(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

Hi Sarsi, you're quick.... You mean u keep a record of your tummy measurement one is it?

Hi B2B3M4, u wanna join the fun?

Hheheeee.... tummy competition? I guess I'll win all of you man. hehehee...

Actually, should we measure after dinner or what? Coz have big difference in size u know before and after dinner.

Okay... will go and measure tonight.

Hi Giggler/sanrio,

Thanks. Any idea where i can get good confinement lady? I have one recommentation from my relative but she charging $1800 and i still have to give her 2 ang pows i.e. one for her coming and the other for leaving. On top of that, she would not share my meal.

sanrio,
me same as u... always wanted to go swimming but end up never go coz too lazy liao.. always spend my weekend sleeping... hehe...

talking abt itchy nipples, i do not have it but i feel itchy all over my body. nowsadays can't go without the medical oil. btw, wher did u ladies get the cream from?

sue,
ya, i agreed with giggler. must tell ur bb to be cooperative and open leg wide...

kris,
u're welcome. if u have any more info on the bf pump, do let us know.

Sarsi,
Me too. i m taking pramilet, calcium and neurogain too...

Wah, u ladies are all taking up classes ... is it useful? i m not taking any classes at the moment ...

taking abt tummy, mine is 35 inches.... now abt 23 weeks...

Hi Sanrio, the aqua aerobics sounds fun. I used to go gym before pregnant too. So tempted to join you for the class. Will call them to check.

Hi Kis, my tummy also itch very often but friends told me not to scratch. I tried to put apply my cream more often. I'm using the stretchmark cream from Mothercare. I oso intend to use both cloth & disposable diapers. My colleague told me better to alternate between the two and baby's skin can 'breathe' better with the cloth ones.

Hi B2B3M4, Why not trying switching to another brand of cream? I'm using the one from Mothercare, it's quite soothing. Not expensive too, only $10.30 per tube.

Hi Giggler / Taringal, will tell bb to open leg wide wide so that daddy & mummy know the gender and can start buying things for him/her.
Oso doing my blood test, I'm so scare of blood withdrawal.

hi sue, me attended 1st session of antenatal class n was told stretchmark cream is like moisturising cream n all abt the same. when i fin my "mustela", will try the mothercare one, i saw it n it's resonably priced. do check w kkh on the aqua class soon as the response quite gd. hope to c u

hi taringal, mustela cream i got from robinsons, i think guardian n some pharmacies carry brands like elancy, boots etc. mothercare has their house brand. as for antenatal class, i found it quite informative n they incorporated some practical sessions too.
hi all,anyone experiencing bad leg aching (not cramp) esp nite time. evy nite, my both legs will ache badly even i didnt walk much in the day. sometx massage n massage also doesnt help. cld it b due to lack of calcium or it's just normal?
oh yes, will try to measure my tummy tonite.

Hi Giggler,

I am seeing Dr Chow..what abt u?

Biw,My colleague recommends me a confinement lady fr. Msia. He gave me her contacts,but I am not sure what to ask her...Is it appropriate to ask her what she knows what to cook?

Will she be cooking for me only? What abt herself?Do I hv to pay extra for doing marketing?

HI sanrio,
I saw the brand mustela cream fr. Robinson yesterday, I think it is abt $57.

Hi suet,
Don't look at how the nurse draws ur blood..Despite I've to draw blood every month(due to thyroid) for the last a year,until now,I oso won't look at the nurse/doc when they're drawing blood for me...

Hi taringal, I'll get contact of my friend's confinement lady for you. She's full of praise for her confinement lady.

Hi sue, I also scared of blood. Never dare to look at it while doing blood test.

Hi sanrio, no I've no aching but got leg cramps. Last sat was so pain that I cried out for my hubby's help in the middle of the nite.

Hi avocado, I'm seeing Dr Chan at GlenE. I think my friend saw Dr Chow the other time. Is he quite old one?

Juz out of curiosity, r u guys going to let your baby have the BCG jab? Remember, there was a article on the papers sometime ago saying BCG no longer protect one from TB and USA has already stop giving such jabs. Giving the injection may oso lead to ugly scars, fever, allergic reactions etc.
"Cos, KKH wanted me to sign for my admission form etc ( abit fast, hor) and they actually asked whether i want to give my BB BCG jab. When i say no, they seem pretty surprised!

