(2004/04) April Mummy

hi Ann,
yap i went to popular and mph too, but i find they dun really have lots of books.
Ha ya .. he likes to play controller. haha but his controller is not connected.
wow, val can said "bo ta"..

hi ling,
this blog is very easy to do. if u have time, can go www.blogger.com to see how to upload.

hi home,
Kiddy palace in junction 8 is too small, sure they don't sell the CDs there.
maybe i will go popular to find.

your hubby driving there ?? if yes, then can bring more things if not .. then have to control a bit la.. haha
Bring enough milk power & biscuit that he likes, just in case he refuse to eat those food there..

hi joy_apr,
wow you bring slow cooker. that time i went HK with Ryan when he was about 5mths old, i brought alone his bottle sterilizer (steamer) & pump. haha I even his blanket and pillow.
I borrow books from AMK library too . but always forgot to return ..

hi rain_drop / angel,
http://www.kidzgrow.com/ you need to pay, in order to use it for tracking his development.
I also worry about ryan's speech development. i think he is vy slow too.

Thanks for the link for books.. will try to see if i can buy books there. I like to shop on-line !!!!

hi Angel,
take care & get well soon.

For those mummies who want to have free young parents mag.
you can actually get it from KKH. Those old/unsold copy is given out free there.
(ie. during Sept, you can get the Aug issue.)

Aloe
Val also like to play with controller everytime her daddy play the game, she will be sitting by the side playing the controller.
i just went to United Square Popular, Maybe you can try there, quite a numbers of board books and children's bks and the CDs home mention. You can bring Ryan to choose the books there as there's a small corner with a little table and chair.

Raindrops
Val oso looking forward to hughug Cherish. But am worry tomorrow as she now getting very shy if she sees lots of people and tomorrow is around her nap time. So hope that she will not get fussy.

Ling
JJ likes Barney too. Val too likes Barney. Barney is coming here, i'm thinking if i should bring her to watch as i donno if it too young for her to enjoy the show. You can check out www.sistic.com.sg

CuteCute
yah hope to see you and your boy for next gathering. take care and rest well.

Angel
Get Well soon.

Home
i don have any tips on travelling as i nv brought Val for any short trip b4. Only once to JB for a few hours.

Mummies see you'll tomorrow.

Ann, Oh is it. Barney is coming here... then I think I should bring JJ there to watch. Ya JJ watch all the discs so often that even before any action like Baby Bob appearing he will say Bob and when ending he will say byie byie.....

Home, if you are looking for Barney disc feel that you can buy at shops that are selling only 1.90 per disc although they are not original as the quality is abt the same.

Ling,
thanx for the advice
will definitely bring my own water.

aloe,
ya we driving there. so can bring a lot of things there!! like moving house like that

barney going to perform at downtown pasir ris. i tink from nov to early dec. i won't be bringing En to watch coz he most likely will cry as the music is too loud. have to wait till he grow older.

Hi raindrops!!

ya..long time no log on..glad u still remember me.. ;p Sorry can't join the gathering today. My boy was very grunchy and want to take his afternoon nap. He was fast asleep now. Also raining over my place. He jus recovered from flu not too long ago, so don't want to risk him catching the rain. That was the longest flu he had..seen doc 3 times..spent alot of money..

Thanks for the website on the books. Very useful.

Ya, pls send me the gathering photos too..

Wow mummies, the thread really moving fast.. take time to catch up reading.

Hi Ling,

I didn't let my boy watch Barney.. instead let him watched Hi-Five occassionally. He watched quietly but for about 20mins only before he wonders away..haha...

Hi home & aloe,

Ya, went to the extent to bring along the slow cooker.. Did let Jaden eat adult food but not too much as quite oily stuff. I didn't ask for baby cot..don't think the resort has it too. Instead we put the mattress in between 2 single bed. Jaden slept well on the mattress floor.. we used pillows to stack up the other end of the mattress so that he won't roll to the floor.

