it is too small, but gynae says that is is growing normally and no worries... Guess 8.5 is indeed smaller than some of the gals mentioned here.

Btw ladies, when free do visit the thread under "baby stuff", theres an excel attachment whereby a list of baby stuff are posted there. I find it very useful.