(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

seagal,
sms? no leh.. didnt get yr sms.. let me know what u need..
digiscrap i dont know leh, i wish i know...
so i have to stick to the traditional way lor..

what stuffs u have to let go? i nowadays ciong scrap shops.. kekeke...

yuru,
yup got it! but ger refuse to sit on it.. but i see the quality like not bad lar... hehehe...

lach,
yup i agree.. needs a lot of time.. i can only do in the middle of night abt 2am when ger finally zzzz.. so my scrap is limited quantity.. keke..

elmobbger,
opps ... dun tell me i sms wrong no. =X

can u let me have the contact details for the place u ordered the cupcakes from? thanks!

i bought quite some papers from "Made With Love" and online. will go back and take stock first then inform u can?

whoa ... u really wei da ... wake up in middle of night to scrap!

seagal, mngo,

both your creativity is amazing. luckily ju doesnt know how lousy the mum is and what he is missing out !!!

lach,
which school is R attending ?? seems interesting.

elmobbger!!!
where did you get the energy from?
can show us? please..............
I find traditional sb so ex! I can't afford it but they are oh so pretty n irresistable.

joann,
pm u

Question.
mummies, do your kids engage in alot of role-play anytime, anywhere? not just pretend chef with the kitchen set or with their toys but even in public places, with no props/toys?

BoLiao Sharing: Chalk Drawing

674486.jpg

R and cousins had enormous fun drawing and cleaning it with water later. No need to worry about stains and paper supplies. The kids had fun drawing objects magnified!
The chalks are specially meant for sidewalk doodling,so its thick and 'unbreakable'.
One of the cousins lay down n we drew an outline of him. then another added facial features. darn cute and funny.
674487.jpg

seagal
shermyn's in riverlife? gabe's in shalom fr 830-1130am. soka does sound very interesting, esp wif e gym thingy.

lachesiz
a mummy did share wif me abt montessori kids being unable 2 adapt into e pri school system. so it's true hor...i was contemplating of moving gabe 2 a montessori school which i'm sure will suit gabe very well but then again i worry if he's able 2 adapt once he goes 2 pri 1. cos i personally feel tat it's already rather traumatic 4 e child 2 attend formal school (for abt 6hrs) at 6yrs+ n having 2 ensure he adjusts fr wat he was going thru for 4yrs (fr pre-nursery to K2) is going 2 b tough.

hey, tat chalk drawing seems like a gd idea.

feline
glad 2 hear tat cayden is enjoying himself in his new school. it was scary 2 hear abt e lollipop given out everyday. i juz learned tat gabe gets a sweet everyday n e next morning, i went straight 2 e teacher n said "gabe can get sweets but pls dun let him eat".

yuru, long time no see!!
can i ask you for your opinion on cindy's kindergarten?

============================================
Can i pls get some info from the moms here with school-going kids?

1) How much is the school fees you pay for a 10-week term?

2) What is the teacher-student ratio?

The kindy that i'm going to queue for is:
1) $510 per term + $230 deposit (offset for 4th term school fees)

2) 1 teacher to 12 kids, max class size 24 kids.

I am ok with the school fees but the teacher-student ratio is exactly what MCYS has recommended. Kind of high i feel ...
The kindy open house i attended on sat is 1:5.
Hmmmm ....

May i pls get your feedback on your kids' kindy?

tks yuru,
oh i see.
appletree's fees are still quite reasonable.
this kindy - they charge $600+ for playgroup!!
AND they require that all kids be toilet-trained ie teachers will not entertain changing diapers etc.

i'm starting to wonder now if i should consider other schools ... sigh.

cody,
frankly, i dont know what is the ratio at all, probably 1:12. i guess beggars cant be choosers. with the constraint having to be within walking distance, no choice !!

seagal,
will PM u her contact.. ehh not i wake up in the middle of nite.. is that i only have time at that time when ger finally zzz...

lach,
i also find tradtional scrap pretty n irresistable but then hor, my standard is way below those u see at the shops hor.. i very lousy one lar... not really very nice.. but ehh.. no choice lar.. cos i want scrap but i dont have digi means..

yuru,
ya lor.. dora her favourite also cannot attract her... tried to ask her to use it again last nite and this is what i got fm her..

