(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Re : Concerns on Reading / Writing
I'd like to do a poll on whose kids can read and write.... can kindly help?

ky: Benedict's starting to know phonics. can't read. Starts to write but need tracing, and wobbly if without.

Apricot: Aston can write better with tracing on small caps letters, big caps letters, numerals and yi to shi and his English name. Without tracing, still can recognise what the words are but as you says they will be wobbly.
He can't read now but enjoy me reading to him. He recognise pics more than words when both are side by side.
Becos he recognise nos, he was able to do the joining dots exercises quite quickly.
Abt phonics, he knows the sounds of the letters and able to read them out last year. He practices with my nephew quite often recently.

Worry Mum: Benjamin can write pretty well without tracing, just that the letters are uneven. Thanks to Leapfrog DVD, he got all the phonics there and too with the help of the PAP-PCF teacher. He can read those sight words reader book on his own.

Moshi:
Mel can't write without guided dots.
Reads a paragraph of 50 words easily, did Ladybird Peter and Jane series with her when she was 1.5yo. picked up pretty fast from then.
For phonics, made her memorise consonant sounds, she attempts blending on her own when she encounters new words.

Each child progresses at his own rate, that's what individuality is all about, ky, ben is doing fine. Try letting him memorise the sounds like the way he memorises the letters of the alphabet?

K's mom: Bryan can write his name without tracing as of March this year. But what frustrated me then was that I've been teaching him to write in caps, while his teacher is doing it in small. Anyway, all for the better now.
He recognises the alphabet now with ease and the letter sounds too. But he needs encouragement to really transfer his knowledge.

E.g. I was doing some word families with him yesterday, he appeared to be reading some words. But I'm skeptical if he'll read on his own.

Picture/word 1-1: He picture reads most of the time. I always wonder what would happen if I were to take all those pictures away/ cover them up? These days, I have been pointing him to the words and ask him how they are being spelled. But lazy as we are, we don't do that when Mommy reads aloud.

Bryan is brilliant with rhyming. In fact, this is how he remembers most part of the stories. e.g. farm-charm, spring-wing, galore-before, home-alone, celebration-hesitation, nest-best, faces-places etc. These days, he's been volunteering me info on what letter a word begins with. I guess that's a start in linking up letters to sounds, sounds to words... ok, surely and slowly, we are going somewhere.

But if you'll ask me whether he reads and writes, I consider him far from that.

HI moshi2!

I shall get Mel to read to Bryan then... haha... we can relax when we meet.

Hi ky!

Am still waiting for my "Electric Company" DVDs to come in. Have fond memories of watching those series... I have the weirdest hope that they might help Bryan be interested in words.

Hey Kristin's mom,
Hope to catch you this time round too.

Moshi,
24 Jun? Hmm, to celebrate back to school too?

I'll check on the zoo pass thingy.

ky: Benedict's starting to know phonics. can't read. Starts to write but need tracing, and wobbly if without.

Apricot: Aston can write better with tracing on small caps letters, big caps letters, numerals and yi to shi and his English name. Without tracing, still can recognise what the words are but as you says they will be wobbly.
He can't read now but enjoy me reading to him. He recognise pics more than words when both are side by side.
Becos he recognise nos, he was able to do the joining dots exercises quite quickly.
Abt phonics, he knows the sounds of the letters and able to read them out last year. He practices with my nephew quite often recently.

Worry Mum: Benjamin can write pretty well without tracing, just that the letters are uneven. Thanks to Leapfrog DVD, he got all the phonics there and too with the help of the PAP-PCF teacher. He can read those sight words reader book on his own.

Moshi:
Mel can't write without guided dots.
Reads a paragraph of 50 words easily, did Ladybird Peter and Jane series with her when she was 1.5yo. picked up pretty fast from then.
For phonics, made her memorise consonant sounds, she attempts blending on her own when she encounters new words.

Each child progresses at his own rate, that's what individuality is all about, ky, ben is doing fine. Try letting him memorise the sounds like the way he memorises the letters of the alphabet?

K's mom: Bryan can write his name without tracing as of March this year. But what frustrated me then was that I've been teaching him to write in caps, while his teacher is doing it in small. Anyway, all for the better now.
He recognises the alphabet now with ease and the letter sounds too. But he needs encouragement to really transfer his knowledge.

