(2004/04) April Mummy

Home, ya he has been clinging on me but funny when he is sick he always look for his daddy. At least En will sleep on his cot. JJ dun sleep on his cot since he is born but recently just shifted the cot back from my house to my mum place and we remove the lech now at night after he sleep he will crawl to his own cot. As even if we transfer him to his cot he will wake up and cried.

Joy_apr, Dun be too worry abt his progress as my cousin is two and half mth older than our kids and now then start talking a few words and hardly heard him talk. I think he knows wat it is just that they dun want to entertain our questions.

joy_apr,
as to using the pen, have u started letting him scribble yet? i remember when i 1st let En use crayon, it took him a while b4 he can hold it properly.takes time

Hi Home
May I know what brand of crayon En use? I would like to buy for my boi but I afraid he will put into his mouth.

cutecute,
i got the sakura giant crayon for En. but i dunno safe or not leh. En seldom put things into his mouth that's why i let him draw on his own.

Hi mumies, sorry for MIA again.

Me went on a cruise in a sick condition with CHerish and hubby.Got better but sick again.The flu virus is still present in my house.My FIL and maid the latest victim,I think I caught it from them again.Sigh,just hope to get better so as to avoid spreading the germs back to Cherish and Celeste.

Cherish enjoyed the cruise very much,I think.There's nothing much for the adults to do on board.Cherish enjoyed running from one end to the other on the deck.Cannot go casino as children below 18 cannot be admitted.Can't crook at Karaoke with my sore throat and husky (sexy) voice so we spent a lazy Sat aftn playing broad game in the cabin with my hubby's colleagues.Manage manage to 'sneak' out for a late nite movie alone while Cherish and hubby were sleeping.heehee...My naughty Cherish even played a trick on me by inserting my comb into the air con vent while I was taking my shower and hubby's snoring away.End up look like mad woman with messy hairmrook me a while to untangle my hair with her comb.No choice but to use hers.Hubby jokingly said if the cruise ship sinks due to technical problem,Cherish will be the culprit.Missed Celeste alot onboard esp she's also sick.Felt very sorry for not bringing her along and not able to take care of her when she needed me most.

Oops....I missed Cherish's 18mth jab and assessment again.I guessed the polyclinic nurse is going to call and 'scold' for forgetting.

Angel,so heart-warming.Oii,teach him how to 'sayang' his 'future MIL' leh.hehe....Is Ryan better now?You don' think and worry too much,k.Stress can aggrevate ur condition leh.Take care.

Ling,welcome back.Glad tat JJ enjoyed the trip.I was telling my hubby to go on a Genting Trip with my 2 Cs,but he said Celeste will be too young to enjoy.My travel plans had to be put off to next yr at least.Clingy,naturally.Cherish will also stick to me ma chiam sticky tape in the absence of her daddy.I brought her to my colleague's child's 1st birthday party,I run,she chased until she's able to grab me.

Ann,once I refered to the health bk on the teeth issue.I think the molars have to appear 1st after the 8 front ones.Now this is the toughest time coz the elders said its the biggest and most 'xin ku'.Val will feel discomfort,so alot of giving in and patience is required.

Aloe and Home,chances of both Ryan and En are experiencing discomfort in teething thus affecting their appeite.Hang in there.Once molars are out,not so xin ku liao.

cutecute,try telling ur boy in a way tat he's gg to be a big gor-gor,must sayang bb.It will be much more easier to explain if u know the gender of ur lao er.Naughty,I dun think so.But jealousy can appear way before ur lao er's arrival and ur boy could feel insecure,constant assurance can help.I'm sure your boy will understand.In fact,I prefer my hubby to carry Cherish while I was heavy with Celeste.Try encouraging ur boy to walk on his own,can boost up his confidence in walking and thus showing independence.Tots at this age wants to prove that they can be independent at this time.

Joy-apr,I'm pretty worried when u mentioned the results of ur boy's assessment.Cherish is also not drinking from cup.She still prefer her bottle to straw cup.She started walking late too,when she was 16mths old.Speech-wise,she can say a few words like please,milk,greet everyone in the family and her tu-tu(pacifier).Try a doodle pad.Mess-free.Toy r Us selling a very cheap and gd one at $2.95 only.Otherwise can consider Fisher Price.

Oh no,pardon me for the super long post.I hope I din miss out anyone.

