(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Seagal,

Shermyn is such a sweet girl! Perhaps, she and JinJin will become good friends one day. What time did she arrive? JinJin was born at 8.47 p.m.

Thanks for the tip on the swimming diapers. I didn't manage to head down to Bumwear before they shut today, so we ended up putting JinJin in a little inflatable pool instead.

JinJin's paediatrician's advice was to wait for all the jabs to be completed before taking her to the pool, but at the same time, I read somewhere that babies are born with the swimming instinct which they lose by 6 months. As I don't intend to take her to a crowded public pool, I thought it would be ok.

I'm sure you all would have watched programmes with babies swimming so happily and effortlessly underwater. I'm wondering if anyone could share with us on how they got their babies to swim underwater.

JinJin's using an IKEA babycot which can be converted to a junior bed. We paid about S$100 and it serves its purpose ok.

Thanks,

The water is warmer in the later part of the day. After I get the swimming diapers and put JinJin in the pool, I'll let you guys know how it went.

Rochelle,

Thanks for the offer!

hey gals,
can't remember the name of this thread so din come in for quite a while.

hi duffy,
thanks for updating the info of all the babies here.. my baby girl is called tara.

water:
with regards to drinking water, have read in books that it's not advisable to feed water, babies get enough water intake fm their normal feeds of breastmilk and formula. one book says tat too much water will dilute the babies blood, increase the electrolytes in the systems and cause coma.. sounds serious! anyway, my baby dun like to drink water.. hehehe..

breast pump:
currently using AVENT ISIS.. was thinking of changing to electric pump, heard it will empty the breastmilk.. manual pumps quite troublesome cos have to hold and keep pressing the pump.. wanted to get those electric types which are "handsfree" so i can read my book while expressing my milk. currently my tara on alternate feed of formula and breastmilk, cos now her milk intake increase, my breastmilk not enough leh. feel a bit guilty when i have to put her on formula..

sleep:
my baby sleeps in between me and hubby everynight.. hubby wants her to sleep with us cos he felt that baby very lonely sleeping by herself in her playpen.. **shrug** now she doesn't want to sleep alone. maybe i should train her to sleep by herself again..

hey mapleleaf,
yah, not gd to let baby's watch tv, the tv produce image that stimulate the baby's brain too much.. as in too fast. baby's who watch too much tv will have probs sitting down to read a book when they are older.. that's what i read...

my tara girl....

249931.jpg

Seagal
Thks for showing me the nose thinghy. I bought the other pegeon one, the one that I can use my mouth to suck one, not bad too.
Shermyn's photo got pose woor, haha, I like her cheek, how heavy is her again? My girl seems like abit thin in comparation leh...
My baby cot is bought from Robinson, call johnson cot or something..... but hor now the place where u push to release the side is broke, so my cot cannot release the side one lor... not good

Welcome YYP (yyp)
Wah, I admire yr discipline leh, I wanted to show my girl flash card everyday and bring her out everyday... but hor in the end always get obstruct by my MIL lah, and other things lor....
Are u going back to work soon? If so who's gonna take care huh?

Mummy : Baby : Baby's DOB
<table border=1><tr><td> ----------------------</TD><TD> ----------------------</TD><TD> ---------------------- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yu</TD><TD> elicia</TD><TD> 05 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>bibip</TD><TD> tara</TD><TD> 11 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thanks</TD><TD> Xavier</TD><TD> 26 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffy </TD><TD> chloe </TD><TD> 29 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maple_Leaf</TD><TD>Aaron</TD><TD>30 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 01 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>chiart</TD><TD> Javier </TD><TD> 03 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>seagal</TD><TD>Shermyn</TD><TD> 06 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>YYP</TD><TD>JinJin</TD><TD> 06 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jen</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>11 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LH</TD><TD> Joseph</TD><TD>24 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>GIRL</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 26th Dec</td></tr></table>

bibip
Yr girl also very cute! Tara is a nice name leh!

tell u all huh, I've been trying to tahan my hubby's family. whenever meet up har, they will nag me, say do this and do tht, don do this and don do tht....grrrr...
sometimes when reach their house, enter the door only they carry the baby away frm me and go into the room, the whole session only when i leave the house than they got no choice return me the baby.....
Even when the baby is sleeping, one of them will wake her up and say don let her sleep, and don't let me carry her!

sooo angry, they DO have experience as a mother, BUT that is MY baby... grrrrr....

