(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

HI Worry mum, I'm not a SAHM but a FTWM.
hope one day will be a SAHM

Hi Sherlyn

you a Canon fan too? We used to be ... go to www.dpreview.com to check out the reviews. My Ixus is 5 megapix and the new SLR is 10megapix. what the difference btw that and a SLR? hm, I'm no expert but to me, I like that the photos taken with an SLR has better skin tone ... more real and vibrant, and I love to take close-up shots and like K's mum said, close-up shots taken with my Ixus goes blur ...

4Chongchong, I know what you mean by hate-to-work-but-still-have-to... but think of it positively, not many people enjoys a part-time work .... n lucky u, got to go off for a month. I've a home-based-job that I'm just keeping it for keeping-it-sake, not bcos I love the job ... but if u intend to have some level of job satisfaction, then perhaps you should seek for other job opportunity like Serena said.

St james is along holland road right?

.ky.

What have you plan for the kids during this school holiday? For me, I signed them up for classes at the community club. I enrolled them in the doughnut making class and speech & drama. For my older girl, I also signed her up for the lollipop making class. You can check the programmes that they have thru the website http://onepa.gov.sg

Worry Mum

Thanks for updating
I'm a SAHM in the east.

Serena,

I have blood cyst before i conceive my 2nd boy. Tried when my elder turn 2 till i gave up and approach my gynae. He found several small cyst inside and 2 huge blood cyst. (1 explore shortly). My womb swell like mad..up to 5 times the normal size (according to my gynae). My gynae recommended treatment by medications and jabs (double dosage)with surgery as the last option. My blood cyst disappear after 5months of treatment and i got pregnant almost immediately.

Don't worry about it...everything will be fine.

Hi Serena,

Don't worry too much abt the ops .. there's a saying similar to "nothing is more painful then a childbirth experience" :)

Hi Kristin's mom and ky,

I don't think i m a canon fan. Our first digi cam was a sony but later change to canon, then now we dare not change cos we had many canon compact flash memory cards. Was tempted by a lumix too, but it doesnt use Compact flash card leh.

However, both of your comments really make me think shd i give up my compact flash cards and change to lumix. What would you hv done ?

I do hv the blurr pictures problems too, but i also think it shd be due to kids moving when the pictures are taken .. shdn't it not ? infact, they are really moving when i click the button. Do you both means that lumix or canon SLR can give a clear picture even if the subject is moving? But then again, all new cameras has the sports mode , or kids mode. wouldnt those modes be helpful in capturing moving kids?

Sorry I had so many qns.

erm, i hv some questions here on baking .. anyone can help ? There was a sponge cup cake recipe i got that will yield cup cakes like those of crystal jade. It uses paper cup as a mould. I am wondering would all paper cup withstand high oven heat? I only come across paper cups from daiso. Would I be able to reuse the paper cups ?

There are also recipes that require the dough to be freeze for a while before getting cut and baked. Is there clingwrap that is for freezer or i can use any clingwrap? I can't find clingwrap for freezer purpose only in NTUC wor.

Any regular bakers ? *hee I m newbie in baking*

Many many thanks in advance.

Hi mommies!

I'm finally back in Sg! Phew, it's really hot here!

Great to see this thread buzzing! Looks like I have to spend some time scrolling through the archives. And boy, there are so many more new mommies. A big welcome to you all!

Hi Moshimoshi,
How's the weekly activities for the kids? We are pretty tight this week. But next week should be fine. So, any programme for next week, Programme Manager? :p

Managed to read some of blogs. Now I get to know the beautiful kids but where are the pretty mommies? And worrymom, thanks for updating the table! Otherwise, I'll be so lost!

Hi Kristins_mom,
How's the weather at your side? France was experiencing some heat wave the day we left. Oh yes, we managed to survive through the 13 hours of flight from Paris to Sg without much hiccups. But the kids are still having some jet lag. Will Bryan attending the summer camps? Haha, don't you look forward to Sept where both will be in school? Precious peaceful time... How's your NPL, has it been settled? Just recalled that 2 teachers I knew managed to extend their NPL beyond 2 years; one stayed in France for 2 yrs and 9 mths. Another - abt 2.5 years.

