(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Yu,
Ya lor, sumtimes old pple thinking very difficult to change. Though my ils are modern ones but there's also certain areas which we dun agree with each other sometimes.

Hey, perhaps you'll hv to start planning for some help before ur hb go overseas, just in case you can't cope e.g. getting your mum or il to come help out on some days.

TBL,
Hi, hi .... paiseh ah ... I always mia ... heeheehee ....

His rash is better 2day, seems to be fading liao.

His photo files too big to be posted here. So I've posted 2 for the time being @ flickr.com.

Wow ... u train your Nat on potty liao ah. Can give some tips on how to do it or not. U put her there @ a set timing? Ngggg her for how long ah?

Ur Nat got such lovely big eyes, guess must have got it from mummy?

Duffy,
Got it, Thks! Already registered and posted sum photos.

Oh ... ya lor ... very cham lei since he's so allergic to milk. Want to give up BM also cannot. He got some slight eczema symptoms also, around his neck. Comes on and off kind ....

I grew up on the 'Red Cross' brand milk? Issit from Dutch Lady ah? Cannot remember liao. No allergy whatsoever lei. My mil says my hb also change a lot of milk powder when young cause always got constipation after taking the fm.

Rochelle,
Thks for the list, very helpful!!

So how's things? U leaving for U.S. soon? Everything ready liao?

Chihuahua,
Puree also consider as 1 meal of solid ah?? How about just fruits puree and just give a little in btw meals can or not hah?

Maple,

my nephew who is on FBM and allergic to milk can drink NAN HA after trying many brands of milk powder. maybe you might want to call Nestle for a sample of NAN HA.

we should be able to get our visas in July but as his company is the one doing the visas for us, we really dont have a definate date. all I can do now is some light packing of things that I dont need to use at the moment but need to bring over.

[TBL] aiyoh....take care & better get well soon.... Nat so fast potty train hah?? Nat looking sweeter & sweeter.
[duffy] my steffi seems pretty kwai wen daddy not around, sleep by herself but wen daddy around, she start to show colour...
[mngo] same here, sometime so confused-don't whether to give 150ml or 180ml. When I give 150ml, she wants more and then hor, give her 180ml, she stops @120ml - ke si nung. Anyhow, still maintain 3 hourly feed....
[rochelle] how do you make mashed pumpkin?

Mommies...read somewhere in the earlier treads that there's a book on baby food, can someone advise me where to get...
[fatchick] sori hor...mistaken ur girl as boy...

Mummy : Baby : Baby's DOB : Photo Website
<table border=1><tr><td> ----------------------</TD><TD> ----------------</TD><TD> -------------------</TD><TD> ---------------- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yu</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>elicia</TD><TD> 05th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>bibip</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>tara</TD><TD> 11th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thanks</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD>Xavier</TD><TD> 26th Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffy</TD><TD> FTWM </TD><TD> chloe </TD><TD> 29th Nov</TD><TD>http://www.flickr.com/photos/wooof </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maple_Leaf</TD><TD>SAHM </TD><TD>Aaron</TD><TD>30th Nov</TD><TD> http://www.flickr.com/photos/58096200@N00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 1th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>TBL</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Natalie</TD><TD> 2th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>chiart</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD>Javier </TD><TD>03rd Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Z-Lia</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> 4th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LL</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Steffi</TD><TD> 4th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>seagal</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>Shermyn</TD><TD> 6th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>YYP</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>JinJin</TD><TD> 6th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>mngo</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>Declan Isaac</TD><TD> 10th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>sulivyn</TD><TD> FTWM </TD><TD>girl </TD><TD> 10th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jen</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>11th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evelyn Au</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD> Wilfred</TD><TD> 15th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurQ</TD><TD>FTWM </TD><TD>Andric</TD><TD>15th Dec</TD><TD>http://www.flickr.com/photos/22287496@N00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lachesiz</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>17th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>dirdar</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>18th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LH</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD> Joseph</TD><TD>24th Dec</TD><TD>http://www.flickr.com/photos/ll2004/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendypooh</TD><TD>FTWM </TD><TD>Nicole</TD><TD>24th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chihuahua</TD><TD> ?</TD><TD> Kenneth</TD><TD> 24th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>GIRL</TD><TD> FTWM</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD> 26th Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>fatchick</TD><TD> PTWM</TD><TD> shann ho </TD><TD>5th Jan 05</td></tr></table>

LL,

Some time ago, you asked about where to get that special mattress with the padded sides. I stumbled upon it recently at Kiddy Palace at HDB Hub, Toa Payoh. It was retailing at S$119.

