(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

YYP,
I can't make it on 17/9 coz go back to M'sia celebrate Lantern festival with my family. If everyone here got no problem on 17/9, just go ahead without me. I can meet you guys next gathering.

Tks TBL!

meanwhile i am compiling the votes on 10 sep vs 17 sep & potluck vs catering.

evelyn, if its held on 10 sep, do u prefer potluck or catering?

**GET TOGETHER**
Date: 17 Sept 05
Time: 5 pm
Venue: YYP's house
Dinner: Potluck or Catering

Participants:
1)YYP & JinJin - comfirmed
2)Cody, maid & Dean - comfirmed
3)Purplebear & Anthea
4)JenJen & HB & Jean - tentative
5)Lachesiz & HB (or maid) & Rae-Ann - comfirmed
6)Duffy & Chloe
7)Mngo & HB & Declan
8)TBL & HB & Natalie - comfirmed
9)LL & Steffi
10) Yu & Elicia
11) Seagal & Shermyn
12) Maple Leaf & Aaron

Lachesiz,
Sorry, have to stick to 5 p.m. I've to work on Saturdays and the earliest I can leave work (i.e. by getting someone to cover me) would be at 4.30 p.m. By the time I get home, it should be close to 5 p.m.!

TBL,
Thanks for compiling the list. I'll e-mail you my home address and contact particulars in due course, with directions to my place and so on.

Food,
If we have sufficient people participating (inclusive of hubbies and maids), I would lean towards catering. The min. no. required by most caterers is 30.

Catering means less hassle for everyone. No one has to travel anywhere to buy food. We don't have to worry about insufficient qty, duplicates, setting everything up, getting disposable plates/cutlery and cleaning up etc.

In terms of finances, we can split the cost this way. Bearing in mind that almost all caterers have menus starting from $10, I propose that everyone pays $10 per head for the participants from their family. Eg. if mummy, daddy and maid are attending, the cost will be $30. The $10 menu may not be as good as the $12 or $15 menu. Not to worry though. We'll pick the more expensive menu, but I'll pay the difference for everyone. I'll also absorb the delivery charge and any other incidentals. It'll be my pleasure to do it, so please don't feel "paiseh" or anything guys.

YYP
eh dun lah ... how can we make use of your house AND let you pay for the incidental charges?

no no no no no.........

[MapleLeaf] Aaron, wow u got the latest cot bumper...mummy oso uses her pillow x 2pcs as my bumper 'cos I always pull my "flat bumper"... Maple, I actually tot of custom-made bumper but by the time, I do it hor, Steffi does not need it by then....lazy mummy...

**GET TOGETHER**
Date: 17 Sept 05
Time: 5 pm
Venue: YYP's house
Dinner: Potluck or Catering

Participants:
1)YYP & JinJin - comfirmed
2)Cody, maid & Dean - comfirmed
3)Purplebear & Anthea
4)JenJen & HB & Jean - tentative
5)Lachesiz & HB (or maid) & Rae-Ann - comfirmed
6)Duffy & Chloe
7)Mngo & HB & Declan
8)TBL & HB & Natalie - comfirmed
9)LL & Steffi & maid - confirmed
10) Yu & Elicia
11) Seagal & Shermyn
12) Maple Leaf & Aaron

I'm ok with 17 Sep '05, prefer catering...lazy lah...Timing is flexible, usually Steffi sleeps later on weekends.

[Lachesiz] I went for the trial class @gymboree yesterday and its sure tiring for mummy...intend to sent her for the playgym on weekends just to interact & play....

rochelle! you're in US already?
the last post you were transit-ing in Japan right?

how are you coping so far?

TBL,
I'm staying at Sengkang. but how many more ppl can yr car take?

Lach,
U r really fantastic, always with great ideas as to come out with a programme agenda!

LL,
my new maid's here on Thu nite. Having problems communicating with her as she can't speak English (fresh Indo maid). so we have to talk using the translation dictionary & hand language. Well I suppose I can't have the best of both worlds, to have ex-sin, they r more experienced but more diff to control. To have fresh ones, have to be very very patient.
So when yr new maid coming?

To all pretty mummies,
I'll not be able to log in so often as have to train my new maid.
But I'll try to log in wherever possible to be updated.

