(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

seagal
ya lor ... very drama lah. haizz

lachesiz
maybe u are right!

by the way some updates on the relationship and wat happened :-

i went to buy a bag to please her . tat bag cost me 1000++ dollars!!! i cant imagine man. even my mom dun hv such priviledge. after she accepted the bag, she was so happy lah.

but on other hand , my stubborn fil cuts pacifier off my boy totally! Then at night my boy was unable to sleep well, keep cranky, and they will feed him milk.

damn... i got so piss. i had already stated to my hubby tat my intention is to slowly wean off and cut down on pacifier, and not cut it off totally!!!

some latest declan's updates
298718.jpg
298719.jpg

Photos: dear mommies, pls dun post 2 or more photos side by side leh
... makes the thread super broad!
got to scroll left and right to read every sentence!
pleaseeeeeee? thank youuuu...

YYP:
congrats on jin jin's crawling achievement!
Is it abit too early to start durians?
I worry cos its v high in sugar content (that's why the diabetics cannot eat it) and its heaty.

i craved for mee siam and anything hot & spicy during my preg days,
but i dun think its affected my son.
he seems quite happy with his boring old bland food now!

wow! jin jin's even on chicken??
my 7-mth old son hasn't even started on fish yet!

pardon my kay-poh, but i noticed that you have a pool at home.
Great opportunity for jin jin to swim everyday!
but maybe the aquaducks class may be good for jin jin,
cos the objective of the lesson is to teach the baby to swim back to the side of the pool in case they fall into a pool without any adult supervision.

Cody
where got super broad? could it be your screen resolution? furthermore, some of the posting can extend to longer than photos.

mngo, no leh .... the other threads on the forum are ok. its' just this thread... never mind lah.

congrats andric on your swim! did u enjoy it?
but over the weekend the weather wasn't fantastic leh...my son swam also, but brrrrrrr... it was COLD!

cody
thanks...he liked it...kept beating the waters
its raining on sat morning and no sun for the rest of the day...
surprised he don't show any sign of cold...
instead his daddy was scared of the cold water hehe but we only let him swim for 20mins

think the size of photos are ok.
like in BlurQ's case, its ok
maybe cos she posted one pic on top of another.

blurq:
maybe the body suit you bought for him kept him warm.
my son swims in swimming trunks only (cute mah), so after abt 30mins we also got out of the pool

brrrrrrrr, so cold!

looks like andric's a real natural in the pool!

BlueQ
I only manage to bring my gal go swimming once. Coz My hb scare of cold water. I really hope to bring my gal go play water but, got to wait for my HB to approve... so no choice

hi hi mummies,
long long long time no see...... i've been MIA for the past few weeks... **paiseh paiseh**
main reason due to no time lor, haiz, very pek check at work!! hope all bbs & mummies are doing fine.

i've not read the post yet, a bit out of topic now. but i'll read later to catch up ok?

cody
heeh think he is used to cold. he can still sweat in the aircon room! and his daddy was under 2 layers of blankets heheh my mum will let him play with water for awhile and pour water over his head everyday during his bath time, maybe like this he is used to the water.

Yu
hmm...maybe wait for a sunny weather while u show ur hb all the photos of babies in the pool to persuade him....my mum also disapprove then i kept saying other babies already gone for their swim when they are 2-3mths old. i oso hope to bring him to swim more often

TBL
welcome back! hope to see nat photos soon

[lachesiz] aiyah....4got to take pix of the chestbox...wil do it 2nite....

Jus pop by to hv a quickie lookie....thks mommies for ur concern, I'm ok definitely be bery bery careful next time....wen climb up high or low...hee...hee.....but buttock still hurts a bit, doc said mayb I landed a bit too hard...& don't hv much flesh on the buttock too..

<font color="ff0000">tbl</font>,
welcome back! shermyn misses her friend nat and want to see her photos soon.

so sorry, realised that i forgot to give u the number to call for free nepia sample. Call May at 6733 2860. i hope this is still valid. tried a few times today but it kept going into voicemail.

