(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

<font color="0000ff">Mummies</font>
Big Dilema... <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">HELP!!!!</font></font>
<font color="ff0000">Childcare or Maid?</font>
My maid going back anytime soon... should I send Cayden to CC or get another maid?

feline,
BRP= brown rice paradise. the organic shop at tanglin mall.. where i bot the biscuits for ash.
BRP brewers yeast 100gr=$9.90.
u want? i going there on sat. get one pkt for u?

<font color="0000ff">Lach</font>
Silly me..

$9.90.. still can afford

Yes please, can get one for me? Thank you...

Spent the last half hr searcing the web on Brewer's Yeast. Managed to grasp a better idea of the benefits now.. THANXS for sharing the info.

Remember to update this Bo3 Ta3 Che3 mother on new info of food &amp; educational programmes

Bu4 Kui1 Shi4 teacher.. everything also know

Hey <font color="ff0000">Lach</font>,
Do you mind getting the Brewer's Yeast for me too ? =)

I went BRP on Sat. Can't find their maple flavour baby biscuits. In fact, most of the baby biscuits are out of stock! Only bought brown rice in the end.

Brown Rice Porridge,
Cody, I cooked this for Shermyn over the weekend. Takes about 5 hours to cook till soft. One other way is to soak it overnight first to speed up the cooking process. Will try again this weekend.

My colleague's mum recommends not to feed babies br more than 3 times a week as it might cause constipation. Any mummies have experience to share on this ? I was thinking of mixing white rice and brown rice.

<font color="0000ff">Lach</font>,
i have read about millet but what exactly is it?

thanks lach &amp; feline!!!

ladies, err... sorry, if u click the pic hor, the address should be without the "mailto:" in front... hv asked CL to try to amend for me... :p

hi eve au,

i'm here i'm here!
is it? only half hour? i called the studio, they said can take up to 1.5hours depending on how co-operative the baby is.
ok ok, i will come to YYP's house!

<font color="0000ff">Seagal</font>
Have you checked out Vitakids @ forum recently? They don't carry much EB and HT stuff last time but recently they seem to stock quite a number of baby organic food. Not sure whether they have what you are looking for though. You can try...

Lachesiz,
Before I forget, must tell you this.
After the photoshoot, I went in to one of the Chinese medical hall near by Peter Pan Studio. I checked with the boss how come Wilfred so young got so heavy phlegm? She asked whether I feed Wilfred brown rice. She said if bb got phlegm better dun feed them brown rice coz brown rice very heaty.

Yu, Maple leaf
Happened that yesterday watched ch 8 7pm show, dunno what title but is regarding nurses training
One of the nurse was sick-fever and someone bought porridge for her, she said she learnt from the class that no porridge if pple having fewer coz porridge=rice, can cause the fever shoot updunno how true, just share the info to you.

Feline,
You so daring show off your TUMMY to all of us!!! Anyway, very nice pix! Im very malu wan, dun dare to take photos like these
You're very pretty and your hubby very cute! Both of you so cheerful leh..

wow feline, nic pics!!!
i regret i didn't take any pics when i was preg...now i look at yourpics in envy!

Evelyn Au
My gal now eat rice same as us, no more porridge liao. Thank!! I have call the PD say is due to teething, her fever wasn't very high. Btw 37.5 to 38 only.

feline
U look so pretty!! EXTRA FRESH means my extra 3kg lo... All at my arms and tummy.

hi all esp those who going for YYP gathering,

Going to clear away below milk powder by my SIL &amp; me :

MAMEX GOLD (Infant formula) 900g expiry date : Sep22, 2007. 1 tin @$18

MAMIL GOLD (Follow up formula) 900g expiry Dec10,2007; 2 tins @ $18 ea.

MAMIL NITE (Special Formula) 750g expiry May13 &amp; Jul25, 2007; 2 tins @ $12 ea.

