(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Serenade,
Sure Sure Sure... will leech tight to u too..
kao_shy.gif
Hopefully I can attend too.. is so near this time..

KY, what happen? Where are you? Everybody asking for BBQ time and procedures?? Ha.. Worry mum try to make it lah!
I bought from AIA for my girl too. Infact I think we got more health policy than education.

Jan, don't worry my girl is like yours. Can't write too. Only tracing on dots. She also colour terribly.

Meilan, are you going for the BBQ? Polls on nap: my girl still need to nap for 2hours. More if she doesn't get enough sleep in the night. Total: 11 hours (night + nap)

Welcome Chloe!!!

Meilan,
When Benny is in CC, he'll nap after lunch till 3pm. When he's at home, he'll keep on telling me he's not tired and refused to nap unless I pretend to fall asleep.

To make things easier for our host Ky, can I suggest that you indicate your attendance as below? Thanks!

Ky - you need help?

BBQ gathering
Date: Fri,6 Jul
Venue: Ky's place
Time: 7pm? (so that working moms can attend too, sahms can come earlier?)

1. ky (2a2c)
2. serena (2a1c)
3. kristin's mom (2a2c)
4. sarah (2a1c)
5. serenade (2a2c)

Medical Insurance : I too have tried to buy for my #2. He has just a mild medical condition on the kidney but both Prudential and GE would not cover him for ALL medical condition, just life coverage. One is an insurance agent who became a good fren and another is a die-hard fren of hubby. Both tried very hard and though we submitted all the reports which basically say monitor, the insurance companies would not cover him. We are advised to get a clearance report in 2 years and try again. So, Jan, chances might not be there for your girl coz it's the companies that are super-careful.

Sorry abt the not reply on bbq. Got stuff to clear this morning and also I need to get clearance from hubby first. Thanks, Sarah but putting the list together. The bbq is ON!

I'll start the fire at 6pm.... and it'll probably go on till 9pm. But whoever who have to leave earlier can do so lah

1. ky (2a1c) - #2 not taking bbq food
2. serena (2a1c) - belle
3. kristin's mom (2a2c)
4. sarah (2a1c)
5. serenade (2a2c) - I think the timing ok for u right?
6. worrymum (??a1c) - come come ... u will have a good blood sucking session here with so many leeches. ya lor, so near only, take bus 307 and it will drop you outside my place.
7. meilan (???) - come come too

Food : I'll prepare the basic stuff for bbq. No obligation on contribution, just bring your speciality (now is the time I wish Pris is here ... hehehe). Give me some time to come up with the list and I'll pm all, can?

Nametags : I'll prepare the tags for the kids, can? I think we have no problems with the mummies ... hm, the daddies need tags? I need my hubby to socialize too.

Pre-bbq activities : Anyone wants to come over earlier to swim, just let me know. B can be the host for that. I'll prepare some simple coloring sheets just in case the fire cannot start in time ... it's my first time starting fire (moshi, u sure not coming?)

Chloe, hi hi, your girls ages are the same as mine... both my boys are born in the beginning of the year though. For PCF, are those in the CCK area better than the YT area? I was told the YT ones is under 1 mgt and CCK under another. I did go to see the YT area before ... not impressive. the one that your girl goes to sounds quite good. Is the air-con cold btw? I always see the classroom all closed up so supposedly the air-con is on pretty strong...

.ky.

Hi Meilan!

So good to hear from you again!

On nap poll:

B naps for about 2 - 2.5 hours, although I think he can very well do without naps these days. That's why I don't get too stressed out when he doesn't nap over the weekends. Better that way, then we the parents can have some life some time.

A lot of books I read say that nap is very important if you want your child to sleep well and early at night. When the child has a nap and for how long is also crucial in getting the child to sleep again at night. I very much subscribe to that theory when I really did the observation on both my children. On days when my children don't nap for many days in a row, then the night routine will be jeopardised too.

But every child is different. Some children need more sleep than others, adults alike. So given any chance to nap, I will!

K is one who can sleep 12 hours stretch if the environment stays quiet and dark. And she'll still take one long nap from 2.5 - 3 hours. But when we are travelling, she'll be the first to wake up. Too much excitement for her.

Some children don't really understand the concept of sleep yet, the importance of it. Only recently, B will admit me after a meltdown that he is indeed tired and he needs some sleep, .e. the kids start to associate exhaustion to sleep/rest. It took him 2.5 years to understand he had to nap during the day and sleep at night.

