(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

angelia,
I guess if u tested these food items and they trigger, no choice have to avoid. Tried alternative routes to build up health? Was thinking mayb if basic health improved, eventually less reactions to dietary triggers? Maybe she'd "outgrow" them? I don't have any experience on these... I only know HB had turn-blue-in-face-emergency hospital-case when a young child, and now he seems to be asthma free (the upgrading dust... my 2 dogs... more than enough triggers).

ok...
MYR$5.50 is SGD$3? VERSUS SGD$2 ($0.25 x 8 4R).
*rubs eyes* owww, my eyes hurt fr all the strain...

aiyah! think left, think right... end of the day it's still paying SGD$100 for a book.

lilprince,
hey u change each pic name manually? No need wat... my camera uploads to laptop... and when I click on each pic, it shows the pic Properties which list the date/ time taken? So as long as u dun "alter" the pic, it will always hav this info? I dump them into Months Folder (each mth has sub-folders: Mobile Pics, Videos, Camera Pics), and HB backs up in separate hard-disk when he gets round to it (usually after I quarrel with him). Have to back-up or my laptop darn slow... vid files are the culprit.

<font color="aa00aa">pawprint,</font>
ya, tried some food few time & she had cough -> wheezing after that. no sure is coincidence or what. but in order not to tired ourselves & strain our wallet, think better to restrict her diet. yes, waiting for her to outgrow the condition.

hv been giving her CLO faithfully everyday. at one pt seems to work cause she's cough-free, running nose-free. but recently like coming back, no sure is it the weather or what. hiaz.

wow, u sure hv a long list to go, kekekkeke..

pawprint
really??! i must go and study the manual and the software again, i have yet to really do so from the day i bought the camera (2 mths before Rhyan was born?)

video - hehe! i hv intention to convert both pictures and video clips into a slideshow and convert to CD. my notebook supposedly to have softwares downloaded when i purchased to do all these but no time to study and try also. my that friend who did scrapbooking for her 1 year old baby in one album, she does fantastic combination of video + photos leh!

Yuru,

Threadfin!

yuru,

no offence, but i was told by my MIL's fishmonger for the past 30years that the threadfin sold in supermarkets are of inferior quality.
That explains the vast price difference betw those sold in the wet market vs those from supermarkets (eg ntuc, giant or sheng siong).

Likewise i have witnessed that the threadfin sold in cold storage outlets are not very fresh either. Sometimes the eyes are already cloudy, ie not fresh, but yet they will butcher it up to sell as fillets.

Had impromptu pizza and cookie bake for Athena & her fren just now... wah, the pizza very nice to eat leh!

SECRET recipe is FOCCACIA bread bought from NTUC! It tastes gd enough w/o toppings, it's a big bun type, so slice it horizontally to make a flatter pizza base. Toppings only canned pineapples, ham, sausage, tomatoes & mozza-cheese.

So upset, stayed up all nite backing up files/ file-housekeeping... realised I cannot find Athena's 1st b'day pics that were taken by my photog gf. Searched hse for the CD she burned, dun have! Now SOS her to check if she still has.

pawprint
yes, i saw that the lasy is doing the photobook thingy and was tempted but i really scared i have no time to finish........ so how many pages for 1 book??

and as for the bread u used for pizza, i love it too but hubby complain its too oily then i say "olive oil mah its okie"!! :p:p

FISH
something to share. if not buying from market, theres 1 place u gals can go to and i SIMPLY love their fish. especially codfish and salmon, super duper fresh!!! just take a look at their fish i feel like buying!!! its from G.W.C. i think its basement. its a japanese resturant but they have a section where they display all their FRESH seafood and so. take a look and u will know how fresh they are.

BIG "HAIZ"
i dun know if i am the ONLY mum here whos STILL having picky eater here!!!! quinn is still NOT too keen in eating! though his weight now is improving much better.... but still making him eat or preparing him a meal is so depressing........

Yuru:
my pleasure. Yes, agreed - there are good / bad fishmongers in the wet market.

