(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

Priviledged, B2B3M4
My mum told me my grandma said can't eat sotong. I scared plancenta stuck inside so din eat sotong :p

Alicia's daddy
How u cook octopus? I only know boil in soup Drink the soup but discard the octopus

Ruffy
Kow tow to u to b able to handle your 2 little bulls alone.
Ryan wz v advance in his development

Ruffy, Emily, Alicia's daddy
Oh really your no 2 slower than no 1 in their development. Thot ppl say no 2 develop faster than no 1.
PD asked me is Png Png developing the same as Chen Chen? PD ever refuse to issue letter abt Png Png's health when we asked for 1 to buy insurance for Png Png when he wz few mths old. PD said unsure n cldn't access Png Png (too young to access then) if Png Png's brain development wz affected by meningitis All these make me worried for him

Emily
Yes Chen Chen bluff He said "Dun tell puo puo/mummy I did blah blah blah, eat blah blah blah...." The worse thing is he always say I bluff him. He is v rebellious now. Always argue n mark our words

Alicia's daddy, Giggler
Your bois oso spoil toys easily. I thot Chen Chen v rough The boi my mum babysitted b4 keep his toys v well. Can pass to his younger bro n some to Chen Chen

Giggler
"Vane into pretending games too. Hehehe... Her fav character is 'mummy' and sher is her 'lao gong' (=hb). "

mom2nat
Lovely pic

Koala, Vane also in rebellious stage leh. Really having headache handling her now. Really miss her bbhood when she was so guai.

Those with 3 kids, how do you handle??? I really at a loss now, handling one attention seeking #1 and one active #2. Having shudders thinking of #3 popping next mth.

Merry Christmas everyone! Wish all of you had a lovely warm christmas & a happy new year... smooth with no hiccup.

Koala, I can't say Elijah is slower than Ethan in development. He definitely is more advance in terms of speech and motor skills. I just feel that character wise, Elijah seems to act more babyish than Ethan at his age.
Doc refuse to issue letter? That will definitely worry me too. But u know docs lah, sometimes they just need to play it safe and cover themselves... afterall, it will affect their reputation and career leh if anything they do/say is wrong.
And yes... I find the 4 yr olds more rebelious now. btw, any of you encountered that they seem to have degenerated as well? Seems like Ethan has started thumb sucking and nail biting too for a couple of weeks already.

koala,
Hahah, about the sotong, I forgot AGAIN, and ate some last week. How? It was too good to miss lah. :p

Giggler,
Sarah is very argumentative and contrary these days too. And she might throw a tantrum over something as minor as how you wash her hair. But I've been very firm with her. No tantrums are allowed. She'll get caned if she doesn't stop her tantrum when told to. Also, I have some books (Christian books) with stories about children with these common bad habits, and what happens to them. I try to read a story every day. Sarah likes the stories and does seem to learn from them, so she's trying very hard to control herself. We can see that, so we praise her when that happens. Another of her bad habits is dilly-dallying.

But her didi also learns from her, especially her contrary ways. When you tell him to come, he will purposely say "don't want" and then sit or lie on the floor. This can happen anywhere, even in the carpark!. Quite hard for me to handle cos I'm so big and preggy now, very hard to pick him up and physically carry him around. He too will get a caning or spanking if he does this sort of nonsense.

Emily, yes yes... Vane into nail biting recently.

PVL, yes yes...Vane also like to dilly-dally. Thanks for your advice on reading stories on good habits to the gal. I've a book on good behaviour too, must dig it out and read to Vane everyday. And YES, didi learning all the bad habits from jiejie. Tough on you that you handling both kids on your own. At least I still got maid to help out. But I got other set of prob. My maid treat the 2 kids very differently, alot nicer to Sher as compared to Vane. Sigh.....

yeah!! finally the festives over!! can take a breather before i headache abt prepping for CNY. Yah, was really really busy for the past few weeks

QSG,
HIyeee

A's dad,
They r over confident with water.. they wade in the sea without a care for danger.. thus i'm anxious to teach them proper..hahhahah

Koala,
Think they are not getting less attentive lah... rather, they are aware of more things that catches their atttentions. Guess we have to start training them to complete and focus on one thing at a time now alas next time will develope "1 minute passion" habit.