Hi ky,
How's the gym that Ben is attending? We are thinking of enrolling Brandon for gym too. He's bugging us for gym classes so that he can do somersaults "legally". Oh yes, abt the books - I can drop by your place to pick them up. Email me, will you? Were you from graduation class'88? If so, we could have been school mates. Hey moshimoshi, thought you were two years younger than me...

Hi Sarah,
Have you signed Hannah up for JG Edudrama? We just settled the two kids'JG classes yestereday. But mostly likely, we will discontinue the classes after Brandon completes Term 3.

Hi Sherlyn,
Still staying up late? Think I'm be like you soon

Hi 4ChongChong,
Are you still staying at Hillview? I moved there only in 2002. Prior to that we were staying in Bt Batok East Ave 3.

Okie, need to run errands now. I'm still internet-uncontactable yet. My connection will only be activated after 19 June. So, bear with me if I don't seem to be replying

Hey Serenade,
Welcome back home! And yes, we miss having you around.

Moshi and I have met up twice during the hols. Arts & craft shopping, and yesterday, to the zoo. It was great fun! Yeah, we should arrange something next week.

We were thinking of BBQ before sch reopens. Tentative date Friday 22 Jun. Any mommies keen to join?

Hi Sarah,
BBQ sounds great! Count me in
Can't wait to meet up with everybody

Hi Apricot,
How are your babies doing? Wow, it must be exciting to see them soon. One month to go, right?

And all the May mommies,
Happy Belated Birthday!

Hi Pris,
Expecting more travelling soon?

Hey Anxin, you should ask Pris about your baking "concerns". She's a really good baker. Didn't you see her photos? She not only can bake but knows what to do with remaining dough and ingredients! I probably would have just dump it away or keep it for future use. But not her, she use it to whip out a few more cakes!!

Sarah, I thot Moshi was organising some lunch on 24th June? BBQ abit too much work? I mean the cleaning & everything? You think pot luck would be better? Hmm.....where's Moshi? Haven't seen her posting.

Serenade: welcome back! yes, yes,I am still at Hillview, moved in 2002 too! by the way, which condo are you staying? I am at hillington Green, dont' tell me you are my next block neighbour!

Serena & ky: i know wat you mean, it's not easy to find good boss who actually allow part-time, and she actually allows me to part-time since i had Charlene till now. I must say i won't be able to find a job like this, so a bit reluctant to quit. My hubby thinks that I can do meaningful things at work, as in helping patients ( fyi : i am a pharmacist.. so if you need any medicine advice, feel free..keke ) I have very good colleagues as well, the only thing I hate is the crowd and long hours ( I work 29 hours per week ). I am also exploring working from home, set up a cart selling kids toys, set up on line business etc, but no courage to set up lor, scare no business haha... i tried to have open house selling kids clothes last year with a very good friend, till now we still have some left over clothes, anyone keen? I can sell you all cheap cheap hahah...
Serenade: you also enrolled your kids at JG? whcih branch?? my girl is at Evans road branch every Sat, the english edudrame 12.30 to 2pm, the teacher is very good.
Ky: St James is at Harding Rd, near Dempsey road. where do you put your kid? It used to be at Hollnd rd the church but now moved to Harding a nicer environment.
I also send my girl to Super Power Kids at St James church every Sunday, this is a very well organised prog, and the kids really enjoy the programme. If anyone keen to go, let me know, then we can meet and go for cuppa at Holland V ok.

Hi Meilan,
Where are you??

Hi Serenade,
Nope, I did not sign Hannah for the course. Decided that I'm too lazy to travel to town. What makes you change your mind re JG? How was the kids' first lesson?

BBQ sounds good, if it's morning we can make it, since Charlene has her piano at 1.30pm.

Sherlyn: I also recently picked up baking, and i baked some muffins last week, quite successful for me
if you want the receipe, i can give you.

Hi Serenade!

Yeah... I'm gonna miss chatting with you online while the kids are napping. But being a night-owl, I guess you'll still be up when the kids are asleep?

