(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Kristin'mom, Are you staying in Germany permanently? Or just accompany your hubby there on biz trip? It should be summer now, right? I think their summer is still quite cool. Winter should be freezing. Your trip always sounds so siok!

Apricot, Did you invite your son's school friends to his party? Or did you just celebrate it in his school. Hope you don't mind me asking. I was just thinking how to celebrate Adabel's birthday in June.

moshimoshi...will try to add in some more Vancouver and our travelling photos into the blog. In case, you want to see more visit my site.

I love your charts, they are lovely!

Serena, Just as normal baking for cupcake and just use icing sugar, butter etc to make icining and the little stars can get from the baking section in supermarket or baking specialist stores. Will add the recipe to my blog soon.

K's mum...at least you manage to meet up with Serenade before she leaves for Singapore and both your families have a great time together.

By the way, was Euro Disneyland using the special pass system so that you would save time for the rides? It was practised in HK and Tokyo Disneyland and also Tokyo DisneySea.

Looking forward to your Legoland photos. Planning for a trip to Oreagan, thinking of bringing Kai to see the sand dunes, St Helen and also visit the cave of Sea lions and some shopping.

Apricot...haahaa...that's one thing about SQ, they offered children alot of toys and very generous with their toys compare to other airlines.

Here' some photos of our first 2 days trip when we were in Alberta. To many photos so will put them up in the blog.

Banff Downtown
819546.jpg

Johnson Lake
819547.jpg

Along the way to Minnewanka Lake
819548.jpg

Mountain Sheep (Ewe of Bighorn Mountain sheep)
819549.jpg

Hi Serena,

It's ok for me to share..no worries.

We celebrated Aston's bday in his child care cos more children there and they will have lotsa fun with him. At home, we also celebrated for him but only with family members. Afterall, Aston likes to blow at candles and eat cake. Simple & small scale one will make him very happy already.

Hi Serena,

Aston also has dark eyes rings sometimes and DH says that it becos he has big eyes. I do not quite believe him & with your note here, I will bring him see doc too. You are right..better treat them when they are young. Thanks

Apricot, if you can treat his dark circles, please let me know which doctor you go to. I've brought adabel to a western doc and a chinese sinseh. One say it will go away when they're older and one say it's because she was frighten before when she was a baby. Whatever it is, both doctors never give a solution.
Personally I do not believe it will go away. I think it may have to do with allergy but I'm not too sure. One thing I'm very sure is that if I don't treat her early, it's gonna be harder when she's older.

Hi Serena and Apricot!

If you found miracle to dark cricles, please let me know!

Mine never went away!
My mom always says that it's because I never sleep early enough.
But my dh sleeps as late as I do, or even later at times. But he never has dark cricles. So unfair!

Maybe it really has something to do with the shape/size of eyes??? Or it's in the genes of people who tend to get tanned easily...

Allergy... I don't think I have any... maybe allergy against sleeping early! haha!

HI moshi2!

posted an entry on Neuschwanstein on my blog already! Now am working on a slide show... which I will put up later on Parents like us.

Hi Pris!

You're really embracing Mother Nature!

Beautiful pics!

I'm envious of you... you travel so much... It would have been much easier for me, had I only Bryan. Then I would really be hopping onto every single trip my dh makes... you know, I still haven't been to Hamburg and my dh is flying there every other week.

Hi Pris!

I can read on your blog that you're enjoying making collages!

If you find other interesting collage making softwares, give me a beep!

Hi all, I m bak on Tuesday. Dh fell ill on sunday morning and we thus did not hv a good day that day at all. As he is the only on driving, we are force to stay another night after chking out on monday at his mother's place in mersing (which is on the way) to rest and then my gal fell sick too. She just recovered today.

anyway, i hv to clear my emails first before coming back in to chk on the archives.

See you all later if I am not too tired.

bye for now

K's mum...from the photos, I think that both your children love travelling, why not join your dh for one of the trip that he makes.

We are planning to make a trip down to Oregon in July if everything goes as planned. If not, ds and I will make the trip together with a couple of friends as dh could not confirm his schedule yet.

I love to do art and making collages save me the trouble of uploading so many photos.

Sheryln...do rest well.

