(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

huh ... I don't plan to even have half of what Pris has listed for the bbq ... trying to keep it simple as I'm not involving hubby nor maid in this. sometimes getting a man who's very concerned abt food intake gets very argumentative for me ... but I think it's the company that makes the best ingredient

anyone keen on bringing watever Pris has listed let me know privately.

.ky.

KY...just get everyone to bring something so that you will not be so stressed up preparing.

Just shown dh and he mentioned that I missed out sotong haahaa.

What receipe you need?

Nap poll....Kai takes 2 -3 hour per afternoon after preschool and he sleeps at 10pm at late and gets up about 8.30 - 9am

Kristin mom, some korean show do make you cry but some are really funny! Always reminds me of courtship time. Do you know you can download CSI from the net? My crazy friend did just that!

Pris, if you are in town you can use my kitchen. I've got oven and microwave hardly use.

Ky, you are so lucky! Most guys usually don't bother what they eat. My husband has heart problem but he eat everything that he's not supposed to eat. Sigh!..

Serena...thanks for your opening up your place, sure will keep that in mind.

Lots of korean drama too.

KY, think your dh is like my dh too, he is very cautious about food too.

Hi Ky,
Re food. Perhaps you can list the food items you preparing? We'll bring whatever that's not in your list. Can??

All the kids eating BBQ stuffs, besides Keith & Belle?

1. ky(2a2c);
2. serena(2a1c) - fruit salad;
3. kristin's mom(2a2c);
4. sarah(2a1c) - can i reserve jelly??;
5. serenade(2a2c);
6. worry mum(2a1c);
7. meilan(2a2c);

Sarah, Jelly is a good choice. It's easy to make and cannot go wrong, just like my fruit salad. Ha..ha.. Eh.. that's one little problem. Ky has not posted her list of food yet! The list that we saw is from Pris, lah!

By the way, mummies what's your real name? I guess you gals won't have a problem sussing out mine.

1. ky (2a1c) - #2 not taking bbq food
2. serena (2a1c) - fruit salad. Belle not eating. 7+
3. kristin's mom (2a2c) - Bratwurst and Frankfurters. 7+
4. sarah (2a1c) - jelly
5. serenade (2a2c) - I think the timing ok for u right? <tba>
6. worrymum (??a1c) - <tba>
7. meilan (???) - <tba>
8. apricot (2a1c)

My list
=======
- drinks
- chicken wings
- satay
- otah
- fishball
- sausage
- corn
- meehoon
- utensil, charcoal, sauces, etc

btw, abt pri school, I went to one open house today ... really impressed, as in it's so so different from when I was a student. I'll love to be a student now ... so much more play and doing different things, but of course, they only showcase the good stuff

.ky.

Hi Serena,
Just realize we are from the same family!
Me not so 'eng' to make jelly(or agar agar) lah, I'm going to order.

Ky,
Thought we are having german sausages??

Btw, do you have to register for the open house? I thought of visiting one too. Which one did you go to? Can share?

sarah ... oh ya hor ... I was thinking of the list independently of what who's bringing out. will strike out sausage then

no need to register, but seems like not a lot of school have. this one is in CCK, and coz a neighbour told me abt it. there were a few openhouse today ... sorry I only saw it in a forum on it, coz next wk registration for P1 starts ... prob that's why

.ky.

Hi Sarah, ky!

Yes, yes... we are having sausages from Germany. Dh went and got us Bratwurst and Frankfurters already!
Fresh ones from the market!

K's mom,

I'll try to bring my two boys along if time allows.. Can't confirm yet. Will let you all know again. I'm hoping to meet you gals too. Was hoping Benny will get influenced by the "normal kids" and play normal..

Joanne, will be happy to meet your family at the BBQ. Is there any particular food that Benny cannot take?

Kristin mom, you're in Singapore? Can you take to the weather? You probably need time to get used to it. Especially hot these days. There's also the HFMD you need to be aware of besides the dengue fever. My friend's child got the HFMD after playing at an outdoor playground. I think the affected kid could have left his saliva there and my friend's kid could have touch that very same spot. If there's more rain, it would have helped to wash the playground equipment.

Serena,

Benny's not taking seafood and chicken. But most probably, I'll be giving them dinner before the BBQ (to play safe). Thou op site has recovered but there's a few layers of stitches inside which will take abt a month or more to recover. Can't afford to have pus collected inside again. But he'll be able to have some snacks like fruit salad and jelly etc.

1. ky (2a1c) - #2 not taking bbq food
2. serena (2a1c) - fruit salad. Belle not eating. 7+
3. kristin's mom (2a2c) - Bratwurst and Frankfurters. 7+
4. sarah (2a1c) - jelly
5. serenade (2a2c) - I think the timing ok for u right? <tba>
6. worrymum (??a1c) - <tba>
7. meilan (???) - <tba>
8. apricot (2a1c)
9. Joanne (?a2c)

Ky,

Can you pm me your address. My hubby may not be tagging along so I may have to find my own way there. Thank you.

I wonder how my boys will react with your kids' company. Think most of your darlings are Eng speaking but my Bryan is total Mand and Benny, full pail of Mand and half pail of Eng..