I don know, maybe they meant well, and maybe it's a mother thing that I feel so angry.

yyp,

no problem. becos I am personally scared of going to public swimming pools becos some of them have dirty changing rooms.

hi bibip,
how do u switch to bottle feed? Me trying for sometime already but still didn't work... Today I just figure out a new method to feed her! I used all diff brand of feeding nipple it doesn't work, end up she cry very loud and I use a sypring to feed her. As she open her mouth widthly to cry, i squeese some of the milk to the throat without the need of swallon it. After abt 60ml feed, she finally know the tricks and stop crying and she pretend to sleep.

Hey all,
I have been trying a herb for breastmilk. IS from GNC, this supplement call " Fenugreek", is in capsules. No side effect, not bad. The price is $21.95 for 100 capsules. I'm a GNC member so I can get it discount of 10% so it would be abt $18. This month is my B'day so I can purchase at one time 40% off. Anyone interested? The member fees are $10 for 2 yrs.

Yu,

I tried fenugreek by taking 2 capsules 4 times a day but still my milk supply is low. how much did you take and how long before you would see an increase in milk supply?

Duffy,

Are you a SAHM/. if yes than we can go out together and I got alot of flashcards at my home courtesy of hand-me-downs

<font color="ff0000">rochelle</font>,
thanks for your information on the cotbed.

<font color="0000ff">yyp</font>,
shermyn arrived at 1706hrs. it will be fun if they can be good friends!

do you let Jin Jin's head go underwater when swimming ?

<font color="119911">bibip</font>,
Tara is so pretty! She looked like she is wearing lipstick in the pic. =)

don't feel guilty about letting her take fm. I was quite "sad" initially when I had to supplement due to Shermyn's increased milk intake and my inadequate bm. But thinking back, it's better that our bbs drink what they can. They really grow fast when fed well.

did you shave Tara's head ?

<font color="ff6000">duffy</font>,
shermyn should be about 5kg now. I think she is still lighter than Chloe.

So the johnson cot is not very good yah. We are still thinking if we should get one or maybe consider getting a single bed.

ur in-laws quite possessive. have you tried talking to your hubby about it ?

<font color="aa00aa">yu</font>,
I bought fenugreek from GNC too but it's $42.80 for 90 capsules. Each capsule is 600mg. To be taken once daily. Different from yours ?

FLASHCARDS
Where can I get flashcards? Are you referring to those Glenn Doman ones or just simple ones liked alphabets cards ?

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
Where do u live? I live in East side, let's meet up!

I'm actually in the mid of negotiating work time with a potential employer, heehee, I trying to see if I'll be able to work but reach home before 8pm, fingers crossed ,most likely will start work in march

I'm actually freelancing at home one, but staying home with MIL is really not easy. I rather not face her everyday, better for all of us lor....

<font color="ff0000">:: FlashCard</font>
Good good! I need ideas for flash cards! before birth I have done up a set of my own flash cards, with Alphabet on one side and pictures on the other... I want to do more so am searching for ideas!
I heard abt the Glenn Doman concept too, but the set are quite expensive leh....
When do u all intend to introduce the flash card to BB huh? How should we start doing it leh?

<font color="ff0000">seagal (seagal) </font>
Chloe is only 4.5kg two weeks ago... doc say still ok, although ideal weight is 5kg...
If u get a single bed, how would u prevent her from rolling off the bed leh?

seagal, yalor, I really trying to tahan them. I can;t really tell my hubby too much, cause it will seems to him that I'm too sensitive and i'm the troublemaker. So I have to learn how to cleverly take back control of my own baby but still maintain good relationship all round...walau,now than I know the difficulties of being a mother, haha!
[I hope my hubby don see these :p ]

hi seagal,
Mine is GNC nature's fingerprint FENUGREEK 610mg, $21.95 for 100 capsules. 1 to 2 capsules daily. Today I just buy 2 cost got promotion, buy 1 get 1 so 2 only $21.95! Save alot... But only can buy 1 pack...!

