(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

I am super pantang also, ya, I do not like say in front of them falling sick and also if they are skinny or fat. But my MIL loves to comment he is so skinny now , then the next is I really see that he has slimmed down, make me so sad. Just sharing my personal thots.

Hi Joanne, I usually do my marketing in ntuc cos i m quite lazy to go to wet market.

Hi Kristin's mom, My gal loves veges, even steam broccoli that i find yucky, but my boy hates vege so i hv to coax him to eat. I haven tried red cabbage before, i m just sick of using carrot cos it caused my kids to hv orangy hands and feet so thinking of alternative color vege to add color to a dish. Not a good cook so nid to hv nice color .. haha

Before my mom went back to Sg, she taught me this simple soup recipe.

Abt 3-4 bowls of water
red dates 5 -7
wolfberries 1 soup spoonful
a few pieces of sliced american ginseng, e.g. I usually add about 7 pcs.
1 slab of pork about 250 g

Bring water to boil first, then add in ingredients. And let it boil for two minutes.
After that simmer it for about 4-5 hours.

I guess you can vary the ingredients a bit here and there and add cordyceps too. But in moderation. Remember anything too much might end up making the soup too bitter for the children's taste buds.

Great soup for the whole family. I boil this alot coz dh travels alot and the kids got better from their coughs and running nose too.

Otherwise, a simple vegetable soup would be:
Chinese cabbage
carrots
celeries
dried scallop
red dates and wolfberries, sometimes 1 honey date
about 1 litre of water
I use chicken drumsticks coz the meat is tender and easy to eat for the kids later on.
sometimes i add fishballs so that Bryan will eat too.

My mom swears on dates. Red dates, honey dates, dark ones etc. She says it's always good when the child has cough.

Sherlyn,
can always boil lotus root soup in Sg. Ingredients are easily available. Or peanut soup for great protein.

ACtually, I always think all kinds of soup will boost immunity, Just think about all the nutrients going into it when you have it boiling, boiling hours away.

I'm sure other moms here have many more great ideas for soup.

Wow... the children must have been eating lots of carrots to have orange hands and feet.
We don't get lots of fish here... so I'm feeding my kids heaps of carrots too in the hope that they will do their eyes some good. In fact, carrot is our staple here. Every dish has carrots.
But I guess we still don't eat as much as your children.

Wow... your dd is a good girl. Next time I will get my children to eat with your children. Hope to rub off some good veggie eating habits from your dd!

Hi Joanne and Apricot ...

I dont do soup at all last time .. but i find that my kids love soup so i just boil them lor, furthermore i hv the little slow cooker that used to cook their porridge, so might as well make use of it.

I have found out earlier that cordycep (Dong1 cong2 cao3 rite ?) is good for building immunity but i hv not idea how to cook it and i think it is not easy to buy (there are fakes and this TCM is expensive i heard)

Recently, the family doc told me flumicil is a good medicine, can help build immnunity .. I just cant imagine a medicine can help in that ..

i have been to browse the pre pack TCM soup mix from NTUC, and they have one pack that says good for building immunity .. so i m waiting for the kids to recover from their flu before trying out that mix.

For now, i do watercress soup, yellow cucumber soup, winter melon soup, potato carrot sweet corn soup, lotus root soup. For fast cooking ones, i do leafy vege soup, egg tomato soup, green marrow soup.

My kids dun take TCM direct, like grind powder mix into honey water etc .. so got to try brew soup. They dun take porridge too so cant even mix it inside. Anyway i guess brewing soup may be slightly better then giving them supplements only. so now got to think of how to give them cordycep

Hi ky!

Scholastic books always have good offers right?
Very tempting to order all... haha!

I just got my box last Thursday. Luckily dh was away and I had the car. Otherwise I would have to leave the box behind till I have the car next... And that wouldn't have been nice coz I wanted to look at those books badly... maybe even worse than my son!

Happy shopping!

Hi Jess,

Thanks for recommending cordycep. You have any idea how to use it in cooking soup ?

ya silica gel .. but i m wondering if that device is useful. you hv any idea ?

Hi Sheryln,

If there's anything to swear by for building immunity, it will be cordyceps. Took it during both my pregnancies. And my kids are still taking them on a weekly basis. Mine's a very simple preparation -

Ingredients:
black chicken
cordyceps
dates
wolfberries

Wash the black chicken clean. Then boil the black chicken together with cordyceps & red dates in those double broiling pot for abt 2-3 hrs. Add in the wolfberries 15 to 30 minutes just before serving.

I have used white chicken here instead cos not black ones available. It's even more nutritious if you use rabbit meat.

Hi Apricot,

Same here leh, once fever will be 38 on first measure. I quickly use brufen, cos paracetomol is too slow to curb the heat. Recently the family doc gave me another kind of paracetomol call progenic or something like that, he say is stronger then paracetomol.