Babymich,I have a 6mth old bb girl,Celeste too.Would be glad to exchange tips with u.

Maple,I sill remember our lunch date next Thur.Haven decide on a place yet,sorry for not replying sms.

Rain_drops, welcome back and when Celeste is abt 10 - 11mths you can actually bring her there together with Cherish as they are still a lot of indoor rides that she can take. As last time I bring JJ when he is abt 10mth plus and this time round at 18mth and I can really see the difference between the two trips. Really looking forward for our HK trip in Dec.

Rain_drops,
hi there... gd to c u here

take care urself and try to rest.
work must be also busy rite?

Hi Rain_drops
Thanks for the posting.
Went to see gynea but can't see gal or boy. I intend to tell my boi when I know gender. Now he walks faster & faster. We have to follow him closely in the apartment store or else he will get lost. He dun want us to hold him also.
Cherish so smart, can greet everyone in the family.

Btw he also have not drink fm cup, I have not toilet training him yet!!

For those mommies that wants to buy crayons for your tots, try buying crayola as its non-toxic and washable. You can find it in most bookstores or major departmental stores.

Ryan can drinks from a cup but he tends to spill on his shirt and sometimes I think he did it on purpose coz he was caught playing with water a few times by my in laws.

Raindrops,

I can teach Ryan to sayang his potential MIL but your Cherish dun seem to like him leh. Then how?

Btw,

Cold storage having offer for most diapers including sealers, so those using might want to consider going down. Now its only $16+ i think.

Any mommies here have the coldstorage stickers n not collecting them can give it to me? I am helping my SIL to collect. TIA.

cutecute,
u 4 months already? hmmm still duno the gender yet?? could be a gal then??
usually a boy shd be quite obvious one rite?

Hi Ling,

Thanks. I also warned myself not to be overly concern with my boy's progression. Every child is different. I just make sure i do spend quality time with him and enjoying him each day.

Hi Home,

I tried giving my boy crayon and colour pencils..but he will jus played with them. He did tried to scribble once in a while. I have the drawing board at home, he would also jus scribble for a short while.

Hi Raindrops

How nice to be able to go for a cruise..

Don't get too worried for Cherish. I am telling myself that too. Each child has their own timing. My boy still drinking from his milk bottle..refuse to try the bottle with straw. He takes his pacifier when he sleeps..but he is not very particular about it. These few days he is quick to understand some words that I am teaching him..like tongue, teeth, mouth, nose, ears and eyebrow. He would stick out his tongue to show me when I pop the question 'where is yr tongue'.. It's cute seeing him do that. ;p

Joy_apr, as right now it is alright that En can take adult food do you let him take soft drink or fresh milk? If yes, you can train him to drink from straw and very fast they will start drinking using straw or cup. I remember when JJ was abt 10mth when we went Genting I never let him use straw but while in the coach my auntie brought fresh milk for them he start drinking from the packet and very fast he knows how to drink from the straw and cup. You can try pouring a bit of Ribena on a cup and let him drink from there.

Hi mummies, need your opinion regarding childcare or playgroup. Do you guys think I should put JJ into a full day childcare or playgroup or dun bother until 2007 put him in childcare. My mum said tat I shouldnt put JJ in childcare on jan 2006 as he stay cant really express himself and my hubby's fren said since your mil can take care why want to put him in childcare? My reason is that he is developing the selfishness and lonely behaviour as being the only child in the entire family and wants to get wat he wants so I want him to learn to share and play with kid of his age but the playgroup at Woodlands is very expensive and it cost as much as me putting him in NTUC childcare of 400 per mth. Pls advise me. Tks.

Joy_apr,
My gal is still not able to do some of the things that u mention. Eg her speech development is quite slow. Can only say a few words. Still cant address everybody in the family, can only address papa, mama (mother) & mama (grandmother). When I asked her abt the body parts, she is not able to tell or point to me. However, the other day when she was naughty & did not follow instructions, mil asked her ni you mei you er dou?, she is able to point to her ears. So me not sure whether she dun know or she just refuse to entertain me.

However, Im quite pleased with her motor development. She is able to climb up the stairs unaided (without holding on to the railings) since a few mths ago. For going down the stairs unaided, never tried it till 2 days ago (cos this mummy kiasi). That night she insisted going down the stairs herself & refused to let me hold her hands, so let her try. Verdict : still unstable, not ready for it yet.

