(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Thanks Sarah and Apricot for the dental recommendations. Sarah, I will sms you for location and contact before deciding which to go.

Apricot, I'm wondering if you would be interested to bring Aston to Baby Love to help prepare him for his coming baby. But the play is only in Aug. The story - A new baby arrives and turns life upside down for Harry. Transported from the sublime pleasure of being the constant centre of attention through the scary chaos of change, Harry discovers the pain and delight of becoming a big brother who eventually grows to love his new baby sister.

More details at http://www.sistic.com.sg/cms/events/index.html?content=880.

Moshi, totally agree with you abt Kumon. Actually my friends' kids are the love to learn type but even then, they are miserable abt having to go Kumon so I also don't know why my friends insisted to do so. And it's not cheap too.

By the way, I'm bringing JK to a yoga session at Bishan library at 2pm on 14 Mar. Are you keen to join? I know mel sleeps at 3pm and same for JK but I delay his nap occasionally when there is something on. Maybe you can PM me your hp so we can arrange a meet-up next week? Sarah, I will sms you to check abt Ugly Duckling.

Serenande, wanted to say a belated thanks to one of your previous posting abt feeling a new confidence in me. It made me feel very encouraged for days. Despite the ups and downs, it's really difficult to leave the kids to someone else indeed. Also, after all the gripes etc, I know that I can't give up on my kids esp if they are difficult. Cos if I as their mum give up on them, who else can I count on to do a better job? Having said that, I'm really exasperated with JC who started this terrible habit of waking up 2/3 times in the night to suckle till morning. The only reason I still breastfeed her in the middle of the night is so that I can at least lie down. Maybe I should just give up breastfeeding altogether.

Just a quick update.. have to keep watch on Benny. His op was very successful and cyst was completely removed. He was discharged yesterday and moment we step into the house.. we head straight into bedroom, on air-con and sleep!! I have not been sleeping well in hospital as he has been crying every 1 or 2 hours at night complaining of pain.

Will fill you up with more details later.. gtg now.. Thanks for all your blessings.. *muck*

Hi Joanne,
Glad to hear Benny's op is successful !

Hi Sarah and K's mom,
It's really hard work to sell things in flea market. It starts from 230pm to 1030pm. Most people sells their preowned clothes, shoes, bags and whatever usable things. At the last few hrs, you have to lower the prices to few bucks cos these customers are seasoned & they know when to come to "bargain" with you. You must be able to let go them at those rock bottom low prices like $2 for one blouse. For me, my purposes is to sell them all away and so I am ok with a low price $2 or even 3 for $2. Pricing scheme is decided by you as long as you feel comfy. I did not find anyone selling children books or toys there. I only saw softoys there.

Hi Moshi,
I think I saw the bookcase you bot from IKEA. Is it the design "LACK" ? It's now selling at $69.

Hi apricot
$69 for the bookcase? Not sure which model it is. anyway, we got the second one at $99 still.
btw, sarah and i are meeting at ikea tampines on thur morning, join us if u are on leave.

Anyone else keen on ikea on thur?

meilan
we decided on ikea, ice cream cones going at 60 cents this week for the kids. kids meal at $1.50! send me a sms if u are coming.

where did u flea?

joanne
That's great news, have a well deserved rest!

Dear Joanne,

Bravo for Benny and Mommy! And thank GOD for the smooth surgery!

Hope both you and Benny will find the much needed rest back home.

Speedy recovery!

Hi Meilan!

The play sounds great... hmmm, why wasn't there one when I was expecting No.2? You said, it's in Aug. We'll see if it coincides with the dates when we are in Sg. Are you bringing JK there? Can you post the link to more info on it, if there's any?

Yap... cooking is made easiest possible with young kids. DO you shred your vegetables instead of cutting them? I do that alot coz 1) it saves a lot of time, 2) it's easier for the children to eat, anyway. That's another tip to save time in cooking.