So i always go early, and when i am in a wet market that i'm not familiar with, i ask the aunties around to recommend me their fish stalls.
Esp those aunties who look like they are grandmothers - ask them which stall they would buy fish from for their grandkids.

I didn't like the wet market in the past, but i have become a convert now. The fresh produce in the wet market may sometimes be more expensive, but they are really truly fresh!

if not for the fact that you live so far from me, i'd recommend you which markets and stalls i frequent!

Oops, just realised i butt in here without excusing myself...
Er, i used to post in this thread some time ago but been MIA cos this thread moves too fast for me to follow.
Sorry for the intrusion...

pawprint (alamak, not used to calling u that lah...)

Your pizzas look fantastic!!
i want to do it too, but cheapo me will just use gardenia normal bread. :p

does athena eat the pizzas and cookies she made?

yeah will try to join in this thread again!

yuru:
i dunno if what i am doing is acceptable, but i buy a slab of the fish fillet from the wet market, slice & wrap them into indiviual portions before freezing them.

So far so good.

Yuru, Cody, Little Devil,

How to ensure fish bought in the wet market is very fresh:

Me : Auntie this fish fresh or not ah?
Fishseller : Fresh fresh very fresh
Me : Auntie I'm buying for my 1 year old son leh, he is very sensitive to fish not fresh, will break out in rashes whenever he takes unfresh fish and seafood.
Fishseller : *Thinking very hard* Hmmm... ok ok that one not that fresh lah, I choose for you, come take this, sure no rash one.

So for the longest time, I have been bringing back very fresh fish and my MIL who eats with us sometimes thought I really know how to choose!

CS Rice: hello!!! wah, u got good memory! most times i shy to butt my "face" in here lah... :p

KC: wow smart!!! i never thought of using that strategy! OK, next time no need to approach grandmotherly-aunties for help anymore!

Calling Sharon...
Remember me? The one who went to Tokyo shortly after you? I'm totally smitten by that country, and i can't wait to go back again!

cody,
yup she loves to eat them but I limit on the cookies (tell her must give away to friends, muahaha). Depends on tod's personality cos my gf's tod din eat after making- din like the bread base, nor the tomatoes (vine-ripened cherry tomatoes leh). Gf's tod abit more particular with food preferences eg. she wun eat blueberries, nor mushrooms. Which happen to be A's fave foods so sometimes she'd pick out to give A, hahaha.

Yuru,
if u have toaster oven, will work too, ham/ sausage/ tomatoes/ bread are all ready-to-eat anyway, only the cheese have to melt. In my case cos we bake cookies so use the big oven.
That not Athena in the pic hehehe.

EASELS!!!
anyone looking, FYI just checked out

- Forum SC B1 Twinkle-something store facing the staircase: $130 slashed to $90 (or issit $140 down to $100?). Standing easel with paper roll (the store sells refills $10, it's like IKEA brownish paper), one side whiteboard, other side chalkboard. H/e, NOT magnetic. Ledge inset with 3 NON-SPILL PAINT CUPS, dusters etc. Very sturdy.

- On same level, just few steps away, there's a tiny little misc store. Forgot the name, it's opp Kids Pictures. They have 2 standing easels $70-$90, whiteboard + chalkboard. Difference is one has paper roll and magnetic properties, the other doesn't, or something like that lah. Both dun have the inset non-spill paint cups. This store sells separately 3 NON-SPILL CUPS $11, they have those big brushes too.