I'm not sure if its the case with everyone but it is so for me. I tends to "look out" for things that Jem accomplished at an advance age and then wonder y Jay still can't do it. Then i conveniently "not see" the things no. 2 learnt faster cos i'm dwelling on what he can't do.

One example : I keep lamenting that Jay still don't call me mummy now at 2+, but my friend pointed out that he can count from 1 to 10 already.

Emily,
I cringe to think of the day i have to face with the first lie from Jem.

ay... my hb always say i treat Jay like a baby.. mebbe we all do that's y they r babyish for a longer time? hehehhe, oh well.. unless we hv no. 3 think they will remain the baby forever.

A's dad, Giggler,
hahahha.. think for u guys more headache with regards to boys more rough... Cos gals' toys mostly o fragile!!! and they throw hell of a tantrum when they stuff gets spoilt?

Re: Nail biting
Jem started this habit recently too.. i'm contemplating of getting the anti-biting nail polish...hahaha

Wishing all a Blessd Christmas and a Happy New Year

Koala,
I dun know how to cook Octopus, but I like those mini ones (red) in Jap restuarant. From my assessment, Adrian is slower in language, but I realised that he is faster in learning technical things (hands-on stuff).

Brenda, Giggler,
I just found a swimming instructor. His class is lmited to 3 pax (for now, and I hope he remains this way), and cost S$80/pax, but I nego for some discount..kekeke...Sunday 11.45am at my place. I think I have reach the "peak" that Alicia will listen to me, so will transfer the teaching to a qualified one, at least, she listens to "teacher", and not "daddy"

RE: throwing things down
Dun know where Adrian learns about throwing things down from the window. So far, he did it 3x (ball, balloon pump, and finally a coloring pen). all things landed into a tortoise pond downstairs belonging to the ground floor owner. Got complaint, and the security guard brought up some of the items, so....malu.

A's daddy
Hahah... so funny, makes me think like the tortoise downstairs telling another tortoise "today I gana hit by a ball, yest by a pump.. luckily I have a shell to protect me". Hahah...

Giggler
Tks, Nat is ok liao. Sigh... I dunno how to handle her leh. She is throwing tantrums often, alway negotiating for more, shouts, talks to us rudely. TOday I brought her to my fren's place, she hit a girl and tat girl's granny told the girl Nat is naughty. Then Nat snatched anohter girl's book. Then she lie she dunno wat happened. It is so tiring, dunno wat went wrong oso.

hi Daddy n mummies,
Happy holidays.. been so busy baking. Posted some pics to the kids blog/my blog.

Koala,
Roy talks more now.. but his pronuncation not "zhun" as compared to kor kor.. both are okay at 2yrs old when compared to the other kids but with each other.. Roy's seems slower in speach.
but he is also very chatty .. will order you.
- I want to take bus. lets go take bus..why the bus not here yet?
What is there.. why u put this there? What is there?
Favourite sentance- I don't want,, I don't like.
see his favourite like apple/pear - give me.. Roy want.