Rochelle
I only take one in noon and one before sleep.( have been taking for 1 mths +) The milk dun seem to be increase but, the milk becum thicker. If u wan to increase milk, try eating sotong, shakfins,prawn, chicken and fish. Everytime I eat alot seafood, my breastmilk will increase alot! After all, I still fine eating sotong and prawns will be the best. Oos.. also must drink lots of water ( 8 glasses) and milk ( 3 glasses).

<font color="ff0000">duffy</font>,
opps .. i meant single mattress.
but then again, you are right .... even if we put bolsters, cushions on all sides, it could still be a hazard.

is your baby sleeping in your room ? our initial idea was to let Shermyn sleep in her own room but we can't bear doing it.

my master bedroom is very small and could only fit a playpen. the stupid hdb design also preclude us from placing a single mattress on the floor as it will be just right in front of the bathroom. if she gets too big for her playpen, we'll really have to let her sleep in her own room.

i stay in the east too! my place is at bedok reservoir view.

Yu
I bravo mothers who can persist breastfeeding and is successful one lah, bravo bravo... cause i feel so stress and pressured that I have given up, and resort to pumping, and now since I'm going back to work soon, I can't wait to stop pumping breast.. :p

May I ask if anyone knows how to soothe baby to take afternoon nap. MY girl now really don't sleep much in the afternoon so much that I think it's making her cranky...Although I very happy she sleeps thru the night.
Anyway when they are older and more alert, they have to take afternoon nap with daily activities right?

<font color="ff0000">Seagal</font>
Will u be returning to work?
Ohhh... if it's a single mattress on the floor than it's ok I think. Imagine she got so much apace to roll, my girl will be jealous haaha

My baby now sleeps in her cot placed beside our bed. I'm still thinking if I should teach her to sleep in her own room, but I really don know now, maybe research some more than decide later....

Have any of yr baby trying turning to fliping their body?

<font color="0000ff">Yu</font>,
that's a good deal you have with the 1-for-1 promo. Mine could be the older stock. Bought from a friend's friend who purchase them during her b-day month with the 40% discount also.

i have been taking it for about a week but haven't really seen any effects. Maybe it doesn't work on me.

<font color="ff6000">duffy</font>,
i will be back to work on 1 Mar. sigh .... so sad.
where in the east are u staying?

we always let Shermyn sleep sideways with a bean pillow on her stomach so can't really tell if she could turn or flip herself yet. Can chloe flip/turn already ?

haha, I got so much questions at night...

May I know if we can set our hotpot to 60 degrees, and feed baby with that temperature of water huh?

<font color="ff0000">seagal</font>
I stay in Pasir Ris, u?

HUH? our baby this age can sleep sideways one ah? I try to put Chloe sideway, but she will just fall down on her back....how ah? So it's better to sleep by the side huh? She cannot do any flip or turn or roll yet, am waiting to see her do that

Just finished changing JinJin's diapers. She was in mid-poo when I started, and she squirted some on my face!

Seagal,

That would make Shermyn a che-che then!

Duffy,

I can understand how difficult it is for you to balance the situation at home. For the moment, it might help to look at things from the bright side.

When you return to work, you'll have to rely on someone else to look after Chloe. By being more hands-on now, your MIL will be able to experience the job of a full-time babysitter. She may find that she's not able to handle it (e.g. too exhausting)on her own. You'll then have sufficient time to make alternative arrangements before you start work. If your MIL finds that she's able to handle it on her own, it'll also put your mind at ease when you begin work.

From another perspective, Chloe is very fortunate to receive so much love and attention from her parents and grandparents. Both my parents worked and I was looked after by maids when I was small, but that did not make me less close to my parents. I remember looking forward to them returning home each day and till today we still maintain a very good relationship.