Today went Forum to catch DORA show! Bought the non-spill paint cups! But I forgot have to buy one brush for EACH cup (meant to be used this way). Was eyeing the easels but really no space

Then again, we already drilled all these up onto wall:
832953.jpg

Still need to find wall-mount cups/ containers to hold all those magnetic letters, duster, markers, etc leh. The chalkboard/ paper-roll easel ledge has 3 inset cups.. but full with chalks, crayons, colour pencils already!

pawprint, ethan saw athena's baby photos and went "meimei! meimei!" that's what he calls jacqui. then he saw kevin's pic and went "daddy".....

sensitive nose

ethan also been diagnosed with sensitive nose
when we were in SG the PD prescribed antihistamine for him, but I also prefer not to give it to him unless it's really bad, like it is today, but not sure whether it's because he's caught a cold.. or just aggravated sensitive nose due to dunnowhat... going to the park after they've cut the grass? or because he was playing with the neighbour's rabbit last night?

fresh fish.. when i was in SG, the Sheng Siong at West Coast sold live fish.. live, must be fresh, right. though i never bought.. just brought Ethan to see the swimming, jumping fish.

wendypooh, my 7.5 month old Jacqui is also not keen on purees. maybe she doesn't know how to eat it yet, everything that goes into her mouth comes back out. she's a bit better with finger food, especially biscuits, but squishier food like steamed carrots, sweet potato, just ends up everywhere.

feel like giving up on puree, just give her a whole bunch of biscuits everyday :p Ethan was so much better with his solid food, that what I'm going through with Jacqui is abit of a shock.

karen,
hehehe, Athena's similarly poor at recognising baby faces. But she hasn't misidentified her parents YET, LOL.

Yuru,
waaah... next step for me is to figure out how to edit vids (some portions boring leh), put into movie DVD! I think I become full-time archivist at this rate...

karen:
another mummy with good memory!

but no, i have never been to NZ leh ... perhaps another mommy....

Still, thanks for remembering me!
I am so touched!

karen,
jacqui's juz like edward. not gd wif purees, porridge, cereals. all those goohy, squishier food. he loves finger food like biscuits, gerber puffs, baby bites, etc.

it's not a bit of shock 4 me, it's a BIG shock. i was never expecting edward 2 turn out tis way. i was expecting mayb he wont eat as much as gabe during e same timing but i wasnt expecting him 2 not eat at all.

kelly

r u still giving edward purees then? i'm getting quite fed up.. even though i only feed her once a day before her bath in the evening. it's like the whole aim is to get rid of all the porridge in the bowl even if it ends up all down her front and all over my floor.

i'm having vague recollection of my friend telling me how her daughter "never eats" and reading somewhere about babies who manage to catapult food from their spoon all over the room and it sounds kinda like jacqui.

834642.jpg

834643.jpg

Very excited with my new find, I used 3 strips ($4 each, Funan L2 Stationery Shop). Attach strips to wall with foamtape, slide masterpieces in (add paper at back if it's too thin for strip to hold securely). Easily updated.

Yuru, Some fish can be quite fresh even if found at supermarkets in my experience. We eat only very selected types of fish (cause I dunno how to prepare the other types :p ) so I cant speak for all types of fish. We normally shop at Jelita Cold storage and I get pretty fresh whole snappers and groupers. I also buy frozen cod from there. I ask for cod which are not thawed yet, so that I can still freeze it when I reach home. I also like that they are always very obliging when I get them to cut/prepare my fish/meat in certain way so that I dont have to repack for storage when I reach home.

Markets- I've long given up on markets, they always try to cheat me leh (can you believe that someone tried to sell me a darn baby papaya for $3 before?? and this chicken seller tried to sell me a piece of stale chicken breast for $4!), and they are never as detailed when it comes to cleaning/chopping cuts of fish/meat the way I ask. I think they really do favour their regulars alot more lor. But then if they treat their first-time customers like that, how to become their regular? :p

KC, LOL thats a v good way to get fresh fish!

cody
yes!! i tik its kuriya. their fish is so so very fresh, just by looking at them makes me so excited! and when i cook it, it does taste so much better.

pawprint
hey i really really dun know wat to say..... i really wonder where u get all ur energy and passion from?? for me theres lots of things i wanna do but time seems sooo... little! u are like always on the move!! can share how u get urself so energetic or not ah? :p