Weather in Frankfurt has been up and down. Last week, it was barely 15, and today it's 26 deg again.
We'll be leaving for London tomorrow. The last trip before we head back to Sg at the end of the month. We've been travelling every fortnight since Easter. The kids in the meantime have got into a travel routine too. We've been sleeping quite well all together in one bedroom.

Legoland was fabulous! If only your family could still join us for the last trip... I think Brandon and Cheryl would be able to enjoy many of the rides. And the queues... very managable. SOmetimes we even went on for a second round. Read the blog.

As you can see, Bryan has yet to go for his summer camp. We only sign him up for four weeks. 2 before we go back to Sg, and 2 after we come back from Sg.
Now, I'm enjoying my stress-free days of not having to drop off/pick up Bryan in school, and also not having to pack lunch for him every school day. Quite nice actually. But still, I can't find time to do the things I wanna do with him, like phonics or writing. Gee, guess I'm just lazy to the bones... haha!

Can't wait to be back in Sg so that we can catch up again.

It's official now: We'll be putting up in Dover View Park. Yeah!

4chongchong,

St James has always looked appealing to me as a kindergarten. The environment, both physical and spiritual.

Harding Road, isn't that still somewhere tucked away in the Holland area? Correct me, if I'm mistaken.

Hee, glad to know that we have a pharmacist among us. Right here in Germany, we've been self-medicating a whole lot coz docs usually don't prescribe any antibiotics unless absolutely necessary. So with flus/colds, only the symptoms are treated...

ok gtg... husband's back to relieve shift... can finally go chop off my hair!!!

hi Kristin's mum: yes I only enrolled Charlene to st james this year, and i think I made the right decision, she is so happy there, and everyday looking forward to school. I must say the school has done very well in terms of play and acedemic! She has improved alot esp in her phonics!
Harding road is near Dempsey, you know opp botanic garden there'a always a stall selling durians, that's where you turned in.
Haha.. talk about self medicating, I do that all the time! But at home i have another expert for consult, ie my hubby.. haha...

Just drop by. Just manage to scroll up to read alittle.

And welcome to all the new mummies.

Serenade...wow...you are back in Singapore already. Yes, planning for more travelling since ds's is going to have school holiday soon after 25 June for 2.5 months till September.

I am planning for some trekking trips and some friends also organising picnics so lots of activities during this period.

Lots of sorting of photos for the last trip too.

KY...I just used butter, icing sugar and food colouring for the icing. What we do is agar-agar haahaa. What you saw on the photos, we just use 3 tbsp of butter but I do not know how much icing sugar since we add until the texture is rite and then a drop of food colouring. Will find out the exact amount when I do it the next time since dh is not into sweet stuff so have been baking cupcakes without icinig but variety such as rasin, almond, walnuts, bitter chocolate etc.

Seem like we have a couple of premature children here. Kai was a month premature.

KY, Sheryln...you are into camera too? We are planning to buy another camera that has wide lens.

Sheryln... for baking I also agar agar and those recipes that I have sent you, I have tested them and modified them already and they worked well for me. As for papercups for baking, I do not reuse them.

I am not a great baker, just someone who loves food. So now, I have to start my regular exercise programme haahaa.

Trying to update more of my blog so that I can add in all the Alberta Photos but having some visitors as well as farewell party for a couple of swiss friends.

hi 4chongchong!

So your dh is a doc, I suppose.

Hmmm, isn't St James a bit far then from Hillview? Does your daughter take the school bus?

Btw, how are the fees like over there?

Well, not that I'm planning to be back soon anytime. But it will be good to know.
Coz if school bus is available, St James isn't too far from where we live then. Just across the Tanglin area for us.

Mummies, how about pot luck on Friday night instead 22nd June? So that FTWM can also join in. BBQ abit of a hassle and the parents cannot really sit down and chat. Don't you think? Unless there's one kind mummy here who would be willing to book it and organise it? Anyway, I don't have BBQ pit at my place (mine's a HDB). Waht say the mummies?!

Hi Serenade ... nice to hear from you... where's your permanant new home?? The books haven't come in yet ... soon soon, I'm told.

