(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Mummy : Baby : Baby's DOB
<table border=1><tr><td> ----------------------</TD><TD> ----------------------</TD><TD> ---------------------- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yu</TD><TD> elicia</TD><TD> 05 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>bibip</TD><TD> ??</TD><TD> 11 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thanks</TD><TD> Xavier</TD><TD> 26 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffy </TD><TD> chloe </TD><TD> 29 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maple_Leaf</TD><TD>Aaron</TD><TD>30 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 01 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>chiart</TD><TD> Javier </TD><TD> 03 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>seagal</TD><TD>Shermyn</TD><TD> 06 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jen</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>11 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LH</TD><TD> Joseph</TD><TD>24 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>GIRL</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 26th Dec</td></tr></table>

HELLO
Welcome all, haha, last 2 days weedend mah, very busy getting ready for New Year

Brought my girl to see doc on Sat, because she's been crying furiously whenever we wanna feed her, suspect it's colic. The doc gave her wind drops and also nose drops too, cause we told her we always hear funny sound from my girl's nose.
Doc say possibly nose sensitive since my hubby got such history of sinus....

Now she's so much better! She at least wouldn't cry or fight with the bottle liao.... phew...

GIRL (baobei)
not too late to train lor, baby still young at 2months mah, no prob one!

Yu (francis03)
cute leh! haha, she like posing for u also!

Our baby this age now really knows how to play liao hoor! My girl nowadays will smile at us and make all kinda funny sounds when she sleep enough and eat enough, haha

hi, duffy and thanks...

thanks so much for your advices..hmm..i still try to tok to her now and then that is day and nite loh....hope she understand..

btw does your babies sleep alot in the noon..at times she can sleep for 4 hrs before the next feed....wonder if she is hungry..

btw Happy Chinese New Year to all mummies here..

GIRL (baobei)
My baby doesn't like to sleep at all in the afternoon! haha, because we put her at the rocker in the afternoon, she seems to be easily distracted, even when there's no TV or sound around her... maybe she really knows tht it's not night yet lor...

Breastfeeding is supposed to be the greatest gift for baby, why is it I am always being scrutinise for persisting????

From my baby's birth I've been receiving arrows that I've not enough quantity... than even my quality also gana .... what happened to these ppl's mind huh??

grrr...............

My baby gal didn't sleep at all, only at night den she will sleep. She is afraid to be alone... Me also dunno why she always wan me to accompany to sleep beside her. She nv sleep in cot before! From birth till now, she sleep on bed, just beside me(she got her own bed and mattress).

The photo my hubby took it... using his nokia6230, den can edit and put some color in.

Me always think my breastmilk not enough coz she ask for milk too often ( abt 1hr each time). Each time she feed on my breast for at least 30mins to 2hours! Me very seldom can feel my breast full... only at night times coz she sleep thru the night.

Did ur baby enjoy bathing? Mine enjoy very much, now whenever I finish, start wiping her dry, she will start to cry and scream loudly till I dress her up.

Hello GIRl,

WELCOME!!

Ya lor, CNY just round the corner mah, so much to be done with so little time. Manage to 'escape' to go facial yesterday, aiyoh got no time to go cut my hair leh ....

Hey Seagal,
Wow ... 'pei fu' your determination leh, I'm so dead tired that if got time ah, I'll rather sleep one lor ... heeheehee ... what a lazy bum rite.... heehee ....

Dun think Aaron's is cradle cap ... just 2 very small patch ... anyhow will monitor &amp; c how.

Hey Duffy,
Aaron also got those funny sound,his is like the sound make by little piggy, PD say its fine leh, no doubt my hb also got sinus problem.

Hi Yu,
I 2nd Thanks, me like the 2nd photo also!!

Me still dunno how to load the photo onto the msg board leh, any1 can advise?

RE : SLEEP
Aaron sleeps a lot in the day also but sumtimes he'll scream and cry out very loud when he wakes up after about 15~30 mins, dunno why leh ... could he be having 'nightmares'???

Yesterday, manage to put him to sleep @ around 11p.m.(use to be 12~1a.m.), same as Thanks also need to speak hush, hush to him when the light is out.After a while, he'll fall asleep on his own.

Just try him on the new rocker today and he seems to like it. Can fall asleep on the rocker during the day also.

