(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

[cody] yes, the rashes are scaly...saw PD today & she said itz ok wif bb, mainly caused by saliva wen bb suck pacifier o wen they rub their face. PD oso said try not 2put medicine on the face unless itz pretty bad 'cos bb skin r still too tender.
o...thk GOD...not only Steffi has got such wierd habit of scratching head lah, pulling hair lah, rubbing face...blah...blah...was pretty worried, tried stopping her but she gets more irritated, so jus leave her to get to sleep in her own way...hopefully will outgrown this habit.
[maple leaf] ya lor...datz y I only put steffi into her cot wen she's asleep not wen awake otherwise cannot imagine watz going to happen...find the bumper has no use too, she tends to knock her head on the railing...hiaz...Maid-she will take care of bb not my MIL cos MIL is pretty old oredi & cannot put up with steffi's strength so she better not except for the 2nd maid whom nobody trust so MIL ngei ngei rather clean steffi herself.
[evelyn] this 3rd maid, educated one lor so want to keng lor. 2nd maid was really blur like sotong, need to push her then she moves. 1st maid, so far the best but too bad caught stealing.
[Yu] ur girl so smart...anyhow she does have the very smart look- "don't play play with me hor"
Something amusing happened dis morning-Steffi got up(she was sleeping wif me & hb), start to pinch & pull her daddy face & lips then she turn to me & gave me the cheeky smile and then back to her daddy face again....hee...hee...
[Jen] tmr oso got swimming session har, feel like going leh but must see howz my back 'cos I fell off the ladder yesterday !!!! Now buttock down still pain, cannot move fast...will msg u tmr by 1pm.

Evelyn Au
So cute... my gal will trying to find my breast if she is hungry. if cannot find my breast, will start sucking my finger or any part of my body that is close to her!!

lachesiz
I think is due to teething so their mouth becum like this lo... So excited to look forward when the day all the babies here really know how to talk!!

cody
I hv been telling my gal since she born, keep on talking to ur bb, sure will know.

LL
that's must be very cute and funny right! Sometime my gal also behave like this! If only Elicia and me on the bed, she will try to roll over to my side and stick by my side. Even in walker or in sitting position. Kind of funny if u see ur bb trying all their way to stick with mamy...

lachesiz, haha... u dunno my gal oso veli chor lor one... haha... qian bian wan hua!!

LL, aiyoh, u fell off ladder? that's must be very painful... u take care ok? if feel better just sms me lor...

cody
your boy is so handsome!!!

mapleleaf
how to tell if our baby got eczema? must see PD then know?

Haiz... declan been sneezing today a few times , runny nose. dunno is due to my genes - sinus.

Cody,
You may have chanced upon my website. I've never talked about or posted pics of my wedding anywhere else before.

Your lil' boy is such a good-looking lad! JinJin was born at TMC, so they weren't mates in the nursery.

Saw in a diff thread that you're interested in signing your boy up for swimming lessons. I'm looking for a swimming coach for JinJin too. I've contacted a female coach (www.barbaralinalei.com). Her charges are $240 for 12 lessons at a private pool, provided there're at least 3 babies in the class. Interested in forming a group?

Lachesiz,
How's Rae-Ann now?

Mngo,
My hubby and I are as Singaporean as char kway teow. We were probably the first or only Singaporeans to get married in Whistler. When we went to apply for a marriage licence, the person-in-charge was very excited. She didn't know where Singapore was, and we had to explain many times to her that Singapore was not part of China!

Maple_Leaf,
You should frame up that pic of Aaron! He has a sense of humour. JinJin likes...

To all the mummies who asked to see my wedding pics, well, here're a few. The wedding was more funny than romantic actually. We got married on the snow. Midway through the ceremony, a skier with his dogs zoomed past us. After we took our wedding vows, just for laughs, we decided to carry out the traditional Chinese ritual of bowing to heaven and earth, blah blah. It was unplanned, so we used red sweaters, a red scarf, and anything red we could dig up for the ceremony.

296784.jpg
296785.jpg
296786.jpg
296787.jpg

yyp
wow!! the pictures look so fun! i din know we could get married else where. did u have to
"report" your newly married status to the singapore ROM?

LL
How? u ok? Be more careful... See doctor? Serious?