Then we'll see what we call "ji tong ya jiang" hehe..

Joanne,
HAHAHA... bingo.. My Benjamin is exactly the same as your Benny and Bryan.. So no worries, if we go.. they can be together...

KY,
I am thinking that .. for FTWM, can we share the cost? Cos we are unable to prepare any dishes. TIA..

Anyone keen in ballet class for 3 to 4 years old kids? I send my gils for trial class last Saturday. The class was full.

The teacher said she could open a new class as long as there are 5 kids? I prefer Monday 6pm class. Any of you would like to join?

There will be additional discount up to 15% for chicky club member, we can talk about that once we get 5 to start the class.

Following is more information on the school.

http://www.dancepointe.com.sg/

Hi Joanne, thks for offer of your bil contact. I've someone from AIA too but haven't submitted for underwriting yet cos am worried that will be declined again.

Hi ky, yah my GEL agent tried to ask for exclusions instead of total reject but the underwriter said no. She suggested going to NTUC Income but I just wanted to be sure which insurance company will be more 'accomodating' to medical conditions. It's just for shield plan only..

Hi Sarah, open house is open to public and no pre-registration required, can do it at the door. Most pri schools have open house these few weekends. Look out for banners at schools. I went to one last sat too, more like family day and good chance to bring kids to see the school compound and facilities.

Jan

No harm trying. It's always more assuring to get a medical coverage. I didn't think so before but we've lernt a very good lession thru Benny's cyst. Right now, my medisave is $0.00 and my DH has no CPF contribution. Guess I'll have to start work next yr to earn back my medisave and stop when Benny turn 7.

Worry mum

Have you ever heard Benjamin attempting to communicate in Eng? My Benny was angry with my Malay neighbours for taking his toys without his permission and we've got a good laugh when he tries to talk to them in Eng.. Think he's loss in words and kept on repeating "I angry you already".. Hahaa..

Hi ky, not sure if cck are better than yt pcf. My girl is in toh yi pcf actually. Ha ha yeah the classrooms are always closed up. I think the aircon is alright and she didnt complain (she gets cold easily). Do your two boys play together? My girl prefers to play with me than her little sister actually.

Hi Kristins mom, I think allen morris sells the CD http://www.morris-allen.com.sg/merchandise.htm. I am so tempted to buy it

Hi Sherlyn, your boys teachers to students ratio is good! I think you are right, JG standard should be better. I enrolled my girl in the mandarin edudrama, cos she is like a banana, she speaks (if any) mandarin with an ang moh accent.

Chloe: Yes yes JG chinese edudrama is very good ! the teachers there are all really nice. My girl started when she was almost 2 yo , that time she was attending twice weekly Mandarin playclub!

Hi Kristin mom,

As I typing this, i believe you have touched down and had a good rest.. or maybe even online at this forum now.

I just reach home this evening cos we detour to visit my dh's granddad who is hospitalised in kluang.

i hv loads of post to catch up (reading first in, first out mode) so my replies to some post maybe late or redundant.

i m not confirmed on the BBQ cos not sure wat time my friend will leave. U guys still dun noe i m afriad of my dh, cos he brings back the bacon .. so since i noe he is not really into meeting socially i usually dun engage him, unless it is mutual friends. will c how his mood that friday. And if i need him to go, i will reach there like 8 plus! cos he reaches home ard 730 latest.

Joanne,

My kids, when play with "normal kids" still react "unnormally" *sigh*

and dun worry, my kids are the half pail chinese half pail english ones too, cos at home i spoke to them mostly in mandarin and they watch english programs. most impt, the mother also half pail chinese half pail english/singlish.

KY....BBQwholesale is good, the last bbq with my dh's side was ordered from BBQwholesale and other my family's side, my aunts and mum prefer to buy the fresh stuff from markets and marinate them.

Joanne & Sherlyn...Kai gets crazy too when there are too many children to play with him.

Talk about insurance, Kai got his health and endownment insurance from AIA. Think I will get another for him from NTUC when we are back for good.

wow wow, what a fun BBQ it will be!

i'll miss seeing all of u! remember to take pictures of the group and post it on our blog so i'll know who's who the next round ;)

hi k'm mom
welcome back home! so what have ya' been busy with?

hi sherlyn
when are u heading for HK? Thanks for offering to get me stuff, and yes, i do need something, please take lotsa pictures to show me! ;)

Morning everyone..

Finally, Benny's back in school. With Bryan still with my in laws, I'm feeling very bored at home..

I've told Benny about the BBQ gathering on Fri and he sounds so keen and excited over it. He's asking me every morning.. "am I meeting my friends (your darlings) today?"

I may not be bringing Bryan along as he is having very bad cough and still recovering from flu.. don't want him to pass all the unwanted bugs to your ds and dd..

K's mom

you're soooo quiet... very busy with all the meetups?? Weather has been very very hot.. Drink more water and take care!!

Hi serena
Yep, moi did the shoes for Mel, it was fun but the result can be better, i want to do another pair but those shoes are not cheap, i got mine at $12.