YYP,
It really kind of u to offer yr place for the gathering.
I think since Lach's bringing a truckload of toys, we can save the effort...hahaha...
Anyway, I think Anthea's toys r too childish for the rest of the bb too.

Mapleleaf,
did u buy that inflated yellow toy at the Taka toy fair?

YYP,
no lah, if cater, spilt the whatever costs ok! It's already kind of u to offer yr place, how can make u pay the incidental costs.
BTW I would prefer 10Sep.
TBL, will be sending u my contacts. Check yr mail!

Yu,
U'r Welcome!! Elicia will sure love mummy & daddy's gift!!

Duffy,
I know wat u meant. For Aaron's case, I still put the bumper in order to tuck in the pillows. I ever tried removing them but he keep knocking his head lah, so 'xin tong' to c him knock, knock each time, so in the end, just line his cot wif so many stuff lor ... haiz ...

TBL, Lach,
No lei, I didn't remove the pillows but will take away those that I place at the bottom of his feet cause sum time @ nite, he'll wake up and won't cry but try to sit or stand up and kinda call me from his cot, so I worry if he blur, blur @ nite then will knock his head, so I still leave the pillows there lor. He's been sleeping like that for the past 1 over mths liao ... heeheehee ... I know very poor thing but bo bian leh, till I think of a better solution or care to share 1?

TBL,
Ya lor, I find the porridge a lot also. Do u think I'm giving too much hah? Do u all actually control the amt given or just let the bb decide how much they want to eat? I'm really confuse lah cause when I told my mum, she also said its too much, then my sil (who got 3 kids), says if he want to eat then just let him eat lor.... haiz ... confuse, confuse??!!

Good idea on the list!!! Will email u shortly.

LL,
Custom made cot bumper - I've tried doing sum myself but still no good leh (too thick), so now I'm trying to look for those inflatable stuff that will be suitable for his cot.

Haha ... I get wat u mean, perhaps by the time I found them, Aaron will also outgrow them liao.

So ur new maid here liao? How's things so far?

YYP,
Oh ya hor, I was thinking of bringing Aaron to Suntec, think will be more convenient for us. Paiseh, paiseh, 4got about this. :p

Lach,
Wow ... Potatoe such a good student @ the gym. So character, still know how to protest!!

Where is bbjumper gym?Sorli ah, I'm very 'sua ku'.

=========
Gathering
=========
Can't cfm on 17/09 yet but would vote for catering, more convenient.

YYP, agree wif Cody that we shouldn't be letting u pay the extra lah, already using ur place liao. Let me know if there's anything to help, will be glad to chip in.

Aaron to Auntie TBL, Lach & YYP :"Gugugahgah ... Aaron happy u like me picture ... gugugahgah ... always njoy all the meimeis' photo here too, would love to meet & be their frens .... gugugahgah ..."

Purplebear,
Good eyesight!Yes, i got it @ Taka Fair!Its actually a fish.

U'r rite, really got to be very patient wif ur new maid, especially 1 who can't speak english. My patience run-out after 9 mths. Haha... not to scare u ah, every maid is different, perhaps urs will pick up english very fast, then things will work out much easier by then. Good Luck!!

Lachesiz,
I don't quite know what the P1 admission requirements are. Do old girls have to join the alumni 3 years before the enrolment to have priority? Thought I read something about that before...

Do you hope to send Rae-Ann to your old school too?

My Gymboree experience was similar to yours, except that JinJin didn't get to sit on a big log and sing "Wheels of the Bus". I don't remember seeing a big log at the Tanglin Mall branch.

Shichida school doesn't focus on the physical development of the child, but Doman's method does. As recommended by Doman, my hubby will be getting monkey bars constructed for JinJin. BB Jumper Gym seems to have an all-rounded programme.

Cody,
Congrats on Dean's latest achievement!

Where will you be getting your family portrait done?

Evelyn,
Oh dear... JinJin was looking forward to meeting her baby-contest-winner friend! If your travel plans change and you're able to make it, please let me know.

Purplebear,
Cody can't make it on 10 Sept and I need more time to organize the gathering, so the proposed date is 17 Sept. Can you make it on that day and will your hubby and new maid be coming with you?