Great to hear you are feeling well again.
Nowadays, I find penning down what I do with the kids very therapeutic. It makes me appreciate my children more. That's why I've been spending lots of time on my blog and seldom come in to post here...

Hi Apricot,
Congrats! That's really a happy news.

Was Aston at the flea market with you too? That must be a good experience for him.

Hi Ky,
Are you still getting the montessori materials? If you are, can I tompang your order? Thinking of getting some mathematical manipulatives for the kids.

Here's a brain teaser for you to work your brains - http://www.borrett.id.au/computing/petals-j.htm

Hi moshimoshi,
You are really our craft lady! Ok, when are you gonna start your class?

Any idea if girls are more whiny? Between my two kids, it seems to be true ...

Hi Meilan,
Well said. Don't ever give up on your kids. I believe all kids are difficult to a certain extent. But how the kids turn out really depends on the kind of love and attention they are getting. Be it SAHM or FTWM/WAHM, we will constantly experience ups & downs. Important thing is be optmistic and don't bottle up yourself. I was chatting with Kristins_mom and realised how much alike our kids are in some instances... One latest discovery - both our boys can't really draw unless given some form of instructions... :p

Like kristins_mom, I'm also into blogging and find it truly therapeutic too. For a starter, you might just want to blog a line or two on the happy or funny incidents. Apricot has a great one blogging Aston's pictures too. Whenever I read through my posts, I feel I haven't done that bad a job after all

Can't help you on the feeding cos both my kids are on FM since birth. Perhaps, the other mommies can share their experiences? Ky?

Can you share with me on the following that you are using?

1. Internet
Singnet/Starhub/others?
Brief description of price plan?
Any comments on the current plan?

2. Residential Line
Normal Singtel line/Singtel MIO Voice/Starhub Digital Voice?
Brief description?
Any comments?

3. Anybody owning a HDTV? Worth investing? Price range? Which brand would you recommend? Why?

4. DVD Recorder - Worth investing? Price range? Which brand would you recommend? Special features

As you have guessed it, I'm researching around for the better package now. Thanks in advance!

Dear ky,

I certainly agree on the part of differences between us and the old folks .. thus i always has to quarrel with my mother over alot alot of issuess .. but both me and dh really hate the idea of having a live in maid .. so in the meantime, i will try to learn how to handle these 2 tough kids on my own , but slowly lor , cos i m really not v good .. and hope in a very near future, i can manage without her help.

cheerios

Hi Serenade,

I will certainly be very happy if they are willing to take turns ..

I will try out your method of asking them to fight outside hehe. I also have reduce on my yelling and shouting, I have yet to see improvement thou.

i don't know how much is alot .. for me, i don't think i give alot alot of kisses and hugs, but i m trying to do so since i sometimes use the soft approach.

Thanks for the tips and concern.

Hi Meilan,
Well said, Serenade. I support you. Whether being a SAHM/FTWM etc, life is always up and down especially on bring up these children. Most importantly is how we have to "open up"

Hi Pris/Cindy
Is is a must to sign up and registered account with live space/googler, then can access into your blog? Sorry, am not familiar with these..please enlighten me.

Pris, I miss your photos on all the dishes you prepare leh..