Hi Giggler,
I have not measured too. Afraid later i faintz....

hi hi B2B3M4,how u look like ah? can i say hi to u in our next class if u dun mind. me went alone that day cos hubby worked late.
hi giggler, i shall ask my gynae why my leg aching so badly in my coming visit. do u take calcium tablets? me worry may not consume enough calcium as i can't tolerate diary products well n didnt take so much soya. me little scared of draw blood but got super fine veins so if junior nurses, tried 2 times oso can't. ai yo...
is pramilet a multi-vit? how abt neurogain?
hi avocado,me personally think mustela cream not bad lar but a bit too pricey, probably we paying for their branding. it's a little oily n sticky too.

Hi taringal,
Think u will win the tummy compeition hor...my tummy is 33.5 b4 food @ 23wks. Btw, my thighs and buttock seems expanding too.

Hi Sue,
My tummy itch seems like getting worst, at least wake up once during sleep. Been trying not to scratch, but difficult leh. Think will ask gynae have any cream for it anot. As for blood test, dun look down during the process. I also dare not look.

Hi sanrio,
My leg not so much as ache. But my hip and lower waist area will pain whenever i sit up from lying down position. Sometimes will get worst, even pain me when i stand up. As for leg cramps, only experienced twice.

Hi, last weekend went to carefour n bot a Tollyjoy bb mattress set (with pillow n bolters) at $20. Seems quite a good bargain.

Hi B2B3M4, I also not sure leh. Didn't know that the nurse will ask this qns.

Hi sanrio, I checked with my gynae abt leg cramps and he said it's norm. He just told me to point my toes to ceiling while stretching my legs to prevent cramps. Pramilet is multi-vit and Neurogain is fish-oil supplements. Anyone know if we can get Neurogain in pharmacy without doc's prescription?

Hi Giggler,
Ya, my gynea is quite old one...he's experience but v. moody...

which week r u in now? What causes ur leg cramp? Could it b u stand or walk too long?

My frd got serious backache when she was pregnant. So far,I've not experienced any leg cramp or backache (*touchwood*)..But I feel tired,sleepy all the times.

I oso muz sit lying on my back. If I sit straight,my tummy will b compressed & feel v. uncomfortable...

My gynea only gave me multi-vit,iron & calcium supplements..Ur gynea gave u fish-oil sup without u ask him too?

Hi Kis,
there is sales going on at Robinson,they've bb mattress set on sales as well..Some r anti-fungal,anti-...(oops,can't remember)..But newborn bb won't sleep on pillow,right?Rather,they'll sleep pieces of cloth...becoz their necks r not strong enuff..

hi sanrio,
When I first started to tak milk, my stomach oso cannot tak it...so what I did was to buy those milk meant for lactose intolerant ppl like us. U can buy off-shelves fr. NTUC or Cold storage...It is slightly more ex than normal milk..abt $3 to $4 per packet.

I'm taking soya milk oso esp. fr. those Mr Bean stall..U can ask for less syrup..

hi gals...

wow... alot for me to catch after not being ard for a few days...

gosh.... u all reali measuring ur tummy? hehe... i hvnt measured mine for yrs... haha... so i oso dunno how many inches i was pre-preggy.

btw... i'm rather sad leh... i'm already hvg water retention...
one day last week, i was out for meetings whole day and by nighttime, my feet and calves were swollen and was diff to walk! i think its a bit early for me to hv water retention leh...

b2b3m4...
u hvg itch from ur stretch marks cream? mayb u r allergic to it?

Hi avocado,
R the robinson sales still on?

Hi soyabean,
Think lifting up ur leg/feet will helps the water retention, the others pls verify...Meanwhile try not to walk too much.

Hi avocado, that means my friend shared the same gynae as u. He delivers at Mt Alvernia also rite? I'm in 23 weeks now. Gynae didn't see the cause but he said that it's norm. No, my gynae didn't give me fish-oil supplements. I asked him abt it but he said that as long as we have balanced diet will do.