I'm still looking for swimming coach for Ryan..so if anyone knows of classes can be central/west side for Sat afternoon/ Sunday afternoon pls let me know

Its true #2 pick up all the bad habit from #1..and then #1 put the blame on #2 for things he is not suppose to do etc.. very sly one.. my #1. but still get fished out by me.

but sometimes is fine..esp when they play well together..share stuff etc.. self entertain each other for 1/2hr while I cook dinner

re: biting nails
So far, I have threatened to wear mittens on Ethan & apply chilli on his fingers... ehheee.. haven't done any. Thinking of getting nail bitten polish as well. But dunno ok or not for them.

re: Throwing things
hahaa.. adrian is at an age where he likes to see cause and effect. Ethan did that too when he was abt 2yrs old. U know what he threw? He threw the tek gor (the thing that u use to hold up your bamboo to bring it up & down). Faintz... lucky didn't hit anyone. Fell on someone's bamboo instead. I had to bring him all the way down & apologise and ask for it back. Kenna scolded from the auntie. From then on, he didn't dare do it anymore. Maybe u shd bring him downstairs to retreive the item & get him to apologise & face the uncle/auntie downstairs... see if he still dares to do it after that.

A's dad, so you managed to get 3 kids to form the swimming class? $80/pax for 4 lessons? Is this the market rate? Let me know if the instructor is gd.

Mom2Nat, I also feel down leh. Rec'd the same complains abt Vane from my fren during our gathering. Sigh... Vane didnt want to share and still answer back, etc etc etc... I really at a loss. Really dunno how to handle the kids. Then so sad that Sher very attached to the maid.
Sigh... how to handle 3 kids next mth???????

Mom2nat,
This family has at least 20+ tortoises in the patio area, with a man-made pond. I heard from the security guard that the pen hit the maid...hahahaha...fortunately, it is Crayona pen, so can be washed

Ruffy,
Adrian's fav line is "It's mine!"

Emily,
I find that the family with the toitoises is a bit weird. They spend a lot of time with all those toitoises, so I also dare not approach them. Anyway, we have reprimanded Adrian, and he knows that he cannot throw things down from the window.

Giggler, Ruffy,
Alicia will start the swimming class next week because she just recovered from cough, so I did not start it yesterday. $80 for 4 lessons, and this looks like a standard rate for private pool. I will let you know if this instructor is good soon.

Mom2nat, Giggler,
Sometimes, Alicia talks loudly and rudely at home, especially if we do not give things that she asked for. We will stand firm, and later tell her that it is wrong after she cools down. So far, Alicia has been able to share things with others but when she thinks that she has the right, she will fight for it, not literally fight, but she will bring to our attention lor.

Mom2nat, Giggler,
U mean ur friend commented abt ur gers? I thot mothers will be more understanding toward other kids.

Actually I have the same problem with Janelle too. She always like to mood swing at pple happy ocassions when we need her to take nice picture, she will always hide away and refuse to co-operate.

I think she need attention, just that the attention is not on her - she buay song. Sometime saying her doesnt help much, she will walk away angrily or start crying. Arghhh....

I think I have a ger with very high ego, hoping everyone will give her all the attention. I'm still teaching her and make her understand she is not the only ger living in this world. She not only need to share her things, she need to share other pple emotion as well.

Ruffy,
if wat u wrote is what Roy actually said then I dun understand why u said he was slow in speech. What other progression are you expecting from him?

hong, yes, my fren commented that abt Vane lah. We're close fren so she can tell that Vane has changed to a brat. Sigh... Vane doesnt like to take pic nowadays, she either hide her face or doesnt want to look at camera. Very diff to take pic of the kids now.

How are you teaching her? I really very tired of nagging, shouting, beating, etc liao.

A's Daddy,
will wait for your update on the swim coach

Hong,
Roy when compared with his brother is not able to express himself that well- will take a lot more coaxing before he is able to tell you what he wants.

Giggler
Aiya, same lah, pple see me, like dunno how to teach my girl like tat. She whines a lot, over small things. Or else will shout. Dun wan to call pple. I feel so tired always correcting her, threatening her, blah blah... My hb even bought a cane liao! Sigh... Dunno isit I no patience, bad tempered or wat. How come I see other pple can enjoy their children so much.

Like just now bring her sit kiddy ride, during the ride, told her only 1 ride. Instead of being grateful for the $3 ride, she whined, saying she wan more more more... sigh... Then later told her mil coming next week, she wan to cry, saying she wan Ah Ma to come now! blah blah...