I also think sometimes children just wanna be with us. Staying up late... wonder what the parents are doing... might as well let them know what you do when the kids are sleeping. I tell B and K I have a list of things to do, e.g. nothing interesting like reading, watching telly. But keeping toys, washing up, do laundry fold clothes away, take a shower etc... and finally Mommy can have time to drink tea and have some peace.

There was a period of night visits in the recent months. But it got me so mad one night that I made him stand in the bathroom for 5 minutes and threatened that he could very well stand there till the next morning and that he didn't have to go back to sleep, since he wasn't sleepy at all - so he claimed. After that night, he doesn't pay night visits anymore.

Recently, his tactic of waltzing in and out of his room after we said good night was the umpteen times he had to pee, seemingly. So I told him not to bother coz I would wake him up in the middle of the night to remind him to do it. And no more coming out - reminded him of the toilet incident. That did the trick too.

But most of the time I leave both the kids to fall asleep on their own each in their own rooms. I don't care what B does after that, but he's certainly not allowed to come off his bed after I leave the room. In the meantime, K is still easy. She's still in her cot and sleeping bag. So she knows her routine when she sees these things.

O by the way, I don't let my children play in their own rooms during the day. Strictly for sleeping only.

Hi ky!

Will bring some Bratwurst and Frankfurters, ok? Will make dh go down to the market tomorrow morning to get some fresh ones and have them sealed in a bag. Should keep fresh till next Friday!

I can make a cold pasta dish, something easy for the kids, ok? Think the children might not take much bbq food either.

Yeah... we are just missing Pris here, the Chef de cuisine. DHL food to us, Pris, ok???
Otherwise, recipes will do too.

Hi Chloe's Mom!

I was just singing "Ants on the apple, a a a... " in the car when I went to pick up B from his camp. He was like, "Oh no, no, Mommy. You don't sing it. Let me sing it!" He loves it! He was asking me where we could find a CD of the song.

Funny thing was that he had to stop after each letter and asked me what was with B, and then C etc...

Hi ky!

Yeah, let's get our dh's to mingle.
hmmm, but what can get our dh's to do??? Get them to do games with the kids?
They can do "Simon says.."

Al would love to help with the starting of fire. But it looks like we might not be very punctual (hopefully, sevenish) coz his MY review schedule looks very tight. But as far as I know, Fri evening is the only evening that he doesn't have to attend a dinner meeting.

B sleeps between 1 hr to 1.5 hrs during nap. He'll sleep on his own for nap.

BUT when it comes to nighttime, daddy has to sleep with him and sneaked out after that. I tried to change that couple of weeks ago but it didn't work. Hubby's the one that's ok with this ritual, so what else can I say? And yes, he occasionally would wander out at 11+, 12+ to look for the daddy. We find it's ok for him to occasionally skip the nap. He'll be tired out by night and falls asleep faster or makeup for it during naptime the few days after. Perhaps it's because he goes to a half-day cc and then we cross the overhead bridge, take the bus and take a almost 10-min walk home, and then we'll do work or play for another 2 hrs ... all these would tired him out.

Meilan, like I told u b4, perhaps JK's school doesn't tired him out as much. Take a bath perhaps before nap might help, draw the curtains, put on nice soothing music.

.ky.

Hi Worry mum,

Ya i think diff PCF operates differently, cos i hv heard some PCF hv drama classes etc etc.

feed back to principle ? I did told the teachers before that if they can, they should give out notices to parents in bilingual format (cos some grandparents comment they dun noe how to read the notices *ya even thou it is for the parents*), but the teacher tell me "no choice leh, no one knows how to write in chinese" *sigh*

Some other feedback that i gave also met wif -ve response. now my dh even thinking of withdrawing him from school since he always sick and when he sick, the gal catch it, then see doc, then the bill end up more expensive then the school fees hahaha (that is wat he says) ..

I do give beef, but not all the time, cos beef is heaty (supposed so) and so many kind of it I also do not know use what part to cook what and it is also kind of expensive, esp the "stir fry beef".

Hi mommies!

See you next week in Sg!

I think the next time I post, it should be normal Sg time.

Gotta go finish up my season 3 of "Friends". My dh thinks I'm "Friends"-crazy now. But it reminds me so much of my single days... A little confession: I get into the Monica-cleaning-frenzy too, sometimes. So when I watch her now, I think about the times when I drove my room-mate (ermm, the more Rachel-type - You know what I mean) crazy during my uni days... haha!!!

