(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Dolphina,
Thanks for your advice. I did my blood test on last Sat. I received a call from the clinic nurse that gynae is very concerned about my low Hb level. Got worried after that. Well, I just hope that I am suffering from iron deficiency instead. If I'm tested positive for Thalessemia minor, hubby has to test whether he is or not also. Sigh....

emonster,
My hubby told me that it is better to go to Gleneagles because they have ICU there (touchwood!). As I stay in the east, I would prefer somewhere nearby to deliver. TMC is central, so I don't mind. May be we can go and tour the place together. Are you going for their ante-natal classes also?

hi dolphina/jaykay..

Thanks .. I'll try not to have big movements from now onwards.. Cos i use to walk very fast and chor-lor one.. heehee..

I still got lots to learn from you gals.. Till date not sure wat can eat or wat cannot eat..
Long way to learn many things in pregnancy..

wah, only 1 week, so many postings. Glad to know that we have more new members joining this thread. A great welcome to all!

Very strangely, never felt any discomfort in my abdomen in the 1st trimester but feeling more now (2morrow in my 15th week) especially on the right low side, & low back pain if sit for too long (dun know if due to constipation). But definitely felt better than the 1st trimester although the knock-u-out spell can still come as & when.

During my 1st trimester, will feel tired/dizzy if hungry. If u crave for sugar, your body probably need some high calories stuff so eat...dun starve yourself or baby on the joy of eating.

Also attended my 1st prenatal yoga class this Tuesday...wah long time never work out & give my body a good stretch especially the lower part & pelvic area. Felt very good after that 'cause breathe alot & very deep...met 1 mother who is going to be due in 1 mth time...very hero! dunno if i can still do those poses with the big stomach. apparently, exercising your pelvic floor is critical in avoiding a long tear (heard some stories where the mum keep pushing (told not to push yet) & got a tear of 10cm & another mum suffered from a tear to the anus!!! so scary).

Jaykay: read about your condition. is there any supplement your gynae can provide to treat the low Hemoglobin level? take good care. dun worry too much, next week will come very fast.

Elle: congratulations to you! juz to share with you, my gynae kinda of suspected I'm pregnant (after i did 2 prenancy test kit) when he saw a small black dot during my scan (1 mth after my LMP). But he said is 50% pregnant so did a blood test to check on the hormone level which will give you another 80%. In the 6th-8th wk, if can see the heartbeat, then 100% pregnant. remember to eat your folic acid everyday during this period & take care. If got staining/spotting or the hormone level didn't double, gynae will give a jab or hormone pills to stablise the pregnancy.

Catz: I think my gynae will arrange for the hospital tour when I am in the 5th mth. So thinking of having a single-bed ward, dun really know how much more I have to pay as my gynae has a delivery package for normal birth @ $600 for 2 nites (dunno if it is a 4-bedded or 2-bedded) @ TMC. Thought of having the baby to room-in so that I can b/f completely & my hubby is thinking of sleeping over as well. So still contemplating...wat about u?

Hullo all.. waahh.. I can only log on at odd hours 'cos of the time diff so there's so much for me to catch up on!!

Tetra, I've pretty much decided on TMC as I will only return during 3rd trimester and don't hv time to search for other gynaes. Besides, I'm very comfortable at TMC. The other hospital I would've contemplated was Mt A. My SIL delivered at GlenE and I was NOT IMPRESSED!!!!! Same as you.. I would want a single-bed for privacy and also to kickstart b/f.. not to mention I can torture hubby. Hehe

Elle, so happy to hear your good news.. try not to worry so much yah? Now you'd better concentrate on getting good nutrition and resting well, esp since your nighttime toilet visits will be pretty frequent until you hit 2nd trimester. Now my bladder is under control but I heard when the uterus gets bigger, the toilet urges will be even worse!!

Must recommend this book to you girls - I bought it when I first tested positive and it has been such a 'bible' for both of us kancheong parents-to-be.. not sure if you've already heard of it - What to Expect when you're Expecting. It's really informative (for fathers-to-be too). The other book I have is the Unofficial Guide to Having a Baby which is pretty good too.

Actually I think that I might be slightly anemic but my prev blood test was normal. I will definitely tell my OBGYN about my sugar cravings and dizzy spells. As for headaches, migraines and morning sickness, it is triggered by low blood sugar levels so you must try to eat something light every 2 hours.. even if it's just plain crackers.. will definitely help with the headaches. I had 2 days of blinding migraines last week.. probably triggered by the fact that I did not snack. :p So emonster, don't worry yah?