<font color="0077aa">mngo</font>,
declan will really melt many girls hearts next time!

<font color="ff6000">blurQ</font>,
can see that andric really enjoyed himself !

<font color="ff0000">cody</font>,
my screen also ok now leh. i know what u mean though. sometimes have to scroll right to read the postings but i am not sure if it's due to the pics we post.

FYI, quite informative.

It is good to talk.
Research has shown that your role as a parent is crucial the more you talk to your baby, the quicker he will start chattering back. Talk to your baby from the minute his is born. It really does not matter what you say. Just talk to him!
Of course, your newborn will not understand what you are saying, but the tone of your voice will communicate your feelings to him.

Do
- spend time alone with your child.
- keep the room quiet during playtime.
- speak slowly to him, in a high-pitched, tuneful voice-he will listen to you for longer.
- take turns in conversation and wait for his reply.
- make play sounds, such as Uh-oh! if he drops something.
- use short, simple sentences with repetition.
- put words to his actions, such as Did you fall over? Mummy will kiss your hurt away.
- Use gestures with your words and games.
- Add play sounds to pictures in books.

As he gets older
- explain why he can and cannot do things,
- bring in lots of new words and repeat them.

Try these simple exercises just half an hour each day on them will improve your babys language:

Learning and laughing
- Peek-a-boo and clapping are great favourites from around six months.
- Play games to help him learn such as Head, shoulders, knees and toes.
- Sing repetitive nursery rhymes that involve actions, such as Horsey, horsey, dont you stop (when he is on you knee).

Make chores fun
- Sing This is the way we wash your face when he is in the bath.
- Make a game of naming clothes when you are dressing him.

So ladies, from now onward, please keep talking to your little one hor!

Seagal,
Shermyn's got such a cute dimple! Do you or your hubby have dimples?

Lachesiz,
I wouldn't say that Shichida does more than Doman. The 2 methods complement each other. My dad is using both on JinJin. We don't know if she's absorbing anything or not, or whether the methods are doing her any good or bad. She seems to enjoy her lessons with my dad though. She'll show her excitement by flapping her arms and smiling whenever my dad shows her the dots cards (for the math programme) and when he reads her favourite books to her.

My dad said that, at the last Shichida class, they played "masak" and JinJin enjoyed it. With your super impressive collection of toys, I'm sure Rae-Ann already has a kitchen playset and has been "cooking" for sometime already?

JinJin still has a runny nose. I bought a nasal aspirator, but don't know how to use it effectively. She struggles and screams whenever I bring it near her face. How about Rae-Ann? Is she fully recovered yet?

By the way, any thoughts on forming a group for weekly swimming lessons yet?

Mngo,
Wow! What an expensive bag! Where did you get it from?

Delan looks so handsome in his long-sleeve shirt. Were you guys at a wedding? He was so smartly dressed!

Cody,
Sorry, sorry. The pics I posted were side by side. Perhaps, your screen size is different from mine because I don't have to scroll to the side to read the posts.

I probably shouldn't have given JinJin the durian. I'm aware of the high sugar content and heatiness, but she looked at me with her weepy, pleading eyes, then proceeded to show me her bang-table "GIMME THAT! GIMME THAT!" attitude, that I really had no choice... Ok, ok, it was just me being curious. *Slap on the wrist* Bad mummy!

Spicy stuff! Dean might turn out to be champion chilli eater. Slip some tabasco into his milk tonight, and he might finish it with a smile on his face.

I checked with the PD some time ago about giving JinJin fish, chicken, etc., and he said it was ok to start her on them. What's Dean eating these days?

Yeah, it's a safety issue. Once JinJin gets more mobile, I'll constantly worry about her falling into the pool, unless she knows how to swim. I've heard some scary drowning stories, so if I can't get a group together for swimming lessons, I'll probably sign her up for lessons at a swim school.