<table border=1><tr><td>FORUM NICK</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Home Sweet Home</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ky</TD><TD>Benedict</TD><TD>Feb.03</TD><TD>Keith</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>KeiKei</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD>Mar.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>AMum</TD><TD>Aston</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanne (jojoscs)</TD><TD>Benny</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Jan.05</TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherlyn</TD><TD>Tew Jing An (B)</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Tew Yu Xin (G)</TD><TD>Oct.04</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah (densar)</TD><TD>Hannah</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Changi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>Brandon</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>Jun.05</TD><TD>Hillview (France)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>MH</TD><TD>Wei Shuen</TD><TD>Jun.03</TD><TD>Li Shuen</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurPooh</TD><TD>Shawn</TD><TD>Jul.03</TD><TD>Shanon</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kristins_mom</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>Kristin</TD><TD>Aug.05</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru (Germany)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moshimoshi</TD><TD>Melody</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>WorryMum</TD><TD>Benjamin</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ku</TD><TD>G </TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>EDD May07</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla Neo</TD><TD>Kai En</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Toh Guan (Vancouver)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yasmine</TD><TD>Zo En (G)</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>Zo Ze (B)</TD><TD>Sep.06</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meilan</TD><TD>Jay Kai</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>Jay Cin</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May.06</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>moo87</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>Cedric</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD>Denzyl</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>miracle_bebe</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Henderson Crescent</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Minnie</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

updated with sherlyn's kids information....

hi Joanne

good to hear good news abt Benny's op.... take a good rest.

Serenade, where u read abt me getting the mont stuff? in M4M? I'm most likely not getting coz Bambini stuff are still considerably expensive, and I've got most stuff that's for 3-6 ... may not be worth it to get the baby stuff...

I'm also not posting alot these days, and also cutting back on blogging coz intend to spend more time on the 2 boys ... will write when I possibly can too.

meilan, abt bfg, I'm also co-sleeping with Keith. Intend to stop nightfeed at 14 mths which is NOW ... but but but ... still a wait-and-see coz too many thing to do this moment. Keith was practically half-awake last week and I don't think I've completely fallen asleep at all. It's really up to you if you intend to stop. Some friends who are not very pro-bfg tells me no point to feed beyond one, and some are still feeding their 4-yr old. I'll just along but will cut off night-feeding when I have the chance to

.ky.

Hi serenade
girls whiny? more than that, mine is annoying too! she's in this i wana lie on the floor, kick into the air and cry mood. she starts this the moment she can;t get what she wants instantly or if i yell at her. oh, so hard to fathom...

don u gals really stock the cane at home? how do i go abt with this ultimate waepon?

Dealing with fussy eaters? build the food pyramid and discuss the nutrients of each food group to remind them of what they need more and what they should eat less of ;)

723470.jpg

Just drop by to say "hi" while sourcing for materials for homeschooling. Very busy, so temper also not that good this week, think also might be due to pms.

Congrats Apricot! Hope I can join you soon for a 2007 baby, too.

Joanne, glad that Benny's operation was successful! Wishing him speedy recovery and you too take good care of yourself.

Will be MIA since I need to update my blog too as well as prepare more materials for homeschool.

Worry_mum, just sign up as a member and you can access our blog by following the instructions. Have been cooking but hardly have the time to take photos this few weeks. But will try to keep recipes up to date though.

Meilan, how old is baby? Kai stop waking up for bfd after 2-3 months, what I did was to give him water and after a week, he is no longer motivated to wake up to suckle after he has his last nite feed at 11:30pm. And he will wake up the next morning at about 6am to bfd and then bfd again at about 9am, then 12pm, 3pm, 6pm, 9pm and the last 11:30pm.

Hi moshimoshi!

You should be blogging down all your craft work with Mel. It's really worth it to look back and admire your happy times with Mel.

You really have brilliant ideas for craft work.

Hi worry mum,

Sorry about the hassle. Yes, you need to sign in to read my blog. I decided to add this new tedious step which blogspot now offers for privacy.

You don't need to set a new account with google. You just need to register, even with your existing email address. Sorry to make you log in each time when you'd like to read about us... but I've been having funny people coming to read my multiply site. So I decided to take this measure since blogspot allows it. As for the multiply, I'd just have to live with it for the moment... or I might eventually have it removed.

Have thoughts on psychos out there reading blogs... haha, paranoid as a result of a Criminal Intent-overdose!

Hi Meilan and ky!

Really admire you both... you are still bfg!