I've actually been working since JinJin was 2 weeks old. I returned to work out of necessity; we were really short-handed at the workplace.

My hubby and I live with my parents and we have a maid to look after JinJin as well.

JinJin sleeps with me, so I handle all the late night feeds and cries. Before I go to work, I express enough milk to last 3 feeds. When I'm at work, the maid will bottle-feed JinJin, take her for her walks, bathe her, change her diapers and so on. My dad, who's retired, is in charge of teaching JinJin. He researches into teaching babies, makes his own flash cards, then tries them on the baby when she's alert and happy.

I read Glenn Doman's books when I was expecting and I know people who underwent his teaching methods when they were kids. Although these people became very brilliant academically, they had difficulty interacting with others. I think it's far more important to teach the baby values such as being considerate to others, not to be selfish, etc.

we let Shermyn sleep sideways since birth. it prevents her from choking on her spit up milk. we turn her bum to the side and put the bean pillow on her belly to stop her from "springing" back.

come to think of it, her body will usually revert to a "faced-up" position after she falls asleep. Only her head will remain sideways.

does chloe sleeps with her head facing up ? most of the time, Shermyn's head will be facing sideways unless she is turning it from left to right while sleeping.

i am staying at bedok reservoir view.

WATER TEMPERATURE
U mean to make milk using entirely 60 degrees boiled water ? wouldn't that be too hot ?
I mix using 1/4 hot water (can be 90 or 98 degrees) and 3/4 room temperature boiled water.

<font color="0000ff">yyp</font>,
really pei fu you for returning to work just after 2 weeks. are you self-employed ? can't imagine a private employer asking u to do that.

hi all...

going to work next monday liao..really gona miss my girl..

talking about the flashcards...i am really interested to start for my girl..how should i go about doing it? Any related websites?

for the Glenn Domman, where can i get them?

Kindly advise... : )

<font color="ff0000">YYP</font>
Thanks for yr advise, somehow I agree with u too, which is why I try my best to comfort myself when I feel frustrated again.
You have a geat parent too!

<font color="ff0000">seagal</font>
Chloe normally sleeps on her back, head tilted to one side....and mouth opened haha

Ohh, I haven't try, cause I saw on the manual of my hot pot that 60degree is suitable to make milk, but add a little of cool boiled water....
Than I saw on the other topic in this forum that one of the lady use 60degree straight for her child, she thinks tht it's ok...
Will test test first...

<font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
This is an example of a flash card I did

250738.jpg

duffy,

You r one funny gal... hee hee... Actually i dun mind my dad and MIL and all the rest of the SILs and aunties carrying Xavier. At least I can rest for awhile..

And I simply love the flash cards u made! Did u draw the pics urself or cut frm sm books??

I would like to know more abt the flash cards u gals r toking abt. No patience to make myself... So where can I buy them huh?

To reach home b4 8pm is still v late leh... My previous jobs all require me to stay bk v late too. Now that I gt a bb, my priorities have changed. Want to spend more quality time with my family liao.

Xavier is now trying to flip himself bt nt successful. It amuses me to see him struggling.. hee... I m also wtg to see whn he will succeed.

Rochelle,

I m a SAHM too, staying at Sengkang. Intend to work when Xavier is abt 6 mths old. Cant stand staying at home leh. Dun wan to b huang lian po.. Do u intend to go bk to wk?

Seagal,

Xavier recently had a haricut. I didnt intend to cut his hair cos he's gt wavy hair and i tink it's v nice. Bt hubby's auntie (who's a hairdresser) kept saying bb will drop hair at 4th mth. So cut nw nxt time new hair will b better. Ok lor.. Anyway, the weather is also too hot. Xavier kept pulling his hair. His new hairstyle is Armani style. Quite suave... hee...

Sleeping style

My auntie told me that it's easier to coax bb to sleep if they lie sideways. And true enuf, Xavier falls asleep much faster and calms down faster this way. But I only let him sleep this way in the daytime. Night time will make him sleep face up. Worried that he might suffocate if he tries to turn and we are asleep, might nt b aware. duffy, you can try to put a pillow or bolster behind Chloe.