Hi soyabean, you're early hor? So fast got water retention liao. Try lifting your legs up once u have chance, I think it helps.

hi soyabean,
did ur gynea advise u what causes water retention
? Too much salt in ur diet??

Hi Giggler,
I'll b delivering at Gleneagles..I'm not sure why ur frd delivered at Mt Alvernia leh..

Heard tat fish oil sup is good for eye sight..but I cannot tak becoz of thyroid..I even cannot tak seafood..

Hi Kis,
Not v. sure if Robinson sales still on leh.I didn't know there's sales going on at Robinson at first. Me & my hubby just popped by there to look at the baby stuff after lunch yesterday. We celebrated V-day yesterday to avoid sat crowds

I oso would like to go Robinson again becoz I spotted a nice Elle bedsheet.My hubby asked me to buy but I was hesitating...But I keep on thinking abt it so decided to buy..

hi soyabean, i think kis is right. try dun stand n walk for too long. when sit down, elevate the leg, rest on a stool (if possible put a box underneath ur workstation). do cut down on salt as it may make water retention worst. outside food sometime has lots of hidden salt. but we all working & eat out also not much choices. try to be selective and cut down those with lots of sauces and gravy. when u back home, i hope a massage will help to ease the discomfort a little. what about applying hot water pack? i bought 1 from osim and use it for tired back or leg n previous stomach cramp during period tx. find it a relief.
hi b2b3m4, i think those itch cld be partly skin stretching n also maybe allergy to fragrance. some people do get allergy to products that contain too much fragrance such as cream, shower foam/gel etc and was advised to use fragrance free products like "Simple".
tks avocado, i did buy 1 pack of lactose free milk fr cold storage. as not frequently drink, expired also can't fin. i bought soyabean from mr bean, quite nice but didnt take regularly. i just bought nutrisoy low sugar n high cal soyabean drk fr ntuc, must be more diligent this tx.
hi giggler, tks for the info.

hi kis and giggler...
yah... now i use pillow to prop up my feet whenever i sleep.... and yes... its early for me to get retention... i cant imagine how i am going to survive in my 3rd tri.

dunno why so early... i will check wif my gynae next time i see her.

hi Giggler,

Wk23 is it refering to gestation or LMP date?

Even i'm wearing loose attire, some of my colleagues hv started to ask me if I'm pregnant..I feel quite embarass..U know some of them r aunties age. Most of my colleagues r quite kepo..

since I pregnant,I become quite anti-social..mayb becoz I'm moody & tired. Does anyone behave the same as me??

Though pregnancy is happy event, i don't feel comfortable when ppl start to stare or look at ur tummy & figure out whether if u r pregnant.A female manager even asked me loudly if I'm pregnant few months ago,when we were in the quene fr. buffet. I really felt so embarassed.

Hi Avocado, my friend delivered in GlenE also but not happy with their service. So her next one she'll choose MAH. 23 weeks according to gestation.

Hi B2B3M4, you're funny....

hi all mtb,

can any mtb gonna deliver at KKH helps...

basically i would like to know which dr did you ask to see....and how is their service...do they rush thru the appt or are they patient enough to explain in details when we are in doubts.

anyone know if dr christopher (cant rem his surname-he used to be a snr consultant) is still ard in KKH? coz i went to the website but cant find his name on the panel of drs.

am at a loss now coz dunno to engage which dr. not too keen on dr sim..so any one can recommend any Snr consultant in KKH.how about the lady dr han?

greatly appreciate your help!

Hi Sanrio,
U were alone on Friday as well? Well, guess we are the only 2 ladies to be there without our hubbies.

hi white cranberry,
are u referring to dr christopher chong? i hv heard of his name b4... but dunno if he is still wif kkh.

why r u not keen on dr sim? anyway, my gynae is oni a specialist so wldnt mention since u wan a snr consultant.

b2b3m4...
u hv signed up for the antenatal class arh? and everyone had their hubbies there except u 2? if i were there, it wld be 3.... haha...

btw, jus to check, do they hv classes every weekday one? or jus happen tis round class oni on fridays?

hi soya bean,

ur right, dr christopher chong....

do u mind telling me who is ur specialist. sorry if i am mistaken. i was told if we did not ask for Snr consultant, he/she will then not deliver our baby. am i right?