Ermmm, you know, once there were a couple of Monicas around us that we even took out the fridge from the kitchen cabinet and cleaned the cabinet!!! Who bothers to do that??? But I was quite happy sharing the flat with these Monicas then.

Hi Jan and Kristin mom,

agree totally .. when single, i can walk from Tangs to Ngee Ann and even orchard down to robinson .. but with 2 kids in tow .. it will take ages to reach from these point A to point B.

Hi Kristin mom,

Early meh ? I do post before when my kids nap, which is usually 2 plus 3 to 4 or 4 plus ... so this post is not early lah.

Meet me next week? 2nd and 3rd jul is out, cos i just came bak from msia (gog to inlaw place tmr morning and bak monday morning), so will hv laundry and ironing to do, then maybe start to pack bit and pieces for the HK trip departing on 10th jul so that i know what i hv miss out and can buy during the weekend.

one of my SAHM friend is scheduled to come over on 6th afternoon to look at the bead jewellery pieces. I took beading classes last yr end and she wants to "learn" from me and say want to start online business wif me hehe. Do you want to drop by friday then ?

Friday is anyway a better day since the next day is non school day and my kids can then skip nap.

What do u say ?

Hi Meilan

re : Poll on nap

I also hv difficulty forcing my boy to nap .. funny thing is , if he does nap, he will not wake up automatically even after 1.5 hr and require me to wake him up, at times even had difficulty in waking him up. This give me an idea that he is tired but just want to play, so i still force him to nap.

However on the other hand, if i let him nap too long, he will hv difficulty sleeping at night, so usually i will wake him after 1.5 hr. if he skip his nap (at times I really give up, or do allow him to if he wakes late in the morning), i will force him to go bed latest by 9, and usually he is tired by then. And yes, he will be cranky, i just have to deal wif it, or use TV prog to pacify him.

it is no joke wasting time (of at least 30 mins) to force them sleep twice a day (nap and night sleep) when I had so little personal time liao .. but I also do not know if i shd take away the nap since pp do say children who sleep more, learns better.

Current arrangement is nap ard 2 plus 3 to 4 or 4 plus, night sleep ard 9 plus 10.

Hi serenade,

It is difficult to access the PA website, so i wrote to them asking if they hv courses for my 4 yr old and 2.5 yr old, but their reply is NO. haha bet they din do their job well. If I hv time i will do a good search myself.

It is actually a struggle for me, to enter them into enrichment classes. If it is weekday classes, i bet there are no classes that accomodates 1 adult and 2 kids. futhermore, my gal need the PM nap. If it is weekend, then it will take away precious time where the daddy can bring them and me out for some outdoor activities like cycling, or sand play etc.

hi Chloe,

Regret ? but JG standard and PCF standard sure differs right? that would justify for the price difference?

Aiya, still thinking of meeting Kristin mom on friday afternoon but din realise the BBQ is also same day. I cant confirm cos i hv friend coming. Anyway me and kids do not take the usual BBQ stuff. If i go, i dont hv any specialty to bring, only tabao outside. I think my dh will not attend, cos my dh is shy kind and do not really socialise. If make him go, he will end up watching over the kids while i yak away hahaha, but i do not want that to happen.

ok, cant confirm till later days.

Kristin mom,

I cant confirm my attendence for the bbq cos i hv friend coming over and not sure how long she will stay. Will cfm at a later date.

looks like i got to meet u some other day then friday then ? What time is your clementi polyclinic appt on 4th ? I m afriad my hse is not visitor friendly yet since i m away for the weekend. (but it is a good excuse for a lazy mother who does little to clean up the hse)

Sherlyn

PA website needs a login to get in now ... but ya, there isn't anything for 4 yrs and younger "officially". Are you looking for speech n drama or anything? 5 yrs ... then it becomes more happening at PA. actually at 4, I'll prefer the child attends a class independently. Can't someone babysit your gal while u bring your boy out for lesson? Have you considered joining the homeschooling group? They do go to interesting places and what a mother keeps telling me, some of these mothers bring 2 or 3 kids along

come come to the bbq. It'll be fun for the kids to do bbq. Shall I cook for your kids, coz I'll be doing that for my #2? Yes, tabao food also can ... hm, bring your bead jewellery too ... I wanna see, can? my hubby also quite shy too. well, it's bonding time for the father and kids too right while the SAHM gets a deserving break

K's mom, u doing a re-run with Friends?? I think I'm a Monica-type-of-person too ...