Hi Duffy, you posted the website for the wrong mummy. Think it could be LL, instead of LH?

TBL,
hope you are better.
everytime, i see nat pic, i will stare and stare stare at it for sooo long... she is simply gorgeous, especially her EYES!!! what bb brand eyeliner u use?? haha
and i LOVE the pic where she sticks out her tongue!
gave my gal strained n mashed sweet potato and she loves it!!

LH,
my gal is about 5 1/2months and still on TBM. if possible, intend to do it till 9 or 12 months.
i tried plain rice cereal mix wif BM on my gal 2 weeks ago. as the cereal dissolves easily, i just warm the milk as per normal and then add to the cereal and stir. do note that BM tends to make the cereal more watery as compared to water or FM.
i bought organic plain rice cereal but my fren's pd recom Heinz..
I mix BM with all the 'solids' she is trying.. so far bananas and sweet potato.

LL,
dunno if this is the book u want "SUper Baby Food" by Ruth Yaron. got it from kino. I find it very useful for a newbie sotong mummy / marketing idiot like me.
there's another rather popular book (in chinese and English)"Nutirtious Food for Baby and Toddler" published by Novum organum. my mum bought it at TAKA.
hope it helps

LL,

I cut a slice of pumpkin into small pieces, put in a small metal bowl then add enough water to cover the pieces and boil over the stove. after the pumpkin is soft, I would mash the pumpkin in the bowl with a tablespoon then put into a feeding bowl for my boy to eat. my boy takes both the pumpkin and the soup so nutrition not lost and one way to get my boy to take some "water"

<font color="ff0000">LH,LL</font>
Ahyah sorry, I'll chageit tonight :p

<font color="ff0000">Motherhood exibition</font>
Hey anyone bought sling from bbsupplies before?
They let me do a trade in with a $20 reduction, from $68 to $48 after trade in.... But I vaguely remember it's $48 last time leh, or is it not har??

My fren says nepia diapers is selling at $13 per pack, and per person can only buy one pack, so go fast haha, last night I go at abt 9pm, the ppl say 5pm nepia stall close already...

Rochelle,
Ya I think that's the last resort liao. Must standby something lah just in case if my BM ss suddenly get low.

Leaving for states - Oic .... so you feeling excited now? There's a topic here for those 'Giving Birth in USA? Anyone?" under "Motherhood, Pregnancies And Babies", perhaps you can chk out and get more info. ;)

Duffy,
Thks for updating!! Oh u went liao ah, I'm thinking of going today if my bb can keep to his schedule.

mngo,LL,Rochelle,
Aaron has the same problem. Sumtimes prepare more, he dun eat, sumtimes, eat till like not enuf like that .... haiz .... very difficult to predict ..... haiz ....

lachesiz,
Your potatoe very cuuuuuuute ..... so many different expression and the best thing is you manage to capture them!!

Baby Carrier
------------
Any bought any baby carrier other than the sling sarong? Can advise how useful &amp; user frenly?Was thinking of getting 1 but dunno which brand leh?Issit too late to get now hah?

<font color="ff0000">lachesiz</font>
yr potato VERY cute, I like her's "tutu zhiu" haha

<font color="ff0000">Maple</font>
I just got a hang of the sling, feels quite useful for me. which is why I'm thinking of trading it in for a nicer one from bbsuplies... but am still asking around to see if the trade in price is good leh.

URGENT! URGENT! URGENT!!!

For those who is using Avent ISIS...

This morning Ive spent more than 45mins to pump out 100ml only! Very unusual lor! Because I know I still can pump out more than that. Something wrong with the white valve, after checked then noticed that the white valve was cracked. (OMG)
So jia lat! I must find a new one these two days cos tomorrow night go to Msia for holiday for a week!

Can somebody else tell me where I can buy the thing? Dun tell me I have to buy a new set of Avent ISIS hor!

Please help! Thanks in advance!!!

Evelyn,
U can try calling Mums &amp; Babes to chk wif them. If I do remember correctly, ever read somewhere that they do sell spare parts for Avent.

hey, I saw it b4 at kkhosp, The first few years shop. Think they will have it in all outlets. Why not u try to find their phone num and call to ask before going down?