YYP
Wow.. so fun! I also think of going there, I guess got to more for another few more years coz bb so young scare they cannot take it, so cold down there!

so quiet today.

i got something to complain leh... as usual. mil n hb. my hb say he against bb eating outside food. then few weeks back my mil give bb mee hoon kuey to try. we din see it but we knew from my sister who witness it. then i told my hb , my hb say "eat tat one wont die lah"

then i asked my hubby " so u mean chicken wing is ok meh?" he say chicken wing not ok, but others are ok. i so sick leh.. ... double standard.

today , same thing happen. then my hb say aiya ... chin chai lah. then he say he never witness. so i told him i should let the egg white remain at my boy's mouth for him to witness.

aiyah... u gals never join the gathering last Sat... so fun!! so many babies turn up and we parents were like scrambling to get the best pix and videos... haha...

mngo, aiyah... it's lidat one... sometimes hb cannot tell off his mum, esp since it's oredi over and done wif... next time, u jus casually mention to her for the health of DI, u dun want to anyhow feed him outside food cos u dunno what is inside lor... like msg, salt, etc...

YYP: yah, its def u!! think i must have chanced upon your website from one of your postings....i remember the pics! i thot to myself "wahhhh, i also wannnnnnnnnnnnnn!!!"

sorry dun think i will be taking up the swimming lessons. i think i will just let my hubby continue swimming with my son in the meantime.

mummies: i fed my son peach yesterday. used the baby food processor to grate the peach which was very ripe. it wasn't excessively sweet, but it wasn't sour either. He likes it! One new addition to his variety. yay!

mng
Take it easy la... sometime we mother really very angry over all this thing becoz we care too much abt our bb. Maybe ur MIL see ur bb wan to eat so let it try. Ur MIL also very pasieh if they keep eating and ur bb keep on staring at them... right??

<font color="ff0000">maple leaf</font>,
solved my problem for the high chair. my sil has one which can auto rock and she has agreed to pass it to me. phew ... can save some $$.

<font color="ff0000">cody</font>,
i have the bumbo seat but my fil complained that shermyn slouches while sitting in it. it's ok for us cos she doesn't sit there for long anyway. one thing no good though ... she tends to look downwards when seated in it as there is no front support like those high chair tray so i have a feeling it's going to be a white elephant soon.

<font color="ff0000">yyp</font>,
ur pics are so nice! my idea of a dream wedding really. so fairy-taled like amidst the snow-covered cottages.

<font color="ff0000">yu</font>,
wah ... ur gal so clever know how to drink from straw. i also want to know how u teach her leh.

<font color="ff0000">mngo</font>,
i don't think it's advisable to give outside food to our babies at this young age due to the salt, oil, other seasonings. their kidneys might not be able to take it at this young age.

fruit juice,
anyone tried giving ur babies juices ? i gave shermyn the gerber apple juice but she doesn't like it. I tasted it and realised that it's quite sweet so maybe that's why. will giving our babies sweet stuff alter their taste buds ? next time she reject less sweet foods than i'll have problems....

pilates,
just a side track ... any mummies tried pilates or are keen to take up pilates ? i am looking for kakis. it's good for toning the stomach muscles - sth i really need!

jen
fulltime except weekend. yesterday we went foodcourt, i went to buy my food then when i turn my back, she feed declan with it liao. so sickening.

seagal
i also dun think so

mngo, maybe if it happens on friday next time, then tell her that DI got tummyache on Sat... dunno what he ate... maybe then she will scared... :p

cos once Jean went home, really got tummyache... cos my parents also fed her some food... after i told them, they are more careful now... but more difficult to argue with my parents cos their work involve dealing with food and bacteria so they more expert than me what she can eat and what she cannot...

[mngo] did u mentioned 'egg'? Was jus told by PD dat no eggs unti bb is one year old. Must tell ur MIL - kian tu hor, mai k-kian.... I second Jen's idea...tell ur MIL dat bb got tummy ache &amp; d rest u add salt &amp; pepper lah...

[jen] so nice to hear last sat session is so successful....