A's daddy
Easy to say stand firm, you try dun work, stay at home 24/7. V pek chek one leh. 2 kids to handle, and Nat will find the most appropriate time to fuss... when you are busy.

A's dad,
good for u! manage to find a coach already. I'm taking one thing at a time... wanna settle the kids in school first before adding onto their routines. Yah, little Jay going to school too.

i had the throw things out of window problem before too. Till now still can see my 'little puppy' sitting on the ledge outside the window. So I can cheer u up by saying,"It's a phase and soon will be gone!" hehehhehe

Emily,
wow... adrian's real strong.

Giggler,Mom2nat,
Don't be too bothered with what others say.. it adds unnecessary stress to the family. My relatives also like to comment and compare the boys with their cousins and mine seems downright cannot make it kind. Doesn't greet, doesn't ask the elders to eat at the table, watch tv and play toys at meal times etc etc. It guess it doesn't hurt us on what other's think of our kids as long as we persist in teaching our kids and believe they will learn it someday.

RE : Kids' tantrums
Jem got strong will problem which the teacher in school also can't cope. On one hand, we don't want to break his will by beating/scolding him to obey us. On the other hand, it gets really unmanageable and downright embarrassing at times. Worse, his dad's temper not mild too so at times, we really get a father and son's confrontations in public. Super sianz at such time but we tell ourselves once the anger cease, we will just forget about the whole thing and carry on enjoy the day.

Oh yah, time out doesn't work on him cos he is the one who will slammed the room door at us when he gets angry.

Jay's starting his set of tantrums too.. but so far still not full force yet thus manageable.

So in order to cope with 2 sets of tantrums 24/7, I've learned to forget about it the moment it stops... so that it wun pile up n cause a headache at the end of the day...hahahhaha

Hmmm... actually, do any of you have this kind of experiences before? Whereby a stranger came up to you to tell you off when u r reprimanding your kid? or even a friend?

I had it once sometimes back :

I brought Jay to the supermarket to do grocery while Jem is at school. After everything, Jay got real grouchy and refused to stay in the pram (keep standing on it). I needed to rush off to pick Jem from his schoolbus... so after offering sweets and several rounds of coaxing and explaining... i turned nasty.

I sat down on a bench to scold him at eye level and spanked when he still insisted to stand up.

A man came over and shouted at me saying things like how can teach kids in this way and I'm abusing him cos I spanked. I tried explaining that if I can't get him to sit, he will fall at the escalator later. Next thing I know, he shouted even louder saying I'm unreasonable and he wants to call police. Which i promptly loan him my phone, of course... ;)

anyway... Jay did fall from the pram that day.. thank God only after I cross the road onto the pavement. He learnt the lesson and never does so since then.

I don't know who I was more angry with tho.. Jay or that man. Somehow people just need to learn things the bad way i guess.

Brenda
I think I won't know wat I would react at tat moment. DUnno to shout at the man or walk away. Oso no point explaining to him. I read abt some pple who will come up and scold you when you reprimand your maid!

GOt once my hb brought Nat to explorer kids. Then a boy started swinging his hands ard playing, and hit Nat. Then my hb tap on the boy and told him to stop. The boy,ard 6 yrs old, went off to tell his parents my hb beat him. The parents went on busy checking for beating marks, but dun have. Then his parents went hysterical and shouted at my hb, curse him and blah blah!!! My hb told tat mom, he did not hit the boy, but the mom dun believe. So when my hb and NAt were climbing the slides and so on. Tat 2 parents were yelling! After sometime my hb came down and explained, he did not beat the boy, if they insist on believing his son, no matter how he explain oso no use. So my hb say if they can find any marks, go report police lor. I am surprised he acted so calmly, i think if I were there, I would have shouted tat them saying how can believe a small boy, and dun listen to other pple's explanation. Wat examples of parents are they, cursing pple leh!!