Gym which Ben attends is at Hwa Chong Institution, Junior Gym Club. we are there every sat evening... first trial is free and monthly fees is $60 ... oh yes, somersaults and plenty of other stuff are "legal" there. Ben and Keith do their somersaults at home; just watch their neck and head carefully. Graduation? Meaning Sec 4? haha ... nope, not '88.

4chongchong : wow, 29 hrs per week and you work Mon/Tue? That's a lot for 1 day's work.... u can get medication cheaper too :> I wanted to get one medication sometime ago but no need now ... oh yes, clothes pls. got pixs? would like to get some for my #2. He's wearing korkor stuff most of the time and his clothes are mostly off-shoulders coz they are simply too big! he and korkor are on opposite end of the size spectrum at this same age.

I think a good fren's girl is at St James ... your girl is at the mid-day session? My fren's girl is Rachel. This big-eyed girl, think her hair could be still short.

Hi Pris, thx. Forgot you baking expert ... your agaration would result in me putting in too little. I'm bad at agaration. But I'll try out.

Sarah, I'm keen on a bbg. Actually have been toying with the idea of getting the kids to do bbq but just have not got the time to do something abt it. If on, it'll be at your place? I need min 30 mins to get to your place so will try my best to come and would just be me and ben. Or if you folks are willing to come over to CCK, I'm willing to host.

.ky.

KY...think Judy's daughter Rachael is now at Star of the Sea (Maris Stella Kindergarten) at Holland too but not in St James anymore, I think if I am not right.

hey serenade!!!!
ai yo, miss u lots. welcome home!!!
so how did u survive the weeks without us, bet u read more to the kids, watched more TV!

oh yes, BBQ at Sarah's on 22june, u must come!

before that, we can probably do something on 15 june, anyone has suggestions?

hey K's mom
when will u be back?
we also want to fix a date to meet u!

hi serena
which friday were u referring to? we usually gather at sarah's, yep, can do BBQ there. let's hear what the rest say.

hey serenade!!!!
ai yo, miss u lots. welcome home!!!
so how did u survive the weeks without us, bet u read more to the kids, watched more TV!

oh yes, BBQ at Sarah's on 22june, u must come!

before that, we can probably do something on 15 june, anyone has suggestions?

hey K's mom
when will u be back?
we also want to fix a date to meet u!

hi serena
which friday were u referring to? we usually gather at sarah's, yep, can do BBQ there. let's hear what the rest say.

oh serena, forgot to add that if we can get all the men there, they can do the cooking and the running after of kids, we just sit pretty, chat and chew on chicken wings keke

a big welcome to new mommies.

hi sj
lolliop making? what fun! did u sign up early, classes conducted by CCs sell like hotcakes.
post some pix to show us.

hi 4chongchong
great! we have an in house 'doctor' here!

St james reminds me of st james power station, what a 'hip' kindy, haha

hi moshi2!

With all the gatherings and outings going on, I just wanna hop onto the next flight and be home sooner...

But this afternoon's flight is to London.

We'll be touching down on Jul 1, and flying off Jul 21.

Yeah, let's fix a date to meet up now. Dun seem like any PH in between.

Hi Serena,

I know Pris is a great cook and great baker too .. infact, she has been teaching me alot abt cooking and baking long before me being active in this forum .. but it is so much easier to direct questions to the open and get as much help as i can since i m so new to baking.

Hi 4ChongChong

I have heard that muffin is one of the easy thing to start wif so i also tried out on muffin .. but then my muffin rises inside the oven and collapse slightly when cool .. at times it cracks on top, at times had hard crusts at the side .. As I seldom eat muffin, i really do not know if i hv baked them correctly (as in taste) .. maybe u bake some and bring to gathering for me to try

thanks for offering your recipe .. i think i will stick to my simple one first .. hope i can do baking better cos am sick of buying cakes and my kids love them.

Hi Pris,

have been thinking abt a lighter camera since beginning of this yr, but i always think alot before $$ commitment haha so now still thinking. Wide lens = wide angle ? which one are u aiming at ? Always wanted a SLR but i m not a pro, not even a beginner pro, so i think better stick to fool proof point and shoot lor :-(

Thanks for helping me so much in cooking and baking .. btw, does it means that all paper cups can withstand heat from oven ?

talk abt exercise .. I think i desperately need some discipline on this :)

BBQ
Date: Fri, 22 Jun
Venue: Either at ky (Choa Chu Kang) or Sarah (Upper Changi)
Time: 6pm / 7pm?