[Yu] feeling better, went 4 x-ray today, waiting for result lor. I k-kian lah...climb up the ladder to get some sample down, missed the 2nd last step n next second lied flat on the flr, could not move for couple of seconds. U kno wat, I kept thinking...heng hah nothing was lying on the path dat I fell...yeeee...so scary...cos my head actually hit the floor. Adieu, ur gal is so smart...my steffi i think is the lazy sort, must push her. Now she can sit but jus refuse, she wld jus free-fall drop bak...

Halo Mummies,
Sorli ah, didn't log in during wkend.

Went KP(HDB hub) on Fri. Bought a high chair for Aaron liao. Foldable type @ S$59.90. Then bought him sum swimming gear also, looking forward to bringing him swimming soon.

Yu,
Ur Elicia so smart
, can call papa,mama and can drink from straw, teach me also ah, I also want to train leh.

Aaron very 'tum jiat', oni know how to say 'mummmmummmumm', I dunnot whether he knows wat it mean.

LL,
Alamak!! U fell off ladder!!Better b careful,I've got bad fall also during young time, now a lot of back problem after giving birth.

U hit head summore, aiyoh, wise choice to go for x-ray.

Maid - OIC, tk u ah for info. Sumtimes got maid also headache, no maid also headache hor.

mngo,
Eczema - Cause my hb side got family history lor,so I more 'kan cheong'.when I see rashes on him when he's around 4~5 mth, I chk wif the PD during the mthly chk-up . I think got to c Dr. then can determine lah,but my SIL, she got it from young, so sumhow she can tell.

Aiyoh, ur MIL har .... I know it can b very difficult to convince these elderly folks 1 lah but there are certain food which is really no,no,
nono.gif
leh e.g. egg(especially egg white - will cause allergy), honey, nuts, ... (to name a few). I think Jen's is a good idea!

YYP,
Tks for sharing the photos .... Ur
kao_wedding.gif
looks sooooooo cool!!

U mentioning about the swimming class, where u intend to hv it? Ur parents/in-laws' place?

Jen,
The gathering looks soooooo fun!!! Too bad that we miss it ....

Cody,
Think I'll have a hard time catching up leh on the food that you've given ur boy ...

Seagal,
U so heng,me juz bought the high chair but still doesn't solve my problem leh, like where to leave him during the day(other than giving him a walker??)

Pilates - Can give more info. e.g. which day?time?place, etc.

LL,
I went to the 'help' icon above the thread,then click:
- 'Formatting'
- 'Other Formatting'
- 'Images, Attachments, and Clipart'
- under clipart, click 'index'

I also very 'kookoo' one when come to these things, then 1 day I decide to try out the help key, from that day onwards(juz not too long ago),my posting become more interesting liao ... hahahaaa ...

To make things easier, I'll open another link for singaporemotherhood.com and copy the instructions from there.

thank u so much. i will try jen's idea . but then hor. ... wat if my hubby betray me? also ... later my mil ask me how i know bb stomach ache. she like to do such thing one. always say "
WHO SAY SO? WHO SAY THIS ? WHO SAY TAT? "

hey LL, what is "kian tu hor, mai k-kian"
how does it sound ah? i know mai k-kian is dun act smart. wat abt kian tu?

mngo,
Try to tell ur hb that he must cooperate wif u cause for the good of your bb mah.

Is ur mil staying wif u?If not, then can tell her, ur bb got loose stool over the wkend or sumthing like that.

hey all
tips for bb learning using straw
1* I cut the normal transparent straw ( 6cm )
2* Instead of using bottle to feed the drink, I using a small bowl so is easier to let bb drink
3* At 1st bb will dunno how to drink, so I will show her how I drink, by using the same straw
4* Let her also use the same straw after I show her just now.
5* She should be begin to stuck up some but, still haven't drink it.
6* Encourage her by saying yes, good girl/boy/name
7* Once she know how to drink, train for a few time, den she will know how to stuck like us
8* Day 2, I let her using yacult straw to drink. No problem liao!!
*** Slowly increase the straw lenght coz our bb dun really know how to hold their breath to drink. Sometime they may feel excited and choke themself coz wanna to hao lian

Yu,
Tks for the tip!!