Must 'tumpang' all you girls planning to deliver at TMC to give me all the up-to-date rates etc.. as I can only be back in Singapore late Oct.

Hi Catz,
actually, if not for being in HK, my choice of hospital to have a baby in Spore is Gleneagles. Why are you not impressed with the hospital? Could you let me in more....? For maybe i might still consider coming back to spore to have the baby and i hope to choose the right hospital too. Anyone else have any comments on these few hospitals to share?

Have been having some back aches, and side aches too. Couldnt sit for very long nowadays, so i walk around more often. Think it will only get worse as we go along.

So glad it is Friday.... have a good weekend ahead!

Hi ladies, TGIF!

Hi Tetra,I'm also feeling like this. Lower backache and bad constipation because of iron supplements. I have to take iron tablets daily because of my anemia.

Hi Catz, I will most probably check out TMC rates as it's one of my choices. I have friends who like the service there but found the place a bit run down. Hubby is discouraging me from going to TMC because he said the labour ward is not as well-equiped as Gleneagles and that Gleneagles has an ICU (touchwood!) in case anything happens.

Hi Sun Moon, My other colleagues who had been to Gleneagles liked it and one of my supplier's wife gave birth there and said there rooms looked like hotel rooms and service is good too. And like I mentioned to Catz, the labour ward is better.

Well, decisions, decisions....will check out the prices for Gleneagles and Eastshore also. I can share will all of you.

Have a good day ahead!

Hi Tetra, may I know where u go for your pre-natal yoga class? Am aso interested in it. aso can i know which gynae are u visiting? the delivery package u mentioned saying $600 for 2 nites sounds reasonable rate.

hi tetra,
Thanks for sharing..
Yah lor.. i got so worried when i cant see ah-dot during my 1st scan. I shld be abt 4weeks+
So gyne has arranged me to do another scan next week. You mean now we gotta take blood test regularly to check on hormones level ah?.. Aiyo i really scared leh.. cos i'm famous for hidden veins.. so very painful if the nurse cldnt locate my veins and inject at the wrong position.

wow you attending the prenatal yoga lesson.. really 'peifu' you.. Wldnt it be tired?
Yah.. i'm also interested to know how much does it cost?

By the way, you mentioned that for TMC package it cost $600 for 2nites.. does that include medications and jabs as well?.. Which Thomson clinic did you visit?
I'm wondering does all of Thomson clinic chrg the same rate?

hi catz,
Thanks will refrain from eating too oily things.. I love laksa, curry and all the fried food.. guess now i've to control liao..
What kinda food shld we eat to get good nutritions for baby and myself?

hello girls,

yippie finally its Fri already!! so many postings, cannot catch up liow.

sun_moon,
can i know if maternity wear in HK is expensive or not huh?

Elle,
me very notti. everything also eat including those so call not suppose to like cold and icy drinks, water melons etc coz simply cannot resist them esp when MS get so bad... :p

anyone signing up on any antenatal classes? any idea which weeks should we start to attend those classes huh?

hi hi..

So happy that it is friday already... welcome to all new mummies to be who just joined us..

Elle,
I eat everything too.. I went to Sakae Sushi Changi Airport last night.. Had a few handrolls. yum yum..

Wow, that's lots of postings!!
113376.gif
Took me quite sometimes to finally read and digest!!

<font color="119911">Elle</font>, glad to hear that your baby is growing.
Actually i also dun noe why the doc tell u abt ectopic pregnancy when u r still in such an early stage. But then, since everything went well, u must try to relax urself. As for the checking of hormone level, if u r going KK, i dun think they will took ur blood again, unless u request to monitor it.

<font color="0000ff">yve</font>, can eat everything but not anything that is raw or not fully cook!
113377.gif
But the general rule is eat everything in moderation!

Wow, i felt hungry now!!
113378.gif
I do find that whenever i feel hungry, i will feel abit dizzy. Really been feeling tired and think i feel more nausea nowsaday! Rightfully shld have less MS now but then, having MS is good. At least it tell me my baby is growing well!

jaykay, thanks for telling me so much more abt Glen E... pls do keep me in the loop about any new findings...

Dolphina, the maternity clothes here are not cheap at all, excpet for those selling at the Ladies Market, going at S$20 per piece. but design and quality not there lo.