[Evelyn] try to call this number, itz Avent Cannon themselves (6) 268-5966, probably they can advise u where to get.
[lachesiz]ur potato hor...is sooooo cute cute..
Hi mommies....Steffi jus finish her last jab for the first 6months, hooray....next one will be @one year old.... Thanks for the book info, will check it out this weekend.
Talking abt the sling, Steffi still does not like it, always yell &amp; scream when put her in. Got 2 sets with me...did not get the chance to use.
[duffy] hei...datz nice to add in the photo website but how come hor, wen I click my website, it says I did not load in any photos???? By the way, is there anyway to save ur chart into my computer?
[rochelle] thanks for the receipe..so jus boil the pumpkin in the water, jus like making pumpkin soup hor...
Sorry mommies, i know someone had list the feeding chart before but i lazy to check back, can u tell me again 'cos doc say Steffi can start full solid food oredi so I want to know how do u mommies plan bb meal for the whole day....

<font color="ff0000">LL</font>
hey, is it because u put the photos to be viewable only to family, friends or contacts....
think must let it be viewable to public than can see lor, else only ppl who are linked to u like me than can see

As for the chart I can pass u the notepad file. Tonight ok?

Maple,

I use a baby carrier for my boy since he is one month old. he outgrew the first one from Mothercare when he reached 7kg so now he is using the second one which is Domaro and can take heavier babies.

So glad to know you all! And so touched that you girls being so helpful! Thank you so much!
Ive found it! At Cannon Avent, Beach Rd. The staff told me only Cannon Avent sells the spare parts, we cant find Avent spare parts at other places.
One of the mummy from other thread had bought it for me. Tomolo will be meeting up with her. So kind of her!

LL,
Youre right that only Cannon Avent sells Avent spare parts! The tel number you gave me is not in used. New tel no. is 6391 9191. Anyway, thanks for your help!

mngo,
yalor yalor, i also very hate the white valve!!!

[evelyn]oki...so no problem hor..can still pump pump...so envy u still can pump pump..me no more oredi, looking on the bright side I can now eat with restriction..hee...hee...

Duffy &amp; Rochelle,
Thks for info. on bb carrier. Dun think want to get the sling cause when I saw the demo @ MomsinMind seems like very 'lei che' lah.Me too lazy to learn.

Rochelle, where &amp; how much you got ur 2nd carrier for?What is the wt. limit?

Evelyn,
Glad that u've found it!Soli hah seems not of much help lei ... heehee ....

Motherhood Exhibition
----------------------
Went down today but didn't find much bargain item lei.

Today, they allow pple to buy 2 pkts for Nepia but didn't get it cause the last time when Aaron uses it, it leak though it feels comfy.

Bought 3 cans of Nestle Rice cereal, just a few cents cheaper than normal price. Oh ... manage to get the Nan H.A. fm from them. I was really thankful to the ladies at the booth for that.

maple leaf
i realised tat nepia leaked too for my boy. i wonder if is the diaper problem or my wrapping problem leh.

Hi lachesiz, where did you get the organic rice cereal? Also, how many times a day do you feed your girl with the cereal? My boy latches on, so I don't know how much he drinks in a day, and I don't want him to be so full on milk such that he doesn't take solids. Like you, I would like to bf my baby till he's one year old hopefully. I love bf him...

Your girl is very cute, with the shaved head and blowing saliva pose... My boy plays with his saliva a lot too.

To all mommies, when did your babies' first teeth come out? My boy has been drooling for about two months already, but no sign of teething yet. And also, what are the signs to look out for? Thanks!

<font color="ff0000">LH</font>
my bb's teethhaven't come out leh, some more she stop drooling liaos... not much saliva nowadays...hmmm ...

<font color="0000ff">Chloe</font>
Asked my MIL to start Chloe with 2 meals of solids per day, one in the morning, another at late afternoon....

She still insist on feeding Chloe every 3 hours, even when she can finish 180ml sometimes....Anyway, my girl really temperamental lor, sometimes can finish 180ml, sometimes can drink only 120ml... ma fan ah she

I started to wake her up deliberately every morning at 9.30am, so as to organise her biology clock... previously she sleeps until she happy than wakes up one, which I think needs to change lor ..

[mapleleaf] thks for the website...