so in ur case being a specialist, will u get to see him/her on your every appt? will there be any houseman around when we deliver if we did not opt for snr consultant? (thats what i have heard thats why i kinda wanted a snr consultant)

think only a handful of snr con like dr john tee and adrian (ops forget his surname again) and chris chong being mentioned and saw some posting on...so now very vex on which dr to choose.

think dr sim is very very popular and her consultation time is short..not too sure about the rest so not very keen on her..

btw, did you opt for the classic or premier plan. did you go to kkh or AMK branch huh...

sorry if i sound ignorance with so many questions..

hi white cranberry,
my specialist is joycelyn wong... recommended by my fren, who went to her as well and was the one who personally delivered her bb leh... i'm not so sure abt ur houseman question... maybe somebody else can enlighten the both of us... hehe

i didnt opt for the plans... and i go to kkh... nearer to my home than AMK.

hi soya beans,

thanks for the prompt response!!

ya would appreciate if anyone can enlighten us regarding the houseman thingy..coz was worried that they will be lots of houseman around during delivery..gonna be embarassing for me leh..heee hee

soya beans, when have you signed up the package (at which week?) so before u signed up, how much do you have to pay per visit?

white cranberry...
i didnt opt for package...
but now at every visit, i pay $36 to see my gynae... excluding scan and urine test.

Hi Cranbery and soyabean,
The moment u choose to see a consultant, u are considered paying class. Meaning Class B1 or A. U will see the same consultant for your outpatient visits. During delivery, shld u choose the classic plan, any doctors on duty that day (meaning can be a houseman, HO) will come and see u first and set the necessary injection sites etc. Your consultant will only see u when u are due to deliver or the next day. However, for the premium plan, the consultant in charge of u will see u the moment u are admitted.

Hey Soyabean,
So u wanna to join us for the class? U didn't miss very much from the 1st class. Basically the nurse juz went thru the whole pregnancy cycle, what's 1st, 2nd, 3rd trimester. How did u conceive and briefly on the hospital. The days are determined by yourself. If u take Friday, the classes will be held every week on Friday.

Hi Sanrio, I just signed up for TMC antenatal class with my colleague today. It's on Sat & I think it clashes with the aqua-aerobics. My class is from 2-4pm. Hope I won't fall asleep in the afternoon.

Hi Kis, why not try putting some moisturiser to stop the itch? It's becos our tummy is growing that's why we feel itchy. Yesterday, I was so itchy & I felt better after I applied my stretchmark cream.

hi b2b3m4, tat day u sat in front of me?? i oso cant remb n not too sure leh. i sat at the last row.
hi soyabean, hope u can join us for antenatal class. u didnt miss much as 1st session more of general knowledge.
hi white cranberry,
i seeing dr sheila loh at kkh. she's SC and head of reproductive medicine. i last tx seeing her for some gynae (women) prob. when i conceive, i choose to see her as she also specialised in OB - pregnant women. she sees a lot of patients carrying twin / multiple bb. she is quite gd but waiting time can b vy long as she oso attends to other women cases, such as assisted reproductive treatments.
as for ur "HOs / MOs" question, usually upon admission, HO/MO will first assess ur case. if ur gyane is available, he may come n see/check u.
for delivery, if ur gyane is available, he will do it for u (for A class patients). however must understd tat if ur gynae is engaged with other patients such as c-section ops, n u natural birth n cant wait liao, mid-wife will do delivery n ur gynae or other available consultant / MO around will do follow-up. ur own gynae may check on u later loh. maybe tat's why some pple prefer c-section as can book gynae's date n time in advance. i understd tat if u dun like the MO/HO to be "training" in ur ward or delivery suite, as a A patient in kkh, u can make this special request. pls do check w kkh.
b2b3m4 & soyabean,
i quite lucky as my co pays for all my maternity fees including delivery up to abt 90% n entitled to A class, but have to go kkh or sgh. me too didnt opt for package, pay by per visit n claim fr co.
tks white cranberry for highlighting to us ur concerns. we 3 are kkh patients too. the above info i got fr my frd who was an ex kkh O&G nurse. maybe we can check up with kkh hoh.
hi sue,
i heard lots of gd feedback for tmc antental class conducted by mrs wong. enjoy ur class. as for aqua, can check whether kkh has other time slots??