Talking about healthy food... well, here's a list of sharing:

For Calcium
- Milk
- Tofu
- Sesame seeds
- Cheese
- Beans
- Brocoli
- Alomnds
- Dried Sunflower Seeds

For Vit D
- Salmon
- Soy Beverages
- Egg Yolk

For Folic Acid
- Chickpeas
- Cooked spinach
- orange juice
- sunflower seeds
- corn
- bean sprouts
- peanuts, walnuts
- eggs
- strawberry
- wheat bread
- white bread
- breakfast cereals
- milk

For Iron
- Soy Beans
- Lentils
- Beef Steak (fully cooked)
- red kidney beans
- egg noodles
- dried apricots
- chicken, pork, salmon
- shrimps
- sardines
- eggs
- peanuts
- pistacios
- prunes

For Esstential Fatty Acids
- Canola oil
- Tofu
- Soy Bean Oil

Oh my, I can't catch up with all the postings in just two days!

If your Hb is low &amp; you're anaemic then you will feel dizzy, esp when you get up from bed / after sitting for a long time. Hope all you girls have been taking Iron supplements because both you &amp; baby need it to expand your blood supply so that baby gets enough nutrients &amp; oxygen. Baby is also growing v fast in 2nd trimester so their blood volume needs to expand too. Need the Iron to make red blood cells so it's very important.

My mum says that during her pregnancies she used to faint during school assemblies in the afternoons (she's a teacher). I don't like Iron because it causes constipation and makes my stools dark &amp; smelly, but no choice, so scared that I may faint and accidentally injure myself or baby. Must drink lots of water too, to help expand blood volume. I felt weak and dizzy more in 1st trimester, then I realised that if I eat a small snack I instantly perk up and feel better so dizziness could be either lack of iron or blood sugar (hypoglycaemia).

oh yah, forgot to ask... where are you girls shopping for maternity clothes? Everything I see looks so big and auntie to me leh... My friend said this is the most frustration fashion stage of the pregnancy, when we are growing out of our normal clothes, but not big enough to wear maternity stuff. I still haven't bought a single item but pants are starting to get tight.

Sun Moon,
Will find out more on GlenE and let you know. Thanks for the very comprehensive nutrition list too!

Oceans,
I just had my blood test. My gynae ordered a whole series of tests for me as she told me its SOP. They will test for HIV, Hep B, VD, Rubella and Hb level. Just check with your gynae if he's doing the same.

BabyD,
Better start taking iron pills. I hate it too because I'm prone to constipation. However, I found that it really helped with the fainting spells and the breathlessness. As I recently found out that I'm anemic, all the more I have to take iron to boost my hemoglobin. Otherwise, not enough Hb to carry oxygen for baby.

As for nice maternity clothes, you can try and check out Thyme Maternity (I can only remember Suntec branch), Spring Maternity (Suntec Level 3, Kids Mall), and I was told that Dune at Great World City has very nice maternity clothes that are also not auntie looking. If you are adventurous, you can also check out some local website that sells maternity clothes. I personally like www.newmaternity.com. Happy shopping!

<font color="0000ff">JayKay</font>, actually there are certain blood test that is complusory such as the Blood count and Hepatatis B. But it is optional for HIV Blood test. Thus, i was thinking if i shld do this.

Ocean, since you had your blood count, Hep B tests done, HIV test is really your personal choice. I would encourage you to go if your hubby or yourself is from the high risk group (medical, dental &amp; nursing profession).

My gynae probably ordered this test for me is because my hubby is from the high risk group and he himself have to go for HIV test because he always gets needle pricks. Hence, he may pass the virus to me unknowingly.

Think about it first. Cheers!

Ah_bunny/Elle: I called Birth &amp; Beyond after reading about their prenatal yoga class. Located @ Tanglin Shopping Centre. They also have stretch &amp; tone for preggies. You can refer to their website http://www.birthandbeyond.com.sg on their classes. I booked a 6 classes package @ $140 over 2 mths period after I completed the 1st session. If u dun feel comfy with the package, you can pay for a single session. U must be @ least 13-14wk pregnant b4 attending these classes. I will be going again for the yoga evening class next Tuesday. Let me know if u interested. Can go 2gether, it'll be fun

My gynae is Dr Lawrence Ang from Thomson Women's Clinic @ Sun Plaza. 2day, my colleague told me that $600 is for 4 bedded ward, twin sharing abt $800. For actual fact, I need to check with my gynae during my next visit as the rates he gets from TMC is a lower rate shown on the web. The prenatal package is $550 for the 9 mths pregnancy which includes consultation, folic acid, regular blood tests, u/scan etc.