KC
wahahahahaha!!!! ur method of getting fresh fish is just like berrys way of getting FRESH salmon sashimi :p

berry
hey they are so evil!!!! tat market is the only one near ur place? if theres others u can try again as not all pp are like them. my place quite okie, those pp quite friendly. i manage to get quite okie fish from them though not as fresh as those in kuriya and such but still okie. they will even bring out those in fridge which is not display when i ask if they have better ones. and the stall selling veg i BEST! always give free stuff though i didnt ask. but theres another market also like wat u experienced, charge me EXTRA and dun even answer my question type so i dun go there. but i really still love going supermarket compare to wet market as i can take my time to shop and also i get better things.

hi karen / kelly
it seem like our no.2 are rejecting food. Nicole love food so much but Jeralyn hate she wail so loud when we feed her. Nicole started cereal at 4mth porridge at 6 mth. Jeralyn coming 6 mth soon and she not takign any.

sensitive nose
I had sinus, hubby had sensitive nose, and Nicole get it from us. So far doc din prescibe any med just say keep clear of dust. is there any food to aviod?

Angelia
U mention sensitive nose cant take bean, egg ? Oh no nicole took alot of it.

pawprint
I peifu yur determination to do up the photo.

cody
welcome back, i rem handsome dean.

Kc
welcome back too i still rem our date at the Kallang river last year.

yuru, snappers and groupers are pretty easy to debone, the main bone is that large centre bone, v big piece, not much smaller bones leh. I normally bake them in foil (I'm sure u can steam too if you want).
You mentioned you have a yard or something right? Maybe you can let cindy do her chalk drawing there? Then wont mess up your place. I offered to buy Faye a Chalkboard and chalks, but she declined cause 'its too powdery!!' haha.
As for markers, I buy only Crayola washables, they are very washable wan, if she scribbles it anywhere, you can wipe it off effortlessly!

halo!!

just came back from an overseas meeting in super duper hot and humid India and catching up on my work...

on supplements, oops, all 3 of us (hubby, Yingxin and myself) has zero supplements intake

Yingxin finally reached 10kg last week when we brought her to the PD for ear infection treatment!! she is still so petite

had a meet-the-parents session with her skool and the principal/teacher said Yingxin made improvements as in she will finish her lunch all by herself and sometimes asking for more! but still cannot sit down for a straight half hour or so to listen to story-telling....she will always wonder off by herself to play other stuff...heheh, anyway, she is the youngest in class and the last to enrol in the class so the teachers are giving her more time to get used to everything, else everything is fine

pawprint, ur pizza pics make me drool!! can the strips be removed from the wall if u dun use it anymore? thanks for sharing...

KC, thanks for sharing ur method of "choosing" fish... I never thought of that!!

karen, wendy, kelly, bride0712... seems like ur #2s are opposite from #1?? my #1 reject food so hopefully if I have #2, will be better?? clipart{lame} but u all really very patient to keep trying and it's admirable...

berry, I got same question as lil devil... how to bake fish?? mine turn out a lot of "water" and soggy at the end...

REJECTING FOOD
ha!!!! u gals here already refer to no. 2 but mine is still quinn :p but well, what can i do, i just got to learn to let it go then. just feed wat he favours at tat period of time. everytime if he refuse to eat, OATMEAL always works. so i will just tell myself oatmeal is nutritious and i use milk to cook it and milk is nutritious too and i add in egg, then i will tell myself its okie, ha!!!

BAKING FISH
i realized that if i bake the WHOLE fish, it will sort of turns out abit soggy with some water. but if i debone it, using just the flesh and not the whole, its better. but how o bake fish till crispy on the outside? like fried fish minus the oil.

wendypooh:
thanks! you have a very good memory too!
there are so many mommies and kids now that i can't associate who is who. sorry!
somehow my memory has gone *kapoot* ever since i had dean.

Sharon:
hii!! yeah, i'm like a tourist ambassador for tokyo now ... i keep promoting it! I "infected" my inlaws to go end of this month, and i wish i could have joined them!
It all started when singtel had this offer ... $798 fly by ANA + 4N accomodation.
Now i'm itching to go, seriously itchy everywhere!
Think the earliest i can go is next Mar, to catch the sakura again. Maybe to osaka + tokyo, if not to hokkaido or sapporo.