FRISO STEP2, 900g expiry 21-10-2006; 1 tin @$15

NAN STEP2, 400g expiry 01-06-2006; 1 tin @ $5

PROMIL GOLD, 400g expiry 28-11-2006; 1 tin @ $5

Self-collect @ Bt Batok or I will bring them on 10Sep gathering.

fyi : Mamil were bought by dh who plan to switch milk powder. Ended we did not switch as Xiang is ok with Similac Follow-on.

<font color="0000ff">Mngo, Evelyn, Cody, Yu</font>
You gals are so encouraging. Its not that the pics are pretty.. its the 5cm thick of makeup+ studio lighting..thats why all my pimples &amp; holes got covered up.

Got inspired by Demi Moore's preggy pics..how many pregnancy can one have in her life? So thought of taking some shots of my BIG BELLY as momento.

<font color="119911">Evelyn</font>
Hey, that was what I heard from my maid as well. BR is very heaty and will cause more phlegm. I spoke to my PD before but she says otherwise. Anyway, I tested it out before on Cayden and it does seems that he has more phlegm after he eats BR.

TBL,
Already rated Nat, definitely a 10/10!

To all mummies,
have not logged in for sometime cos no maid now, struggling to cope with everything.
New maid coming this week, hope will be able to chat with u all soon.
Btw, enjoy yr gathering &amp; send me photos of u all ok!

feline and seagal
no problem. will get one pkt each for u girls.
seagal, if i see the maple flavour biscuits, get one for u2??? (how does it look like har??) :p
i still grind the grains before cooking. faster and texture like congee. the lumpier stuff comes from the meat / vege to get rae use to diff texture.

MILLET:
Millet is highly nutritious, non-glutinous and like buckwheat and quinoa, is not an acid forming food so is soothing and easy to digest. In fact, it is considered to be one of the least allergenic and most digestible grains available (hence can intro to bb) and it is a warming grain so will help to heat the body in cold or rainy seasons and climates.

Millet is tasty, with a mildly sweet, nut-like flavor and contains a myriad of beneficial nutrients. It is nearly 15% protein, contains high amounts of fiber, B-complex vitamins including niacin, thiamin, and riboflavin, the essential amino acid methionine, lecithin, and some vitamin E. It is particularly high in the minerals iron, magnesium, phosphorous, and potassium.

The seeds are also rich in phytochemicals, including Phytic acid, which is believed to lower cholesterol, and Phytate, which is associated with reduced cancer risk.

evelyn,
heard that brown rice is heaty. so i add barley cereal to the br cereal. (but didn't know it can cause phelgm.. thanks)
now adding millet to the br porridge. seems like millet is heaty too! sumtimes, i will add barley grain to the porridge too. maybe add more often now?

jen.
i can access the website n vote leh..

feline,
u going forum soon? ash has finished her JG term? if yes, let me know. help me get some stuff.

why u censor the first preggy pic? show 'everything' ala demi moore. the shots were well taken, so share with the rest lah!
btw, feline eats rabbit food! :p

mng,
show yours too! make us ooohhh and arrrhhhhh..
u so slim n pretty, confirm photogenic!

yu,
the dajie (elicia) of this thread has done it again! whoa, elicia on rice already! so advance while most of us are still preparing smooth porridge for our bb!.. the image of elicia the prefect comes to mind again

Hey all
I think my gal dun really like soft thing. That's is why she dun like to eat things like porridge, cereal puree. Her fav is plain rice, bread, biscuit and fruits!! All this she will chew...

thks for all yr words of comfort..... "xie xie ni men"...
and oso xie xie for yr rating on natalie's messy meal time photo.

feline,
u are a young + pretty mummy!
and u looked sooo slim even when u are 7mth preg!!