Giggler,
are u getting stress with ur upcoming delivery?

Mom2nat,
Usually I will just steer the kids away when someone play rough. Hubby will get angry too sometimes but i usually remind him that there will be times when our own kids play rough too. And i dread the coming of those days...hahhaha

but yah... that set of parents is scary.

hehehhe... on the light note, how's cny preparation for everyone?

i just went to 'squeeze' w ah mas and aunties last weekend to buy fish maws, scallops etc for reunion dinner. Anyone gonna shop for the goodies soon?

I read of a recipe which a mom shred surimi (the artificial crab meat) n fry as snacks during cny. hehehhe sounds easier than the previous pork floss rolls we attempted.

Jem is starting to be more aware of festivals.. hehehe, can't wait to see how he reacts to CNY. Don't you all finds it more fun now that our no. 1 participates and enjoy more of the family activities?

Ruffy,
Okie, I will let you know after my personal assessment.

Mom2nat,
I agree and understand your point.
Sad to say, some people do not listen enough to weigh both side of the stories, therefore, creating a bias judgement.

Brenda,
Still cannot feel the CNY mood leh

I suggested to my parents that I will probably buy "yi pin guo" for the reunion dinner. We had steamboat almost every year, so for this year, just to cut down on preparation time.

Brenda, I've never have that kind of experience leh. Given my char, most prob I'll just walk away ba. No pt arguing with the man. Guess I getting the stress of upcoming delivery ba. Think I really ill-prepared this time round leh. Still haven got chance to buy anything yet and worse keep having contractions liao. Me dun have time to prepare for CNY leh, anyway I may still be in hosp on the 1st day of CNY.

Mom2Nat, aiyo how come that parents so unreasonable one????

Good Morning!!! I'm here to 'create' mood for the Spring!!! hahahhahah

A's dad,
yeap... "yi ping guo", "peng cai" or even some of those sets one are good alternatives.

Most prob. i'm preparing "peng cai" too...heheheh

if really gotta steamboat, think cold storage have those pre-pack ones as well... then dun need so troublesome.

Giggler,
relax dear... no need to panick. So many of us live near u... anytime needed can just sms us then we go get it for u lor...now our shopping mall so big...hahahahhaha

Be happy k... all children must slowly and lovingly guide one.. dun stress over it.

Anyone knows where to get Winx stuff like clothings and bags etc.. not the figurine.. there are erm... ugly :p

Yes, Hazey... i'm buying those bimbo stuffs... somehow all my nieces are like asking for them.

Giggler,
I dun think my teaching is good cos I am quite affected by Janelle temper sometime. If I am in good mood, I will tell her off. Of course she will give me a gloomy and buay song face but will soon be over. Stime, i will left her alone, sit at a bench and wait for her to calm down (providing I am very calm that day as well). Stime she will get big big scolding from me. I have not resort to caning cos I think her bad behaviour will still come back.
There are times that her temper get so bad that I pull her for a shower, I said she need to cool down using another method.

Brenda,
I will probably tell the man off. Outsider will never understand a mother fustration.

Mom2nat,
ur hubby is so cool. Some parents will only see and listen to wat the child say. We see lousy parents that pass down lousy attitude to the kids. This is quite a reverse but that only show how the parents teach the kid. hahaha...

brenda, 'peng cai' seems to be gaining popularity hor? My sil made that for us last yr's CNY too. My hb very into CNY mood leh, bot CNY clothings for the kids yday. Not sure how he gg to celebrate CNY with me delivering during that period. Dun know leh... suddenly I feel that I haven do enuf as a mother for the kids. I dun like Winx stuff leh.

hong, hahaha… you have so many variations of disciplining Janelle. I resort to caning liao but stop doing it cos no effect leh. I so heartpain to see the cane make on her hand and leg but she didn’t even shed a tear. Sigh…

Mom2nat,
Thanks!! think i'll head down to taka.. hopefully got a good selection cos i tried toys'rus very little stuff. Then one of the gal's birthday is this weekend.