E.g. I was doing some word families with him yesterday, he appeared to be reading some words. But I'm skeptical if he'll read on his own.

Picture/word 1-1: He picture reads most of the time. I always wonder what would happen if I were to take all those pictures away/ cover them up? These days, I have been pointing him to the words and ask him how they are being spelled. But lazy as we are, we don't do that when Mommy reads aloud.

Bryan is brilliant with rhyming. In fact, this is how he remembers most part of the stories. e.g. farm-charm, spring-wing, galore-before, home-alone, celebration-hesitation, nest-best, faces-places etc. These days, he's been volunteering me info on what letter a word begins with. I guess that's a start in linking up letters to sounds, sounds to words... ok, surely and slowly, we are going somewhere.

Sarah: Hannah can write her name, recognizes Chinese name. Ok with alphabets but writes better in caps. Recognizes some words in English and Chinese. Reads to her the words we saw while walking, shopping etc.
Can't read, if yes, probably by memory. Ok with letter sounds, and now, trying to guess what letter the word starts with.
Lastly, I would say she had fantastic memmory.

Hi mummies, all your kids are great! Mine can't even write yet. Can barely do tracing on dotted lines. Now, I'm trying to use sandpaper to make letters and will practise with her using her fingers to do tracing. By the way, how do you mummies teach Maths?
I would love to join you gals for the lunch on 24th June but I'm teaching.

Hey Pris, I have a friend who's running a cafe call "Gone Fishing" in Hillview area. Very quite place. There's a spa beside the cafe and after I have my massage, I go for her home made cakes. Hmmm.. delicious!!

<font color="119911">Serena</font>,
I will be at Toh Yi this coming Sunday and can u adv where is Gone Fishing in Hillview area exactly located ? From the name, I guess they serve mostly fish stuffs ?

<font color="0000ff">moshimoshi</font>,
Tentatively I will meet u gals on 24June
...terrible me, still wan to meet but I think I can manage la,I jus have to convince DH let me go.

<font color="0000ff">Ky</font>,
I also wanted to echo that Ben is doing fine. He left a great impression on me & DH that he eats the long leafy chai xin when we had our 1st gathering at my place. Great job, Ben ! Aston still like small baby as we must minced the veg so tiny then he will eat.

Hi Serena!

missed your post some time back... hee, sorry!

Right now, am accompanying spouse on overseas posting...

actually i'm a FTWM like you too... just on NPL now enjoying the stint of SAHM, which I also sometimes complain about... the irony of life, isn't it?

within germany itself, my dh has to travel quite a bit too. it would have been nice if we only had one child and could tag along wherever he goes... but as reality has it, no. 2 came along before we even left for our posting... so most of the time, children and i are at home.

hmmm... was it you who asked about the fast pass in Disneyland Paris? Yes, the service is also available. But you can only hold on to the one fast pass at a time. And also, I think it was not in use that long weekend, which is considered peak.

I don't know... anyway, my children were all too young for many of the rides. Legoland is definitely a better choice.

Hi Apricot, Gone fishing is at Jln Remaja. I hope I got the address correct. Sorry, I know how to go but not too sure about the street name. I left her name card in my office. Infact they don't serve fish and chips. Just a name. Their food is served mostly baked.

You know something? My GP just recommended me to see a paediatician in NUH who specialise in allergy. It seems that my girl's dark circles has something to do with it. Just as I suspected.

Kristin's mom, let me guess. If your full time job allows you to go on NPL, you must be either working for a stat.board or "ang moh" company? HA... So envy you. Does this mean you can go back to work as and when you like? Wish I had such luxury. Sigh...

However, no matter how tied up we are with the kids, we should have time for ourselves. One of these days, we should organise a spa treatment session.

Dear Pris,

I am a person who likes to talk oni , seldom action on these kind of big issues .. starting a business is never easy ... but i bet u must hv had a great time and experience

Aiya, had problem registering in Spaces just now .. got to try again later ..

thanks for inviting ..

ky,

went bookfair this morning .. but saw the crowd gog up to level 5 (assume is gog to level 6 PC show bah) .. really packed escalator .. luckily i din really need anything urgent (was thinking of getting a fool proof camera)

saw u post saying u want to get SLR .. u must be good in photography .. i got a canon G5 but i hardly use it accept for point and shoot mode. Must share with me photography tips next time okie?