RE : DIAPERS
Using Pampers Premium (S) but trying to switch to another brand. Hv tried Fitti, Mamy Poko &amp; Toy 'R' us but dun find them good. Today, just tried a sample of Drypers, can't comment yet.

RE : BREASTFEEDING
Me too, have been hearing these comments, starting from the irritating CL. Up till today when I bring bb to c my own mother, she'll still comment that my bb is not getting enuf which is why he's not very meaty ... but anyhow I've chk with PD and she said he's doing fine. So we just hv to stick to our own plan and ignore whatever they say. Well, we do get a lot of support from the mothers here, dun we? ;)

<font color="ff0000">duffy</font>,

did e doc checked if chloe's nose was blocked also? Shermyn had funny noises coming from her nose too but we realised that it was due to blockage caused by her "spit up" milk. Bought a nose aspirator and it's really effective.

i understand how #%&amp;@ frustrating it is always hearing comments about what we should or should not do. I get it all e time wrt giving water to bb. Told myself not to take them to heart and just practise selective hearing. Sometimes i pretend not hear even and change e subject. haha.

Sleeping
Shermyn hardly sleeps more than 45 mins during the day. She seems to know when night time comes as she can sleep for 4 to 6 hours in e night. Mabbe becos daytime never sleep enuff so tire out.

<font color="0000ff">Yu</font>,
ur gal is already 7kg and you still think ur bm is not enuff?? The pd told me average weight gain between 500g to 1kg a month is normal. And as long as baby is feeding and growing well, they should be fine.

Bathing
Shermyn is entirely opposite! She hates being naked and will cry every bathtime and when we change diapers (unless she is sleepy or in a good mood). She has gotten better 2 weeks back when i bathe her with a nappy wrapped around her and unravelling each area along as i wash. H/w, she seems to know recently that it's a trick so i have to start thinking of new ways to coax her liao!

maple leaf,
to upload pix, type as follows :

\ image{filename or any name u wish}
*note, there should be no spacing between \ and image

after u click post message, u will receive a prompt to browse the file u want to upload from ur pc. just select e right file and click upload.

hope this is clear.

Hi Yu,

Just keep feeding. I was having the same problem also, so i just keep feeding him everytime he wants the milk, it takes about a few days/weeks, I can't recall but now better liao. Now he can tahan abt 2~4nrs and feeding time has cut short to 10~20 mins on each breast. Sumtimes, it could be that they're just comfort sucking or could be incorrect latch-on position so the milk does not flow too well, must try &amp; try.Keep going!!!

Hi Yu,
Did you chk with your PD about this? Could it be that she wasn't asking for milk when she cries? Just comfort sucking?

I'm no expert in this also, I just trial &amp; error lor.Still trying ... *sigh*. Last time each time he cries, either the CL &amp; later my hb will say that 'he's hungry again ... blah ... blah ...' then keep feeding lor. Later,i try to find out what's wrong lor, only until 'bo pian' already then I'll offer him the breast i.e. if its not really his feeding time yet e.g. 1 or 1.5 hrs. So sumtimes I think he quite poor thing cause got to cry, cry quite a bit then got milk.

Hey, but ur's is gaining gd wt unlike mine lah always kanna said not feeding enuf

To all mummies out here,

<font color="ff0000">WISHING ALL OF YOU A PROSPEROUS ROOSTER YEAR AHEAD TOO!!</font>

Went to pd on sunday and confirmed that Shermyn has mild oral thrush. Was given Daktarin to apply. Everytime I apply for her, she licked licked and licked everything liao so I'm also not sure how effective it can be.

btw, no one replied my queries on the AMEDA pump... all of you using other brands is it ?

Maple
I did ask pd, she say she might be too like to eat liao. Is never mind. Just let her be.

Seagal
I have avent manual breast pump, I used it before. It wasn't very good, there's sound when I pump the milk ( the sound quite loud). Other than this, is okay and easy to used. NOw I dun used anymore coz my baby dun drink from bottle anymore.

Today my gal went for injection. So far still haven't got fever. NOw got a new injection ( rotaviruse- dunno spell correct anot), if u sign up for this new thing, den u dun have to pay for the 5 in 1 injection. This injection is to prevent the baby having a type of virus that coz high fever, vomit, diarhoea and abd pain (stomach). Those will last at least 3 to 9day. If u happen to still consider this package, i think u should go for it. So far my neighbour child already 9mth+, dun have any side effect for the virus injection. It say that, 3 year or dunno when, every baby got to injection this and is very ex! But anyway, u should also talk to r family and doctor b4 having it.