I didnt bring any water along. Use the water there and boiled it. Jaden was well and ok with it.

joy_apr,
hey, that's a gd idea to let bb sleep inbetween the 2 beds. will try that

i'm quite used to En sleeping on my arms for his afternoon nap when we are out. coz he doesn't like to sit in his pram, we find it a trouble to bring it out. so in the end, i have to hold him if he sleeps... can understand that it can be very 'suan' after a while!

did any one of u mummies go Lot1 for dinner last night? i saw a tot very familiar. quite sure that he belong to one of u... but cannot recall whose child is that!

How was the gathering? Any pics to share?

I'm so proud of my boy, my MIL told me that Ryan often sayang my niece which is 5 mth younger than him and whenever he sees her sucking her finger, he will pull it out and told him "mei mei , No" and he also tries to teach his younger niece to name the body parts etc, nose, mouth.

His current wt is 13kg.

Aloe,

I'm not worried abt Ryan's speech developement coz he seems to be picking up words quite fast. Now my inlaws are even teaching him 'san zi jin' and he was able to mumble a few lines juz not very accurate. I just feel bad that I have not been able to teach him much lately as I am still unwell.

I just bought Barney VCD. My mil told me that she let him watch this TV in the afternoon.

Hi Angel
Ryan so clever. My boi likes to baby talk.
U take care

Hi Home
Not me. We went to Lot1 for breakfast.

Hi Toony/Ann/Rain_drop/Maple,

Nice meeting all of you and Austin, Val, Cherish, Celeste & G.

Will send out those pic to yr mailbox ...
I will send out all pics that i took. Pls delete off those you dun want. Just realize i did not take pic of Val ....

Wow Angel, Your Ryan so clever even know 'san zi jin' .. same as cutecute my boy only baby talk !!

Really nice meeting you'll and the kids that day. So sorry that i have to leave early that day. Val fall asleep in the car after taking her milk. Hope to meet up with you'll again

Aloe
me too that day was rushing out so forget to bring my camera along with me. So nv take any pics of Val with all the kids.

Angel
Ryan so clever. Can sayang 'meimei'.Can think of 'laoer' liao
Ryan so 'dong si'. Val can sayang baby but i'm always scare that the next moment she will squeeze the baby.
what is 'san zi jin'??
DO take care

Cutecute
Does your boy like Barney?

Home
I'm not the one.

Angel,
Ryan so gd! u must be feeling really happy that ur boy is progressing well. my boi also baby talk most of the time, but he can understand instructions even though can't speak much now. Ryan also heavy hor... think En around 11kg+.

really hope to meet up with u mummies one of these days. maybe we can hav a gathering during the nov 1st wk long hols? can i have the pics too? wana look at all the tots

cutecute,
at 1st i thot the boy is yours leh... so waiting for u to appear to say hello. ai yo then another lady came...jia luck... nowadays i seem to be forgetful. just saw u and boi last wk then recognise the wrong boy! i try to recall whose but think think think also cannot remember

Hi Home
Haha.. Me too getting very forgetful nowsaday. Hopefully its doesn't affect my work.
Lucky u didn't approach that boy har..

This morning gave up my seat to a pregnt lady cos no one wants to gave up their seat. Luckily I only have 7 stops left.

I have one extra children's day gift left over by one of you during last Sat's gathering. Please check and I shall keep it for the moment and will pass back on the next gathering.

Raindrop/Maple,
the expiry date of the Cheerios is the end of Oct 05. Please try to consume it asap.

Austin said thank you to all aunties for the children day's gift.

aloe,
thx for the photos. the kids look so cute!! and the 3 of them so guai... can stay inside the area huh??

hi Home.
yes, they are very guai ... can stay inside there to play . but i think they only stay inside the most 5 mins... ha ha.. then after get out from the play area, they just walk here and there NON-STOP !!

Hi Maple,
You should have some more photos right.. Do send them to me.

Children's day gathering photos actually send to all mummies in the AprilMummy list. If u did not receive, pls let me know and i can resend.