hi sanrio,
thanks for your info.

hi giggler,

Thanks for your help! u can email to me at [email protected]

Hi kris,
haha... maybe but the other haven't measure yet so still early to say that.

hi sanrio,

thanks a lot indeed for your info.

sorry to probe again but if your co is paying upto 90%, why u did not take the package since you can still claim it back.

was wondering is it more economical to take up the package or pay at ad-hoc basis?

does your gynae attend to you at KKH only or is she also available in AMK branch?

does anyone know the estimated total cost including delivery and hospitalisation. seems that the cost at KKH is now comparable to private hospital hor.

sorry gals with the endless questions as still cant decide to go for KKH or Private.

Hi Sue,
the moisturizer can only last for a while only, then it start itchy again.

Hi Taringal,
then we wait for the others measurement....

Sanrio,
U worked in the govt-related sector? I'm in almost the same predicament as you. Thinking of taking up the premium plan when i get admitted. At least i know who i will be looked after when i'm admitted.

Been busy yest, didnt log-in. So many postings. Good Good, this thread is hotting up.

I have been having weird dreams lately. Didnt take too much during dinner but still had dreams. Have u gals noticed that you have more dreams lately?

Measuring tummy competition huh..... let me tabulate:

30.5 -Sarsi (20 weeks)
33.5- Kis (23 weeks)
35- Taringal (23 weeks)

You gals can add on from here. All measurements taken in the morning b4 food I guess.

Weight gain leh... u gals wanna update as well so that we can have the will power not to exceed what we should put on... hee...

Now 56.5kg (gained 4.5kg from 52kg)-Sarsi (20 weeks)

hi cranberry,
most welcome. gd to find out more so tat u can make an informed decision. yes i likely take up premium package later, kkh not yet ask me sign admission form. for outpatient charges, pple told me paying ad-hoc is ok. i think kkh has 1 classic n 1 premium package for natural birth n for c-section. the package will list the basic/common items n charges. i dun have the details, can try call kkh to ask.
i think charges (esp A class) competitive with pte. do find out more. oh yes, try going to www.moh.gov.sg as most hospitals estimated bills now posted online at moh website, including giving birth.
b2b3m4,
yup,i work in healthcare but not the hospitals. u work in govt-related co also ah?
hi kis, tks for the update.
me: tummy 32" after food (17+ wks)
weight bf: 46kg, lost 2kg 1st trim due to bad MS, now 47.5kg. i think the precious 1kg+ goes to the bb.
yes i have funny dreams almost evy nite. nowadays oso cant sleep well as got bad sinus n blocked nose.

sarsi....
oh oh... i finali measured my waistline yest!
me oni 18 weeks... and 34 inches already! but i took the measurement at nite yest...

weight arh? think i am gaining almost 4kg liao! in a matter of a mth... scary... now 64kg!

and yeah... i hv been hvg weird dreams ever since i was preggy... not uncommon lor... so dun wori so much abt it.

b2b3m4 and sanrio...
hehe... so we 3 are wif kkh... so we will prob give birth there ard the same time. haha....

b2b3m4...
me still dunno whether wan to sign up for the class or not... still comtemplating... hehe....

oh.... wan to tell u all leh.... yest i can finali feel my bb "kick" me... past few weeks... movements hv been v light cannot feel by putting hand on tummy... but yest nite i put my hand on tummy and felt a thump suddenly... hehe...

Soyabean, dreaming in my sleep only started lately for me. Sometimes get so deep into the dream, then wake up in the morning like havent slept a wink like tat. So tired. I oso started to feel bb movements oready. Sometimes its a jerk, sometimes like its a thump suddenly.

Tummy Measurement:-

32- Sanrio (17+weeks)
34- Soyabean (18 weeks)
30.5 -Sarsi (20 weeks)
33.5- Kis (23 weeks)
35- Taringal (23 weeks)

Weight Measurement:-

47.5kg (gained 1.5kg from 46kg)- Sanrio (17 weeks)
64kg (gained 4kg from 60kg)-Soyabean (18 weeks)
56.5kg (gained 4.5kg from 52kg)-Sarsi (20 weeks)

Hi gals, sorry I forgot to measure my tummy again. Getting very absent-minded nowadays.