675565.jpg
675566.jpg

elmobbger,
aiyoh! ger is such a cheeky girl hor. can fight with shermyn. =)

kelly,
hi hi .. yes. enrolled shermyn in riverlife already but she can only start in june when she's 2.5YO. gabe and her will be neighbours next time. her school will be from 11:15am to 2:15pm.

how do you find shalom ? i called them up before but can't recall why i didn't visit them ..... short memory.

cody,
riverlife's teacher children ratio should be 2:16. just checked with the VP.

school fees are payable for June and December months.

lach,
we can always count on you for fabulous and least-cost ideas to let the kids have fun. thanks! btw, where to buy the chalk?

PART TIME CLEANER,
any mummies can recommend good,hardworking and reliable part-time cleaner?

I am looking for one to do housework biweekly. =)

cody,
if you are not comfortable with the ratio and it bugs you big time. keep your options open. look around abit more
walk around the estate.
(but hor, the more u see, the more choices you have, the bigger the headache!)
$600 for pg, termly or monthly.

elmobbger,
aiyo. ger so cute!!! scrap that !

seagal,
got the chalks from the art shop at ngeeanncity.
But i think i have seen it at nurture craft @united square.
brand: crayola.

lach, yuru:
thanks! i don't want to trouble my ILs, therefore i want something within walking distance.
the $600 for pg is per 10-week term.
think i will feel better if i get to speak to the kindy principal instead of the clerk who didn't tell me anything informative!

elmobbger:
2am?!?!? whoa, another plutonium charged mommy here. i'm dead to the world at 2am... :p

cody,
2am i am bery bery tired too.. but the prob is if i dont do it at 2am, i will not have any chance to do it at all....

lach,
scrap that? hmmm.. that will cost me another 1 night of sleep.. got to think twice.. hehe..

cody,
hmm if they dun entertain t-training, I wldn't like them very much, heh. Cos even if trained already, in new environment, may make puddles on the flr? If on pull-up diapers, may relapse since teachers not making the effort.

Yuru,
ur Appletree sounds great! But in my little piglet's case, *must* have snack. I was reading a storybook abt 1st day of sch, to orientate Athena. After that, asked her whether she will like sch... she says, "yes! Athena go school DRINK MILK!". The storybook has a segment of the kid drinking milk with friends. LOL! I think food is the highlight :p, I will see if I can smuggle some soyamilk in her schbag or something.

Oh cody, forgot to ans:
Can i pls get some info from the moms here with school-going kids?

1) How much is the school fees you pay for a 10-week term? Almost $500, with the 2nd child CDA, halved, phew!

2) What is the teacher-student ratio? I have no idea.

talking abt sch,
A's been *really* hyped up over it. Think I brainwashed *too* positively, she may get a bad shock
. Currently she goes drama PG accompanied, entire week b4 the PG, she'd be singing about wanting to go sch, liking sch, blahblah. On the day of PG, she'd be SUPER happy. After the PG, she'd chant to me, "Athena go sch ALREADY!".

Wait til she gets the pre-nursery kindy shock of me not being there. Sigh. Dammed if I do, and if I don't. Aack!

I do highlight in the storybook that MUMMY LEAVES, Athena stays with TEACHER. Dunno whether she really understands that!

Tks Medusa!

Yeah they don't toilet train, but then again, i spoke to the clerk. Like Lach says, i SHOULD speak to the prinicpal and teachers...

LOL athena's snacking!

*sorry I'm a bit slow, getting very bz at work* <font color="ff0000">lachesiz</font>, why you like to put urself down one?? ur english is wonderful and very creative too!! I must learn more from you!!

<font color="ff0000">seagal, mngo</font>, nice scrap! it's very addictive, isn't it?

<font color="ff0000">cody</font>, I know LV does potty train and self feeding... have you made a trip down with Dean to see if he likes the place? I've been advised by the LV principal to do so...

<font color="ff0000">yuru</font>, you MIA ah? no pics of Cindy at school? I hope she enjoys school now...
Is Appletree considered N1 or have to register for N1 separately? btw, pls advise where to get the 2 chops of the Ikea? The friends counter? Thanks a mil in advance...

Jen, LV = Louis Vuitton?
ha? i'm very lost .... what is LV?

Louis Vuitton kindy - i definitely cannot afford!

JoannL
Oh oh oh oh oh !!!!
hahahahahaha ya hor .... *blush*

what to do, no money to buy designer goods.
so i can only stand outside the boutique to drool at the display lor...

Learning vision is expensive too right?
Unfortunately their outlets are not convenient for me.

aiyoo LV is learning vision
haaa - but for a moment i m oso thinking of vuitton.