Elle: Maybe all the Thomson Women's Clinic charge the same. There are 3 branches, the other 2 is @ Woodlands &amp; Sengkang.

Dolphina: I understand that usually attend prenatal class about 2.5 to 2mths b4 your due date otherwise u may forget everything when due.

baby D: walked past Mama Chic &amp; read from other postings that their prices quite reasonable &amp; has a good range. I didn't buy anything from there as I bought all the clothes from Marton Bell (Centrept &amp; Novena Sq)&amp; Thyme (@ Takashimaya Departmt Store). Buy before GSS ends next week.

JayKay: for food to eat/avoid, if u have the time to spare, perhaps you may want to refer to our earlier postings when we were sharing passionately on this topic during our 1st trimester. hope u will find them useful. Take your time reading them...

sun_moon.. wah, if you want to deliver in S'pore, u would hv to leave HK about the same time that I fly off from the US right? If ur husband can be with u, then shiok!!!! The reason I hv such a bad impression of GlenE is 'cos 2 years ago,when my SIL delivered (2-bed ward), I was so appalled by the lack of service (must ring call bell dunno how many times) and the bad state of the room! The curtains were hanging off and the furniture looked really dingy. Maybe they've done somethign about it but in general, I hv a very bad impression of Parkway Medical Gp. Just a personal opinion lah.. I hv always liked TMC.. except for the parking problem.

Over here in California, it's compulsory for go for the HIV screening at the first blood test... so I did not hv a choice. And it cost me US$250! *faint*

Catz,
that really didnt make GlenE sound very impressive. But I visited my husband's wife about one - two years ago when she deliver, in a single bed room, I thot it look like any other hospital. Maybe at that time i wasnt really into all the details since it wasnt my turn to give birth soon... haha. Not too sure how the rooms are like now... btw, any idea whether we are allow to tour the hospital and rooms before signing up for package? Actually, one thing fantastic about delivering in HK is this hospital. It's the top-notch hospital in HK and is situated on the peak, and the single bedded rooms have balcony with seaview.... it is totally like a resort more like a hospital. Only down side is, it is darn expensive. Single bedded room cost S$7.5k for 3 days normal delivery. but right now, i dun know where i will be delivering yet... hope everything will be sorted out before the start of the 3rd tri.

Hi everyone. Just had my gynae appt yesterday. something to share with u all...my gynae told me 90% should be a boy..think the whole world around me has guessed it correctly then. I'm abit relieved now. at least dun have to keep guessing. my bb boy now measures 9.35cm..and i could see his nose, mouth, fingers..almost everything, including his "bird bird". Hee..and he was waving at us! so cute..

oh yah, have asked him about the hair coloring and eating hams and sausages. he says go ahead with it..so no worries everyone!

Hmm...yesterday he made me sign a form regarding the HIV blood test. he says last time is optional. now is compulsory to take the test liao.

Tetra and Elle: Really feel like going for the yoga class. wat time is the lesson for tues class? do we have to bring own yoga mat etc? about how many pax per class? The location is fine for me as I am working quite nearby. the other place i am considering is shambhala.got it from one of the thread here. but i dont have much details on it..aso dunno where's the location.

<font color="0000ff">Ah Bunny</font>
113490.gif
, so nice, can see the gender liao??
So amazing!! How many weeks are you huh?

Oh, so now HIV is complusory? Hmm.. KK still tell me it is optional!!

Ah_bunny: so happy for you! it's always so exciting to see the baby moving...so next time i ask my hubby to ask questions to distract gynae so that he will continue to scan while I watch...hehehe. BTW, how many weeks are u now? I read about 10cm in the 15th week. Your baby is growing very well. Now counting down my appt on 19 Jul, by then should be 16th week.

Elle/Ah-bunny: Yoga class starts @ 6.30pm to 7.45pm. Most mums are working so trainer will wait for 5-10mins while u warm up. U just need to bring a comfy t-shirt &amp; shorts/track pants- nothing restictive. Mat, blanket &amp; cushions are provided. The last class I attended has about 7 mums. Let me know if u'll be joining? maybe we can bring a red rose to meet.

oh ya...something to share with all, these few days, felt mid/lower abdomen very strange...dunno if it is stomach rumbling but after much observation (since stomach has been pushed up by the enlarged uterus, can't be stomach then), i supsect it is the baby moving, &amp; the mild little vibration/noise could be the flow of the fluid. I think another 2 mths then can feel baby kicking. can't wait...

sun moon, you said you visited your husband's wife in Gleneagles??? Do you mean his sister?
Just teasing!

