(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

mngo
how much apple you gave declan each time?
wondering if i gave him too much apple on the 1st try (1/5 of the apple):p stomach cant take it yet
will try to steam it this weekend to let him try again

hi blurq, thanx for asking... she's getting better oredi...

ladies, want to complain abt my gal... yesterday she so notti... refuse to drink milk and we threw away a lot of EBM... hiaz... then this morning, before we wake up she make so much noise in her playpen... scratch here roll there... i stand there and scold her "ni yue da yue huai dan huh! (the older you get, the more notti u are!)" then she diam (for 5 mins)... finally gave up and brought her to our bed then she gan yuan sleep...

hi BlurQ
we have 1/4 of it. when first started, we let him suck on the juice. we did for a few days before feeding him apple

mngo, not that i ngiao lah hor... but retail price is $5.15... now robinsons got 20% off avent so is $4.12... still got 5% robinsons card rebate... so is $3.90 leh... =P

[Evelyn] I'm oso looking for the brand - Fruit of the Loom - had oso written to them asking whether can find it in Singapore...let u know wen I get the reply.
[BlurQ] Got a bb sex chart which may interest u and oso any mommies whose planning for next bb.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Baby Sex Chart (13.8 k)</td></tr></table></center>

duffy,
i registered alr. but hor, i dunno wat to do next lei. sorry lah! i a bit idiot in this area...

evelyn,
no lah, not trying #2 now. only will start 'production' end of this year.

jen,
ya lor. our bb really more 'huai dan' nowadays!! but my HB will always remind me, we will get more worry if they are not 'huai dan'! quite true...

evelyn,

2nd one not planned. else wont be one year apart so tiring.

tbl,

my boy very naughty and greedy and kaypoh nowadays. when in food court he wants to be carried so that he gets a better view than sitting in his pram.

TBL,
I have sent u a PM, u see see look look

LL, haha, greedy ah u...
but hor I don know can anot leh, should be too much steps to do tht, I try try tonight haha

My girl is 6 months old yesturday!!
So fast hor... ahyah, anyone saw my questions abt the puree huh? Can I make it in the morning than ask MIL to feed in the afternoon har?

[duffy] I think itz not such a good idea - always get the impression dat banana must be taken fresh...otherwise tummy ache lah.. How abt asking ur MIL to try this new receipe - fry ikan bilis until crispy, grind them into powder form then cook with porridge over slow cooker...hmmm..very delicious and ikan bilis oso good for iron &amp; calcium. All my nephews grew up on this receipe, me oso sometimes steal their porridge to eat ...yummy...now itz my girl's turn. Waiting for my mom to fry ikan bilis first.

Anybody knows how to call one kind of ikan bilis but in silver color and very small type one? Normally pple used to eat with porridge one lah! Last time my ex-baby sitter washed them first before dried them under the sun, after tat fried without oil and grinded them into powder. Add a bit mixed with porridge, very delicious too! My baby sitter told me the silver ikan bilis better than the normal one.
However, my sis did attend a course regarding baby new food at Polyclinic. Theyve advised mummies should grind red bean instead of ikan bilis cos ikan bilis too salty liow, no good for baby! Take note! Take note!

For SAHM, if your have time maybe can attend some courses at Polyclinic. If Im not wrong they will teach you how to prepare good and healthy foods for your little one.

Duffy,
Maybe you can keep the puree in-to a warmer then ask MIL feed your little one in the afternoon.

Duffy,
Thanks for the chart. I am a SAHM and my baby is born on the 24th Nov 2004.

Re. puree, you can prepare the puree and freeze them in little containers or ice cubes. When you want to eat them, take out and defrost. Supposed to be able to keep for up to 2 weeks. But normally, I keep only 5 days max.
Also, it's better to feed them steamed apple puree when the baby is so young. It's more easily digestable and fresh apples may have some germs or bacteria that babies cannot tahan.

Evelyn,
I heard from my GP that we can wash the ikan bilis to wash off some salt before we cook for baby. Then it's less salty. Every week can take about twice. Quite good for baby.

Rochelle,
My baby also super noisy nowadays. Keep wanting pple to carry when in pram. And love looking at other pple. Wanna talk to them somemore.
By the way, how are you coping? Very difficult with your bb while preggy? Can carry your bb?
I a tempted to try for one too, at year end. But scared cannot manage...

chihuahua,

still can cope. hubby helps out in the evening. my boy now 8kg but still can carry him. most of the time he is playing on his mattress with his toys or in his pram when we bring him out.

if you try at year end, than your boy can attend playgroup by the time your 2nd baby is born so wont be so tiring.