Don't worry about the incidental costs if we opt for catering. It'll be my pleasure to absorb them.

no time to reply the post now, later I complete my report then log in again.

YYP,
catering is ok also but no no no no!! U dun absord incidental cost. Let's share the cost!!

mngo,
yup, bb need not be crawler for gym but it would be advantageous if they are more mobile as there will be more equipment for them to try and less tiring for Mummy (Me)

maple,
bbjumper gym at orchid country club
u r rite, potato got 'character'.. i find her stubborn, impatient, 'rude' and of course.. adorable.
lately she learns to 'beat' ple on the chest and shoulder! she was quite pek chek last nite and 'beat' the maid on the shoulder and chest! we told her firmly no just as she was to lay her hands again and surprisingly she stopped mid-air! she tried her luck again and we said no n the same thing happen. then we told her to gently 'sayang' the maid's face and she did it few times! then she turn to my mum n try to vent her frustration on her. we said no n told her to sayang ah-ma. she stop midway and nuzzle my mum's face! my conclusion: bb can comprehend our instruction and they recognise tone of voice. we tend to underestimate them, that's why they always get away with murder!! i think its time to 'discipline' my potato before she gets worst and realise that by acting cute n innocent, she can get away with things!

LL,
u sign up? but agree that such classes are good for social interaction and of course physical development for bb.

YYP,
bbjumper does have a comprehensive programme but i dun think once a week is effective.. but let her go play lor...

<font color="ff0000">gathering</font>

either date and food source is fine by me.

TBL, cody.
thanks for compiling the contact list. will email TBL shortly

Finance,
catering is good.

*push YYP aside* ... voice of the majority wins! we will all absorb the cost equally. (but someone must do the maths coz i maths idiot)

purplebear.
training new maid very tiring but its pertinent that u set the grounds rules and expectations.

(dun laugh) i have monthly review with my maid n inform her of her strengths and area for improvement for the first 6months, then subsequent quarter review. i think its good that our maids also communicate to us their difficulties. i always stress to them that if they are stress/can't cope or they feel that they have been misunderstood (esp for a job badly done), they must let me know, else i wouln't understand their perspective n difficulties. i believe that a happy and contented maid and one who feels 'belonged' will take good care of my family.

me bring truckload of toys? not that kwa zhang! but hor talking abt toys (see my excitement), i am more into wooden educational toys lately. potato likes the wooden puzzle and bead maze. she doesn't play with them purposefully but it captivates her attention for quite some time, the maze, she will twirl them. the puzzle, she will try to figure what they are and then bang them together like cymbals.

YYP,
i hope rae-ann can go to my sec school but thats like far far away.. n its still a long time later. ( coz the value system is very strong and they focus on all-rounded education,with very strong niche areas)

P1 registration.
talk as if our girls going P1 soon...u best check the school criteria (esp so becoz that is a very popular soon. places will fill up b4 phase 2c or dunno wat??) but seriously, there are few ways in which u can get a place for ur girl in a popular school...

for primary school, i am not looking at academic excellent school but one with good value system and offers special niche areas, programmes that allow character building and experiential learning.
maybe we can discuss this 3-5 years later..
dun forget to meet here in this thread then!

TBL, your email address very delicious lah.. now i dreaming of cheesecake, eps oreo cheesecake.
btw, been thinking of jap buffet since i saw the ST article ysterday... yum...

Hey YYP,
Dont think I would change my travel plans as Im oredi apply leave on 19/9/05. On 15/9 night my brother send us back then we all come back to spore on 19/9/05 night.
Actually Im really looking forward to this gathering but I know only one week to do all the preparation is really too short for you. Its ok. You girls must enjoy the gathering hor! And post more photos here..

YYP: my family portrait comes together with the package i took up when dean was born. its done by PETER PAN STUDIOS ... they specialise in photography of newborns. think they have photographers stationed in almost every hospital! took the package when dean was just 1 day old! $99, comes with a portrait of dean (newborn) as well as a family portrait at their studio before baby turns 6mths.

gym glass:
based on lach's trial lessons, i conclude that Tumble Tots is the worst of the lot. It was boring and non-participative!

maid review:
lach, that makes 2 of us. I gave my maid 6mths probabtion, and give her quarterly reviews as well. As a mid-contract bonus, i'm paying for her to holiday with me to penang. Hopefully that's incentive enough for her to stay good.