Jen,
alr voted for Jean! she looks really cheerful in the pic!

btw does anyone know what type of bread shall we introduce to bb as a start? thinking to let nat try, but dont think we can give normal white bread rite?

duffy,
u must take care of yrself too. do log in &amp; post chloe's pics when u are free. u too must take care of yrself. and.... dont forget our sat gathering hor! :p

BROWN RICE
there are 2 types of BR, 1 is short &amp; round and the other type is long &amp; slim, which one is better?

<font color="ff0000">Hi Ladies</font>,
Finally can find sum time to log on liao. Been very busy taking care of Aaron. He's super sticky &amp; cranky. He must be held all the times ... gosh ... hope this will go away after he recover.

Tks for all the Aunties' concern, Aaron's fever goes off liao(over the weekend).But after that,he starts to have rashes all over his body.Brought him to see PD today, she said its 'fake measles'.Need a few days then can go off. Hopefully, he'll recover in time to join the gathering this Sat. Really looking forward to meeting you gals and bbs!

<font color="ff0000">Evelyn</font>,
Tks for info on porridge, in the end, I still tried to feed him but he refused to eat, he was oni on bm for the past 1 week and occassionally take a few spoon of porridge/cereal.His wt from 7.5kg(July) to 7.4kg But thank God, his appetite seems to be slightly better today.
Hopefully,he'll gain wt soon.

<font color="ff0000">Lach &amp; Feline</font>,
Tks for info. on GUG. I'm considering the weekday class but must it be twice?Do you all happen to know whether can oni go for 1 lesson per wk or not hah?Think too costly to go for 2 lessons leh.

<font color="ff0000">Feline</font>,
U 'sui cha bo'!Really envy u, look so good even during preggie. I took very few pix during my preggie days cause I find myself so ugly, also I was sick for the last 3 mths b4 delivery. I regret not taking more picture during then man.

Hey, re ur dilema above, I'm also in the same shoe, hope that sum1 will show us sum light to this qn.

<font color="ff0000">LL</font>,
No,in the end we didn't go. Now must wait till Aaron fully recover 1st. Oh ... hope that Steffi is feeling alrite liao.

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>,
U take good care, gal!Voted for Nat liao, aiyoh, our 'dian yan mei nui', still look so charming even when messy ... hahaha ...

<font color="ff0000">Jen</font>,
Also voted for Jean liao.

<font color="ff0000">Mngo,Seagal,Lach,LL</font>,(did i miss out any1),

U mummies are really very 'kut lat', I hv yet to bring Aaron for any class, 'zhen1 chan2 kui4'. *sigh*

<font color="ff0000">Mngo</font>,
MUST SHOW!! MUST SHOW!! U another 'mei nui'.Quite sure that ur's look good as wel!!

<font color="ff0000">Seagal</font>,
Ur new toy is cool man!!8 pixel!!

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>,
Hope Elicia's fever is gone also.Perhaps might not be due to teething uno, must monitor hor. At 1st also thought Aaron's was due to teething but it turn out to be 'fake measles'.

Wow ... u taught Elicia well,not oni can use straw but now know how to chew on rice also. Good job!!

<font color="ff0000">Purplebear</font>,
Hope you'll hv better luck wif this one.

<font color="ff0000">Duffy</font>,
Hi, hi, Me too, hardly got time to come here these days. *sigh*

**GATHERING**

Date: 10 Sept 05 (Saturday)
Time: 5 pm
Venue: YYP's house (Details have already been circulated by TBL)
Dinner: Catering

CONFIRMED Participants:
1)YYP &amp; HB &amp; maids &amp; JinJin - cater for 4
2)Lachesiz &amp; Rae-Ann - cater for 1
3)Duffy, HB &amp; Chloe - cater for 2
4)TBL, HB &amp; Natalie - cater for 2
5)LL, maid &amp; Steffi - cater for 2
6)Evelyn, HB &amp; maid &amp; Wilfred + brother - cater for 3
7)Seagal, HB &amp; Shermyn - cater for 2
8)Maple Leaf, HB &amp; Aaron - cater for 2
9)Cody, maid &amp; Dean - cater for 2 (will come late after the photoshoot)
10)JenJen, HB &amp; Jean - cater for 2
11)Yap, maid, Xiang + sister - cater for 2
12)Evelyn(leo)&amp; Nat - cater for 1
13)YuRu, HB &amp; Cindy - cater for 2
14)Feline &amp; Cayden &amp; Ashley &amp; maid - cater for 2
15) KC (Sunshine Bear), HB &amp; RuiYing - cater for 2
Total no. of people to cater for - 31