<font color="ff0000">Thanks</font>
I didn't draw all tht, haha, lazy too, I got it either from website or from those clipart CDs tht I have.
As for where to buy a set of flash card, I didn't came across any leh....

U stay sengkang ah, than we can meet up with rochelle, and seagal... Seagal can fly anywhere :p heehee

I am thinking of shaving my girl botak, she doesn't have much hair though... but can I shave her at this young age huh? I realise the hole on her scalp is still there, sometimes can see the skin breathing ... shouldn't it be closed anytime soon?

This weekend will try and see if can get Chloe to sleep sideway...

hi, duffy..

i love your flash cards too...

can i knw which website you go?

how big shd we make the flash cards?

aiyoo...me veyr blur leh...many qns to ask u..hee

i also think 60degree is okie...by for myself i usually mix and match till i find the water is just nice...is tat okie>?

hey i want to shave my girl when she is 4 mths too..heard that forum there is one shop where they offer first hair cut free..u shd try...

Hi Everyone

You can borrow Glenn Doman's books from the library or buy them from Times. However, they don't have the flashcards at either of these places. For the full range of his products, visit his website at www.gentlerevolution.com. You can order them online.

There's a local company called GDBaby which sell some of Doman's products. They also conduct courses. I also saw some of Doman's products on sale at Yahoo Auctions, but they don't have the full range of products like Doman's own site. Eitherways, if it's just the flashcards you want, it's still cheaper to go direct to Doman's website.

The kits which Doman sells are basic. They'll help you start your programme for your baby, but you'll still have to continually work hard at making new cards yourself and Doman's books give specific instructions on how to make the new cards - size of the words, colour of the words, etc.

The reading programme has several stages - words, phrases, sentences, etc. You start by teaching whole words, and not alphabets. More and more work will be required on the parents' part as the programme progresses.

The maths kit comes with flashcards with 1 to 100 dots. Getting your child to recognise 1 to 100 is not difficult, but it's the other stages of the programme - teaching addition, subtraction, multiplication and division - which will require a lot of work on the part of the parents.

Lots of people run out of steam after a while.

According to Doman, babies should start his programme as young as possible. I know that newborns can't focus and they see double. I guess as soon as they can focus, you can start the programmes. We started flashing the cards at JinJin when she was about 3 weeks old.

Aside from Doman, Shichida also advocates the use of flashcards. I haven't read his books, so can't comment on his style.

Seagal,

You're right. My hubby and I run our own business. I'm off to work soon. My shift starts at 5.00 p.m. today and ends at 1.00 a.m. Will have to leave JinJin in the good hands of everyone at home.

Ciao Guys!

duffy, seagal

I stay in between both your homes
u want to bring your babies over to pLay during weekdays becos weekends my in-laws are in so cannot play.

Thank duffy!
Actually all I wan is to let my child have the best for a new start. I have childhood asthma, nose allergy.. etc. I read from book say breastfed baby can delay from asthma or history allergy. And the best is breastfed baby dun fall sick easily, they are more healthy. So when they get injection, we dun have to worry too much that she will get fever (high).
My baby only know how to turn half way to both side. When i put her stomach lying down to the bed, she will trying her best to lift up her head and look left or right.

Hey all,
anyone know where can get those flashcard? I also wanna to train my gal... Do u all know that if express breastmilk is keep in the refrigerator and frozen it will lose it goodness. The longer u store, the milk will becum less healthy. It say that all the good thing contain inside will die so is not good to let baby drink it. It also say it is the best to direct breastfeed baby den storing the milk. If the milk is not frozen, must drink within 48hrs and frozen milk can last for 1-2weeks.
MY baby have been sleeping on her back not side until nowsday she will sleep side way when breastfeed. I also read from book say breastfeed baby can sleep on their back or side, they will not SID ( sudden infant death).
Do ur baby know how to eat rice or noodless? Mine know how to eat... But only give small pcs to her. My baby very greedy (eating), whenever she say us eating, she will cry and wan to eat. I'm thinking of giving her to each rice cereal next mths. The doctor also say is ok for baby to start eating rice cereal before 6mths as long as they know how to handle it.