BlurQ,
Andric's such a sweet boy! He's got that cute teddy bear look!

TBL,
Hey, I'm dying to see Nat's latest pics too!

yyp
tat's from gucci lor. haiz, even i also dun dare buy such expensive bag myself lah. <though> hee ** talk rubbish **

ya it was at my sis in law (hubby sister's) wedding

mngo:
wah your MIL has got expensive taste ah? GUCCI??? *gulp*
but i must say she's quite a modern woman too?
i thot most women that age dun go for brands like Gucci anymore...

not talking rubbish lah ... me too, eversince my baby came along, i really think twice / thrice / 4 times before i splurge on anything!

YYP:
haw haw haw haw haw!!! TOBASCO???? i must admit i never thot of it this way!
cham lah, i also remember having a craving for COKE when i was preg, and i had lots of it!
i'm sure my son will love coke then!

Regarind the swim class, why dun u sign Jin Jin up for a swim school first? The longer you hesistate, the more you worry ....

FOOD:
Wow! Jin jin is eating fish and chicken already??
*envy* my son is still on rice cerals with mainly fruits, veg and tofu.

My MIL read from a GP's clinic that some fish may bring on allergies in babies, and it recommended feeding fish to baby only at 9mths when they've developed some anti-bodies.

I'm not fussy abt it, so i let my MIL decide. Since there's no harm in her rationale anyway...

mngo,
love his rosy cheeks! wow, u really 'spoil' your mil! !! talking about bags, any mummies any suggestion on a nice shoulder sling 'diaper' bag?? can't seem to find one that i like (need not be a real diaper bag).

blurq,
his virgin swim! he seems 'tougher' than his daddy!!
u can tahan so long that bring him swimming? i haven brought rae for her swimming for more than a month and a half..but the recent weather hasn't been cooperative.]

TBL,
WHERE HAVE U BEEN!!!! quick redeem urself by posting photoSS of nat! potato misses her and i miss her big bright eyes!

LL,
good to know that ur certified ok by doc.. not to suan u but u slim ple with 'no backside' better be careful hor.. unlike me, got good 'child-bearing' hips, fall 500x (choy)also no problem..

yyp,
i am always intrigued by those maths flashcards. sometimes i feel like starting on these cards thingy but i know i won't have the time and the discipline to follow-up. doing it randomly few times a week won't help rite?? jinjin is a real lucky girl!
masak play set? hahaha, u have given me the checklist on her next toy purchase! haha. i only have a mini set for my niece and nephew. maybe can shop around for a more 'age-appropriate' set for her(excuse, excuse)? thanks for giving me an excuse to shop!
seriously, how does shicida encourage 'masak masak' play?

nasal aspirator? is it those that suck out the mucus? if yes, pigeon brand with the long tube is 'better'.tried that on my gal months ago, she hates it though!! during her previous illness, i change brand to 'grandma' brand. very very effective! 100% guaranteed! (ie, my mum will 'manually' suck out her mucus with her... mouth!!!! yikes!!i will never do it and i always tell her 'ah ma zheng wei da')

its ok to give JJ a teeny bit of durian la.. dun feel bad.. we all succumb to their pleading looks, bambi eyes and ba dao demands...

btw, potato is officially 7 months and 2 days old! yeah!

cody
ya lor... she high taste. and hor she had also been telling me how pretty the bag is (before i got her one)

Evelyn,
Great pix and thanks for the tips!

Mngo,
Gucci! LV! Oooolala!

I haven't spent any $ on a diaper bag yet. I used the one issued by the hospital until it broke, then switched to an old bag tucked away in the cupboard but that broke too, so now we're using my sis' old school bag! Having JinJin has increased my expenses by so much that I have to think of ways and means to save. Since having her, I've had to hire a maid, get a bigger car so everyone can fit inside, pay for her education, toys, milk powder, diapers, etc. etc. It's so hard to save these days. Are you guys experiencing the same?