Last but not least, HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!

hi ladies... happy CNY!!

nowadays Jean is quite responsive and loves to play... she can play and smile back at you without wanting to drink milk for 5 hours straight leh!! even offer her also dun want... hiaz...

how much are your little ones drinking right now ?
Shermyn used to be taking about 110ml to 120ml but today she took 150ml!

very stressed, my supply lagi cannot catch up...

Hi all mummies...

how your CNY? Any winnings??

Btw I tried to distract my gal and play with her in the noon, but seems like she tends to sleep after every feed leh....

Btw all your babies are 2 mths old in Feb, just like to check what is the milk intake like?

Seagal, your baby drink so much, then how many hours in between?

My girl only drink 90ml now for every 3 hrs, at times 2 hrs plus she hnugry liao...is this okie?
Cos it seems that most of the babies here drink more than 100ml..kindly advise..

Tks Seagal.

This is my little boy when he's exactly 2 mths old.
your_image.gif

QTY DRINK
----------
Dunno exactly but the last time when my mil bottle-fed him FM, he took about 120ml. But on some afternoons, he'll just take about 70ml, so not quite sure how much exactly is he taking.

Tks Seagal.

your_image.gif

QTY DRINK
----------
Dunno exactly but the last time when my mil bottle-fed him FM, he took about 120ml. But on some afternoons, he'll just take about 70ml, so not quite sure how much exactly is he taking.

Tks Seagal.

248907.jpg

QTY DRINK
----------

Girl,
It doesn't matter how much the baby is drinking, when they hungry, they will ask for it. It might be drinking too much water in between. Somehow, the baby at times will drop the amt of milk they drink usually have. It really depend on them, we cant help it. Remember, as long as the child is growing healthy and normal, we need not worry too much.

back to the injection again, my gal, did not have any fever till now! Only feel very tired and cry a little bit more than usual. My gal having diarhoea which make her weight lose... now she weigh only 6kg... But the doctor say is ok.

diapers,

pampers premium - comfy but very expensive
mamy poko - not bad and affordable
nepia - very comfy and bought at $14.50 from NTUC using cut-out coupon

night-training,

started training baby since bringing him back from hospital. the cot is strictly for night time sleeping while the mattress in the living room is for daytime napping. now he can sleep through the night waking up at around 4-6am

feeding

my baby drinks between 90 to 180ml per feed. if we bring him out for a long time, he wont drink much milk on that day. if out for a short while than he drinks more than 700ml for the day.

Maple_Leaf (maple_leaf)
My girl recently started to sleep from 10pm onwards liao, she'ss only wakes up at 7am haha, I so happy she learns to sleep thru by her own. But I cross fingers first lor

Yr baby so cute! I find the shape of he's head looks like

BREASTFEEDING
Yalor, lucky can chat with u all here, cause even my own hubby will never understand the feeling of being criticize for Breastfeeding!

Seagal
what's a nose aspirator ?
I'm using medela pump, so far quite good leh.

GIRL (baobei)
Hi, My girl drinks abt 120ml every 3hrs, maybe u can try to feed yr girl more so she can last till 3hrs later?

Mummy : Baby : Baby's DOB
<table border=1><tr><td> ----------------------</TD><TD> ----------------------</TD><TD> ---------------------- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yu</TD><TD> elicia</TD><TD> 05 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>bibip</TD><TD> ??</TD><TD> 11 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Thanks</TD><TD> Xavier</TD><TD> 26 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffy </TD><TD> chloe </TD><TD> 29 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maple_Leaf</TD><TD>Aaron</TD><TD>30 Nov </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 01 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>chiart</TD><TD> Javier </TD><TD> 03 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>seagal</TD><TD>Shermyn</TD><TD> 06 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jen</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>11 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>LH</TD><TD> Joseph</TD><TD>24 Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>GIRL</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 26th Dec</td></tr></table>

Hi Duffy,

So happy for you!!Aiyoh dunno when my turn leh. Now he sleeps around 10+~11 but still wake up @ around 4~5 a.m. leh. Some nites he'll even wake up @ around 3 a.m. ... Zzzzzzzzz .....

Hey, u didn't finish the sentence leh, u were saying that the shape of his head look like???