Hey all
I'm going to look for job when Elicia stop breastfeed. So sad, dunno what job to look for... Hope to have a job that allow me to spent more time with my family...
Anyone got any job to recomment? I think only can still accompany my family for another 3 to 4 mths.. Cos only my hubby alone working like not enough, somemore maybe he got to go oversea next yr for work 1 yrs+.

<font color="ff0000">thanks</font>,
i have been told by my mother and mil to shave Shermyn's head when she is in her 4th month. However, don't think we'll do that. Can't bear to see her botak.

<font color="aa00aa">duffy</font>,
you are very cute leh!

your flash cards are lovely! i have no time to make them now ....

<font color="ff6000">yyp</font>,
good that you have help around at home with the baby.

<font color="0000ff">rochelle</font>, <font color="aa00aa">duffy</font>,
i'll be starting work the week after next. i am not sure if i can meet up with you gals as i will be giving Shermyn her induction next week. Need to get her use to the routine of staying at my in-laws place during the day as they will be taking care of her.

<font color="ff0000">Rochelle</font>
PM send!

<font color="ff0000">FLASHCARD</font>
Here are some URLs for cliparts
http://www.clipart.com/en/index
http://www.gograph.com/
http://office.microsoft.com/clipart/default.aspx?lc=en-us
I've made my Flash card A5 size,
which is 10.5 X 14.85cm

<font color="ff0000">GIRL</font>
Do we have to wait till 4th month than cut huh? Can we cut now tht they are only 2months?

Actually a frend told me that it's better not to put the picture of the bear together with the word "bear". SHe explain because baby sees words like a picture, so they might misunderstand that bear picture + the word bear IS bear..... instead of seeing them as a separate thing.
Which I think is quite true...

Need to start work on March liao...
Will start to stop breastfeeding liao

Total Bye bye to the scene of BB in my arm latching... <cry>

<font color="ff0000">Yu</font>
Wah, come to think of it yr baby coming to 4 month hor, very fast, so starting on solids or rice should be ok....
My baby still 2month plus going on 3 months, so I don think her body is ready to take solids yet...

Waah, yr hubby going for 1 whole year ah...
Frankly, I don't think I can tahan one leh, bravo to u again!

Wish all is well for all of you. I hv been feeling sick these few days. Just saw a dr yesterday &amp; I'm feeling better today after medication. Kanna sorethroat &amp; slight cough (too much new year goodies, i guess). Luckily still controllable. Was having very bad cough &amp; virus infection 3 months prior to delivery thus no time to do a lot of stuff.

bibip
Ur girl,girl so sweet!

Re ur info on giving bf babies water sounded scary. In fact, I've been 'forcing' my boy to take water cause his urine look quite yellowish, wonder whether I should still continue to do that??

Seagal, Duffy
We also started to let Aaron sleep on the side since birth &amp; need to change from side to side so that his head will not be too 'bian' behind.But he seems to prefer the left side more than the right so now it seems that his left side is more flat than the right, trying to let him sleep more on the right side now.

Seagal
Same, same lah, Aaron also always ended up in the position as Shermyn i.e. body face up and head @ the side ... hahaha....

FLASHCARD
---------
Would appreciate info on where to get them.

BABYCOT
-------
Bought Aaron's cot from Baby Hypermart,I think about S$300+ and is convertible to junior bed, say got 10 years warranty (dunno how true cause not written anywhere). Anyway got it cause the wood looks pretty solid.

These few days Aaron's poo is rather greenish in coulour instead of yellowish, wondering issit normal?? Anyone has the same experience? Care to share? Thanks in advance.

hi YYP, thanks so much for your infor on flashcards..i shall drop by Times to take a look and the websites you have provided. btw wat is Domman Websites?