Hi moshi, post your finished shoes here. Let us have a look. I've got my shoes for $10 in the market. Not much difference.

hi Moshimoshi,

HK, schedule to leave on 10th Jul 11 flight, but now my dh's granddad condition is not improving and the current hospital want him change to a hospital in melaka. dh say, if his condition does not improve, we will cancel the HK trip *sigh*

Hi mommies!

Yeah! we are back in Sg!

We are still adjusting to the time, the punishing heat, and sleep.

So far, I've had some time off thanks to my parents who readily jumped in to babysit the kids for me. Met up with some friends on the first night, and caught up with some colleagues yesterday, it being a school hol.

B is adjusting pretty well, finally took his nap today. He should be quite over with his jet lag by tomorrow, whereas K is the difficult one who doesn't want to drink much and doesn't sleep at the normal time. Kind of worrying coz lack of sleep and fluid... sigh! Hopefully, I'm just worrying unduly and she'll be well-adjusted by tomorrow.

Tomorrow's the health assessment at the polyclinic. And I've got loads of laundry to do now... and still need to go back to our own flat to pick up a box of toys for the kids. So fortunately, we didn't really arrange to meet any earlier. i really need some time to settle stuffs.

Looking forward to Fri bbq!

See you all then!

Hi Kristin mom,

I hope u are online to read this ..

it make no sense not to meet u when u are so near me tmr .. i stay near the clementi polyclinic. so I am thinking of meeting u b4 your appt at mcdonalds while the kids have ice cream treats.

However, one very big concern is that both my kids are still having flu (how can i not mention earlier!) since last wednesday (I am only giving them Horamine at night)... so I don't think i will be gog to the BBQ this friday and for tmr's meeting, its your call. If your kids have very strong immune system and can meet up, then u can contact me, else .....

actually i am thinking .. if time of your departure is in the weekday pm, we could hv another round of gathering at Changi airport, at the swensons that has a kid's playground outside.

oh .. so Kristin mom is really online here .. You have only been here for a few days and u had loads of laundry liao ah ... same leh, i still have 3 types of laundry to be done, one kind a day (provided good weather) which means i'll only clear them by friday! I still have half of the ironing left over from today afternoon session (that explains why i m not online earlier)

busy busy .. cant imagine what will it be like to accumulate almost a week's laundry after the HK trip ..

ky,

I just went to hv a look at the gym video that you posted. Looks nice and fun .. some of the mothers in the southwest playgroup went to a gym in toa payoh, which i think is a little too far and it seems very strict (after reading abt it from the website).

A pity that the pre level (which I believe would be the one JA attending if he signs) is available only weekday nights and saturday evening (which is the kids' dinner time).

What time slot is Ben attending? Is he also in pre level?

oo .. still early , no post ..

btw, can i find out from all the artistic mommies here how do i use oil pastel ? I hv them but i dun noe how to use them ..

Also, when i give my kids asparagus, there will be a funny smell when they urinate. Is this so for your kids too ?

May I ask, when you guys talk abt "reader", do you all mean those books that states "early reading for ...." and has different levels ?

sorry, so many questions early in the morning .. has been in my mind for a long time .. okie gog to fetch my boy ..

Thanks for your help.

Sherlyn

B's gym is the first level. don't know exactly what's his level call. and yes, the gym is only available on weekday nights and sat evening. Though my hubby's very strict abt dinner time, this is an exception.

If you don't mind me sharing this. I believe as parents, we've to learn how to adapt to environment and make the best of it. For eg, I pick up driving again despite getting very bad scolding from hubby when I first took over his manual car. U know how car is a 2nd wife to some man? well, that's to my hubby. I never have the courage to drive despite getting a license 10 yrs ago. Imagine that I had to use a carrier to bring B to his nanny's place each day when he's ard 1 yr old when hubby was overseas as I couldn't drive, and B was over 10kg and I never have a strong back. We worked towards getting an automatic car, and overcame that. I guess what I'm trying to say is don't always look at the negative side of things. B loved taking the MRT rides and I had a good carrier, huh, and sometimes I get kind singaporeans who gave seats to me ... if the kids like to run around, let them run... it seems like you are always worried abt your kids being a nuisance for not behaving themselves ... take it easy ... I think what kids want is just fun and they do not know that what they are doing may be inappropriate, but in who's opinion that it's inappropriate? Sometimes I look at how fortunate we are to have kids ... some people could never get what we have here. So do be positive, and make the best of it.... hope u don't mind me being frank here. but do continue to share your difficulties, we are here to hear and support each other.

.ky.

Hi K's mom
Do get enough rest yourself too, weather's indeed punishing, drink drink drink.
I won;t be seeing u on Fri, let's arrange something else another time.
Hey lucky woman, so where are u going for ur honeymoon with hub?

Hi Sherlyn
Yep, readers refer to graded books, often with repeated sentence structure.
Can i check how much u are paying for PCF kindy?
My hub refuses to believe that it's close to $150 per mth.

Hi worrymom
Rem to give a great big smile for the camera on Fri, will see u in photo first, u have fun yah.