Aloe,
Hows Ryans appetite? He ok with u feeding him?

Raindrops,
So qiao, the other day I was jio-ing my hb to go Genting too. But he refused to bring G along, says she cannot tahan the long coach ride.
(Anyway, the trip is not confirm yet. Just talking abt it only. See how it goes lah)

Ling,
For me, no intention of putting my gal to childcare since my mil can take care of her. However will consider putting her to playgroup so that she can learn to socialize and learn other skills from her peers. Have not decided when to start her yet, considering either Jul06 or Jan07.

If you intent to put JJ to full day childcare, I would advise that you start with half day 1st before promoting him to full day.

Cutecute,
How are you? 2nd trimester now, feeling better?

Want to know what other beverages u giving your toddlers now, besides plain water. Anybody give things like soft drinks, fresh milk, ribena, yakult, fruit juice, milo etc.? How much and how frequent do u give these to them?

Ling,

I didn't let my B drink soft drinks..prefer not to let him start soft drink at this age. No fresh milk either..jus fruit juice (which I did myself). Nowsadays, he will want to only bite the straw but not drink from it.. May try Ribena but find the package Ribena very sweet.. I try not to give him sweet stuff so young..

I also have the same sentiments as you. I am not sure if I should put my B into childcare or playgroup. My mil can take care for my B but I want him to have more exposure with other children. Perhaps will start with playgroup first when B is much older..maybe next Jul. Planning to try out some Sats classes first..

Hi Maple,

Think it depends on their moods..my B will only entertain me whenever he feels like it.. lately, he refuse to point to his nose when I ask him..instead he will stick out his tongue when I ask for his tongue.. ;p

As for motor skills, he still needs support to walk although he is getting more stable now.. Hubby reckon that he lacks confidence to take the first step unaided.. I think just a matter of timing..

Wah..yr G really adventuous!! Walk down the stairs alone..

I feed my B with fruits almost every night. But our babies still under 2 years old..is it safe to drink yakult or fresh milk?? I tried yogart..and my B likes it.

Hi All Mummies....

How has everyone been getting on?

I have been very busy with my MIL business...Went for a short trip to Perth for 5 days last month.

I have something to tell all of you.....I am pregnant with my 3rd one. EDD is 7/7/06.

Reon is walking well, but her speech is real slow...she knows jie jie, daddy. But she juz dun want to call me....Her favourite word now is "I dun want".

Maple,
ur gal can call u liao!! so nice
my En still can't call mama yet.

I give En water and milk only as he only likes these 2 types of liquid! try barley, fruit juice and milo but he dun like leh. wat a strange boy or maybe i shd consider myself fortunate that he doesn't like those???

Ling,
i have already enrol En in a playgroup for 2nd term next yr. but they say will only start if they have enough tots. so i'll be looking for other playgp around my area. so far En still ok being in the house alone with me. i bring him out for walks every monring. so he gets to c other adults and kids who are playing at the playground. somtimes he will 'talk' and 'play' with them!

Limay,
congrats!!! wow.. another bb on the way

ur boy so cheery

Maple, I have given JJ a lot of different types of drinks. Give him soya beans, ribena, barley, milo, yakult, milk must be full cream milk becos last time use to give him HL milk, crysanthmun, soft drinks. I went to Pediatrician the other day and he told me that we should explore all types of food to my kids and dun cook purposely for him. But for yakult dun give your kid the full bottle give them only have if not like JJ will pass motion abt 3 or 4 times after consuming.

Joy_apr, I think more or less I have decided to put JJ only in Jan 07. And will look out for playgroup around my mum's area but it is just that it is very expensive for the playgroup around Woodlands area. And for weekend classes it will also cost a lot of money.

Home, Tks. Will look around for enrichment classes for the time being.

Hi Li May
When my maternity leave over, then its your turn liao.

Hi Ling & Maple
My husband also gave my boi diff tpyes of drinks.
My boi loves Yakult. When he sees us drink, he will take it away fm us & drink it non-stop. Sometimes he will make noise to want us to give him Yakult. After drinking, he will pass waterly motion.

Cutecute, Ya JJ will bring us to the fridge and open and said kult kult..... then normally I will drink half and give him the other half as within mins he will finish everything.

Li May,
Congrats on your pregnancy. So bb #3 is make in Perth? Heehee
Take good care and dun let yourself get too tired.
Can update us more on Feon & Reon? Long time nvr hear from u liao.