Primary school:
unfortunately my alma matar doesn't take in boys... so i had to source for an alternative. Hubby doesn't like single-ed, so i have to source for unisex schools. Luckily i came fr a unisex primary school ... and the alumni get priority as well, yay!!!

lach: talking abt jap buffet ... sat i made a reservation as one of the restaurant's listed (hanabi). Goodness, it was SOooooooo crowded!!!
They gave up my table just becos i was 5 mins late. Their excuse? that they had a long list of customers waiting without reservations, so they had to let them in. Then what's the point of my making a reservation?!?!?!??? *angry*
but having said that, Hanabi is cheap and good!

Gathering:
whoa, i really feel soooo bad that i caused the gathering to be postponed. Really, if majority can make it on the 10th, pls stick to it! promise i will come for the next gathering.

Lantern
just blasted $10 on a lantern for my precious. Since when did it get so expensive?!?!?!???
Just a simple cellophane fish with light bulb and music. What happened to those $1-2 ones???

Primary School
My Primary school ........ CLOSED DOWN! haha

Gathering
Anything..... I am also geared towards catering lah.

Dont feel bad cody. Since YYP also mentioned that she prefers on 17/9 and most of the mummies here are ok with the date, try dun blame on yourself ok? Just to remember must let Dean in his Tigger suit, hmmmmcan imagine his look liowsoooooooo cute!

[Lachesiz] have not sign up yet but will jus sign up as member so will bring Stef there every weekend to play...itz $8 per session(an hour) for members &amp; $15 per session for non-member. Watz bbjumber gym?

MAID...should be here this week. All the best to mommies with new maid!!!!
MAID kwai kwai
MOMMIES happy happy
MAID naughty naughty
MOMMIES very tuo tung

off tangent..

been bugging my colleagues to go for jap buffet asap but still can't find a good time coz all busy..
so sad, tot could go eat and cheer myself up coz i have an exam on wed (which i have not studied) and quite stress! maybe go eat after my paper to celebrate (hopefully) that i didn't hand in white paper!!
btw, cody, where's hanabi? define 'cheap'.
i have tried 2 of the restaurants featured.. will go try the others!! hungry....
u reminded me abt peter pan.. is there an expiring date for the complimentary photo? dunno where i put the voucher!

LL,
u mean anyone can just go, pay $15 and jump around?

bb jumpergym. in summary, bb class that incorporate physical and mental development (gym, flashcard, psycho-motor skills, songs, memory etc)

evelyn,
i won't get to see wilfred? nooooooo....

cody,
policeman no longer wear shorts,

icekachang no longer comes in a ball,

bus no longer have a conductor!

even paper lantern is not 1 pack for $1

Mommies...anyone interested to attend sign class for babies..it's 2 hours session on 08 Sep 2005, Thursday night, only one seat leaf (aiyoh...forgot how to spell !!!!! mind blank!!!!). Looking for kaki - It's $79 for 2persons otherwise it's $49 per person. Must reply by tomorrow. Can check out website (www.babiesncream.com).

mngo:
oops, alamak, sorry that your pri school closed down! my hubby's pri school also closed down, so that's less contest for dean's admission!

lach:
hanabi is located along bukit timah road, at King's arcade (next to NTUC Coronation Plaza).
Ala carte buffet lunch is $27++, so it works out to be abt $30 nett.
Miramir is slightly more expensive, but more spacious.

don't suan me .... there were some japanese lanterns there, obviuosly note affected by inflation. Ten paper lanterns for $2!
i was referring to the cellophane ones lah...

Evelyn:
wah stress, looks like Dean MUST wear his tigger suit then!

LL: i went to the website, but there are so many classes there! which one are u attending?
so i kaypoh only, cos i am not likely to go...hee

Gathering
NOt very sure can anot coz my brother b'day on that day

Crawling
I guess my gal now trying to crawl normal no more snake coz she do lots of "Pumping"

Milk
NOw everytime when I make her milk, I will put in 5spoon of milk powder, 1spoon of cereal and 2spoon of si sen... Sound alot??
AS for night feed will be 5 spoon FM and 5 spoon cereal

yu, she drink cereal from bottle?

btw, my gal oni take 2 feeds porridge (lunch + dinner) leh... the rest all EBM... like very little solids leh... but then she dun like cereal leh...

