(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

my younger one is a girl also born in december . She's now seven months old. Wanted her to be born in january but got the timing wrong. It's difficult to coach the elder one when i have another one to take care. What school you aiming for? Red swathiska?

Hi Ctrlaltdel,

So concidence
I understand your shoe cos both need equal attention
Actually I hope my son can go in red swastika bt my actual hse is @ tamp ave 4. and i had shift to my mum pl and stay.I had call up the sch. they say my own hse is stll in 1-2 kilo mtr. I still hv to ballot the piorty they will still give these whose stay near the sch. even I go volutneer I heard these parent whose child is in the sch it quite difficult to enter so I had change mind to ST. Hilda otherwise if i fail the ballot my son wll hv to enter lousy sch.

saint hilda is an extremely difficult to get in school lei. stage 2b and stage 2c got to ballot,even for those within 1km. this year, for stage 1, i think already 50 percent vacancies gone liao, so u got to make your choice carefully. in fact, for me, i have started my parent volunteer for pasir ris primary just today. Now,it's becoming even harder to manage my time. Aiyo, the things we parents are doing for our children.

Ctrlatdel,

I will try the balloting 1st...
Wah u realli veri noble leh. So hw many days u need to do for parent volunteer

40 hours to be clocked within 40 school weeks. But since i'm working, very difficult to clock. So i'm taking the traffic warden for every monday and thursday 650am to 720am slot. So becoming panda . Ha ha.

Hi ctrlaltdel,

So u mus be very rush to go to wrk leh. thumb up

I called up ST.hilda the PV had closed. and they say staying 1 km is higher to get in as well bt must depend the ratio of ppl stayin @ 1 km.

for saint hilda, i know 1km also need to ballot. But if you are staying within 1 km, higher chance of getting in. Pv has closed since end june. You can try grassroots way. Or church affliation way if you are christain. :) btw, can i ask how well is your son writing and reading?

I m stayin 1 km.
grassroots cannt leh cos my eng & education not so gd haha
I m nt a church.

his reading nt so gd onli can read these storybk given by the phonics class. I guess is bcos it is one short sentances base on the pic.

wrtting
not all alapbert he can write

nowadays, the standards are really high . Just the other day, my son brought back a story book from school. I was shocked to see words like extraordinary being introduced. Mine can write and read pretty well for english. But chinese is quite jialak, which is why i need to focus on that.

he doesnt really like enrichment classes. I will see how. I did consider berries. Heard it's good. I wilk sign him up for extra chinese lessons in his kindy. Better cos no need to sent him for special lessons on weekends. I wilk coach him on all days. :)

u mus take care. I wen parkway today. A lady pass me a brochues is abt music. it help to improve the concentrate span 1 term is $220 for 4-5 yr old. the sch called music land. I am considering.

haha. I think it is quite common for children to have short attention span. So i'm not so worried about it. I'm more frustrated as time is very precious mah. Parkway parade, i'm interested in the lego education there. Sounds interesting. Supposed to help in creativity and independence. As for music, he's into drums. Considering to sign him up when he's five. Aiyo, but it's going to be noisier in the house.

haha. He loves drums. Should let him learn something he likes lor. Ossia music school at loyang point. Nearer to my place and not everx school offers drums. As i am typing this message, i an guiding him on kumon books. Learning about time. :)

hehe... btw u haven tel me the level lego @ which level?? Kumon assement bk.. sound interesting where u bought it?? my son oso like to play music instrument includ drum bt I will see which wan he like than I will enrol him

cant remember which level but it's on the higher floor. I bought kumon assessesment book from spree. :) the pictures bright and colourful so he more motivated to do it.

May I knw wat r u working as?? If u don feel confortable to ans i m ok de

sure, no secrets about it. i'm in the IT line in one of the civil service sector. :) last night,he just want to do and do the kumon time book. it's good but i also want him to move on the chinse writing mah. The whole thing ended around 10 plus. faint.

wah your son is a hardworking child. I hope my can hv 1/2 of your son and I will be contented liao. I work as sales coordinator in a big co bt I heard gt some retrechment in our dept. so I am searching for new job.

when I was doing PSLE, the dec kids all did very well. I also dec kid. my hubby is a nov kid also score very well for PSLE, Os and As.

Hi rochelle,

ctrlaltdel & i tot this thread is dead so we ended it. i don mind contitue chattin in this thread.

btw hw many kids u hv??

Hi, my boy is dec 04 and my girl is dec 08 also. :) anyway, i think that standards have jumped a lot since our times. I was born in Nov and don't feel so much stress at our time, cos the standards were so much managable.

I think standards have drop but parents expectations have gone up. I was born in december, my hubby in november. we get to play alot in primary school eventhough chinese and maths was much harder than the current textbooks

Rochelle,
i am a ftwm with a boy born in dec 04
our time was not there high bt now the standard had realli grown up

Me and Hubby are born in 72. When we were in primary one, there was no workbooks, we had to copy from the blackboard.

Our chinese spelling and dictation also have to copy from the blackboard onto our exercise books to bring home and memorise.

my time streaming was in Primary 3 into normal, extended and monolingual.

we find the current maths textbooks are testing on english rather than maths. somemore PSLE can use calculator and dictionary.

children nw are hving more n more stress. my son nw k1 n he will be having eng & chinese spelling nxt week . I realli feel the pressure for him.

taurus,

it really depend on the kindergarten. some are more relax some are more stress. my BIL change kindergarten for his kids when he moved home last year. the new kindergarten has spelling everyday. the previous one they attended only have spelling once a week.

wow, daily spelling ? that's really tough. my son only having english and chinese spelling once a week and I think it is enough already. Afterall, there's other important things other than spelling. :)

my BIL and his wife super kiasu, the more spelling the better.

I think can recognise words good enough. no need to spell. but once a week is okay since primary one got spelling.

ya, i think it's much more impt to be able to recognise and read the words. If don't know how to read, it means cannot answer both english and mathes questions. so i make it a point to get my son involved in reading daily.

The books looks interesting, but too bad, cannot view some of the sample pages within. I'm using mixture of rigby books and ladybird (jane and peter series) and the fables series. :)

Sorry to interrupt.

I’m a new mummy turning to full-time piano teaching. I specialise in coaching young children and teenagers. Able to teach for leisure or for preparation of ABRSM examination. Able to travel to your place to conduct the lesson. For any enquries, please sms/call me at 91230494. Thank you.

Hi..I am a single mum of 2 gals age 4 & 6. Residing in Tampines St 32. One is studying in Pri 1 @ Qiaonan Primary School while the other is in Cherie Hearts Nursery Level. I am working full time as a CSO & doing my own part time Home Massage for Ladies only. Do support me or call me at 83758056 for more queries on my massage. Thanks lovely ladies!!!