Cody,
My mom craved for fish porridge when she was pregnant with my sis. Till today, my sis loves fish porridge. My cousin had a craving for charsiew bao and her daughter (who's 10) loves it. I guess Dean will like spicy food and coke in the future.

You're right. Some babies are allergic to fish, which was why I checked with the PD before starting JinJin on fish. I didn't want to so soon, but there was a time when she refused to drink her milk and I was concerned that she didn't have enough protein in her diet. Perhaps, with a stuffy nose, it's harder for her to drink from a bottle than to swallow a spoonful of porridge.

Does your MIL look after Dean when you're at work?

Have you got more pics of Dean to share with us? JinJin wants to see!

Lachesiz,
For Doman's method, you need to flash the cards at the baby a few times a day. Shichida has a 65-day math programme. My dad has been using Doman's math cards on JinJin and hasn't started her on Shichida's math programme yet. It seems that you only need to flash the cards once a day for Shichida's math programme. Better for a working mum right?

I haven't attended a Shichida class with JinJin yet. According to my dad, the teacher moves from one activity to the next very quickly. "Cooking" was one of the activities they had last week. Each student was given a playset. It only lasted a few minutes before the teacher moved on to something else.

What??? Your mom actually put her mouth to Rae-Ann's nose and sucked out the mucus???

BlurQ, Yu,
Im still havent bring Wilfred go for swim leh.*Wilfred envy Andric and Elicia*

TBL,
Really long (x5) time never see your posting! We miss y..your Nat lah! hehee!

lachesiz,
so happy our bb oredi turn to 7mths+ old hor? any celebration?

hi yyp
we din have much problems maybe cos we dun have a car, dun have a maid. Diapers, milkpowder does not cost us much

i m bk!! been damn bz all this while...

yyp, i m using similac exellence follow on formula, u gers gt big discounts/lobang on purchasing more cans wif more discount isst?? can count mi in?

btw i start my bb wif cereal she hates it...she onli like juices leh.. hw huh?? my nanny says prob onli nx mth ( shes turing 7mths ) den wil giv her porridge..in the meantime any nice juice to intro/can homemade? her fav is still gerber pear juice.. apple n grapes sucks for her!! :p btw she dun like banana mash too ..arR..help..is she consider fussy abt food?? hiakssSs tik she likes KFC potatoes mash..which is bad for her now.. my god!!!

*i dun hav juice extractor at hm..use hand squeeze can or nt??
mi blur blur mummie...

hey all
time really fly, all the bb here all so big already. Hmmm.. currently I'm using those sporty looking bag as a diaper bag. Need to put in lots of stuff in case my gal wan anything.

Seagal
andric to shermyn: yup i love to play with water, have you tried swimming? next time we go swimming together with jean, wilfred, rae-ann n elicia too

Evelyn
thanks for the information, its very useful. Wilfred is so cute..his eyes are so big..envy envy
andric to wilfred: ask your mummy to bring u to swim with me hor

YYP
after u mention, indeed he had the teddy bear look :p
if bb start the shichida class at 1yr old, will it be too late?

Lachesiz
have been wanting to bring him for a swim long ago..but his daddy is working. finally free to go for a swim, the weather is not co-operative, until last sat..no rain, no sun with cold water....but since waited so long so hack care n go ahead :p and pray hard that weather will be gd every weekends so that andric can have his swim

Jen
yup next time andric can go swimming with jean but not west side hor...abit far heheh

Fatchick
andric also reject cereal n all sort of solids for a period of time...only this few days he start to take cereal and porridge at 7mth old..give ur bb some time..slowly she will learn to eat solid

Sorli mia these few days. Aaron has been SUPER cranky &amp; 'clingy'!!! Think due to his teething! Wake up more than his usual with loud wails in the nite and keep wanting to be carried ...Eat, sleep, after shower also cry .... haiz ... beary tiring!!!

I'm just scrolling through the postings, pardon me if I'm not able to read all.