Apricot, KY, mummies,
I went to the World Book Fair on Wed noon, Is lots of good grab..esp the chinese books, some even goes up to $1 per book. And the ChengYu Story Book are bilingual too. Mummies need to get more chinese enrichment is worth going for this fair.

And the store Apricot mentioned, me too bought few of the Bob's the Builder story book. Think is rather cheap after the 30% discount. And is worth compared to the Popular warehouse sales. hehe..

Apricot,
in the fair can see lots of IQ products too.. but some really expensive. Some are those that u have ordered from the BP.

Vicval,
U need some chinese books right? Go Go Go.. many books are comes with the CDs too..

Sherlyn,
U take care! Me too.. came back from holiday too sick for almost a week.. haiz

Hi Worry Mum,

Those IQ games which I bot from BP was a great steal. Cant wait for them to arrive.

Does Ben like BTB ? They are Aston's fav now and we are short of Travis & Scrambler. Find them in kiddy palace, Robionsons and also Taka but cannot find them. If you happen to see them, pls let me know.

Hi mommies residing in the west!

Anyone knows of good Chinese enrichment classes on weekday late mornings/afternoons?

Hi ky!

The Chinese teacher at Clementi. Is she still taking in any students?

Am thinking sending Bryan to some Chinese classes... Otherwise he'll be up to iritate me all day long in Sg.

I heard there are some very nice kiddy places in Jurong East area.

Actually, just wanted him to have some fun and play. And give myself some break... hopefully to do some shopping. Heehee!

Pris :

I think i m still tired, but got to clearn my archives today .. drank kopi just now liao .. I hv yet to recv the invitation to your blog .. can send to [email protected] ?

Jing An also imitates behaviours from characters such as Jo Jo, mickey mouse etc .. some of them are also not acceptable but he cant understand y the characters can do it and he cant. Eg, Jo Jo may hv playfully poured water onto her friends, and they laugh the matter off, so to him that is funny lor *sigh*

Pris, I think you can open a cafe when u come back singapore .. your cafe can sell anything, because you can cook almost anything. Used to be my "dream" to open a "anything" shop, cos we often reply "anything" when asked what to eat during gatherings with friends and colleagues. Oh I wanted to ask you, what do u use to contain the sushi when u mix the sushi rice mix, cos I am told it shd be wooden tub and MUST not be metallic. Can I use any others besides wooden ?

ky :

Maybe actual age is not so impt .. most impt is the look ? hehe me look like panda, bad skin etc etc *sigh*

May I also be added into your personal blog access list ? Have been following your blog till u privatised it .. TQ.

Moshimoshi :

My friend cant make it on Mon, cos she already has something planned, but she can do with Tuesday or Wednesday. I just sms her to see if it is too late for her to get her dh to get pass for this trip .. can only wait till tmr then confirm liao .. in anycase, do go ahead with what has planned (if you guys has any), i will see if i can follow ..

wah, all these talks about what a 2003 kid can do and cannot do make me worried again .. mine cant really write, does not like coloring or educational activities, only likes playing esp cars .. but i remembered .. rejoice for what the kid can do :)

Wao Serena, your shoes, can go onto the shelves of stores liao .. so pretty. Wish I can do one too. I took up a jewellery making course earlier from the CCs, so i also made my gal 3 bracelet, but they are just really beading the beads up, nothing fanciful .. can i see your accessories fotos ? Where did you buy the beads for your kiddos accessories ?

Hi Kristins' mom, welcome back too .. me too has heaps of laundry earlier but luckily cleared. Ya, actually age doesnt matter, most impt we are sharing the same phase .. but to me, look also v impt leh .. too bad i really neglected my looks. Anyway I still cant figure out whose older and whose younger. haha

dark eye rings has something to do with people who tend to get tanned easily ? i hv dark eye rings, and i get tanned very very easily but i also sleep very late lah .. help! I also want the miracle.

I stay in the west, but i m quite "sua gu" .. i think ky mentioned that redhill got a indoor playground like those found in safra toa payoh. IMM is under revamped now, so the last time i went, the playground gave way to some construction. Other then that will be the usual science ctr, discovery ctr, west coast park .. but none of the above allows me to leave my kids of yr '03 and yr '04 unattended to go shopping leh .. I know of other mommies whose kids are so closed to each other that they can drop off their kids to play with the other couple's kids so that they can run some errands on their own.

i hv no photos to share yet, cos the camera is still stuck in the car. Forgot to bring it up since Tuesday. How forgetful right ? will do so tmr. Please allow me to owe an entry to "parents-like-us" for a few days .... Thousands of apologies.