I stopped with Kristin shortly after she turned one. I was told that people usually feed No. 2 longer. But not for my case. With Bryan, I stopped when he was 15 months. Heehee, you won't believe it! I've been pretty successful in getting them to quit... so much so that it was them who didn't want that final feed anymore... self-weaned!! Btw, no need for rubbing yucky stuffs on my bosom at all.

The reason why I stopped earlier with Kristin was two-fold.
1) All along, she wasn't gaining as much weight as Bryan did when I breastfed her. She's a small drinker... so with the bottle I can gauge better how much she drinks.
2) I wanted her to sleep through earlier. Bryan never slept through until he was 2.5years old, even long after I stopped breastfeeding. Without my mom's help and a maid (see how pampered I was back in Sg!), I wouldn't be able to function with a sane mind had I continued to be sleep-deprived.

Another motivation to stop asap was also witnessing how another toddler (boy) fought with his mom to breastfeed and kept spitting out his main meals. The mother even told me he had to feel her breasts in order to fall asleep... My children never came to that, but I was definitely making sure that they wouldn't be there in the first place.

After having breastfed two very different children and with all due respect to all breastfeeding moms out there, I sometimes think that bfg is overrated. A lot of times it depends on how the baby takes to bfg too. In the case of Kristin, I would think she would have benefitted more from FM. She wanted a routine badly and feeding on demand wasn't the best schedule for her to start with. Whereas Bryan, he grew so quickly on breastmilk that he more than tripled his birthweight at six months. Anyway, I wouldn't know the real mystery of mother nature. I'm glad I've put it behind me now, and I'm really enjoying my sleep now.

Hi Pris!

You wanna be a MTB in 2007 too? Any good news yet?

Hmmm, certainly looks like Kai is ready. Remember you shared about how well he takes to younger children. From what I've gathered, Kai will definitely be gentle and mature enough to receive his new sibling with lots of love.

Hv been MIA for quite sometime b4 CNY. Was busy was springcleaning and planning for trip to BKK during CNY shutdown. We finally travelled as a family! Hurray. But the packing was terrible. DH dun help out and expect me to pack for him. Wil try to upload some pics once i fix up zavier's blog.

The trip to BKK was good but very tiring with all shopping and eating and shopping and eating. I will defintely go back this yr but w/o DH and DS.

And guess what.. I suffered from backache from all these shopping..

Work has been hell of busy after CNY. I am having a 1-man show to cover up for a resigned headcount. Now waiting for HR to replace this headcount to have some breather..

Hi Sarah, pity tt i hv to missed out the gathering. Got to attend a shop opening at Liang court. Zavier's godma ventured to PinC Mani & Pedi. Got to lend my support for her first business venture.

Hi Apricot, u finally did 'it"????? Congrats! DH is pestering me for 2nd but i hv serious reservations abt it. PM or SMS or MSN me ok?

I hv got to go but will be back... Gals, pls continue yr updates.

Hi Serenade!

All ready to leave for Sg?

Weather's been fabulous here. But the kids are down again... I'm so sick of being unwell!
This time it could be conjunctivitis. Heard from Bryan's teacher that there's a case in his class right now, although the PD thinks it might not be for Bryan's case. Kristin's eyes have grown pretty small... really hope it's just a reaction to a cold infection. You can imagine the fight I need to put up with the children when it comes to eye-drops. Not once, but three times a day multiplied with two children!!! HAve you got any good tips on dispensing eye drops? I really don't know how much I can get in without the help of another adult to hold down the kids. Daddy will be gone again for two days.

Hi Joanne. Great to hear that the ops went well. It must be a big load off your back after the burden, pain and exhaustion all this while. The experience must have toughen up you and Benny!

Apricot, oops, sorry for spilling the beans. The good news really should not have come from me but I only realised that most people here did not know after reading their reactions. I only wanted to share abt the play cos Aston was the first person I thought of when I came across.