<font color="ff0000">YYP</font>,
You are kind enough to offer your place for us to "mess up". There is absolutely no reason for you to absorb the incidental costs. Agree that we'll split the bills.

<font color="0000ff">Lach</font>,
It's a pity we didn't take pics of our gals at Gymboree. My hubby was almost nowhere to be found so I didn't get the chance to fish out the camera.

Seems like the BBjumper class is more interesting...

<u>Feedback on Gymboree class</u>
Shermyn was pretty apprehensive during the class. Didn't really want to crawl much. She was very much an observer most of the time but we can tell she likes the songs and the bubbles.

Some of the actions were too loud and vigourous for her. She cried a few times. For e.g., When we reached "The wipers on the bus go Swish! Swish! Swish! ...Swish! Swish! Swish! .... Swish! Swish! Swish!" in the bus ride song. They were shaking the "bus" so hard that she got scared!

I wonder if it's the baby girls who generally tend to be less daring and more whiny. Shermyn kept looking out for me throughout the class.

I think it would probably take a few more of such sessions to warm her up. This is more for mummy to learn new songs!

Lach : You are very petite lah. Where got fat ? Potato's beautiful eyes take after you. =)

Secondary School
Finally found someone who took Chinese Lit too. My secondary school is in the West. Lach : we are both sama sama. I was at the bottom of the C Lit class too, haha!

<font color="119911">Jen</font>,
*whistle* ... another pretty mummy.

<font color="0000ff">Yu</font>,
8 scoops sounds like a lot! How much is 1 scoop ? 30ml ? How much water do you add then ?

<font color="0077aa">maple leaf</font>,
Aaron's really having fun with his new toy. He is a big boy now!

<font color="0000ff">TBL</font>,
Nat's 3rd pic really suggestive leh. Looked at her eyes and sideway pose! So young know how to seduce liao. haha!

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>,
do come in to chit chat more often when you have settled down.

<u>japanese food</u>,
we have been wanting to go hanabi but didn't get the chance to. Are the other restaurants as good?

[Lach] Where's bbjumpergym? Oso want to try out..... Yup, u can jus go to gymboree to use the facility but must check their schedule lah...u got the list from them? Can oso use the one @Tanglin Mall too. Mayb can do it together wif other mommies one of the weekend....how abt dat??

[Cody] Itz BABY SIGNS for parents....to communicate wif bb.

[YYP] Guess...u got no choice but to abide by everyone's opinion, to share the bill....

Japanese buffet...sounds yummy...I love japs food....mayb can gather one weekend leaving our darlings @in-law's pl....

hey rochelle. how's life? settling well?

cody, u know i dun suan ple lah.. i also lament on the price of things nowadays and tend to comnpare it to the days when i have pigtails

hanabi seems 'reachable' to me.. do they have dinner? thanks for the info. will def check it out soon.. hopefully.
dean goes to gathering in tigger suit, then i'll just dress potato in yellow and red and she's a natural pooh bear!

LL,
oic.. got schedule one but dunno if i can tahan another of her whiny session in the gym.. somemore very tiring for me.. maybe in a month's time, will try again. if u wanna bring steffi there, let me know!

seagal,
yar lor, no potato+shermyn pic that day. camera with my hb and i bz attending to my girl (she also super glue to me that day!). she was more comfy the next day at bbjumper gym. guess more exposure will settle her! dun worry there'll be another chance for phototaking!
me petite??.. my hb had a good laugh.. u need glasses!

u c.lit too? didn't know how to appreciate it then. kinda of regret it now.
ur uniform all white? another nu zhi jiang? or the one with the ampulet?

YU,
that sounds like quite alot of stuff to put in a bottle!