The children's day gathering photos are very nice! All the children can walk by themselves.. My boy still need to walk with support.. most of the time he walk around with his buttock..

BTW, any of your kids afraid of thunder and lightning? 2 nights ago, fierce thunder and lightning..woke my boy and he was in fright! Cried for 1 hr plus in the middle of the night.. Next day, kanna flu..

Hi Angel,

Ryan so smart! Really very dong shi.
Same as cutecute and aloe, my boy baby talk alot. Lately he likes to say "Jie Jie" cos my mil taught him daily.. Didn't even call "ma ma" much...

I never see any photos leh... I think all our kids are abt the same age right.. JJ these few days also having flu and cough so very naughty... keep weeping...

Joy_apr, for JJ the first words that he said when he is abt 8 to 9 mths is his milk that why that time he is so fat.. not he weighs 13.5kg but is tall I think coming to 90cm soon at that time he is already like 100% percentile... so very cute and chubby but not no more...

Hi Ling,

can i have your email address ?? so i can send you the gathering photos.

Do you want to join in our AprilMummy list , kindly send me the following
Name
Baby's name
Baby's B'Date
Contact number
Address
Email address

I will update the list and send to everyone again.

hi mummies,sorry for mia for so long.Eversince the news release of COE prices dipping,I was busy answering enquiry calls.I'm becoming a voice answering machine soon.

Toony,Thank you so much for the toruble of bringing Cherish's waterbottle for me.I've yet to thank you properly.so sorry.Maybe I should ask Cherish to give Austin a thank you kiss.

Aloe,thank you for sending the link to me.I viewed once but cannot access the link liao.Please advise.

Mummies,Maple has assigned a big assignment for me-tat is to send all of the pics.I shall fwd u all asap.Sorry for the delay.

Ling,hi hi.I'm working at Raffles Place too.DO you know there's a store at Arcade selling alot of Barney storybooks?Can get for JJ.

Cherish has become very chatty nowadays.She's always saying-'tu tu','happy' and 'baby'.

Any mummies start tots on self-feed?My aunt gave me a pair of 'special' fork and spoon but I realised it's suitable for right-handers.My hubby was saying as if I'm 'forcing' Cherish to be a right-handed.

i'm back from desaru. really had a relaxing time there. so long never sleep till 7+ liao... and no need to cook, mop the floor and wash clothes!! En also had a fun time, running here and there. all is fine. he adjusted to the environment quite fast

Rain_drops,
I started En on self-feed about 2 months ago when he showed signs of wanting to feed himself. so when i'm feeding him dry food like pancake, zhu chang fen or yam cake, he will use a fork and eat by himself. whereas for rice with soup, i will hold his hand. now he can push the food into his mouth on his own using his left hand. maybe it's my fault that he's using his left hand coz i find it easier to guide him using my right hand as i sit opposite him
hopefully one fine day, he will use his right hand!

Home,
Welcome back. i also hope to go on holidays leh. You make me excited but i always worried how am i going to find food for Val.

Raindrops
i haven really start training Val to self-feed. But sometimes when i feed her meals i will give her a bowl & a spoon. I will feed her one mouth than she feed herself one mouth without food. She too use left hand to hold the spoon.
But i very lazy scare she dirty the place so i'm thinking of letting her start later.

Val too talks alot nowadays. Last Friday, i nearly 'peng san'. She called an old man without hair 'bo ta'. My hubby was carrying her and i was beside looking at the things. After she say that we both ran away. i donno if the old man hears anot lor. All thanks to my mum who introduce this word to her..haii Now i go out must look out got 'bo ta' standing beside anot if not later 'kan na bong'

Aloe
Thanks for the list of contacts.

CuteCute
how you feeling now??better? how many weeks r you now?

Wow... so many postings.

Hi Rain_drops
May I know the store selling Barney books open after office hours?
My boi have not self feed yet. Sometimes I will pass the fork or spoon with food to his hand & then he will put into his month.
Like Ann, I also scare the he will dirty the place.