Hi, Duffy..
i aso wonder why only wait till 4 months..aiya...is still best to listen to the oldies...i aso afriad i dun bear to cut her hair, but pple say if dun cut, they will drop patch by patch which is not nice, so think better shave lah....why udn u wait till ur bb is 4 mths leh??

Hi Maple_Leaf and GIRL

Glenn Doman is the one who pioneered the use of flashcards on babies and young children.

Doman's website is www.gentlerevolution.com. Click on "Skip Intro... Take me to the store!", then "Kits" to buy the ready-made flashcards.

For maximum effect, you'll have to read his books and follow his teaching programme step by step.

If you're looking for just any flashcards, and not Doman ones, you'll find them at bookstores and even supermarkets.

Hi Seagal

I've yet to put JinJin in a swimming pool. Before submerging the baby in the pool, let the baby get used to having water on their face first. During bathtime, gently pour some water down the baby's face. Do this over a period of time. That's a tip I got from www.babyswimming.com.

duffy
U can still breastfeed ur baby even u go back to work. Express it out in the morning or before u sleep at night. They are some travel storage for us to store our breastmilk during work.
My baby have been eating rice and noodless since 1 and a half mths old. But u must make sure she knows how to chews and swallon it.
I also got no choice to let my hubby go oversea for so long... Once he return back from oversea, his pay will get more. For the sake of future, we no choice.

Maple_Leaf
U must take gd care of urself..
Ur baby need to drink more water or milk. If he is drinking ur breastmilk, it maybe becoz u r too "heaty" so pass to ur baby also. Once ur baby urine color return colorless, den no need to force drinking water.
As for the poos, he might be something frighten him. Must show him extra care and love, sleep with him by his side. If I'm not wrong, the color will last for few days.

Hey all
as for scarly the baby head might not be round, u can purchase a type of infant pillow that have a hole on the center so the head will not be flat.

hey duffy,
understand how you feel.. my in-laws will stay in my house on alternate months and will help to look after tara.. issues will arise loh.. wat to do.. getting married and having baby isn't hubby and wife business only.. it seems.. haiz...
i guess your job has to do wif graphic designing rite?
as baby grows, the amount of time staying alert during the day increases.. they take naps also, but not as long loh, maybe just 30 mins or so and they will wake up to play..
and as for the water temperature for milk, i tot the best temperature is the same as our own body temperature? 60 deg is it a bit too hot? i never let my MIL or my hubby to warm the milk to anythin higher than my body temperature. told them babies are not like us, can take such hot liquid..

hey yu,
actually, tara was on bottle (EBM) all the while.. it's only when she's 1 mth plus then i start to latch her.. funny thing is, she did not reject. i dun latch her often, only once or twice a day.. and when i lazy to warm her milk at night. when i start her on formula, she din reject also.. quite a chin chai baby.. hehehe.. but i really like the bonding feeling of latching her.. now that BM is running low, sure will miss the feeling when i totally stop BF. to introduce bottle to baby, let someone else give the baby a bottle cos baby will associate feeding with you loh.. try offering the first bottle when your baby is not hubgry, dun wait till she's hungry cos most likely she will be in distress. she will deal with feeding fm bottle better is she's a little hungry. try to hold her in a different position than when you nurse her.. in a more upright position. try to introduce the bottle slowly, drop a bit of milk on her lips fm the bottle and wait till she open her mouth then you put the bottle in.. be patient leh.. you may need to try this for a few times before your baby can get used to bottle..

hi seagal,
i heard fm a few friends getting sad or guilty is quite normal leh. haiz.. the worse is i make no effort to increase my milk.. can see that you gals trying supplements. part of me still wana continue BF, cos of the bonding and the healthy aspect. but another part of me kinda sick of pumping milk and engorged breasts leh. moreover, i doing sales, sometimes wana pump milk during working hours also sianz.. still in dilemma...
i haven't shave her yet, she's born almost "botak".. keke.. will be shaving her when she's 4 mths old. wana make calligraphy brush wif her hair, duno enough or not.. hohoho..