Do you all let your bb watch T.V.?I've ever come across an article which mention that we shouldn't let them watch too young cause its no good for their brain development but can't recall for how long leh. Anyone can advise? Tks in advance!

Duffy,
I went back to look @ ur girl's photo but cannot c lah cause covered by the cutie hat ... hahaha ...

Ya lor his head like a bit oval shape, will change meh or this is going to be the shape of his head &amp; face?

I've got no choice leh, sometimes bb and me eyes big big got nothing to see very bored leh. So watch tv lor....

Moreover MIL will be taking care of her, I cannot retrict her not to watch tv also, haha.... my bb now sitting on her lap looking at the tv set now

I hear they say will change rounder, but mine not round enough leh... don know still will change anot...
249210.jpg

hi all!!!!

HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY!!!!!

duffy and mapleleaf, ur bbs sssoo cute.... feel like pinching them... hee...

I tink dun hv to b overly concerned abt the bb's consumption of milk. They will drink when they are hungry. So long as they r gaining weight, it's perfectly fine.

my boy loves to watch tv oso. Smtimes he will stop drinking milk and stare at the tv. Bt i heard fm sm pple that actually the bb will only hv proper eyesight at 6 mths? Is that true?

With regards to the injection, the nurse at the polyclinic oso told us abt it. Bt we decided to give it a miss. I would rather spend the $ than take the risk leh...

another photo of xavier to share...
249267.jpg

hi all mummies..

Happy Valentine's Day..

wow all your bb's photos look so cute and adorable..

Thanks and duffy..your bbb coming to 3 months rite...?

Mi going back to work next monday, afraid i will miss my girl badly...

hi GIRL,

I understand hw u feel. My MIL wanted to take care of my boy these 2 days. Yesterday whn i was packing my boy's clothes, I cant control my tears... He had never left my side ever since cm bk fm hospital... sigh.. abit kua zhang hor me?

hihi... my bb has been drooling, sucking her hands, scratching her head and ears and "standing" when we hold her on our thighs... is this normal? cos i heard some mummies mention these only around 3~4 months...

Xavier has been doing all these except drooling. He had been "standing" too quite early. But my MIL told us not to let him "stand" too long as his bones r still fragile.

haha, just in time wor, mine too!

She is sucking her hands till one day I had to change a few mittens.... sometimes I just don let her wear any, let her count her fingers

She started to keep pushing herself up, trying to stand and also trying to lift her shoulder off our chest...

I'm thinking of buying a playpen soon, cause I don't know when she will learn to flip, than she cannot sleep in the rocker liao, must be prepare to have a playpen in the living room first.... anyone know where to get nice and cheap ones?

Duffy,
Ur girl so cheery!!! Hey Aaron is like ur Chloe always sucking his hand but I stop letting him wear mitten already, just clean his hand from time to time lor.

Thanks, ur boy got the 'towkay'(big boss) look leh ... heeheehee ...

My boy also always like trying to stand but Thanks is right, its not gd to let them start too early cause their leg still cannot support their wt. Sumtimes he'll try to use his leg to lift up his buttock. Oh ya, he has got quite a bit of saliva also.

Hi mummies, Happy Valentine's Day too!

All your babies are so adorable! Our babies are really growing bigger each day.

Shermyn is also into all those actions now ... suck hands, scratch face face and ears, learning how to use her legs, drooling.

My hubby and I have gotten use to her wetting our shoulder now. She doesn't like to be carried in the cradle hold position anymore.

She is also er-ing and ah-ing more these days. When no one is around her her, she will cry for attention till someone talks to her!

Me going back to work in 2 weeks time. I can imagine how much I will miss having her with me and watching her "grow up". *sob sob sob*

we just had our first hand experience on bottle rejection.

Shermyn rejected an entire bottle of milk. She cried non-stop.

We really hardened our hearts letting her wailed for so long. No choice but to give her cold turkey treatment since I will be going back to work in 2 weeks' time. In the end she cried until no strength for 2 1/2 hours from 9:15pm till 11:45pm, drank only at most 20ml then fell asleep...too tired, poor baby.

Poor hubby also so tired now. We tried changing from NUK teat to pigeon teat and even let my hubby wear my tee on his chest while feeding her but none of these works. I was quite helpless ... sitting or hiding in one corner out of her sight so that she cannot see or smell me.

This is really tough but hope the going gets better.