Home,
Reon is girl girl.

Cutecute, Ling,
Yakult will affect the frequency and quality of the motion? Ha ha, then I can consider giving her more when she has constipation.

Maple,

I think fruits, prunes and water is a better option than yakult.

I only let Ryan try once last wk when we order the kids meal at a jap restuarant last wk. Don't want to give him too much sweet stuff coz he already been spoilt by my inlaws. Everyday asking for sweet sweet tang tang. sigh....

Home,

I think we might have a chance to meet up soon coz' my boy have recovered. But my body is still weak though. Maybe you can bring your boy to my place and play one of these days. You drive?

I finally heard Ryan speak in complete sentences but in mandarine to my MIL. He can say " ma ma wo ye yao chi" meaning grandma I also want to eat. I'm so proud of him. He is trying to talk to me over the phone at times too. Though not in complete sentences but I can see that he is improving. Really miss him. Tm finally get to see him again.

I'll be meeting maple at Sentosa this Sat. Anyone interested in joining us?

Angel, will not be joining you and maple this Sat to Sentosa as my cousin getting married this Sat. Wow great to know that Ryan can speak in sentences as JJ still cant except that now he will say Mi mi wo ai ni.... last time we must prompt him word by word but now he can say all by himself.

Mummies, FYI pls be careful when your child is holding any toys. JJ got his left third toe injured with his toy car which was given by my mil. It is a heavy toy car with radio. And again he know broken and blood flowing out and he keep saying pain pain pain and see the car will say throw throw throw. The other time he holds the canned drink and drop on his right big toe and also nails came out. And I hardly heard any of my frens kids got this type of injury except JJ.

Angel,
i dun drive but can go down to ur place. how abt next fri? Ann wanna join us?

Ling,
wow... must be very plainful

Home, ya i think it is very painful and last night I was looking at the wound as we never put any plaster on the toe I can actually see that the nail spilt into two on the centre and one side is gone will trim for him when it dries up if not now cut will be very painful...

Home,

Shld be ok but you must remind me 2 days in advance so I can spring clean my house. Sorry I can't go your place coz' I got no strength to carry Ryan yet. We will cfm details on Next wed?

hi all april mommies,
i'm new to this forum and my gal who was born in april 7 2004. I want to ask if yr bb easily fall sick? and do u give anything to build up him/her's immune system? recently my gal falls sick again, got fever for 6 days long, running nose, cough and lot of phlegm, dr said she got sensitive airways and once she's infected it takes long to treat, and she used to be admitted due to bronchitis when she was 13mons old, so worry if she'll turn to asthma as dr said she's prone to it, so would like to hear from all of you on how to build up her body resistance?

tks....

I think most mom here have similar problems and it will be worst once they start school. The best way is to introduce more nutritious food and fruits. My Pd says its ok to start giving tonic to our tots but only when they have fully recovered. Another way is to give Vit C or add onion into your soup as onion suppose to be able to prevent cold. Hope this help.

Oh, 1 last thing, try to keep the enviorment as dust free as possible and keep your tot away from furry toys or animals if she is prone to asthmatic cough like my son.

There is another type of tonic that can be brought from GP to buid up theirimmune system but my Pd says unless you are going to give it to them for at least 6 mths, if not it will be of no use. So do consider.

ccw,
hi. my boy also rather prone to cough, fever and running nose. just have to try our best to take care of our kids

angel,
dun need to have a spring clean lah

Home,

You havent seen the state of my house yet. If you did, you will regret your statement. Even I wanna faint when I step into the hse. Worst come to worst we meet at either GWC or Paragon where they can play and its enclosed and airconditioned.

Maple,

Thanks for you and your family wonderful company on Sat. Otherwise I think I wld ve been bored to death. Ryan didnt knock out as we thought he wld and still wanna go kia kia 5 mins after we reached home.

tkanks for yr reply, angel & home!

went down to nature's farm and GNC over the weekend to search for any supplement for my gal....

nature's farm suggest me to give Acidophilus or Pycnogenol, for GNC, there's one called D-Fense from ChildLife, this is especially for immune support. any mommies heard of these products? any comments? tks!

ccw, my boy immune system is good as when I conceive him after five mths I did take some vitamin from those multi level sale from Eken. They have IG6 and Omega 3 which my father in law give to me and at first I am very reluctant to consume but a few of my frens did consume it and when JJ was born his complexion was good n till now his resistance is good and when he is sick his virus will pass to us but if we are sick he will not get it. Touch wood first.