<font color="ff0000">Quidam</font>
anyone going? i miss the previous 2... only caught it on vcd n ominmax n i love it. i dunno how many donkey years never go catch a 'performance'. nearly watch 'ugly duckling' with my little niece n nephew though.. thank god i was sane enough to back out!

now even movie also never go... $8 (or is it more?)!! can eat few plates chicken rice or buy i pack of cereal+1 jar food for potato!!

bb talk.
realise potato can 'say' "apple".
my mum hang a big yellow paper pineapple during CNY and never took it down coz potato loves it. we always carry her near it and say 'pineAPPLE' stressing on 'apple', or "huang2 li3', .
lately for the past 2 weeks, whenever we go out and there are stuff hanging from the ceiling, she will go 'ap ple', even in her playroom which her daddy hang 3 toys from the ceiling, she will look up, smile and say 'ap ple'! hope its not our imagination!

Lach,
Tks for info. Wah ... seems a bit far for me leh. But if really good, far, far also must bring Aaron go lah.

Seagal,
Aaron quite like it, @ least now I can leave him inside while I do sum work @ times.*phew*

Jen,
Perhaps Jean will grow to love cereal later.
Think good improvement liao since last time u mentioned she dun even like porridge.*3 cheers to Jean* Hurray!Hurray!Hurray!

Happen to drop by the year-end thread juz now, seems Jean taking part in sum contest rite?When?If got time, will bring Aaron there to give support. US quite near my place.

LL,
Let me know also ah if u all really planning going gym together.

Jap Food
========
I'm a Jap food lover also, will love to join u ladies!! *Drooling*

Lach, Maple....ok...Sunday will be most ideal..'cos got the car most of the time, hb go for his game so he GOT TO LEAVE THE CAR TO ME &amp; PRINCESS.... I very chialuk...no car, very difficult to go out 'cos I always like to bring Steffi's picnic basket wif all her barang barang in it so wen reach a destination, jus bring out whatever necessary so my bag will be very light.....
If this Sunday, got no activity can go lor...but must check timing for Tanglin Mall.
Parkway timing on sundays are
1) 12:15pm to 1:15pm
2) 6pm to 7pm (this is too late)...

LL, will sms u later. too early dun want to disturb u

<font color="ff0000">morning</font>

something to perk u up...for those looking to buy a new car, saw the latest model from toyota.
its gorgeous, state of the art and so economical.
book now to avoid disappointment!

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

308287.jpg

Lachesiz,
Im looking for a new car actuallythot got good lobangwho knows.youve made fun on me!
308309.gif

Anyway, what a good way to start the morning!

evelyn,

that model not bad leh.. can still provide free milk! . save petrol! large boot space! feels like a cadillac (no canopy drive).. somemore its high tech auto drive.. u get off the car and the car will park itself at a grass patch! saves on parking too!!

jen.
Will sms and support darling jean! is the final next sunday at US? exact time? got time, i go cheer for u!

seagal:
alamak, i think you may be from a school facing pandan reservoir is it? my hubby is from there!
if you are in my age group, i think you will recognise him...he quite high profile in school. I think i better ask him to stay away from our group gatherings... LOL!

Lach:
aiyah, potato isn't Pooh bear lah!!!
congrats on her expanding vocab!!

Yu:
erm your gal's milk sounds like its A LOT !!
is that too much si shen for her to consume each day? did u check with the chinese physician?
I'm not into traditional chinese medication, but it sure sounds like a lot of si shen to take per day...

Jen:
dean takes 2 solid meals per day too, with some fruits / yoghurt in between. I read from another SAHM domesticgoddess that her friend fed her 8mth old baby 3 meals per day, but that's becos they wanted the baby to sleep thru the night.

PORRIDGE:
wanna ask the mummies here ... how is the consistency of your porridge like? Is it like teochew muay or like cantonese congee?
My MIL's version is starchy like congee but alot thicker, which i oppose cos it causes my son to retch each time he eats it. I need to gather evidence to oppose her...

Toyota cowrolla:
LOL !!!! I have tears in my eyes from laughing my guts out.... LACH!!! i dunno whether to hug or strangle you for choking so early in the morning!!! Hahahahahahaha i love your sense of humour!!!!!

cody,
potato is a natural pooh bear with her tummy, roundface and overall 'compact size'

porridge,
i prepare it more like cantonese congee coz grind the rice first. according to 'book', its alright for bb to go 3 solids.

strangle me lor.. provided u have big hands to go round my thick neck!

lach, as if she will get in like that... not pinning too high hopes cos her pic not nice...
wah lau... acherly i dunno wat time leh... i got appointment that day... keke...