Ah Bunny, congrats! Your family must be v happy and the pressure will be off.

Tetra, Jaykay, thanks for info. Will try to go down and take a look. You girls bought and wearing maternity already??

sun_moon, er... your husband's wife?? Doesn't that mean you?
Hehehehe.. I'm sure they'll be happy to oblige you with a tour lah.. that is, if you've got enough time!!! That HK hospital sounds like a dream resort.. actually $7.5k is pretty reasonable leh.. over here, a crappy-o hospital normal delivery costs US$15k and up!

Ah_bunny, you lucky lucky girl!! How many weeks are you?? My next appt is at 14.5 weeks so I don't think I will be so lucky to know.. unless he is ultra well-endowed. Kakakaka..

Tetra, congrats, you're the first one here to feel your baby! I've been trying to press and press on my uterus but cannot feel any movements. My husband always panics when he sees me pressing and scolds me!

Good morning ladies!

babyD, I am already wearing some maternity clothes because my current clothes are fitting. Hence, it gets really uncomfortable especially when I sit down after a meal. However, if you have loose-fitting dresses, you can still wear them to save some money before you get any bigger. Also, I can't fit into my old bras now. They feel like they are going to suffocate me! You can buy some bra extension to 'tahan' your old bra though.

Ah bunny, you are very lucky! I am actually very excited about my baby's gender. Gynae told me that we can only know its gender during the next appt - which is week 17 of my pregnancy. My hubby is hoping for a girl while I am fine with either.

Catz, I can understand how you feel. All husbands panic when they think we are 'bullying' their babies! Mine keeps forcing me to eat more so that baby can have proper nutrition. But I was suffering from 'all-day sickness'! He also stops me from pressing my tummy because he thinks I'm irritating the baby!! Don't you think husbands are weird creatures!! heeheehee...

Actually now then i realised that hospitalise bill in overseas can be so expensive huh!!
113494.gif

<font color="0000ff">Catz</font>, to do a HIV blood test costed u US$250?? It is so X!!
How do the US citizen managed such an expensive bill?

By the way, talking about pressing the tummy. My hubby also dun like me to press the tummy too much cos he find that our hand got static electricity.

That day i felt the cramp and was sort of like massaging my tummy and my sis tells me not to do that. Cos one of the collegue's gynae told the collegue that to massage and touch (i think) meant that we are actuallly inducing labour.
Having heard that, i try not to touch my tummy too often as i certainly dun wanna my baby to come out now!

I think placing your palm on your tummy or rubbing should be ok 'cause you give warm energy to your tummy (actually have been unknowingly rubbing tummy when talks to pple). not like threading flour into paste, anyway, you will know whether the pressure u place is comfy or not. Last time, when got indigestion, i will tap if got wind or not. My hubby also got so worried, said i'm disturbing baby who is complaining inside. so now stop tapping...

my friend said his hubby used to sing the same song when baby inside tummy. When baby was born, she kicked her legs &amp; looked @ daddy when he sang the same song. I think baby can recognise the song &amp; voice which is good...familarity is good for baby when they emerge to the new environment...not so scared. still finding a good song for my hubby to practise...hehehe.

babyD: oh ya, already wearing maternity clothes when 12th wks. more comfy...image changed for sure, look more motherly &amp; auntie (depend on the style u r wearing). can also look sexy lah, like some mum, can wear low pants &amp; short tight blouse then stick out tummy bare. dare not try, tummy like feel very cold.

catz: maybe can tell the gender already if 14.5 wks depending on the position of yr baby. my last scan was in my 14wks, gynae thought he saw something there...suspected boy but could be umbilical cord. so now wait next appt in my 16wks to double confirm.

hehe.. looks like all husbands are pretty kan cheong spider hor?
I was like, of course I won't inflict pain on myself mah.. so silly :p

I'm anxiously awaiting my Dad's next visit 'cos my auntie in UK has passed me her fetal heartbeat monitor.. can also play music to the baby.. so fun

Tetra, I REALLY hope to see something.. 'cos all along we've suspected that it's a boy. At 10 weeks, the sex organs were still undifferentiated so we couldn't tell.