Hey Sherlyn!

Are you nocturnal? You only post after midnight. You are one Cinderella!

I;m also quite a night-owl. But right now, there's time diff. I'm still 6 hours behind you.

ky,

my share of poll :

ds learning phonics thru watching leapfrog dvd during leisure .. only know some phonics
recognise and can trace letters, but without tracing, all wobbly letters of different shapes and sizes

letter names, u mean like A is 'Ay' and B is pronounce as 'Bee' etc like singing the alphabet song ? can my ds can.

ds attend PAP starting this yr, not sure what they teach him but he returns with worksheets that show the big and small cap of letters (in order, so now is till 'M').

Hi moshimoshi,

If monday then i cant, cos i arranged with Clouds to get my leapfrog DVD set (i BP from her) on monday morning at jurong east 9am. Perhaps another trip then, since u guys want to sign the mmship (means u can go more then once too). my mmship expires in jul/aug i think, and i wun be renewing, cos if weekend go, no tram ride, and it is no fun always to go on my own without dh involved.

you guys have fun .. So whats next after zoo ?

serena, about the dark circles under the eyes, my daughter ahd them too. The pedat KK said it was due to her nose allergy (coudl be dust or food) rhinitis (shiner) and she prescribed zyrtec which we could get from the pharmacy, the dark circles are gone now

Hollie, did your girl had them since a baby? My girl had it since she was 5months old. The dark circles never disappear and still there even now.

hi all, hope you all don't mind me to join this thread... my daughter was born in March 2003 and she is now 4 ++ yo.
I am working part-time and i spend lots of time with her.
I live very near Gone Fishing ( hillview ave ) and the Balik Kampung spa place, in fact i was there last Friday!
There's another massage place nearby also quite good.
If you all want to bring kids, the " Get Hooked" at railway mall has some daily special, and on Thursday kids eat free for dinner, I usually will bring my girl because she loves the fish and chips there.

Welcome! By the way, brought my girl to watch Shrek 3 yesterday. It was really boring for me and I think it got a little boring for her too because after 30mins, she needs to pee, come down from the chair, decides to change seat with mummy & daddy. It was quite uneventful. So, my advice is just buy the VCD!

4ChongChong, Wa! you still not sleeping? You don't have to get up early tomorrow? I have to wake at 7 everymorning.
BTW, does any of you still get pimples? Don't know why at this age still get pimples and I mean pimples that don't go away!

Haha, Serena!

Hormones running wild like a teenager again??? Maybe it's time for a second one.

Just kidding...
Me also have sensitive skin...
Can;t understand why my skin condition is so poor despite daily facial rtiual. My husband does not even care for his, and he's got flawless skin... sigh, guess I'm just not born with porcelain skin.

4chongchong, Hollie, hi, hi!

Welcome to our thread.
Do join us... we are a bunch of mommmies who love to chat about the mundanes of parenting.

Boy, we just had a whole day out today.
Church, followed by quick lunch at home, then picnic with frisbee, rugby throwing, and then ice-cream at the forest plus climbing of watch tower plus labyrinth... then dinner.... TIRED!!!

Can't help but feel very very old now... hope you all had a great weekend.

Kristin's mom, your one day outing seems like a few weekends for me in S'pore. So Siok!!

Anyway, discovered a cyst and fibroid recently. Need to remove cyst but fibroid can remain unless it gets bigger! I worry about the pain afterwards. I hope I come out in one piece! Maybe the cyst is the thing that was preventing me from getting preg. Aiyo! pray for me, hah!

SAHM888: My boy (oct 2003) can write a-z(cap & small letters), 0-9, his own name when he was about 3 yo 3mos old.He can read about quite a number of English and Chinese words. I use flashcards, story books to teach him. He can write some simple chinese characters too.

he also can do simple addition maths like +1 & +2.

he can read on his own for some simple story books.

Hi 4chongchong,

Welcome! Are you staying at Jalan Remaja? I've got a good girlfren staying there ... we were just at Get Hooked on Sat. yummy yummy food. My son loves the smiley fries there.