.ky.

ky (2a1c) - #2 not taking bbq food
2. serena (2a1c) - bringing fruit salad. Belle not eating.
3. kristin's mom (2a2c)
4. sarah (2a1c)
5. serenade (2a2c) - I think the timing ok for u right?
6. worrymum (??a1c) - come come ... u will have a good blood sucking session here with so many leeches. ya lor, so near only, take bus 307 and it will drop you outside my place.
7. meilan (???) - come come too

ky and kristin mom,

Looks like Kristin mom and ky is online now. me on msn ([email protected]) , but is gog to do packing for msia trip now.

I think search for courses no nid to sign in, but that website really very slow and when u drill into the individual course and want to "back" to the previous page, i will get stuck at the current page, so give up that time.

I cant join the homeschooling group cos i m not commited enough to contribute to the homeschool group. Also I do not homeschool my kids anyway. I have heard abt the numerous outings they hv, cos So Mei joins them.

thks for the offer to cook for them ky, but no thanks. They are very picky with their food and it seems that my gal is a "rice bin" (fan tong), cos she rejects verbally when i ask her if she want fried beehoon, fried noodles, chay kway tiao, etc etc, she will only point to her plate of rice (at dinner time that i ask) with vege and meat mixed inside.

My kids also usually have early dinner like 530 or 6, and since my friend is coming, we will be making sushi, so if my friend leaves early (usually she waits for her dh to fetch them after work which is ard 7) then i may turn up for the fun and my kids may take watever food as snacks lor.

I am really paranoid for my kids to join big group gathering, cos i really scare my kids do not behave themselve.

Kristin mom, I'm done with "friends" quite some time back. Now more of korean drama serials. Actor so handsome and actress so cute!!

Ky, my husband has decided to come but he's the lazy sort and won't bother to play much with the kids. As for socialise, I don't think he has a problem.

I can only reach around 7++, cause got to go back and pick my girl up.
Worry mum, you need a lift? Let me know, since you are also working. I think on the list, only both of us are FTWM right?
KY, need any help with the drinks? This BBQ got me so excited. Finally, can gather most of the FTWM and SAHM together.

ok almost done wif the packing. I forget to address on my bead jewellery. There are just course works, some half done, some badly done haha .. this time round lazy to bring leh .. furthermore, if i m there, i will prob be only there for a while, cos i reach there late and hv to get bak earlier to bath the kids (after so much playing with the other kids, sure sweaty) and i want to chit chat hehe .. maybe nex time u guys come my hse then see ?

Re: Poll on nap

It seems like most of your kids nap in the afternoon. That's so good! My kids do not have the luxury to nap in the afternoon as their school hours are 12 to 3pm. But they do turn in early in the night, at 8+ to 9 and wake up 12 hours later.

Sherlyn

PA has speech & drama class for their age. During school holiday, they have more courses for them. During the June holiday, I signed them up for 3 days S&D, doughnut making class and lollipop making class (this one for my girl only 5 yrs onwards).

Serenade
I have not decided what policies to buy for my boys. But I think I'll start with medishield first. At least it doesn't affect our cash too much since it's deducted from Medisave. As for other policies that requires cash, we'll need to do careful planning as we're not very well to do and DH is the sole bread winner. Doesn't want to put too much burden on him not forgeting his aging parent's expenses.

Sherlyn
Sorry
I'm not too sure abt the west as I'm staying in the east. Which CC is near to you? I can check for you

When next holiday approaching, I will inform you ya

Chloe,
It sure was a traumatic experience. Admitted 5 times with 4 surgeries.. I sure loss quite a lot of hair.. my hairdresser told me it's due to stress.. Hopefully, after this traumatic period, my hair will grow better and stronger.

I always told my relatives, KKH is a slimming center for mummies.. I've lost 5kgs since Feb. But, unfortunately.. I'm still on the "large" side.

Thanks sj.
Think this is the first time I saw your posting in forum. I have missed too much since Feb and thread has been moving so fast.

Sheryln,
seems like we're having the same problem. I am very afraid to bring my kids for gatherings. My two boys may start to scream and laugh at the top of their voice while the other kids are having "normal kid's" fun. When I brought them out shopping.. I'll need to drag them away to a quiet spot and lecture and make sure they follow instruction and behave themselves.

Joanne
I just joined the thread
I'm SAHM, no maid AND have to take care of 2 small kids and a big kid. So I try to come in when I can...