Ocean, a lot of ppl cannot afford their medical bills lor.. lots of bankruptcy cases over here. For e.g. prev when I saw the GP for gastric problem and went to collect my prescription for 30 gastric tablets, it was US$200 for the pills and another $50 for consultation! I didn't take the pills in the end.. I got my mom to speed post some Zantac to me. Wah biang.. I also know of quite a lot of ppl who are still paying for their child's delivery and the kid is already 18 and going to uni!!! Crazy hor? So thank God S'pore is still affordable!

I am already wearing maternity pants 'cos my normal clothes are cutting into my pot belly already.. but the maternity T's that I've bought are still too big leh.

hi ppl, sorry for the typo... i meant my hubby's friend's wife lah! Hahahaa...

I am also wearing maternity pants and tops too... my usual clothes are just too tight to continue wearing anymore.

My next appointment is three weeks away, so meanwhile i will have to sit tight and be patient.. but do hope to know the sex of bb during the next appointment.

Oh btw, my blood test cost me ard S$300... i would consider that expensive too!!!

Thanks everyone..aiyah boy or girl aso the same lah. infact when i was shopping yesterday, was so much attracted by the sweet bb girls' clothings..me n my hubby agreed that there's limited choice to "doll up" our bb son next time. oh ya i was 15 wks when the gynae told me the gender. so gals, soon will be your turns..patient patient..

Have u all bought those necessity items already? we are thinking of getting the steamer/steriliser as well as breast pumps before the GSS ends. dunno what else need to buy before delivery so that can save on watever disc now.

Tetra, so there's oni one lesson for the whole week which is on tues?

i've aso started wearing my maternity pants and skirts. haven started on the tops cos like some of u say, still too big.Sometimes so frustrating, no tops to wear for work. can't wait for my belly to grow bigger.

Catz, medical expenses are so high in US! Does your husband has insurance to cover the family? I heard that can take the load off. I guess I have to thankful that medical expenses are not so bad in SG. I do agree that our husbands are kan cheong spiders, although sometimes a bit crazy. Hubby started poking at my tummy yesterday....he said that must stimulate BB. So much for asking me not to press my tummy....

Sun Moon, yes your blood test very ex, is the test for everything that is necessary? Hey, do let us know the gender of your BB. Very excited for you too!

Ah Bunny, I was tempted by the girls clothings also. They are just so sweet!! I am still waiting to find out my BB's gender. If it's a girl, I'll definitely doll her up. But I have a gut feeling that it may be a boy. Will see how accurate this gut feeling is....my next appt is in 4 weeks' time.

hello girls!

wow indeed a lot of postings over the weekend!

sun_moon, i will be going to HK on this coming sunday but afraid wun be able to meet u coz will have to do some work in my HK office. schedules a bit tight! so maybe u can spare us a day or two when u are back in singapore ok.

hmmm... my next appt will be 4 wks time and hopefully i can see bb gender. gonna be a long wait. oh i check with my gynae and he say as long as our tummy is not really showing yet, there is no need to get a letter from the gynae. just fyi!

Hi Dolphina, your next appt is about the same as mine. Who is your gynae? Mine is Dr Esther Ng at Tanjong Katong. Have a good trip to HK and take care not to carry too much heavy stuff. Make the air stewardess work ok?

thanks Jaykay!

oh my gynae is from KKH and i am seeing him at the AMK night clinic...

based on the scan, i am now at wk 14 and does that means 1st tri is over now? but then again, have been feeling so nausea the whole morning. sometimes really wonder when will the whole MS thingy will be completed gone.

Hi Dolphina,
have a good trip to HK! Do remember to ask for asle seats and try to stretch a bit on the plane!

i wanted to find out from you gals whether TMC has house doctor or doctor whom actually have their clinic in the TMC building itself? Or are all the docs' based in clinics all over town??
Just trying to do some research in case want to give birth in Spore.

Been so busy over the last week, no time to come in at all. So many postings to catch up with.

Hi Jaykay, Sorry for the late reply... I might sign up for TMC antenatal class, will check out during my next visit and keep you posted.

Hi Bunny, Congratulations... I bet your in-laws must be very happy now.....

Hi Tetra,

I'm quite interested in the yoga class. But my workplace is in Jurong, might be late for every class if I sign up...