Hey all
for those mother here, if ur 1st child is a gal, will u very worry the 2nd also gal? Me very worry, the MIL keep on saying " the 2nd one boy "... Very stress. So scare if not boy.

mng &amp; yu... mi was tiking onli 1 bb..bt scared wait she turn out to b a v selfish,aloof person leh... ehehhe well 2nd bb seems too far manz!!

somore my mil also old tiking..wait 2nd one also ger..i m okie wif b/g..bt i dun wan to expose my bb to tose ppl not welcome her gender .. get wat i mean rite?? sighH..

see my verison of boy..ehehhe

288259.jpg

almak!! y got flash one??

288260.jpg

happy baby!!

For me, definitely one for the time being - cannot imagine going thru' the whole process again....I love only the part being pregnant, so nice having ur bb inside u but once itz out...OMG..stressed...lah...
[fatchick] handsome boy lei...very macho looking...
[Evelyn] could it be silver fish? itz pretty small, can find in NTUC.

[Jen] ha...ha...jus the opposite..but feel like the empress dowager rite? Everyone give way to u..hee...hee....and not worry whoz taking care of bb 'cos bb is always with u the whole day.... Even told my hubby how nice if bb can grow up in the tummy until they r 1 year old, come out can walk &amp; talk oredi...

Halo Everyone,

Long time nvr post liao, wish all well!!!

Warm Welcome to all new mummies!!!

I must say that all your little ones are sooooo..... cute!!!! Yes, yes ... more picture plssssss ..... drooling ...... heeheehee ....

Some update on little Aaron
---------------------------
- He turns 6 months yesterday and he still can't sit without any support.
- Also more playful these days and want to be carried and entertain almost all the time when awake.
- Started solid for about 2 weeks liao. He now takes 2 solid a day(started about 3~4 days ago)Porridge in the afternoon and rice cereal in evening.
- He's allergic to cow's milk now - mouth area turn red, red once the milk touches him
- Tried soymilk today but also develope allergic reaction, got rash around the mouth. Very 'cham' .... haiz ..... think will have to try "hypoallergenic" milk for him next.

Baby #2
-------
Me same as fatchick &amp; LL very scared!!! Wish to stop @ one but also worried that my #1 will become self-centered ... aiyoh ... somemore my hubby's got family history of eczema and asthma, so die, die also must breastfeed again ....think already also stress ...

Duffy or LL,
Can email me to include in the private viewing. My email [email protected]

Tks in advance!

hi maple leaf,
was aaron on bm last time? mmm.... is there hypoallergic milk? do you have to buy from pd?

baby no 2
i hate the whole process all over again. actually i tot whether self centered or not, may not be really due to if he is the only child. sharing comes from parents as model.

hey all
I do feel the same as fatchick! So worry and stress... Somemore if now I pregnant, maybe my HB cant stay will me coz he going to oversea training for work nxt yr! I nt like other mother can accompany HB go oversea also, coz his company dun allow and somemore he also got no time for me if I go there. He will be there for a yr... So sad!

hi mngo,
yes, he's still on bm. But even then, occasionally we still give him fm for convenience but mayb only 1%. No prob. then leh but he start to develop this allergic thingy about 3 weeks ago when I started him on the rice cereal.

hypoallergenic milk is avail. from brand like Nan. Its call Nan H.A. and is available at almost all supermarkets. My hubby say it seems that Enfalac also got it but so far I've not seen any on the shelf yet leh. Called the PD's clinic and they might be able to spare some sample to try, try first.

BB #2 - ya, you'r right also but I think the possibility is higher lor when they're the only child.

Yu,
Tell ur mil that boy or girl will hv to depend on her son and not you leh.

Oh ... so you'll hv to be on your own for 1 whole year ah .... r u staying with your in-laws?

Yu,
So poor thing, hubby going overseas... You mean the company won't sponsor you to go over too? i can understand how it feels to be when you are alone here. My hubby used to go overseas very freq too and I feel so lonely, esp when I was preggy. I hope he is not going too far, so you can always fly over and see him. Nowadays the air tix quite cheap, then the 2 of you can fly here or fly there right? Not that bad lah! And you got your little precious one for company too!
And don't care what your mil says. Like what Maple Leaf says, boy or girl is up to 'her son' and not to you. Anyway, what generation liao, boy or girl the same lah. All equally cute.

Rochelle,
I really pei fu you. It must be tough on you, taking care of your baby and dealing with the stress of pregnancy. But at the same time, it must be really exciting for you now. Any moment can know the gender of the baby yeah? Keep us update alright!