Like what Joanne says, fever will come bak after 4 to 5 hours .. so i will be very scare then, cos can only sponge to keep heat down, cant give medicine till 6 hours. But the family doc told me recently that paracetomol can be given 4 - 6 hourly, and can even give brufen in between. As long as paracetomol are given 4-6 hrly, and brufen is also given in the appropriate interval. Anyway, i usually give brufen if fever is more then 38.

So I shall continue my practice of giving them medicine even if it is midnight... but it is a pity i cant feed them wth food

Hi kristins_mom,

Bet you must be enjoying those children books. Likewise, I enjoy the books as much as Brandon does. Maybe more than him hehee...

Hi ky,

I am not pantang, but after the stomach flu case in december, he slim down from 17.9 to 15.7 now and has not grow any more fats ... and my mother start chiding me for always commenting him big size big size, so now he small size lor. So now i guess i shd be pantang lor.

Is keith ok now ? my kids are also sick on and off but very frequent so i m getting tired of worrying too ..

Thanks Serenade,

Luckily got choice, cos my family dun take black chicken. will try that soon, if i can get cordycep. Thanks.

Hi ky, Joanne,

I might be visiting Lourdes again. It's one of the locations where the apparition of the Blessed Virgin Mary was sighted. Many believed the water there has healing power. I can get some for you if you want.

Joanne

oops ... Keith's not hospitalized. Just that we've been following up with the reviews and we though this is the last time we need to do it ... the latest news means we need to do some tests before seeing if there indeed is a problem. I'm too tired physically and mentally to actually worry too much.

Sherlyn

I've recently heard from a few mums that Flumicil can be taken for 7 to 8 days ... came from their PD but I'm not sure why. still waiting for explaination.

Brufen can be given when temp is higher than 39. 38 is considered mild fever by one of my PDs... I don't give Paracetomol more than 4 times a day as it's damaging to an organ in the long run (can't remember if it's kidney or not)....

Cordyceps... hubby does all these :>
His receipe : double boiled with a piece of lean meat. Best if you eat the cordyceps too. can't take it when the child is sick though. Ben loves it.... it's like soup to him. sweet actually.

K's mum
... yes, would want to get ALL the books actually ... some are quite wordy though and I think more suitable when they have better appreciation of 'real' reading, if there's such a term.

Hi Serenade, I was at Lourdes once ... yes, and drank the water there too ...

.ky.

wow, u mommies do some very nutritious soups, mel loves soup too, her fav is lotus soup.
my mom does all sorts of veg soup, and mom-in-law does ginseng for her, for good skin, i am told.
no cordycerp, i suppose we have to buy 'good grade' type?
for immunity, only cod liver oil which seems to work well, i like the orange one because of the added calcium which is good for milk-hater mel.

hi sherlyn
a drug for better immunity? gee, hard to believe, do share when u have more info.

hey cindy n serenade
counting down for a rolling good time at fantasy land?
have fun okie, take lotsa of pix to show us!

i have this idea for mel to make me a mother's day breakfast, heehee, something simple like toast with fruits, served with tea. with daddy's help, of course.
those who are already dropping coins into piggy banks can buy mommies a gift;)

Mother's Day gathering:
Date: 29 April
Day: Sunday
Place: Upper changi, near EXPO
Time: 11am
Lunch: Potluck

Confirmed:
1. sarah
2. moshi
3. apricot
4. minnie?

hi minnie
pl send me a PM to exchange numbers.

More families to join us!

Sherlyn,

My husband once bought cordyceps from China and the Chinese Physician said an alternative way is to soak one strand of cordycep in water, drink the water and eat the cordycep when it is soft. But it is not very appetising. My son said it is like eating worms...

You can also cook ABC soup - just boil corn,carrots, potatoes, onions and pork ribs. But you need to boil the pork ribs and rinse them with water first before cooking with all the ingredients.

Kristin,

My children also like steamed brocoli and steamed fish with ginger. For steamed brocoli, you can add a little salt and cheese to add taste to it. But my children prefers to just dip it with a little light soya sauce.

Moshi,
Yes, mozarella cheese, grated.

My pc is finally up! Hard disk spoilt, and I can't retrieve some photos. Hate myself for not doing backup often.

Hmm...Mother's Day gift? I guess it will be another my day off besides b'day. Isn't it wonderful that I get to rest 2 days out of that 365days??

Moshimoshi

Here's sharing Kai making pizza
All Purpose Flour
773115.jpg

Mixed Pizza Dough before raising
773116.jpg

Pizza Dough punched after raising
773117.jpg

Lightly baked pizza dough for easier handling for Kai
773118.jpg

Kai applying pizza pasta
773119.jpg

Kai adding the ingredients
773120.jpg

773121.jpg

773122.jpg

773123.jpg

773124.jpg

Kai's pizza before baking
773125.jpg

Kai's pizza after baking
773126.jpg

Hope you have fun making and enjoying the pizza.