Meilan - What about the open space in SK?

Interested mommies, please sign up.

1. moshi
2. sarah
3. serenade
4. ky

Moshi,Serenade,
How about brunch on 15th? We could go to some child friendly restaurants, the kids can play and we can chat?

Hey Moshi,
Hannah never taught me that game! And she has been asking me when will she see Mel & Henry again.

Hi Sarah,

Next Friday sounds fabulous! I can bring along Brandon and leave Cheryl with the dad, hehe... Let's meet and chat non-stop :p

The kids will be starting JG classes in Term 3, think on 30th June. As Brandon will be attending Chiltern House, I was advised that there's no need to send him for JG activities cos the activities are already incorporated in the school's curriculum.

Hi 4ChongChong,
What a coincidence! We are staying at Hillington Green too. Heehee, maybe we can exchange more info offline

And this is the second coincidence! My kids will be attending classes at Evans Road on Saturdays too. But they are attending the 9am sessions.

Think we should meet up since we are staying so near

Hi moshimoshi,
Yup, you bet! Really miss chatting with you gals!Well, we didn't get to do much during the last few months, except for more TVs
And now, we are busy packing our Sg house, but with great pleasure
. Though I hope I can start doing something with the kids soon... So, how abt the toastmaster, book sharing sessions etc? Oh yes, I'm looking forward to your arts and craft sessions!

Hi Ky,
Thanks for the info. I am really paranoid whenever they do somersaults. Sometimes, I can feel my heart stop beating when I see them doing somersaults. Hopefully, with the gym classes, he can do the somersaults with more expertise.

Maybe I can pay you the money first? Really paiseh, it has been so long and payment still not made :p

Hi Sheryln,
Will add you to msn and yahoo once I'm connected. Life is a bit weird without internet. Haha, no problem with staying up late but must watch for dark circles. Brandon was asking me why it looks green under my eyes

Hi Serena,
Thanks for offering to make the name tags! Bet that will make my life a lot easier. My memory board has limited capacity nowadays

Hi kristins_mom,
Don't worry, we can also arrange time to chat up online. I'm pretty flexible with sleeping hours. Just need to be more cautious with dark circles.

Hey, guess I have told you a zillion times that you have been doing a great job! Gee, I have also been a lazy mommy lately, hehe... There are still many areas that Brandon has to brush up too. Gosh, now you are starting to stress me... Hey, I don't have an American system to fall back on leh...

I took a quick glance at your blog. Geez, if only if we have met earlier, we would definitely travel to Germany! Think my kids would go crazy over those rides. If only, haiz... Oh well, we still have lots of stuffs to do in Singapore. Can't wait for you to join us now. I'm sure we can come up with a lot of fun activities, especially with your energy level :p

Alright, got to run again...

<font color="119911">Hi Everyone</font>, my tummy getting bigger and bigger and the comfort thing is someone told me I do not really look preggie from my backview. Daytime at work is still fine but come evening time, many discomforts eg severe heart burn so I doubt I will join the BBQ.

<font color="ff6000">A warm welcome to all new mummies here.....</font>

Hi 4ChongChong,
I will be very interested in the clothes you have. Do u have baby clothes or kid clothes ?
Any brands ? We may be in Bukit Timah SC this weekend to confirm maid employment and perhaps arrange meet u see the clothes. Let me know what time & where you avail to meet me.

Hi 4ChongChong,
Need advice from u
We also self medicate Aston for mild cough and running nose by giving him Bricanyl and Rhinathol. Even when he develops more cough with phlem and running nose, we still continue the two medicines. Hope to hear from u if these are ok self medications.

It's been a hectic for the past mths and i almost MIA.

my 1-yr O nephew is diagnosed of Leukemia AML, which is a very rare type of Leukemia and he is probably the youngest sufferer of this diseases. He has to undergo Chemotherapy and I do not know how this small boy can "tahan" it.