Hi Ann
My boi also very talkative. He likes to say papa but not mama.
I am abt 12weeks liao. Will cfm with gynae this mth-end. I still feel the same. sob sob..

Hi Rain_drop,
Here is the link, you need to login inorder to view the pics.
loghttp://www.flickr.com/welcome/683141/347707/

self-feed
yes, i do let Ryan feed himself during his weekend lunch and dinner.. most of the time, he is too lazy and playful. He just feed himself for few spoons and he will start to play with his food. The table / floor / his clothes will be vy dirty after his meal...

hi home, thinking of going to malaysia during the first week of Nov but just realise Hari Raya...

Rain_drop, where is the shop at Arcade as I only know one shop on the 2nd shop that sell children's stuff but dun seems to much things on Barney. For self feeding, JJ will normally be the first at dining table every evening, when my mum called for jiak he will push his chair to the dining table and wait for us to carry him up. Normally I will give him a few spoonful of rice on plate and a spoon. He will normally mess up the place but still managed to eat a bit of rice as he normally hold the spoon tilted...

Home, it is always nice to go on holiday me also going to Genting on 30 Oct. I am sure JJ will enjoy more this round then last time when he is only 11mths old... me also a bit scare whether will he get car motion again as that time he hasnt started his motion sickness... but now he has so i am going to bring his medication.

aloe,
thx for the update. xin ku you

i think if u going to resort shd be ok lah. u scare the shops not open?

Ann,
actually at first i also scare to bring him out. but it isn't so bad after all! as long as there's chinese food, it will be easier to feed .

Ling,
i brought the medicine. in the end i'm the one who gets the travel sickness

Home, do you normally have travel sickness.. sometime i feel it is like inherite..my son one should be from my mil...

Ling,
ya... when i was young, if i travel 4 long distance, i'll feel like vomiting. so u got the anti-vomiting medi? i guess the best is to hope that JJ can sleep while travelling loh

Home,gd to hear En can adapt well during the trip.
Actually,left-handed also not bad,my hubby's eldest bro and sis are left-handers and their handwriting are very nice.'self-consolation'

Aloe,orr.....oh yes,I can view already.I can ask my hubby to view too.Hmm.....Ryan has a rather 'challenging' pose,pointing a finger at the camera.

Ling,ney....tat store opposite the fruit stall?Beside the arcade flower shop?If not,can visit www.whoppiekiddies.com for a wide selection.

cutecute,i'm not sure if the store is open after 7pm.Raffles Place is like a dead city after 6.30pm,very quiet and lifeless.do visit the website i just mentioned.

Ann,I've not tried Kindermusik yet,but I heard it's not bad.I dunno if Cherish will enjoy coz the last time she went for the Gymboree music class,she seemed ok only,but I had fun.

Mummies,Cherish is gg on a holiday too.We'll be gg on cruise to nowhere end of this mth with compliments of my hubby's company.(company trip,mah but spouse need to pay lah)Actually,we do not wish to bring my girls along,but I'm sure my MIL and my useless maid cannot cope,so will only bring Cherish.I dun wish to be unfair to Celeste but we shall bring them to another trip next yr when Celeste is older then.Sigh

Rain_drops,
i suppose Cherish will be thrill to know she's going on a cruise!! maybe she will even feel very loved that daddy and mummy only bringing her along! did she ever express jealousy towards Celeste?

Ann,
kindermusik too far. very inconvenient to go there

hi Ann,
how much is the trial session for Kindermusik ??

I suppose to bring Ryan to "the little gym" for a trial.. but me so blur forgot which date i suppose to go.. & Ryan miss his trail again..

hi Rain_drop..
haha that pic .. he was actually playing with me & suddenly he just point his finger like that.. look like a ganster right..

Hi Rain_drops
Enjoy your trip.

No chance for me to holiday now..have to wait long long.