We have been making pizza for a couple of occasion as well as making tuna bun and sausage caterpillar buns too.

Dear mummies

Here's some sharing of our short Seattle Trip

Some photos taken by Kai:
773237.jpg

773238.jpg

Photos taken by DH and a friend
773239.jpg

773240.jpg

773241.jpg

773242.jpg

At the Oyster Farm in Seattle
773243.jpg

773244.jpg

Some of the photos I tried to reduce them but the photos are too small.

Will MIA for another 2 weeks as we will be away to Calgary to see Rocky Mountains.

Here wishing all a Happy and Blessed Mother's Day!

Hi Kristin's mom,
Like your mom, I used lots of chinese herbs too such as red dates, wolfberries, almonds (ie nan bei xing), huai shan, ginseng etc, in porridge and soup. I'll usually cook more soup for leftover to be used for next day's lunch as in soup noodles or porridge.

Hi Serenade,
I love black chicken soup! One of mom's specialty. But I never eat the meat though.

sarah, welcome bk!

pris,
wow, moi not gona start from scratch, will probably use those prepacked dough base, hope they are just as good!
been trying to cook more with mel cos; she's doing the theme on food in sch, thanks for sharing, i can;t wait to get started!

very lovely flowers in seattle, that's the place where SeaWorld is if i remember correctly, went there when i was a teenager. u have fun at calgary!

I love to boil soup too.

Watercress soup with red dates, wolfberries, almonds, fig fruit and pork ribs or chicken

Lotus soup with red dates, wolfberries and pork ribs or chickens

ABC soup

Celery, carrot, potato, onion chicken soup

Cordyceps with pork or just have cordyceps pounded into powder and make as tea

Ginseng, red dates, wolfberries with chicken soup

For cough, double boil (take for 7 days, make daily)
South and North Almond
red dates
white fungus
fig fruit
1 pear or apple

Hi Serenade,

thanks for reminding. Infact, i remove all traces of fats and skins when i prepare chicken or pork meat .. my mother will ask me to "keep" some of them intact as the body needs oil *sigh*.

sherlyn

Hi Ky,

Ya no more then 4 times for paracetomol .. but i din noe flumicil can oni take 7 to 8 days .. i thot can take long term to use to cure phelgm. Luckily i stop after 5 packs .. their phelgm "level" seem to go down.

Ya sick cannot "jing4 bu3" .. so now all of us are sick, so we just take normal soups.

oh 38 is mild ah .. but if dun give brufen, will go to 38.5 and above very fast .. so sometimes i kan cheong i give brufen .. if i know i hv time to monitor i give paracetomol. Brufen is not really paracetomol rite? Tat doc oni tell me brufen is no good for the organs too, but he did not say paracetomol.

Hi moshi moshi,

I m also surprised that drug can be good for immunity hehe. Anyway i am not going to find more info about it, unless i read more from the internet (but those info cant be trusted totally rite?) .. anyway it is a drug .. Dont think we should depend on a drug for building immunity, so lets go for making soups ...

Hi Jess,

i do cook ABC .. but i dont fancy the idea of too much carrot .. ya must first "process" the spare ribs .. troublesome hor.

Hi Pris ..

you have all detailed fotos in every occasion, even making pizza :)

hmm .. I guess kai would have travel half the world when he turns 5. :)

Happy mother's day too ... but too bad, i don't think i get any rest day out of the 365 days .. not even when i m sick .. maybe unless i m very sick (which have not happen before).

Thanks for sharing the "recipes' .. Esp the cough one ... 7 days will cure ?

hi sheryln
yep, the good old soup, healthy, homely, heavenly...

dear mommies
what are your kids doing during the june break? i was looking at the calendar and counted 4 more weeks of sch to the semester break. mel's first sch hols, wondering how to engage her.

maybe we can go to the zoo or come together for some crafts or cookies decorating session.

lemme know if u are keen ;)

Hi Sherlyn

Yes, we try our best to capture every occasions for Kai and since it is part of his growing up, I do not want to miss.

It reduce the phlegm and cough but was told to give for a week.

Really hope that I can travel half the world with him too haahaa...I dun think it is possible and Canada alone, we cannot even complete it even when we are here.

Moshimoshi, no sure where SeaWorld was in Seattle since we did not think of it as we have been to the one in Australia. Will probably bring Kai when he is much bigger, hoping to bring him to see the whales soon.

K's mum, playmobil park in US was closed for good. So sad.

Moshimoshi, it is on 13 May. Always the 2nd Sunday of May.

Kai is going to have his long summer school holidays starting from June to September. Will have to keep him entertain and occupy with lots of activities. Recently, he enjoys playing games like aeroplanes and snake and ladder.