TENTATIVE Participants
1) Yu, HB &amp; Elicia
2) Mngo, HB &amp; Declan

Sorry for the silence on my part! It's been work, work, work for me. When I eventually contacted my caterer (Angeli Catering) last week, they were already fully-booked for 10 Sept! I scoured the net for an alternative and finally settled for one which catered some Jap food (since everyone here seems to be a fan). I've never used them before and can't vouch for them. Hopefully, the food and service will be decent!

The menu for 10 Sept will be as follows:-
a. Assorted Sushi &amp; Maki with Wasabi and Shoyu;
b. Mee Siam Goreng;
c. Japanese Prawn Gyozas with Sauce;
d. Mini Pizza Napolitan;
e. Breaded Scallop;
f. Baked Pandan Chicken;
g. Cripy Otah Roll;
h. Rocky Shrimp Bomb;
i. Assorted Swiss Roll;
j. Mini Chocolate Eclairs; and
k. Fruit Punch.

It's a high tea, and not a dinner menu. Seagal, LL and Mngo had indicated previously that a high tea menu would be more suitable for our gathering. Since this caterer doesn't have a 40 min. criteria for high tea catering, I opted for this menu. It's a $10 per person menu, so just pay me in cash when you arrive on 10 Sept.

I actually over-catered. If the tentative participants turn up, there should be sufficient food. If the tentative participants do not turn up, I'll absorb the costs. As mentioned before, I'll also be absorbing the costs of the delivery and other incidentals. Guys, don't worry about it.

As for parking, I think everyone should be able to find a space to park. My garage and driveway should be able to accommodate about 10 cars - bumper to bumper. My neighbour's house is vacant (the big FOR SALE sign has been there for more than a year - anyone interested?), so I don't think they'll mind having 3 cars parked in front of them. One more car can be parked in front of my house. Not to mention the roadside...

Cody,
Miss chatting with you and all the rest of the Mummies. In addition to my usual workload, I'm researching on a new biz project right now, which explains my zombified state. Poor JinJin. She must feel like a latchkey baby, especially now when my parents are out of town.

Feline,
Welcome to the group! Are you a cat lover like me?

Lachesiz mentioned once that she had a sis from the school which was once at Emerald Hill (my alma mater). Were you from there?

TBL,
I read about your recent doctor's visit. I know it's easier said than done, but don't worry too much. Channel your energies to something else instead, be it Nat or even work! It's probably nothing anyway.

I followed the link you posted and have voted for Nat already!

Jen,
I've voted for Jean as well!

Thanks for the advice, but honestly, I'm not worried about having too much food. It's having too little food which I worry about. For JinJin's full month celebration, I over-catered and yet the food was wiped out before some guests arrived. I was furious with the caterer!

<font color="0000ff">YYP</font>

A <font color="119911">BIG THANK YOU</font>... really appreciate yr effort in scouring for the caterer despite yr busy schedule. Jap food?? OOOhhhh lalalalala... .

Wow, your place can accomodate 10cars? Must be HUGE!! Me suaku, having live in pigeon-coops all my life..

YES, I am a CAT-LOVER....totally. I don't buy those pedigree cats but used to pick up kittens from the street to keep at home. The cats were like my kids. But now with the real kids, I have to give them up for fear of asthma which runs in our family.

Yes, I was from the school that had sleeveless uniform. Hmm, maybe I know you?