Ask u all ah, do you wipe ur bb dry after the 'dry clean' session at nite? My mil say no need want wor??

mngo, for me, i tried everything... until i massage the ru yi oil on her tummy she quiet down... so i suspect she had tummyache lor... cos even carry her oso she dun want...

maple
ya my mil stay with me. 7 days a week, 365 days a year. 24 hours a day. HAHA .... difficult to "bluff" her

maple leaf: no hurry lah, must remember to intro new food to your baby slowly k?

i also dun wipe dry my baby at night. everynight i will wipe him, i squeeze the cloth till its quite dry, then by the time i finish wiping his entire body, the other parts all dry already. so no need to wipe dry using another towel mah ....

yu: thanks for teaching us! how old is your baby now?

Hi all, something to share:

Disney Baby Contest 2005 @ United Square
(Limited to the 1st 100 participants All forms are to be submitted by Aug 10)
http://www.unitedsquare.com.sg/?module=events&amp;action=latest&amp;mentry=&amp;session=

Terms and Condition:
1. Open to all babies who are residents and permanent residents in Spore aged 6-18mths as of Aug 2005
2. Original form found in Young Parent magazine (Aug issue) or at information counter (L1) if United Square Shopping Mall is accepted
3. All contestants must attend the qualifying rounds and finals and all other rehearsal(s) prior to the finals.
Qualifying rounds: 19,20 Aug @12pm
Finals: 4 Sept @ 2pm
4. Contestants will need to do a candid photo shot at United Square Atrium, B1 as part of the qualifying rounds. The picture of the contestants will be placed in a mock Young Parents Magazine and will be judge on the following criteria:
Cuteness and Photogenic Quality: 60%
Shoppers Vote: 40%
5. Contestants are not allowed to pick their photography dates and timings. In the event of unavailability, they must inform United Sq A&amp;P Dept 3 days prior to audition.
6. All contestants must wear their own clothes for the photography. <font color="0000ff">Clothes must either be Disney-related theme or must not be in conflict with Disney brand (eg Barbie outfit, Warner Brothers)</font>

blurq
this interesting. but i am so lazy to go and take the form......and to take leave to bring my boy there

maple
I dun do dry session liao.. My gal dun like it, so now I will also bath her at night between 7-8pm.

cody
my gal now is 8mth and a week old.

[Mngo] kian tu hor (jus be smart) mai k-kian (don't be oversmart) - Learn this phrase from the latest S'pore movie "BEST BET". Aiyoh ur MIL stays wif u har....bery difficult liao nei...hmmmm...see if can think of other solutions.
[Maple Leaf] I still dry wipe Steffi in the nite b4 she heads for bed esp. her buttock &amp; she perspire easily too...so better clean her up, dat wld make her feel mor comfortable (of cos she doesn't like it lah but bo-bian lor unless she is already asleep on the way home)
[Yu] tks for ur concern...will let u kno once report is out. I'm ok oredi but sometimes feel the ache esp @d buttock and wen I bent down to pik Steffi up.

<font color="ff0000">LL</font>,
do rest well and hope u recover soon.

<font color="ff0000">maple leaf</font>,
i have not found the lobang for the pilates class yet. i know Amore conducts such classes but i would prefer somewhere less commercialised.

Mngo / Jen / Seagal,
Thanks for the compliments!

Yu,
Yes, it's cold there. I tried looking for winter wear for babies in Singapore, but the shops here don't sell them. I'll wait till JinJin is at least 3 years old to take her there. The ski school takes in pupils from 3. I see the lil' ones making snowmen and swooshing down the slopes. Very cute! Because their centre of gravity is so low, they pick up skiing really quickly.

Wow! Elicia is so advanced! Are you going to "reward" her with a holiday soon? Have you decided on where to go?

Cody,
You must have chanced upon my website while surfing because I've never posted my web addy here. What a coincidence!

Is your hubby a good swimming coach? Maybe he can teach JinJin too!

Maple_Leaf,

If I can get a group together, the lessons will be at my parents' house. Ideally, the group should have 3 babies. Interested in forming a group?

LL,
Ouch! Hope you're feeling better now.

SIMILAC EXCELLENCE FOLLOW-ON FORMULA
I'm thinking of making a bulk purchase (14 tins) from a supplier. It works out to $23.50 per tin (900g). Anyone interested in sharing out the purchase?