As for my weight gain, I gained abt 3kg so far and I'm in 23 weeks.

Hi, okay... finally did my measurements. See.. I told u gals that I will definitely win. Am 36inches at the waist (20weeks at present).

I think I am losing weight. So far, my weight gain stands at 2 to 2.5kg still from a month ago.

Hi Giggler,

in which ways that ur frd not satisfy wf Gleneagles service?

Hi Sarsi,
My tummy= 31 (17wk)
My weight=52kg(originally 50kg)

hi sarsi,
pls update me to 18wks. tks. easier to count as i shd b 18 wks end tis wk.
i havnt felt any bb movement ler..but more of muscles stretching. a little worried, or is it i didnt notice or cant tell. is 18 wks a little early for 1st tx mum?
hi cranberry,
i heard fr frds working in kkh tat dr christopher chong is quite gd. he shd be still there. dr sim is a popular female gynae. but long wait n if ur pregnancy progressing fine, each consult tx w her can b fairly short maybe 5mins+
what i usually do is prepare a list of questions in advance so when u see gyane, can clear all ur doubts. kkh has larger patients base compared to each pte gynae, so cant give each individual so much attention. but agn take comfort tat at least the pregnancy is fine so gynae need not spend so much tx on each consult loh... they will say gd gd gd, bb growing well, can go liao ; )

hi sanrio,

I read from somewhere that for 1st time mother,u'll probably feel the baby movement ard 20+week.

I'm in 17wk oso hv not felt any bb movement yet..

Similiarly,I oso experience muscles stretching at my tummy occasionally esp. after heavy meal

Last night,I've had two oranges after dinner,and my tummy really bloated
I asked my hubby to massage fr. me & he kept on lecturing me for eating too much

Hi Sanrio,
Here is the article:

Fetal Development at a Glance

Second Trimester
Month 4
The fetus moves, kicks, and swallows.

The skin is pink and transparent.

The umbilical cord continues to grow and thicken to carry enough nourishment from mother to fetus.

The placenta is fully formed.

By the end of the fourth month, the fetus is 6 to 7 inches long and weighs about 5 ounces.

Month 5
The fetus becomes more active, turning from side to side and sometimes head over heels.

The fingernails have grown to the tips of the fingers.

The fetus sleeps and wakes at regular intervals.

The fetus has a month of rapid growth. At the end of the fifth month, the fetus is 8 to 12 inches long and weighs 1/2 to 1 pound.

By the end of the fifth month (20 to 21 weeks), fetal activity can be felt by the mother.

Month 6
The skin is red and wrinkled and covered with fine, soft hair.

The eyelids begin to part and the eyes open.

The finger and toe prints can be seen.

The fetus continues its rapid growth. At the end of the sixth month, the fetus is 11 to 14 inches long and weighs 1 to 1 1/2 pounds.

If born at 24 weeks or more, the fetus might survive with intensive care.

Third Trimester
Month 7
The fetus can open and close its eyes and suck its thumb.

The fetus exercises by kicking and stretching.

The fetus responds to light and sound.

If born now, the fetus has a good chance for survival.

The fetus is now about 15 inches long and weighs about 3 pounds.

Month 8
Rapid brain growth continues.

The fetus is too big to move around much but can kick strongly and roll around.

You may notice the shape of an elbow or heel against your belly.

The bones of the head are soft and flexible to make it easier for the baby to fit through the birth canal.

The lungs may still be immature. If born now, before 37 weeks, the fetus is premature but has an excellent chance for survival.

The fetus is now about 18 inches long and weighs about 5 pounds.

Month 9
At 37 to 40 weeks, your baby is full-term.

The baby's lungs are mature and ready to work on their own.

During this month the baby gains about 1/4 to 1/2 pound a week.

The baby moves into position to be born, usually dropping into a head-down position and resting lower in the mother's pelvis.

By the end of the ninth month, the baby weighs 6 to 9 pounds and is 19 to 21 inches long.