Giggler,
hahaha... mebbe ur hb is in good mood for the coming addition in his life? Good that he is too.. at least Vane and Sher wun feel left out for the festival becos of didi.. or issit mei mei har?

every now and then think all of us will feel that we din do enuf or we hv been terrible. But i'm sure we are the best for our own kids even if we are not a super mummy. Especially you!! We will always remember how loving you r to your kids, bringing them for gatherings even if u r on ur own.

anyone watching fireworks tonite? They having it at Vivo, Mt Faber and Marina

brenda, thanks for the compliments!
You really kind leh. They gg to have didi soon. Ya, I shd feel happy that at least hb is hype up abt the festival and nb. What time is the fireworks?

Giggler
Your #3 gg to be natural or induced? TOt of names liao? Frankly i dunno how I can cope with 3. I tot I wanted #3... but now leh... better rethink liao. My back hurts oso, can hardly carry Elliot. I went TCM the other day, hopefully get better.

Hong
Wah! cold shower, ok, i try next time.

Mom2Nat, gg to be c-section again. Having headache with names leh. Looking for boy's name that start with S. Preg with #3 is more suffering leh. I got contractions earlier and have to get bed rest as much as poss. Really not easy... I still think having 2 kids is the ideal.

Mom2nat,
lukewarm, not really cold. Dun let her catch a cold. hahaha..

Happy New Year to all mummies.

Here's the cake wishing everyone a beary good year ahead... Happy New Year.

2034207.jpg

Hee hee can't remember when was the last time I pop in, lots to catch up

Mom2nat, Giggler,
My back hurts frequently too esp af 2nd childbirth. twice already i had v bad pain n had to go for accupuncture. gynae oso told me w my kind of body frame, i m more prone to osteoporosis so wld hv to take my calcium diligently. our family completed w 2. it's a handful handling them full tx on my own, somtx v 'scared'.... no holidays, no break..
i m tinkg of gg back to work in yr 2010 n send kids to cc then.
i hv a frd who is so 'blessed'. her older boy is taken care of by her well-educated english speaking retired in-laws (n in-laws hv a maid) n daughter is taken care of by her english speaking retired parents. so no wori at all. she is working, alwy take leave go facial, massage, shopping etc...

GG,
happy new yr! wah! d cake is so nice.......

CNY Gathering:
Are we having any? really missed seeing evyone
even my hb asked, ur forum frds no more mt up?
i cant open up my place cos it is in a big mess now cos we may b moving out early next yr, wld let all know d place once cfm.

Mummies and Daddy,

Happy New Year!!!

I am so happy to be back to work and also, the boys are so happy to be back in school.

Hope that everyone will have a good and happy 2009.

Interested in having outdoor gathering? Weather seems good recently.

Giggler, want to meet up before the arrival for your #3?

gacc, very sian with names liao, just cant seem to find one that we really like.

Re: Gatherings
Yes yes, lets meet up before I pop lah. My c-section date will be 24th Jan.

Giggler,

What is good for you?

1) BBQ?
2) Picnic at Park/Beach?
3) Makan session with playground for the kids?
4) Any other suggestion?

Giggler
wah piang, then mah only left with this weekend liao? Any nearer we oso dare not meet you, later end up we panic when you go into labour! Hoho...

pigletz
This weekend my sat burnt, cos nat got classes then evening neighbour's girl bday bbq. Sun am i can't, pm can.

Giggler
You so heavily preg where can you go? Picnic, can't sit on the mat, too hot outside, later perspire a lot. If go somewhere for kids to play, you can't look after your kids oso. Hoho... I think we go high tea can liao liao! wo the kids! hahahahhahaha.
Oh, btw, changi village hotel has buffet lunch on saturdays, 1 for 1 using HSBC card. I think lunch is ard $34++ b4 discount.