Cindy, the only info I have is at http://www.sistic.com.sg/cms/events/index.html?content=880. Like you, I was thinking that it would have been great for JK to help prepare him for meimei's arrival but then again, he was still too young then whereas Aston probably can get the message better now. Still, it's not too late to bring JK to watch it to educate him to treat JC better. He used to be much better to her so quite horrified that increasingly, he is irritating her while being so sweet to other people's meimei (quite common right?). We'll see when the time is nearer.

Agree that writing can be very therapeutic though the pessimist me tends to express better when I'm down so my journal is still largely a record of unhappy stuff. Will start a new journal on precious moments separately to note down the more pleasant stuff. Have been thinking abt blogging but afraid that I will get hooked...

As for bf, actually JC is already on formula lah. I just bf her in the morning when she wakes up so that I can lie down for a little while more (that's the adv of being a SAHM, no need to rush off to work heehee). But din expect her to start waking up in the middle of the night cos she was already sleeping thro very long ago. My new strategy is to lock the gate to the kids' room so that she could not walk into my room to summon me. But I quite "sim tiah" that she tends to stand at the gate calling me softly now and then and can be up to 45min. So I tend to cave in and give in again sigh!

Girls more whiny? I think so and more clingy too. As she grows older, she now fights fiercely with JK for my attention, hug etc. Today, she even protested when I asked my husband to change her soiled diaper and calmed down only when I took over. My 2 kids really make sure I work very hard for them even when my relief is back! Sometimes I really wish I could split myself into 2!

Sherlyn, I understand your situation very well. Although I treasure my mum's help, we had a lot more conflicts when we worked together. So when I became a SAHM and needed another person around, I actually requested my father to come instead. His main role is to help me push JC in the pram (her preferred sleeping method which I can't manage with JK at home). Although he cannot help me in the wide-ranging ways my mum could, I feel he's a better choice as we do not have as much conflicts like I will with my mum since I basically do everything by myself in the ways I like. This also means that I can become independent more quickly. Sometimes I feel so tired cos my dad is really an extra pair of eyes rather than hands but this is all I need for now as the maid idea is really our last option. And he's really happy in his new-found importance of being able to help meimei sleep.

As for my mum, she's thrilled to be free and has returned to her busy social life catching up with friends, going to 3 supermarkets in a day, travelling all the way to Yishun just to buy a small thing etc - all the things she was unable to when she's helping me in babysitting. Sometimes in pursuing our best interest in terms of childcare arrangements, I think we may have overlooked the needs/preference of our parents. I know my mum felt obliged to help me even though she didn't really want to be a full-time babysitter. She did it cos she felt I shouldn't waste my education and stop earning money at my prime. It was my sister who woke me up from my selfishness and reminded me that my mum deserved her own life after giving JK 2 years of her precious old age.

Moshi, I will never have a cane in my house before I learn to control my temper better as I am not sure if I will turn abusive. Lie on the floor and cry for no reason? Nowadays, I will leave JK in his room with the gate locked (but not door) and wait for him to stop his nonsense while I get on with other things. I don't care how long he takes cos I found that dealing with him when he's uncontrollable wasted my time and got me really heated.

Serenade, when exactly will you be back? I will start off a playgroup for JC this month just to gauge the interest and response of the 3 mums I have invited. Will keep you in the loop if you are interested.

Cindy, sorry to hear the kids are not well again. I had to use eye drops on JK at one time when his phelgm was so bad it was discharging from his eyes and causing some infection. It was really a challenge to dispense the eye-drops even with another person to help so I only did a thorough job at night when he was asleep.

Dear Meilan,

Really feel comforting to hear from you that I m so not alone. Our cases are infact so similar. Anyway I cant engage my dad's help cos we are not in good terms and my mom is going through the divorce with him.

I am also very upset that she is "tied" with my kids most of the time, thus weekend i try very hard not to disturb her, thus I do not hv personal time. However, i like to give myself a pat today since i managed to bring my kids out to the zoo alone. But then again, when i m bak home at 3pm, i need her help in preparing dinner while i attend other things like bathing the kids, getting the laundry done etc.