Agreed, its SO expensive for a family of 4 to go. Not to mention the handling will be tough for parents.

Hopefully all works out well, if not my japan trip next year will kapoot also!

lil devil/Jen, I dry and then rub the whole fish with salt, minced garlic and olive oil, then sprinkle dill all over it (dill is pretty optional but it compliments fish really well). Sometimes I squeeze lemon juice over it and then stuff the squeezed lemon skin into the cavity of the fish. Then wrap whole fish in foil and bake in 220 degrees C preheated oven for 25-35 min depending on the size of your fish. The trick to make it very tender is to make sure that you dont over-cook it (practise makes perfect!). It wont be completely dry of course, there will be some juice but we like it this way v much, the juice is perfect to drizzle over rice. But hor, my fish turns out very nicely firm but soft, not soggy at all.

lil devil, if you want the skin to be crispy then bake uncovered, as in dont wrap it up. And do flip it once halfway thru cookng. I've only done this once and its nice and crispy, but its not as tender and flavourful as the above method. Or you can experiment with the grill function on your oven (most ovens have this option right?) and try grilling maybe 15 min on each side? I havent really tried using the grilling function yet tho.

Cody/sharon, which part of Japan you guys referring to ah? kids friendly or not? I went to several tour agencies to ask abt japan tours, they keep saying that we cant get around ourselves cause no one understands eng there (really?!?) and must join guided tours. We wont be keen to join tours leh, if thats the case we might decide to go elsewhere (perth maybe?) instead. Is year end winter in Japan tolerably cold for our kids or not? What do you think?

Cody/sharon, which part of Japan you guy referring to ah? kids friendly or not? I went to several tour agencies to ask abt japan tours, they keep saying that we cant get around ourselves cause no one understands eng there (really?!?) and must join guided tours. We wont be keen to join tours leh, if thats the case we might decide to go elsewhere (perth maybe?) instead. What do you think?

TV- How much TV do you all think that you are comfortable with your kiddo watching at this age (2.5 or nearly 3yrs)? Put aside how much they are actually watching, I mean if you have it your way(since alot of the kids are with nannies and granddies, so cant really control the hours), how much TV are u personally comfortable with (how many hrs each day and how many days a week)? Just wanna know wat you all think.

Berry,

Perth is great for a leisurely holiday with kids!

I know of friends who booked very lovely bed and breakfast in the wineries along Margaret River, and the wineries serve very excellent dinners too!

berry, hello!
er, i haven't been to tokyo in winter so i can't advise you. I was talking abt Tokyo, cos that's the only place i've been. First time there, and we went F&E for 10 days with plenty of tips from regulars.
We were there in Spring, and it was slightly chilly. It got really cold only when we were further from the city ie less shelter from the wind.

Communication & Getting around: it helps SIGNIFICANTLY if you can read chinese, esp the olden "fan2 ti2 zhi4" way of writing. Alot of jap characters are the same as chinese ones.

Getting around is really not that difficult within Tokyo. The subway map is a mess of different routes, but you will get used to it quite quickly. Singapore is getting there soon, with our NEL and EW lines, interchange stations etc. So we will grasp it quite quickly.

Arm yourself with a good subway map; one with both english and jap words are good. Some smaller stations display their names ONLY in jap, no english.
Most maps you can get are either in English or Jap only, it was a rare find that my friends found one with both languages. Let me know if you would like to have it, i can email it to you.

Re kid friendliness:
I found it ok, even on the subway at rush hours.
Major train stations had escalators and lifts, its the smaller ones that you will need to climb up & down the stairs.

The only thing i disliked was the smoke. They smoke everywhere! Its also allowed in restaurants & parks.

Berry, i wasn't really keen on visiting Japan till one of my friends "infected" me. After just ONE visit, i am totally smitten!
Can't wait to go back!

Alamak, i think i've inadvertently started promoting Japan again! hahahaha