Ash has finished her JG term &amp; and I am not continuing for now since she is on full day cc. Will let u know when I go Forum.

Cannot anyhow show those "censored" pics on web lah.. will scare the rest
kao_scared.gif

Rabbit food? Remember last time we had a rabbit that eats Chay Tao Kway? Rabbit food not very healthy too

<font color="0000ff">TBL</font>
I slimmed down only after 2nd preg. My 1st preg was...omg.... *can't find the words to describe* ...

Someone was asking the qsn on the long/ short grain of BR earlier on.. we can't seem to figure out the difference too.
kao_confused.gif
Lemme see whether I can dig out any info from the web.

<font color="0000ff">Maple</font>
GUG- Not sure whether they have once a week wkday class. You wanna call &amp; check it out? 62584722

Have your dilema been solved? Are you looking for a maid as well?

<font color="0000ff">I have always been feeding Cayden water using bottle and decided to give him the straw for fun today. Voila.. he loves the straws and has made a sudden transition from bottle to straws</font>

Feline, Lach, TBL, Maple_Leaf &amp; YYP, a <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">BIG THANK YOU</font></font> to you for voting for Jean...
Anyone else I missed out thanking??

Re: Contact Lists
TBL, just to let u know that duffy's HP number is wrong leh... I got the correct one but no time to send out too... :p

feline, the list here is kept by TBL whereas the list in the other thread is kept by Angelia...

Feline, YYP,

My whole family cat lovers too! My mum picked up those kittens stuck in drains, abandoned by their mummies etc so all in all there are 6 cats in my parent's house! So far my boy is okay with them, no signs of allergy, heng ah!

YYP,

Thanks for all the efforts put in for the gathering! The menu looks really yummy!
Erm.... is it too late to include my maid as well.... If it is, dun worry, I'd get her to eat before we pop by!

YYP:
u poor gal! you have been so ultra busy that you get onto the forum only at 2am??? dun worry about us, we'll yell for you if anything crops up!

thanks for hosting the party this saturday; i am really excited!!! but no matter what, i think you shouldn't absorb the costs, otherwise you'll make us feel so bad we won't wanna come again next time. Please???

WHOA jap food? *salivate*
I must say you're so resorceful! thanks for all your effort!

Feline:
you're also nocturnal!

Jen:
oy, u forgot me lah...i also voted!!
but its ok, dun worry abt leaving me out.

calling EVE AU:
wanna ask you ... the family portrait at peter pan ... is it the formal type (ie sit down &amp; pose, like those pics they posted on their website) or is the casual type (eg sit on the floor and look like you're having fun type)?

i'm still contemplating what to let Dean wear....

YYP: Dean will come in his tigger suit, but i may change him out halfway cos the costume's quite hot. Quite havoc huh? Attend party need to have 2 costume changes, just like a bride.

anyone has the outfits to the other members of the Pooh family? Jin Jin will be pooh, rae-ann also coming as pooh, anyone else? Piglet? Eeyore?

no worries jen..
talk abt piglet ... when i was expecting dean, i almost bought a piglet outfit together with the pooh and tigger outfits ... just in case the gynae predicted the gender wrongly!
haha, desperate huh? yeahhhh....
think i will go gaga buying clothes for a baby girl!

ah, so its sit-down style!

eh eve! you are one pretty &amp; slim mommy!!

you got the photo instantly?
I thot the studio photographers' use film (not digital)?

hmmm...thanks Eve!

**GATHERING**

I've 2 cats at home. May I know if anyone is afraid of cats, allergic, asthmatic, etc.? Just let me know either here or by PM, and I'll keep them upstairs during the gathering.

Feline,
Nah...my place sits on a tiny plot of land. It has a long driveway because it's surrounded by other houses and that's the only way to get to it. Huge wastage!

My cats were all rescued off the streets too. I've got 2 at home and 2 at my workplace at the moment. JinJin gets along very well with the 2 cats at home. She likes to pat them.