YYP,
U've got mail!

Wah ... durian!!! Xioajie, Jinjin just got better leh, better avoid such stuff for the time being.

Mngo,
Wah!!! U better make sure u dun make ur MIL angry again ... need to pay very high price!!!

Ur Declan really 'mei nan zi'!!

lachesiz,
Ur house ah ... can be toy house for both adults &amp; kids!!! My hb will sure love ur collection. He quite 'xiao' these kind of things also but not a collector.

Aaron very envy potatoe mei-mei.

LL,
Glad to know that u'r alrite! But must take care also leh, must rub, rub the area until its alrite. Take care!

Evelyn,
Tks for info! Wilfred look cute, cute leh in the stroller. Aaron got this matured look since he's very small, so cannot compare lah.

Cody,
Me same, I've craving for spicy,spicy stuff during preggy. Mee Siam, Tom Yum, curry .... yummy,yummy!!!

TBL, Fatchick,
Welcome Back!!!

Pls post ur bbies pictures ... miss them!!!

TBL,
I failed in potty-training Aaron, he keep wanting to stand up when I sit him on the potty ... *pengz* ...

BlurQ,
Andric sure knows how to enjoy the water. Me wanting to bring Aaron for his 1st swim too, bought all the stuff liao then these days 'lao tian bu zhuo mei' leh.

Seagal,
Shermyn can even sit with her legs cross!

Yu,
U still looking for car seat? I got my from bb Hypermart. Brand : Safety 1st. Think cost btw $100-$200. They've wide selection, u can go look c, look c.

Rochelle,
U still around? Wow ... ur boy also very smart hor, just like Yu's Elicia, can call papa, mama liao. Any special training?

Mngo,
Look on the bright side the next time your MIL makes you angry, without her you'll probably need to hire a maid, which comes along with a different set of problems.

Without a car, do you travel with Declan in a taxi when you go out?

Fatchick,
Noted. I don't need to order FM right now, but will get in touch with you and Seagal as soon as I intend to place an order.

JinJin also refused to eat rice cereal at one stage. In the end, we mixed the rice cereal with some baby food which was flavourful e.g. Heinz strawberry yogurt dessert, golden veg mash, pear, etc. Try and see if it works. It worked for JinJin.

BlurQ,
No, it's not too late to start Shichida classes when the baby is 1 yo. One of JinJin's classmates is 1 yo. I also read about a child who started lessons when she was 4.

Maple_Leaf,
Thanks for the message. I'm going to contact www.swimfast.com.sg for more info on their infant programme. They teach swimming near my place.

Maple
wah long time no hear from you in this forum. ya lor i paid so expensive price. next time hor i think i hv to buy her a 10k bag, then a car, then a house! hahaha

oh, thanks for the compliments on declan....
kao_embarrassed.gif

by the way, declan can "make" noise like PA PA. but sound more like "Pear Pear" so i dunno if is really calling us or is just coincident

cody
regarding the fish , your MIL is right. certain fish - deep water kind like cod fish does have a tendency to develop more allergy

YYP,
U'r welcome!

Just curious, for these swimming classes conducted, do they have any make-up lesson if the bb can't make it for 1 session?

Diaper Bag
==========
I'm still using the one from hospital. Another bag which I use to carry porridge,hot water,toys, etc is free from HER World. Sumtimes these bags can come in quite handy.

Ever saw sum nice diaper bags @ Motherworks but sum already quite heavy before u put in any stuff. There's also harversack type @ takashimaya.

Just wondering where do most of us stay? I'm staying near Bishan area.

Maple,

I am still around. no training for my boy. just talk to him whenever I am free so he picks up on the words I used in chinese like baba, mama, yeye (grandpa), bao (carry), yao (want), nai (milk). Its easier for me because I am a SAHM so I chat with him will reading newspapers else he gets bored. when I speak to him in english, he understands some words but he prefers to speak in chinese.