And yeap, they do potty training and self feeding.

fees wise - seems tat diff outlet has got different rates

cody, the intention is there but the action has not started yet... hehehe...
which is why i can't be active in the discussion abt school going at the moment lor... which makes me lazier than u lah...

mngo, elmobb, jen
Scrapbooking very addictive leh... HELP!!!

medusa,
A's new school no snack time? thats doomsday for R.

jen,
seriously, my grammar is atrocious.

cody,
you really have me in stitches!
did you notice me drooling next to you?

lach,
I think there's snacktime, at least I thought I saw, not sure if it's only for first day orientation leh. But rather strange to have snack at *start* of 2hrs eh?

<font color="0000ff">Seagal</font>
Love those pics.. esp the Oct '06. How did you maintain her looks? She has not changed a bit from Jan till Dec.

<font color="0000ff">Kelly</font>
Just wondering.. did you ask the teacher/ principal the rational behind giving the kiddos a sweet every day? The teacher at C's previous school told me it was to "reward" them. Hmmm... cant they give a sticker instead?

<font color="0000ff">Cody</font>
Cay's fees is $920 for 10-weeks, school hols not payable. Paying the same for Ash too but thank goodness I can utilise the CDA, thus not so taxing.

Take your time and scout around for more choices. I made a mistake of enroling Cayden in schools out of convenience and I ended up with (1)registration fees and (2)school fees wasted, (3)extra time taken off to look for a replacement school, and (4) a upset Mommy.

Dont stress yourself

And LV=Louis Vuitton... ROFL.. oh cody dear, you are sooo farni..

<font color="0000ff">Medusa</font>
Can't agree more than food is always the highlight for our kiddos school
When I ask Cay what he did in school, his 1st answer will always be about the food he ate. But at the start of the 2hrs..? thought they normally have it halfway through the class?

<font color="0000ff">Mngo/ Elmobb/ Seagal</font>
Err... I have been thinking and thinking and still cant figure out.. can someone tell me why is traditional sb more ex than digital sb?
And any good recommendation for nice digital sb software?

feline,
wow then even with CDA fund, 2 kids = $1K/ 10wks?

Sweets vs Stickers,
yahlor I think stickers better. She's very happy with stickers anyway! Last time the doc/ hairdresser/ whoever, gives sweet, I will take away and say keep for her, hoping she'd forget. Now she realised keep away means she won't see it again, so she'd demand I let her eat it on-the-spot!

does anyone know about flood in jakarta,,, sigh, my parents house is flooded now, even the fridge are up side down, it was like more than knee high inside of the house
... they've been asking for rubber boat o evacuate, have been stuck in the 2nd floor since 2 days ago... i don't know what to do??? really sad, i cant even call them since they put the electricity down and can not charge their mobile phone, and the home phone is dead like since yesterday

feline
i've been meaning 2 ask gabe's form teacher abt e sweet but kept 4getting when i do pick him up (i dun pick him up everyday, sometimes my neighbour helps me out or my husband does so). will hv 2 ask next wk when i go down.

at $920/10wks for both kids? wont e funds in CDA ($12K rt?) finished b4 cay completes K2?

tat was 1 of my concern when i was hunting around 4 schools 4 gabe. edward's CDA funds must 'dong' 4 both boys until K2. me typical KS mummy, must find those kinda 'ai pi ai hor' (cheap &amp; good) school.

cody
u asked abt fees? gabe's school charges $470 every 10wks for a 3hrs session n no need 2 pay during school holidays. it gets cheaper when it comes 2 N2 (nursery). if i not wrong, it's abt $420 only. it's 1 teacher &amp; 1 teacher asst to 15tods.

SNACKING in school
whenever i asked gabe wat he does in school, e 1st thing he tells me is 'eat tis, eat tat' then followed by e activities. very funny but i tik gabe'll b upset n very hungry if there's no makan in his class.

nursery,

my boy has to be 2yr 9mths to attend nursery here and he had to be toilet train. the teachers expect children to have "accidents" until they are 5 so they just need the parents to pack spare pants for the kids.

the fees here is crazy. USD50per week for 2 mornings/afternoons. 500-600 per mth for 5 mornings per week. the curriculum is english, maths, science, arts and music and PE

my cousin paid SGD900 per mth for a nursery at Frankel and now the elder boy is in SJI sec3. both his boys enjoyed their 3yrs there. as long as the kids dont get school phobia and the school prepares them for primary one it should be okay.

my boy would be learning to write uppercase letters in nurusery so now I start to let him use crayon to doodle.

i bought the toy r us kitchen set posted much earlier for ju, $30+ for a brand new set at my church flea market. my hubby complain that its more for girl. but i am glad he enjoyed it !! or becasuse i am so deprived as a child though i dont cook now !! any mummies buy girly toys for your boys, i love the pink trolley too ..