Hi Sherlyn!

Are you still up?
Go to sleep woman!!!! Dark circles, remember?

The getting tanned easily is my guess. Coz that's the only diff that I notice between my dh and myself, on top of the good skin vs the bad one. I always tell him that it's his fault. EVer heard your grandma tell this to you before:
Gotta clean up your plate, otherwise you'll marry someone whose face looks like that of your plate!

My dh is the type who doesn't eat his plate clean! And I'm just the opposite - what to do when you grow up with a threat like this from your grandma. So you know who's the one with flawless skin.

hi parents-like-us!

Not bad eh! For the first month of blogging, we've clocked 26 posts! And we didn't even start from the 1st day of May.

Hope you ladies are enjoying this new found hobby!

Hi Pris!

Don't forget we've got a great column for you on the blog: Great Bites. It's just waiting for your yummy recipes and mouth-watering dishes!
Feed us, please!

Hi Kristin's mom,

ya still up even now .. haven been able to access email since sat so alot to catch up (reading other mommies blog lor) .. okie .. go sleep now .. "see" you tmr

Hi there

Very busy, I have to a couple of visitors. So some hosting, I have to prepare dinners for them.

Kristin's mum...I will add in some recipes and with photos too if I remember to take them.

Sheryln...will add you once I update my blog again.

For black eye ring, I know that you can use chamomile tea bag - after you have brews the tea, remove the teabag and when the teabag is still warm, place it on your eye bag or eye black ring and after a couple of such treatment, the eye bag or black ring will go off.

I have use chamomile teabag to relax the eye area.

Sheryln...dh used to run a restaurant with two friends along bukit timah road known as Nomads and due to the long working hours, we find that it is not worth to do it.

And we used to create all the dishes on our own after cooking and sampling by lots of friends and families, as well as going to the wine importer to test wine.

Hi K's mum, send you a PM on the chinese teacher ... what kiddy places in Jurong East area are there?? I need to know too ... the only lovely place is IMM and the indoor playground is closed. They are currently doing up an open concept play area (similar to vivo) and I think only opens in june/july ... and parking may not be free then! I already see bars setup at the carpark entrance...

Moshi/Sherlyn, went to the zoo yesterday ... real fun as usual, but it was packed at 10.30am and terribly hot. We left at 10.30 when the crowd was coming in... we went at 8.30 which is probably our record time there ... didn't see any animals shows but we somehow make time for the playground after venturing past the tropical fruit section (which I didn't even knew existed), and the reptile garden.

WorryMum, luckily u went to bookfair on Wed. We were there yesterday ... at 12.30pm for the PC show. The show supposedly starts at 12noon but my gosh, half the male population was there, together with few reluctant girlfrens, wives, children, crying babies and even a few strollers! We parked across at Millenia instead without any trouble. Cars were jamming up to go into Suntec parking ... can't imagine how long the wait just to get a parking space.... but anyway, we squeeze our way through and came home with new toys :> ... huh, meaning hubby and my toys ... can check out my blog to see how the toys are put to good use

.ky.

Hi Ky and Priscilla,
Me too, can I have your blogs ?

Rem the "vicks" on the feet article that Sarah posted here b4. I tried on myself when I had cough few weeks back for 3 times and the cough went off unknowingly. Aston was coughing these days and I tried on him 2 times & I can see he is coughing lesser. Hope he will recover soon.

Re : Concerns on Reading / Writing
I'd like to do a poll on whose kids can read and write.... can kindly help?

ky : Benedict's starting to know phonics. can't read. Starts to write but need tracing, and wobbly if without.

question : Does your child knows the letter names or the sounds only? Since the beginning of this year, Ben's learning phonics and I just realize that he does NOT know the letter names ... btw, the school that he goes to is Canadian-based which might explain why the expectation of the teacher on the reading and writing skills is not high and more focus is put on building confidence in a child.

.ky.