hi mapleleaf,
an extract fm the book,"Your Baby's First Year Week by Week" by Glade B. Curtis:
"Often parents ask about giving baby water as she gets older. Your baby still doesn't need this extra fluid. Breast milk and formula contain enough water for her at this age. Too much water can dilute a baby's blood, which could cause sodium levels and electrolytes to fall, sometimes dangerously. In severe cases, overhydrating with water has caused seizures and coma in a infant. Until baby begins solids, don't give her extra water. be sure you mix formula exactly as directed. After she begins eating solids, 1 or 2 ounces of water each day is OK."
hmmz.. wif regards on the colour of your baby's urine.. let me try to find info on the book for you...

Thanks Yu!I've been trying to drink as much water as I could. I'm still trying to get him to drink, in the end still need to resort to spoonfeeding him, then he'll take some.

As for his poo, I'm wondering whether could it be diarrhea. No fever (touchwood) or any other syptoms so far. Other than having green poo,is there any other signs which I could see whether has he been frightened?

Hi YYP,
Thanks for info on flashcard, will try to look out for them on nx trip to bkshop.

Hey bibip,
Thanks in advance for your effort to get more info.

Hi Maple-Leaf

Googled the green poo problem and found some possible explanations:-

a. Consuming too much lactose-rich foremilk and not enough fat-rich hindmilk. This happens when the baby feeds often, but does not get the fat-rich hindmilk to fill him/her up. The solution is to nurse the baby on one breast as completely as possible before moving to the other.

b. Overfeeding or underfeeding.

c. Consuming excess iron which is not absorbed.

d. The baby has a stomach bug.

e. Post nasal discharge or runny nose.

f. If the baby has started on solids, the consumption of green foods, like peas or spinach.

thanks for the clipart urls.

<font color="aa00aa">maple_leaf</font>,
glad that you are better after seeing the doc. take care and drink loads of water.

<font color="ff6000">bibip</font>,
i am behind you all the way in continuing bf! even if it's one feed a day, it's still beneficial for bb. Our body will gradually adjust accordingly to the supply needed. Once it gets the signal, there shouldn't be engorgement for long.

I used to pump every 3-hrs but have since switched to pumping every 6/7-hrly to prepare for work. Other than not getting as much milk as before (hiaz), there wasn't any engorgement.

I am still in a dilemna whether to shave Shermyn's head. Got to shave eyebrows too. *sob sob* how fast does it take for them to grow back ?

I heard an interesting old wives' tale today. If you have sister-in-laws, your bb's hair tend to drop and their hair is likely v-shaped at the back after dropping. Funny rite? haha. Any real life experience on this from you mummies ?

STERILISING
Do you keep the sterilised bottles,teats, etc in the steriliser till the time they are used or do you assemble them after the sterilisation and keep them outside ?

For both the above, how long can they be kept before using ?

I read some instructions on steriliser usage saying that the equipment will stay sterile for only 3 hours if the lid of the steriliser remains unopened. So short right ?

Anyone using a NUK steriliser here ?
I borrowed the pigeon one from a friend but find it not user-friendly as there are no rings to hold individual bottles in place. The accessories tray is on the lower portion and the bottles tray on top. I currently keep the stuff in the steriliser till the time i want to use them. Whenever I retrieve the accessories from the lower tray, the bottles on the top tray keep toppling over (i placed the bottles facing down). Did i put them the wrong way?

Hello everyone, i am new to this thread. i have a 2 months old baby and he is one day older than Jen's gal. He's born on the 10th Dec 2004.

Sterilising
i assemble after sterilisation and keep them outside. so far my bottles are all used within 1 day.

hi, YYP..

thanks for your infor...i will try to go Times bookstore...

Hi Mngo..welcome u on board..seems this thread is getting hotter huh....

so ur bb is already 2 mths plus liao loh....wow very fast huh....

btw do any babies here sometimes dun finish the milk?? My baby sometimes if drink till sleep, she will use her tongue to push out the teat, and refuse to finish, if i force, she might force out....