Steffi had also started drooling for about 2 months oredi, me oso tot she's teething but up till today nothing yet....and still drooling and plays with saliva too....
288816.gif

Mngo,
I think its too soft liao lor, so it get out of shape easily. Or could it be that our boys are too 'cho lor' liao ... hahaha ....

LH,
My boy also still 'bo ge' lei ... same as Chloe, stop drooling liao but he loves to blow bubble with his saliva .... noti ... noti ...

LL,
U'r welcome! Ur Steffi like can sit very 'zai' oredi hor ...

Maple, Mngo,

my boy use Nepia without leak for many months already. only time it leaks is when the diaper is full in the morning and my boy wants to drink his milk before changing diaper, than will leak a little.

Maple,

the mothercare was for up to 10kg but when my boy was 7kg the seams start to give way. the domaro carrier is for up to 15kg. I got it for $79 non-sale price. some places sell for $69 and GSS might have 20% off at Metro. I tried it on my boy in the baby room before buying.

Hi mommies...I use mammy poko nappy for the nite and it can hold thru' for 8 hours - so far no problem with this brand and it has pretty soft finish. In the day, I'll use Drypers wic is cheaper lor...
[maple leaf] no lah...steffi still can't sit on her own, needs support. In the pram, she will hold on to the sides, datz why she looks so 'zai'. I asked my lau ma, she said can give papaya, guessed itz all up to individual except dat must avoid citrus fruits wic is a BIG NO NO...

where to buy those book for baby abt food wan arz? I read frm young parent maz say brown rice is better than normal rice, is high in fibre!!!

[Yu] the last time Lacheiz recomended this: "SUper Baby Food" by Ruth Yaron. got it from kino. I find it very useful for a newbie sotong mummy / marketing idiot like me.
there's another rather popular book (in chinese and English)"Nutirtious Food for Baby and Toddler" published by Novum organum. my mum bought it at TAKA. I will be shopping for it this weekend....

duffy,
aiyo, sometime nat also like tat, wake up mid-nite tok/ sing to herself. but cannot let her see us lah! she will cry when see us ard. so normally we will hide in a corner to make sure she is ok then just let her be. may be u try to ignore her for a while?
Btw lon long time didnt see chloes photo lei? Post some here lah!!

mngo,
may be declan now taking solid, tat's why milk intake drop? for nat's case, she wont increase her intake even if we feed her at longer interval. always 120ml only.

rochelle,
the tollyjoy food maker is grinder? i saw one, brand is munchkin but worry the thing will break easily lei...
so mashed pumpkin is consider 1 solid? then u oso give cereal rite? btw, thks for the heaty-cooling info.
aiyo, u reminded me!! long time didnt read to nat liao... not bad lei, at least boy can 'tahan' 1 hour in library...

chihuahua,
so fruits &amp; vege oso consider 1 solid. think i need to make adjustment then. nat so far only tried cereal, nothing else... :p

maple_leaf, LL,
I started to nnggg for nat since she is 1mth+. Later stop @ 3mth+ coz her stool became very soft + different timimg. Start again 2wks ago, when she is 5.5mth. During training stage u need to set a fix timing. Eg every morning 10+ or every noon 5+. Then evertime let her sit on potty and nnggg. Normally bb will want to get out of the potty after 5~10min, then u need to prepare some toy, give to them when they fussy and continue to nngg them. The first few times we nngg for abt 20mins. Now her poo poo can be out after 10mins the most. J

Lachesiz,
Wats yr potatos name alr huh? Rui Ann huh? She very cute lei!! Like her different expressions. I want to pinch her lei!!! KekekekeK

HaizK I got to go now.
Actually I wrote this post since 2days agoK :p coz I have been very busy these few days!! Brought my mum in &amp; out hospital, very tiring lei! Im very sick now. SianK. U gals post more bbs pic lei!!

LL, why should we avoid giving our babies citrus fruits? Sorry, me quite sotong.

Jen, you are lucky. I'm using my second valve for the Avent manual pump for about 1.5 months and today, it kept "jumping out" when I'm pumping which is super irritating. Think I will either get a new pump or change the parts. Been using the pump for about 5 months plus already. Just called Avent and realise they do send the parts by post and the price is inclusive of postage. Quite convenient.

me a bit KS, bought a heavy duty one (kenwood) for grinding..hee..hee...
[LH] Yup, rochelle is rite. Also to avoid ribena for ur bb until they r much much older 'cos it also causes cough (was told during antennal class)
[TBL] so nat can sit on her own oredi??

mapleleaf,
i took those photos while carrying her!! guess i was real lucky that day to capture those shots!