Mngo,
Ya lor, I didn't log in for almost 1 wk liao,keep thinking whether I can keep up. Aaron is rather 'naughty' these daz.My 'lao gu tou' going to 'shan' oredi! Also, i had slight eye infection last week. Was on mild antibiotics.

I can't stop laughing when reading ur future 'prices' to pay!!! Hahaha ... so remember ah, better think THRICE nx time man!

Oh went to PD the other day and took a pamphlet re Eczema, recall u were asking about how to know if its eczema. Here are sum symptoms to look out for :

* dry,itchy,inflammed skin
* intense itch, a recurring rash, scaly areas of
skins
* rough and leathery patches

But only a doctor can cfm whether issit eczema.

Wah ... Declan also advancing into the papa,mama stage liao ... envy, envy ...

Rochelle,
I also tried leh, I keep telling him papa, mama leh but he very 'tum jiat', only say 'mummmmmummumm' and he kinda understand 'yang,yang'.

Wow ... ur boy can even understand chinese liao ... another 1 to envy ... me got to patiently wait for that day.

Ur departure date set oredi? Soon? Remember to say gdbye b4 u leave ah. Also, must 'visit' us often after u've settled down in the states. U now in ur 2nd trimester?Must take good care ya!!

Maple
Thank for ur infox... I already buy one 2nd hand. very cheap, only $14.00. I have to take care everything to wash. Now look much more cleaner, like new lo. is Evenflo brand. sutiable till 18kg.

I live in woodlands area.

Hey all
did u all buy any of the car seat toy?? which type?? price?? where??

<font color="0077aa">evelyn</font>,
shermyn not very big lah. maybe the pics close up so looked bigger. i like the 2nd pic on top. so beary cute!

auntie <font color="ff0000">blurQ</font>, mummy bought me swimming once before but i don't know whether i like it or not. remember that very serious looking pic mummy took of me ? hmmm .... maybe my mood will be better next time. when will it be ?

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>,
wah ... u have expensive taste also. LV diaper bag! how much does it costs?

DIAPER BAG
We bought a haversack big enough to throw everything in : diapers, changing mat, wet tissues, vacuum flask, milk bottles, milk powder container, small towel, change of clothings, etc.
Find that it's easier to carry since all these stuff can be quite heavy.

<font color="ff0000">maple leaf</font>,
haha...dunno how shermyn managed to cross her leg also.

i stay in the east, near bedok reservoir. any mummies stay nearby ?

<font color="ff0000">rochelle</font>,
hello. long time no hear. how's the little one in mummy's tummy doing ?

apple puree,
how much apple puree do you give ur babies at one go ? i gave shermyn half an apple but she always ask for more. wonder if one apple is too much to give ?

Yu,
Looks like u got a good buy!

Most of the time,he'll play wif the Leapfrog caterpillar. I bring that wif him wherever I go.

Seagal,
Ur car toy looks fun!!

Maple,

hubby suppose to start work this month but our visas are not ready yet, so no comfirm date. some babies talk sooner than others. my mum said I was a very talkative baby/toddler and started talking very early. my favorite word was "why?". My MIL was boasting to my hubby's aunties and uncles during the weekend about my boy talking. My BIL's son not talking yet eventhough he is one yr old.
no need to worry about talking, my neighbour's son only started talking when he was four than he became a chatterbox, doctors could not find out why.

Seagal,

my 2nd boy nowadays will kick every night. now is the 20th week so 2nd trimester. I am staying in Tampines so its quite near where you stay. I am also going to use a haversack for a diaper bag after my 2nd boy is born. now I am using a Samsonite diaper bag which is light and can hold one day's worth of things for my boy.

YYP,

no maid and no car. thats why my hubby helps alot because we both agree on no maid and that I am the main caregiver for our children. easier to take taxi when tired or take MRT/bus when not tired. stressful to maintain a car. toys are mostly paid by my parents and baby books are hand-me-downs from my SIL. my parents also paid for most of his clothes.