I spent my primary and secondary school days at SC. 10 years - 1982 to 1991, so I'm fiercely loyal... I wasn't prominent in school, but since the compound wasn't big, you may have seen me around and vice versa.

You must have started your family when you were pretty young. You're younger than me, and you have 2 kids already!

KC,
Please bring your maid. I'll make sure there'll be sufficient food.

Did you meet my cats when you came over the other time?

By the way, what's your hubby's name? You can e-mail me. Paiseh...spent 4 years in the same class, but never got to speak to him or even know his name...Did he attend L Camp (the school's orientation camp)? I used to hang out with people I met during the camp and from my tutorial group.

Cody,
Don't worry lah. Dinner at Hanabi is on you next week!

You're right. Dean would probably be very uncomfortable in the Tigger suit if he has to wear it throughout the gathering. How about letting him wear his regular clothes, then change to the Tigger one for a short if he's up for it?

JinJin will be wearing a dress. The "Pooh suit" she has is just a jacket with ears. I'll put it on for her only if she agrees.

YYP:
no issue with the cats; i love animals!

U sure? Hanabi with me next week?
i'm game!

Speaking of hanabi, i am so hard-up for their food i will be there for lunch this sat! so before my big feast, i have to do my share of some exercise first. Without the hanabi feast in mind, nothing could have gotten me off my butt last night!

Just dawned on me that i will be having jap for lunch at hanabi and jap for dinner at your place! LOL! *drool*

Alamak, it also just occured to me that i am going to feast just before a photoshoot. Won't that make my tummy even BIGGER? Then the family portrait will look like i'm preggers again!

Sigh, my tummy is already large enough as it is (it looks EVEN larger when i'm carrying dean). So much so that a neighbour thot i was preg again! argh. really gotta blow the dust off my jogging shoes soon!

YYP, whatcha doing awake so early? U slept at 3/4am and you're up and about already? You must be powered by plutonium, you're so full of energy!

Alma mater ... are you going to put Jin Jin there? How nice if you can!

YYP,

No leh! Didn't get to meet your cats. Do have them join in the gathering (if other mummies don't mind), my boy enjoys talking to pets!

My hubby didn't join in the L camp cos that time he was busy trying to get out of M school into L school! I think he's crazy to make a decision like this but too late I guess.....

Cody, YYP, mummies,

Talking about alma mater, anyone has joined your school's alumni in view of sending your little ones there in future? I did mention to hubby about joining my primary school's alumni but he thinks it's not neccessary.
Hubby's primary school has closed down already and we're not within the 1km thingy for mine.....

Cody,
Think you mentioned that you had a dog at home previously. Does Dean get along with doggie?

I've not eaten at Hanabi before. Is it really THAT good?

Looks like the weight loss support group needs a revival... We'll start dieting and exercising after Saturday!

Me? Powered by plutonium? Far from it. More like powered by "no choice"!

If JinJin can get a place at SC, I'll definitely send her there. The school is not that far from my place, but I don't know if we're within 1-2 km radius. To be a lifetime member of the alumni, the fee is $300. I haven't joined yet. Have to save up first!

KC,
Which primary school were you from? Must be a co-ed one.

YuRu,
Not to worry, I'll keep the cats upstairs. With a whole army of people coming on Saturday,

YYP,

Yah, I'm from NYPS, co-ed one so both boy boy and my future girl girl (hoping hoping hoping) can both go there.......

Gosh! Didn't know alumni so expensive!

KC,
Very popular primary school. Looks like you have to offer to help them raise funds or scrub toilet already...

You met my mom right? Did she look familiar to you? My mom looks very much like my aunt, who was once VP of your school.

YYP,

to the raise funds / scrub toilet bit. Aiyah still long way lah (5 years) and hubby anti NYPS!

Wow! Your aunt is my VP? Which year one? I'm 1 year older than you, so was she the VP when I was there? I thought your mum looks familiar, is she related to NYGH?