LH,
bought the plain rice cereal from brown rice paradise (tanglin mall). bought the organic brown rice too, intend to mix both and intro to her at 6 months then slowly go full brown rice.
fed her only once a day so far.. intend to increase to 2 feed when she is 6 months.
i also love to bf her, esp now that she is older and more responsive.

my gal drools alot recently but dun think she is cutting any teeth. so she is a 'bo gay and bo tao mor' bb...

YU,
kino has a good selection of books on feeding bb/toddler. u can try Popular too, sometimes they have surprisingly good, value-for $$ books!
and brown rice is indeed better, even for adults!

LL,
steffi is such a happy gal!!!
such a sweetie too!

TBL,
brand of my potato is "Rae-Ann". i also want to pinch her cheeks but my mum says that area is strictly out of bounds! she scolded me for doing that once....she very strict.. sigh
i hope your mummy is ok.. do pace yourself.

went to motherhood fair.. nothing much..
intend to buy nepia but her sizes sold out!bought some shoes instead.. what a let down.

rochelle, called cordlife again and they said they have oredi registered in their system. They will send another letter to u.

hi gals... i'm at airport now... will be back next week... see ya! take care of urselves and babies!!

Thanks Lachesiz. Will go check out Brown Rice Paradise this weekend. Hope it's not very much more expensive than ordinary rice cereal. Just curious, why are you mixing both plain rice and brown rice cereal together then go to full brown rice later? Is it because the latter is harder to digest?

Haha, my boy is 'bo gay' and 'bo tar mor' also. My colleague's one-month old baby has even more hair than my boy.

Hi all, ahyah, MIA for the weekend. Really feels like 'time not enough'.. grrr...

<font color="0000ff">update</font>
Chloe went to my mum's house yesturday and her stranger anxiety is so obvious! she cry once my mum carry her away from me....
Some more now when someone's holding her , and I'm near, she will tilt her body towards me and wants me to cary her.. heehee *secretly smiling* shiok shiok for now lah... next time maybe she sticky until I wanna run away haha

<font color="ff0000">feeding</font>
I bought brown rice from Earth's Best too, CHloe likes it very much , so far it's the only thing I successfully introduce to her, the rest she still don really eat.

Ask u all har, is 4tablespoon of cereal(b4 adding water) enough for one meal? cause I read from the 'super baby food' book, tht there should be 2 food group per meal PLUS bottle leh???
May I know how much u mummy are giving to BB every meal? 4TBspoon of cereal enough to replace a 180ml of milk? Thanks in advance!!

thank U auntie lacheiz...
[duffy] so far, only feed steffi one meal per day - datz wat PD advice, cannot replace milk with food....

Chihuahua> patch thingy..i get it fr my GP..normal clinic at S$30 per box.. inside gt 3 stickers-like patch.. the medication is on the patch itself.. so the 4th week u r patch free.. n the doc says the medication wil seep thru ur skin to get the contraceptive effective.. i m curios also dats y try.. n u can stop immed if trying for another bb..
99% babysafe! n cost lesser than other methods which imy sis tried.. nt v gd results..tis patch thingy doc says wil regulate mood swings n the menses leh.. so wait till my nx mense come den can cfm is it true.. ehehehhe

mngo> well for nw i keep the little monster headcount to 1!! .. i so tulan wf MIL n bz till nw den gt time to read all the messages in the tread leh..tik b4 i reach 30+ wil get heart probs wif mil getting on my nerves eveliday on bb issues manz..SIGHHHzz

LH,
organic plain rice cereal is quite ex, as compared to Heinz, Gerber etc. i think i bought it at @$12.(pkt size about same as Heinz/Gerber) organice brown rice is cheaper though.. so can't wait for her to go full brown rice! i am mixing coz sometimes when bb are used to the 'nicer' taste of plain rice cereal, they might not take to brown rice.

duffy,
like LL, i also feed her one solid a day, as main diet for bb her age is still milk and solid is just a supplement. so i feed her about 2 tablespoon between her milk feedings. but she never seems to have enough! i have only tried cereal, sweet potato and banana and she loves all. wonder what shall i experiment on her next? book recommend avocado but i m quite skeptical. anyone tried pumpkin or cooked pear?