Thank God that it was detected early when my nephew went for his routine blood test. If you are interested to know more about this diseases, click on the below link.

http://www.nuh.com.sg/_kids/files/patientEducation/Patient%20Education_Childhood%20Leukemia.pdf

first of all, KeiKei, will keep your nephew in prayers, to be honest, Leukemia in kids if diagnosed early and get treated, very good recovery, I am sure he will be ok. Which hospital is he at ? I know my husband wrote to someone at NUH before to help a friend to ask about this treatment, and the prof was very sure the recovery rate is high! May I know are they Christian? our church has healing service every Thursady, may be can invite them?
Serenade: Hehe.. WE MUST MEET!!! Which block are you at?? dont tell me we are staying at the same block and I will faint! *****

Initally Charlene was at the 9am class but guess wat the first lesson I nearly fainted because the teacher is VERY VERY poor standard, I was so disappointed till I had to complain to the head of the division managed to get them to change the kids to the 12.30 class although we preferred the 9am class, by the way, there's another lady at 9am class also from Hillington Green, her name is Lily but unfortunately when I changed my handphone, her no got deleted and I lost touch of her. Now the 9am class I think they changed another teacher seems ok. Charlene 12.30 class teacher is very nice, a very confident lady, her name is Sam.
ky: I am working part-time 29 hours, but I am working four days lah.. haha.. don't get me wrong.. Monday adn Tuesday I work 8.30 to 6.30pm so very long hours, wed and Thursday I work till 2pm so I can have time with my girl. Sure I can help to buy med with discount, no prob at all. I have been doing this for my neighbour, friends and friend's parents! haha.. sometimes the skin products like therapeutic also have 20 % discount I think. In fact i was going to organise a bulk purchase for crocs shoes and see if I can get good discount from suppier. Currently I can get 20% from my pharmacy if anyone keen?
Sherlyn: the muffin is really easy to make, you can give it a try, If i can, I am sure you can too.
Kristin's mum: I am very lucky, my neighbour's two girls also at st james, so early morning I will drop the 3 girls at school since it's on the way to my work place and she will pick them up at 11.15am since she is not working. St james has school bus in fact they have many school buses to cover many areas, so the kids don't have to travel tat much. One term ( 12 weeks ) about S$600 . But the waiting list is very long, so if you intend to put your kids there, have to register fast ok.

Apricot: first of all, usually I don't give Charlene any med if she has mild running nose or cough because all these meds only treat symptoms, and most of the time it's viral, so after a few days, they will be ok. Unless the cough is really bothering her sleep, I will give some cough mixture, again depend on wat time of cough, with phlegm or without. If it's with phlegm, usually I will give the fluimicil 100mg sachet, you can buy from pharmacy, dissolve in water and let her drink. Rhinathol also can but Bricanyl is more for severe cough with wheezing, if i am not wrong, it's prescription item. I wont recommend for mild cough lah. For running nose, depend on how old is the kid because recently HSA retricts a few drugs to children below 2 yo. Hope that answers your questions.
As for the clothes, we have only POLO RL left, and mostly for girls, think a few for 2 yo, then 4 or 5 yo, then swimming trunks for boys 8yo. All imported from US. We are willing to let go as cheap as S$15 at a loss, since we just want to get some money back instead of the clothes sitting in the cupboard.

4ChongChong, my cousin believes that his son will b healed by the blood tat was shed for him. Tks for keeping him in prayers. I wish my dd doesnt need med too but it seems difficult bcos she has pretty sensitive nose and narrow airway. she takes longer time to recover as compared to other kids.

Sarah/ky, is the BBQ session open to kids too? if so, it may nt b ez to hv BBQ and chasing after kids at the same time.

I enroled dd for speech and drama holiday camps. Wdr if i shd sign her up for more short courses so that she will nt waste her time in front of TV. Do u hv any suggestion / lobangs?

most of the school hol prog is on first and second week, I know JG only have a few prog on third week. Not sure about Lorna Whiston.
Let me know if you find out any prog that runs in third or fourth week. thanks

Hi Sarah,

Brunch is fine with me (accept that my kids might give up the food for the fun), but i think I will give the bbq a miss ..

Usually how early will the brunch start ? cos i still need to go home for my gal's naptime.