2nd one: Woa, why the sudden hype on 2nd baby??? Well, my thoughts same as most mummies, very sian of the process of bringing up the kid, but scared the baby now will become self-centered in future. Also worried that he will be lonely. On top of that, my hubby already expresses his widh to have a 2nd one. Hmm.... problem is when???

fatchick,
Your baby super cute leh... Looks like very mature liao. Somemore can sit on daddy's shoulders. We still dun dare to try that on Kenneth.

my bb is a ger ger bt..ermmMM... looks like boy hor?? anyway her character like mi v out straight one lor...ahahah

she dunno hw to sit "properly" yet lor,slouching is the word to describe her..

b/g > i tik getting a boy is harder cos mus b v accurate cos onli tat 1/2 days whn the womb is akaline n ovulaiton takes place..( ei i read fr mag la...correct mi if worng :p )

yu> i also hate it whn Hb gg overseas... so sian..EG.. whn i was v v near my due, HB went overseas.. n the false contractions started, last for like 2 3 hrs..in i was alone at hm on bed..was tiking if bb come out tat time,too bad lor her daddy wldn't b ard n its nt my fault..argHh...anyway heng, bb still hang on to wait for her daddy to come back ..i giv birth 2 weeks aft hb came bck if nt i tik i wil resent him lor..tat was v close..ehehe

anyway the gov scheme is enuff to attract mi the 1st time onli.. not 2nd time!! aahhaha...

any1 on contraceptive yet?? i m on the patch thingy... dun feel much changes cos juz started nt long..my GP says wil make menses lighter,regulate hormones beta>i might b in beta control of my emotions.. hmmMMm...

is it too soon to start nw?? i v kia su type+MIL make mi so stress ovr this 1 kid liow.. no.2 is like over my dead body lor...

duffy> i m SAHM..bt i m working perm part time fr hm also leh.. aiyoh... mi blur blur dunno hw to tell u..put watever la.. :p

fatchick,
I am very curious about the patch thingy. How does it work? Not sure if it's available in Sydney... And like use a patch for contraception very not safe leh... hehehe... just paste something there and can prevent preggy liao??? But very convenient hor? Expensive?

Hi all mommies, any of you still giving your baby breastmilk? I'm thinking of continuing to give my boy bm after six months when he starts on cereals, but I don't know which brand of cereals are without milk. Heard that Heinz and Nestle have plain rice cereal without milk and you add in the bm? Which is better? And how to prepare it? Cos bm can't heat till too warm right? Thanks, me quite blur and my mum and MIL din bm me and my husband, so they don't know also.

chihuahua,
i throw out the qn on 2nd bb cos i know that many people after their 1st one, shortly after they got 2nd one. I am one who just want 1 child only. And got pple inc my parents say 2 is better, 2 is bla ..... a lot of good points.

Fat chick,
haaa .... wah seh . no2 is over yr dead body ah. hahaha .

LH,

JinJin is still on EBM. My ss has dropped, so she's on EBM only twice a day now. The rest of the time, she'll be on FM and solids.

I bought Heinz rice cereal. Just add either EBM or FM to it, stir and serve. You don't have to cook it at all. There're instructions on how to prepare the cereal on the box itself. Just follow the instructions and you'll be ok.

Aside from rice cereal, JinJin has also tried apple puree, mashed bananas, orange juice, Heinz baby food suitable for 4 mths and above. She likes the beef and pumpkin one. She's a choosy eater, and refused to eat the Heinz rice cereal after a while, so we had no choice but to start her on other types of solids. I didn't want her to reject solids altogether and insist on taking milk alone.

Maple_Leaf
Those IL are old thinking... They will nt believe is my HB fault, even my HB also think is my fault if the bb is nt boy. Dunno all those things that learn at sch thrown where liao.
Now I'm staying myself, nt with IL or my parent. So really got a hard time coping!

Chihuahua
My HB work cant allow to fly here fly there. So I really gonna to miss him crazy... NO choice, haiz...

duffy
hey, wat job u work from home? Me also wan to do leh....

LH
My gal going to be 7mths on the cuming 5 of june, I still total BF her directly coz she refuse to take other milk. I also feed her cereal 3 time per day. The morning cereal will be plain. For the noon and evening, half cereal + fruit. Coz eating cereal can cause too heating, eating more fruit help to easy poo...

hihi mummies, how are u? hope all bbs &amp; mummies are fine.

i'm down with flu. cough, fever, sore throat!! haiz... so worry tat i may pass the virus to nat. dare not to carry her for too long. luckily i got 2days MC to rest at home. ;-)

rochelle,
think boy boy now starts to become very curious nowadys. J aiyo, must be very tiring for u to carry him now. U must take care hor.

LL, duffy,
thks for the info on photo viewing, but i've yet to read on how to start yet.
btw my email: [email protected]

evelyn,
grind red beans for porridge? how to grind? Red bean like very hard lei, can grind using normal grinder? No need to cook the red bean b4 grinding rite?

Yu,
Since my 1st one is gal, I do hope 2nd one is boy instead. But I really dun mind if oso gal. Will be very happy as long as bb is healthy. Ignore yr MIL lah! Stress for wat?
Me too very sian whenever HB going oversea. But bo bian lah, its their work. Where will he be posted to? Nvm lah, 1 year very fast, and u can fly over to see him. Btw any home leave for yr HB when he work oversea?