Hi Pris!

Sure miss those mouthwatering pictures.

Too bad that you'd be travelling so much now in spring... we gotta put our greedy eyes on hold for sometime... sigh!

Wow... excellent pictures. Kai really has an eye for good shots. I think you've got a boy who's ready for the visual arts. I remember all those wonderful drawings you posted too. He sure has talent in that area.

K's mum...have more photos on food but did not have much time to post.

We are travelling before DH's term start again where he will be busy with tutoring and marking and also then Kai will be at home since it is summer break for him and I will need to prepare more homeschooling materials..

Kai loves to follow his dad around to take photos so he has a digit camera from my bro as his christmas present before we came here. He took alot of pictures but some after resize still could not appear.

Hey, hey!

Thread is alive again.

I notice discussion is always lit by either by food or books... hehee!

Really, we should think of putting a food blog together... look at all these wonderful recipes here! Co-author a blog and then we can always go back and refer to the blog when we run out ideas to cook. SHall we start one??? ;) Can always sprinkle it with book reviews and ideas for crafts too. ALso with group gatherings etc... I think our children would love to look at it too.

Just a thought there... will start thinking of it more when I come back from Paris... yeah, moshi, counting down... you bet!

Pris
think Kai not only will travel half the world.. He will become a good cook too..

KY/Sherlyn
Flumicil - Ya, was told not to have it often too. Me also let Benjamin having it.. and its really act fast for his phlegm.

Mommies who give ginseng/cordyceps in powder forms:

My aunt's husband used to run a chinese yao cai shop in HK. She warned us never to buy yao cai in powdereed form.

You see, when the batches of ginseng are shipped in, they are sorted out according to sizes. Coz different sizes fetch a different price. And at the end of the day, whatever that cannot be picked up will be swept up and then ground into powder... and that's what we get in the powder forms. Unless you see real pieces freshly ground into powder for you, never buy the powder ones. Don't waste your money. Buy the real mccoy. Get what you can see with your eyes.

Are you all talking about Fluimucil with acting agent acetylcysteine to get rid of mucous for coughs?

It improves immunity? Don't think my PD say anything of that.

But what I do know of acetylcysteine is that it irritates me a lot coz it literally get the kids to cough more and to eventually cough out the phlegm.

I used to give Bryan And Kristin Fluimucil whenever I heard a cough coming. But since CNY this year, they've been sick for the longest time and I decided to switch to another cough syrup Prospan, only herbal mixture. Slower in effect, but it cures their long and persistent coughing.

Brufen/ibuprofen - aka Nurofen syrup for children: The PDs here prescribe them when fever is persistent, while the docs in Sg frown upon it. I got a scolding from an old doc in Sg for giving my son such a strong drug. She said, drugs that act too fast might not be necessarily good.

so anything in moderation lor...

Hi Kristin's mom,
Me too...we are "scolded" by GP when we told him we always feed Nurofen & paracetomol together to Aston. We cannot help it cos he always have very high fever 38 so we find feeding both will bring down. This method was okayed by PD but GP frowns.

Ladies..
I'm having a real bad day..

-Morning was ironing Benny's uniform and was grouchy over iron as uniform doesn't seems to look neat.. Realised I forgot to on switch!
-Internet connection was down. Kept uninstall and installing ethernet modem and realised I did not activate Lan Card. Took me half a day to troubleshoot and restore back..
-Bryan was hiding under table playing hide and seek by himself and knocked his head against the corner of the table.. a little bleeding on his scalp and makes him super cranky for 1 hour.
-Lastly, spend so much time preparing dinner for the boys but they just don't have the appettite to eat...only drank soup. End up frying fries for them.

hai... what's next???

Pris..
Kai's pizza looks fantastic! I don't think Benny can do that.. Remember the last time we did corn flake snack.. he ate more than work!

Your flowers from Seattle is making me feel much better after such a bad day..

Happy mother's day!!

Sheryln

Benny has high fever which hit 39.5 degrees 2 times due to his neck infection. KKH doc advise to start on paracetomol and continue sponge bathing him till fever goes away (unless it starts with 38.5 and above).. If fever persist and above 38.5 then comes the nurofen..

Don't think it's advisable to start with nurofen lei unless fever exceed 38.5..

Serenade..

Thanks for your kind offer.. but me buddhist.. has done some prayers in temple on him.
Really appreciate your help.. no offence!!!

Hi moshi2!

You bet we are all excited to getting the children to meet.

Actually, I haven't told Bryan much about the trip yet. Coz otherwise he'll be bugging me when Friday will come. So will probably do it on Thursday night itself.

But last night I asked him what he thought of us meeting up to play with Brandon and Cheryl, and he said, "Yeah! That will be great! When will we meet them?" I told him, soon.