Anyway she still socialise every weekday night when she has her singing lessons in the Community centre. I would just hv to work very hard in trying to gain indenpendence soon.

Need some advices here.

My boy likes to skip nap .. and gets cranky around dinner time like 5-6 plus.

Today after the zoo trip, he is still not tired and wouldnt want to nap. At dinner time, he starts to act up and got me real angry when he kick at the plastic chair, sending the chair flying for a metre (ya he is getting worst, from shouting, then kicking me, then now kick chair). I carry the crying him onto the sofa and sternly talked to him, and in the meantime, i get my mother to help me feed my gal (i m actually feeding my gal and asking my boy to self feed).

How shd i solve the no nap cranky dinner time problem ? What should I do if I am alone with the kids .. stop feeding my gal to discipline him ?

Headaches, headaches, headaches.

MTIA

Hi Meilan!

You are oozing with newly discovered confidence as a SAHM! Bravo!

Yap, what you said about enlisting mama's help is very true. I'm so glad that my mom has returned to her normal life now. Old age is indeed very precious, esp when we think about healthy old age, the years that my parents can finally be "rid" of their children and still be healthy and sane enough to enjoy each other.

Actually, I have been very lucky coz my mom and I do share alot of things in common. And when she was over here to help me out, she practically let me run my own household my style. I do all the groceries, cooking, cleaning, laundry etc... yap, talk about particular about laundry, I really have a thing about folding bath and bed linens... so much so that my husband finds it irritating that I unfold the laundry and redo it again, when he tries to help me, although I still consider myself as someone who hates laundry.

What my mom did help me then was mainly with the feeding of the little one. Kristin is one difficult girl when it comes to meal time. We need to coax, beg, distract, persuade, threaten (never works! Coz the tears will start rolling) etc just to get food into her mouth. And having an extra pair of eyes when it comes to handling the children is definitely useful. e.g. unwittingly, i almost did something i would have regretted for the rest of my life. I left the window open to air in the morning, with a two-step chair by it and a very curious toddler all alone! Fatal! Luckily the alarm in me went off as I was busy changing Bryan in the bathroom. I rushed out and sure enough I found Kristin attempting to mount the window ledge. She was already on the first step of the chair! That was so close... and with another pair of eyes around, stupid things like this would not have happened.

But mama deserves her time to rest now. And I'm happy that I'm alone trying my best to be like my mom too, caring for her own children. I might not always do everything right. Guess we all have to learn on the job.

Hope you have fun in your playgroup. Would definitely love to join in if I were around with the kids. Count me in when I'm back for good, ok?

Oh, the children seemed reasonably well when they were out in the park and at the playground today. They only became whiny when I woke them up from their nap. Quickly settled them for a short nap, about an hour, even though I was home at 5pm.

Yeah... don't you hate eye drops... isn't there a better way to dispense the medicine??? Like an eye patch then we could tell them they are pirates for the week?

Hi Sherlyn!

Hurrah! You did it! Bringing both kids out is sometimes harder in imagination than in reality, right? As long as you get more practice with handling them both, also as long as the children get alot of practice of going out with you (e.g. the children learn how to go up and down buses/trains on their own and that they need to walk), I think you are gonna be very mobile soon. Sometimes staying cooped up at home frustrates the mommy more than the children... coz they just get on your nerves!

How's the nap routine like for your boy?

I have friends who intentionally deprive their preschoolers of a nap. But they have alot of activities lined up for them in the whole afternoon and then make sure they go to bed by 8pm. Only then will the parents have dinner.
We tried that, it doesn't work with my kids.
Also, we don't think it will work in Sg either coz 1)it's too noisy. 8pm... the city is still alive. 2) even if you can shut out all the noise by then, it's too hot in Sg, unless, of course, air-con! But with a big family like mine, I still get my aunt calling on us at 9pm!!!! So you bet I'm glad we are in a way far far away from Sg. *wink!