Hi Ky,

Aston can write better with tracing on small caps letters, big caps letters, numerals and yi to shi and his English name. Without tracing, still can recognise what the words are but as you says they will be wobbly.
He can't read now but enjoy me reading to him. He recognise pics more than words when both are side by side.
Becos he recognise nos, he was able to do the joining dots exercises quite quickly.
Abt phonics, he knows the sounds of the letters and able to read them out last year. He practices with my nephew quite often recently.

ky: Benedict's starting to know phonics. can't read. Starts to write but need tracing, and wobbly if without.

Apricot: Aston can write better with tracing on small caps letters, big caps letters, numerals and yi to shi and his English name. Without tracing, still can recognise what the words are but as you says they will be wobbly.
He can't read now but enjoy me reading to him. He recognise pics more than words when both are side by side.
Becos he recognise nos, he was able to do the joining dots exercises quite quickly.
Abt phonics, he knows the sounds of the letters and able to read them out last year. He practices with my nephew quite often recently.

Worry Mum: Benjamin can write pretty well without tracing, just that the letters are uneven. Thanks to Leapfrog DVD, he got all the phonics there and too with the help of the PAP-PCF teacher. He can read those sight words reader book on his own.

hi sherlyn
we are going to the zoo on mon at 9am. Sarah, my friend and myself, pl join us if u can, send me a PM to exchange numbers.

ky: Benedict's starting to know phonics. can't read. Starts to write but need tracing, and wobbly if without.

Apricot: Aston can write better with tracing on small caps letters, big caps letters, numerals and yi to shi and his English name. Without tracing, still can recognise what the words are but as you says they will be wobbly.

Worry Mum: Benjamin can write pretty well without tracing, just that the letters are uneven. Thanks to Leapfrog DVD, he got all the phonics there and too with the help of the PAP-PCF teacher. He can read those sight words reader book on his own.

Moshi:
Mel can't write without guided dots.
Reads a paragraph of 50 words easily, did Ladybird Peter and Jane series with her when she was 1.5yo. picked up pretty fast from then.
For phonics, made her memorise consonant sounds, she attempts blending on her own when she encounters new words.

Each child progresses at his own rate, that's what individuality is all about, ky, ben is doing fine. Try letting him memorise the sounds like the way he memorises the letters of the alphabet?

Hi Worrymum,

Did u buy Leapfrog DVD from SG or states ? I have two DVD from states and we do not know hpow to program them into Sin power usage. Can you help me ? Pls PM me to exchange numbers to discuss on this.

Apricot,
I got it from Singapore leh, is a 2nd hand sold by one of the mummy in this forum. Sorry, I do not know how to do the programming on this.

<font color="aa00aa">Worrymum</font>,
Was able to view on PC but not on TV ...sigh...that's where I suspect needs programming. U able to watch yours both on PC and TV ?

Apricot,
Yes, was able to watch on PC and TV. When I got from that mummy, already no problem for watching. I suspect is the "code" issue.. which some mummies discussing when they first bought it. And previously someone told me that it shd be alright to play on "cheap" DVD player then those "branded" one. U try it out and see..

<font color="aa00aa">Worrymum</font>
What are the titles you hv ?
I have Talking Words factory - learn how letters build words and Talking Words factory 2 - code word caper - teaches advanced phonics. They are effective in teaching phonics. Jus very disappointed cannot play on TV (my dvd player is samsung) cos I do not like Aston use PC too much.

Apricot, I have all the 5 pcs set DVD.
1) Letter Factory
2) Talking Words Factory I
3) Talking Words Factory II
4) Maths Factory
5) Story Factory

Check ur PM..

Started teaching my child to read 3 mths back using reader series. I made flashcard words to go with each book. My child managed to read simple books (those 1-liners) well now. Good thing about reader series is that you learn the words through cumulative, not hapharzdly.

hi ky
good idea to hit the zoo when it opens, it's mercilessly hot these days. Do u have the zoo pass? I intend to get it since 2 tickets for us will cost almost $40. Sarah, do u want to get it too? More details on the website.

Mommies
I am thinking of a lunch gathering on 24 June (Sun) with Serenade. Like to know who can make it and if Apricot will be on leave already.

K's mom
Will u be back early July or late?