Haha.. sj
We're exactly in the same situation. Maid?? That's me lor!! Usually, the most problematic one is the big kid!!! I can't stand the way my kids play with my DH.. They can mess up the whole room by throwing pillows and bolsters around.. or run all around the house like mad dad and mad sons. All these will only stop when the angry yellow faced mother step in with a scream.. followed by a stare.

Hi Joanne,

hmm.. really sounds familar .. my kids (the young gal is as gung ho as the boy) also get carried away when they are having lots of fun, then hands and legs "move uncontrollably" .. so sometimes they bang into other pp and hurt the "normal kids" thus my frens always say i m so tense at gathering. How not to when i m their mother *sigh*.

Joanne
We are indeed in a similar situation, we are maid! Gagaga... But I'm the one that go crazy with them, playing hide & seek and catching in the house! Sometimes daddy will join in. The rules for them is, if they want me to play with them, then they must pack up thereafter.

sherlyn

Yah.. me too. Guess your kids are hyper active like mine. Sometimes, I'll just let them have 20 mins playground session to drain their high energy level.. after that, they'll be too tired to run and easier to control. It helps in better night sleep too.

You mean girl also so active meh? I always thought if any of my boy is a girl, life would be much easier..

Joanne, Sheryln and SJ...haahaa...I also have a big kid to take care of. So bring snack for a small kid I also buy for big kid.

Kai gets very excited when there are many kids and can get carry away haahaa.

Ladies, I which to join too but too far away....

Suggestion Menu:
Fishballs
Sausage
Prawns
Crayfish
Stingray
Oyster
Mussels
Satays
Beef steak - normal beef / short rib
Pork chop
chicken wings
Chicken chop

Salad - fruits/ vegetables with nuts
One cook vegetable - Broccoli with carrot and shrimp
Spaghetti
Bee hoon
chicken curry

These is the usual food we have for bbq when my family gathered with my mum's extended families with all cousins, uncle and aunts. And our kids are not good at eating salad yet so we have a good vegetable. Children love spaghetti and usually my aunt will also have fried nuggets, fried fish fillet and stuff for the kiddos.

Hi Sarah!

Now, you're gonna find this very funny again... like the last time...

Can't resist switching on my laptop... so here I am again, posting, haha!

Ok... I can see that grin on your face now!!!

Hi Serena!

I'm doing another re-run of "Friends". My dh and I finished Seasons 4-10 last year.

This year, my re-run starts right from Season 1.

Dh invested in this all 10 seasons DVD collection box for me last October. Am just making good use of his investments. Besides, it's always makes me happy to watch "Friends". And then I find myself talking like them too, haha!!!

Am wondering now if I should get all of "Mad about you" too.

Also, dh has been thinking about subscription to SKY coz I'm one big CSI fan here too...

Given what I can get here... KOrean dramas are a rarity. Are they the ones that make people cry sort?

Hi Sherlyn!

MIssed you online. I was posting but probably logged off too quickly even before I realised you were also online. "Friends" were calling out for me!

You all packed, I suppose.
Me, am still waiting till tomorrow. Can lah... I think I shall send my dh and kids out to the market tomorrow morning to get the sausages while I stay at home alone to pack... yeah, some peace for me to dump the things into the suitcase. Actually, I have been doing the packing in my mind already, if you know what I mean.

Appts at Clementi Polyclinic is at 1430hrs.
We can meet on Thurs afternoon too. Or now that you are going to the bbq, on Friday!!!

Drag your dh along. Perfect, if he just wants to watch over the kids. That will give you time to mingle. BEsides, if we really get the fathers to play games with the kids, the ice will surely be broken, right?

Oops... should I have a cause to worry too? My children will also get very excited when there are lots of kids around. But they only wanna play and have fun. As long as it's nothing dangerous, let them expend their energy. Anyway, let the Daddies entertain them and do some crowd-control there.

Hey Pris!

You, Chef extraordinaire, fly back to Sg next Fri, ok?
When are you going to back in Sg?
Any chance we might meet? Actually, the truth is when are you gonna cook for us? :p

The next trip for us will be in Jan 2008, first two-three weeks of the new year.

K's mum....CSI can be found on PPstream

We should be back in Singapore in late dec or early Jan next yr and if we are heading off again, probably be leaving in March but in between I am not sure whether dh planning to visit friends in HK or even Beijing.

We might be able to meet then...but I have no house to host anyone since we will either stay at my mum or my in-laws so if anyone can let me use the kitchen and help to get ingredient or do marketing together, sure why not.