We started her on occasional bottle feed from her first month and I was giving her bottle for at least once a day during the past 2 weeks. She hadn't really rejected it completely till these few days..... as if she knows that mummy is going back to work soon.... very xin tong.

Hi Everyone!

Duffy, thanks for starting this thread.

Like Seagal, my lil' girl, Su Jin (we call her JinJin), was born on 6 December 2005. The obstetrician who delivered her was Dr WK Tan of TMC. Incidentally, Dr Tan delivered me 29 years ago, so it's a 2-generation thing.

JinJin's birth weight was 3.455 kg. I haven't weighed her lately, but at 4 weeks, she had gained 1 kg. At the moment, she drinks once every 3 hours, each time between 4 to 5 oz.

I've been using a Medela Pump In Style Breastpump since she was 2 weeks old, because I had to return to work by then. I express enough milk to last 3 feeds before I head off to work. She drinks from a Pigeon bottle with a peristaltic teat, and has never rejected that bottle. She rejected an Avent bottle once though because the milk flowed out through the teat too quickly. The identity of the person bottle-feeding her doesn't seem to bother her.

A few times a day, she'll be talkative for several minutes. She says "ah goo", "ah poo" and "ooh". She's been looking at flash cards and pictures books since she was 3 weeks old. These days, when we show her a picture of a rooster and make its crowing sound, she'll try to mimic. She'll do the same when we whistle as well. She enjoys watching children's programmes on tv and will flap her arms excitedly if she likes the music.

She goes for a stroll (in her stroller) at least twice a day - once at about 8.00 a.m. and a second time at about 5.00 p.m.

She takes a bath twice a day - once at about 11.00 a.m. and a second time at about 8.00 p.m. Her favourite activity is probably to take a bath. She's always happy in the tub. As she likes water, we plan to take her swimming soon. Does anyone know where we can purchase some swimming diapers?

MapleLeaf,

Hee... Alot of pple said that abt Xavier too. That he gt towkay's look and his photos looks like he is in a middle of an important mtg... hahaha...

Seagal,

I will feel as xin tong as u too... sob... I will also feel v heartpain to let my bb cry for 2 hrs bt i guess u hv no choice. She has to learn hw to bottle feed. hhmm... do u really tink ur gal knows u going bk to work? Smtimes really cant underestimate babies. They can b v smart at times...

YYP,

I m thinking of brining Xavier to swimming pool too. Oh, i didnt know they hv to wear swimming diapers. Can you let me know once u found out abt it? Bt i was tinking, the pool water so cold, babies will like it? Cos smtimes if the bath water is nt hot enuf, Xavier will cry and cry and cry...

<font color="ff0000">duffy</font>,
forgot to reply u on the nose aspirator. It's basically a suction pump with a rubber tip.

See attached picture
249736.jpg

<font color="0000ff">thanks</font>,
I also think that we can't under-estimate babies sometimes. Shermyn can take the bottle today. We are so relieved and happy! What we went through last night was really worthwhile.

Welcome <font color="119911">YYP</font>!

Bumwear.com sells swim diapers, check out this link - http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/swimdiapers/swimdiapers.html

I have not bought one myself. Let us know which are the better ones once you have looked around.

Wouldn't it be too early to bring our bbs to the pool ? I thought better to wait at least 6 months when they finish their jabs.

BABY COT
Is any of you using a baby cot that is convertible to a junior bed ? I will be shifting the playpen over to my mil's place and we are thinking of getting a cot that has more mileage. Any good and cheap ones to recommend ?

swimming,

you are welcome to bring your babies on weekdays to my condo pool but think its better when your babies are 5-6mths old becos they can catch a chill if too young.

seagal,

my baby cot is convertible to a toddler bed. it is a 4 in 1 cot sold by Infantino Enterprise and I paid 168 for it during a JL sale

I didn't used any cot since Elicia was born. All along she sleep next to me. She got her own smaller mattress just next to me. Only when I'm watching tv or sit at the sofa den I place her on the playpen next to me also.
Ususally at night she will latch on my breast and sleep.

Actually a cot cant used long, the best is to used up to only 2 yrs cos the baby will know how to stand up and is very dangrous. As for playpen, is abt the same also. My playpen was a gift so I use it.

Just now my hubby try to bottle feed her, she cry for half an hour and fall a sleep. Cry until all sweat! So poor thing.