For movies, there's the mother-kid special at Orchard Cineleisure on Tuesday (1st showing) 1-1 ... also I think for POSB there's some promo. I tried getting tickets before but somehow staff was not friendly. I was compensated with complimentary tickets from Cathay though ... with movies being so expensive, I'd rather watch them on VCDs ... still have quite a few of cartoon stocked up at home that have yet to view

Hi Serena, a fren also have cyst ... in fact, each time she wants to try for the next one, she has to go remove and the next thing u know, she's preggie :>

Moshi, think u r at the zoo now with Sarah ... weather looks cool. hope it's not raining there ... I don't have the membership card, but I got corporate pass that entitles the family to go in for free. Coming week, we are off to Escape theme park with another corporate pass ...

.ky.

Hi, Hollie Go and 4ChongChong
kao_welcome2.gif

Welcomed to our thread.. already updated ur datas in our table. If you dont mind.. do help us for ?? details. thanks. (just need to post here, and I will do the updating)

<table border=1><tr><td>FORUM NICK</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Home Sweet Home</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippo2002</TD><TD>G (name?)</TD><TD>Jan.02</TD><TD>G (name?)</TD><TD>Feb.04</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ky</TD><TD>Benedict</TD><TD>Feb.03</TD><TD>Keith</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>KeiKei</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD>Mar.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>4ChongChong</TD><TD>G (name?)</TD><TD>Mar.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hillview</TD><TD>PTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amum (Apricot)</TD><TD>Aston</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Princes (Twins)</TD><TD>EDD late 07'07</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>G (name ?)</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanne (jojoscs)</TD><TD>Benny</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Jan.05</TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherlyn</TD><TD>Tew Jing An (B)</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Tew Yu Xin (G)</TD><TD>Oct.04</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah (densar)</TD><TD>Hannah</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Changi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>Brandon</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>Jun.05</TD><TD>Hillview (France)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>MH</TD><TD>Wei Shuen</TD><TD>Jun.03</TD><TD>Li Shuen</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serena Tay (aiken)</TD><TD>Adabel</TD><TD>13.06.2003</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Bt Panjang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurPooh</TD><TD>Shawn</TD><TD>Jul.03</TD><TD>Shanon</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B (Name?)</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>B (name?)</TD><TD>Mar.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kristins_mom</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>Kristin</TD><TD>Aug.05</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru (Germany)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moshimoshi</TD><TD>Melody</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>WorryMum</TD><TD>Benjamin</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ku</TD><TD>G </TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>EDD May07</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla Neo</TD><TD>Kai En</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Toh Guan (Vancouver)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yasmine</TD><TD>Zo En (G)</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>Zo Ze (B)</TD><TD>Sep.06</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meilan</TD><TD>Jay Kai</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>Jay Cin</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May.06</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>moo87</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Minnie (minnie_gal16)</TD><TD>Joshua</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>East</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>sahm888</TD><TD>B (Name?)</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>G (name?)</TD><TD>Jul.05</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>Cedric</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD>Denzyl</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>miracle_bebe</TD><TD>B (Name?)</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Henderson Crescent</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>JessChan</TD><TD>B (Name?)</TD><TD>Dec.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Yr '2000</TD><TD>??</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sj Ong</TD><TD>Z (B)</TD><TD>Dec.03</TD><TD>L (G)</TD><TD>Dec.01</TD><TD>??</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vicval</TD><TD>G (name?)</TD><TD>Yr 2003</TD><TD>G (name?)</TD><TD>Yr 2005</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hollie Go</TD><TD>G (name?)</TD><TD>2003</TD><TD>B (name?)</TD><TD>2006</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>?? </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Ky,how come got so many corporate pass. Can borrow? Ha... just kidding.

Can you ask your friend whether is it painful and how long does it take for her to feel good again after the op?

Moshi, did you take any photos at the zoo? Show us okay? Did your kids take any pony rides?

Pris ... can ask on the icing. how to apply onto the cupcakes and what's the exact portions of ingredient?

Serena ... I'm with an educational institution on a home-based job.... I also thot the corporate passes is a plus for this job ... the hassle is getting it from the campus and returning it on the Monday after ...

Sherlyn, I got a SLR coz I see some good photos from frens and with my canon Ixus, I couldn't achieve them. Anyway, hubby's into photography so he's supportive of the buy but I'm shooting the kids more nowadays so it's more of my toy now *ha* ... I wouldn't say I'm good at it, still using the auto function with this SLR :>

.ky.