Hmmmm, I was told that between 5-6pm, I could try:
1) give a high-sugar snack. (your call, coz I don't believe in giving my children too much sweets.),
2) shower them,
3) no nap, never mind, quiet corner, e.g. read a book, listen to music but not to leave the room,
4) bring them to the playground,
5) enlist their help to prepare dinner,
6) do worksheets/colouring (i don't know how that's gonna happen with my kids coz they need supervision on those things)

But I try to get my children to nap. Hmmm... get him to repeat after you what's expected of him when he comes home, e.g. in the case from the zoo. Tell him on the way home that he's got to lie down for a short nap. 30min - 1 hour. It will make dinner time much easier. Also expect some spillover that night, i.e. the children will go to bed later since naptime is pushed back a little, thus dinner time and thus bedtime.

My initial trick to get my boy to nap was to offer him a special treat... cold strawberry milk. And every time he had it then, about 2.5 years old, he would know he had to lie down for a short nap. Nowadays routine is like clockwork. He and his sister both know that Mommy will always put them down for a nap at about 4pm.

Hmmm... the disciplining issue, what I do is get him to go stand in the bathroom and tell him not to even move his hair and that I will be back once I finish feeding meimei and I will very certainly deal with him. By then, he is expected to tell me what rules he's broken, and what good behaviour is expected. In this way, it also gives me some time to cool off a little and talk more calmy to him as I then mete out the punishment.

Introduce some house rules. e.g. ALways listen/obey Daddy and Mommy, the elders etc. No crying for no reason (this is the best coz it stops the tantrum in making). Or whatever you think fit for your household. With the rules, it's easier to tell my boy now what "crime" he has committed. And it's easier to get him to agree with me too.

Hi Serenade!

Girls are more whiny? You bet!

Kristin is also one drama-mama. She'll throw herself onto you, mop the floor with her tears, stomp her feet etc. If I talk to her in a more stern voice, her tears will start to roll. And she was not even one month old when it first started. I asked the PD whatever happened to the tear ducts. Usually babies cry but they don't have tears yet in the first few weeks.

On the other hand, it's nice to have a girl to dress up... boys don't have pretty clothes.

Hi Sarah,

Thanks for your detailed comments! You can't imagine how helpful the info are. I really owe you one on that.

Is your back/neck pain acting up again? Seldom see you posting recently. Now that she's not attending school, how's life with Hannah 24 hours again?

Hi kristins_mom,

How are your kids now? No experience with eye drops yet. But it's not hard to imagine the struggles you are having with the kids. How abt dispensing the eye-drops when they are sleeping? Meilan's suggestion is pretty good.

Talking abt tear ducts, my two babies are really the extremes. There was practically no tears from Brandon until he was much older. But for Cheryl, her tear ducts functioned like a spray bottle since birth. Once she started crying, tears would just "spray" about as if from a spray nozzle. And yes, her tears literally "sprayed", not flowed down.

Whenever Cheryl gets into those tantrum throwing sessions and sprawls herself on the floor, the mere mention of spiders will set her back on twos again. So, try something that Kristin is afraid of. For all you know, the trick might works.

Weather here has been sunny but a bit cold these few days. If the good weather continues, I might be bringing the kids to the playground alone in the daytime.

Hi Joanne,

Have you had a good rest? Glad to hear that Benny is doing fabulous. At least, that's one big load off your mind.

Hi Meilan,
We'll be back in June. Please do keep me in the loop. Thanks!

Hi moshimoshi,
We used to have a cane at home. But it has been missing for ages. The balloon stick (from MacDonalds) has taken its place since then. The main objective is not to use the cane on the kids (unless they misbehaved badly). Usually, it's just to threaten them with. The sight of the cane is enough warning for them... hehe