But now I think yr gal and eat those gummy vitamin from Nature Farm. They have Vitamin C, Multi Vitamin etc which I think is good as JJ is having them now.

tks Ling,
good to hear JJ is a healthy boy, how do u give vit C to him? once a day? i heard from GNC that all chewable one must contain sugar and my gal certainly can't take sugar nor orange flavour, so...

i always feel guilty if her sensitive throat was passed by me when i carried her at 7m+ got cough thruout the time until she was born, not sure it's becasue of me!

Ccw, is there any reason why she cant take sugar? I only give JJ multi vit from GNC the other time and he just eat like his sweet lor. Now buying them from Nature Farm as it's taste nicer like a sweet as the one from GNC is a bit sour.

Ling,
she's coughing now so i think it's better not to give her sugar at this moment until she's fully recovered!

angel,
ok u let me know on thur where to meet. i prefer to meet ard 11am. both En and i will be taking lunch outside

ccw,
r u working or sahm?

home,
i'm a SAHM for 2.5yrs lah since i was pregnant, used to work at raffles place, sigh...quite miss the time to work there....
what abt u? and most of the april mamas here?

ccw,
i'm also a sahm, eversince my boy came. ya i miss my working life too but to me my boy more important. so work can wait lah...

besides myself, angel and ann also sahm

Just to check with you gals. ANy mom here have not brough tyour tots for the 18mths jab and assesment? I have not been well lately so have not brought Ryan for his.

Hi mummies,Cherish haven't go for the 18mth booster jab too.

Cutecute,congrats.Can save $$ on clothes.

ccw,really envy u.How I wish I can be like u,but I think I'll go crazy.I spent 3 mths at home looking after 2 girls during my confinement, almost killed me.

Hi cutebao,I remember ur boy has big eyes.

Mummies,I'm very stressed recently.Cherish has been on milk strike for 4 straight days!She refused to take milk!All started when I changed her regular brown rice cereal to another brand tat she dun like.Since then,she began to take lesser and lesser milk,then eventually,the moment she sees milk,she'll run.Tried different bottles,different brands of milk powder and many other methods doesn't help.She dun wan means dun wan.Even tried mixing milk into her breakfast rice cereal,doesn't work too.Die lah!My last resort to add Milo,still cannot work.Asked Abbott nurse for advice to try Pediasure Strawberry flavour,but cannot find.I'm at my wits' end now.I even have her milo milk chilled still cannot work.How??

Rain_drops,
read in another thread that some tots behave ;ike that for a few days. after tat go back to normal. u wait for 2 more days then c how

Hi Mummies, very long never logged in. How's all mummies and tots?

Val haven taken her 18months jab last week and develope fever the next day.

Cutecute
Congrets

ccw,
I'm also SAHM seen pregnant. Which part are you staying at?

Raindrops,
Truely understand how you feel..Remember when Val was about 14months she totally reject her milk and water for 3days and only pick up by drinking water and a little milk on 4day. Is Cherish still teething? Guess that it takes a few more days to build her confident in drinking milk again. Have you tried carry her talking to her b4 her milk(like telling her how healthy the milk or the whole family will be happy if she takes her milk).

home,
have u ever thought of working again? say when yr boy goes to school?

Rain_drops,
u've 2 gals already, wow....in fact i like to work,it's just nobody takes care of geralyn (my gal) for me and now she falls sick so easily that i can't leave her to a maid nor childcare in this moment lor!

humm....geralyn used to refuse drinking milk too, but just once in a while, i believe what home and ann said are true, if a tot doesn't like means no way to force her to eat/drink anymore, so just stop for a while and see how? besides milk, does she eat anything else? rice? bread?

ann,
i'm staying at woodlands, u? do u enjoy being SAHM? geralyn got her 18m jab on time and she got a mild fever too, everytime she takes any vaccination, she'll have fever anyway,i got used to it already lah....

hi all mommies,
can yr tot sleep thru the nite? geralyn will wake up a few times or suddenly cry in the middle of the nite, sigh....i know i shouldn't co-sleep with her, but hard to put her back to her cot if she cries in midnite that i'll usually carry her up....she'll move around at my bed and takes long to sleep again...sigh...very headache, i don't have a good nite sleep since she was born..soh, soh...