Hi Serena!

Sorry to hear about the cyst thingy.

But I sure hope it will be the same for you as it is for ky's friend.

Will pray for you.

Hi Serena!

That's why we are all so knocked out! Poor dh, he's got a long day at work today and will be flying to another city on trip.

By the time we bathed the kids, it was already 9.30pm. They only slept at 10 last night. Good news is they are still asleep now. It's already 9.35am! Almost 12 hours straight.

Well, we've got to seize the day and enjoy the good weather. Whenever it rains temperature can drop 10 deg.

Hi Serena,
Will pray for you too.
We also watch Shrek 3 last sat. This is my 1st time watching Shrek so I quite enjoy it and in fact find it funny. Aston also wanted to leave the cinema after abt 45mins and luckily, we managed to convince lie down & watch the show.

Hi Serena,
Dont worry too much.. Fibroids and Cyst is very common nowadays.
Not to scare you.. I got a hugh fibroid 10cm x 10cm when I conceived Benjamin. The Fibroid was there.. which I do not know at all.. until my first visit to the gynae and heard about it. Was kinda worried during the whole pregnancy.. (that's how my forum name came abt.. haha) The fibroid grows together with baby Benjamin and luckily Benjamin able to fight through with the Fibroid for spaces and managed to win through the whole process, thus come out healthy but pre-mature..

Have faith in yourself and your gynae. PRAY for your successful operations too..

Thanks mummies for all your prayers. Worry mum, is your fibroid still there? Your prince is a fighter! Anyway I had fibroid too when I was preg. And it's still there!!

hi all:
my girl is Charlene Chong, we like to call her Chong Chong, that's why the thread name is 4ChongChong.
I am staying at Hillview Ave, so very close to Jalan Remaja. KY: my husband also likes the food at Get hooked! For me, I just returned from a 3 weeks holidays in Australia and i told myself NOT going to eat any more fish and chips for at least 3 months haha!
I am working part-time, Monday and Tuesday I hate the most because work very long hours! Serena: last night I didnt want to sleep early because today it's my first day back to work after one month leave, so VERY VERY blue !
anyone keen to go Night Safari, I happened to chance upon other thread, and this kind mother emailed me the coupon, so if you keen PM me and i will forward the email to you, it' 50% discount for the month of June!
Serena: don't worry too much about the ops, you will be fine, will keep you in prayers. I am sure the post op pain will not be that bad because I had C -section for Charlene, and I could tahan the pain without pain-killer!
out of curiosity, any kids studying at St James kindergarten or attending Julia Gabriel? Charlene is currently at St James and attending a few enrichment here and there, perhaps we can share?

ky,

I am thinking abt canon ixus, the one with wide angle and 3.8x zoom .. what is it that you cant achieve using the ixus and can be achieve even thou u using point and shoot function of SLR ?

my dh find G5 bulky to bring ard all the time, so thinking of small camera .. and also i heard that zoom factor is v impt, so looking at high zoom factor camera but canon has too little to choose from.

Hi Serena,

Don't worry too much abt the ops .. there's a saying similar to "nothing is more painful then a childbirth experience" :)

Hi Sherlyn!

Are you a Canon fan?

I'm not much of a photographer myself... very amateur.

Ever since I got to know Panasonic Lumix, I'm never ever going back to Canon Ixus.

Previously I always got blurry photos... always thought I really that lousy. Or my children were always in motion. Then I realised Ixus didn't deliver optimal results until we got our Lumix earlier this year. Our Ixus died on us after 3years.

For a small camera to carry around, I've found Lumix the perfect replacement. Besides, it's got modes to help capture sports/high sensitivity shots. Great with kids jumping around.

STill, my photography skills is limited. haha!

4Chongchong, if you don't like your work so much, maybe you should quit and find something you like. It will be too tiring to drag yourself to work that is of little interest to you.
I was in Australia last Dec too. We stayed in an apartment. My maid was there to cook for us. It was quite good except after that my maid gave me hell when we came back!
Luckily, that was over. Now I have a mymmar maid.

Serena,
I have removed the hugh fibroid when Benjamin was 2 years old. And gotta 6 weeks MC, (another mini-confinement). So far so good after the ops..