Fatchick,
Shann is cute!! So chubby hor!

LL,
Ya, me too love being preg. Can eat &amp; eat without guilt. :p

Maple_leaf,
Long long time no see lah! Any recent photos of Aaron? post some for us to see lei! How is his rashes now? Hope he gets well soon.

Bb#2:
Im in very good relationship with my sis. So I hope Nat will have at least 1 bro/sis to grow up with, so she will not be too lonely. and next time if there is any problem she will has someone to discuss with.

Solid,
Nat is on 2 solids per day now. Thinking to give apple/ sweet potato puree but dunno when to give lei? She take her cereal ard 11am &amp; 5pm. So I can give her puree in-between rite? But then will she be too full for her milk after the puree? Aiyo, confuse + blurK

some of nat's photos:
looks very serious when poo poo:
288492.jpg

taking solid, she likes it very much:
288493.jpg

happy:
288494.jpg

blur:
288495.jpg

<font color="ff0000">LL</font>
haha, u very cute ah, ask bb to grow up in yr tummy, kick until u blueblack inside haha

<font color="ff0000">Maple</font>
u have got mail!
Ahyoh, so poor thing so allergic ah... hopefully hypoallergenic milk will help, if not don know drink wht liao
Last time when I'm young my mum say I cannot drink all kind of cow milk too, in the end she let me drink "dutch lady milk add water"!! surprise hor, so sweet let me drink haha, no wonder I so fat :p

<font color="ff0000">2nd one</font>
me too, might try for 2nd one end of this yr.... it's the BF part and the taking care prt I dislike lor... anyway, part and parcel lah... I look forward to the day when me and hubby grow old together and let them be haha

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>
I'm FTWM wooor, no longer working at home liaos
Very difficult for u hor, walor, bare them a child still got to take the blame...
Actually my side also abit lah, when the baby got any little or big problem, they will say must be u eat not good when preggy kinda things, walooor buay tahan...

<font color="ff0000">TBL</font>
u have got mail too!
I also have the same questions abt the ppuree thinghy leh...

<font color="0000ff">update</font>
Chloe very notti at night, these few nights, whenever she wakes up slightly she will cry for us to hold her and sometimes must add in her pacifier than she can sleep back..... wah... one night she at least wakes up 5 times ahhh.... so tiring! Tht's why the book always says train them early to sleep by themselves, if not when they r 5-6 months, they cannot sooth themselves to sleep back they will call for u! *sigh...yawn*

anyone here reduce the no of milk feed from 5 times per day to 4 times per day? now my boy lately is taking only 150ml instead of usual 180ml.

Should i
1) Give 180 ML at longer interval and make it only 4 times a day

or

2) Give 150ML at shorter interval and make it 5 times a day?

I m loss

TBL, chihuahua,

my boy very kaypoh now. he loves to listen to people gossiping and would look everywhere.

bought the tollyjoy baby food maker. very easy to use and about $14.

brought my boy to the library yesterday. he got bored after an hour.

I give my boy solid food about an hour after milk and his favorite so far is mashed pumpkin.

mngo,

I feed my boy on demand. his first feed is 150-210ml, than is 120ml every 2-3hrs.

Heaty, cooling and neutral foods

Heaty
Vegetables: carrot, leek, onion, shallots, spring onion, watercress
Fruits: apricots, blackberries, black currant, cherries, mangoes, strawberies, peaches
Herbs: basil, bay leaf, dill, caraway seed, cardamon
Cooling
Vegetables: broccoli, cauliflower, zuccini, corn, aspeagus, button mushrooms, radish, lettuce, cucumber, celery, aubergine, spinach, cabbage, pak choi, kelp, seaweed
Fruits: melons, apples, tomatoes, citrus fruits, persimmon, pears, bananas, pineapple, coconut
Herbs: most teas, white peppercorn, marjoram, tarragon, tumeric

Neutral
Vegetables: Brussels sprouts, beetroot, pumpkin, snow peas sweet potato, taro, turnip
Fruits: dates, figs, grapes, guava, papaya, plums, raspberries, raisins
Herbs: fennel, parsley, sage, rosemary, thyme
Others: brown rice, kidney beans, almonds, peanuts

mngo,
I think you should feed by demand. Try for the 180ml 1st. But if declan cannot finish, let him be lor. Then feed earlier at the next feed.
From what I see, alot of babies at this age start to demand less milk. So a drop in intake is quite common.

TBL,
I think maybe you can drop 1 meal of cereals and replace with puree? Because at our babies age, thy should be having 2 solid meals every day. So if you also feed puree in between, it will become 3 meals a day...