297553.jpg

JinJin's New Toy

ay! jin jin is so cute!

no lah, my hubby is no swimming instructor whatsoever. my son just loves to kick in the shower, that's why we started him swimming. basically we just hold my son at his armpits, and let him kick his legs from one end of the pool to the other. occassionally we will dunk him. so far we haven't put him on floats yet, cos we have been lazy to blow it up. haha

where do u live? i live in the west; if its convenient to you, you can come swimming at my house on weekends.
same applies to the other mommies in this thread.

BUT but but i have to say that i cannot host a HUGE party for many people. (A) i am a poor host (B) i have v little toys / entertainment for babies and (C) i have a large dog running around the house freely, some parents may object to this and (D) my husband is gearing up for an impt exam in Oct, so any huge parties will only be after Oct.

SKIING
yeah, me too!!! i wanna bring my son to ski but prob only when i have 2 kids, and both of them are at least 3-4 years old. Prob not going to canada cos its too expensive, maybe to mt buller in melb or something. much cheaper lah ...

WINTER CLOTHES
i find the best place to buy winter clothes is from overseas. those here are either not warm enough or not cute (for babies) / stylish (for adults) enough!

<font color="ff0000">yyp</font>.
jinjin's new toy is so colourful and nice! where did u get it and for how much ?

<font color="aa00aa">mngo</font>,
o .. o ... looks like urs a tough case! How about getting sum relative/frens whom she will listen to, to talk to her??

<font color="aa00aa">Cody</font>,
No need 1 ah to wipe dry, I think I kiasu mummy lah, scare my boy later catch a cold.

Intro. new food - I'm a slow coach mummy lah, err .. think that's juz an xcuse ... I'm plain lazy lah. Aaron is unlucky to hv a mummy like me ...

Btw, tks for offering ur place!

<font color="aa00aa">BlurQ</font>,
Tks for info., must go &amp; dig c got any disney clothings or not. But ah, my boy beary difficult to make him smile when he's not in the mood 1 lor.

<font color="aa00aa">Yu</font>,
I also thought of doing that, to bath him @ nite but hor, he sweat easily lah,so usually every nite after dryclean him, I'll leave him in the room liao.Also my pils will come almost everyday @ around that timing so I cannot leave him in the room after bathing him.

<font color="aa00aa">LL</font>,
Ya, that's wat I think also but hor do you clean Steffi wif another dry towel after cleaning her with a wet one?

<font color="aa00aa">Seagal</font>,
If the timing is rite, i'll be keen but hor, I've got sum back problem, not sure whether pilates will be too strenuous for my back.

Hey,how's Shermyn's rash? Better oredi?

<font color="aa00aa">YYP</font>,
U're welcome!!

Swimming - Err ... but quite paiseh
kao_shy.gif
leh to use ur parents' place.

New photo taken today!!

297639.jpg

aha... I'm laughing at u

297640.jpg

So funny, mamy make me wear daddy T-Shirt!

297641.jpg

Hei! dun play play hor, I know chinese gong fu...

LL.
good to know u r feeling better. let us know the report results!

yyp,
the setting of your wedding is so lormantic and the photos really shows u are having the time of your life! its really special and memorable!
sorry if i sound blur, what bb classes u conducting? swimming? i am keen...
but dun want to trouble your parents leh.. shy shy..
jinjin's new toy looks so fun..but it looks 'lonely' with only 1 bb inside *hint*hint*

(by the way it looks really big and is that an adult i see hiding inside the inflatable playground?) Jin jin looks sweet (as usual)

maple,
before potato changes into her sleep suit (@1 - 1/2hr b4 her bedtime), i will wipe her with wet towel and then towel-dry her. (becoz she got many 'folds' and some water will get trap so i prefer to towel-dry rather than air-dry her)

jean,
saw the sat gathering photos! wah so many bb and and looks so 'happening'.. so sorry i missed it.

yu,
love the second pic! reminds me of a certain commercial..
elicia very advance leh.. so fast can drink from straw. keep us posted of her latest adventure! think u can start your own Yu 'montesorri' class. thanks for the sharing.

Aaron to Jinjin &amp; Potato : Can I join u all in the playhouse??

I beary *sian* leh, always in my cot!!

\image {Peeping from Cot}