Ah_Bunny: The schedule is as follows:
PREGNANCY EXERCISE CLASSES:-
1) Water Exercise - Monday 9:30am - 10:45am

2) Stretch &amp; Tone Exercise - Monday 1:30pm - 2:45pm
Thursday 10:00am - 11:15am
- Thursday 6:30pm - 7:45pm

3) Yoga Exercise - Tuesday 10:00am - 11:15am
- Friday 10:00am - 11:15am
- Saturday 10:00am - 11:15am
- Tuesday 6:30pm - 7:45pm

Package of 10 sessions (to be used within 12 weeks)
- $200/- for Members, $240/- for Non-Members
Package of 6 sessions (to be used within 8 weeks)
- $140/- for Members, $160 for Non-Members
Single session - $28/- for Members, $32/- for Non-Members

Catz: what does the fetal heartbeat monitoring do? sounds interesting...my hubby kinda of saw something like that but dun know what it is called.

Dolphina, you are not the only one suffering from MS. I am also about 14 weeks pregnant and I vomited my dinner last night and vomited again this morning. This morning was the worst because I was trying to stifle the nausea on the MRT train. However, can't tahan anymore and had to get out on the next station to throw up. Luckily I always standby a plastic bag in my handbag. Let's pray that MS will go away ASAP. It's killing my appetite!

Emonster, thanks for helping to update on the antenatal classes. No hurry on my side and at your convenience.

bunny, u are very lucky to know the gender already leh..

Emonster, looking at the yoga schedule, I can only make it for the Sat class.. I will decide after my next appt and blood test..

JayKay, I know a pregnant friend who is also with Esther Ng at Tanjong Katong. She's one week before me.. Do i know u?

sun_moon, got a recipe from my mom for bird's nest. One piece of bird's nest, one bowl of water, rock sugar to taste. Put all in porcelain container, and put this container in a pot with water. Enough water to cover about 1 to 2 inch of the porcelain container. Boil for 1 and half hour to 2. Check now and then after 1 hour so that the bird's nest is not cooked until watery.

Hi JayKay, Tetra &amp; Catz,
I haven't started wearing any maternity because my tummy isn't really showing that much yet and normal clothes still fit, but probably not for long. Finally solved the problem this weekend with the help of some friends and relatives, who told me to buy large drawstring pants and skirts. I bought the largest sized (32!) draw string pants in Giodano, think it can last me for a while. Then hubby's cousin came by with a big bag of maternity clothes, quite a few nice things from Spring and Thyme and some large sized drawstring skirts from Eden. I was so happy! Her girl is 8 weeks, v cute and good bb who doesn't really cry much and has lots of hair. This weekend got to attend wedding dinner, lucky can still fit into my dresses, just got slight tummy bulge, dunno if ppl will notice.

My next appt is next Mon. Can't wait to see baby again! But only 14 weeks, don't know if can see the if it's boy or girl. I read that we can only feel baby move at 18 weeks, which is not far from now!

sun_moon, forgot to add that to soak the bird's nest in water overnight.. then clean it of feathers if any then cook.

Yve,
thanks for the recipe! Did you try it yourself?
I have tried making it once but turned out too watery ... probably cos i boiled it for way too long. The bird nest all melted into the water. Will try making it again soon.

Hi Jaykay, you are most welcome.

Hi yve, thanks for pointing out the Sat Class to me, I did not notice it at all. Most likely I'll be signing up for that too after my next appt.

sun_moon, my mom made it yesterday, so i had my first bird's nest.. i considered myself not in first trimester already even though only week 12 now.. so i asked her to make.. and also asked for the recipe.. Yep, try boiling it in a shorter time..

emonster, Sat is the best timing lor.. but I have to wake up at 8 plus to rush to orchard for it..
but after class can go shopping..

Yve, yes it's me! I'm still suffering from nausea and vomiting although I'm into my 2nd trimester. Waiting for results from my gynae on whether I'm Thalessemia minor. Will probably know tomorrow. You quite "on" and going to Yoga classes. I've been pretty lazy lately although I'm not sure if crossing the bridge daily counts as exercise!! I intend to commence swimming soon, but weather has not been very good lately. I'll be trying out your bird's nest recipe tomorrow night. Must start taking good stuff for the BB. How was your last gynae visit?

BabyD, you are very lucky to get hand-me-downs. This will help you to save a lot of money. Oh, remember to start wearing flat shoes, no more heels. I am waiting for hand-me-down BB clothings from my friends and relatives since BB will grow out of those clothes very quickly.