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">GOOD MORNING!!!</font></font>

Let me try to "tok" to everybody this morning before I MIA for work again...

<font color="0000ff">cody</font>, hope D is feeling better... you can collect anytime on weekdays as well... I've left them there... just call me so that I can check if anyone is home...

<font color="0000ff">lach & kelly</font>, R & G eats really well... it's wonderful that they love food what!!

<font color="0000ff">feline</font>, traditional SB u have to go and buy the paper, the ribbons, the buttons, the glue, etc mah... so more expensive lor... digital SB u can surf for freebies to start playing around with... unless you are very serious DSB-er, u can also buy nice digital stuff online... lach is also DSBing, why dun use the software that she is using...

<font color="0000ff">carnellin</font>, how was cellin's trip? oh dear... hope ur family is fine... I'm sure they will try to contact u asap...

<font color="0000ff">medusa</font>, what kind of stickers do you give A?

<font color="0000ff">rochelle</font>, so ex!! anyway, just curious... are ur boys considered singaporeans? do u still get CDA for ur #2?

<font color="0000ff">joann</font>, aiyah... so many boys love to play with cooking stuff! tell ur hb dun worry... it's for training a new SNAG... hehehe...

<font color="0000ff">yuru</font>, I'm still waiting for ur reply on whether AT considered N1 or have to register for N1 separately... thanks...

back to work...

Feline:
whoa whoa whoa $900 per term per kid??
that's premium pricing!
but i'm sure its worth it, cos you/cayden sound happy!
tks for the advise, think i will scout around abit more after i get more information from the principal / teachers.

Mummies:
what is CDA? is there a $12 ceiling?
someone pls tell me more?

Kelly:
yup, i asked. school fees are $510 per 10-week term. school hols no fees.
daily sweets?? no no, i won't agree to it either!

Jen:
thanks! i'll let u know when i pop by. normally my weekdays are worse cos hubby is away at school and i depend on my FIL to fetch me home.
Thanks again!!

Medusa:
an experienced mom once told me NOT to totally deprive kids of their sweet treats. when her 4 kids rec sweets, she let them accept it but she has a strict rule that whatever sweets they get, they have to put in the fridge.

Once a week on sundays, each kid is allowed 1 sweet.
When the fridge is too full of sweets, mommy/helper will throw away the older sweets. since they have been kept there so long, the kids don't remember!

hahaha, quite a good strategy i thought!
marries the best of both worlds.

carnellin:
oh dear, sorry to hear about that.
hopefully the flood water will recede quickly.

joann:
LOL ju and dean are the same!
dean also LOVES to play cooking but the father vehemently refuses to let me buy a kitchen set!
yeah jen is right, ju is a SNAG in the making!

$30+ is a real steal! i love going to flea markets, esp church ones cos you usually get super good deals there! unfortunately i feel very paiseh just to enter a church compound just to shop! :p

jen:
tks! dean is much better today - he caught a runny nose bug from his cousins. Couldn't sleep well yesterday, in fact he took only a 15min nap and 45min nap.
Rest of the day he was up and about being totally cranky. aiyoh....

thanks jen jen and cody,
my dad say the flood already out from home left with mud on the floor but still no electricity

cody,
cellin just got better from cold and cough, and ALMOST all of the kids in her PG got them too, is it the weather or just coincidence ??

carnellin:
hard to say, i also dunno.
its very common for school-going kids to fall ill cos they pass the bacteria around.

glad to hear the flood water has subsided!

good morning mummies...
next wk is CNY liao.. very fast hor..

cody,
so nice to bump into u last nite at kfc.. hehe...

hey mummies, here's my simple TRADITIONAL scrap.. not very well done lar.. cannot be compared to those digiscrap experts.. hehehe.. but just thot of sharing my "hard work"..

ger's 1st day at glen + 1st 5 mths..
680860.jpg

ger's 1st day at glen + 1st day at home + 1st 12 mths
680861.jpg