I heard Kindermusik program quite fun. I think my boi will like it cos got music. But very far..

Hows everybody?

So many mummies & toddlers going for holidays. *Envy* *Envy* Dont know must wait till when for my turn. G hasnt been overseas yet, not even overseas to Sentosa. Raindrops, can pack me & G in your luggage anot?

Just an update. I noticed that G is starting to display some T2 symptoms, crying & throwing tantrums sometimes when she does not get wat she wants. Any suggestions how u handle that? Sometimes I use the distraction method, sometimes the ignore method. Sometimes work, sometimes dont work.

Last weekend, G was throwing tantrum again in the MRT. One auntie passenger, seeing her crying so badly, offered her a sweet. How would u mummies handle the situation? Teach your tod good manners and say thank you to the auntie? Or teach them not to accept anything from strangers? Any other advice?

Ann,
Where is Kindermusik? How much is the trial?

Raindrops,
Maybe u can give Cherish a normal spoon instead of those special spoon?

Maple,

Usually when strangers or even our GP offer Ryan's sweet we will decline it saying we do not have the habit of giving him sweet stuff for no reasons. Otherwise, we just let Ryan hold it and says thks, and when he never notice, put it away.

Read in some books you can encourage positive discipline as an alternative. That is giving compliments and praises when they do something right instead of telling them they are naughty and they do something wrong. This will encourage them to do more positive things as they now crave for attention.

There is a very interesting book in the library name "First aid for tantrums". It offer plenty of ideas on different occassion. You can consider borrowing it. I didnt manage to finish reading it though.

Ryan is showing sign of wanting to be independent. Like wearing his own shoes, self feeding with fork and spoon, dressing etc.. but not doing it very well coz I'm still unwell and thus unable to coach him constantly.

Maple,

You wanna go "oversea" can join hubby, Ryan and I next mth to sentosa for his company family day. Let G n Ryan play together at the beach, I'm sure it will be fun.

Btw,

Ryan knows how to "talk" to me over the phone now. When I call my inlaws and they pass the phone to him, he will say "Hello, mommy!" but thats abt all. To my hubby he will say "daddy, 'gia" mommy" meaning asking my hubby to bring him go find mommy. Really heart warming to hear it now that he is seldom with me.

Angel,
so sweet of Ryan. can really melt ur heart when ur boy shows affection hor!!!

En on the whole now still manageable. once he while, he will try to push and test button. c which one will coz mummy to erupt! as what angel say, i 'try' to watch for his gd behaviour and praise him. but very tough and can be trying. sometimes, when he fake cry, i will also fake cry together with him, then he will laugh! if really cannot, will put him on the mattress and let him cry loh.

En is down with running nose again.
ai yo, i like go see doc once every 2 months.. sign...

Called up Kindermusik just now..The trial is $25 +5% GST.. Seem EX leh..But i feel like bringing Val there for a trial..Anyone wants to join me?

Maple
Kindmusik is at Tanglin Mall.
As for throwing tantrums, Val too seem like showing sign of T2.. When she start her 'pattern' than i stop her crying and start my 'nagging'..if not like Home if i'm at home she start fake crying i will fake crying with her..she too will start laughing..or i let her cry than when she stop i start to 'nag nag' again.

Raindrops
*Envy Envy* can go holiday..

Gymboree music class what do they conduct? izzit Gym with Music??

Home
Hope En get well soon..i give Val vitamin C everyday..But i donno if it help..

Angel
take care..what happen to you?
So sweet of Ryan..

Aloe
'the little gym' izzit at Forum? how much is the trial?

Ling
i'm not so sure about Kindermusik program..You can view the webpage
http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/index.htm

Hi Home & Ann
Your tots will laugh will you fake cry, but mine not. My boi will con't to cry leh. Maybe something wrong with my fake cry?
Ann, what kind of vit C you give to Val?

Hi Angel
Take care..
So nice of Ryan. Melted my heart too..

everyone is *Envy Envy* raindrops holiday.